No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Crowne Health Care Of Mobile

954 Navco Road, Mobile, AL 36605 · For profit - Corporation · 148 certified beds · (251) 473-8684 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (251) 473-8684 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
No harm-level citations or fines — but 8 lower-level deficiencies on record (see below)
Insights

This home’s record is mixed — some reassuring signs, some worth asking about.

In its favor
  • a middle-of-the-pack inspection score (3/5)
  • no harm-level citations in the current inspection record
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
  • a high payroll-based staffing rating (5/5)
  • lower-than-typical staff turnover (26% vs 45% nationally) — better care continuity
Worth asking about
  • its payroll-based staffing score sits well above its independent inspection score
  • its facility-reported quality-measure rating is low (1/5)
  • its last standard health inspection was over 7 years ago — the star rating may not reflect current conditions

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

3/5
CMS overall
3 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 3 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 5 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 1 of 5

Worth a closer look. This home's staffing rating runs 2 stars above its independent health-inspection score. The inspection is done by state surveyors; the staffing score rests on the facility's own payroll (PBJ) submissions — so a gap this large is worth reading the inspection record for.

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
★★★ 3/5 CMS · Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
1924K Dauphin Island Pkwy · (251) 476-6330 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
1956 Duval St · (251) 444-1050 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
1360 Navco Rd
Park
2412 Halls Mill Rd · (251) 208-1650 · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship
2516 Halls Mill Rd · (251) 591-6679

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 1 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 1 of 5
Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital 1 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating fell from 4 to 3 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating3★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased16.6%12.0%15.4%typical
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight4.1%5.4%5.4%better
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder2.5%1.0%0.9%worse
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection2.4%2.4%2.0%worse
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms0.5%1.4%6.5%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.2%0.6%0.1%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury4.7%3.3%3.3%worse
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened19.5%12.1%16.1%worse
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication23.2%24.5%18.9%worse
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine73.5%94.8%95.3%worse
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers5.0%5.4%4.7%typical
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control16.6%12.8%21.2%better
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table27.7%21.2%17.1%worse
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication7.4%2.0%1.4%worse
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine32.6%80.3%79.4%worse
Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission24.2%24.8%22.6%typical
Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit11.7%11.3%12.0%typical
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days3.541.961.67worse
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days2.061.701.80worse

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

52.1% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 33 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

52.1%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
10.8%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
30.4%U.S. median 56.6%
Met the expected recovery
0.16U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.05hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.07hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.04hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Met the expected recovery: 30.4% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 23 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.16 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 14% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 5% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF52.1%CMS range 37.2–71.851.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF10.8%CMS range 6.8–16.810.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge30.4%56.6%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge34.8%52.8%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge30.4%50.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified97.1%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay2.9%0.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened0.0%1.9%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization9.2%CMS range 5.1–16.57.1%Oct 2023–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs0.821.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.68
RN hours/ resident / day
1.51
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.76
Aide hours/ resident / day
4.95
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.34
RN hoursweekends
25.7%
Total nursing turnover
6.3%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 148 beds and averages 124.8 residents a day — about 84% occupied, or roughly 23 beds typically open. It usually has some room. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 4.95 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.68 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.76 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 4.02 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 5.32 on weekdays — 25% thinner on weekends — a notable drop. RN hours go from 0.81 to 0.34 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 26% is below the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

4
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2019-09-19)
3
at the previous standard inspection (2018-08-16)

Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

This trend is not current. The most recent of these two inspections was over 7 years ago; the arrow describes what inspectors found then, not what the home is like now.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

