Sequoias San Francisco Convalescent Hospital
1400 Geary Blvd, San Francisco, CA 94109 · Non profit - Corporation · 50 certified beds · (415) 922-9700 Medicare only — no Medicaid
This home’s record is mixed — some reassuring signs, some worth asking about.
- a middle-of-the-pack inspection score (3/5)
- no federal fines or payment denials on record
- a high payroll-based staffing rating (5/5)
- lower-than-typical staff turnover (33% vs 45% nationally) — better care continuity
- a high number of inspection citations overall (15) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
- its payroll-based staffing score sits well above its independent inspection score
- its facility-reported quality-measure rating is low (2/5)
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 3 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 5 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 2 of 5 |
Worth a closer look. This home's staffing rating runs 2 stars above its independent health-inspection score. The inspection is done by state surveyors; the staffing score rests on the facility's own payroll (PBJ) submissions — so a gap this large is worth reading the inspection record for.
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 2 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 2 of 5 |
| Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital | 4 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating fell from 5 to 4 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 30.1% | 10.2% | 15.4% | worse |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 1.2% | 4.0% | 5.4% | better |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 6.8% | 0.8% | 0.9% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 2.4% | 1.2% | 2.0% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 2.4% | 7.3% | 6.5% | better |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.4% | 0.1% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 11.1% | 1.6% | 3.3% | worse than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened | 24.3% | 9.8% | 16.1% | worse |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 15.1% | 13.7% | 18.9% | better |
| Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 86.5% | 98.2% | 95.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 1.9% | 4.3% | 4.7% | better |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 26.3% | 10.2% | 21.2% | worse than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 3.0% | 12.0% | 17.1% | better |
| Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication | 0.0% | 1.5% | 1.4% | better |
| Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 90.9% | 93.2% | 79.4% | better |
| Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission | 20.6% | 23.0% | 22.6% | typical |
| Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit | 21.3% | 11.2% | 12.0% | worse |
| Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days | 2.40 | 2.25 | 1.67 | worse |
| Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days | 3.31 | 1.57 | 1.80 | worse |
‡ On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
49.7% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 39 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.
Met the expected recovery: 69.6% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 23 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.
Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.24 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 32% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.
Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 11% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | 49.7%CMS range 38.1–61.8 | 51.5% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | 10.4%CMS range 6.4–18.1 | 10.7% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | 69.6% | 56.6% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | 65.2% | 52.8% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | 65.2% | 50.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | 0.0% | 98.7% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | 0.0% | 0.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | 4.2% | 1.9% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | 6.8%CMS range 3.7–13.9 | 7.1% | Oct 2023–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | 0.97 | 1.02 | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 50 beds and averages 38.5 residents a day — about 77% occupied, or roughly 12 beds typically open. It usually has some room. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 4.60 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 1.45 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.67 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.23 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 5.16 on weekdays — 37% thinner on weekends — a notable drop. RN hours go from 1.79 to 0.64 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 33% is below the national median of 45%.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
15 citations, most serious first. The 10 most serious are shown; the remaining 5 are one tap away and print in full.
- Potential for harm · Fcited before2026-02-17 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespreadProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and facility document review, the facility failed to ensure food contact surfaces of equipment were clean and/or in good repair including:Cutting boards;Muffin pans;Bulk-food bins;Industrial can opener;Ice machines; andItems such as cooking utensils/equipment stored in the dish room (room where equipment/utensils are washed and sanitized and stored before use) when pests were present.The failure to maintain food-contact equipment clean and/or in good repair, had the potential to result in contamination of food leading to food borne illness for 39 residents who received food from the kitchen out of a census of 39. Findings:According to the 2022 Federal Food Code standards of practice, multi-use food-contact surfaces shall be smooth, free of breaks, open seams, cracks, chips, inclusions, pits, and similar imperfections. Food-contact surfaces of equipment and utensils shall be clean to sight and touch. Food-contact surfaces of cooking equipment and pans shall be kept free of encrusted grease deposits and other soil accumulations. Cutting surfaces such…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · F2026-02-17 · tag F0814 — failed to dispose of garbage properly — widespreadDispose of garbage and refuse properly.