No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Sedgwick County Memorial Nursing Home

901 Cedar St, Julesburg, CO 80737 · Government - County · 32 certified beds · (970) 463-6229 Medicaid only — no Medicare

Call the home — (970) 463-6229 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Behavioral-health or dementia-care citation — no harm found (F0758)3 actual-harm citations1 Medicare payment denial
Insights

The public record raises real questions here. Weigh the concerns below carefully.

In its favor
  • a middle-of-the-pack inspection score (3/5)
Worth asking about
  • it has 3 actual-harm citations
  • a high number of inspection citations overall (15) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
  • its payroll-based staffing rating is low (1/5)
  • its facility-reported quality-measure rating is low (1/5)

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

1/5
CMS overall
1 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 3 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 1 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 1 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
221 E 10th St · (308) 284-8421 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
121 Cedar St · (970) 474-3672 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
222 Cedar St · (970) 474-0932 · Call to confirm hours
Park
400 W 4th St · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship
720 Elm St · (970) 580-1462

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 1 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 1 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating held steady at 1 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating1★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased48.1%13.4%15.4%check this — see note marked dagger below the table
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight14.9%4.7%5.4%worse
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder4.3%0.6%0.9%worse
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection0.0%1.4%2.0%better
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms0.0%8.8%6.5%check this — see note marked star below the table
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.1%0.1%better
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury13.4%3.4%3.3%worse
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened22.0%13.3%16.1%worse
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication10.4%11.5%18.9%better
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers5.2%3.4%4.7%worse
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control18.9%21.2%21.2%better
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table13.6%20.0%17.1%better
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days3.041.381.67worse
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days8.761.741.80worse

* This home reported 0% on a measure where lower is better. That can mean genuinely excellent care — but because the number is self-reported, a zero can also mean the problem was not recorded. Weigh it against the inspection record above.

This value is several times the typical-state benchmark. It can be real, or it can be a coding artifact in what the facility submitted. Weigh it against the inspection record above.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

0.02U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.02hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
<0.01hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.02 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 1% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 0% of this home’s weekday level — it runs therapy on weekdays, with essentially none at the weekend. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNFnot reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNFnot reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at dischargenot reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program.
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at dischargenot reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program.
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at dischargenot reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program.
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identifiednot reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program.
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF staynot reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program.
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsenednot reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program.
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalizationnot reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFsnot reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program.

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.58
RN hours/ resident / day
0.88
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.97
Aide hours/ resident / day
4.43
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.33
RN hoursweekends
Total nursing turnover
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 32 beds and averages 21.3 residents a day — about 67% occupied, or roughly 11 beds typically open. It often has substantial empty capacity — worth asking why, since low census can reflect either a new or shrinking home or one families are avoiding. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 4.43 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.58 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.97 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.96 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 4.62 on weekdays — 14% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.68 to 0.33 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

6
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2025-09-10)
2
at the previous standard inspection (2023-12-13)

Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

15 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.

