No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Hitz Memorial Home

201 Belle Street, Alhambra, IL 62001 · Non profit - Corporation · 59 certified beds · (618) 488-2355 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Abuse/neglect citations on record (F0600, F0610) — most recent Mar 20261 immediate-jeopardy citation$75,965 in federal fines
Insights

This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.

In its favor
  • a middle-of-the-pack inspection score (3/5)
  • a high payroll-based staffing rating (4/5)
Worth asking about
  • it has abuse, neglect, or exploitation citations (F0600, F0610) — most recent Mar 2026
  • it has a citation for its abuse-prevention policies, restraint use, or reporting and investigating of allegations (F0607) — cited below the harm level, meaning inspectors found the process wanting but did not find a resident harmed
  • inspectors cited 1 immediate-jeopardy problem — the most serious level
  • the CMS record shows $75,965 in federal fines (most recent 2026-03-12)

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

3/5
CMS overall
3 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 3 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 4 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 4 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
12866 Troxler Ave · (618) 651-2650 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
506 E Main St · (618) 635-2538 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
12016 Leuscher Rd · (618) 781-4248 · Call to confirm hours
Park
610 W Main St · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 4 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 4 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating held steady at 2 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating2★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased10.1%13.4%15.4%better
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight1.9%6.3%5.4%better
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder1.0%0.9%0.9%worse
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection3.5%1.5%2.0%worse
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms1.3%54.2%6.5%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.1%0.1%better
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury11.6%3.1%3.3%worse
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened11.5%14.3%16.1%better
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication20.1%18.3%18.9%typical
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine91.3%91.8%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers7.4%4.8%4.7%worse
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control26.9%20.6%21.2%worse
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table10.9%21.7%17.1%better
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication0.0%2.2%1.4%better
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days1.242.021.67better
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days2.082.221.80worse

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

41.8% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 32 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

41.8%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
12.8%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
0.19U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.11hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.08hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
<0.01hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.19 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 20% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 10% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF41.8%CMS range 30.3–57.451.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF12.8%CMS range 8.6–19.010.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identifiednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF staynot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsenednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalizationnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs1.091.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.43
RN hours/ resident / day
0.90
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.43
Aide hours/ resident / day
3.76
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.44
RN hoursweekends
41.7%
Total nursing turnover
50.0%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 59 beds and averages 43.3 residents a day — about 73% occupied, or roughly 16 beds typically open. It usually has some room. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.76 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.43 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.43 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.35 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.93 on weekdays — 15% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.43 to 0.44 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 42% is about the same as the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

3
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2026-03-12)
4
at the previous standard inspection (2024-09-12)

Deficiencies are fewer than at the previous inspection — improving. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

14 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.

