No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Sunset Manor

251 Sunset Place, Guin, AL 35563 · For profit - Corporation · 71 certified beds · (205) 468-3331 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (205) 468-3331 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
No harm-level citations or fines — but 9 lower-level deficiencies on record (see below)
Insights

This home’s record is mixed — some reassuring signs, some worth asking about.

In its favor
  • a middle-of-the-pack inspection score (3/5)
  • no harm-level citations in the current inspection record
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
  • a high payroll-based staffing rating (5/5)
Worth asking about
  • its payroll-based staffing score sits well above its independent inspection score
  • its facility-reported quality-measure rating is low (2/5)
  • its last standard health inspection was over 3 years ago — the star rating may not reflect current conditions

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

4/5
CMS overall
4 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 3 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 5 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 2 of 5

Worth a closer look. This home's staffing rating runs 2 stars above its independent health-inspection score. The inspection is done by state surveyors; the staffing score rests on the facility's own payroll (PBJ) submissions — so a gap this large is worth reading the inspection record for.

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
★★★★ 4/5 CMS · Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
252 13th Ave W · (205) 468-3355 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
141 12th Ave W · (205) 468-3402 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
7270 US Highway 43 · (205) 468-3374 · Call to confirm hours
Park
Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship
215 12th St N · (205) 495-2117

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 2 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 2 of 5
Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital 3 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating fell from 4 to 3 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating3★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased12.9%12.0%15.4%better
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight8.2%5.4%5.4%worse
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder1.9%1.0%0.9%worse
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection9.1%2.4%2.0%worse
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms0.0%1.4%6.5%check this — see note marked star below the table
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.6%0.1%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury2.6%3.3%3.3%better
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened12.9%12.1%16.1%better
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication23.6%24.5%18.9%worse
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine100.0%94.8%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers2.7%5.4%4.7%better
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control5.4%12.8%21.2%better
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table20.4%21.2%17.1%worse
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication7.9%2.0%1.4%worse
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine95.8%80.3%79.4%better
Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission14.7%24.8%22.6%better
Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit14.7%11.3%12.0%worse
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days2.061.961.67worse
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days2.041.701.80worse

* This home reported 0% on a measure where lower is better. That can mean genuinely excellent care — but because the number is self-reported, a zero can also mean the problem was not recorded. Weigh it against the inspection record above.

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

47.0% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 38 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

47.0%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
9.9%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
55.2%U.S. median 56.6%
Met the expected recovery
0.20U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.08hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.09hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.04hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Met the expected recovery: 55.2% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 29 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.20 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 23% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 10% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF47.0%CMS range 33.5–57.651.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF9.9%CMS range 6.2–14.210.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge55.2%56.6%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge51.7%52.8%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge55.2%50.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified100.0%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay2.6%0.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened5.3%1.9%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization6.6%CMS range 3.1–11.97.1%Oct 2023–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs1.511.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

1.19
RN hours/ resident / day
0.57
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.45
Aide hours/ resident / day
4.21
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.81
RN hoursweekends
36.5%
Total nursing turnover
20.0%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 71 beds and averages 56.5 residents a day — about 80% occupied, or roughly 14 beds typically open. It usually has some room. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 4.21 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 1.19 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.447 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.54 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 4.48 on weekdays — 21% thinner on weekends — a notable drop. RN hours go from 1.34 to 0.81 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 36% is about the same as the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

2
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2023-07-27)
3
at the previous standard inspection (2019-09-26)

Deficiencies are fewer than at the previous inspection — improving. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

This trend is not current. The most recent of these two inspections was over 3 years ago; the arrow describes what inspectors found then, not what the home is like now.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

9 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.

