Laurens Care Center
304 East Veterans Road, Laurens, IA 50554 · Non profit - Corporation · 38 certified beds · (712) 845-4915 Medicare & Medicaid certified
This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.
- a middle-of-the-pack inspection score (3/5)
- no federal fines or payment denials on record
- a high payroll-based staffing rating (5/5)
- it has an abuse, neglect, or exploitation citation (F0600), cited Oct 2025
- a high number of inspection citations overall (15) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
- its payroll-based staffing score sits well above its independent inspection score
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 3 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 5 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 3 of 5 |
Worth a closer look. This home's staffing rating runs 2 stars above its independent health-inspection score. The inspection is done by state surveyors; the staffing score rests on the facility's own payroll (PBJ) submissions — so a gap this large is worth reading the inspection record for.
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 3 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 4 of 5 |
| Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital | 3 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating improved from 3 to 4 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 13.4% | 17.1% | 15.4% | better |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 0.0% | 4.6% | 5.4% | check this* — see note marked star below the table |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 0.0% | 1.5% | 0.9% | better |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 2.9% | 2.4% | 2.0% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 7.6% | 4.2% | 6.5% | worse |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.2% | 0.1% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 0.0% | 3.8% | 3.3% | check this* — see note marked star below the table |
| Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened | 14.3% | 16.6% | 16.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 22.1% | 20.8% | 18.9% | worse |
| Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 100.0% | 95.3% | 95.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 4.1% | 4.2% | 4.7% | better |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 31.8% | 25.6% | 21.2% | worse |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 20.8% | 19.5% | 17.1% | worse |
| Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication | 4.2% | 2.1% | 1.4% | worse |
| Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days | 1.37 | 1.49 | 1.67 | better |
| Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days | 3.37 | 2.08 | 1.80 | worse |
* This home reported 0% on a measure where lower is better. That can mean genuinely excellent care — but because the number is self-reported, a zero can also mean the problem was not recorded. Weigh it against the inspection record above.
‡ On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
Met the expected recovery: 58.6% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 29 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.
Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.13 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 9% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.
Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 4% of this home’s weekday level — it runs therapy on weekdays, with essentially none at the weekend. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | 11.3%CMS range 7.3–18.4 | 10.7% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | 58.6% | 56.6% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | 41.4% | 52.8% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | 48.3% | 50.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | 100.0% | 98.7% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | 0.0% | 0.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | 5.9% | 1.9% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | 0.90 | 1.02 | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 38 beds and averages 28.2 residents a day — about 74% occupied, or roughly 10 beds typically open. It usually has some room. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 4.30 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 1.02 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 3.07 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.87 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 4.47 on weekdays — 13% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 1.14 to 0.72 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 42% is about the same as the national median of 45%.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are unchanged from the previous inspection. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
15 citations, most serious first. The 10 most serious are shown; the remaining 5 are one tap away and print in full.
