Hillview Terrace
100 Perry Hill Rd, Montgomery, AL 36109 · For profit - Corporation · 143 certified beds · (334) 272-0171 Medicare & Medicaid certified
This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.
- no federal fines or payment denials on record
- a high payroll-based staffing rating (4/5)
- it has an abuse, neglect, or exploitation citation (F0600), cited Dec 2018
- a high number of inspection citations overall (16) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
- its payroll-based staffing score sits well above its independent inspection score
- its independent health-inspection rating is low (2/5)
- its facility-reported quality-measure rating is low (2/5)
- its last standard health inspection was over 6 years ago — the star rating may not reflect current conditions
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 2 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 4 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 2 of 5 |
Worth a closer look. This home's staffing rating runs 2 stars above its independent health-inspection score. The inspection is done by state surveyors; the staffing score rests on the facility's own payroll (PBJ) submissions — so a gap this large is worth reading the inspection record for.
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 2 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 4 of 5 |
| Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital | 1 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating held steady at 2 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 20.0% | 12.0% | 15.4% | worse |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 0.0% | 5.4% | 5.4% | check this* — see note marked star below the table |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 1.4% | 1.0% | 0.9% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 1.0% | 2.4% | 2.0% | better |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 0.0% | 1.4% | 6.5% | check this* — see note marked star below the table |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.6% | 0.1% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 0.6% | 3.3% | 3.3% | better |
| Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened | 24.0% | 12.1% | 16.1% | worse |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 12.3% | 24.5% | 18.9% | better |
| Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 97.8% | 94.8% | 95.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 5.1% | 5.4% | 4.7% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 3.0% | 12.8% | 21.2% | better |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 15.2% | 21.2% | 17.1% | better |
| Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication | 1.6% | 2.0% | 1.4% | worse |
| Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 93.1% | 80.3% | 79.4% | better |
| Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission | 31.6% | 24.8% | 22.6% | worse |
| Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit | 13.4% | 11.3% | 12.0% | worse |
| Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days | 1.47 | 1.96 | 1.67 | better |
| Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days | 0.79 | 1.70 | 1.80 | better |
* This home reported 0% on a measure where lower is better. That can mean genuinely excellent care — but because the number is self-reported, a zero can also mean the problem was not recorded. Weigh it against the inspection record above.
‡ On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
49.7% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 54 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.
Met the expected recovery: 33.3% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 24 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.
Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.27 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 41% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.
Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 2% of this home’s weekday level — it runs therapy on weekdays, with essentially none at the weekend. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | 49.7%CMS range 37.0–61.3 | 51.5% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | 10.7%CMS range 6.5–16.4 | 10.7% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | 33.3% | 56.6% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | 20.8% | 52.8% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | 33.3% | 50.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | 100.0% | 98.7% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | 0.0% | 0.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | 8.3% | 1.9% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | 7.5%CMS range 3.8–13.7 | 7.1% | Oct 2023–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | 0.89 | 1.02 | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 143 beds and averages 138.7 residents a day — about 97% occupied, or roughly 4 beds typically open. It runs essentially full — expect a waiting list. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 4.53 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.41 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.95 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.81 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 4.82 on weekdays — 21% thinner on weekends — a notable drop. RN hours go from 0.46 to 0.30 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 44% is about the same as the national median of 45%.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are unchanged from the previous inspection. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
This trend is not current. The most recent of these two inspections was over 6 years ago; the arrow describes what inspectors found then, not what the home is like now.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
16 citations, most serious first. The 10 most serious are shown; the remaining 6 are one tap away and print in full.
