No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Fowler Health Care

221 2nd St, Fowler, CO 81039 · For profit - Corporation · 45 certified beds · (719) 263-4234 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (719) 263-4234 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Abuse-prevention, restraint, or reporting citation — no harm found (F0604) — cited Dec 2019Behavioral-health or dementia-care citation — no harm found (F0758)
Insights

On the public record, this home looks stronger than most — but visit before you decide.

In its favor
  • a strong health-inspection score (4/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
  • no harm-level citations in the current inspection record
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
  • a high payroll-based staffing rating (5/5)
  • lower-than-typical staff turnover (31% vs 45% nationally) — better care continuity
  • fewer deficiencies at its most recent standard inspection than at the one before — a sign of improvement
Worth asking about
  • it has a citation for its abuse-prevention policies, restraint use, or reporting and investigating of allegations (F0604) — cited below the harm level, meaning inspectors found the process wanting but did not find a resident harmed

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

5/5
CMS overall
5 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 4 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 5 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 5 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
319 Main St · (719) 267-3503 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
228 Main St · (719) 267-3544 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
214 S Main St · (719) 263-4281 · Call to confirm hours
Park
Fowler Public Library, 114 E Cranston Ave · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 5 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 5 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating improved from 4 to 5 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating5★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased15.7%13.4%15.4%typical
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight10.3%4.7%5.4%worse
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder2.9%0.6%0.9%worse
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection0.0%1.4%2.0%better
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms0.0%8.8%6.5%check this — see note marked star below the table
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.1%0.1%better
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury0.8%3.4%3.3%better
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened15.9%13.3%16.1%typical
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication3.8%11.5%18.9%better
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine100.0%94.7%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers0.0%3.4%4.7%check this — see note marked star below the table
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control11.9%21.2%21.2%better
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table6.8%20.0%17.1%better
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication0.0%1.6%1.4%better
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days1.421.381.67better
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days0.001.741.80better

* This home reported 0% on a measure where lower is better. That can mean genuinely excellent care — but because the number is self-reported, a zero can also mean the problem was not recorded. Weigh it against the inspection record above.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

11.1%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
0.19U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.13hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.06hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
<0.01hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.19 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 19% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 71% of this home’s weekday level — it runs therapy at close to weekday levels right through the weekend. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNFnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF11.1%CMS range 7.1–16.510.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identifiednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF staynot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsenednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalizationnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFsnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.87
RN hours/ resident / day
0.61
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.52
Aide hours/ resident / day
4.00
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.76
RN hoursweekends
31.4%
Total nursing turnover
16.7%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 45 beds and averages 33.5 residents a day — about 74% occupied, or roughly 12 beds typically open. It usually has some room. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 4.00 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.87 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.52 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.26 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 4.30 on weekdays — 24% thinner on weekends — a notable drop. RN hours go from 0.92 to 0.76 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 31% is below the national median of 45%. 1 administrator has left in the past year.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

4
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2026-04-15)
6
at the previous standard inspection (2024-03-13)

Deficiencies are fewer than at the previous inspection — improving. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

14 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.