  • Actual harm · G2025-09-10 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and interviews, the facility failed to ensure one (#7) of four residents reviewed for accidents out of 18 sample residents remained free of accidents.Resident #7, who was identified as a high fall risk, sustained a fall on 2/27/25 resulting in bruising to her forehead. The facility failed to review the resident's care plan after the fall to determine if the resident's fall interventions were effective or if new interventions were needed to prevent further falls. Additionally, documentation failed to indicate the resident was assessed by a registered nurse (RN) following the fall.On 5/31/25, Resident #7 sustained another fall which resulted in a hospitalization for a hip fracture. Again, documentation failed to indicate the resident was assessed by a RN following the fall. Upon Resident #7's return to the facility on 6/18/25, the facility again failed to review the resident's care plan after the fall to determine if the resident's fall interventions were effective or if new interventions…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Actual harm · G2022-08-31 · tag F0686 — failed to prevent and treat pressure sores (bedsores) — isolated
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on resident observation, record review, and interviews, the facility failed to ensure residents received care consistent with professional standards of practice to prevent pressure injuries for one (#12) of one resident with a pressure ulcer out of 15 sample residents. Resident #12, who was totally dependent on the assistance of two staff members for bed mobility, transfers, dressing, and toilet use, was known to be at risk for skin impairment due to her immobility, poor nutrition, and diagnosis of diabetes. The resident developed a pressure injury to the left heel on 3/23/22. The facility initially classified the pressure injury as a stage 2 pressure injury, despite documentation indicating the wound was covered by eschar (dead/necrotic tissue) which would classify the wound as an unstageable pressure injury as indicated by staff interviews. The facility had provided the resident with a standard pressure reducing mattress (the facility was unable to provide the stage of pressure injury prevention the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Actual harm · G2022-08-31 · tag F0692 — failed to prevent malnutrition and dehydration — isolated
    Provide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, record review, and interviews; the facility failed to maintain acceptable parameters of nutritional status for one (#12) of four residents reviewed for nutrition out of 15 sample residents. The facility failed to identify and implement appropriate interventions to prevent a significant weight loss for Resident #12. On 2/20/22, the resident weighed 165.4 pounds (lbs). On 8/14/22, the resident weighed 144.1 lbs, which was a loss of 21.3 pounds in six months. During the six month time frame, the facility failed to reassess Resident #12's nutritional supplement for effectiveness, despite nutrition assessments which indicated the resident was malnourished. The facility's failure to reassess Resident #12's nutritional status resulted in the resident sustaining a significant weight loss of 12.88% in six months. In addition, Resident #12 sustained two pressure injuries during that same six month timeframe.Cross-reference F686 Treatment/Services to Prevent/Heal Pressure Ulcers Findings include: I.…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Fcited before2025-09-10 · tag F0727 — failed to provide required RN coverage — widespread
    Have a registered nurse on duty 8 hours a day; and select a registered nurse to be the director of nurses on a full time basis.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to use the services of a registered nurse (RN) for at least eight consecutive hours a day, seven days a week.Specifically, the facility failed to use the services of a RN for at least eight consecutive hours a day for seven days a week.Findings include: I. Facility policy and procedure The Staffing policy, undated, was received from the director of nursing (DON) on 9/10/25. It documented in pertinent part, It is the policy of this facility to employ appropriately qualified staff that shall consist of registered nurses (RN) and licensed practical nurses (LPN), who maintain current licensure or certification in the state of Colorado, and also certified nurse aides. Adequate coverage shall be determined by routine staffing schedules with additional staffing needs to be determined at the discretion of the charge nurse, the DON or the nursing home administrator (NHA).II. Record review A review of the facility's April 2025, May 2025 and June 2025 nursing schedules revealed there was not a RN scheduled in the facility on for…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-09-10 · tag F0658 — failed to meet professional standards of care — isolated
    Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, record review and interviews, the facility failed to provide nursing services according to accepted professional standards of clinical practice for two (#17 and #18) out of 18 residents reviewed out of 18 sample residents. Specifically, the facility: -Failed to transcribe physician's orders into the electronic medical record (EMR) correctly for Resident #17 and Resident #18; and,-Failed to notify a provider when Resident #17 had a change in condition and obtain a physician's order to hold a routinely scheduled medication Findings include: I. Failure to transcribe physician's orders into the EMR correctly A. Professional reference According to the National Institutes of Health (NIH), National Library of Medicine, Hypoglycemia (Nursing) (12/26/22), retrieved on 9/16/25 from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK568695/#:~:text=It%20is%20the%20nurse's%20responsibility,possible%20side%20effects%20of%20hypoglycemia, Hypoglycemia is often defined by a plasma glucose concentration below 70…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-09-10 · tag F0760 — failed to prevent significant medication errors — isolated
    Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, record review and interviews, the facility failed to ensure that residents were free from significant medication errors for one (#17) of one resident reviewed for significant medication errors out of 18 sample residents. Specifically, the facility failed to ensure that Resident #17 was administered the correct dose of insulin by properly priming the insulin pen before insulin administration. Findings include: I. Facility policy and procedureThe Medication Administration policy and procedure, revised 3/1/19, was received from the director of nursing (DON) on 9/10/25 at 8:55 a.m. It documented in pertinent part, The purpose of this policy is to administer medication as ordered by the resident's physician in a timely manner and with the highest degree of efficiency and safety to the resident.II. Manufacturer's recommendationsAccording to the Humalog (insulin lispro, which is a prefilled quick acting insulin pen) medication package insert (2022), retrieved on 9/15/25 from…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-09-10 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolated
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, record review and interviews, the facility failed to ensure proper storage of medications in one of one medication carts and one of one medication storage rooms. Specifically, the facility failed to: -Ensure medications were labeled with the date they were opened; and,-Ensure expired medications were removed and discarded from medication carts.Findings include: I. Professional referencePharMerica (1/12/25) Abridged List of Medications with Shortened Expirations Dates, was retrieved on 9/15/25 from chrome-extension://efaidnbmnnnibpcajpcglclefindmkaj/https://pharmerica.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/01/PMC-[NAME]-Meds-with-Shortened-Expiration-Dates_012025_FINAL.pdf. it revealed in pertinent part, Once certain products are opened and in use, they must be used within a specific timeframe to avoid reduced stability, sterility and potentially reduced efficacy. Product-specific storage and expiration details can be found in the drug product's package insert under the 'How Supplied/Storage &…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-09-10 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations, record review and interviews the facility failed to maintain an infection control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary and comfortable environment to help prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infections for one of one units. Specifically the facility failed to:-Ensure an effective process to identify residents who required enhanced barrier precautions (EBP); -Ensure staff were aware of which residents required EBP; -Ensure staff donned (put on) appropriate personal protective equipment (PPE) when providing direct care to residents who required EBP; and,-Ensure staff sanitized the rubber stop on an insulin pen before administering to Resident #17. Findings include: I. EBP failures A. Professional reference According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Implementation of Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) Use in Nursing Homes to Prevent Spread of Multidrug-resistant Organisms (MDROs), retrieved on 9/12/25 from https://www.cdc.gov/long-term-care-facilities/hcp/prevent-mdro/PPE.html, It read in pertinent…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2023-12-13 · tag F0908 — failed to keep essential equipment working — widespread
    Keep all essential equipment working safely.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations and interviews, the facility failed to maintain the emergency response cart and equipment in safe operating condition for one of one emergency response (crash) cart. Specifically, the facility failed to: -Ensure staff completed the daily equipment checks; -Ensure expired items were removed from the crash cart; and, -Ensure emergency oxygen canister on the emergency response cart was maintained and ready for use. Findings include: I. Professional references A. According to [NAME], [NAME], (2022). Crash cart preparedness and failure to rescue a case study review. Retrieved on 12/18/23, from https://www.researchgate.net/publication/360555126_Crash_cart_preparedness_and_Failure_to_rescue_A_case_study_review and read in pertinent part, A crash cart is a mobile cabinet on wheels that contains equipment required for emergency cardio-pulmonary resuscitation. The carts are individualized and conveniently located throughout healthcare facilities for rapid access in the event of an emergency. A crash…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Environmental Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2023-12-13 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — pattern
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations and interviews, the facility failed to ensure infection control practices were established and maintained to provide a safe, sanitary and comfortable environment and to help prevent the possible development and transmission of Coronavirus (COVID-19) on one of one unit. Specifically, the facility failed to: -Ensure staff wore and removed personal protective equipment (PPE) correctly; and, -Ensure infection control practices were followed during medication pass. Findings include: I. Professional reference According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), revised 5/8/23, Interim Infection Prevention and Control Recommendations for Healthcare Personnel During Coronavirus Disease 2019, retrieved 12/18/23 from https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/hcp/infection-control-recommendations.html Source control options for HCP (healthcare personnel) include a NIOSH (National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health) approved particulate respirator with N95 filter or higher. Source control is recommended for individuals in healthcare settings who:…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Fcited before2022-08-31 · tag F0727 — failed to provide required RN coverage — widespread
    Have a registered nurse on duty 8 hours a day; and select a registered nurse to be the director of nurses on a full time basis.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on record review and interviews, the facility failed to designate a registered nurse (RN) to serve as the director of nursing (DON) on a full time basis. Specifically, the facility utilized the nursing home administrator (NHA) to also serve as the DON and she was unable to work full time hours as the DON. Cross-reference F686 for the facility's failure to monitor and prevent pressure ulcers. Findings include: I. Record review Review of the August 2022 nursing schedule revealed there was not a DON scheduled for the month of August 2022. The NHA was on the schedule as an RN and NHA for the month of August 2022. She was not assigned to work the floor as a nurse, however she was scheduled to provide the nursing oversight. II. Staff interviews The NHA was interviewed on 8/29/22 at 12:30 p.m. She said she did not have a registered nurse designated as the DON on a full time basis. She said her previous DON left and she did not have the position filled for a few months. She said she did have RNs she delegated tasks with the DON position not filled. She said she offered the DON…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2022-08-31 · tag F0801 — widespread
