Fairview Haven
605 North 4th Street, Fairbury, IL 61739 · Non profit - Church related · 52 certified beds · (815) 692-2572 Medicare & Medicaid certified
On the public record, this home looks stronger than most — but visit before you decide.
- a strong health-inspection score (5/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
- no harm-level citations in the current inspection record
- no federal fines or payment denials on record
- a high payroll-based staffing rating (5/5)
- lower-than-typical staff turnover (30% vs 45% nationally) — better care continuity
- its last standard health inspection was over 2 years ago — the star rating may not reflect current conditions
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 5 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 5 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 4 of 5 |
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 4 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 5 of 5 |
| Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital | 4 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating held steady at 5 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 29.5% | 13.4% | 15.4% | worse |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 4.5% | 6.3% | 5.4% | better |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 1.8% | 0.9% | 0.9% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 0.0% | 1.5% | 2.0% | better |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 4.4% | 54.2% | 6.5% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.1% | 0.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 2.3% | 3.1% | 3.3% | better |
| Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened | 21.1% | 14.3% | 16.1% | worse |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 17.3% | 18.3% | 18.9% | typical |
| Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 97.9% | 91.8% | 95.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 3.4% | 4.8% | 4.7% | better |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 27.7% | 20.6% | 21.2% | worse |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 10.5% | 21.7% | 17.1% | better |
| Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication | 0.0% | 2.2% | 1.4% | better |
| Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 9.1% | 63.1% | 79.4% | worse |
| Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission | 10.3% | 26.1% | 22.6% | better |
| Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit | 5.1% | 13.9% | 12.0% | better |
| Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days | 1.37 | 2.02 | 1.67 | better |
| Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days | 0.56 | 2.22 | 1.80 | better |
‡ On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
Met the expected recovery: 33.3% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 21 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.
Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.35 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 59% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.
Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 10% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | 10.7%CMS range 6.4–18.2 | 10.7% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | 33.3% | 56.6% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | 38.1% | 52.8% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | 33.3% | 50.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | 95.8% | 98.7% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | 0.0% | 0.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | 4.2% | 1.9% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | 0.70 | 1.02 | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 52 beds and averages 47.1 residents a day — about 91% occupied, or roughly 5 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 4.78 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.85 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 3.31 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 4.01 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 5.10 on weekdays — 21% thinner on weekends — a notable drop. RN hours go from 0.98 to 0.53 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 30% is below the national median of 45%.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are fewer than at the previous inspection — improving. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
This trend is not current. The most recent of these two inspections was over 2 years ago; the arrow describes what inspectors found then, not what the home is like now.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
14 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.
- Potential for harm · Fcited before2024-09-11 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — widespreadEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview and record review the facility failed to monitor medication room freezer temperatures and failed to store medications separately from food. This failure affects all 47 residents residing in the facility. Findings include: The facility's Storage of Medications policy with a revised date of 9/10/24 documents, Medication requiring refrigeration must be stored in a refrigerator located in the drug room at the nurses' station or other secured location. Medications must be stored in a separate compartment from food. On 9/10/24 at 10:15 AM, V3 Licensed Practical Nurse opened the medication storage room refrigerator and there was food and drink in the refrigerator. There was bisacodyl suppositories and acetaminophen suppositories in the bottom drawer of the refrigerator and there was a medication card of Florastor (probiotic) for R251 in the top shelf of the refrigerator door. V3 opened the freezer and there was no thermometer in the freezer. The freezer contained individual ice cream cups and popsicles. V3 confirmed there was no thermometer in the freezer…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-09-11 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolatedEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview