Alexandria Care Center
1912 S Park Ave, Alexandria, IN 46001 · Government - County · 70 certified beds · (765) 724-4478 Medicare & Medicaid certified
The public record raises real questions here. Weigh the concerns below carefully.
- a middle-of-the-pack inspection score (3/5)
- no federal fines or payment denials on record
- it has a citation for its abuse-prevention policies, restraint use, or reporting and investigating of allegations (F0605) — cited below the harm level, meaning inspectors found the process wanting but did not find a resident harmed
- it has 1 actual-harm citation
- about 18% of its spending goes to commonly-owned related companies
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 3 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 3 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 3 of 5 |
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 3 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 2 of 5 |
| Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital | 4 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating fell from 4 to 3 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 24.8% | 11.0% | 15.4% | worse |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 7.8% | 5.5% | 5.4% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 0.0% | 0.4% | 0.9% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 1.1% | 1.1% | 2.0% | better |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 28.2% | 25.2% | 6.5% | worse than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.1% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 6.2% | 3.9% | 3.3% | worse |
| Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened | 23.5% | 11.9% | 16.1% | worse |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 34.3% | 23.5% | 18.9% | worse |
| Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 97.7% | 95.4% | 95.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 3.6% | 3.6% | 4.7% | better |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 42.6% | 23.3% | 21.2% | worse |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 14.2% | 13.6% | 17.1% | better |
| Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication | 0.0% | 1.2% | 1.4% | better |
| Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 100.0% | 79.0% | 79.4% | better |
| Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission | 25.8% | 22.2% | 22.6% | worse |
| Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit | 10.7% | 10.8% | 12.0% | better |
| Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days | 1.52 | 1.61 | 1.67 | typical |
| Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days | 3.36 | 1.44 | 1.80 | worse |
‡ On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
58.4% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 26 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.
Met the expected recovery: 58.6% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 29 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.
Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.52 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 83% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.
Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 17% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | 58.4%CMS range 45.0–69.7 | 51.5% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | 9.9%CMS range 6.7–14.5 | 10.7% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | 58.6% | 56.6% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | 62.1% | 52.8% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | 65.5% | 50.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | 100.0% | 98.7% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | 0.0% | 0.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | 5.4% | 1.9% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | 8.0%CMS range 4.0–14.2 | 7.1% | Oct 2023–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | 1.49 | 1.02 | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 70 beds and averages 56.3 residents a day — about 80% occupied, or roughly 14 beds typically open. It usually has some room. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.94 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.48 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.44 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.25 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 4.22 on weekdays — 23% thinner on weekends — a notable drop. RN hours go from 0.57 to 0.25 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 47% is about the same as the national median of 45%. 1 administrator has left in the past year.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
14 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.