- Potential for harm · E2026-04-16 · tag F0868 — patternHave the Quality Assessment and Assurance group have the required members and meet at least quarterly
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on the review of the Quality Assurance Performance Improvement (QAPI) sign in sheets, staff interview and policy review, the facility failed to ensure all required members attended the quarterly Quality Assessment and Assurance (QAA) meetings. The facility reported a census of 28 residents. Findings include: Review of the QAPI Meeting Attendance sign-in sheets from March 2025 to April 2026 revealed all required team members did not attend a quarterly QAA meeting since 5/27/25.On 4/15/26 at 12:40 PM, the Director of Nursing (DON) acknowledged not all required team members have attended the QAA meeting quarterly. She said there have been staff members that have come and gone along with changes in leadership positions. She said the Infection Preventionist has had to work the floor as a charge nurse and has not been able to attend the meetings at times. The facility QAPI Plan updated 3/1/26 documented the facility would meet monthly to discuss ongoing or new issues in the nursing home. Involved in the QA meetings include the Administrator, DON, MDS Coordinator, Infection…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2026-04-16 · tag F0658 — failed to meet professional standards of care — isolatedEnsure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review, staff interviews and observation the facility failed to provide professional standards of care by administering medications for 1 of 12 residents reviewed (Resident #4). The facility reported a census of 30 residents.Findings include:The Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE] for Resident #4 documented diagnoses of hypertension, heart failure, anxiety and depression. The MDS showed the Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of 15, indicating no cognitive impairment.On 04/15/26 at 7:35 am, Staff E, a Certified Medication Aid (CMA), was observed administering the Ipratropium-Albuterol Inhalation Solution (0.5-2.5 MG/3 ML) via nebulizer to Resident #4.During the administration of the Ipratropium-Albuterol Inhalation Solution (0.5-2.5 MG/3 ML) via nebulizer, Staff E handed Resident #4 the Budesonide-Formoterol Fumarate Inhalation Aerosol (160-4.5 inhaler). Resident #4 removed the nebulizer mask and immediately inhaled two puffs of the inhaler before returning it to Staff…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2026-04-16 · tag F0688 — failed to keep residents mobile / prevent decline — isolatedProvide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline is for a medical reason.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on resident, staff interviews and record review, the facility failed to provide a restorative program to a resident with mobility concerns for 1 of 1 resident reviewed (Resident #6). The facility reported a census of 30 residents. Findings include:The Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE] for Resident #6 documented diagnoses of quadriplegia, depression, bipolar disorder and cerebrovascular accident (CVA). The MDS showed a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of 15 indicating no cognitive impairment.Review of the Care Plan with an initiated date 9/12/2012 revealed the restorative rehab program includes: Shoulder pulleys 2.5# plate each side, 3 sets for 5 reps each 2-3 times a week bilateral upper extremities (BUE) proximal range of motion (PROM): Remove arm braces. 10 reps each - Slow 3-5 seconds, Hands, use table, layout digits for extension 10-15 seconds, wrist - flex, extend Forearm - supination/pronation Elbow - flex, extend shoulder - flex, extend horizontal abdomen. (across body)…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2026-04-16 · tag F0883 — failed to offer flu and pneumonia vaccines — isolatedDevelop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on clinical record review, staff interview, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) guidelines the facility failed to screen for eligibility, offer, provide education, and document vaccine consent or refusal for the pneumococcal immunizations for 3 of 5 resident reviewed (Residents #6, #22, and #27) for immunizations. The facility reported a census of 30 residents. Findings include:1)The Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated for 2/7/26, Resident #6 had a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of 15 indicated intact cognition. Review of the Immunization tab in the electronic health record revealed the last Pneumococcal Immunization was PVC 13 (pneumonia vaccine) on 10/5/2015. The clinical record failed to document that Resident #6 was educated about, offered, or consented to (or refused) pneumonia vaccinations (PCV20, or PVC21). 