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation and interview, the facility failed to ensureUsed fat/oil drained from cooking equipment was covered and was discarded to prevent attraction of pests (Cross reference F925). the lids to outside compost and recycle dumpsters were closed.This failure had the potential to attract pests resulting in contamination of food and/or utensils used for eating for 39 residents who received food from the kitchen out of a census of 39. Findings:According to the 2022 Federal Food Code, the standard of practice is receptacles used for refuse inside the food establishment shall be covered when containing food residue and are not in continuous use. Refuse shall be removed from the premises at a frequency to minimize conditions that attract or harbor insects and rodents. Proper storage and disposal of refuse are necessary to prevent waste from becoming an attractant and harborage or breeding place for insects and rodents. Improperly handled refuse creates nuisance conditions such as making housekeeping difficult. Observations, interviews, and document review confirmed German…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · F2026-02-17 · tag F0865 — failed to run a quality-improvement (QAPI) program — widespreadHave a plan that describes the process for conducting QAPI and QAA activities.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure there was an effective, comprehensive, data-driven quality assurance and performance improvement (QAPI) program that included the Food and Nutrition Services (FANS) Department. This failure had the potential to result in not identifying issues and making system improvements in the FANS department eventually leading to contamination of food, food borne illness, and/or decreased quality of food for 39 residents who received food from the kitchen out of a census of 39.Review of the policy and procedure titled Leadership - Interrelationships of Qualified Dietitian and Directo of Dining date of revision 1/2026, showed the Qualified Dietitian meets on a regular basis with the Food and Nutrition department, at a monthly minimum. The Qualified Dietitian reviews all aspects of the operation and service components to include but not limited to food safety and sanitation, QAPI program and survey readiness. The Qualified Dietitian maintains a written record of the above activities. Review of the Policy and Procedure (P&P)…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · F2026-02-17 · tag F0908 — failed to keep essential equipment working — widespreadKeep all essential equipment working safely.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and document review, the facility failed to maintain kitchen electrical and mechanical equipment in safe operating condition when:Parts associated with the dishmachine were leaking; andLight covering under a vent hood was missing.The failure to maintain kitchen mechanical and electrical equipment had the potential to result in food contamination from pests attracted to a wet environment, as well as fragments falling into food from an unprotected light bulb for 39 residents who received food from the kitchen out of a census of 39.Findings:Review of the policy and procedure titled Repairs date revised 1/2026, showed the Food and Nutrition Services Department requests equipment repairs in work orders from the Maintenance Department according to established procedures. Repairs of essential equipment are initiated by the Maintenance Department within 24-hours, which may consist of a call to service company by the Maintenance Department.Review of the policy and procedure titled Safety and Equipment Maintenance date revised 1/2026, showed proper maintenance…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · F2026-02-17 · tag F0921 — failed to keep a safe, functional, sanitary building — widespreadMake sure that the nursing home area is safe, easy to use, clean and comfortable for residents, staff and the public.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and facility document review, the facility failed to ensure sanitary environmental conditions in the kitchen and nourishment room when:Walk-in cooler floors, kitchen tile floor, baseboards were not in good repair and were not clean;Ceiling was not in good repair and not clean;Walls were not in good repair and/or not clean;Vents and fans were not clean;Metal storage racks were not clean;A metal rolling cart was not clean;Caulking (a flexible sealant used to fill gaps) for the 3-comapartment sink (used for cleaning pots and pans) and a walk-in freezer door was not in good repair and/or not clean, and the door gasket for a walk-in refrigerator door was not in good repair;The outer surface of a drainpipe under the 3-compartment sink was not clean;Equipment wheels were not clean;Conduit, electrical boxes were not clean;Sprinkler head in the walk-in refrigerator was not clean;There were rodent droppings in a nourishment room and throughout the kitchen food preparation and food storage areas (Cross-reference F925); andThe dish room floor was very wet…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · F2026-02-17 · tag F0925 — failed to control pests — widespreadMake sure there is a pest control program to prevent/deal with mice, insects, or other pests.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to maintain an effective pest control program free of cockroaches and rodents: Multiple German cockroaches of varying sizes were found in the kitchen dish room. Rodent activity was found including a live mouse inside the kitchen, one live mouse in the atrium dining area, and rodent droppings throughout the kitchen. Rodent droppings were observed in the Health Center's (Skilled Nursing Facility) nourishment room (space designed for storing, preparing, and serving snacks, beverages, or light meals). Entry points/structural issues for rodents were not addressed. The facility did not address pest activity in a timely manner, and did not review all pest reports, including recommendations, provided by the pest control company. These failures led to 39 medically compromised residents who received food from the kitchen, out of a census of 39, being exposed to potential food contaminants that could cause food-borne illness (illness caused by food…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-11-22 · tag F0554 — isolatedAllow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to complete medication self-administration assessment for one resident out of four residents (Resident 15) observed during medication administration of inhaler and nasal spray, when no documentation that Resident 15 can self-administer medication. This failure