No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Sunny Hill Care Center

1708 Harding Street, Tama, IA 52339 · For profit - Limited Liability company · 57 certified beds · (641) 484-4061 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Abuse/neglect citations on record (F0600, F0609, F0610) — most recent Oct 2023Behavioral-health or dementia-care citation — no harm found (F0758)2 immediate-jeopardy citations$24,756 in federal fines
Insights

This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.

Worth asking about
  • it has abuse, neglect, or exploitation citations (F0600, F0609, F0610) — most recent Oct 2023
  • inspectors cited 2 immediate-jeopardy problems — the most serious level
  • the CMS record shows $24,756 in federal fines (most recent 2024-02-08)
  • its payroll- and facility-reported staffing and quality-measure scores sit well above its independent inspection score
  • its independent health-inspection rating is low (1/5)

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

1/5
CMS overall
1 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 1 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 3 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 3 of 5

Worth a closer look. This home's staffing and quality-measure ratings run 2 stars above its independent health-inspection score. The inspection is done by state surveyors; the quality-measure score leans on data the facility reports about itself, and staffing on its payroll (PBJ) submissions — so a gap this large is worth reading the inspection record for.

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
★★ 2/5 CMS · Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
1307 S Broadway St · (641) 484-5445 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
108 2nd Ave · (641) 484-6198 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
1005 S County Rd · (641) 484-3006 · Call to confirm hours
Park
408 State St · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 3 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 2 of 5
Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital 4 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating fell from 2 to 1 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating1★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased33.0%17.1%15.4%worse
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight0.6%4.6%5.4%better
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder3.0%1.5%0.9%worse
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection0.0%2.4%2.0%better
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms0.6%4.2%6.5%better
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.2%0.1%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury2.6%3.8%3.3%better
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened27.8%16.6%16.1%worse
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication44.5%20.8%18.9%worse
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine98.0%95.3%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers5.8%4.2%4.7%worse
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control15.6%25.6%21.2%better
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table11.9%19.5%17.1%better
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication0.0%2.1%1.4%better
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine92.0%73.3%79.4%better
Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission14.3%20.9%22.6%better
Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit15.0%13.2%12.0%worse
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days1.731.491.67typical
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days2.562.081.80worse

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

52.9% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 57 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

52.9%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
9.9%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
45.0%U.S. median 56.6%
Met the expected recovery
0.06U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.02hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.03hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
<0.01hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Met the expected recovery: 45.0% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 20 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.06 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 2% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 7% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF52.9%CMS range 42.3–62.751.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF9.9%CMS range 6.3–14.310.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge45.0%56.6%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge35.0%52.8%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge35.0%50.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified100.0%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay0.0%0.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened0.0%1.9%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization9.4%CMS range 4.8–15.57.1%Oct 2023–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs0.611.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.79
RN hours/ resident / day
0.10
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.11
Aide hours/ resident / day
3.00
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.50
RN hoursweekends
Total nursing turnover
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 57 beds and averages 52.3 residents a day — about 92% occupied, or roughly 5 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.00 hrs/resident/day is below the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.79 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.11 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 2.70 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.12 on weekdays — 13% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.91 to 0.50 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

2
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2026-03-05)
3
at the previous standard inspection (2025-02-06)

Deficiencies are fewer than at the previous inspection — improving. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

14 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.

