Lawrence Hall Health & Rehabilitation
1051 West Free Street, Walnut Ridge, AR 72476 · Non profit - Corporation · 110 certified beds · (870) 886-1295 Medicare & Medicaid certified
This home’s record is mixed — some reassuring signs, some worth asking about.
- a middle-of-the-pack inspection score (3/5)
- no federal fines or payment denials on record
- a high payroll-based staffing rating (4/5)
- a high number of inspection citations overall (16) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
- its facility-reported quality-measure rating is low (2/5)
- about 25% of its spending goes to commonly-owned related companies
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 3 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 4 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 2 of 5 |
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 2 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 3 of 5 |
| Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital | 2 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating fell from 4 to 3 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 10.9% | 9.5% | 15.4% | better |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 6.6% | 4.3% | 5.4% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 0.3% | 0.6% | 0.9% | better |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 1.7% | 1.2% | 2.0% | better |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 0.0% | 1.4% | 6.5% | check this* — see note marked star below the table |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.1% | 0.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 4.4% | 3.9% | 3.3% | worse |
| Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened | 10.0% | 10.1% | 16.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 31.7% | 21.7% | 18.9% | worse |
| Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 94.3% | 96.1% | 95.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 4.3% | 4.2% | 4.7% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 23.2% | 13.5% | 21.2% | typical |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 27.5% | 10.9% | 17.1% | worse |
| Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication | 1.0% | 1.3% | 1.4% | better |
| Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 74.3% | 77.7% | 79.4% | typical |
| Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission | 23.3% | 24.1% | 22.6% | typical |
| Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit | 11.5% | 12.5% | 12.0% | typical |
| Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days | 2.62 | 2.01 | 1.67 | worse |
| Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days | 4.90 | 2.13 | 1.80 | worse |
* This home reported 0% on a measure where lower is better. That can mean genuinely excellent care — but because the number is self-reported, a zero can also mean the problem was not recorded. Weigh it against the inspection record above.
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
39.7% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 54 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.
Met the expected recovery: 55.9% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 34 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.
Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.12 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 8% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.
Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 1% of this home’s weekday level — it runs therapy on weekdays, with essentially none at the weekend. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | 39.7%CMS range 25.6–56.3 | 51.5% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | 10.5%CMS range 7.2–14.7 | 10.7% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | 55.9% | 56.6% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | 32.4% | 52.8% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | 52.9% | 50.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | 96.0% | 98.7% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | 2.0% | 0.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | 6.0% | 1.9% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | 7.3%CMS range 4.1–12.2 | 7.1% | Oct 2023–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | 0.75 | 1.02 | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 110 beds and averages 73.4 residents a day — about 67% occupied, or roughly 37 beds typically open. It often has substantial empty capacity — worth asking why, since low census can reflect either a new or shrinking home or one families are avoiding. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 4.78 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.71 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 3.38 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.73 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 5.20 on weekdays — 28% thinner on weekends — a notable drop. RN hours go from 0.87 to 0.30 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 47% is about the same as the national median of 45%.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
16 citations, most serious first. The 10 most serious are shown; the remaining 6 are one tap away and print in full.