and record review the facility failed to implement fall prevention interventions for one of three residents (R27) reviewed for falls in the sample list of 34. Findings include: The facility's Falls-Clinical Protocol with a revised date of 5/3/13 documents, Treatment/Management 1. Based on the preceding assessment, the staff and physician will identify pertinent interventions to try to prevent subsequent falls and to address risks of serious consequences of falling. R27's Order Summary Report dated 9/10/24 documents diagnoses including Unspecified Dementia, Without Behavioral Disturbance, Psychotic Disturbance, Mood Disturbance, Anxiety and Osteoarthritis. R27's Nurse's Notes dated 5/14/24 documents R27 was found on the floor in his room with an abrasion to the left elbow and to the forehead. R27's Care Plan dated 5/3/22 documents R27 is at risk for falls and documents an intervention dated 5/18/22 that non-skid footwear should be worn at all times. On 9/9/24 at 10:06 AM, 9/10/24 at 10:09 AM and on 9/10/24 at 2:18 PM, R27 was lying in bed sleeping with…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-09-11 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolatedProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to initiate Enhanced Barrier Precautions for one (R14) of sixteen residents reviewed for infection control in a sample list of 34. Findings include: The facility's policy Enhanced Barrier Precautions dated 9/10/24 documents Enhanced Barrier Precautions expand the use of Personal Protective Equipment and refer to the use of gown and gloves during high contact resident care activities that provide opportunities for transfer of Multidrug Resistant Organisms (MDROs) to staff hands and clothing. MDROs may be indirectly transferred from resident to resident during these high contact care activities. Nursing home residents with wounds and indwelling medical devices are at especially high risk of both acquisition of and colonization with MDROs. The use of gown and gloves for high-contact resident care activities is indicated, when Contact precautions do not otherwise apply, for nursing home residents with wounds and/or indwelling medical devices regardless of MDRO colonization As well as for residents with MDRO infection…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · F2023-07-12 · tag F0755 — failed to provide safe pharmacy services — widespreadProvide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview and record review the facility failed to dispose of unused medications from unknown residents. This failure has the potential to affect all 46 residents residing in the facility reviewed for medication disposal in the sample list of 18. Findings include: The facility's undated Discarding and Destroying Medications policy provided on 7/12/23 documents, Medications that cannot be returned to the dispensing pharmacy (e.g. {example} non unit-dose medications, medications refused by the resident, and/or medications left by residents upon discharge) shall be destroyed. Non-controlled and Schedule V controlled drugs must be destroyed in the presence of two (2) licensed nurses. Staff shall contact the provider pharmacy if they are unsure of proper disposal methods for a medication. On 7/12/23 at 10:41 AM during the medication room tour, V15 Registered Nurse opened an unlocked drawer labeled CD (hall cart CD) and there were medication cards in the front of the drawer. V15 stated that V15 did not know where those medication cards came from or why they were in…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2023-07-12 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — patternEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview and record review the facility failed to prevent injury during care transfers for a resident requiring total assist and protective sleeves to both arms. This failure affects one (R12) of three residents reviewed for transfers from a total sample list of 18. Findings include: R12's Minimum Data Set, dated [DATE] documents R12 as cognitively intact and requiring total assistance for transfers, including a mechanical lift. R12's skin care plan dated 6/19/23 documents R12 is to wear protective sleeves to both arms and may remove for hygiene. R12's progress notes document the following: 3/11/23 document a skin tear approximately one centimeter on the left leg 4/12/23 documents during a shower, R12 sustained a skin tear on the left elbow from the yellow (transfer) sling which had scraped R12's left elbow, approximately 1.5 cm .0.5cm. in size 5/9/23 document that R12' sustained a skin tear to R12's right forearm when transferring the resident. 5/25/23 documents, Bruising and skin tear…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-07-12 · tag F0554 — isolatedAllow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to complete a self administration of medication assessment for residents with medications at bedside for two of two residents (R4, R29) reviewed for self administration of medications on the sample list of 18. Findings Include: The facility's undated Self Administration of Medication Policy documents residents in our facility who wish to self administer their medications may do so if it is determined that they are capable of doing so. The staff and practitioner will assess each resident's mental and physical abilities to determine whether a resident is capable of self administering medications and document their findings and the choices of the residents who are potentially capable of self administering medications. Self administered medications must be stored in a safe and secure place, which is not accessible by other residents. If safe storage is not possible, the medications will be kept in the medication cart and nursing will transfer the…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2023-07-12 · tag F0758 — failed to limit and justify psychotropic drugs — isolatedImplement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review the facility failed to complete