Montgomery Children's Specialty Center
2853 Forbes Drive, Montgomery, AL 36110 · For profit - Partnership · 54 certified beds · (334) 261-3445 Medicaid only — no Medicare
This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.
- no harm-level citations in the current inspection record
- no federal fines or payment denials on record
- it has an abuse, neglect, or exploitation citation (F0600), cited Oct 2018
- it has citations for its abuse-prevention policies, restraint use, or reporting and investigating of allegations (F0607, F0609) — cited below the harm level, meaning inspectors found the process wanting but did not find a resident harmed
- its facility-reported quality-measure score sits well above its independent inspection score
- its independent health-inspection rating is low (2/5)
- its payroll-based staffing rating is low (2/5)
- its last standard health inspection was over 3 years ago — the star rating may not reflect current conditions
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 2 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 2 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 5 of 5 |
Worth a closer look. This home's quality-measure rating runs 3 stars above its independent health-inspection score. The inspection is done by state surveyors; the quality-measure score leans on data the facility reports about itself — so a gap this large is worth reading the inspection record for.
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 5 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 5 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating improved from 2 to 3 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 8.2% | 12.0% | 15.4% | better |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 8.2% | 5.4% | 5.4% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 0.3% | 1.0% | 0.9% | better |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 0.5% | 2.4% | 2.0% | better |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 0.0% | 1.4% | 6.5% | check this* — see note marked star below the table |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 13.8% | 0.6% | 0.1% | worse than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 0.5% | 3.3% | 3.3% | better |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 13.3% | 24.5% | 18.9% | better |
| Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 100.0% | 94.8% | 95.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 1.6% | 5.4% | 4.7% | better |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 0.6% | 12.8% | 21.2% | better |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 16.2% | 21.2% | 17.1% | typical |
* This home reported 0% on a measure where lower is better. That can mean genuinely excellent care — but because the number is self-reported, a zero can also mean the problem was not recorded. Weigh it against the inspection record above.
‡ On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.10 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 6% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.
Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 36% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | not reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program. | — | ||
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | not reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program. | — | ||
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | not reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program. | — | ||
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | not reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program. | — | ||
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | not reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program. | — | ||
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | not reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program. | — | ||
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | not reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program. | — | ||
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | not reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program. | — | ||
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | not reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program. | — | ||
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | not reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program. | — | ||
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | not reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program. | — | ||
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | not reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program. | — | ||
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 54 beds and averages 49.3 residents a day — about 91% occupied, or roughly 5 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.49 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.59 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 1.89 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 2.98 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.70 on weekdays — 19% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.65 to 0.44 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 51% is about the same as the national median of 45%.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
This trend is not current. The most recent of these two inspections was over 3 years ago; the arrow describes what inspectors found then, not what the home is like now.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
12 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.
- Potential for harm · F2023-05-25 · tag F0814 — failed to dispose of garbage properly — widespreadDispose of garbage and refuse properly.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, the facility's policy for Dispose of Garbage and Refuse, and the United States (U.S.) Food and Drug Administration (FDA) 2022 Food Code; the facility failed to ensure the side door of the dumpster was closed on 5/22/2023 at 6:45 PM to prevent the potential for rodents being attracted to and possibly entering the facility. This had the potential to affect 45 of 45 residents in the facility. Findings include: The facility's policy for Dispose of Garbage and Refuse, dated August 2017, included the following: Policy Statement All garbage and refuse will be collected and disposed of in a safe and efficient manner. The U.S. FDA 2022 Food Code included the following: . 5-5 Refuse, Recyclables, and Returnables . 5-501.13 Receptacles. (A) . receptacles and waste handling units for REFUSE, recyclables, and returnables and for use with materials containing FOOD residue shall be durable, cleanable, insect- and rodent-resistant, leakproof, and nonabsorbent. 5-501.15 Outside Receptacles. (A) Receptacles and waste handling units for REFUSE, recyclables, and…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2023-05-25 · tag F0803 — failed to meet residents' dietary needs — patternEnsure menus must meet the nutritional needs of residents, be prepared in advance, be followed, be updated, be reviewed by dietician, and meet the needs of the resident.