- Actual harm · G2026-04-28 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolatedEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to provide supervision to mitigate the risk of repeated falls and failed to ensure individualized fall interventions were developed, added to the plan of care, and implemented to prevent repeated falls for 1 of 3 residents reviewed for accidents. (Resident B) This deficient practice resulted in the resident suffering a left hip fracture requiring surgical repair. Finding includes: Resident B' s clinical record was reviewed on 4/27/26 at 11:41 a.m. Diagnoses included Alzheimer's disease, displaced intertrochanteric fracture of the left femur, insomnia, trigeminal neuralgia, and anxiety. Current orders included memantine (treats dementia) 10 mg twice daily (11/14/25), carbamazepine (anticonvulsant) extended release 100 mg twice daily for trigeminal neuralgia (1/14/26), bed alarm to alert staff to unassisted transfers (9/12/25), and chair alarm on at all times for fall prevention (3/2/26). A 1/29/26, quarterly, Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment indicated the resident was severely cognitively impaired. Resident B…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-08-15 · tag F0605 — failed to not use drugs as a restraint — isolatedPrevent the use of unnecessary psychotropic medications or use medications that may restrain a resident's ability to function.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure residents prescribed antipsychotic medications received appropriate Gradual Dose Reductions (GDR) attempts and had indication for continued use when GDRs were attempted and were deemed unsuccessful without clinical justification for 2 of 5 residents reviewed for unnecessary medications (Residents 8 and 12).Findings include:1. During an observation, on 8/11/25 at 11:21 a.m., Resident 8 ambulated up behind another resident and spoke with the other resident. During an observation, on 8/11/25 at 3:04 p.m., Resident 8 sat in a chair in the dining/activity area and participated in an activity. During an observation, on 8/12/25 at 10:06 a.m., Resident 8 ambulated around the tables in the dining area and observed the Activity Director setting up a bucket activity. During an observation, on 8/12/25 at 3:49 p.m., Resident 8 stood at the dining table and worked on a puzzle. During an observation, on 8/13/25 at 8:22 a.m., Resident 8 ambulated down the hall to the dining room. During an observation, on 8/14/25 at…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-08-15 · tag F0628 — isolatedProvide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure the resident's representative was notified in writing of transfer/discharge appeal rights and the facility bed hold policy for 4 of 7 residents reviewed for hospitalizations (Resident 6, 7, 22, and 57) and failed to provide communication to the receiving health care facility for 1 of 7 residents reviewed for hospitalizations. (Resident 22)Findings include: 1.Resident 7's clinical record was reviewed on 8/14/25 at 9:04 a.m. Diagnoses included Alzheimer's disease, vascular dementia, unspecified severity, with agitation, dementia, moderate, with agitation, unspecified dementia, unspecified severity, with other behavior disturbance, and major depressive disorder, recurrent, severe with psychotic symptoms. A nursing progress note, dated 6/3/25 at 7:22 p.m., indicated the resident became physically aggressive and threw clothing items, hangers, and a television out of the resident's room. She tried to slam her walker into the staff members. A referral…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-08-15 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolatedProvide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to administer a PRN (as needed) medication per physician orders for 2 of 16 residents reviewed for physician orders. (Resident 35 and Resident 5)1.Resident 35's clinical record was reviewed on 8/13/25 at 1:56 p.m. Diagnoses included Alzheimer's disease, essential hypertension (high blood pressure), and atrial fibrillation (irregular heartbeat).Current orders included hydralazine 10 milligrams four times a day as needed for high blood pressure [to lower blood pressure]. Special instructions included: administer the medication when Resident 35's blood pressure was above 165 [systolic (top number)].The clinical record indicated the following:On 7/1/25 the resident's blood pressure was 170/83. Hydralazine was not administered.On 7/6/25 the resident's blood pressure was 198/87. Hydralazine was not administered.On 7/14/25 the resident's blood pressure was 181/77. Hydralazine was not administered.On 7/15/25 the resident's blood pressure was 169/73. Hydralazine was not administered.On 7/17/25 the resident's blood pressure was 170/72.