residents initial assessment for an antidepressant and failed to complete quarterly assessments for antidepressants and an antipsychotic medication. This failure affects one of five residents (R22) reviewed for unnecessary medications in the sample list of 18. Findings include: The facility's undated Psychotropic Medication Use policy provided on 7/12/23 documents, Physicians and mid-level providers will use psychotropic medications appropriately working with the interdisciplinary team to ensure appropriate use, evaluation and monitoring. Discussion of non-medication behavior management strategies that could be implemented in an attempt to reduce/eliminate the behaviors prior to initiation of drug treatment as well as on an ongoing basis. Primary care physician, PA (Physician's Assistant) or APN (Advanced Practice Nurse) Evaluates with the interdisciplinary team, effects and side effects of psychoactive medications within one month of…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · F2022-06-23 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespreadProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to maintain equipment and utensils in a safe, clean, sanitary condition to prevent the potential for cross-contamination of food from physical contaminants. These failures have the potential to affect all 47 residents in the facility. Findings include: 1.) On 6/21/2022 at 9:45 am on tour of the kitchen, accompanied by V8, Dietary Manager, there was a manual tabletop can opener. The tabletop can opener had thick, dark brown grease-like build-up on the blade and an accumulation of metal shavings in gears. V8, Dietary Manager stated I see the metal shavings. I will get that taken care of right away. That is bad and is a potential hazard that could affect all the residents in the facility. 2.) On 6/21/2022 at 9:50 am continuing on the tour of the kitchen accompanied by V8, there was one large 24 inch by 18 inch acrylic cutting board and two smaller 18 inch by 12 inch acrylic cutting boards. The three cutting boards each had deep slice-like divots over the majority of the boards The center sliced divot had imbedded…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2022-06-23 · tag F0758 — failed to limit and justify psychotropic drugs — patternImplement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure PRN (as needed) medications were not ordered for more than 14 days maximum duration permitted for PRN medications without justification, failed to complete a psychotropic medication assessment prior to starting a psychotropic medication, and failed to care plan non-pharmacological interventions to assist with behavior management for three of five residents (R27, R30, and R36) reviewed for psychotropic medications on the sample list of 25. Findings include: 1.) R36's Physician Order Summary Report Sheet (POS) dated June 1-30, 2022, documents the following diagnosis: Unspecified Dementia Without Behavioral Disturbance, Anxiety Disorder Due to Known Physiological Condition, and Delusional Disorder. R36's Physician Order Summary Report Sheet (POS) dated February 1-28, 2022, documents the following psychotropic medication order: Lorazepam Tablet 0.5 MG( milligram) Give 1(one) tablet by mouth as needed (PRN) for Anxiety take every 12 hours. Active…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2022-06-23 · tag F0550 — failed to protect resident dignity and rights — isolatedHonor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure dignity was maintained by administering an injection in the dining room for one of six residents (R35) reviewed for medication administration on the sample list of 25. Findings Include: On 6/22/22 at 8:34 AM, V7 RN (Registered Nurse) prepared R35's ordered insulin injections and entered the dining room to administer it. R35 was sitting at the dining room table with R44 when V7 stated V7 needed to administer R35's insulin. R35 lifted R35's shirt to make R35's abdomen accessible to V7, and V7 administered the two insulin injections. On 6/22/22 at 8:44 am, R35 stated, staff normally don't give R35 insulin in the dining room but instead make R35 go to R35's room to get it. On 6/22/22 at 1:38 pm, V1 Administrator stated the facility does not have a policy for dignity. On 6/23/22 at 8:30 am, V10 RN (Registered Nurse)/Director of Senior Services stated we {facility} prefer staff not give injections in the dining room but there are some residents who request it though due to not wanting to go back to their…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2022-06-23 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolatedDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review the facility failed to develop a comprehensive care plan for anticoagulant therapy for one of 13 residents (R19) reviewed for care plans in the sample list of 25. Findings include: The facility's Care Plan - Comprehensive policy dated 3/28/19 documents, Policy Statement(:) An individualized comprehensive care plan that includes measurable objectives and timetables to meet the resident's medical, nursing, mental and psychological needs is developed for each resident. 2. The comprehensive care plan is based on a thorough assessment that includes, but is not limited to, the MDS (Minimum Data Set). 