resulted in Resident 15 given the wrong dose of nasal spray. FINDINGS: During the medication administration observation on 11/19/24 at 9:20 a.m.,, for Resident 15, Licensed Nurse (LVN) 2 was observed preparing and administering (6) oral medications. LVN 2 pulled out Fluticasone propionate 50 mcg/ actuation nasal spray 1 spray both nares twice a day for postnasal drip, Trelegy Ellipta 100 mcg-62.5 mcg-25 powder for inhalation I puff inhalation once a day for Emphysema. LVN 2 handed Fluticasone bottle to resident, per LVN 2, resident does it herself. Resident shook the bottle and sprayed 2 sprays on the right nose and 2 sprays on the left nose. LVN 2 came out of the washroom and asked…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-11-22 · tag F0759 — failed to keep medication error rate low — isolatedEnsure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interviews and record review, the facility had a medication error rate of 7.41 % when two medication errors occurred out of 27 opportunities during the medication administration for two of four (Resident 8) and (Resident 19). The failure resulted in the nursing staff not following the facility's policy and procedures (P&P) and had the potential for the resident not receiving full therapeutic effects or causing side effects for the residents. FINDINGS: 1.During the medication administration observation on 11/19/24 at 8:03 AM, for Resident 19, Licensed Vocational Nurse (LVN) 1 was observed preparing and administering (5) oral medications and Thera Tears eyedrop eye 0.25% droperette, 1 drop both eyes, 4x a day for dry eyes. Resident pulled right lower eyelid down, LVN instilled one drop, Resident pulled the left lower eyelid down, LVN instilled one drop. Resident closed eyes and LVN handed a tissue, resident wiped her eyes. 2. During the medication administration observation on 11/19/24 at…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Fcited before2023-05-12 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespreadProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure food sanitation when: 1. Two expired 1.86 liters of chocolate caramel were found on the shelf of the canned food storage area, 2. A kitchen equipment and stove/warmer were found unclean in the plating area of the kitchen. These failures have the potential to place the residents at risk for food borne illness. Findings: 1. During the initial tour of the facility's kitchen on 5/8/23 at 9:20 am, it was observed that two 1.86 liters can of Chocolate Caramel were stored on the front of the second layer of the canned food storage shelf. During a concurrent interview with the Executive Chef (EC), Director of Dining Services and Registered Dietitian (RD), they stated that it was a mistake and an omission. They said that the cans of chocolate caramel were not supposed to be on that shelf and these were supposed to be discarded. The facility's undated policy and procedure titled the Food and Supply on page 1, indicated, Date and rotate items; first in, first out (FIFO). Discard food past the use-by or expiration…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2023-05-12 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — patternEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure medications and/or medical supplies were properly labeled and stored. There were four expired nasal swabs, two packets of expired supplement powder, six packets of expired food thickener in Atrium medication cart. Also, there were boxes of expired insulin syringes, 18 expired electrocardiogram (ECG/EKG - records the electrical signal from the heart to check for different heart conditions) electrodes (sticky patches placed on the chest to record the heart's electrical signals), one canister of expired Sani-Cloth Purple Wipes, six expired intravenous (IV) catheters (a flexible tube inserted to a vein to administer fluids or medications), two expired IV start kit, two expired CADD (Continuous Ambulatory Delivery Device -a small, battery-operated pump that can be used to send fluids, medication, and chemotherapy as an intravenous infusion) administration sets, five dressing change trays, five expired foam dressings, 21 expired syringe tip caps, 12 expired needleless connectors (device that allow quick…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
Show the remaining 5 citations
- Potential for harm · E2023-05-12 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — patternProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY 2b. Resident 42 was admitted on [DATE] with diagnoses including multiple fracture (breaking) of ribs, pleural effusion (water on the lungs). During the initial tour observation on 5/8/23, at 10:35 AM, Resident 42 was in her room sitting up on her wheelchair with oxygen concentrator (a medical device) on at one liter per minute via nasal cannula. The nasal cannula was not labeled. During a concurrent observation and interview on 5/8/23, at 10:38 AM, RN 1 checked the oxygen concentrator and the nasal cannula tubing, stated, I don't see any label. Further stated, There should be a label and change tubing every 72 hours. During an interview on 5/8/23, at 10:40 AM, DON acknowledged by stating, Yeah, we are supposed to label tubing when we put it together. During an interview on 5/9/23, at 4:05 PM, the IP stated, . the nasal cannula tubing should be dated and changed weekly. 3. Resident 42 was admitted on [DATE] with diagnoses including multiple fracture (breaking) of ribs, pleural effusion (water on the lungs).…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-05-12 · tag F0658 — failed to meet professional standards of care — isolatedEnsure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure services were provided to meet the professional standards of quality for Resident 13 when the licensed nurse failed to sign the medication as given on the electronic Medication Administration Record (eMAR - a tool used by nurses to keep track of the medications given to patients) as ordered by the physician (person qualified to practice medicine). This deficient practice could potentially compromise the health and safety of the resident. Findings: Resident 13 was admitted on [DATE] with diagnoses that included chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD- a group of lung diseases that block airflow and make it difficult to breathe). During a medication administration observation on 5/9/23 at 10:08 AM, Registered Nurse (RN) 1 administered Albuterol sulfate 2.5 milligram (mg)/3 milliliter (ml) via nebulizer to Resident 13. Review of Resident 13's Physician's Orders for 5/11/2023 