No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Ketchikan Med Ctr New Horizons Transitional Care

3100 Tongass Avenue, Ketchikan, AK 99901 · Non profit - Corporation · 29 certified beds · (907) 225-5171 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (907) 225-5171 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Abuse/neglect citation on record (F0600) — cited Sep 2025Resident-funds citation (F0565)
Insights

This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.

In its favor
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
  • a high payroll-based staffing rating (4/5)
Worth asking about
  • it has an abuse, neglect, or exploitation citation (F0600), cited Sep 2025
  • it has citations for its abuse-prevention policies, restraint use, or reporting and investigating of allegations (F0607, F0609, F0610) — cited below the harm level, meaning inspectors found the process wanting but did not find a resident harmed
  • it has a citation for mishandling residents’ money or property (F0565)
  • a high number of inspection citations overall (17) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
  • its payroll- and facility-reported staffing and quality-measure scores sit well above its independent inspection score
  • its independent health-inspection rating is low (1/5)

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

1/5
CMS overall
1 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 1 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 4 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 3 of 5

Worth a closer look. This home's staffing and quality-measure ratings run 3 stars above its independent health-inspection score. The inspection is done by state surveyors; the quality-measure score leans on data the facility reports about itself, and staffing on its payroll (PBJ) submissions — so a gap this large is worth reading the inspection record for.

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
★★★★ 4/5 CMS · Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
111 Stedman St · (907) 617-4481 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
305 Dock St · (907) 220-9097 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
633 Stedman St · (907) 225-4126 · Call to confirm hours
Park
3507 S Tongass Hwy · (907) 228-6625 · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 3 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 3 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating fell from 4 to 1 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating1★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased22.4%16.7%15.4%worse
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight10.7%5.3%5.4%worse
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder0.0%1.4%0.9%better
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection4.5%2.5%2.0%worse
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms11.1%6.5%6.5%worse
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.2%0.1%better
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury4.5%3.2%3.3%worse
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened30.7%19.5%16.1%worse
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication23.6%14.7%18.9%worse
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine100.0%96.0%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers6.5%6.9%4.7%worse
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control32.4%20.0%21.2%worse
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table12.0%18.8%17.1%better
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days0.151.001.67better
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days1.231.361.80better

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

0.13U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.06hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.04hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.03hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.13 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 9% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 4% of this home’s weekday level — it runs therapy on weekdays, with essentially none at the weekend. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNFnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNFnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identifiednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — Newly certified nursing home with less than 12-15 months of data available or the nursing home opened less than 6 months ago, and there were no data to submit or claims for this measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF staynot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsenednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalizationnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFsnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

3.25
RN hours/ resident / day
0.00
LPN hours/ resident / day
3.54
Aide hours/ resident / day
6.79
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
2.70
RN hoursweekends
50.0%
Total nursing turnover
44.4%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 29 beds and averages 25.0 residents a day — about 86% occupied, or roughly 4 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 6.79 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 3.25 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 3.54 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 5.90 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 7.15 on weekdays — 18% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 3.48 to 2.70 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 50% is about the same as the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

3
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2026-04-09)
1
at the previous standard inspection (2025-02-28)

Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

17 citations, most serious first. The 10 most serious are shown; the remaining 7 are one tap away and print in full.