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2025-05-29 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — patternProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, record review, and facility policy review, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure Enhanced Barrier Precautions (EBP) were utilized for 1 (Resident #5) of 4 residents reviewed for pressure ulcers. The findings include: 1. A review of an admission Record, indicated Resident #5 had diagnoses which included a stage 2 pressure ulcer of the right buttocks. (A stage 2 pressure injury indicates partial thickness loss of dermis presenting as a shallow open ulcer with a red or pink wound bed, without slough or bruising). a. A review of the admission Minimum Data Set (MDS) with an Assessment Reference Date of 03/07/2025, revealed Resident #5 had a Brief Interview for Mental Status score of 03, which indicated the resident had severe cognitive impairment. The MDS also revealed Resident #5 had one unhealed pressure ulcer. b. A review of Resident #5 ' s Order Summary Report, revealed orders for wound care to the resident ' s buttocks. c. During an observation on 05/27/2025 at 1:15 PM, this surveyor observed the Treatment Nurse performing wound care…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2024-12-12 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — patternEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to ensure medications were not stored on top of the nurse ' s station counter near residents, to prevent misappropriate use of resident owned medications or accidents affecting 1sampled (Resident #72) resident. The facility also failed to ensure the appropriate temperature range was maintained in the 300 Hall medication refrigerator to ensure flu vaccines were stored at the recommended temperatures. The findings include: 1.a. On 12/11/2024 at 09:48 AM, Five (5) medication cards of an anti-viral medication were observed resting on top of the nurse ' s station counter near an empty pharmacy bag. Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) #3 was observed with her back turned talking on the telephone. Two (2) residents in specialty chairs and Resident #72, an ambulatory resident, was sitting in a nearby chair. LPN #3 was asked the process for receiving medications from the pharmacy. LPN #3 stated medications are counted together with the pharmacy on arrival. LPN #3 also stated she did not know where the anti-viral medications…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2024-12-12 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — patternProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Through observations, interviews, and policy/procedure reviews, it was determined the facility failed to ensure that essential equipment and appliances were kept clean and free of debris and food items were properly stored and labeled. The findings are: On 12/9/2024 at 10:10 AM, one bag of sliced white bread was not closed after being used for breakfast. The Certified Dietary Manager (CDM) confirmed the bag was left open after the breakfast meal. There was a possibility to cross-contaminate the bread in the bag. On 12/9/2024 at 10:15AM, the drink cooler contained the following drinks without a received date nor an open date: 15 half pint whole milk containers, four half pint - one percent low-fat buttermilk, 16 half pint - two percent milk, three half pint - fat free milk, four - eight fluid ounce advanced therapeutic milk chocolate nutrition, two - eight fluid ounce vanilla almond milk, 28 - four fluid ounce thickened lemon water, three - four fluid ounce thickened orange juice, seven - four fluid ounce thickened apple juice, eight - four fluid ounce apple juice, three - four ounce…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-12-12 · tag F0661 — isolatedEnsure necessary information is communicated to the resident, and receiving health care provider at the time of a planned discharge.
What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing
Based on interviews, record review, and facility policy review, it was determined the facility failed to ensure a written discharge summary and information form was completed for 1 (Resident #90) of 1 resident reviewed for discharge. The findings included: Review of updated facility policy titled Resident Discharge Process dated 06/28/2024, indicated when a resident was discharged home, the Director of Nursing/Designee will ensure a discharge note was completed. A review of resident medical diagnoses indicated the facility admitted Resident #90 with diagnoses of dementia and diabetes. The quarterly Minimum Data Set with an Assessment Reference Date of 08/14/2024 revealed Resident #90 had a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of 14, which indicated the resident was cognitively intact. A review of Resident #90's medical records revealed no completed discharge summary was present. During an interview with the Director of Nursing (DON) on 12/11/2024 at 11:00AM, the DON stated that the discharge summary was not completed for Resident #90.