  • Potential for harm · D2019-09-19 · tag F0550 — failed to protect resident dignity and rights — isolated
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, record review and interviews, the facility failed to ensure Employee Identifier (EI) #5, the treatment nurse, did not date and initial Resident Identifier (RI) #67's dressings after the dressings had been placed over the resident's wounds during the wound care observation on 09/18/19. This affected RI #67, one of one residents observed for wound care. Findings Include: RI #67 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] and readmitted on [DATE], with the diagnosis of Pressure Ulcers. On 09/18/19 at 11:11 a.m., the surveyor observed EI #5 provide wound care for RI #67. EI #5 removed the dressings from RI #67's left ischial and sacrum areas, provided wound care to both wounds, covered the wounds with border foam dressings, then wrote the date and initialed the dressings with a black marker. EI #5 then cut the dressing from RI #67's left lower extremity, provided wound care to RI #67's left heel and left lateral ankle, covered the wounds and wrapped them with Kling wrap. After wrapping with Kling…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2019-09-19 · tag F0585 — failed to handle grievances — isolated
    Honor the resident's right to voice grievances without discrimination or reprisal and the facility must establish a grievance policy and make prompt efforts to resolve grievances.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interviews, record review, a facility policy titled, Grievances/Concerns and review of Resident Identifier (RI) #644's RESIDENT /SPONSOR CARE PLAN INPUT SHEET, the facility failed to promptly ensure a Grievance/Concern Report was initiated when RI #644's sponsor brought a concern/grievance to the facility on [DATE]. This affected RI #644, one of two residents sampled for grievances. Findings Include: RI #644 was admitted to the facility on [DATE]. Review of a facility policy titled, Grievances/Concerns with a revised date of 11/16, revealed the following: . POLICY: . The Facility will promptly investigate grievances/concerns . in an effort to seek a resolution . PROCEDURES: . 2. The Facility's Social Services Director will serve as the designated Grievance Official with the responsibility for overseeing the grievance process; receiving and tracking grievances through to their conclusion . 7. Upon any grievance/concern . either the individual making the grievance/concern of the Facility staff member…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2019-09-19 · tag F0686 — failed to prevent and treat pressure sores (bedsores) — isolated
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review and interviews, the facility failed to ensure Employee Identifier (EI) #5, the treatment nurse, cleaned/sanitized a pair of scissors after removing the scissors from the pocket of her uniform, and before using the scissors to cut a Kling wrap that was on the inside of Resident Identifier (RI) #67's sacral pressure ulcer during the wound care observation on 09/18/19. This affected RI #67, one of one residents observed for wound care. Findings Include: RI #67 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] and readmitted on [DATE], with the diagnosis of Pressure Ulcers. RI #67's Quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment with an Assessment Reference Date (ARD) of 08/01/19, identified RI #67 as having pressure ulcers during this assessment period. On 09/18/19 at 11:11 a.m., the surveyor observed EI #5, the treatment nurse, provide wound care to RI #67's sacrum wound. After removing the dressing from RI #67's sacrum wound, EI #5 provided wound care to the area, removed a pair of scissors…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2019-09-19 · tag F0755 — failed to provide safe pharmacy services — isolated
    Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on an interview, review of Non-Controlled Record of Medication Destruction forms and a review of a facility policy titled, Disposal of Medications, Non-Controlled Medication Destruction, the facility failed to ensure the May 2019, June 2019, and August 2019, Non-Controlled Record of Medication Destruction forms contained the two required signatures. This was noted on three of the nine months of Non-Controlled Record of Medication Destruction forms reviewed. Findings Include: A review of a facility policy titled, Disposal of Medications, Non-Controlled Medication Destruction, dated 01/12, revealed: .3. The registered nurse and/or pharmacist witnessing the destruction, or their preparation for environmental service pickup, ensures that the following is entered on the Record of Medication Destruction form .J. Signature of witnesses, two witnesses required for non-controlled substances . Review of the Record of Medication Destruction forms for Non-Controlled drugs dated May 2019, June 2019 and August 2019, revealed only one signature. On 09/19/2019 at 10:37 a.m., the surveyor…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2018-08-16 · tag F0658 — failed to meet professional standards of care — isolated
    Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, interviews, medical record review, and review of the facility's procedure titled Procedure for Diet/Supplement/Thickener Orders Matching the Dietary Tray Card and Matching the Tray Served, the facility failed to ensure Resident Identifier (RI) #48's physician's orders for double portions with all meals was followed. This affected one of 41 sampled residents whose physician's orders were reviewed. Findings Include: A review of the facility's procedure titled, Procedure for Diet/Supplement/Thickener Orders Matching the Dietary Tray Card and Matching the Tray Served, dated 12/12, revealed the following: . 5. The CNA (Certified Nursing Assistant) serving a meal tray makes sure the tray card matches the food served on the tray and/or obtains any items not served per the tray card. RI #48 was re-admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses including: Aphasia, Contracture of Left and Right hand, Gastro-esophageal Reflux Disease without Esophagitis and Unspecified Sequelae of Unspecified…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2018-08-16 · tag F0692 — failed to prevent malnutrition and dehydration — isolated
    Provide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, interviews, medical record review, and review of the facility's procedure titled Procedure for Diet/Supplement/Thickener Orders Matching the Dietary Tray Card and Matching the Tray Served, the facility failed to ensure Resident Identifier (RI) #48 received double portions with all meals, which created the potential for altered nutritional status. This affected one of eight sampled residents reviewed for nutrition. Findings Include: A review of the facility's procedure titled, Procedure for Diet/Supplement/Thickener Orders Matching the Dietary Tray Card and Matching the Tray Served, dated 12/12, revealed the following: . 5. The CNA (Certified Nursing Assistant) serving a meal tray makes sure the tray card matches the food served on the tray and/or obtains any items not served per the tray card. RI #48 was re-admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses including: Aphasia, Contracture of Left and Right hand, Gastro-esophageal Reflux Disease without Esophagitis and Unspecified Sequelae…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2018-08-16 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, medical record review and a review of the facility's policies titled, Incontinent Care ., Glove Use and Hand Hygiene, the facility failed to ensure licensed staff washed her hands after removing soiled gloves and before leaving the room while performing incontinence care. Further, licensed staff contaminated the disposable wipes container with soiled gloves while performing incontinence care. This affected Resident Identifier (RI) #43, one of one resident observed during incontinence care. Findings Include: A review of the facility's policy titled, Incontinent Care ., with a revised date of 12/2012, revealed the following: . PROCEDURE: . 9. Remove and dispose of gloves, wash hands. Apply clean gloves . 12. Remove gloves and wash hands prior to leaving the room. A review of the facility's policy titled, Glove Use, with a revised date of 3/2017, revealed the following: . PROCEDURE: . 9. Hand washing is necessary when gloves are removed. A review of the facility's policy titled,…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2017-06-22 · tag F0371 — widespread
    Store, cook, and serve food in a safe and clean way.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations, interview, a review of the facility policy titled, Dish Clearing and Cleaning Safety, a review of an undated/untitled facility policy, and a review of the 2013 Food Code, the facility failed to ensure: 1) a total of 120 meal trays were not observed wet and stored on top of each other in a clean area of the kitchen and 2) a dinner plate with a chipped area on the rim of it and four dinner plates with rough edges were stored on a shelf in the kitchen. These failures had the potential to effect all 128 residents receiving meals from the dietary department. Findings Include: 1) A review of an undated/untitled facility policy revealed the following: . Procedure: .10 . Remove the dishes, inspect for cleanliness and dryness, and put them away if clean . A review of the Food and Drug Administration Food Code 2013, Chapter 4 Protection of Clean Items, page 148, revealed the following: . Drying 4-901.11 Equipment and Utensils, Air-Drying Required. . After cleaning and SANITIZING, EQUIPMENT and UTENSILS: (A) Shall be air-dried . During the initial tour of the kitchen on…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Part of a chain

