No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Scenic Manor

1409 Fremont Street, Iowa Falls, IA 50126 · For profit - Corporation · 77 certified beds · (641) 648-4671 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (641) 648-4671 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
No harm-level citations or fines — but 7 lower-level deficiencies on record (see below)
Insights

On the public record, this home looks stronger than most — but visit before you decide.

In its favor
  • a strong health-inspection score (5/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
  • no harm-level citations in the current inspection record
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
  • a high payroll-based staffing rating (4/5)
  • lower-than-typical staff turnover (27% vs 45% nationally) — better care continuity

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

5/5
CMS overall
5 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 5 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 4 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 3 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
2320 Washington Ave · (641) 648-4250 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
504 Rocksylvania Ave · (641) 648-5550 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
500 Iowa St · (641) 648-2394 · Call to confirm hours
Park
1100 College Ave · (641) 648-4611 · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 3 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 2 of 5
Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital 4 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating held steady at 4 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating4★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased25.3%17.1%15.4%worse
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight2.3%4.6%5.4%better
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder4.7%1.5%0.9%worse
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection9.6%2.4%2.0%worse
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms5.3%4.2%6.5%better
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.2%0.1%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury3.5%3.8%3.3%typical
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened21.6%16.6%16.1%worse
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication11.9%20.8%18.9%better
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine97.0%95.3%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers6.0%4.2%4.7%worse
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control28.6%25.6%21.2%worse
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table9.9%19.5%17.1%better
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication3.2%2.1%1.4%worse
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine68.0%73.3%79.4%worse
Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission7.8%20.9%22.6%better
Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit12.5%13.2%12.0%typical
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days1.411.491.67better
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days1.852.081.80typical

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

53.8% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 63 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

53.8%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
9.0%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
50.0%U.S. median 56.6%
Met the expected recovery
0.25U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.11hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.09hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.05hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Met the expected recovery: 50.0% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 20 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.25 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 33% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 4% of this home’s weekday level — it runs therapy on weekdays, with essentially none at the weekend. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF53.8%CMS range 43.2–64.651.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF9.0%CMS range 5.8–13.510.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge50.0%56.6%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge45.0%52.8%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge35.0%50.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified100.0%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay0.0%0.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened0.0%1.9%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization6.5%CMS range 3.6–12.27.1%Oct 2023–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs0.841.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.68
RN hours/ resident / day
0.73
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.31
Aide hours/ resident / day
3.71
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.50
RN hoursweekends
26.9%
Total nursing turnover
11.1%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 77 beds and averages 64.2 residents a day — about 83% occupied, or roughly 13 beds typically open. It usually has some room. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.71 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.68 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.31 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.29 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.89 on weekdays — 15% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.75 to 0.50 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 27% is below the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

0
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2026-06-25)
0
at the previous standard inspection (2025-05-01)

Deficiencies are unchanged from the previous inspection. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