  • Potential for harm · Fcited before2026-04-15 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespread
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations and interviews, the facility failed to store, distribute, and serve food in a sanitary manner in two of two kitchen refrigerators.Specifically, the facility failed to ensure nutritional beverages were labeled and dated when opened in the kitchen nourishment refrigerator and the walk-in refrigerator. Findings include:I. Professional referenceThe Colorado Retail Food Establishment Rules and Regulations, (3/16/24), retrieved on 4/22/26 read in pertinent part, A date marking system that meets the criteria may include: Using a method approved by the Department for refrigerated, ready-to eat potentially hazardous food (time/temperature control for safety food) that is frequently rewrapped, such as lunch meat or a roast, or for which date marking is impractical, such as soft serve mix or milk in a dispensing machine; marking the date or day of preparation, with a procedure to discard the food on or before the last date or day by which the food must be consumed on the premises, sold, or discarded; marking the date or day the original container is opened in a food…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2026-04-15 · tag F0695 — failed to provide proper breathing / tracheostomy care — pattern
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, record reviews and interviews, the facility failed to provide necessary respiratory care and services consistent with professional standards of practice and the comprehensive person-centered care plan for four (#4, #7, #22 and #2) of six residents reviewed for respiratory care out of 29 sample residents.Specifically, the facility failed to ensure that Resident #4, Resident #7, Resident #22 and Resident #2 received oxygen therapy in accordance with their physician's orders.Findings include: I. Professional reference According to Nursing Skills, Open Resources for Nursing (Open RN), Ernstmeyer K, [NAME] E, editors. Eau [NAME] (WI): [NAME] Valley Technical College; published 11/11/21, accessed on 4/20/26 from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK593208/, Oxygen is considered a medication and, therefore, requires a prescription and continuous monitoring by the nurse to ensure its safe and effective use. (Chapter 11) Devices such as high flow oximetry masks, CPAP (continuous positive airway…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-04-15 · tag F0685 — isolated
    Assist a resident in gaining access to vision and hearing services.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, record review and interviews, the facility failed to ensure proper treatment and assistive devices to maintain hearing abilities for one (#3) of two residents reviewed for hearing out of 29 sample residents.Specifically, the facility failed to follow up on a post-eligibility treatment of income (PETI) request in order to obtain a hearing aid in a timely manner for Resident #3.Findings include:I. Facility policy and procedureThe Audiology and Ancillary Services policy and procedure, undated, was provided by the nursing home administrator (NHA) on 4/15/26 at 12:07 p.m. It read in pertinent part, The purpose of this policy is to provide a process for identifying, arranging, and documenting audiology services for residents who need hearing-related care. The facility will provide or arrange audiology services for residents as needed and as ordered by a physician or other authorized provider, when required. Services may be provided by a licensed audiologist or through a contracted provider.…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-04-15 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations and interviews, the facility failed to maintain an effective infection prevention and control program to provide a safe, sanitary, and comfortable environment to help prevent the development and transmission of disease. Specifically, the facility failed to: -Ensure staff performed appropriate hand hygiene in the dining room while assisting residents with eating; -Ensure housekeeping staff used appropriate hand hygiene practices while cleaning the residents' rooms; and, -Ensure housekeeping staff cleaned high-touch surfaces in residents' rooms.Findings include: I. Failed to ensure staff performed appropriate hand hygiene while assisting residents in the dining roomA. Facility policy and procedureThe Handwashing policy, revised October 2025, was received from the nursing home administrator (NHA) on 4/15/26 at 4:00 p.m. The policy read, All personnel are trained on the importance of handwashing. Wash your hands after contact with the resident or in the resident's environment. The use of gloves…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2024-03-13 · tag F0851 — widespread
    Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
    What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing

    Based on record review and interviews, the facility failed to ensure mandatory submission of direct care staffing based on payroll roll data. Specifically, the facility failed to ensure staffing data entered in the Payroll-Based Journal (PBJ) system was accurate. Findings include: The facility had a change of staff during the first quarter. I. Record review The PBJ stuffing report for quarter one (10/1/23 to 12/31/23) showed the following triggered area: -Failed to Submit Data for the Quarter II. Interview The nursing home administrator (NHA) was interviewed on 3/13/24 at 10:45 a.m. She said during the last quarter there had been a staff change. She said she tried to submit the data, however, it was not submitted correctly. When she went back to the system to correct the errors, she was unable to make the necessary corrections and the data was not accepted. She said she had not had any issues submitting data since the incident. She said it was important to submit the data timely and correctly.