  • Potential for harm · E2023-07-27 · tag F0803 — failed to meet residents' dietary needs — pattern
    Ensure menus must meet the nutritional needs of residents, be prepared in advance, be followed, be updated, be reviewed by dietician, and meet the needs of the resident.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, the facility's Diet Manual, the facility's policies for Menu Planning and Portion Control, and the facility's 2023 Spring/Summer Menus for Week 2, Wednesday; the facility failed to ensure the residents on Mechanical Soft and Puree diets received the portion sizes per the approved menu at lunch on Wednesday, July 26, 2023. This had the potential to affect 23 of 53 residents receiving meals from the kitchen. Findings include: The facility's Diet Manual, dated 2008, included the following: . Mechanical Soft (Dental Soft) Diet A Mechanical Soft or Dental Soft Diet is used for individuals who have difficulty chewing regular textured foods. Foods that are difficult for the individual to chew are chopped, ground, shredded and/or soft cooked to facilitate chewing and ease of swallowing. Dysphagia Puree (Level 1) Diet The Dysphagia Puree (Level 1) Diet is used only for individuals who have severe chewing and/or swallowing problems. All foods are pureed to simulate a soft food bolus, eliminating the whole chewing phase. Pureed Diet menus follow the foods on…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-07-27 · tag F0692 — failed to prevent malnutrition and dehydration — isolated
    Provide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, interviews, resident record review, and a facility policy titled Weight Monitoring, the facility failed to ensure Resident Identifier (RI) #55 received an Ensure supplement as ordered with meals. This deficient practice affected RI #55 one of two residents sampled for nutrition. Findings include: A facility policy titled Weight Monitoring with a revised date of 04/2023 documented: . Compliance Guidelines: . 1. The facility will utilize a systemic approach to optimize a resident's nutritional status. This process includes: . c. Developing and consistently implementing pertinent approaches . RI #55 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] and readmitted on [DATE]. RI #55's physician orders for July 2023 documented an order dated 05/23/2023 for RI #55 to receive eight (8) ounces of Ensure supplement with all meals. RI #55 was observed during the supper meal on 07/25/2023 at 5:38 PM in RI #55's room. RI #55's meal tray was not served with eight ounces of Ensure supplement. RI #55 was observed…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2019-09-26 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespread
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview and review of a facility policy titled, Cleaning Dishes/Dish Machine, the facility failed to ensure that food dish pans were allowed to air dry prior to stacking and storing. This had the potential to affect 67 of 67 residents receiving meals from the kitchen. Findings include: A review of an undated policy Titled, Cleaning Dishes/Dish Machine revealed: .9. Allow dishes to air dry .10 .inspect for cleanliness and dryness . On 09/23/19 at 5:45 p.m., during the initial tour of the kitchen with Employee Identifier (EI) #4 Dietary Manager, an observation was made of two separate stacks of food pans stored on the shelf under the prep table. The food pans were nesting one on top of the other. The surveyor asked EI #4 to remove several pans, one at a time, from the stack. Each pan removed was noted to have clear wet substance running off. EI #4 then stated, Well, you got me. They are all wet. EI #4 removed the wet pans from the shelf and took the wet pans to the dish washing area. On 09/25/19 at 3:30 p.m., an interview with (EI) #4 was conducted. EI #4 was…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Fcited before2019-09-26 · tag F0814 — failed to dispose of garbage properly — widespread
    Dispose of garbage and refuse properly.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, a facility policy titled, Garbage Disposal and the 2017 Food Code the facility failed to ensure that the outside garbage disposal area was free of debris. This had the potential to affect all 69 residents residing in the facility Findings include: A policy titled, Garbage Disposal Revised September 2018 documented: .will be observed for continued compliance by Maintenance and Housekeeping departments . A review of the 2017 Food Code U.S. Public Health Service documented: . 5-501.15 Outside receptacles . (B) Receptacles and waste handling units for REFUSE . shall be installed so that accumulation of debris and insects and rodent attraction and harborage are minimized and effective cleaning is facilitated around and . under the unit . On 09/25/19 at 11:46 a.m. an observation with Employee Identifier (EI) #4, Dietary Manager, was made of trash items on the ground behind the 2 dumpster's, just off of the concrete pad. Items noted were 4 blue gloves, 2 clear bottles, several paper items, and a clear plastic item. A white plastic fork and a white plastic…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2019-09-26 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interviews, medical review, and a facility policy titled Standard Precautions: Infection Control, the facility failed to ensure a Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN), Employee Identifier (EI) #3, washed her hands or used hand sanitizer after she removed her gloves, touched the top of the waste container on the left side of the medication cart with both hands, and prior to touching Resident Identifier (RI) #24's medication cup, on the medication tray on top of the medication cart. This affected one of two Licensed Nurses and one of three residents observed during medication pass. Findings Include: A review of a facility policy titled Standard Precautions Infection Control, with a date implemented of 11/28/2017, revealed . Policy Explanation and Compliance Guidelines: . (p. 1) e. Perform hand hygiene: . vi. After removing gloves . (p. 5) After touching . contaminated items; immediately after removing gloves . On 9/25/19 at 8:17 a.m., the surveyor observed EI #3, a LPN, apply gloves on both of her hands, crush RI #24's medication in a plastic sleeve, and put RI #24's…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2018-08-29 · tag F0637 — isolated
    Assess the resident when there is a significant change in condition
