No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Lafayette Nursing Home

555 B Street SW, Lafayette, AL 36862 · For profit - Individual · 63 certified beds · (334) 864-9371 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
3 immediate-jeopardy citations
Insights

This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.

In its favor
  • a strong health-inspection score (4/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
Worth asking about
  • inspectors cited 3 immediate-jeopardy problems — the most serious level
  • its payroll-based staffing rating is low (1/5)
  • its facility-reported quality-measure rating is low (1/5)
  • its last standard health inspection was over 4 years ago — the star rating may not reflect current conditions

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

2/5
CMS overall
2 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 4 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 1 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 1 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
24 Veterans Memorial Pkwy · (334) 642-1362 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
339 9th Ave SW · (334) 864-7781 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
59 N Lafayette St · (334) 864-8868 · Call to confirm hours
Park
7312 County Road 174 · (334) 576-1983 · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship
201 Lafayette St S · (334) 864-8545

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 1 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 1 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating improved from 1 to 3 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating3★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased11.1%12.0%15.4%better
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight7.0%5.4%5.4%worse
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder1.5%1.0%0.9%worse
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection4.0%2.4%2.0%worse
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms0.0%1.4%6.5%check this — see note marked star below the table
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.6%0.1%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury5.3%3.3%3.3%worse
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened8.7%12.1%16.1%better
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication32.5%24.5%18.9%worse
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine100.0%94.8%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers4.8%5.4%4.7%typical
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control4.0%12.8%21.2%better
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table36.6%21.2%17.1%worse
Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission25.1%24.8%22.6%worse
Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit24.3%11.3%12.0%worse
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days3.651.961.67worse
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days7.351.701.80worse

* This home reported 0% on a measure where lower is better. That can mean genuinely excellent care — but because the number is self-reported, a zero can also mean the problem was not recorded. Weigh it against the inspection record above.

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

0.26U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.10hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.07hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.10hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.26 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 38% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 16% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNFnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNFnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified100.0%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay0.0%0.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened5.0%1.9%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalizationnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs1.241.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.44
RN hours/ resident / day
1.00
LPN hours/ resident / day
1.75
Aide hours/ resident / day
3.19
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.22
RN hoursweekends
Total nursing turnover
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 63 beds and averages 50.3 residents a day — about 80% occupied, or roughly 13 beds typically open. It usually has some room. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.19 hrs/resident/day is below the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.44 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 1.75 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 2.47 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.48 on weekdays — 29% thinner on weekends — a notable drop. RN hours go from 0.53 to 0.22 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

1
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2022-09-21)
2
at the previous standard inspection (2020-03-12)

Deficiencies are fewer than at the previous inspection — improving. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

This trend is not current. The most recent of these two inspections was over 4 years ago; the arrow describes what inspectors found then, not what the home is like now.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

13 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.