  • Immediate jeopardy · K2023-10-03 · tag F0609 — failed to report abuse allegations — pattern
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on clinical record review, Resident Group and staff interviews, observations and facility policy review, the facility failed to maintain an environment free of psychosocial and physical abuse by not identifying and/or reporting abuse immediately but not later than 2 hours- if the alleged violation involves abuse or results in serious bodily injury. Staff B, Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) reportedly grabbed a resident's hands and made her hit herself in her face on early morning of 7/4/23 (Resident #8). This was not reported until 7/14/23. Staff B reportedly was yelling at a resident and grabbed her wrists early morning of 7/3/23. This was not reported (Resident #9). Both residents were cognitively impaired. During the investigation, staff reported other incidents that they did not report as well (Resident #10 and Resident #13). This failure to report possible abuse in a timely manner created an immediate jeopardy (IJ) to the health and safety of the residents. The facility reported a census of 54…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Immediate jeopardy · K2023-10-03 · tag F0610 — failed to investigate and act on abuse reports — pattern
    Respond appropriately to all alleged violations.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on clinical record review, resident and staff interviews and facility policy review, the facility failed to take steps to prevent further potential abuse by not conducting a thorough investigation of an alleged violation. Staff B, Certified Nurse Assistant (CNA) reportedly was yelling at a resident and grabbed her wrists early morning of July 3rd (Resident #9). The facility asked Resident #9, who was cognitively impaired if anything happened the night before and she said no. The Director of Nursing (DON) acknowledged this resident did have cognitive impairment and had short term memory loss. The DON talked with Staff B. No documentation was done for either of these conversations, nor was a thorough investigation completed. Three residents were present at the time of the incident and were not interviewed. Two of the residents had intact cognition. A through internal investigation was not done or documented. The next day it was reported that Staff B caused another resident to hit herself in the face…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Actual harm · Gcited before2025-08-21 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on clinical record review, resident interview, family interview, staff interviews and policy review, the facility failed to ensure a safe transfer for 1 of 3 residents reviewed (Resident #5) . Staff attempted to transfer from the recliner to wheel chair and did not utilize a gait belt (Resident #5). The resident fell and sustained a non-displaced humeral fracture (left arm). The facility reported a census of 48 residents.Findings include:The Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE] for Resident #5 revealed diagnosis of heart disease, stroke, hemiplegia or hemiparesis referring to left side paralysis. The MDS coding reflected dependence on transfer from a bed or chair. The Brief Interview of Mental Status (BIMS) assessment scored 12 out of 15 indicated moderately cognitive impairment. The MDS documented that the resident was last admitted from a stay at a general hospital on 7/5/25.The Care Plan for Resident #5 documented focus area with initiated date of 12/13/24 for Resident #5 revealed potential for falls…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Actual harm · G2024-02-08 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolated
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on clinical record review, resident, family and staff interviews, and facility policy review, the facility failed to appropriately provided an assessment and interventions for the necessary care and services for a resident after a fall on 11/30/23. The nursing staff failed to provide a thorough assessment for the resident, and three hours after the fall, the next Shift Nurse assessed the resident and found an inward rotation of the left leg and associated severe pain. The resident transported to the local hospital, found to have suffered a fractured left hip, and then transferred to a tertiary hospital for higher level of care and surgical hip repair (Resident #8). The facility reported a census of 49 residents. Findings Include: The Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated for 11/23/23 for Resident #8 revealed diagnoses of osteoporosis, osteoarthritis, muscle weakness, and required moderate assistance for bed-to-chair and toilet transfers, toilet hygiene and did not walk 10 feet due to medical condition or safety concerns. The MDS identified that Resident #8 had 2 or more fall since last…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-03-05 · tag F0725 — failed to have enough nursing staff — isolated
    Provide enough nursing staff every day to meet the needs of every resident; and have a licensed nurse in charge on each shift.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on clinical record review, policy review, and staff and resident interviews, the facility failed to answer call lights in a timely manner for 2 of 3 residents reviewed for staffing concerns(Residents #22 and #23). The facility reported a census of 52 residents. Findings:1. Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment tool, dated 1/23/26, listed diagnoses for Resident #23 which included difficulty walking, weakness, and a history of falling. The MDS stated the resident required partial to moderate assistance with chair to bed and toilet transfers and substantial to maximal assistance with walking. The MDS listed the resident's Brief Interview for Mental Status(BIMS) as 12 out of 15, indicating moderately impaired cognition. On 3/3/26 at 9:06 a.m., Resident #23 stated call lights took more than 30 minutes. He stated that he looked at the clock to time it. He stated it made him feel miserable to sit and wait. A Care Plan entry, dated 11/20/15, stated the resident had an activity of daily living impairment and required…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-03-05 · tag F0760 — failed to prevent significant medication errors — isolated
    Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, clinical record review, policy review, and staff interviews, the facility failed to prime an insulin(an injectable medication used to lower blood sugar) pen prior to administration for 1 of 1 residents observed for insulin(Resident #32). The facility reported a census of 52 residents. Findings:1. The Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment tool, dated 12/19/25, listed diagnoses for Resident #32 which included diabetes (a disease which caused fluctuations in blood sugar), heart failure, and shortness of breath. The MDS listed the resident's Brief Interview for Mental Status(BIMS) score as 14 out of 15, indicating intact cognition. The 1/13/26 Care Plan entries stated the resident had diabetes and directed staff to administer diabetes medication as ordered by the doctor. The March 2026 Medication Administration Record (MAR) listed an order for Tresiba (a type of insulin) FlexTouch Pen-injector 100 units/milliliter (ml) 40 units in the morning. The Tresiba Flextouch Instructions For Use, retrieved from https://www.novo-pi.com/tresiba.pdf#IFU on 3/4/26, stated prior to…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2025-02-06 · tag F0865 — failed to run a quality-improvement (QAPI) program — pattern
    Have a plan that describes the process for conducting QAPI and QAA activities.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on staff interview, resident interview, CMS-2567 (Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services) report, facility policy, and Quality Assurance Performance Improvement Plan (QAPI) the facility failed to ensure an effective QAPI process to address inclusion of residents in care planning process per a previously identified deficiency on the facility's prior recertification. The facility reported a census of 47 residents. Findings include: The CMS-2567 form referring to the facilities recertification survey outcome dated 12/8/22 revealed a deficient practice, lacked resident participation in quarterly interdisciplinary meetings for care planning. The facility correction response dated 1/1/23 included invitations would be given to residents. 1. The Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment for Resident #31 dated 12/6/24 included a cognitive assessment, The Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) scored 15 out of 15 indicated residents' cognition as intact. In an interview on 2/3/25 at 9:51 AM Resident #31 queried about care plan meetings, if they had participated in plan of care discussions…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Administration Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-02-06 · tag F0657 — failed to keep the care plan current — isolated