    Administration Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2024-03-13 · tag F0550 — failed to protect resident dignity and rights — pattern
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations, record review and interviews, the facility failed to ensure care for residents was provided in a manner and in an environment that maintained or enhanced the residents' dignity and respect in full recognition of their individuality. Specifically, the facility failed to ensure an adequate system was in place to provide meal services in a timely fashion to residents waiting to be served in the dining room. Findings include: I. Facility policy and procedure The Respect and Dignity policy, revised February 2021 was provided by the nursing home administrator (NHA) on 3/13/24 at 3:54 p.m., It read in pertinent part, Each resident shall be cared for in a manner that promotes and enhances his or her sense of well-being, level of satisfaction with life, and feelings of self-worth and self-esteem. II. Meals served timely A. Posted mealtimes The posted meal times for the main dining room were scheduled to begin breakfast at 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 a.m., lunch at 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. and dinner at 5:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. B. Resident observations and interviews On 3/11/24 at…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2024-03-13 · tag F0580 — failed to tell family and doctor about changes — pattern
    Immediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and interviews, the facility failed to notify the provider according to physician orders for one (#28) of five residents reviewed for unnecessary medications out of 17 sample residents. Specifically, the facility failed to notify and document Resident #28's elevated blood sugar levels to the provider as directed on the physician's order. Findings include: I. Facility policy and procedures The Hypoglycemia or Hyperglycemia policy and guidelines, revised 2011, was provided by the nursing home administrator (NHA) on 3/13/24 at 3:54 p.m. The policy read in pertinent part, The facility would ensure medications were administered per established physician's parameters. Staff would document all labs/treatments in nurse's notes and on the medication sheets. II. Resident #28 A. Resident status Resident #28, over 65, was admitted on [DATE]. According to the March 2024 computerized physician orders (CPO), diagnoses included type II diabetes mellitus, personal history of traumatic brain injury,…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2024-03-13 · tag F0730 — pattern
    Observe each nurse aide's job performance and give regular training.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on record review and interviews, the facility failed to complete a performance review of every nurse aide at least once every 12 months and provide regular in-service education based on the outcome of these reviews for four of four staff reviewed. Specifically, the facility had not completed annual performance reviews and/or provided regular in-service education based on the outcome of the reviews for certified nurse aide (CNA) #2, CNA #3, CNA #4 and CNA #5. Findings include: I. Record review CNA #2 (hired on 6/1/21), CNA #3 (hired on 10/2/21), CNA #4 (hired on 2/11/19) and CNA #5 (hired on 11/2/21) did not have an annual performance review completed. The CNAs did not have an in-service education plan based on the outcome of the review. II. Staff interview The nursing home administrator (NHA) was interviewed on 3/12/24 at 1:30 p.m. She said she could not locate the performance reviews for CNA #2, CNA #3, CNA #4 and CNA #5. She said she was not aware the performance reviews needed to include a regular in-service plan based on the outcome of these reviews. She said going forward…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2024-03-13 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — pattern
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations and interviews the facility failed to store, distribute and serve food in a sanitary manner in two of two kitchen nourishment refrigerators. Specifically, the facility failed to ensure nutritional beverages were labeled and dated when opened in the kitchen nourishment refrigerators. Findings include: I. Professional reference The Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (2019) The Colorado Retail Food Establishment Rules and Regulations, retrieved from: https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/DEHS_RetailFd_6CCR10102_RFFC_EffJan2019.pdf. It revealed in pertinent part, A date marking system that meets the criteria stated in (1) and (2) of this section may include: Using a method approved by the Department for refrigerated, ready-to eat potentially hazardous food (time/temperature control for safety food) that is frequently rewrapped, such as lunch meat or a roast, or for which date marking is impractical, such as soft serve mix or milk in a dispensing machine; Marking the date or day of preparation, with a procedure to discard the food on…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2024-03-13 · tag F0923 — pattern
    Have enough outside ventilation via a window or mechanical ventilation, or both.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations and staff interviews, the facility failed to provide adequate ventilation by means of mechanical ventilation for one resident bathroom and two resident shower rooms. Specifically, the facility failed to ensure resident bathroom vents were free from lint and the exhaust fans were functioning. Findings include: I. Facility policy The Exhaust Fan and Ventilation policy, dated 1/25/24, was provided by the nursing home administrator (NHA) on 3/13/24 at 3:54 p.m. The policy read in pertinent part, The facility would check all exhaust fans in bathrooms, shower room soiled and clean utility rooms, janitor's closets, kitchen, and sink and laundry areas and oxygen room. The facility would ensure that airflow is sufficient enough to hold a piece of paper to the vent when operating. Clean vents using vacuum and air compressor to remove all dust. II. Observation An observation of the resident environment was completed on 3/12/24 at 12:40 p.m. The exhaust fans in shower room [ROOM NUMBER] had no audible…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Environmental Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Fcited before2019-12-18 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespread