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, review of the facility's policy for Menus, the facility's menu and diet guides for Week 1, Tuesday (Day 3) for Lunch on 5/23/2023, the residents' Diet Cards (sub-heading: Category Information) for Lunch on 5/23/2023, and the residents' Tray Tickets for Lunch on 5/23/2023; the facility failed to ensure food was portioned as specified by the approved menu for lunch on 5/23/2023. The facility also failed to ensure nutritional adequacy and appropriate modification of texture by not consulting with the Registered Dietitian before making substitutions to the menu for lunch on 5/23/2023. This had the potential to affect 7 of 17 residents receiving meals from the kitchen at the facility. Findings include: The facility's policy for Menus, dated September 2017, included the following: Policy Statement Menus will be planned in advance to meet the nutritional needs of the residents/patients in accordance with established national guidelines. Menus will be developed to meet the criteria through the use of an approved menu planning guide. Procedures 1. Menu cycles…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2023-05-25 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — patternProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, the United States (U.S.) Food and Drug Administration (FDA) 2022 Food Code, the facility's policies for Food: Preparation and Equipment, and the facility's inservice information for Time and Temperature Control and Recording Inservice; the facility failed to prevent possible cross-contamination from a soiled manual can opener and a food preparation sink drain without an air gap on 5/23/2023. The facility further failed to ensure the food thermometer was properly checked and calibrated to check food temperatures accurately on 5/23/2023. This had the potential to affect 17 residents receiving meals from the kitchen and 17 of 45 residents in the facility. Findings include: The facility's policy for Food: Preparation, dated September 2017, included the following: Policy Statement All foods are prepared in accordance with the FDA Food Code. The facility's policy for Equipment, dated September 2017, included the following: Policy Statement All foodservice equipment will be clean, sanitary, and in proper working order. Procedures 1. All equipment will be…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-05-25 · tag F0641 — isolatedEnsure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on resident record review, interviews, and review of the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services Long Term Care Facility Resident Assessment Instrument Manual, the facility failed to ensure Resident Identifier (RI) #7's quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE] and RI #29's quarterly MDS dated [DATE] were coded accurately to reflect current diagnosis. This affected two of 12 residents for whom MDS assessments were reviewed. Findings include: Review of the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services Long-Term Care Facility Resident Assessment Instrument (RAI) 3.0 User's Manual Version 1.17.1, dated October 2019, revealed: . SECTION I: ACTIVE DIAGNOSES Intent: The items in this section are intended to code diseases that have a direct relationship to the resident's current functional status, cognitive status, mood or behavior status, medical treatments, nursing monitoring, or risk of death. One of the important functions of the MDS assessment is to generate an updated, accurate picture of the resident's…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2019-10-10 · tag F0686 — failed to prevent and treat pressure sores (bedsores) — isolatedProvide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview and review of a facility policy titled, CLEAN (ASEPTIC) TREATMENT TECHNIQUE, the facility failed to ensure Employee Identifier (EI) #1, Registered Nurse (RN), Assistant Director of Nursing (ADN), Infection Control Nurse, did not place a clear plastic wound measuring tool that was lying on the resident's overbed table without a barrier, against the resident's skin to measure the resident's wound. This affected RI #6, one of two residents sampled with pressure ulcers in the facility. Findings Include: A facility policy titled, CLEAN (ASEPTIC) TREATMENT TECHNIQUE, with a revised date of 4/2018, stated: .II. Set up a clean field . e. Place a pad on the table, a water resistant pad or a clean towel on the table. f. Put all needed supplies (dressings, topical medications, cleansing solutions, etc.) on the clean field . RI #6 was readmitted to the facility on [DATE], with a diagnosis of Cerebral Palsy. On 10/08/2019 at 4:40 p.m., the surveyor observed wound care being provided by EI #1…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2019-10-10 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolatedProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, medical record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure a licensed staff member did not pick up a paper towel from the floor then touch the clean feeding syringe while returning it to the clean plastic bag. This deficient practice affected Resident Identifier (RI) #16, one of the four residents observed during medication administration. Findings include: RI #16 was admitted to the facility on [DATE], with diagnoses including but not limited to Other Feeding Problems of Newborn, Gastrostomy Status and Feeding Difficulties. On 10/10/19 at 8:19 a.m., the surveyor observed Employee Identifier (EI) #2, Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) give RI #16 his/her medication. EI #2 rinsed the feeding syringe and gathered brown paper towels to dry the feeding syringe. EI #2, while drying the syringe, dropped one of the brown paper towels on the floor, picked the brown paper towel up, then placed the clean syringe into the plastic bag. While holding the contaminated brown paper towel, EI #2 touched…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2018-10-18 · tag F0600 — failed to protect residents from abuse and neglect — isolatedProtect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record reviews, interviews and a review of the facility's policy titled, ABUSE, PREVENTION AND PROHIBITION OF, the facility failed to ensure a staff member did not verbally abuse Resident Identifier (RI) #39 on 8/28/18, during the provision of care. This affected RI #39, one of one sampled resident reviewed for abuse. Findings Include: A review of the facility's policy titled, ABUSE, PREVENTION AND PROHIBITION OF with a revised date of 8/13, revealed the following: Abuse means the willful infliction of injury, . intimidation, . with resulting . mental anguish . Verbal Abuse is defined as the use of oral . language that willfully includes disparaging and derogatory terms to residents . or within the hearing distance . RI #39 was admitted to the facility on [DATE], with diagnoses including Other Obesity Due to Excess Calories, Muscular Dystrophy, Heart Failure and Scoliosis. A review of RI #39's current Quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) with an Assessment Reference Date (ARD) of 09/12/18, revealed RI #39…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2018-10-18 · tag F0607 — failed to have anti-abuse policies — isolatedDevelop and implement policies and procedures to prevent abuse, neglect, and theft.