No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

The Healthcare Center At Buck Creek

850 9th Street, Northwest, Alabaster, AL 35007 · For profit - Limited Liability company · 198 certified beds · (205) 663-3859 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (205) 663-3859 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Abuse/neglect citations on record (F0600, F0602) — most recent Sep 20242 actual-harm citations$16,801 in federal fines1 Medicare payment denial
Insights

This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.

In its favor
  • a middle-of-the-pack inspection score (3/5)
Worth asking about
  • it has abuse, neglect, or exploitation citations (F0600, F0602) — most recent Sep 2024
  • it has citations for its abuse-prevention policies, restraint use, or reporting and investigating of allegations (F0607, F0609) — cited below the harm level, meaning inspectors found the process wanting but did not find a resident harmed
  • it has 2 actual-harm citations
  • the CMS record shows $16,801 in federal fines (most recent 2024-05-03)
  • its payroll-based staffing rating is low (2/5)
  • its last standard health inspection was over 2 years ago — the star rating may not reflect current conditions

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

3/5
CMS overall
3 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 3 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 2 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 3 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
★★ 2/5 CMS · Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
(205) 663-5547 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
Cvs0.9 mi
11055 Highway 119 S · (205) 663-5405 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
Aldi1.2 mi
113 Simmsville Rd · (855) 955-2534 · Call to confirm hours
Park
320 Park Rd · (205) 664-6840 · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship
100 Harvest Way · (205) 663-3933

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 3 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 4 of 5
Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital 2 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating improved from 1 to 3 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating3★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased7.2%12.0%15.4%better
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight5.2%5.4%5.4%typical
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder0.5%1.0%0.9%better
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection0.9%2.4%2.0%better
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms3.0%1.4%6.5%worse than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.6%0.1%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury4.5%3.3%3.3%worse
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened9.9%12.1%16.1%better
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication29.4%24.5%18.9%worse
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine100.0%94.8%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers7.8%5.4%4.7%worse
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control19.3%12.8%21.2%typical
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table16.7%21.2%17.1%typical
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication3.2%2.0%1.4%worse
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine86.4%80.3%79.4%typical
Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission34.2%24.8%22.6%worse
Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit6.7%11.3%12.0%better
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days1.741.961.67typical
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days0.341.701.80better

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

42.2% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 65 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

42.2%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
10.9%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
60.4%U.S. median 56.6%
Met the expected recovery
not reportedno hours filed
Therapy hours / resident / day

Met the expected recovery: 60.4% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 53 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.

Therapy staffing: not reported. This home filed no therapist hours at all in its payroll data for this quarter. That is a gap in what it reported, and we do not read it as an absence of therapy — the homes that file nothing here include ones that discharged hundreds of Medicare rehab patients in the very same period, who plainly received therapy from someone. Because we cannot tell a home that under-reports from one that genuinely provides little, this home is left out of the comparison above rather than scored at zero. Ask it directly how many therapist hours a rehab resident gets, and on which days.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF42.2%CMS range 29.7–55.651.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF10.9%CMS range 8.0–16.010.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge60.4%56.6%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge66.0%52.8%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge50.9%50.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified97.5%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting100.0%100.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay0.0%0.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened3.8%1.9%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization6.5%CMS range 3.3–11.97.1%Oct 2023–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs0.931.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.27
RN hours/ resident / day
1.01
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.25
Aide hours/ resident / day
3.53
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.28
RN hoursweekends
44.6%
Total nursing turnover
66.7%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 198 beds and averages 185.0 residents a day — about 93% occupied, or roughly 13 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.53 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.27 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.25 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.25 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.64 on weekdays — 11% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.27 to 0.28 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 45% is about the same as the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

3
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2024-01-25)
3
at the previous standard inspection (2022-10-14)

Deficiencies are unchanged from the previous inspection. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

This trend is not current. The most recent of these two inspections was over 2 years ago; the arrow describes what inspectors found then, not what the home is like now.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

13 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.