2) The Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated for 4/1/26, Resident #22 had a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of 13 indicating intact cognition. Review of the Immunization tab in the electronic health record revealed the last Pneumococcal…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2025-10-08 · tag F0600 — failed to protect residents from abuse and neglect — patternProtect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review, and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure residents were free from abuse for 2 of 3 residents reviewed (Resident #2 and #3) by another resident (Resident #1). Resident #1 touched Resident #2 inappropriately on the chest on 2 separate occasions, and Resident #3 on 1 occasion. The facility reported a census of 27 residents.Findings include:1) According to the Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE], Resident #2 scored 2 on the Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) indicating severe cognitive impairment. The resident required partial to moderate assistance wheeling self in wheel chair 50 feet and making turns, and when wheeling self 150 feet in a corridor or similar space. The resident's diagnoses included aphasia (language disorder affecting a person's ability to communicate), non- Alzheimer's dementia and traumatic brain injury.The Care Plan revised 11/21/24 identified Resident #2 had impaired cognitive function/dementia or impaired thought processes related…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-10-08 · tag F0561 — failed to honor residents' choices — isolatedHonor the resident's right to and the facility must promote and facilitate resident self-determination through support of resident choice.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure residents and/or their representatives had the right choose a pharmacy for 1 of 3 resident's reviewed (Resident #4). The facility reported a census of 27 residents.Findings include: According to the Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE], Resident #4 scored 13 on the Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) indicating no cognitive impairment. The resident's diagnoses included diabetes, Alzheimer's disease, anxiety disorder, restlessness and agitation. The resident's drug regimen included antianxiety, antiplatelet, and hypoglycemic medications. The Care Plan identified the resident on Antiplatelet therapy (Aspirin) revised 4/7/25, antianxiety medication (lorazepam) initiated 5/7/25, and antidepressant medication (Trazadone) initiated 9/23/25. An admission Information form dated 3/28/25 documented yes for Resident #4 being a veteran and yes for Veterans Administration (VA) meds. The Progress Notes documented the following:On 7/23/25…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-03-20 · tag F0625 — isolatedNotify the resident or the resident’s representative in writing how long the nursing home will hold the resident’s bed in cases of transfer to a hospital or therapeutic leave.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and staff interview, the facility failed to provide to the resident and the resident representative, written notice of the bed hold policy when on hospital leave, which specified the duration of the bed-hold policy and reserve payment, for 3 of 3 residents reviewed (Resident #8, #11, and #2). The facility reported a census of 26 residents. Findings include: 1) According to the Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE], Resident #8 scored 4 on the Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) indicating severe cognitive impairment. The resident had diagnoses including Alzheimer's disease. The Census page showed the resident on hospital leave from 10/30/24 to 11/4/24. The Progress Notes dated 10/30/24 at 1:35 p.m. documented the resident sent to the hospital, and the bed hold signed by her family member. A Bed-Hold Notice dated 10/30/24 documented a verbal consent from the resident's family to reserve the room for the resident, signed by the charge nurse. The notice contained the…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-03-20 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolatedDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and staff interview, the facility failed to develop and implement a comprehensive care plan for 1 of 5 residents reviewed for psychotropic medications (Resident #21). The facility reported a census of 26 residents. Findings include: According to the Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE], Resident #21 scored 9 on the Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) indicating moderate cognitive impairment. The resident had diagnoses including an unspecified nutritional deficiency. The resident received antidepressant medication. The Care Area Assessment (CAA) for psychotropic medication use documented the resident received antidepressant medication for a treatable medical condition. Adverse consequences of antidepressants exhibited by the resident were an increased risk for falls. The CAA documented psychotropic drug use would be addressed on the care plan to avoid complications, minimize risks, and symptom relief. The Clinical Physician's Orders in the Electronic Health Record showed the…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-03-20 · tag F0657 — failed to keep the care plan current — isolatedDevelop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review, and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure a resident's care plan was reviewed and revised after each assessment for 2 of 11 residents reviewed (Resident #8 and #14). The facility reported a census of 26 residents. Findings include: 1. According to the Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE], Resident #8 had long and short term memory problems and severely impaired skills for daily decision making. The resident required substantial/maximal assistance with eating. The