indicated, Resident 13 had an order for Albuterol…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-05-12 · tag F0756 — failed to review each resident's drug regimen — isolatedEnsure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure that irregularities in the Pharmacy Medication Regimen Review (MRR-a systematic evaluation of medication therapy) for one of three sampled residents (Resident 23) were acted upon when there was no evidence the attending physician reviewed and documented if actions had been taken to address the identified irregularities (includes use of medications without adequate monitoring, in excessive doses, and/or in presence of adverse consequences) for MRR dated April 2023 in response to the pharmacist's recommendations. This deficient practice had the potential risk for harm by causing adverse consequences related to medication therapy. Findings: Resident 23 was admitted on [DATE] with diagnoses that included major depressive disorder, anxiety disorder, Alzheimer's disease (a progressive disease beginning with mild memory loss), and vascular dementia (changes to memory, thinking, and behavior resulting from conditions that affect the blood vessels in the…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-05-12 · tag F0758 — failed to limit and justify psychotropic drugs — isolatedImplement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure one of four residents (Resident 23) reviewed were free from unnecessary psychotropic medication (drugs that affect brain activities associated with mental processes and behavior) when: 1. Resident 23 received Seroquel (Quetiapine [generic] - an antipsychotic medication to treat severe mental disorder in which thought, and emotions are so weak that contact is lost with external reality) without appropriate indication, patient centered non-pharmacological approaches, and adequate behavior monitoring; 2. There was no evidence Gradual Dose Reduction (GDR - a tapering of a dose to determine if symptoms, conditions, or risks can be managed by a lower dose or if the dose or medication can be discontinued) for Seroquel use was attempted; 3. Care plan did not reflect specific target behavior to be monitored for the use of Seroquel; 4. There was no rationale indicated when Lorazepam (medication used to treat anxiety) PRN was used for more…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2023-05-12 · tag F0759 — failed to keep medication error rate low — isolatedEnsure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility had a 7.69% error rate when two medication errors out of 29 opportunities were observed during a medication pass when: 1. Resident 10 received Symbicort (medication used to treat asthma and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD - a group of lung diseases that block airflow and make it difficult to breathe) was not in accordance with the manufacturer's instructions for use. 2. Resident 42 received Metoprolol (medication used to treat high blood pressure, chest pain, and heart failure) not in accordance with the physician's order. These failures resulted in medications given not in accordance with the physician's order and manufacturer's instructions for use that may affect the residents' clinical conditions. Findings: 1. During a medication pass observation on 5/9/23 at 9:28 AM, Registered Nurse (RN) 1 prepared Resident 10's Symbicort 160 microgram (mcg)-4.5 mcg/actuation HFA aerosol inhaler. RN 1 did not shake the inhaler prior to administering two puffs by mouth. During an interview on 5/9/23 at 9:31 AM, RN 1…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
No federal fines in the current CMS record.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Share | Since |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SEQUOIA LIVING INC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNF | 100% | since 06/18/1969 |
| GODDARD, GLEN | Individual | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 09/01/2016 |
| AGOSTINO, VALERIE | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | — | since 12/07/2020 |
| CORRIEA, RICHARD | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | — | since 05/19/2021 |
| HERMAN, STEVEN | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | — | since 01/01/2017 |
| HOWIE, CARL | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | — | since 05/01/2011 |
| ITO, HOLLY | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | — | since 10/25/2022 |
| JAMISON, DAVID | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | — | since 05/01/2014 |
| LIM, MARIANNE | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | — | since 07/21/2020 |
| LYNN, PATRICIA | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | — | since 04/29/2020 |
| MAYEDA, NANCY | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | — | since 01/01/2016 |
| SANDERSON, CORY | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | — | since 05/29/2024 |
| SPAULDING, DIANNE | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | — | since 05/01/2014 |
| SUEY, MARILYN | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | — | since 05/22/2023 |
| ATWOOD, MARTHA | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 01/03/1994 |
| MCVEY, SARAH | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 09/24/2019 |
| SHOEMAKE, CHARLES | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 08/14/2020 |
| TUMBALE, TERENCE | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 11/27/2024 |
CMS files one row per role, so the 25 rows in the source record cover these 18 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.
1 organizational owner listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.
Follow the money — this home’s finances
Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.
This home reported $3.0M paid to related parties (affiliated landlords or management companies) in its most recent cost report.
Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.
Cost & finances
Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.
What families pay in CA
CMS lists this home as Medicare-certified only — it is not Medicaid-certified, so it generally cannot accept Medicaid as payment for a long-term stay. That makes it one of roughly 545 homes nationally where a Medicaid-funded placement is not an option. If you expect to rely on Medicaid, ask the home directly before you tour, and see the California Medicaid page for homes that do.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 056071. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2026-02-17, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.