  • Potential for harm · F2026-04-09 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespread
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure food safety and sanitation guidelines were followed. Specifically, the facility failed to ensure: 1. The concentration of sanitizer, in their red sanitation buckets, met manufacturer's recommended concentration levels for effective sanitation on kitchen surfaces; 2. Food items, stocked for resident meals, had not expired; and 3. Opened packages of food items were properly labeled. These failed practices placed 22 residents who received food from the kitchen, out of 23 residents, at risk for foodborne illness and communicable disease. Findings: 1) Sanitizer concentration An observation on 4/8/26 at 11:10 AM, of the main kitchen, revealed four red sanitizer buckets at various locations in the kitchen. One of the red buckets was tested with a QT-10 Hydrion test strip for ten seconds in the solution, which revealed no color change on the strip. When compared to the color change guide on the test strip packaging, the color corresponded to a reading of 0 parts per million (ppm) of sanitizer concentration in…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2026-04-09 · tag F0908 — failed to keep essential equipment working — pattern
    Keep all essential equipment working safely.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY .Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to maintain patient care equipment in a safe operating manner. Specifically, the facility failed to ensure a shower chair, which was used by 8 residents (#'s 4, 5, 6, 8, 10, 15, 23, and 24), out of 23 residents reviewed, was free of cracks and/or tears. A shower chair with a compromised surface exposed residents to the padding within, which had the potential to be contaminated with bodily fluids and diseases. A compromised surface created the inability to completely sanitize the surface between resident use, which placed all 8 residents at risk for the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infections. Findings: During an observation and concurrent interview on [DATE] at 8:49 AM, Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) #1 removed a purple ARJO-brand shower chair from Resident #6's room and placed it across the hallway into the damp community shower room. The shower room had a strong odor of urine. When asked about the urine…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Environmental Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-04-09 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolated
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure medications were properly labeled and stored to maintain medication identity and control. This failed practice placed all residents, based on a census of 23, at risk for medication error, misidentification, and drug diversion. Findings:.An observation on 3/4/26 at 3:00 PM, revealed the following during an inspection of a medication cart: 1. Drawer 231 contained an opened individual blister pack of metoprolol succinate (medication used to treat high blood pressure, heart failure, and other heart-related conditions by slowing the heart rate and reducing cardiac workload), which held one half of a medication tablet. 2. Drawer 230 contained an opened individual blister pack of Sertraline (an antidepressant medication classified as a selective serotonin reuptake inhibitor, used to treat depression, anxiety, and other mood disorders), which held one half of a medication tablet. 3. Drawer 227 contained opened individual blister packs of Baclofen (a muscle relaxant used to treat muscle spasms, commonly…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2025-09-09 · tag F0565 — failed to support the resident council — widespread
    Honor the resident's right to organize and participate in resident/family groups in the facility.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to allow resident-invited visitors and/or guests to attend a resident council meeting. This failed practice denied the resident's right to invite visitors to the resident council meeting, which denied all residents (based on a census of 26) the right and opportunity to advocate for themselves and placed them at risk for decreased feelings of self-worth and had the potential to affect their mood and overall wellbeing. Findings:During an interview on 9/2/25 at 1:45 PM, Resident #12 stated that he/she invited his/her family member, who was his/her resident representative, to the resident council meeting that occurred on 7/23/25. Resident #12 further stated that his/her family member invited the Mayor and a City Council member, along with a previous member, to the meeting on his/her behalf. Resident #12 wanted his/her family member and local officials in the meeting to hear of program concerns that had been happening in the facility lately, such as limited activities and low staffing. Resident #12 stated that when the family…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2025-09-09 · tag F0600 — failed to protect residents from abuse and neglect — widespread