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on resident interview, staff interviews, record review, and policy review the facility failed to ensure resident participation option in quarterly interdisciplinary team meetings for care planning for 2 of 5 residents reviewed regarding care plan meetings (Residents #31 & #38). The facility reported a census of 47 residents. Findings include: 1. The Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment for Resident #31 dated 12/6/24 included diagnoses of anemia, heart failure, peripheral vascular disease, anxiety, and depression. The MDS listed the Resident's BIMS (Brief Interview for Mental Status) score of 15 out of 15 indicating intact cognition. A Care Conference Summary form dated 9/5/24 for Resident #31 revealed a column of discussion topics and comments. The form included a column to identify resident discussion, if agreed or disagreed that was left blank. Signature lines for staff in attendance included written staff names along with Resident #31 name written on resident signature line. The boxes to identify if resident agreed, disagreed, or understood was disregarded, not completed. In…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-11-26 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on clinical record review, policy review, resident interview, and staff interview, the facility failed to provide monitoring and timely assistance to transfer off the toilet for 1 of 3 residents reviewed for supervision (Resident #1). The facility reported a census of 51 residents. Findings include: The Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment tool, dated 9/13/24, listed diagnoses for Resident #1 which included amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS-a progressive neurological disease that affected the nerve cells in the brain and spinal cord), heart failure, and diabetes. The MDS stated the resident was dependent on staff to transfer on and off the toilet and listed his Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score as 15 out of 15, indicating intact cognition. 7/1/17 Care Plan entries stated the resident was dependent on staff for transfers and position changes, and utilized a mechanical lift. On 11/25/24 at 12:36 p.m., Resident #1 stated staff left him on the toilet for 2.5 hours. He stated his body hurt when he sat on the toilet but it subsided after staff assisted him off the toilet.…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-02-08 · tag F0658 — failed to meet professional standards of care — isolated
    Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, clinical record review, resident and staff interviews, the facility failed to follow through with Physician Orders for 1 of 15 residents reviewed (Resident #13). The facility reported a census of 49 residents. Findings Include: The Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE] for Resident #13 revealed a diagnosis of Urinary Tract infections (UTI), neuromuscular dysfunction of the bladder and stroke with left sided paralysis and required assistance of one person for toileting, hygiene and an indwelling catheter was identified. Resident #13's Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score, 15 out of 15 indicated intact cognition. The Care Plan dated 7/18/23 directed Nursing Staff to care for the catheter every shift and to follow the Physician Orders in regards to flushing and changing the catheter. The Discharge Order from a local hospital dated 1/16/24 identified the resident with a suprapubic catheter. During an interview on 2/5/24 at 1:45 PM, Resident #13 stated he had a suprapubic catheter and…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-02-08 · tag F0690 — failed to manage incontinence, catheters, and urinary infections — isolated
    Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, clinical record review, resident and staff interviews, and facility policy review, the facility failed to provide catheter care for 1 of 3 residents reviewed (Resident #13). The facility reported a census of 49 residents. Findings Include: During an interview on 2/5/24 at 1:45 PM, Resident #13 stated he had a suprapubic catheter and had been an ongoing problem of spasms and Urinary Tract Infections (UTI) for him. Resident #13 stated the nurse told him she couldn't do anything without an order to care for it. During an observation on 2/6/24 at 9:36 AM, Staff A, Registered Nurse (RN) provided Resident #13's suprapubic catheter care and catheter irrigation. Staff A withdrew 60 milliliters (ml) of clear fluid into a catheter tipped syringe from a cup. Staff A removed a plastic vial of 0.9% Sodium Chloride from her pocket to show what she was using for the irrigation (flush). Staff A disconnected the catheter from the catheter tubing, wiped with alcohol and connected the syringe and flushed the fluid into the resident. Resident #13 requested Staff A to clean the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-02-08 · tag F0758 — failed to limit and justify psychotropic drugs — isolated
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on clinical record review, staff interview, and facility policy review, the facility failed to limit as needed (PRN) psychotropic medications to 14 days without a rationale from the provider to extend the medication for 1 of 5 residents reviewed for unnecessary medications (Resident #7). The facility reported a census of 49 residents. Findings Include: The Minimum Data Set (MDS) for Resident #7 dated 11/5/23 documented a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of 8 out of 15, indicating moderately impaired cognition. The MDS further revealed the resident had diagnosis including anxiety, non-Alzheimer's dementia and other depressive disorders. The Care Plan initiated 5/15/23 identified Resident #7 with the potential for altered mood function with occasional episodes of mood dysfunction and behaviors and directed staff to administer antianxiety medication (scheduled and PRN) and observed for effectiveness and side effects. Review of the November 2023 Medication Administration Record (MAR) for Resident #7 revealed an order for Lorazepam (antianxiety medication) every 8…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-10-03 · tag F0600 — failed to protect residents from abuse and neglect — isolated
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on clinical record review, Resident Group and staff interviews, observation and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure residents were free from abuse when facility staff did not follow their policy of reporting, investigating and protecting the residents from abuse. Through interviews with various staff, it was found that staff did not report their concerns of potential abuse (Residents #8, #10, and #13) or reported their concerns to the Director of Nursing (DON) allowing a thorough investigation to follow (Resident #9). The facility reported a census of 54 residents. Findings Include: 1. A Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE], documented diagnoses for Resident #8 included non-Alzheimer's dementia and schizophrenia. A Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) documented as being unable to complete. The MDS identified the resident's cognitive skills for daily decision making was severely impaired. Resident #8 required extensive assist of 2 staff for bed mobility, transfer, dressing and toilet…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • No harm found · B2025-02-06 · tag F0623 — pattern
    Provide timely notification to the resident, and if applicable to the resident representative and ombudsman, before transfer or discharge, including appeal rights.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on record review, staff interview, and policy review the facility failed to notify the Long-Term Care Ombudsman of discharge/transfer of residents as required for 1 of 4 residents reviewed who were discharged or transferred from the facility (Resident #15). The facility reported a census of 47 residents. Findings include: Review of the Minimum Date Set assessments dated 4/7/24 and 10/6/24 revealed Resident #15 had unplanned discharges to the hospital. Resident #15 reentered the facility on 4/9/24 and 10/9/24. The electronic medical record census list for Resident #15 revealed hospitalizations from 4/7/24-4/9/24 and 10/6/24-10/9/24. Review of the Discharge Tracking form for Long-Term Care Ombudsman communication lacked documentation of Resident #15's discharges to the hospital on 4/7/24 and 10/6/24 as required by federal regulation. In an interview on 2/6/25 at 10:35 AM, the Administrator reported they maintain the Discharge Tracking form which is used for the Ombudsman's notification. Information is obtained from reports within the electronic medical record as well as by hand.…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