- Potential for harm · F2020-03-05 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespreadProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observations, interviews, and review of policies: Personal Cleanliness and Standards and Beard Restraints, as well as current (2017) Food Code regulations, the facility failed to ensure staff: 1) covered all hair during the preparation and distribution of food on the 03/04/20 lunch tray line; and 2) washed hands after handling soiled equipment and before putting on another pair of gloves to resume food handling tasks. This had the potential to affect all 124 residents for whom meals were prepared and served at the time of this survey. Findings include: 1) The (undated) facility policy titled Personal Cleanliness and Standards stated the following: .Hair restraints should be worn at all times . The facility policy, Beard Restraints (undated) specified: Dietary employees must either be clean shaven or wear a beard restraint if facial hair is present to effectively keep their hair from contacting exposed food, clean equipment, utensils, and linens. The 2017 Food and Drug Administration Food Code mandates under regulation 2-401.11 (A) .FOOD EMPLOYEES shall wear hair restraints…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2020-03-05 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — patternProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, interviews, medical record reviews, a review of the facility policies titled, Hand Hygiene and Administration of Medication, and review of [NAME] and Perry's, FUNDAMENTALS OF NURSING, the facility failed to ensure: 1) Employee Identifier (EI) #6, Registered Nurse (RN), did not take a stethoscope from a bowl on the nurse's station into Resident Identifier (RI) #18's room to auscultate placement of RI #18's gastrostomy tube without cleaning the stethoscope before or after use. Further, the nurse failed to wash hands prior to medication administration, and prior to rinsing the plunger and syringe before storage; 2) EI #7, Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN), did not turn off an oxygen concentrator with her bare hand and then apply gloves to administer RI #91's nebulizer treatment without washing her hands. Further, EI #7 did not wash hands and change gloves to rinse and dry RI #91's nebulizer mask and reservoir for storage; 3) EI #8, LPN, did not place a medication cup containing medications…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2020-03-05 · tag F0658 — failed to meet professional standards of care — isolatedEnsure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interviews, medical record review and review of Potter and [NAME], Fundamentals of Nursing, Ninth Edition, the facility failed to ensure Employee Identifier (EI) #6, Registered Nurse (RN), followed a physician's order to administer 30ML (milliliters) of water prior to medication administration for Resident Identifier (RI) #18. This affected RI #18, one of eight residents observed during medication administration observation, and one of five nurses observed. Findings Include: A review of Potter and [NAME], Fundamentals of Nursing, Ninth Edition, Chapter 23, Legal Implications in Nursing Practice, page 311, revealed: .Health Care Providers' Orders .Nurses follow health care providers' orders unless they believe that the orders are in error . RI #18 was admitted to the facility on [DATE], with diagnoses including, Dysphagia following Cerebral Infarction. A review of RI #18's Physician's Orders for the Month of February 2020, revealed the following order: .ADMINISTER 30ML OF WATER PRIOR TO…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2018-12-20 · tag F0583 — failed to protect personal privacy — isolatedKeep residents' personal and medical records private and confidential.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview, record review, review of the facility's document titled, Resident Rights and the facility's policy and procedure titled, RESIDENT RIGHT TO ACCESS AND VISITATION, the facility failed to ensure staff did not open Resident Identifier (RI) #15's mail prior to delivering it to him/her. This affected RI #15, one of one sampled resident whose mail was received opened by the facility. Findings Include: A review of the facility's policy titled, RESIDENT RIGHT TO ACCESS AND VISITATION ,without a date, revealed the following: .Policy Explanation and Compliance Guidelines . 4. The resident will have the right to access mail . to receive letters .The resident has the right to privacy in these communications . A review of the facility's form titled, Resident Rights revealed the following: .The resident has the right to . receive mail .the resident has the right to have reasonable .privacy of their use of .communication . RI#15 was admitted to the facility on [DATE], with diagnosis of Chronic Respiratory…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2018-12-20 · tag F0600 — failed to protect residents from abuse and neglect — isolatedProtect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview, record review and a review of the facility's policy titled, Abuse Prevention, the facility failed to ensure Resident Identifier (RI) #107 was free from physical abuse that involved RI #31. This affected RI #107, one of two residents identified for abuse. Findings Include: A review of the facility's policy titled, Abuse Prevention with a revised date of 12/20/18, revealed the following: . III. PREVENTION . 3. residents' rights which include the right to be free of abuse . A review of the State Agency Intake Information, dated 12/06/18, regarding resident on resident physical abuse revealed the following: . Review of a FRI (Facility Reported Incident) received on 12/6/18 revealed that (RI #31) punched (RI #107) in the shoulder and leg . 