  • Immediate jeopardy · J2026-03-12 · tag F0610 — failed to investigate and act on abuse reports — isolated
    Respond appropriately to all alleged violations.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to conduct thorough investigations for allegations of sexual abuse and failed to protect a resident during active investigations for 1 (R42) of 1 resident reviewed for abuse in the sample of 26. This failure resulted in R42 being vulnerable with no protective measures from future potential abuse implemented. R42 subsequently was subjected to additional abuse allegations, by V17 (family member) on 1/2/25, 7/17/25 and 2 not dated allegations from December 2025. A reasonable person would expect to be free of abuse, and protected from further allegations of abuse. Following these circumstances, a reasonable person would potentially experience severe psychological harm with feeling shame, guilt, anger, and embarrassment. Findings include:The Immediate Jeopardy began on 1/2/2025 when V15, Certified Nursing Assistant, CNA, reported an allegation of sexual abuse involving R42. No protective measures were implemented to ensure R42 remained free of…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Actual harm · G2024-09-12 · tag F0600 — failed to protect residents from abuse and neglect — isolated
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the Facility failed to prevent verbal and physical abuse and neglected to accurately assess a resident for injury prior to initiating a transfer for 1 of 2 residents (R99) reviewed for abuse/neglect in the sample of 25. This failure caused R99 to experience fear and increased anxiety and unknown potential further injury. Findings include: R99's Facesheet dated 9/11/2024 documents R99 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with multiple diagnoses including but not limited to; osteoporosis, anxiety and post traumatic stress disorder. R99's Progress Notes dated 7/7/2024 documents R99 was attempting to self transfer out of her recliner, in her room and fell to the floor. It further documents R99 began complaining of right hip pain. R99's Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE] documents R99 was moderately cognitively impaired and required substantial assistance for chair transfers. On 9/9/2024 at 12:56 PM, V9, Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) stated, I was going through taking…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2026-03-12 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespread
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the Facility failed to store food in a manner that prevents foodborne illness. This has the potential to affect all 43 residents living in the Facility.Findings include: On 3/3/26 at 7:58 AM, the standing refrigerator held three containers of an orange gelatinous substance labeled with R28's last name. The containers were not dated or labeled with the contents inside. V6, Cook, looked at a form labeled Audit: Food/Beverages Brought into the Facility and stated the containers were R28's orange tapioca gelatin and were placed in the refrigerator on 2/22/26. There was also a clear plastic cup containing brown liquid from a retail coffee establishment that was not labeled or dated. The Facility's Audit: Food/Beverages Brought into the Facility documents R28's gelatin was prepared on 2/22/26. On 3/3/26 at 8:00 AM, in the walk-in refrigerator, there was a container labeled beef broth and dated 2/20/26. On 3/3/26 at 8:25 AM, V5, Dietary Manager, stated foods are…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Fcited before2026-03-12 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — widespread
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the Facility failed to monitor infection trends and follow infection control procedures in the Facility. This has the potential to affect all 43 residents living in the Facility.Findings include: 1-The Facility's Infection Control Log does not list a causative organism for R2's 8/29/25 UTI (Urinary Tract Infection). The Facility's Infection Control Log does not list a causative organism for R39's 10/29/25 UTI. The Facility's Infection Control Log does not list a causative organism for R6's 11/7/25 UTI. The Facility's Infection Control Log does not list a causative organism for R27's 11/10/25 UTI. On 3/4/26 at 2:51 PM, V1, Administrator, stated R39 was sent home from the hospital to the facility on oral antibiotics, but no urine culture was obtained for R39 during hospitalization. On 3/5/26 at 2:00 PM, V3, Infection Preventionist, stated she tries to put the causative organisms for infections on the Infection Control Log, but there are some missing. Sometimes antibiotics are…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2026-03-12 · tag F0881 — failed to use antibiotics responsibly — pattern
    Implement a program that monitors antibiotic use.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the Facility failed to follow its antibiotic stewardship policy to help prevent antibiotic resistance for 4 of 4 residents (R6, R16, R18, R39) reviewed for infection control in the sample of 26. Findings include: 1-The Facility's October 2025 Infection Control Log does not document a causative organism for R39's 10/29/25 UTI (Urinary Tract Infection). R39's Order Summary Report documents the order Cephalexin 500 milligram (mg) oral capsule, give one capsule by mouth twice per day related to unspecified abnormal findings in urine for ten administrations. R39's Medication Administration Records (MARs) for October and November 2025 document R39 received ten doses of Cephalexin. On 3/4/26 at 2:00 PM, V1, Administrator, stated R39 came back from the hospital on oral antibiotics, but no urine culture was completed to justify the use of the antibiotic Cephalexin. On 3/5/26 at 4:00 PM, V1 stated she expects the Facility to follow its infection control policy. 2.R16's Undated Face…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2026-03-12 · tag F0607 — failed to have anti-abuse policies — isolated
    Develop and implement policies and procedures to prevent abuse, neglect, and theft.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview, observation, and record review, the Facility failed to follow its abuse policy in preventing, reporting and investigating allegations of abuse for 1 of 1 resident (R42) reviewed for abuse in the sample of 26. Findings include:R42's face sheet documents an admission date of 2/19/2024. Diagnosis includes Hypertension with Heart Failure, Dementia, Narcolepsy, Chronic Respiratory Failure, Primary Osteoarthritis.R42's Minimum Data Set, MDS, dated [DATE] documents R42 is severely cognitively impaired.R42's care plan updated 2/23/2026 documents R42 has a self-care deficit related to weakness, dementia, hypertensive heart disease with heart failure, osteoporosis, osteoarthritis. R42's hospital records dated 3/5/2026 at 3:10PM stated V39 (family member) stated R42 has always been mentally slow, and she does not like to be touched.On 3/3/2026 at 8:00AM V1, Administrator was informed that a sexual abuse allegation was made to Illinois Department of Public Health (IDPH). V1 stated she was not aware of…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2025-03-19 · tag F0839 — pattern
    Employ staff that are licensed, certified, or registered in accordance with state laws.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on Interview and Record Review, the facility failed to hire and maintain a current and active license for a Registered Nurse (RN) and allowed that RN to work unlicensed upon hire. The Findings Include: On [DATE] at 11:50 AM, While doing the background check review, one of the facility's RNs (V4) was found to have an expired license and has been working at facility since hired on [DATE]. On [DATE] at 11:52 AM, V1, Administrator, stated I did the background checks on (V4, RN), and I never noticed that her license was expired. I just called (V4) who told me that she thought she renewed her license, but she doesn't have a receipt to prove it. (V4) was calling the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR) to discuss this with them and will let me know of the outcome. On [DATE] at 12:35 PM, V6, Business Office Manager, stated There are three of them who do the background checks for new employees, V1, herself, and V7, Medical Records. On [DATE] at 12:37 PM, V7 stated We run fingerprints…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Administration Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2024-09-12 · tag F0727 — failed to provide required RN coverage — widespread
    Have a registered nurse on duty 8 hours a day; and select a registered nurse to be the director of nurses on a full time basis.
    What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview and record review, the Facility failed to employ a Full Time Director of Nursing (DON). This failure has the potential to affect all 43 residents residing in the Facility. Findings include: On 9/9/2024 at 8:45 AM, V1 Administrator, stated, I have been doing it (performing DON duties) until we can get someone hired. We have been looking since February (2024). We have interviewed but they wanted $70 an hour. We can't do that. V1 stated she work 65-70 hours a week doing care plans and other DON duties. During this investigation, there was no observations of a DON. The Facility provided a list of Quality Assurance Members, undated, which did not include a staff member as DON. The Facility's Central Management Services (CMS) Form-671 dated 9/9/2024 documents there are 43 residents residing at the Facility.

    Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-09-12 · tag F0607 — failed to have anti-abuse policies — isolated
    Develop and implement policies and procedures to prevent abuse, neglect, and theft.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the Facility failed to follow the Facility Policy by ensuring an abusive and neglectful incident did not occur as well as not notifying all required parties for 1 of 2 residents (R99), reviewed for abuse/neglect, in the sample of 25. Findings include: The Facility's Abuse and Neglect Policy undated documents, A board member, licensee, administrator, licensed nurse, employee or volunteer of a nursing home shall not physically, mentally or emotionally abuse, mistreat or neglect a resident. Any nursing home employee or volunteer who becomes aware of abuse, mistreatment, neglect, exploitation or misappropriation shall immediately report to the nursing home administrator. The nursing home administrator or designee will report abuse to the state agency per state and federal requirements. Nursing Home 1150B Rules and Regulations state all employees are required, to any reasonable suspicion of a crime committed against a resident, to call 911 or (local) Sheriff. The Policy continues…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-09-12 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolated
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review, interviews, and observation, the facility failed to follow a physicians order for wound dressing for 1 of 1 resident (R25) in the sample of 25 reviewed for wounds. Findings include: 1. R25's Facesheet documents R25 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnosis of systolic and diastolic congestive heart failure, diabetes, atherosclerotic heart disease of native coronary artery, diabetic retinopathy, acquired absence of left great toe, moderate protein-calory malnutrition, polyneuropathy, glaucoma, phantom limb syndrome with pain, gastro-esophageal reflux disease, generalized anxiety disorder, acquired absence of right leg above knee, hypertension, and hyperlipidemia. R25's Minimum Data Set, (MDS) dated [DATE] section C documents R25 has severe cognitive decline with a Brief Interview Mental Score, (BIMS) of 3. Section GG documents R25 requires use of a wheelchair and is dependent on staff for all care areas. Section H documents V25 is always incontinent of bowel and bladder. R25's…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2023-08-25 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — widespread
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to label multi dose vials of medication and multidose insulin pens when accessed. This has the potential to affect all 38 residents in the facility. Findings include: 1. On 8/24/23 at 2:50 PM V19, Registered Nurse (RN) removed a multi-dose vial of Tuberculin Purified Protein Derivative from the refrigerator in the medication room on the 100-Hall. The multi-dose vial was opened but did not have a date on the box or the vial indicating when the vial was opened. The instructions on the label on the box documented, Discard opened product after 30 days. V19 stated, I only work per diem. I don't know when this bottle was opened but I may be able to find out. 2. On 8/24/23 at 3:00 PM during observation of the 100-Hall medication cart with V19, there was an opened insulin pen with the label indicating it contained Novolog 70/30 insulin in the top drawer. This insulin pen had R32's last name only on it, but no label with medication instructions, dosage or prescription number, and there was no date on the pen documenting…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2023-08-25 · tag F0755 — failed to provide safe pharmacy services — pattern
    Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure that medications are administered using nursing standards of practice for 14 of 14 residents (R1, R4, R6, R7, R8, R16, R19, R25, R26, R30, R32, R34, R240 and R243) reviewed for pharmacy services in the sample of 35. Findings include: On 8/24/23 at 3:00 PM the medication cart for the 100-Hall was observed with V19, Registered Nurse, RN. There were 14 clear medication cups stacked 2-3 cups deep with each cup containing multiple pills and/or capsules. There were last names on these cups, but no date or time of when they were set up or when they were to be administered. V19 identified the cups as the evening medications that she had pre-set up for her evening medication pass for the following residents: R1, R4, R6, R7, R8, R16, R19, R25, R26, R30, R32, R34, R240 and R243. V19 stated she is per-diem and stated she always pre-sets up her evening medication pass, or it would take her a longer time to do her medication pass. She stated she did not know this was not alright. She stated, I don't know if you have…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2023-08-25 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — pattern
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview and record review the Facility failed to ensure infection control guidelines were being followed and staff were using the correct Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) on contact isolation for 4 of 4 residents (R5, R35, R190, R191) reviewed for infection control in the sample of 35. Findings include: 1.On 08/22/23 at 8:36 AM on R190's door was open and on the door was a sign posted documenting, Enhanced Barrier Precautions, clean hands, including before entering when leaving room, Providers and staff must also wear gloves and gown. R191's Door had Personal Protective Equipment hanging over the door with gloves, and gowns. V13, Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA), exited R191's room and was not wearing any gloves or gowns, without washing or disinfecting her hands. V13 had just came from the room and was carrying out a breakfast tray. V13 left R190's room and proceeded to check on residents on the 200-hall. A list of residents in the facility with contact isolation was provided and R190 was identified as having C-diff (Clostridioides difficile) a highly…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2023-08-25 · tag F0881 — failed to use antibiotics responsibly — isolated
    Implement a program that monitors antibiotic use.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview and record review the facility failed to ensure antibiotics used, are effective to treat the organisms causing the infections for 2 of 20 residents (R27 and R22) reviewed for antibiotic stewardship in the sample of 35. Findings include: 1. R27's undated Care Plan documents R27 has an ADL self-care performance deficit related to chronic kidney disease, atherosclerotic heart disease, major depression disorder, glaucoma, generalized weakness, incontinence, and poor mobility. The Infection Control Surveillance Log for March 2023 documents R27 had a Urinary Tract Infection (UTI) on 3/11/2023 but no organism was documented and 'No growth was documented on the surveillance log for the use of any antibiotics. R27's Physician Order Sheet (POS) for March 2023 documents, Cefdinir 300 MG (milligrams), give 1 capsule by mouth two times a day for urinary tract infection. R27's Medication Administration Record (MARS) dated 3/2023 documents Cefdinir 300 MG (milligrams), give 1 capsule by mouth two times a day for urinary tract infection. R27's MAR was documented as receiving…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