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record reviews, interviews and a review of the facility's policy titled, ABUSE, PREVENTION AND PROHIBITION OF, the facility failed to ensure Employee Identifier (EI) #3, Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA), followed the reporting component of the abuse policy in order to report an allegation of abuse immediately to the facility Administrator, EI #1 and/or the Director of Nursing (DON) on 8/28/18. This affected Resident Identifier (RI) #39, one of one sampled resident reviewed for abuse. Findings Include: A review of the facility's policy titled, ABUSE, PREVENTION AND PROHIBITION OF with a revised date of 8/13, revealed the following: .Reporting/Response: The facility employee . who becomes aware of abuse . shall immediately report the matter to the facility Administrator and/or the Director of Nursing . Abuse means the willful infliction of injury, . intimidation, . with resulting . mental anguish .Verbal Abuse is defined as the use of oral . language that willfully includes disparaging and derogatory…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2018-10-18 · tag F0609 — failed to report abuse allegations — isolatedTimely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record reviews, interviews and a review of the facility's policy titled, ABUSE, PREVENTION AND PROHIBITION OF, the facility failed to ensure an allegation of abuse was reported to the Administrator or the State Agency within a two hour time frame. This affected Resident Identifier (RI) #39, one of one sampled resident reviewed for abuse. Findings Include: A review of the facility's policy titled, ABUSE, PREVENTION AND PROHIBITION OF with a revised date of 8/13, revealed the following: .Reporting/Response The facility employee . who becomes aware of abuse . shall immediately report the matter to the facility Administrator and/or the Director of Nursing. An employee .may directly make a report to the state agency . The facility .employee .who has reasonable cause to believe any resident with whom they have direct contact has been subjected to abuse .or any allegation of abuse shall report or cause a report to be made to the mandated state agency per reporting criteria . Abuse means the willful infliction…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2018-10-18 · tag F0655 — isolatedCreate and put into place a plan for meeting the resident's most immediate needs within 48 hours of being admitted
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, record review and a review of a facility policy titled, Using the Care Plan, the facility failed to develop and implement a baseline care plan for Resident Identifier (RI) #202 for the use of a divided plate and straw. This affected one of 14 residents observed during meals. Findings Include: A review of the facility's policy titled, Using the Care Plan with a revised date of August 2006, revealed the following: Policy Statement The care plan shall be used in developing the resident's daily care routines . RI #202 was admitted to the facility on [DATE], with diagnoses including Generalized Idiopathic Epilepsy and Epileptic Syndromes, Not Intractable with Status Epilepticus, and Dependence on Wheelchair. A review of RI #202's NURSING ADMISSION/readmission DATA COLLECTION form dated 10/11/18 revealed: .Eating Needs Focus: The resident has an ADL Self Care Performance Deficit .Intervention: EATING: The resident requires total assistance to eat. A review of RI #202's ADL(Activities…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2018-10-18 · tag F0810 — isolatedProvide special eating equipment and utensils for residents who need them and appropriate assistance.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, interviews, record review and a review of the facility's policy titled, Assistive Devices, the facility failed to ensure Resident Identifier (RI) #202 received a divided plate and a straw for the supper meal on 10/16/18. This affected one of 14 residents observed during meals. Findings Include: A review of the facility's policy titled, Assistive Devices with a revised date of 09/17, revealed the following: Policy Statement Assistive devices/utensils will be provided as identified in the individualized plan of care to maintain or improve a resident's/patient/s ability to eat or drink independently. RI #202 was admitted to the facility on [DATE], with diagnoses including Generalized Idiopathic Epilepsy and Epileptic Syndromes, Not Intractable with Status Epilepticus, and Dependence on Wheelchair. A review of RI #202's Tray Card revealed the following for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner: .(RI #202) - C-Hall . DIVIDED PLATE STRAW . A review of RI #202's current October Order Summary Report dated…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2018-10-18 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolatedProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview and a review of [NAME] and Perry's FUNDAMENTALS OF NURSING, the facility failed to ensure a licensed staff member washed her hands after removing unclean gloves and before applying clean gloves. This affected one of five nurses and RI (Resident Identifier) #49, one of six residents observed during medication administration. Findings Include: A review of [NAME] and Perry's FUNDAMENTALS OF NURSING Ninth Edition, Copyright 2017, page 458 revealed: .Hand Hygiene .3. If hands are not visibly soiled .use an alcohol based, waterless antiseptic agent for routinely decontaminating hands in the following clinical situations: Before, after, and between direct patient contact . After removing gloves . RI #49 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses of Depression and Diabetes. On 10/17/18 at 8:40 AM, the following was observed during medication administration: Employee Identifier (EI) #6, Licensed Practical Nurse/LPN, assisted RI #49 from the dining room to the therapy gym for…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
No federal fines in the current CMS record.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Since |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ownership Data Not Available |
The source lists no ownership percentage for any party here — PECOS records a share only for equity interests, not for board or management roles.
What families pay in AL
CMS lists this home as Medicaid-certified only — it can accept Medicaid for long-term care, but it is not Medicare-certified, so Medicare will not pay for a short rehabilitation (“skilled nursing”) stay here. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Alabama Medicaid page.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 01A208. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2023-05-25, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.