1. RI #31 was admitted to the facility on [DATE], with diagnoses including NonTraumatic Subdural Hemorrhage, Schizoaffective Disorder and Schizophrenia. A review of RI #31's current Quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS), dated [DATE], revealed RI #31 had a Brief…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2018-12-20 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolatedDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review, interviews, and a review of the facility's policy titled, CAREPLANS, the facility failed to ensure Resident Identifier (RI) #27's care plan was followed for wound care to the tracheostomy site . This affected one out of 46 residents whose care plans were reviewed. Findings Include: A review of the facility's policy titled, CAREPLANS without a date, revealed the following: .Procedure 1. A care plan will be developed and implemented . RI #27 was readmitted to the facility on [DATE], with diagnoses including Quadriplegia Unspecified and Adjustment Disorder With Depressed Mood. A review of the RI #27's current Quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS), dated [DATE], revealed RI #27's Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of 15, indicating cognition was intact. A review of RI #27's care plan titled, ACTUAL SKIN BREAKDOWN which was updated on 11/30/18, revealed the following: . wound care to trach site. Change daily (with) NS (normal saline) . On 12/18/18 at 11:07 AM, during…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2018-02-05 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — patternDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, record review, interviews, and review of the facility policy titled Comprehensive Care Plans, the facility failed to ensure: 1) Resident Identifier (RI) #87 had a fall mat placed at bedside on two of seven days of survey; and 2) RI #s 48, 69, and 87 had person-centered care plan interventions in place addressing their toileting and/or incontinence needs. These failures affected three of 32 residents for whom care plans were reviewed. Findings include: 1) RI #87 was readmitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses of Muscle Weakness, Unspecified Dementia, Difficulty Walking, and Repeated Falls. RI #87's most recent quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) Assessment, with an Assessment Reference Date (ARD) of 12/21/2017, documented RI #87 had severely impaired cognition. The assessment also indicated RI #87 had sustained two falls since the prior assessment or readmission, one with no injury and one with major injury. RI #87's current comprehensive care plans, last reviewed 01/04/2018, included…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2018-02-05 · tag F0804 — failed to serve food at safe, palatable temperature — patternEnsure food and drink is palatable, attractive, and at a safe and appetizing temperature.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on a test tray, meal observations and resident interviews, the facility failed to consistently serve food palatable in taste and temperature to the residents. This affected RI #s 18, 56, 35, 170, 78, 88, 103, 54, and 173, nine of 29 sampled residents. Findings included: Throughout the survey, residents were interviewed regarding food palatability. Comments included: a) RI #18 (on 01/30/18 at 3:25 p.m.) stated The food doesn't have a good flavor. b) RI #56 (on 01/31/18 at 3:41 p.m.) described the food as bland, with no taste; mostly no seasoning. The resident also commented that a lot of the time the food was not hot. c) RI #35 (on 01/30/18 at 6:08 p.m.) said the food did not taste good or was tasteless. On 02/01/18 the resident was observed to receive a baked sweet potato on the lunch tray. The resident explained he/she did not eat it because it was raw in the center. RI #35 stated the baked potatoes were often not completely cooked in the center. d) RI #170 commented on 01/30/18 the food had no taste and was cold. e) RI #78 stated the baked potatoes were usually not done and…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2018-02-05 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — patternProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations of incontinence care and medication administration, review of the facility's policies titled: Oral Inhalers, Eye Drops, Hand Hygiene, Standard Precautions Infection Control, and Handling Linen, as well as a review of medical records, and staff interviews, the facility failed to ensure staff utilized good infection control practices .as follows: 1) Staff provided no barrier prior to placing supplies (for catheter and perineal care) on the bedside tables of Resident Identifier (RI) #17 and RI #170. 2) Licensed and unlicensed staff placed bags of soiled and/or clean linen directly on the floors of RI #17 and RI #69's rooms. 3) Staff failed to wash hands after changing gloves and before donning clean gloves during the care of RI #69 and RI #367. 4) Licensed staff handled clean linen and the brief of RI #69 with dirty gloves. 5) Licensed staff did not wash hands before and after administering an inhaler to RI #367, and failed to place a barrier on the resident's over-bed table, before placing…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2018-02-05 · tag F0641 — isolatedEnsure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review, interviews, and review of the facility's Voiding Pattern Rosters for Resident Identifier (RI) #76, the facility failed to ensure RI #76's 10/05/17 quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment and 12/25/17 annual MDS assessment, accurately reflected RI #76's incontinence status. This affected one of 32 residents for whom MDS assessments were reviewed: Findings include: RI #76 was readmitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses of Type Two Diabetes Mellitus, Essential Hypertension, and Dementia. RI #76's quarterly MDS assessment, with an Assessment Reference Date (ARD) of 10/05/2017, documented RI #76 was occasionally incontinent of urine, which indicated less than seven incontinent episodes during the assessment period (09/29-10/05/17). However, review of RI #76's Voiding Pattern Roster from 09/29/17 through 10/05/17, indicated RI #76 was incontinent of urine, 19 of 20 documented occurrences during the assessment period. RI #76's annual MDS assessment, with an ARD of 12/25/17,…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