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure residents were free from abuse. Specifically, the Administrator's conduct towards residents was construed, by residents and staff, as verbally abusive. This failed practice placed all residents (based on a census of 26) at risk for continued exposure to verbal abuse and mental anguish which had the potential to affect their overall health and well-being.Findings:Resident #12 During an interview on 9/2/25 at 1:45 PM, Resident #12 stated she felt verbally abused by negative comments the Administrator had said to him/her, and this made him/her very sad, and he/she was now hopeless, like I'll never get out of here. It was observed that Resident #12 was physically shaking when he/she told this story, wringing his/her hands and his/her voice was cracking with emotion. Resident #20 During an interview on 9/2/25 at 4:10 PM, Resident #20 stated the Administrator, scares me, [he/she] is really bossy and is mean to me. When asked to elaborate on anything the Administrator may have said, Resident #20 couldn't recall a specific…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2025-09-09 · tag F0607 — failed to have anti-abuse policies — widespread
    Develop and implement policies and procedures to prevent abuse, neglect, and theft.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to implement written policies and procedures to investigate an allegation of abuse for 1 Resident (#12), out of 1 allegation of abuse investigation reviewed. Specifically, the facility's HR Department and Risk Management Department failed to: 1) adequately monitor the investigation process to ensure all steps of the investigation procedure were completed appropriately; 2) ensure all investigations processes were adequately documented; and 3) ensure additional investigations from the results of the investigation process were appropriately carried out 2 residents (#'s 20 and 25), out of 5 residents interviewed during the investigation. This failed practice resulted in an inadequate grievance investigation which placed all residents (based on a census of 26) at risk for suboptimal investigations of any resident complaints and grievances. Findings:Incident Reported A facility reported incident (FRI) was submitted to the State Agency for an allegation of verbal abuse, dated 7/23/25, by the Chief Nursing Officer (CNO).…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2025-09-09 · tag F0609 — failed to report abuse allegations — widespread
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY .Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to report the results of an investigation of an allegation of abuse to the State Agency within 5 working days as required under CFR 483.12(c)(4). The lack reporting investigation results concerning an allegation of abuse in an appropriate and timely manner inhibited the State Agency from accurately assessing and investigating this allegation, which placed all residents (based on a census of 26) at risk for future exposure to potential abuse. Findings:A facility reported incident (FRI) was submitted to the State Agency for an allegation of verbal abuse, dated 7/23/25, by the Chief Nursing Officer (CNO). During an interview on 9/3/25 at 1:34 PM, the CNO stated she faxed the final report to the State Agency on 8/4/25. When asked to show proof of this fax, the CNO stated she could not provide this proof. A review of the State Agency's fax line and email revealed no final report received from the facility for the 7/23/25 incident. Review of an email received…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2025-09-09 · tag F0726 — failed to have competent, trained nursing staff — widespread
    Ensure that nurses and nurse aides have the appropriate competencies to care for every resident in a way that maximizes each resident's well being.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure float nursing staff (NS) and travel NS, had the job specific competencies and skill sets necessary to care for long-term care (LTC) residents' needs. Specifically, the facility failed to ensure: 1) float/travel NS had current LTC training for ADL (activities of daily living) Coding and Definitions;2) float/travel NS had current LTC training for Behavioral Health (BH);3) float/travel NS had current LTC training for QAPI (quality assurance performance improvement);4) float/travel NS had current LTC training for Dementia for LTC; and5) float/travel NS had current LTC training for Trauma Informed Care. This failed practice had the potential to place all residents (based on a census of 26) at risk of not receiving the necessary specific treatment and care needed to attain or maintain the highest practicable physical, mental, and psychosocial well-being .Findings: Record review on 9/2-5/25 of the float NS training records revealed: 1) 17 NS (NS #'s 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9,10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 16, 17, 19, 20), out of 20 NS…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2025-09-09 · tag F0838 — failed to assess facility resources and resident needs — widespread
    Conduct and document a facility-wide assessment to determine what resources are necessary to care for residents competently during both day-to-day operations (including nights and weekends) and emergencies.
    What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing

    Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure their facility assessment was reviewed and updated annually. This failed practice had the potential to place all residents (based on a census of 26) at risk of not having the necessary care and resources from an accurate assessment. Findings:Review of the facility's Proactive LTC Consulting Facility Assessment revealed this assessment was last updated on 5/21/24. The Chief Nursing Officer (CNO) acknowledged this finding and stated the facility assessment needed to be updated

    Administration Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2025-09-09 · tag F0947 — failed to train nurse aides adequately — widespread
    Ensure nurse aides have the skills they need to care for residents, and give nurse aides education in dementia care and abuse prevention.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY .Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure four float Certified Nurse Assistants (CNAs) out of four float CNAs chosen for review, received the required 12 hours of annual in-service training, specifically including education on dementia care and abuse/neglect prevention. This failed practice placed all residents (based on a census of 26) at risk for substandard care due to staff not being provided with the education necessary to ensure continuing competence in the care of long-term care (LTC) residents .Findings: Record review on 9/2-5/25 of CNA training records revealed:CNA #52 - 12 Hour Annual CNA Training with Dementia/Abuse/Neglect, expired on [DATE];CNA #53 - 12 Hour Annual CNA Training with Dementia/Abuse/Neglect, not completed;CNA #54 - 12 Hour Annual CNA Training with Dementia/Abuse/Neglect, not completed;CNA #55 - 12 Hour Annual CNA Training with Dementia/Abuse/Neglect, expired on [DATE]. Review of the facility provided schedule document Charge Back - Non Home Employee Detail,…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
Show the remaining 7 citations
  • Potential for harm · E2025-09-09 · tag F0610 — failed to investigate and act on abuse reports — pattern
    Respond appropriately to all alleged violations.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to thoroughly investigate an allegation of abuse for 1 resident (#12), out of 1 allegation of abuse investigation reviewed. Specifically, the facility failed to: 1) Accurately interview Resident #12 to determine the nature and timing of the allegation of abuse; 2) Have evidence of the Administrator's interview conducted during the investigation; 3) Contact the Resident's Provider regarding the allegation of abuse; and 3) Investigate reports of intimidation and verbal abuse received from 2 residents (#'s 20 and 25), out of 5 residents interviewed during the investigation. These failed practices: 1) caused a misinterpretation of what the allegation of abuse was and when it occurred; 2) resulted in the investigation being incomplete; and 3) denied Residents #20 and #25 the right to potentially submit a complaint for an allegation of abuse and placed them at risk for continued emotional upset from the experiences reported. Findings:Incident Reported A facility reported incident (FRI) was submitted to the State Agency for an…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2025-09-09 · tag F0679 — failed to provide activities — pattern
    Provide activities to meet all resident's needs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY .Based on record review, interview, and observation, the facility failed to provide an ongoing, resident-centered activity program, aligned with individual care plans, for 17 Residents (#'s 4, 5, 7, 9, 12, 13, 18, 20, 21, 23, 25, 27, 28, 31, 33, 34, and 36), out of 26 residents who enjoyed activities outside of their rooms. Specifically, the facility failed to: 1) Consistently provide activities as documented on the facility's monthly activity calendar for the months of July, August, and September 2025; 2) Provide scheduled outings with the use of the facility's transportation van; and 3) Allow residents with the diagnosis of dementia from participating in scheduled outings. These failed practices placed these residents at risk for loneliness, isolation, boredom and decreased their quality of life, which had the potential to affect their overall physical, mental, and psychosocial well-being .Findings: Resident Activities Preferences Resident #4 Record review on 9/2-6/25 revealed Resident #4 was admitted to the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-09-09 · tag F0557 — isolated
    Honor the resident's right to be treated with respect and dignity and to retain and use personal possessions.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to treat one resident (#16), out of 26 residents reviewed, with dignity and respect. Specifically, the facility's Administrator took the resident's personal checkbook, against the resident's wishes, and kept this item in her personal desk without communicating an appropriate rationale for the restriction. This failed practice violated the resident's right to be treated with dignity and respect and placed undue stress on the resident which had the potential to affect the resident's overall health and well-being. Findings:During an interview on 9/2/25 at 2:35 PM, Resident #16 stated the Administrator confiscated my checkbook and said if I didn't give it to [him/her] I would be kicked out of the hospital. Resident #16 stated, I was so angry. Resident #16 state the Administrator took the checkbook and wouldn't give it back, she held it over the weekend. Resident #16 could not identify the date this occurred. During an interview on 9/4/25 at 10:04 AM, the Administrator stated Resident #16 was having difficulty with insurance and…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2025-02-28 · tag F0657 — failed to keep the care plan current — pattern
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to update and revise the care plan for two residents (#s 1 and 19), out of 13 sampled residents. Specifically, the facility failed to update and revise the care plans to reflect: 1) anticoagulant medication use for Resident #1; and 2) chronic right shoulder pain for Resident #19. Failure to assess and revise care plan problems, goals, and interventions placed the residents at risk for not receiving appropriate and/or necessary care and services. Findings: Resident #1 Record review on 2/24-28/25 revealed Resident #1 was admitted to the facility with diagnoses that included atrial fibrillation (an abnormal heart rhythm originating in the atria that reduces the atrium's efficiency and can lead to blood clots forming in the atrium), heart failure (inability of the heart to maintain adequate blood circulation), and diabetes. Review of Resident #1's medications, on 2/26/25, revealed he/she was taking Apixaban (Eliquis, an anticoagulant medication to reduce clot formation) 5 milligrams (mg) twice a day. Further review revealed this…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-03-15 · tag F0679 — failed to provide activities — isolated