  • Actual harm · Gcited before2024-05-03 · tag F0600 — failed to protect residents from abuse and neglect — isolated
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interviews, record review, review of a facility policy titled Abuse, Neglect, Misappropriation, Exploitation Policy, and review of information from the Alabama Department of Public Health (ADPH) Online Reporting System, the facility failed to protect the Resident Identifier (RI) #5's right to be free from verbal, mental, and physical abuse by a staff. On 04/25/2024 Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) #9 observed Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) #12 stand up and say she was going to go to RI #5's room and call his/her dead mother a bitch. On approximately 04/27/2024 or 04/28/2024 CNA #10 overheard LPN #12 on the phone during a break say she went in RI #5's room and called him/her an ugly bitch and called his/her dead mother an ugly bitch. On 04/26/2024 the Social Worker (SW) was informed by LPN #12 that RI #5 was wandering in other resident's room. The Social Worker started the process of having RI #5 moved to the secure/memory unit without informing RI #5 prior to the move. On 04/29/2024 RI #5 was moved to…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Actual harm · G2024-05-03 · tag F0602 — failed to protect residents from theft of their belongings — isolated
    Protect each resident from the wrongful use of the resident's belongings or money.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interviews, record review, review of a facility policy titled, Abuse, Neglect and Misappropriation, Exploitation Policy, and review of information from the Alabama Department of Public Health's (ADPH) Online Reporting System, the facility failed to ensure Resident Identifier (RI) #1 was free from misappropriation of funds from his/her personal funds. On 04/13/2024 the facility administrator was informed by the Business Office Manager (BOM) that she had been arrested for elder abuse. According to information received from local law enforcement detective the BOM used RI# 1's personal bank account information to pay her personal credit card in the amount greater than $16,000. The survey team applied the Reasonable Person Concept to determine the severity of psychosocial harm rose to the level of actual harm that was not immediate jeopardy. This deficient practice affected RI #1, one of eight sampled residents reviewed for abuse. This deficiency was cited as a result of the investigation of complaint/report…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-09-29 · tag F0600 — failed to protect residents from abuse and neglect — isolated
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interviews, record review, and a review of the facility's policy titled, Abuse, Neglect, Misappropriation, Exploitation Policy, the facility failed to protect Resident Identifier (RI) #4 from being physically abused by RI #5. On 05/16/2024 Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) #5 witnessed RI #5 slap RI #4 on the face in their room. This deficient practice affected RI #4 and RI #5, two of 19 residents sampled for abuse. Findings Include: A review of the facility's policy titled, Abuse, Neglect, Misappropriation, Exploitation Policy, with an effective date of January 2019, revealed: .Purpose: To prohibit and prevent abuse . Definitions: Abuse: The willful infliction of injury . resulting physical harm, pain, or mental anguish.Willful, as use in this definition of abuse, means the individual must have acted deliberately, not that the individual must have intended to inflict injury or harm. 5. Identification . A resident to resident altercation will be reviewed as a potential situation of abuse. RI #4 was…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Past Non-Compliance
  • Potential for harm · D2024-09-29 · tag F0609 — failed to report abuse allegations — isolated
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review, interview, the facility policy titled Abuse, Neglect, Misappropriation, Exploitation Policy, and review of facility reported incidents (FRIs) information submitted to the Alabama Department of Public Health (ADPH) via the Online Incident Reporting System; the facility failed to submit their five-day investigative summary or results of their investigations for two of 18 FRIs concerning allegations of abuse, neglect, or misappropriation of resident property reviewed for timely reporting. This deficient practice affected Resident Identifier (RI) #6 and RI #22 two of 19 residents reviewed for abuse concerns. Findings Include: A review of a policy titled Abuse, Neglect, Misappropriation, Exploitation Policy with an effective date of January 2019. documented the following: .7. Reporting/Response .The results of all investigations must be reported to the Administrator, designee to the appropriate state agency, as required by state law, within five (5) working days of the alleged violation . RI…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-05-03 · tag F0559 — isolated
    Honor the resident's right to share a room with spouse or roommate of choice and receive written notice before a change is made.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interviews, record review and facility policies titled Room & Roommate Change Policy, the facility failed to notify Resident Identifier (RI) #5 of a room change prior to the move. This affected Resident Identifier (RI) #5, one of one resident who expressed dissatisfaction with their room change. This deficiency was cited as a result of the investigation of complaint/report number AL00047738. Findings include: A review of an undated facility's policy titled Room and Roommate Change Policy documented: .PROCEDURE .The Resident has the right to refuse to transfer to another room in the Center if the purpose of the transfer is . c. Solely for the convenience of staff . RI #5 was admitted to the facility on [DATE], with diagnoses to include Unspecified Dementia. A review of a progress note for RI # 5 documented . 04/29/2024 . This resident was transferred from North wing (he/she) was alert and oriented to person and place with some confusion noted . On 05/01/2024 at 5:30 PM, an interview was conducted with RI…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-05-03 · tag F0607 — failed to have anti-abuse policies — isolated
    Develop and implement policies and procedures to prevent abuse, neglect, and theft.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record reviews, interviews, and a facility policy titled Abuse, Neglect, Misappropriation, Exploitation Policy, and review of information from the Alabama Department of Public health's (ADPH) Online Reporting System, the facility failed to ensure staff implemented the facility's abuse policies and procedures when: staff failed to identify an allegation of abuse, protect residents from further potential abuse, and immediately report an allegation of verbal abuse on [DATE] involving Resident Identifier (RI) #5 and Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) #12. Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) #9, and CNA #10 became aware of the allegation, but did not report the incident for three days following the incident. On [DATE] Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) #9 observed LPN #12 stand up and say she was going to go to RI #5's room and call his/her dead mother a bitch and she did not report the incident as LPN did not take any action only making a verbal threat. On either [DATE] or [DATE] CNA #10 overheard LPN #12 on the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-01-25 · tag F0607 — failed to have anti-abuse policies — isolated