  • Potential for harm · D2024-10-11 · tag F0710 — isolated
    Obtain a doctor's order to admit a resident and ensure the resident is under a doctor's care.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on clinical record review, staff, and provider interviews, the facility failed to properly obtain a physician order for a resident admitted to the facility on Coumadin/warfarin (an anticoagulant or blood thinner medication) after discharge from the hospital (Resident #3). Resident #3 admitted to the facility from the hospital following an admission related to acute strokes and atrial fibrillation (AF - rapid heart rate caused by poor blood flow). Resident #3 required the use of Coumadin to help prevent blood clots to prevent future strokes. When he admitted to the facility, the facility failed to ensure he had an order on admission to monitor the therapeutic levels of Coumadin. Resident #3 didn't have the thickness of his blood (INR) checked until 3 weeks after his admission to the facility, when he admitted to the hospital for pneumonia. When the hospital checked his INR, the result reflected a level of 8.85 (therapeutic is 2-3), reflecting an INR level 3-4 times higher than therapeutic. The facility…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-05-16 · tag F0580 — failed to tell family and doctor about changes — isolated
    Immediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on clinical record review, family interview, staff interviews and facility document review, the facility failed to notify a resident representative of a change in condition for 1 of 1 resident reviewed (Resident #50). Resident #50 was found to have a large raised area on her lower back on 2/2/24. The facility did not notify Resident #50's resident representative of the area until after the primary care provider (PCP) had seen the area on 2/7/24. The facility reported a census of 60 residents. Findings include: The Minimum Data Set for Resident #50 documented a Brief Interview of Mental Status score of 9 indicating moderately impaired cognition. The Clinical Resident Profile for Resident #50 listed her son as the emergency contact #1. A Timeline for Resident #50 provided by the Director of Nursing (DON) during the survey 5/13/24 to 5/14/24, documented the following: 1/17/24- skin review- no new areas of concern noted by nurse 1/24/24- skin review- no new areas of concern noted by nurse 1/31/24- skin review- no new areas of concern noted by nurse 2/2/24- the PCP notified of…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-05-16 · tag F0658 — failed to meet professional standards of care — isolated
    Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations, record review, staff interviews and manufacturer's insert, the facility failed to provide services that met professional standards regarding medication administration for 2 of 8 residents (Resident #30 twice) observed who did not have their insulin flex pen primed prior to administering insulin (to ensure the proper amount of insulin administered). The facility reported a census of 60 residents. Findings include: During an observation on 5/15/24 at 8:28 AM, Staff A, Registered Nurse (RN) administered Novolog 5 units to Resident #22. Staff A gave the shot in the upper right arm. She did not prime the insulin pen prior to administration. During an observation on 5/15/24 at 8:54 AM, Staff B, Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) administered Novolog 9 units and Tresiba 54 units to Resident #30. Staff B gave both shots in the upper left arm. She did not prime either insulin pens prior to administration. Review of the facility's Insulin Administration policy, revised September 2014, did not have information specific to insulin pen administration. The policy stated the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-05-16 · tag F0759 — failed to keep medication error rate low — isolated
    Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations, clinical record review, staff interview, and manufacturer's package insert review, the facility failed to keep their medication error rate less than 5 percent. An observation of 39 medications being passed was completed with 3 medication errors noted giving the facility a 7.69% medication error rate. Resident #30 had 2 observations of insulin administration via FlexPen and both observations revealed no priming of the FlexPen. There was no way of knowing if the resident received the appropriate scheduled dose. The facility reported a census of 60 residents. Finding Include: 1. During an observation on 5/15/24 at 8:28 AM, Staff A, Registered Nurse (RN) administered Novolog 5 units to Resident #22. Staff A gave the shot in the upper right arm. She did not prime the insulin pen prior to administration. Review of current physician orders on the May 2024 Medication Administration Record/Treatment Administration Record (MAR/TAR) for Resident #22 revealed the resident to receive the following: a. Novolog Solution 100 UNIT/ML (Insulin Aspart) Inject 5 unit subcutaneous…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-05-16 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolated
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations, policy review and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure the medication cart was locked on 2 separate occasions when Staff C, Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN), responsible for the cart, was not in direct sight of the cart. The facility reported a census of 60 residents. Findings include: 1. Observation on 5/13/24 at 12:29 PM revealed a medication cart unlocked and unoccupied on the west hall. Two residents observed self propelling passed the unlocked medication cart. At 12:34 PM (5 minutes later) Staff C, LPN returned to the cart and continued with the medication pass. During an interview on 5/13/24 at 3:48 PM, the facility Administrator revealed it is expected the nurses lock medication carts and computers when stepping away from the cart. 2. On 5/13/24 at 11:33 AM, a medication cart observed unlocked and unattended in the hallway by the main dining room, the court yard dining room. Several residents observed to walk by the medication cart and several residents were seated near the medication cart. The staff member responsible for the cart was not…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-05-16 