This home belongs to CROWNE HEALTH CARE — 18 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →

RatingThis homeChain avg
Overall 3 of 54.2-1.2 vs chain
Health inspection 3 of 53.8-0.8 vs chain
Staffing 5 of 54.6+0.4 vs chain
Quality measures 1 of 52.8-1.8 vs chain
The other 17 homes this chain runs (chain average 4.2★, per CMS)

A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
CROWNE OPERATIONS, INCOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTNO PERCENTAGE PROVIDEDsince 11/01/2003
JENNIFER JONES MCINNISH FAMILY DYNASTY TRUST #1Organization5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTNO PERCENTAGE PROVIDEDsince 12/31/2016
RICHARD BRYAN JONES FAMILY DYNASTY TRUST #1Organization5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTNO PERCENTAGE PROVIDEDsince 12/31/2016
MANNING, JONESIndividualW-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEEsince 06/27/2022
DUNNAM, NOELIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR; CORPORATE OFFICERsince 06/11/2015
JONES, RICHARDIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR; CORPORATE OFFICERsince 06/11/2015
MANNING, MARCUSIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 06/11/2015
WILDER, JOHNIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 12/03/2003
CROWNE MANAGEMENT, LLCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 12/10/2009

CMS files one row per role, so the 11 rows in the source record cover these 9 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.

4 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$14.9M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
-3.0%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
$812K
Related-party expense5% of expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 72%Medicare 2%Other / private 27%

About 72% of this home’s resident-days are paid by Medicaid, which reimburses well below the cost of care in most states. Heavily Medicaid-dependent homes run on thinner budgets — a context worth holding next to the staffing and inspection record, not a fault in itself. This home reported $812K paid to related parties (affiliated landlords or management companies) in its most recent cost report.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2024. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$306per resident / day
operating cost
$9,313per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$297per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2024). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in AL

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Alabama Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Alabama
$8,334/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$8,787/mo
Nursing home (private)
$4,425/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 015100. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2019-09-19, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next