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on medical records, interviews, and a facility document titled, Comprehensive Resident Assessment (Minimum Data Set), the facility failed to ensure a Significant Change in Status Minimum Data Set (MDS) was completed on three sampled residents after being admitted to hospice. This affected Resident Identifier's (RI) #2, 43 and 115, three of six facility residents on hospice. Findings Include: A review of a facility policy titled Comprehensive Resident Assessment (Minimum Data Set), with an implemented date of 10/01/1991, documented: The facility shall conduct a comprehensive, accurate .assessment of each resident's functional capacity .2. Promptly after significant change in the resident's physical or mental condition . 1. RI #2 was admitted to the facility on [DATE]. On 08/28/2018 at 11:10 a.m., a review of RI #2's Physician Order, dated 05/12/2018, revealed a new medical diagnosis of Failure to Thrive and an order to admit RI #2 to hospice with a diagnosis of Degenerative Disease of the Nervous System…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2018-08-29 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolated
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview and review of a facility policy titled, Medications Multi-Dose Vials, the facility failed to ensure Resident Identifier (RI) #16's vial of insulin contained an opened date on the vial and package containing RI #16's insulin. This deficient practice affected RI #16, one of 7 residents observed during medication administration. Findings Include: A review of a facility policy titled, Medication Multi-Dose Vials Revised 01/29/13, revealed: .POLICY: To assure safety and infection control when multi-dose vials are utilized. PROCEDURE: 1. When a multi-dose vial (MDV) is opened initially, it should be dated. 2. There is a 28 day limitation on the use of MDV Insulins. RI #16 was readmitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses including, Chronic Kidney Disease. On 08/28/18 at 10:43 a.m. during a medication pass, Employee Identifier (EI) #4, Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN), was observed administering medications to RI #16. EI #4 took a package containing Novolog insulin from the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2018-08-29 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, interviews, medical record reviews and review of facility policies titled, Glove Usage and Handwashing/Hand Sanitizing, the facility failed to ensure: 1. a licensed nurse did not place gloves, a vial of medication and Resident Identifier (RI) #55's nebulizer mask on unclean surfaces during medication pass and 2. a licensed nurse washed her hands before preparing RI #59's medications and before applying her gloves to break one of RI #59's medications. These deficient practices affected RI #55 and RI #59, two of seven residents, and two of four nurses observed during medication administration. Findings Include: RI #55 was admitted to the facility on [DATE]. On 08/28/18 at 8:26 a.m. during a medication pass, the surveyor observed Employee Identifier (EI) #5, Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN), enter RI #55's room and lay a pair of gloves and a vial of nebulizer medication on RI #55's overbed table. EI #5 then entered the bathroom, washed her hands, walked back to the table and applied the gloves…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • No harm found · Ccited before2018-08-29 · tag F0814 — failed to dispose of garbage properly — widespread
    Dispose of garbage and refuse properly.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview and a facility policy titled, Garbage Disposal, the facility failed to ensure the dumpster's lid remained closed and a foul odor was not noted around the dumpster site. This affected 1 of 1 dumpster and had the potential to affect all 64 residents in the facility. Findings include: A policy titled, Garbage Disposal, last revised date Dec. 2011 revealed, Policy: This policy is to describe the disposal of garbage and waste from (name of facility) property. Policy Explanation and Compliance Guidelines: . Doors remain closed . On 08/27/18 at 04:03 PM, the dumpster was observed with the top lid completely open. Five black trash bags were observed sticking out of the top of the dumpster. On the ground beside the dumpster was one glove and two packets of pepper. A foul odor was also noted around the dumpster area. An interview was conducted with Employee Identifier (EI) #6, Dietary Manager, on 08/29/18 at 08:20 AM. EI #6 was asked what was the facility policy on the dumpster lids. EI #6 replied, they stay shut. EI #6 was asked what was the potential hazard…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleSince
JUNKIN, CHRISTIEIndividualDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNFsince 07/01/2004
JUNKIN, LANCEIndividualDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNFsince 07/01/2004
HARRISON, BOYDEIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; TRUSTEE OF THE SNF; ADP OF THE SNFsince 02/01/2026
JUNKIN-GALBREATH, HAYDENIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 08/01/2012
PALMER, JENNIFERIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 09/25/2022

CMS files one row per role, so the 9 rows in the source record cover these 5 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted. The source lists no ownership percentage for any of them — PECOS records a share only for equity interests, not for board or management roles.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$6.5M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
-2.0%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
$423K
Related-party expense6% of expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 55%Medicare 10%Other / private 34%

This home reported $423K paid to related parties (affiliated landlords or management companies) in its most recent cost report.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2024. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$304per resident / day
operating cost
$9,244per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$298per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2024). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in AL

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Alabama Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Alabama
$8,334/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$8,787/mo
Nursing home (private)
$4,425/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 015149. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2023-07-27, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next