- Potential for harm · D2024-12-12 · tag F0675 — failed to support quality of life — isolatedHonor each resident's preferences, choices, values and beliefs.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observations, interviews, record review, and facility document review, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure a resident was in the proper position for consuming a meal while in bed for 1 (Resident #13) of 1 resident reviewed for proper positioning during meal consumption. The findings include: On 12/12/2024 at 11:55 AM, the Director of Nursing (DON) stated the facility did not have a policy for positioning during meal consumption. A review of the Medical Diagnosis, indicated the facility admitted Resident #13 with diagnoses that included dementia, dysphagia (difficulty swallowing), gastrointestinal hemorrhage (bleeding of the digestive tract), and gastro-esophageal reflux disease with esophagitis (a condition in which stomach acid repeatedly flows back up into the tube connecting the mouth and stomach). The quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS), with an Assessment Reference Date (ARD) of 09/03/2024, revealed Resident #13 had a Staff Interview for Mental Status (SAMS) score of 3 which indicated the resident was severely impaired for daily decision making. Resident…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-12-12 · tag F0808 — failed to follow doctor-ordered diets — isolatedEnsure therapeutic diets are prescribed by the attending physician and may be delegated to a registered or licensed dietitian, to the extent allowed by State law.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observations, interviews, record review, and facility document review, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure resident received the correct physician ordered diet for 1 (Resident #13) of 1 resident reviewed for therapeutic diet. The findings include: On 12/12/2024 at 11:31 AM, the Director of Nursing (DON) stated the facility did not have a policy regarding checking meal trays prior to serving. A review of the Medical Diagnosis, indicated the facility admitted Resident #13 with diagnoses that included dementia, dysphagia, gastrointestinal hemorrhage, and gastro-esophageal reflux disease with esophagitis. The quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS), with an Assessment Reference Date (ARD) of 09/03/2024, revealed Resident #13 had a Staff Interview for Mental Status (SAMS) score of 3 which indicated the resident was severely impaired mental cognition and indicated Resident #13 was on a therapeutic and mechanically altered diet. A review of Resident #13's Care Plan, revised on 11/16/2023, revealed Resident #13 was at risk for potential nutritional problem inadequate…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-12-12 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolatedProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, record review, interview, and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure the 200 Hall Soiled Utility door was locked to prevent resident access to dirty linens and trash, failed to ensure the 200 Hall Linen Closet door was locked to prevent resident access to linens, and failed to prevent clean laundry items from resting against the floor to prevent cross contamination. The facility also failed to ensure appropriate hand hygiene was performed during perineal care for 1 (Resident #20) of 1 sampled resident, and during meal service to prevent cross contamination and the risk for infection. The findings include: 1.a. On 12/09/2024 at 11:35 AM, the Soiled Utility door on 200 hall was found to be open despite a push button lock, and sign stating Soiled Utility please keep door closed. b. On 12/09/2024 at 01:38 PM, Registered Nurse (RN) #2 revealed the Soiled Utility door should be locked to prevent residents from going inside because it contained dirty linens and trash that they would not want the residents to have access to. It is an infection control…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2023-11-30 · tag F0644 — patternCoordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure a request for Level ll Preadmission Screening and Resident Review (PASRR) was completed and referred to the appropriate state agency for 2 Residents (Resident's #33 and #67), of 45 residents who had a negative Level 1 pre-screen who was later identified with a newly evident serious mental disorder. The findings are: 1. Resident #33 had an admission date of 3/8/2016 to facility with no mental health diagnosis and an Arkansas Pre-admission Screening Mental Illness/Mental Retardation-Level 1 Identification Screen (DMS-787) completed by the facility admission Coordinator. a. On 11/28/23 at 2:39 AM, the Administrator provided documentation of Pre-admission Screening form 787 dated 3/9/2016 which documented, No on all sections of identification questions. b. Resident #33 received a diagnosis of Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) on 6/21/2018 documented in the electronic medical record with a note created on 10/12/21. c. A Diagnosis/History form…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2023-11-30 · tag F0677 — failed to help fully-dependent residents with daily care — patternProvide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure nail care, and personal hygiene was provided on a regular basis to prevent injury, infection, or cross contamination for 2 Residents (R #17 and R #64). Findings follow: 1. On 11/29/23 at 8:59 AM, the Surveyor observed R #17 fingernails to be approximately 1/4 - 1/2 inch past the fingertips with brown colored substance visible underneath nails on both hands. The Surveyor asked R #17 if he liked his nails, the way they were. R #17 answered, No, they are long and need to be cut. I need a bath. The Surveyor asked R #17 when his last bath was. R #17 answered, I'm not sure but it was a week ago this past Monday (11/27/23). The Surveyor asked if it had been 10 days or more since the last bath. R #17 answered, Yes, I think so. The Surveyor asked R #17 if he told anyone his nails needed to be trimmed and he needed a bath. R #17 stated, Yes, I'm supposed to get a bath today. Maybe they will do them when I get my bath. a. On 11/29/23 at 11:10 AM, the Surveyor observed R #17 had not had a shave. Nails remained the…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2023-11-30 · tag F0695 — failed to provide proper breathing / tracheostomy care — patternProvide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to date and contain oxygen tubing, nebulizer tubing, and