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations, record review and staff interviews, the facility failed to ensure food was stored, prepared, and served under sanitary conditions in one of one kitchen. Specifically, the facility failed to ensure: -Appropriate hand hygiene by food service staff; and -The freezer temperature was below zero degrees Fahrenheit. Findings include: I. Improper hand hygiene A. Professional references According to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Food Code (2017), pp. 48-50, foodservice staff shall use the following handwashing procedures: -Rinse under clean, running warm water; -Apply an amount of cleaning compound recommended by the cleaning compound manufacturer; -Rub together vigorously for at least 10 to 15 seconds while paying particular attention to removing soil from underneath the fingernails and creating friction on the surfaces of the hands and arms fingertips, and areas between the fingers; -Thoroughly rinse under clean, running warm water; and -Immediately follow the cleaning procedure with thorough drying using individual disposable towels, a continuous towel…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2019-12-18 · tag F0943 — widespread
    Give their staff education on dementia care, and what abuse, neglect, and exploitation are; and how to report abuse, neglect, and exploitation.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on record review and interviews, the facility failed to ensure staff had current abuse and dementia care training. Specifically, the facility failed to: -Ensure one of two registered nurses (RNs) reviewed received abuse prevention training and two of two received dementia training; -Ensure one of two licensed practical nurses (LPNs) reviewed received dementia training; and -Ensure two of six certified nurse aides (CNAs) reviewed received dementia management training, and one of six received abuse prevention training. Findings include: I. Training review The December 2019 staffing schedule was provided on 12/15/19 by the nursing home administrator (NHA). A sample of two RNs, two LPNs and six CNAs included on the schedule were reviewed for compliance with training requirements. Training records revealed: -RN #1 did not have dementia management training and RN #2 did not have current abuse prevention training or dementia training. -LPN #2 did not have dementia management training. -CNAs #3 did not have dementia management training oe abuse prevention training, and CNA #5 did not…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2019-12-18 · tag F0604 — failed to not use physical restraints improperly — isolated
    Ensure that each resident is free from the use of physical restraints, unless needed for medical treatment.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, record review and interviews, the facility failed to ensure residents were free from physical restraints imposed for purposes of convenience, and the least restrictive alternatives were used, for one (#6) of two residents reviewed for assistive devices out of 16 sample residents. Specifically, the facility failed to: -Re-evaluate the ongoing use of a personal restraint; and -Develop a comprehensive care plan addressing the use of the restraint. Findings include: I. Facility policy and procedure The Restraint policy, revised April 2017, provided by the director of nursing (DON) on 12/17/19 at 2:33 p.m., included: restraints shall only be used for the safety and well-being of the residents and only after other alternatives have been unsuccessful. Restraints shall only be used to treat the resident's medical symptoms and never for the discipline or staff convenience, or for the prevention of falls. When the use of restraints is indicated, the least resistive alternative will be used for the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2019-12-18 · tag F0758 — failed to limit and justify psychotropic drugs — isolated
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, record review and interviews, the facility failed to ensure as needed (PRN) orders for psychotropic drugs are limited to 14 days for one (#33) of five residents reviewed for unnecessary medications out of 16 sample residents. Specifically, the facility failed to discontinue a PRN psychoactive medication after 14 days without a physician's rationale for Resident #33. Findings include I. Resident #33 status Resident #33, age [AGE], was admitted on [DATE]. According to the December 2019 computerized physician orders (CPO), diagnoses included schizophrenia, anxiety and insomnia. According to the 11/16/19 minimum data set (MDS) assessment, the resident had moderate cognitive impairment with a brief interview for mental status (BIMS) score of 10 out of 15. The resident had no mood symptoms. The resident had behaviors directed towards others and refused care. II. Record review The care plan, initiated 3/4/05 and revised 11/16/19, identified the resident would be prescribed the lowest effective…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
HARRISON, BEVERLYIndividual5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; CORPORATE DIRECTOR; CORPORATE OFFICER100%since 12/02/2008
MOSSMAN, CARLIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 11/14/2016

CMS files one row per role, so the 4 rows in the source record cover these 2 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$3.6M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
-10.5%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
$360K
Related-party expense9% of expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 68%Medicare 4%Other / private 28%

This home reported $360K paid to related parties (affiliated landlords or management companies) in its most recent cost report. A reported operating loss is common in this industry and is not by itself a sign of trouble — but paired with large related-party payments it can mean profit is being taken elsewhere in the ownership structure.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$304per resident / day
operating cost
$9,246per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$275per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in CO

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Colorado Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Colorado
$10,159/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$12,182/mo
Nursing home (private)
$6,584/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 065360. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2026-04-15, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next