resident had diagnoses including Alzheimer's disease. The Care Plan revised 11/14/23 identified the resident had an Activity of Daily Living (ADL) self care performance deficit related to Alzheimer's. The interventions included the resident ate/drank independently. On 3/18/25 at 7:50 a.m. and 12:10 p.m. the resident was fed by staff. On 3/20/25 at 12:36 p.m. the DON confirmed the resident had declined with eating, and the care plan should be updated to reflect the resident's current status. The DON…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-03-20 · tag F0695 — failed to provide proper breathing / tracheostomy care — isolatedProvide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review, and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure a resident who needed Oxygen (O2) had documentation when they received oxygen for 1 of 2 residents reviewed (Resident #11). The facility reported a census of 26 residents. Findings include: According to the Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE] Resident #11 scored 11 on the Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) indicating moderate cognitive impairment. The resident had diagnoses including pneumonia. The Clinical Physician's Orders showed the resident had the order for Oxygen, inhale 2-4 liters/minute as needed to keep sats above 90% dated 2/26/25. The Care Plan identified the resident had oxygen therapy related to Congestive Heart Failure (CHF) revised 3/5/25. The interventions included continuous O2 at 2 liters, may increase up to 4 as needed to keep sats >90% revised 1/22/25. The Treatment Administration Record (TAR) for March 2025 showed the only day documented for the use of O2 was on 3/4/25 at 9:03 a.m. but…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
Show the remaining 5 citations
- Potential for harm · F2024-03-21 · tag F0729 — widespreadVerify that a nurse aide has been trained; and if they haven't worked as a nurse aide for 2 years, receive retraining.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on personnel file review, interviews, and review of the Direct Care Worker (DCW) Registry the facility failed to verify and assure a student certified nursing assistant (CNA) actually became certified and registered after completing the CNA course and taken the written exam for 1 of 5 CNAs reviewed (Staff G). The facility reported a census of 30 residents. Findings include: The personnel file for Staff G, student CNA documented a hired date of 3-23-23. Review of the personnel file lacked documentation Staff G, student CNA was registered on the Iowa Direct Care Worker Registry (DCW) The personnel file documented Staff G had passed the skills competency exam on 8-10-23 and the written exam with a 71% final score on 9/18/23. Review of the DCW registry on 3/20/24 at 10:43 AM revealed Staff G was not on the registry. The status documented No Test and no certification date. A facility form titled Skills Competency Checklist of Environmental Aides who have taken CNA course documented the following competencies where completed with Staff G on 8/3/23: feeding, dressing (top half of…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-03-21 · tag F0582 — isolatedGive residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on clinical record review, staff interviews and review of Medicare guidelines, the facility failed to provide a notice of Medicare Non-coverage 48 hours in advance of services ending for 1 of 3 residents reviewed (Resident #2). The facility also failed to provide the correct Skilled Nursing Facility Advance Beneficiary Notice of Non-Coverage (SNF ABN) form for 2 of 2 residents (Resident #2 and #6) whose skilled stay ended and continued to reside in the facility. The facility reported a census of 30 residents. Findings include: 1. Resident #2 ' s Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE] assessment identified Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMs) score of 15, indicating intact cognition. The MDS identified Resident #2 was dependent on two persons with bed mobility and transfers. Resident #2 ' s MDS included diagnoses of neurogenic bladder (lack bladder control due to nerve damage), urinary tract infection in the past 30 days, quadriplegia (paralysis that affects all limbs and body from the neck down), seizure…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-03-21 · tag F0625 — isolatedNotify the resident or the resident’s representative in writing how long the nursing home will hold the resident’s bed in cases of transfer to a hospital or therapeutic leave.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on clinical record review, interviews, and facility policy, the facility failed to ensure bed hold notice was signed by resident and or the resident's responsible person when residents transferred out of the facility for 2 of 4 residents reviewed (Residents #4 and #35). The facility reported a census of 30 residents. Findings include: 1.The Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE] for Resident #35 documented diagnoses of spinal stenosis, heart failure and renal insufficiency. The MDS showed the Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of 15 indicated no cognitive impairment. The Clinical Census for Resident #35 revealed the following: a. 1/23/24- active b. 1/29/24- hospital c. 1/30/24- resumed stay The Progress Notes for Resident #35 revealed the following information: a. On 1/29/24 at 1:51 PM, Resident #35 sent to the Emergency Department (ED). b. On 1/29/24 at 5:16 PM, Resident #35 will be admitted to the hospital for intravenous antibiotics. The clinical record lacked a Bed Hold form for…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-03-21 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolatedProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, infection control policy, and staff interview, the facility failed to use personal protective equipment (PPE) and perform hand hygiene when exchanging water pitchers for residents suspected of having the Norovirus for rooms 208, 209 and 213. The facility reported a census of 30 residents. Findings included: In an interview on 3/18/24 at 9:00 AM, the Administrator reported some residents required isolation precautions due to a possible norovirus outbreak. Observation on 3/18/24 at 10:20 AM showed PPE supplies, a contact isolation sign that stated PPE requirements of a gown, gloves and designed equipment required for contact isolation located outside of room [ROOM NUMBER]. Staff A, Certified Nurses Aide (CNA), observed to enter room [ROOM NUMBER] without PPE, placed a water pitcher on the bedside table, picked up the used water pitcher, and secured the used pitcher against herself by using her forearm. Staff A exchanged the other water pitcher and exited the room. Staff A next placed the used…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-03-21 · tag F0943 — isolatedGive their staff education on dementia care, and what abuse, neglect, and exploitation are; and how to report abuse, neglect, and exploitation.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on personnel file reviews, facility policy review and staff interview, the facility failed to provide the required 2 hour dependent adult abuse training within 6 months of hire for 2 of 9 employees reviewed (Staff D and E). The facility identified a census of 30 residents. Findings include: 1. The personnel file for Staff D, Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) documented a hired date of 3-23-23. Review of the Dependent Adult Abuse Mandatory Reporter Training Certificate documented Staff D, CNA completed the 2 hour training on 11/24/23. 2. The personnel file for Staff E, CNA documented a hired date of 5/15/23. Review of the Dependent Adult Abuse Mandatory Reporter Training Certificates documented Staff E, CNA completed the 2 hour dependent adult abuse training on 11/24/23. The facility policy titled Abuse, Prevention, Identification, Investigating, and Reporting Policy revised 4-1-17 revealed each employee shall be required to complete two hours of training relating to the identification and reporting of dependent adult abuse within six months of initial employment. On 3/20/24 at…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
No federal fines in the current CMS record.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Since |
|---|---|---|---|
| HORSMAN, KELLY | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | since 06/01/2023 |
| WOODLEY, RICHARD | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | since 03/01/2024 |
| EGERTSEN, MARLIN | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | since 01/18/2025 |
| SVUBA, JERLYN | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | since 11/01/2021 |
| VAN GENDEREN, KAYE | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | since 05/01/2022 |
| BOEVERS, JENNIFER | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | since 07/01/2020 |
| DODD, JAMIE | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | since 01/10/2023 |
| NORLAND, MIKAYLA | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | since 11/20/2021 |
| ACCESS TECHNOLOGIES INC | Organization | ADP OF THE SNF | since 10/24/2017 |
| BCG HOLDINGS INC | Organization | ADP OF THE SNF | since 10/01/2024 |
| BLUE STONE THERAPY INC | Organization | ADP OF THE SNF | since 05/01/2025 |
| BRIGHTON CONSULTING GROUP LLC | Organization | ADP OF THE SNF | since 10/01/2024 |
| CATTAIL BCG LLC | Organization | ADP OF THE SNF | since 10/01/2024 |
| CATTAIL INC | Organization | ADP OF THE SNF | since 10/01/2024 |
| COPPAGE LTC PHARMACY CONSULTING PLC | Organization | ADP OF THE SNF | since 07/20/2022 |
| ECSI INC | Organization | ADP OF THE SNF | since 10/01/2024 |
| IOWA HEALTH CARE ASSOCIATION | Organization | ADP OF THE SNF | since 10/01/2024 |
| WILLIAMS & COMPANY PC | Organization | ADP OF THE SNF | since 07/08/2013 |
CMS files one row per role, so the 20 rows in the source record cover these 18 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted. The source lists no ownership percentage for any of them — PECOS records a share only for equity interests, not for board or management roles.
10 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.
Follow the money — this home’s finances
Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.
Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2024. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.
Cost & finances
Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2024). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.
What families pay in IA
This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Iowa Medicaid page.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 165219. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2026-04-16, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.