  • Immediate jeopardy · J2019-01-25 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolated
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, interviews and review of Resident Identifier (RI) #44's medical record, the facility failed to develop an individualized care plan for RI #44, a resident totally dependent on staff for all Activities of Daily Living (ADLs), to address RI #44's right leg that was turned outward laterally and rested on the bed, when the resident was placed on bedrest on 10/4/18. The facility further failed to ensure RI #44's use of bilateral heel booties (Posey Heel Pillows), worn daily for the protection and prevention of pressure ulcers, were addressed in RI #44's care plans. These failures to develop and implement interventions to address RI #44's positioning and pressure relief caused RI #44 to develop a facility-acquired Stage IV pressure ulcer on the right outer (lateral) ankle on 11/26/18 that measured 1.8 centimeter (cm) by 1.4 cm with 0.4 cm of depth. The pressure ulcer was assessed as having minimal drainage, no odor and exposed bone. These deficient practices affected RI #44, one of 16 sampled…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Immediate jeopardy · J2019-01-25 · tag F0686 — failed to prevent and treat pressure sores (bedsores) — isolated
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interviews, review of Resident Identifier (RI) #44's medical record, the facility's policy titled Prevention of Pressure Ulcers/Injuries and the manufacturer's information for the Posey Heel Pillows/Foot Positioner WOUND PREVENTION, the facility failed to address pressure relief for RI #44's right leg that was turned outward and rested on the bed. RI #44, a resident totally dependent on staff for all Activities of Daily Living (ADLs) and at risk for pressure ulcer development, was placed on bed rest on 10/4/18. When placed on bed rest, there were no changes in RI #44's treatment plan to address the resident's right leg. According to staff interviews, RI #44 wore bilateral heel booties (Posey Heel Pillows) every day. The facility further failed to follow the manufacturer's recommendations to remove the Posey Heel Pillow every two hours and check for skin integrity. On 11/26/18, RI #44 develop a facility-acquired Stage IV pressure ulcer on the right outer (lateral) ankle on 11/26/18 that…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Immediate jeopardy · J2019-01-25 · tag F0835 — failed to run the facility competently — isolated
    Administer the facility in a manner that enables it to use its resources effectively and efficiently.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interviews and review of the JOB DESCRIPTION DIRECTOR OF NURSING SERVICES and JOB DESCRIPTION ADMINISTRATOR, the facility's Administrator, responsible for the day-to-day operatios of the facility and the Director of Nursing, responsible for the overall operation of the Nursing Service Department, failed to ensure there was a policy to address the use of adaptive devices used to relieve pressure utilized by the facility. The facility's administrative staff futher failed to ensure they were aware of the manufacturer's recommendations for the Posey Heel Pillow applied to Resident Identifier (RI) #44's bilateral lower extremities. Lastly, the administrative staff failed to ensure the staff were educated on the manufacturer's recommendations to remove every two hours to check for skin integrity, proper circulation and range of motion. RI #44, a resident totally dependent on staff for all Activities of Daily Living (ADLs) and at risk for pressure ulcer development, was placed on bed rest on 10/4/18. When…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Administration Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2022-09-21 · tag F0679 — failed to provide activities — pattern
    Provide activities to meet all resident's needs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review, interviews and review of a facility policy titled, Activity Programs, the facility failed to ensure an ongoing group activities program was offered on the weekends. This was identified by residents in attendance for resident council on 9/20/22. This affected RI (Resident Identifier) #'s 15,39, and 41, three of five residents who attended resident council on 9/20/22. Findings Include: A review of a policy titled Activity Programs with a revised date of June 2018 documented: .Activity programs are designed to meet the interests and support the physical, mental and psychosocial well-being of each resident. 11.group activities are provided that: b. Are offered at hours convenient to the residents, including evenings, holidays and weekends; . A review of Facility Activity Calendars for August 2022 and September 2022 showed no scheduled activities on Saturday and Sunday. A resident council meeting was held on 9/20/22. Five residents attended the meeting. When asked about facility activities on…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2020-03-12 · tag F0804 — failed to serve food at safe, palatable temperature — pattern