Show the remaining 6 citations
- Potential for harm · D2018-02-05 · tag F0657 — failed to keep the care plan current — isolatedDevelop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review, interviews, and review of the facility policy titled Comprehensive Care Plans, the facility failed to ensure: 1) Resident Identifier (RI) #48's care plans were updated to reflect his/her catheter had been discontinued; and 2) RI #78's care plans and/or FYI (for your information) Smart Charting tasks were revised to ensure incontinence interventions were consistent. These failures affected two of 32 residents for whom care plans were reviewed. Findings include: Review of the facility policy titled Comprehensive Care Plans, dated 11/28/2017, revealed the following: POLICY The facility will compete comprehensive care plans for each resident based on an interdisciplinary team assessment . PROCEDURE . 4. Comprehensive care plans will be reviewed and revised by the interdisciplinary team . 1) RI #48 was readmitted to the facility on [DATE] with a diagnosis of Urinary Tract Infection. Review of RI #48's most recent quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment, with an Assessment Reference Date…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2018-02-05 · tag F0690 — failed to manage incontinence, catheters, and urinary infections — isolatedProvide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on an observation of catheter care, interviews with staff, and review of the facility policies related to Perineal and and Urinary Catheter Care, the facility failed to clean the perineal area of Resident Identifier (RI) #170 on 01/31/18. This affected one of one resident observed for the provision of catheter care. Findings included: The facility policy, Catheter Care, Urinary (undated) cites the purpose as: .to prevent infection of the resident's urinary tract. The procedure includes: .13. Wash the resident's genitalia and perineum thoroughly with soap and water. Rinse the area well and towel dry. A second policy, Perineal Care (undated) cites the purpose as: .to provide cleanliness and comfort to the resident, to prevent infections and skin irritation, and to observe the resident's skin condition. The procedure includes: .11. b. Wash perineal area, wiping from front to back. 1) RI #170 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses including: Urine Retention, Muscle Weakness, Rheumatoid Arthritis…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2018-02-05 · tag F0700 — isolatedTry different approaches before using a bed rail. If a bed rail is needed, the facility must (1) assess a resident for safety risk; (2) review these risks and benefits with the resident/representative; (3) get informed consent; and (4) Correctly install and maintain the bed rail.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, review of the facility policy Proper Use of Side Rails, side rail consent forms signed by the sponsor, the Siderail Assessment and interviews with staff, the facility failed to ensure: 1) the consent form signed by the sponsor detailed the potential risks associated with the use of side rails; 2) the side rail assessment addressed prior alternatives attempted before installation; and 3) the side rail assessment included an assessment for the risk of entrapment. This affected Resident Identifier (RI) #87, one of two residents reviewed for the use of side rails. Findings included: The facility policy, Proper Use of Side Rails (undated) specifies the purpose .Is to prevent resident injury and serve as an enabler for the resident. The Procedure states: .An assessment must be made to determine the resident's symptoms or reason for using bed rails. When used for mobility or transfer, an assessment should include a review of the resident's: Bed mobility Ability to transfer between positions, to…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2018-02-05 · tag F0803 — failed to meet residents' dietary needs — isolatedEnsure menus must meet the nutritional needs of residents, be prepared in advance, be followed, be updated, be reviewed by dietician, and meet the needs of the resident.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, resident and staff interviews and a review of the planned menus, the facility staff failed to follow each menu as planned, including the provision of the planned dessert at the 01/31/18 lunch meal for Resident Identifier (RI) #169 and the planned alternate to RI #173 at the 02/01/18 supper meal. Three other residents likewise reported similar complaints of staff not following the menus, including RI#s 88, 56 and 35. This affected five of 116 residents for whom food of a solid consistency (non-pureed) were prepared and served. Findings included: The Menus and Nutritional Adequacy policy dated 11/28/17, states Menus will be followed. If the facility must adjust the menu, it must be reviewed and signed off by the dietitian for nutritional adequacy. The residents must be notified of the menu change. 