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, staff interview and policy review, the facility failed to use appropriate infection control practices during urinary catheter care for 1 of 2 residents (Resident #46) reviewed. The facility reported a census of 60 residents. Findings include: The Care Plan for Resident #46, with a revision date of 1/5/24, documented under the focus area the resident has an indwelling catheter and instructed under the intervention and task section to maintain enhanced barrier precautions and to observe and document intake and output. During an observation on 5/14/24 at 4:08 PM, Staff D, CNA, prepared to complete the task of emptying the catheter bag for Resident #46, with the Director of Nursing (DON) present. Staff D her washed hands, donned a gown and donned gloves. Staff D used a gait belt, transferred the resident to his bathroom, and placed the resident on the toilet. Staff D lowered the resident's pants to have access to the leg catheter bag. Staff D placed a plastic container to capture the output inside another larger plastic container as a barrier, with a plastic liner…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-04-30 · tag F0661 — isolated
    Ensure necessary information is communicated to the resident, and receiving health care provider at the time of a planned discharge.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on clinical record review, family, and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure a resident had prescription medication readily available following discharge for 1 of 3 residents reviewed (Resident #3). The facility reported a census of 61 residents. Findings include: The Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE] revealed Resident #3 had an admission date of 1/8/24 and a planned discharge date of 2/3/24. The Care Plan initiated 1/8/24 revealed Resident #3 planned to return to the community with a goal to successfully return to the community after meeting all goals at the facility and a safe return to the community. Review of undated facility form titled, Discharge Summary/Post Discharge Plan Of Care, reflected the facility arranged pharmacy services for Resident #3 at a pharmacy in [NAME]. Review of an electronic mail (email) correspondence dated 2/5/24 at 8:37 AM to Staff A, admission Coordinator, revealed a family member of Resident #3 inquired about the resident's prescription medication as the discharge…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
BEARDEN FAMILY REVOCABLE TRUSTOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNF6%since 11/01/2019
SALLY R AMLIE REVOCABLE TRUSTOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNF33%since 03/03/2026
WAYNE C. ANDERSON LEGACY TRUSTOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST33%since 11/01/2019
WOOD FAMILY LIVING TRUSTOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNF17%since 11/01/2016
SNODGRASS, ELIZABETHIndividual5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNF6%since 12/31/1999
WOOD, LUCIENIndividual5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST6%since 12/31/1999
IOWA FALLS STATE BANKOrganization5% OR GREATER MORTGAGE INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2024
AMLIE, THOMASIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERsince 04/23/2013
WOOD, GILBERTIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERsince 11/01/2019
BELL, ABBYIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 03/13/2023
BRAMAN, NICHOLASIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 07/17/2025
HAVERKAMP, KATHLEENIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2025
HINNERS, LAURIIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 10/01/2024
HOODJER, LISAIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 03/24/2026
POLKONAK, MARYIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 09/29/1999
STRAYER, BRENDAIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 08/12/2024
WRIGHT, AMYIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 01/01/2025
AMLIE, RODIndividualINDIVIDUAL IS AN OWNER, PARTNER OR TRUSTEE OF ANY ADP OF THE SNFsince 04/17/2026
BEARDAN, MICHAELIndividualINDIVIDUAL IS AN OWNER, PARTNER OR TRUSTEE OF ANY ADP OF THE SNFsince 04/17/2026
BEARDEN, MOLLYIndividualINDIVIDUAL IS AN OWNER, PARTNER OR TRUSTEE OF ANY ADP OF THE SNF; TRUSTEE OF THE SNFsince 04/17/2026
WOOD, KATHRYNIndividualINDIVIDUAL IS AN OWNER, PARTNER OR TRUSTEE OF ANY ADP OF THE SNFsince 04/17/2026
BCG HOLDINGS INCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 10/01/2024
BRIGHTON CONSULTING GROUP LLCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 10/01/2024
CATTAIL BCG LLCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 10/01/2024
CATTAIL INCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 10/01/2024
ECSI INCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 10/01/2024
GUARDIAN PHARMACY LLCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 01/31/2021
GUARDIAN PHARMACY OF IOWA LLCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 01/31/2021
GUARDIAN PHARMACY SERVICES INCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 01/31/2021
INNOVATIVE COMMUNICATIONS LLCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 11/18/2024
IOWA HEALTH CARE ASSOCIATIONOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 10/01/2024
MILLENNIUM REHAB & CONSULTING INCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 06/30/2023

CMS files one row per role, so the 40 rows in the source record cover these 32 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.

16 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$10.6M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
-1.2%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 36%Medicare 8%Other / private 56%

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$418per resident / day
operating cost
$12,696per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$413per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in IA

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Iowa Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Iowa
$9,277/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$10,038/mo
Nursing home (private)
$5,381/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 165472. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2026-06-25, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next