    Employ sufficient staff with the appropriate competencies and skills sets to carry out the functions of the food and nutrition service, including a qualified dietician.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on record review and interviews, the facility failed to employ a director of food and nutrition services with the appropriate competencies and skills sets to carry out the functions of the food and nutrition service for 23 census residents. Specifically, the facility utilized the nursing home administrator (NHA) to also serve as the dietary manager (DM) and she was unable to work full time hours as the DM. Cross-reference F692 for the facility's failure to monitor and prevent significant weight loss. Findings include: I. Record review Review of the August 2022 dietary department schedule revealed there was not a DM scheduled for the month of August 2022. The dietary department had a day and evening shift cook scheduled and one to two dietary aides scheduled for each shift, however there was not a designated full time qualified DM scheduled weekly as required. II. Staff interviews The NHA was interviewed on 8/29/22 at 12:30 p.m. She said she did not have a dedicated dietary manager for the department. She said she had a contracted certified dietary manager (CDM) that provided…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2022-08-31 · tag F0758 — failed to limit and justify psychotropic drugs — pattern
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, record review and interviews, the facility failed to ensure residents were as free from unnecessary psychotropic drugs as possible for three (#6, #8 and #14) of six residents out of 15 sample residents. Specifically, the facility failed to: -Provide documentation that a risk versus benefit statement to justify the resident's continual use of the medications was provided to the resident and/or the resident's representative for Resident #6, Resident #8, and Resident #14; -Attempt a gradual dose reduction (GDR) of an antipsychotic medication for a resident with dementia for Resident #6 and Resident #8; and, -Appropriately assess Resident #14's need for the use of an antipsychotic medication for a diagnosis of nausea. Findings include: I. Facility policy and procedure The Psychopharmacological Medication Use policy, revised June2022, was provided by the nursing home administrator (NHA) on 8/31/22 at 8:45 a.m. It read in pertinent part, Psychopharmacological (psych) medications are used to…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2022-08-31 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — pattern
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations and interviews, the facility failed to maintain an infection control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary and comfortable environment to help prevent the development and transmission of disease and infection, including COVID-19 for two of two rooms. Specifically, the facility failed to: -Ensure housekeeping staff followed proper hand hygiene protocols when cleaning resident rooms; -Ensure proper room cleaning procedures were followed; -Ensure spray bottles were properly labeled with the disinfectant they contained; and, -Ensure housekeeping staff adhered to the appropriate wet/contact/dwell time (the time a chemical must remain in contact on a surface in order to eradicate organisms) for disinfection. Findings include: I. Professional references A. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Hand Hygiene in Healthcare Settings (updated January 2020), retrieved on 9/1/22 from https://www.cdc.gov/handhygiene/providers/guideline.html, read in pertinent part, Healthcare…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2022-08-31 · tag F0943 — pattern
    Give their staff education on dementia care, and what abuse, neglect, and exploitation are; and how to report abuse, neglect, and exploitation.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on record review and interviews, the facility failed to ensure all staff had current abuse and dementia care training. Specifically, the facility failed to ensure five out of five licensed nurses and CNAs reviewed within the previous year received dementia management training and abuse prevention training. Findings include: I. Record review Staff competencies/annual training for the selected nursing staff (CNAs and licensed nurses) were requested from the NHA on 8/29/22 at 12:30 p.m. The NHA provided the staff new hire competency checklists the following day on 8/30/22 at 5:13 p.m. -However, there was no record of annual training to include abuse, neglect and exploitation training and dementia care training. II. Staff interview The NHA was interviewed on 8/29/22 at 12:30 p.m. She said she did not have the training records and competency checklists available to her and would need to contact her HR representative to send her the requested documentation. She said her director of nursing (DON) was no longer employed and she could not find the employee training logs and competency…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record. 1 Medicare payment denial on record.

  • Medicare payment denial — starting 2025-10-09 for 28 days

Dates are the dates CMS records the penalty, not the date of the conduct behind it. CMS publishes penalties on a rolling window, so this is what is currently on the public file — not the home’s lifetime history, and an older fine may attach to a problem that has since been corrected. The amounts are as imposed: the CMS file does not record whether a penalty was appealed, reduced, or paid, so we don’t say. Ask the home what each one was for and what changed since.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleSince
Ownership Data Not Available

The source lists no ownership percentage for any party here — PECOS records a share only for equity interests, not for board or management roles.

What families pay in CO

Paying with Medicaid

CMS lists this home as Medicaid-certified only — it can accept Medicaid for long-term care, but it is not Medicare-certified, so Medicare will not pay for a short rehabilitation (“skilled nursing”) stay here. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Colorado Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Colorado
$10,159/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$12,182/mo
Nursing home (private)
$6,584/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 06A173. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-09-10, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next