3. Each resident's comprehensive care plan is designed to: a. Incorporate identified problem areas; b. Incorporate risk factors associated with identified problems; 5. Care plan interventions are designed after careful consideration of the relationship between the resident's problem areas and their causes. When possible, interventions address the underlying source(s) of the problem…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2022-06-23 · tag F0695 — failed to provide proper breathing / tracheostomy care — isolatedProvide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to keep a resident's oxygen tubing off the floor and failed to label portable oxygen tubing according to facility policy. This failure affects two of three residents (R14 and R16) reviewed for respiratory care on the sample list of 25. Findings include: 1.) On 06/21/22 at 11:22 AM R14 was seated in a wheelchair at the side foot area of R14's bed. R14 had an oxygen bedside concentrator that was plugged into the wall outlet at the head of the bed. R14 had a portable oxygen tank on the back of R14's wheelchair. The bedside oxygen concentrator tubing was stretch out on the floor three feet from the concentrator to reach R14's wheelchair. The oxygen concentrator tubing had several feet of oxygen tubing coiled on the floor at the side of R14s wheelchair. R14 stated R14 just changed over to the portable oxygen in preparation to leave R14's room. R14 stated The oxygen tubing dangles from the concentrator and onto the floor sometimes. R14's portable…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2022-06-23 · tag F0759 — failed to keep medication error rate low — isolatedEnsure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to administer medications according to Manufacturers Recommendations and facility policy for one (R35) of six residents reviewed for medication administration in the sample list of 25. The facility had 2 errors out of 33 opportunities for a medication error rate of 6.06%. Findings Include: R35's June 2022 POS (Physician Order Sheet) documents orders for Lantus {Long Acting Insulin} 10 units SQ (Subcutaneously) every morning and Novolog {Rapid Acting Insulin} 100 units /ml per sliding scale coverage SQ before meals and at bedtime{based on blood glucose level}: 151-175 = 1 unit, 176-200 = 2 units, 201-225 = 3 units, 226-250=5 units, 251-275=7 units, 276-300 = 9 units, 301-325 = 12 units, 326-350=15 units, and if greater than 351, call physician On 6/22/22 at 8:34 AM, V7 RN (Registered Nurse) stated V7 had already checked R35's blood glucose level, which was 162, therefore R35 would be receiving one unit of Novolog. V7 pulled an unlabeled Novolog Flexpen from the medication cart and prepared the ordered Novolog. At…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2022-06-23 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolatedEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure medications are labeled appropriately for one of six residents (R35) reviewed for medication labeling in the sample list of 25. Findings Include: The facility Labeling of Medication Containers Policy dated June 2020 documents medication labels must be legible at all times. Labels shall include all necessary information such as: the resident name, prescribers name, pharmacy information including name/address/telephone number, the name/strength/quantity of the medication, prescription number, and expiration date. On 6/22/22 at 8:34 AM, V7 RN (Registered Nurse) prepared R35's morning medications which included insulin's: Novolog {Rapid Acting Insulin} and Lantus {Fast Acting Insulin}. V7 pulled the unlabeled Novolog and Lantus from a bag in the medication cart that had a worn pharmacy label on it. The label had R35's name on it, which was barely legible due to being worn and no other information. V7 stated, V7 knew that the Novolog and Lantus belonged to R35 due to being in the bag that was labeled for R35.
“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
No federal fines in the current CMS record.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Since |
|---|---|---|---|
| BANWART, DAN | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR; CORPORATE OFFICER | since 07/01/2016 |
| EDELMAN, KARL | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | since 07/01/2025 |
| HARTMAN, MARK | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR; CORPORATE OFFICER | since 07/01/2020 |
| LEMAN, BEN | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR; CORPORATE OFFICER; TRUSTEE OF THE SNF | since 07/01/2023 |
| MAUL, DAVID | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR; TRUSTEE OF THE SNF | since 07/01/2021 |
| NUSSBAUM, ROLLIN | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | since 07/01/2022 |
| STEIDINGER, WES | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR; TRUSTEE OF THE SNF | since 07/01/2024 |
| STUCKEL, JOSEPH | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR; TRUSTEE OF THE SNF | since 07/01/2019 |
| BLUNIER, DAVID | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER; ADP OF THE SNF | since 01/01/2016 |
| DUNAHEE, EMMA | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | since 10/01/2021 |
| FEHR, SALLY | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | since 04/16/1998 |
| IFFT, LORI | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | since 10/26/2017 |
| RINKENBERGER, JEREMIAH | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | since 07/01/2018 |
| STEFFEN, SAMUEL | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | since 02/19/2025 |
| STEIDINGER, DIXIE | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | since 01/01/2016 |
| STOLLER, BRANDON | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | since 09/13/2021 |
CMS files one row per role, so the 25 rows in the source record cover these 16 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted. The source lists no ownership percentage for any of them — PECOS records a share only for equity interests, not for board or management roles.
Follow the money — this home’s finances
Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.
A reported operating loss is common in this industry and is not by itself a sign of trouble — but paired with large related-party payments it can mean profit is being taken elsewhere in the ownership structure.
Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2024. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.
Cost & finances
Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2024). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.
What families pay in IL
This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Illinois Medicaid page.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 145794. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2024-09-11, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.