…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-08-15 · tag F0692 — failed to prevent malnutrition and dehydration — isolatedProvide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to follow the dietitian's recommendations and follow a physician's order for a resident with significant weight loss for 1 of 3 residents reviewed for nutrition. (Resident 8) Finding includes:During an observation, on 8/13/25 at 7:48 a.m., Resident 8 was eating her biscuits and gravy. She had white milk on her tray. Resident 8's clinical record was reviewed on 8/13/25 at 8:49 a.m. Diagnoses included Alzheimer's disease, dementia in other diseases classified elsewhere, unspecified severity, without behavioral disturbance, psychotic disturbance, mood disturbance, and anxiety, major depressive disorder, recurrent, mild, anxiety disorder, unspecified psychosis not due to a substance or known physiological condition, Vitamin D deficiency, vomiting, and underweight. Current orders included the following: regular diet, chocolate milk with meals, cottage cheese with meals, vanilla ice cream with lunch and dinner, yogurt with breakfast, Boost (supplement) high protein - give 350 ml (milliliters) three times a day, Boost…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-08-15 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolatedEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation and interview, the facility failed to ensure medications were stored in a secure manner when one medication cart was left unlocked and unattended. This deficiency had the potential to allow access to medications belonging to 19 residents. Findings include:During an observation on 8/12/25 at 11:03 a.m., the 100-hallway medication cart was unattended and unlocked. The hallway was empty until 11:10 a.m. when two (unidentified) Certified Nursing Assistants (CNAs) approached and entered a nearby resident room. At approximately 11:15 a.m., LPN 5 approached and locked the medication cart. She indicated she was the nurse responsible for the medication cart. She had inadvertently left the cart unlocked. Keys to the cart were in her pocket. The cart contained medications for 19 residents.During an interview with the Director of Nursing (DON) on 8/15/25 at 3:53 p.m., she indicated all medication carts should be locked when not in use.A current facility document, titled Storing Drugs, provided by the DON on 8/15/25 at 3:02 p.m., indicated the following: .Drugs and…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-08-15 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — isolatedProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation and interview, the facility failed to ensure hygienic food handling practices were followed during dining services for 1 of 19 residents observed in the main dining room. (Resident 35)Findings include:During an observation, on 8/11/2025 at 12:06 p.m., CNA 4 offered to cut Resident 35's hamburger sandwich. Using her left hand, CNA 4 placed all five of her fingertips on the top bun and pushed the top bun in a downward motion to secure the bun in place as she used a knife, in her right hand, to cut the sandwich in half. During an interview, on 8/11/2025 at 12:43 p.m., CNA 4 indicated she should not have touched Resident 35's food with her bare hands. Food was not to be touched barehanded and a fork and knife was to be used to cut a sandwich. During an interview, on 8/15/25 at 3:39 p.m., the DON indicated staff were not to touch resident's food with bare hands. All staff were previously educated on hand hygiene, food handling, and other specifics of food service(s). A facility policy, dated August 2024, provided by the DON on 8/15/25 at 3:02 p.m., titled Glove Use &…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-07-03 · tag F0760 — failed to prevent significant medication errors — isolatedEnsure that residents are free from significant medication errors.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to prevent a significant medication error, resulting in the hospitalization of a resident for altered mental status. (Resident B) Findings include: Resident B's closed clinical record was reviewed on 7/2/25 at 11:08 a.m. Diagnoses included displaced fracture of right femur, atrial fibrillation (irregular heartbeat), heart disease. The resident admitted to the facility from the hospital on 6/27/25. Current physician orders include buprenorphine-naloxone (treats narcotic dependence) 8-2 milligram (mg) sublingual twice a day, tramadol (opiate pain medication) 50 mg every six hours, ciprofloxacin (antibiotic) 500 mg one tablet twice a day for three days for urinary tract infection (UTI), iron 325 mg one tablet daily for anemia, and potassium gluconate 595 mg daily for hypokalemia. A current care plan, dated 6/27/25, indicated Resident B was at risk for atrial fibrillation. Interventions included administering medication as ordered, aspirin as ordered, Eliquis as ordered, monitor vital signs as needed, notify physician if any…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2024-08-30 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — patternProvide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to monitor vital signs per physician orders prior to giving medications for 3 of 3 residents reviewed. (Resident 24, 31, and 35) Findings include: 1. Resident 24's clinical record was reviewed on 8/27/24 at 9:45 a.m. Diagnoses included dementia, old myocardial infarction (heart attack), unspecified atrial fibrillation (rapid and irregular heart rate), and hypertension (high blood pressure). Resident orders included metoprolol