date and contain Continuous Positive Airway Pressure (CPAP) tubing, mask, and connectors for 4 Residents (Resident #17, #33, #60, and #239) receiving oxygen/respiratory therapy to prevent cross contamination and infection. The findings are: 1. On 11/27/23 at 10:39 AM, the Surveyor observed Resident #17 with a CPAP machine on the night stand next to the Resident's bed. The Bilevel Positive Airway Pressure (BIPAP) mask was not contained and sitting on nightstand. There was oxygen tubing connected to the wall unit which was undated. The Surveyor asked Resident #17 how often he used the CPAP machine. Resident #17 stated, I use it every night. a. On 11/28/23 8:27 AM, Resident #17's oxygen tubing was bagged, but not dated. There was a green sticker lying on nightstand beside machine dated 11/27/23 that was not attached to any tubing or oxygen equipment. b. On 11/29/23 at 8:59 AM, Resident #17's masks are bagged, but the oxygen tubing was not dated. The [NAME]…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
Show the remaining 6 citations
- Potential for harm · Fcited before2022-09-15 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespreadProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to ensure 1 of 3 ice scoop holders and 1 of 3 ice machines were maintained in a clean and sanitary condition to prevent potential contamination of residents' beverages for residents who received meals from 1 of 1 kitchen; failed to ensure foods stored in the freezer, refrigerator and dry storage area were covered, sealed, and dated to minimize the potential for food borne illness for residents who received meals from 1 of 1 kitchen; failed to ensure 1 of 3 ice scoops and 1 of 3 ice machines were maintained in a clean and sanitary condition to prevent potential contamination of residents' beverages for residents who received meals from 1 of 1 kitchen; expired food items were promptly removed/discarded by the expiration or use by dates, and foods were dated when received to assure first in first out usage to prevent potential for food bone illness, and dietary staff washed their hands before handling clean equipment. These failed practices had the potential to affect 93 residents who received meals from the…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2022-09-15 · tag F0758 — failed to limit and justify psychotropic drugs — patternImplement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview and record review the facility failed to ensure an antianxiety medication was discontinued or reevaluated for use after 14 days for 2 (residents #58 and #90) of 13 (#3, #5, #6, #10, #22, #35, #50, #53, #57, #65, #72, #84 and #90) final sample residents who had PRN [as needed] antianxiety medications according to a list provided by The Assistant Director of Nursing on 09/14/22 at 10:56 AM. 1. Resident #58 had diagnosis of Anxiety. A Significant Change MDS [Minimum Data Set] with an Assessment Reference Date (ARD) on 7/28/2022 documented a SAMS [staff assessment for mental status of 1/1 [ short- and long-term memory loss]. Residents Care Plan with an initiated date of 10/21/2021, documented, . The resident uses antianxiety medications (Lorazepam PRN [as needed]) r/t [related to] Anxiety, comfort care protocol, Date Initiated: 08/03/2022 . a. Physician's Orders for September 14, 2022 documented, .Lorazepam Tablet 1 MG (milligrams) Give 1 tablet by mouth every 8 hours as needed for Anxiety, Pharmacy Active 7/22/2022 14:45 . b. Pharmacy recommendations dated 7/26/2022…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2022-09-15 · tag F0803 — failed to meet residents' dietary needs — patternEnsure menus must meet the nutritional needs of residents, be prepared in advance, be followed, be updated, be reviewed by dietician, and meet the needs of the resident.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to ensure meals were prepared and served according to the planned written menu to meet the nutritional needs of the residents for 2 of 2 meals observed. This failed practice had the potential to affect 6 residents who received pureed diets, 7 residents who received mechanical soft diets from 1 of 1 kitchen according to a list provided by the Dietary Supervisor on 9/13/2022. The findings are: 1. On 9/12022, the menu for the lunch meal documented residents who received a pureed diet were to receive a # 8 scoop (1/2 cup) of pureed pork roast and a # 8 (1/2 cup) of pureed peas. Mechanical soft diets were to receive 4 oz (ounces) pork roast. 2. On 9/12/2022 at 12:47 PM the following observations were made during the lunch meal service: a. Dietary Employee used #16 scoop to serve a single one serving of pureed green beans to the residents on pureed diets. b. On 09/13/22 at 7:56 AM, the Surveyor asked Dietary Employee what scoop size did you use to serve pureed green beans yesterday? She stated, The blue scoop which…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2022-09-15 · tag F0805 — failed to prepare food in a form residents can eat — patternEnsure each resident receives and the facility provides food prepared in a form designed to meet individual needs.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation and interview, the facility failed to ensure pureed food items were blended to a smooth, lump-free consistency to minimize the risk of choking or other complications for residents who required pureed diets for 2 of 2 meals observed. This failed practice had the potential to affect 12 residents who received pureed diets, as documented on the Diet List provided by the Food Service Supervisor on 9/13/2022 at 2:40 PM. The findings are: 1. On 9/12/22 at 11:44 AM, A pan of pureed bread was on the steam table. The consistency of the pureed bread was thick, not smooth. 