$75,965 in federal fines across 1 penalty.

  • $75,965 — penalty dated 2026-03-12

Dates are the dates CMS records the penalty, not the date of the conduct behind it. CMS publishes penalties on a rolling window, so this is what is currently on the public file — not the home’s lifetime history, and an older fine may attach to a problem that has since been corrected. The amounts are as imposed: the CMS file does not record whether a penalty was appealed, reduced, or paid, so we don’t say. Ask the home what each one was for and what changed since.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleSince
SCHUELER, DEANIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 03/01/2013
WILSON, MAKENZIEIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 07/02/2021
DAUDERMAN, CHRISTINEIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER; ADP OF THE SNFsince 02/28/2022
ERNST, ASHLEYIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/25/2021
GELLY, JANELLEIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2023
HOOKS, DAVIDIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2022
HOSTO, TERRIIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2020
RECKMAN, CAROLIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2023
SCHELDT, DAVIDIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2024
SCHMIDT, MARGIEIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/21/2019
STROHMEIER, RANDYIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2022
SUHRE, RICHARDIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/21/2019
UHE, LISAIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2024
WOOD, JEREMYIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER; ADP OF THE SNFsince 10/25/2021

CMS files one row per role, so the 30 rows in the source record cover these 14 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted. The source lists no ownership percentage for any of them — PECOS records a share only for equity interests, not for board or management roles.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$3.7M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
-11.0%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 35%Medicare 6%Other / private 59%

A reported operating loss is common in this industry and is not by itself a sign of trouble — but paired with large related-party payments it can mean profit is being taken elsewhere in the ownership structure.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2024. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$272per resident / day
operating cost
$8,281per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$245per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2024). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in IL

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Illinois Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Illinois
$8,304/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$9,216/mo
Nursing home (private)
$6,219/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 145921. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2026-03-12, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next