    Ensure food and drink is palatable, attractive, and at a safe and appetizing temperature.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interviews conducted during the initial tour, comments from Resident Council attendees, tray line observation, a review of the facility policy titled Monitoring Food Temperatures for Meal Service, and interviews with staff, the facility failed to consistently serve food at palatable temperatures to residents. This affected 5 of 22 interviewable residents residing in the facility, including RI #25. Findings Include: A review of the facility policy titled, Monitoring Food Temperatures for Meal Service (2016) specified: . Procedure . 3. g. Meals that are served on room trays may be periodically checked at the point of service for palatable food temperatures. Food temperatures of hot foods on room trays at the point of service are preferred to be at 120 degrees F (Fahrenheit) or greater to promote palatability for the resident. Any complaint regarding food temperatures by residents will be documented on the Food Temperature Log. Complaints will be investigated by conducting a test tray for that meal to determine if foods are remaining above 120 degrees F. During the initial…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2020-03-12 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, interviews and review of facility policies Handwashing/Hand Hygiene and Food Safety Requirements, the facility failed to ensure: 1. facility staff did not transport foods to residents on the halls during an activity, uncovered and using the same glovesbetween resident food distribution, and 2. during incontinent care for Resident Identifier (RI) #10, a Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) washed her hands between glove changes, two CNAs did not touch clean linens and briefs with soiled gloves, and a CNA did not leave a resident room without washing her hands, enter a linen closet to get a clean brief then return to the resident room. This was observed on 3/10/20 and affected seven of seven residents receiving ice cream and cake during the afternoon activity, and one of one residents observed for incontinent care. Findings Include: 1. A review of a facility policy titled Food Safety Requirements date 2019, revealed, . Policy Explanation and Compliance Guidelines: . 5. Foods and beverages shall…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2019-01-25 · tag F0725 — failed to have enough nursing staff — widespread
    Provide enough nursing staff every day to meet the needs of every resident; and have a licensed nurse in charge on each shift.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations and interviews, the facility failed to provide sufficient nursing staff to consistently meet the needs of the residents. This deficient practice had the potential to affect all 59 residents currently residing in the facility. Findings include: Refer to F583 and F880 On 1/13/19 at 7:08 AM, EI #7, a Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA), was asked how many CNAs usually worked on the 3rd shift (11:00 PM to 7:00 AM). EI #7 said, when she started in May it was just her. When asked how often she worked with just one CNA, EI #7 said, a couple of nights a week. On 1/13/19 at 7:31 AM, EI #8, a CNA, was asked how many CNAs the facility usually had working on 3rd shift. EI #8 replied, sometimes it was one, sometimes two, and sometimes three. EI #8 was asked if the Registered Nurses (RNs) or License Practical Nurses (LPNs) ever helped the CNAs. EI #8 said, no, not on the 3rd shift. When asked how often she checked and changed her residents, EI #8 replied, every two hours. When asked if she had ever had to work at night by herself, EI #8 replied yes. EI #8 was asked if she was…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2019-01-25 · tag F0838 — failed to assess facility resources and resident needs — widespread
    Conduct and document a facility-wide assessment to determine what resources are necessary to care for residents competently during both day-to-day operations (including nights and weekends) and emergencies.
    What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing

    Based on interview and review of the Lafayette Nursing Home, LLC Facility Assessment, the facility failed to ensure the facility assessment included an evaluation of the overall number of facility staff needed to ensure a sufficient number of qualified staff were available to meet each resident's needs. This deficient practice had the potential to affect all 59 residents currently residing in the facility. Findings include: The undated, unsigned Lafayette Nursing Home, LLC Facility Assessment documented . SERVICES AND CARE OFFERED . Staff nurses that consist of RN's (Registered Nurses) and LPN's (Licensed Practical Nurses). Certified nurse assistants on all shifts. On call nurse on weekend as well as an RN . In an interview on 1/24/19 11:13 AM, Employee Identifier (EI) #2, the Director of Nursing was asked did the facility assessment include a determination of the level of staffing needed to meet each resident's needs. EI #2 replied, the facility assessment did not specify the number of staff, just that the facility had Certified Nursing Assistants on all shifts.

    Administration Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2019-01-25 · tag F0868 — widespread
    Have the Quality Assessment and Assurance group have the required members and meet at least quarterly
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interviews and review of the facility's policy titled Quality Assurance and Performance Improvement (QAPI) Committee, the facility failed to ensure the QAPI Committee met quarterly to identify concerns and develop plans of actions to address any concerns identified. This deficient practice had the potential to affect all 59 residents currently residing in the facility. Findings include: The facility's policy titled Quality Assurance and Performance Improvement (QAPI) Committee, dated July 2016, documented Policy Statement The facility shall establish and maintain a Quality Assurance and Performance Improvement (QAPI) Committee that oversees the implementation of the QAPI Program. Policy Interpretation and Implementation 1. The Administrator shall delegate the necessary authority for the QAPI Committee to establish, maintain and oversee the QAPI program . Committee Meetings 1. The committee will meet monthly at an appointed time . On 1/19/19 at 2:52 PM, Employee Identifier (EI) #2, the Director of Nursing (DON), said the facility had not had a Quality Assessment (QA) meeting…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Administration Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2019-01-25 · tag F0583 — failed to protect personal privacy — pattern
    Keep residents' personal and medical records private and confidential.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations, interviews, and review of the facility's policy titled Resident Rights Guidelines for All Nursing Procedures, the facility failed to ensure Employee Identifier (EI) #6 and EI #9, both Certified Nursing Assistants (CNAs) provided personal privacy to Resident Identifier (RI) #9, RI #24, RI #35, RI #40 and RI #58 during incontinence care and/or bathing on 1/13/19. These deficient practices affected five of seven sampled residents reviewed for privacy. Findings include: The facility's policy titled Resident Rights Guidelines for All Nursing Procedures, revised October 2010, documented Purpose To provide general guidelines for resident rights while caring for the resident . General Guidelines 1. For any procedure that involves direct resident care, follow these steps: . f. Close the room entrance door and provide for the resident's privacy . 1) On 1/13/19 at 5:00 AM, EI #9, a CNA, was observed providing incontinence care to RI #58. RI #58 was lying in bed without clothes and was not covered with a sheet. The resident's room door was open and the curtain between the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2019-01-25 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — pattern
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations, interviews and review of the facility's policies titled Laundry and Bedding, Soiled, Diapers/Underpads and Infection Control Guidelines for All Nursing Procedures, the facility failed to ensure soiled linen was not left on the floor. This was observed on one of 13 days of the survey. The facility further to ensure Employee Identifier (EI) #9, a Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) washed her hands after removing gloves, in between residents and resident care tasks performed. This deficient practice affected Resident Identifier (RI) #8, RI #16, RI #24, RI #25 and RI #40, five of 16 sampled residents. Findings include: 1) The facility's policy titled Laundry and Bedding, Soiled dated July 2009, documented Policy Statement Soiled laundry/bedding shall be handled in a manner that prevents gross microbial contamination of the air and persons handing the linen. Policy Interpretation and Implementation . 2. Place contaminated laundry in a bag or container at the location where it is used . The facility's policy titled Diapers/Underpads dated September 2010, documented…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2019-01-25 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolated
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview and review of the facility's policy titled Medication Storage, Employee Identifier (EI) #10, a Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) failed to ensure medications were not left on top of the medication cart and the medication cart was locked when out of the nurse's view. This deficient practice was observed on one of 13 days of the survey. Findings include: The facility's policy titled Medication Storage, dated August 2001, documented POLICY: . The facility is responsible for maintaining proper storage. PROCEDURE: . All medications will be stored according to state and federal laws and regulations . It is the responsibility of the facility to keep the medication cart locked and secure at all times when not in use (during times other than medication pass and in between residents during medication pass) . Medications or sharps CANNOT be stored on top of the medication cart. All safety measures must be taken to protect the residents from accessing medications and other objects that could potentially harm the resident or others . On 1/13/2019 at 5:00 AM, the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • No harm found · B2019-01-25 · tag F0732 — pattern
    Post nurse staffing information every day.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations and interviews, the facility failed to ensure nurse staffing data was posted at the beginning of each shift. This deficient practice was observed on two of 13 days of the survey. Findings include: On 1/13/19 at 5:30 AM, the nurse staffing data posted was dated 1/11/19. On 1/25/19 at 6:15 AM during the 11:00 PM to 7:00 AM shift, the nurse staffing data was not posted. On 1/24/19 at 12:43 PM, Employee Identifier (EI) #2, the Director of Nursing was asked when should nurse staffing data be posted. EI #2 replied, at the beginning of each shift. When asked who was responsible for posting nurse staffing data, EI #2 said she and the Charge Nurse on the front hall were responsible. EI #2 was asked why the nurse staffing data was not posted for 1/13/19. EI #2 stated that would have been the responsibility of EI #16. When asked why it important to post nurse staffing data, EI #2 said it gave reassurance to the visitors and residents for how many people were caring for them. In an interview on 1/25/19 at 6:34 AM, EI #16, a Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) Charge Nurse…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
THE ESTATE OF JOHN HOLMESOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNF95%since 01/01/2004
FIRST BANK OF ALABAMAOrganization5% OR GREATER MORTGAGE INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNFsince 09/02/2025
OZIMBA, EMMANUELIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 12/13/2023
WHITE, JOHNIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; CORPORATE DIRECTOR; CORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/26/2025

CMS files one row per role, so the 12 rows in the source record cover these 4 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.

2 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$5.2M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
-12.2%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
$335K
Related-party expense6% of expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 83%Medicare 6%Other / private 12%

About 83% of this home’s resident-days are paid by Medicaid, which reimburses well below the cost of care in most states. Heavily Medicaid-dependent homes run on thinner budgets — a context worth holding next to the staffing and inspection record, not a fault in itself. This home reported $335K paid to related parties (affiliated landlords or management companies) in its most recent cost report. A reported operating loss is common in this industry and is not by itself a sign of trouble — but paired with large related-party payments it can mean profit is being taken elsewhere in the ownership structure.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2024. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$321per resident / day
operating cost
$9,768per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$286per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2024). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in AL

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Alabama Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Alabama
$8,334/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$8,787/mo
Nursing home (private)
$4,425/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 015414. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2022-09-21, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next