1) During the 01/31/18 lunch meal at 12:03 p.m., RI #169 received a Regular meal, as ordered. Instead of the Peach Cobbler (as planned) the tray included canned Peach Slices. When questioned about the dessert, the resident seated with RI #169 commented, They never…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- No harm found · C2018-02-05 · tag F0584 — failed to keep a safe, clean, comfortable home — widespreadHonor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, interviews, review of the facility's Census List dated 01/30/2018, review of the facility's policies titled Comfortable and Homelike Environment and Preventative / PRN (as needed) Maintenance Schedule, and review of Job Descriptions for the Maintenance Director and Maintenance Technician, the facility failed to ensure resident rooms and common areas were maintained to provide a safe, clean, comfortable, and/or homelike environment for the residents. Walls, door frames, doors, baseboards, and furniture throughout the facility were observed chipped, scraped, scratched, and with missing paint. Furniture was missing knobs and/or handles, sinks and/or showers did not have faucet fixtures, leaving unfinished exposed pipe, ceiling tiles were stained brown, floor tiles were missing and/or stained. Tube feeding and/or Intravenous (IV) poles were wobbly. These concerns were observed on four of four units in the facility, affecting common areas as well as 72 of 79 resident rooms (as reflected on the…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- No harm found · C2018-02-05 · tag F0838 — failed to assess facility resources and resident needs — widespreadConduct and document a facility-wide assessment to determine what resources are necessary to care for residents competently during both day-to-day operations (including nights and weekends) and emergencies.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interviews and review of a facility document titled Hillview Terrace Facility Assessment, the facility failed to evaluate and identify areas of the environment needing to be maintained. This had the potential to affect all 137 of 137 residents residing in the facility at the time of the survey. Findings include: Cross reference F584. During the recertification, the survey team identified multiple environmental concerns, including walls, doorframes, doors, baseboards, plumbing fixtures, ceiling tiles, and furniture in resident rooms and hallways throughout the facility. These concerns were observed on four of four units in the facility, affected common areas as well as 72 of 79 resident rooms reflected on the facility's Census List dated 01/30/2018. Review of the document titled Hillview Terrace Facility Assessment, dated 11/28/2017, revealed the following: . The following criteria were examined and evaluated by our team . : . * Physical environment and physical plant considerations necessary for resident population. F. Building/physical structure and equipment: The physical…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
No federal fines in the current CMS record.
Part of a chain
This home belongs to REHAB SELECT — 5 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →
| Rating | This home | Chain avg | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overall | 2 of 5 | 3.6 | -1.6 vs chain |
| Health inspection | 2 of 5 | 3.2 | -1.2 vs chain |
| Staffing | 4 of 5 | 3.8 | +0.2 vs chain |
| Quality measures | 2 of 5 | 3.2 | -1.2 vs chain |
The other 4 homes this chain runs (chain average 3.6★, per CMS)
A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Since |
|---|---|---|---|
| SCHMIDT, CHRISTOPHER | Individual | DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; CORPORATE DIRECTOR; CORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | since 07/01/2024 |
| STEPHENSON, TAMMY | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; CORPORATE DIRECTOR; CORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | since 01/01/2013 |
| SCHMIDT WALLACE HEALTHCARE MANAGEMENT COMPANY INC | Organization | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | since 07/07/2025 |
| CARTER, LEE | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | since 07/01/2024 |
| MCCALL, GAYLE | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | since 05/01/2023 |
| SMITH, LASONYA | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | since 05/01/2024 |
| FORVIS MAZARS LLP | Organization | ADP OF THE SNF | since 06/01/2023 |
CMS files one row per role, so the 20 rows in the source record cover these 7 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted. The source lists no ownership percentage for any of them — PECOS records a share only for equity interests, not for board or management roles.
2 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.
Follow the money — this home’s finances
Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.
About 88% of this home’s resident-days are paid by Medicaid, which reimburses well below the cost of care in most states. Heavily Medicaid-dependent homes run on thinner budgets — a context worth holding next to the staffing and inspection record, not a fault in itself. This home reported $1.7M paid to related parties — landlords or management companies under common ownership — equal to about 13% of its total expenses. Money routed to affiliated companies can leave a home’s own books looking lean while owners still profit; it is the mechanism regulators watch most closely in private-equity and REIT deals.
Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2024. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.
Cost & finances
Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2024). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.
What families pay in AL
This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Alabama Medicaid page.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 015436. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2020-03-05, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.