2. On 9/12/22 at 3:35 PM, Dietary Employee #1 used a 4 oz [ounce] spoon to place 12 servings of penne pasta with Swedish meat balls into a blender and ground. He poured half of the ground noodles with Swedish meat balls into a pan and stated, That's for moist soft. I have 5 residents on moist soft. He then, added ½ [half] cup of milk to the remaining ground noodles with Swedish meat balls and pureed. 3. On 09/12/22 at 3:40 PM, He poured the pureed noodle pasta into a pan and placed in the oven. The…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2022-09-15 · tag F0760 — failed to prevent significant medication errors — isolatedEnsure that residents are free from significant medication errors.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on Observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to ensure that during the 8:00 AM medication pass, manufacturers guidelines were consistently followed when administering insulin via a pen insulin device for 1 (Resident #51) resident. This failed practice had the potential to effect 4 (#49, #51, #65 and #91) sample residents who had physician's orders for an insulin pen according to a list provided by the ADON [Assistant Director of Nurses] on 9/14/2022 at 12:00 PM. The findings are: Resident #51 had a diagnosis of Insulin Dependent Diabetes Type 2. A Quarterly MDS [Minimum Data Set] with an ARD (Assessment Reference Date) of 7/26/2022 documented a BIMS [Brief Interview for Mental Status] of 05 [00-07 indicated severely impaired]. Physician's Orders for September documented .Basaglar KwikPen Solution Pen-injector 100 UNIT/ML [milliliter] (Insulin Glargine) Inject 55 unit subcutaneously in the morning ., do not mix with other insulins, rotate sites ., Resident had new physician's order dated 9/14/2022 that documented .Basaglar KwikPen Solution Pen-injector 100…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2022-09-15 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolatedEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to consistently store prescription, Narcotic and over the counter medications in the 300 Hall locked medication cart, to prevent the potential for self-mobile residents to have access to these medications. This failed practice had the potential to effect 3 (#25, #51 and #94) final sample residents who resided on 300 Hall and were self-mobile according to a list provided by the ADON [Assistant Director of Nursing] on 9/14/2022 at 12:07 PM. a. On 09/14/22 at 08:01 AM, the medication cart on 300 Hall was in the hall, unlocked, outside of room [ROOM NUMBER] with the door to residents' room closed completely. No staff was present. b. On 09/14/22 at 08:03 AM, RN# 1 exited room [ROOM NUMBER] and pushed the medication cart to the side and pushed the latch to lock it. The Surveyor asked if she just locked the cart. She stated, .yes, I did . The Surveyor asked, should the medication cart be locked when no staff are present? She stated, .yes, it should…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
No federal fines in the current CMS record.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Since |
|---|---|---|---|
| MCELHANON, GREGORY | Individual | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE | since 04/01/2023 |
| ANDREWS, AARON | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | since 09/01/2021 |
| ANDREWS, JORDAN | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | since 09/01/2021 |
| DALTON, KERRY | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | since 12/01/2018 |
| FLOYD, LILA | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | since 07/01/2004 |
| FORRESTER, RHONDA | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | since 12/01/2018 |
| HOPPER, JEREMY | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | since 12/01/2023 |
| JONES, WILMA | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | since 05/01/2017 |
| PERKINS, JAMES | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | since 01/01/2017 |
| SPADES, SEBASTIAN | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | since 07/01/1994 |
| STAUDT, BONITA | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | since 01/01/2010 |
| THOMISON, JOHN | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | since 01/01/2023 |
| WILCOXSON, WILLIAM | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | since 06/01/2015 |
The source lists no ownership percentage for any party here — PECOS records a share only for equity interests, not for board or management roles.
Follow the money — this home’s finances
Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.
About 76% of this home’s resident-days are paid by Medicaid, which reimburses well below the cost of care in most states. Heavily Medicaid-dependent homes run on thinner budgets — a context worth holding next to the staffing and inspection record, not a fault in itself. This home reported $2.7M paid to related parties — landlords or management companies under common ownership — equal to about 25% of its total expenses. Money routed to affiliated companies can leave a home’s own books looking lean while owners still profit; it is the mechanism regulators watch most closely in private-equity and REIT deals. A reported operating loss is common in this industry and is not by itself a sign of trouble — but paired with large related-party payments it can mean profit is being taken elsewhere in the ownership structure.
Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2024. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.
Cost & finances
Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2024). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.
What families pay in AR
This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Arkansas Medicaid page.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 045452. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2024-12-12, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.