    Develop and implement policies and procedures to prevent abuse, neglect, and theft.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on an interview, review of facility personnel files, review of a facility policy titled Abuse, Neglect, Misappropriation, Exploitation Policy, the facility failed to ensure Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) #6 and CNA #7 had initial Alabama Certified Nurse Aide Registry and criminal background checks completed before being hired by the facility. This deficient practice affected CNA #6 and CNA #7, two of six CNAs whose personnel files were reviewed. Findings include: Review of a facility policy titled Abuse, Neglect, Misappropriation, Exploitation Policy, with an effective date of 1/2019, revealed the following: Purpose: To prohibit and prevent abuse, neglect, exploitation, misappropriation of resident property . 2. Screening Each center will follow any and all state specific requirements Potential team members shall, at a minimum, have the following screening checks conducted: . 2. Appropriate licensing board or registry check . 4. Criminal background check pursuant to company policy or state law . A review of personnel files for CNAs revealed CNA #6 was hired on 11/29/2022…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-01-25 · tag F0755 — failed to provide safe pharmacy services — isolated
    Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interviews, review of the facility's RECORD OF MEDICATION DISPOSAL sheets for the Non-Controlled Drugs, and review of a facility policy titled, RULES OF ALABAMA STATE BOARD OF HEALTH ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH CHAPTER 420-5-10 NURSING FACILITIES, the facility failed to ensure the required signatures were on the non-controlled medication destruction sheets. This deficient practice affected one of 12 months of non-controlled medication destruction sheets reviewed for 2023. Findings include: Review of an undated facility policy titled, RULES OF ALABAMA STATE BOARD OF HEALTH ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH CHAPTER 420-5-10 NURSING FACILITIES, revealed the following: 1. The nursing facility develops policies and procedures for the destruction of drugs and biologicals. 7. The pharmacist will verify that the list of drugs to be destroyed is accurate and with a Registered Nurse, will carry out destruction. 22 of 22 RECORD OF MEDICATION DISPOSAL forms reviewed for January 2023, marked for Non-Controlled Drugs disposal, contained only the Pharmacist's signature. On…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2022-10-14 · tag F0697 — failed to manage pain — isolated
    Provide safe, appropriate pain management for a resident who requires such services.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interviews, record reviews and a review of a facility policy titled, Pain Assessment and Management, the facility failed to ensure Resident Identifier (RI) #11, a resident with a diagnoses of chronic pain, received pain medication as ordered by physician on 10/12/2022 at 10:00 PM and 10/13/2022 at 6:00 AM. This affected one of three residents sampled for pain concerns. Findings Include: A facility policy titled, Pain Assessment and Management, with an effective date of 05/2021, documented, . The purposes of this procedure are to help the staff identify pain in the resident, and to develop interventions that are consistent with the resident's goals and needs and that address the underlying causes of pain. Pain management is defined as the process of alleviating the resident's pain to a level that is acceptable to the resident and is based on his or her clinical condition and established treatment goals. Implementing Pain Management Strategies: . 6. Implement the medication regimen as ordered, carefully…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2022-10-14 · tag F0755 — failed to provide safe pharmacy services — isolated
    Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interviews, review of resident records, review of a facility policy titled Physician Medication Orders the facility failed to ensure medications were reordered from the pharmacy in a timely manner to have the medication available for administration to RI #55 on 10/13/2022 and RI #11 on 10/12/2022 and 10/13/2022. This had the potential to affect two of 28 sampled residents. Findings include: A facility policy titled Physician Medication Orders with an effective date of 5/2022 documented the following: . 9. Drugs and biologicals that are required to be refilled must be reordered from the issuing pharmacy per community protocol. 1.) RI #55 was readmitted to the facility on [DATE]. RI #55's physician orders documented an order dated 9/5/2022 for Oxcarbazepine 600 mg one tablet to be given twice a day. On 10/13/2022 at 8:55 AM EI #5 Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) was observed preparing medications to administer to RI #55. EI #5 said, Oxcarbazepine 600 mg was not in the medication cart and she…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2022-10-14 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolated
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interviews, and review of the facility policy titled Controlled Substances, the facility failed to ensure controlled medications were stored in the Building Two refrigerator in a permanently affixed compartment. This was observed on 10/14/2022 in one of four unit medication refrigerators observed. Findings include: A facility policy titled Controlled Substances with an effective date of 9/2022, documented the following: . The facility shall comply with all laws, regulations, and other requirements related to handling, storage, . of Schedule II and other controlled substances. On 10/14/2022 at 3:00 PM, the Building Two medication refrigerator was observed containing a controlled medication emergency kit, a small box with a lock from the pharmacy, with a label description of a Lorazepam Injection two milligrams (mg) per milliliter (ml) and a Lorazepam Intensol (ORAL) two mg/ml with 30 mls quantity, not in a permanently affixed compartment in the refrigerator. Employee Identifier (EI) #3 Building Two unit manager and EI #4 Rehabilitation unit manager both…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2022-04-07 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review, interviews and review of a facility procedure guide titled Perineal Care, the facility failed to ensure a staff member changed gloves and performed hand hygiene to prevent the spread of infection. On 03/16/2022, during incontinent care, Employee Identifier (EI) #3, a Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA), removed a dirty incontinent brief from Resident Identifier (RI) #15. The CNA failed to perform hand hygiene and put on clean gloves before placing a clean brief on the resident. This deficient practice affected RI #15, one of two residents observed for incontinent care. Findings Include: An undated facility procedure guide titled Perineal Care documented, . Hand Hygiene. Perform hand hygiene. Apply clean gloves . Prevents transmission of microorganisms. RI #15 was readmitted to the facility on [DATE] and had a history of Urinary Tract Infections. A review of RI #15's quarterly Minimum Data Set assessment with an Assessment Reference Date of 03/08/2022 revealed RI #15 was totally…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • No harm found · C2024-01-25 · tag F0732 — widespread
    Post nurse staffing information every day.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations and an interview, the facility failed to ensure the DAILY ASSOCIATE POSTING form contained the name of the facility, the Resident Census at Start of Shift and the date for each shift. This was observed on 01/23/2024, one of four days of the survey, and had the potential to affect all 162 residents residing in the facility. Findings include: On 01/23/2024 at 9:15 AM, the surveyor observed the DAILY ASSOCIATE POSTING form in the front lobby. There was no facility name or Resident Census at Start of Shift for the 7:00 AM - 3:00 PM shift. On 01/23/2024 at 5:44 PM, the surveyor observed the DAILY ASSOCIATE POSTING form. There was no date or the Resident Census at Start of Shift for the 3:00 PM - 11:00 PM shift. On 01/25/2024 at 7:44 PM, the surveyor conducted an interview with the Workforce Management Coordinator (WMC). When asked what information should be on the DAILY ASSOCIATE POSTING form, the WMC said, the number of staff in the building and the census. WMC said, the name of the facility should also be on the form. The WMC said, when looking at the DAILY…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