$24,756 in federal fines across 2 penalties.

  • $13,787 — penalty dated 2024-02-08
  • $10,969 — penalty dated 2023-10-03

Dates are the dates CMS records the penalty, not the date of the conduct behind it. CMS publishes penalties on a rolling window, so this is what is currently on the public file — not the home’s lifetime history, and an older fine may attach to a problem that has since been corrected. The amounts are as imposed: the CMS file does not record whether a penalty was appealed, reduced, or paid, so we don’t say. Ask the home what each one was for and what changed since.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleSince
KILIAN, MARKIndividualDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNFsince 08/01/2001
OSTHUS, DAVIDIndividualDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 08/01/2001
WALTON, CALEBIndividualDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2016
LTC ACCOUNTING SERVICES, LLCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 06/26/2025
POTTER AND BRANT PLCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 07/10/2025
PREMIER SENIOR MANAGEMENT LLCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2005
HINEMAN, POLLYIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2020
THIESSEN, MEGANIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 03/19/2012

CMS files one row per role, so the 18 rows in the source record cover these 8 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted. The source lists no ownership percentage for any of them — PECOS records a share only for equity interests, not for board or management roles.

3 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$4.9M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
+7.5%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
$650K
Related-party expense14% of expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 54%Medicare 6%Other / private 40%

This home reported $650K paid to related parties — landlords or management companies under common ownership — equal to about 14% of its total expenses. Money routed to affiliated companies can leave a home’s own books looking lean while owners still profit; it is the mechanism regulators watch most closely in private-equity and REIT deals.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$239per resident / day
operating cost
$7,265per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$258per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in IA

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Iowa Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Iowa
$9,277/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$10,038/mo
Nursing home (private)
$5,381/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 165462. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2026-03-05, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next