    Provide activities to meet all resident's needs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to provide a program of meaningful activities for 1 resident (#44), out of 13 sampled residents based on an individualized assessment and care plan. This failed practice denied the resident opportunities that contributed to quality of life and placed the resident at risk for depression, loneliness, and boredom. Findings: Record review on 3/11-15/24 revealed Resident #44 was admitted to the facility with diagnoses that included pressure injury of the left heel, post-surgical left hip fracture repair, anxiety disorder, schizoaffective disorder bipolar type (a chronic mental health disorder that sometimes included episodes of mania and major depression), and moderate Alzheimer's dementia. During an interview on 3/11/24 at 5:03 PM, Resident #44 stated the activities in the facility did not appeal to him/her. The resident stated he/she preferred to listen to music, go to the store of his/her preference, and avoid large loud crowds. He/she further stated that his/her major interest was shooting. The resident also stated no one at…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-03-15 · tag F0688 — failed to keep residents mobile / prevent decline — isolated
    Provide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline is for a medical reason.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure 1 resident (#9), out of 13 sampled residents, received ordered restorative exercises. This failed practice placed the resident at risk of not maintaining or decreasing his/her highest level of range of motion and mobility. Findings: Record review on 3/11-15/24 revealed Resident #9 was admitted to the facility with diagnoses that included primary osteoarthritis (a degenerative joint and bone disease) of both knees, leg swelling bilateral, and weakness of both lower extremities. During an interview on 3/12/24 at 10:34 AM, Resident #9 stated he/she did not remember when the last time he/she had physical therapy. Review of Active Order, dated 2/9/24, revealed: Nursing Communication RA (Restorative Aide) Goal: To promote lower extremity circulation and maintain flexibility. Exercise: Ankle pumps 20, hip reduction 5R[right] 5L[left] . Priority: Routine. Review of Resident #9's Care plan' with start date on 3/22/21, revealed: .Problem: Impaired strength and mobility as evidenced by need for extensive assist with ADL cares.…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • No harm found · C2024-03-15 · tag F0732 — widespread
    Post nurse staffing information every day.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to post the total number and the actual hours worked by Certified Nurse Assistants (CNAs), Licensed Practical Nurses (LPNs), and Registered Nurses (RNs) per shift. This failed practice provided inaccurate information to the residents and their representatives. Findings: An observation on 3/15/24 at 9:20 AM, of the Direct staffing hours posted, dated 3/15/24, on the bulletin board along the hallway, revealed information which included the facility's census and the nursing staff (CNA, LPN, RN and other staff) scheduled for the day. Further review of the posting revealed the total number and actual work hours of nursing staff per shift was not documented. During an interview on 3/15/24 at 9:25 AM, when asked about the staffing hours poster, the Unit Clerk (UC) stated the total staffing hours of CNAs, LPNs, RNs and other staff were posted per day. The UC stated the total work hours per day was the same as actual work hours because the facility provided coverage as needed. The UC also stated she was not aware that…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
PEACEHEALTHOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFNO PERCENTAGE PROVIDEDsince 11/25/1986
AARON, CAROLYNIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 01/01/2021
ACKMAN, TIMOTHYIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 07/01/2017
ADAMS, IONEIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 07/01/2024
ARVIN, LORRAINEIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 07/01/2024
DAVENPORT, CHARLOTTEIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 07/01/2016
HOLLINGSHEAD, DANNYIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 06/01/2017
JACKSON, LINDAIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 07/15/2023
KEARNEY, LEONARDIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 01/01/2011
KING, DONNAIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 07/01/2019
MCWILLIAMS, MARYIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 09/24/2021
MEASHINTUBBY, DELEESAIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 06/30/2023
NENZEL, ANDREAIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 07/01/2015
PRUITT, KATHLEENIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 07/01/2015
WOLLENBERG, RICHARDIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 01/21/2014
KARNES, THOMASIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERsince 01/27/2023
MAGNUSON, RICHARDIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERsince 06/16/2025
NESS, SARAHIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/03/2026
SPRINGER II, ARTHURIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERsince 11/03/2025
DEMARS, SANDRAIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 06/22/2021
HODGES, GERALDIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 10/06/2025

CMS files one row per role, so the 26 rows in the source record cover these 21 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.

1 organizational owner listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

What families pay in AK

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Alaska Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Alaska
$27,831/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$10,798/mo
Nursing home (private)*
$9,882/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner. The starred figure is the national median (no state figure published).

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 025010. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2026-04-09, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next