$16,801 in federal fines across 2 penalties. 1 Medicare payment denial on record.

  • $8,400 — penalty dated 2024-05-03
  • $8,401 — penalty dated 2024-05-03
  • Medicare payment denial — starting 2024-06-01 for 90 days

Dates are the dates CMS records the penalty, not the date of the conduct behind it. CMS publishes penalties on a rolling window, so this is what is currently on the public file — not the home’s lifetime history, and an older fine may attach to a problem that has since been corrected. The amounts are as imposed: the CMS file does not record whether a penalty was appealed, reduced, or paid, so we don’t say. Ask the home what each one was for and what changed since.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
BMJ SALTAIRE, LLCOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST16%since 08/02/2023
ROCK HILL ACQUISITION III LLCOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST75%since 10/25/2021
LALLY, THOMASIndividual5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; CORPORATE OFFICER25%since 09/15/2021
LITT, ALANIndividual5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; CORPORATE OFFICER25%since 09/15/2021
LITT, JONATHANIndividual5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; CORPORATE OFFICER25%since 09/15/2021
MILLER, JESSICAIndividualW-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEEsince 01/03/2023
BORENSTEIN, JOSEPHIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERsince 10/25/2021
DIVERSICARE MANAGEMENT SERVICES LP.OrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 05/01/2023

CMS files one row per role, so the 11 rows in the source record cover these 8 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.

3 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$15.5M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
-2.9%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 66%Medicare 6%Other / private 27%

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$300per resident / day
operating cost
$9,119per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$291per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in AL

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Alabama Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Alabama
$8,334/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$8,787/mo
Nursing home (private)
$4,425/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 015144. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2024-01-25, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next