tartrate (high blood pressure) 25 milligram (mg) tablet twice daily, hold if heart rate is below 60 and/or systolic blood pressure (top number) is below 120. A Consultant Pharmacist's Medication Regimen Review for May 2024, provided by the DON on 8/28/24 at 2:09 p.m., indicated the Medication Administration Report (MAR) showed that in the last couple of weeks, this dose was administered eight times when the residents systolic blood pressure was less than 120. Please make sure to hold when indicated. A Medication Administration Report (MAR), for June 2024, indicated the resident received metoprolol…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-08-30 · tag F0550 — failed to protect resident dignity and rights — isolatedHonor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to provide a dignified dining experience for 1 of 14 residents observed during dining on the secured unit. (Resident 35) Finding includes: During an observation, on 8/26/24 at 12:32 p.m., Resident 35 sat in her wheelchair at the dining table. Her chair was low in comparison to the table height and put the resident at chin level to the table. She took a bowl of food off her tray on the table and put the bowl in her lap to eat. During an observation, on 8/27/24 at 12:17 p.m., CNA 6 assisted the resident in her wheelchair to the dining table. The resident's chin was at the level of the table and close to the table edge. She reached up to the tray on the table to get some potato chips. During an observation, on 8/28/24 at 12:14 p.m., the resident sat at the dining table. Her chin was at table height. She reached up to get a food bowl from her tray and held it while eating. Resident 35's clinical record was reviewed on 8/26/24 at 3:54 p.m. Her diagnoses included Alzheimer's disease with late onset, dementia, visual…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-08-30 · tag F0644 — isolatedCoordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure a Preadmission Screening and Resident Review (PASRR) was submitted for a resident with a new mental health diagnosis. (Resident 12) Finding includes: Resident 12's clinical record was reviewed on 8/27/24 at 1:49 p.m. Diagnoses included vascular dementia, unspecified severity, without behavioral disturbance, psychotic disturbance, mood disturbance, and anxiety (1/20/23), schizophrenia (1/20/23), major depressive disorder (1/20/23), generalized anxiety disorder (4/28/23), psychotic disorder with delusions due to known physiological condition (5/31/23), and restlessness and agitation (5/31/23). Physician's orders included buspirone (antianxiety) 10 mg twice a day (started 8/13/24), lamotrigine (for schizophrenia) 25 mg twice a day (started 8/18/23), and olanzapine (antipsychotic) 15 mg twice a day (started 8/13/24). A care plan for physical behavior symptoms directed towards others, initiated on 5/11/23 and last revised on 8/8/24, indicated the resident exhibited physical behavioral symptoms directed towards others…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-10-03 · tag F0744 — failed to care for residents with dementia — isolatedProvide the appropriate treatment and services to a resident who displays or is diagnosed with dementia.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to develop and implement individualized interventions to reduce physical aggression toward a resident (Resident 29) by a resident with dementia (Resident 23). Findings include: During an observation, on 9/29/23 at 8:50 a.m., Resident 23 was sitting in a wheelchair in the lounge with six other residents. Her clinical record was reviewed on 9/29/23 at 2:06 p.m. Diagnoses included, dementia, unspecified severity, with agitation, anxiety, depression, and psychotic disorder with delusions due to known physiological condition. Current physician orders included Rexulti (anti-psychotic), 1 mg (milligram) tablet once a day, with an order date of 6/21/23, Remeron (antidepressant), 15 mg tablet once a day at bedtime, with an order date of 8/22/23, and Zoloft (antidepressant), 100 mg tablet, take one and one-half tablets to equal 150 mg once a day, with an order date of 8/22/23. A 7/15/23 quarterly MDS (Minimum Data Set) assessment indicated she had severe cognitive impairment. She required supervision with bed mobility and…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2023-10-03 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolatedEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to ensure medication was secured after medication administration for 1 of 4 residents observed during medication administration (Resident 11). Finding includes: During an observation, on 10/3/23 at 9:55 a.m., Resident 11 was given his medications crushed in pudding, followed by sips of nectar thick liquid containing polyethylene glycol (laxative). The resident became fatigued while swallowing his medications and LPN 51 placed the cup of the remaining liquid containing the polyethylene glycol on the resident's bedside table, left the room, and pushed the medication cart down the hallway. During an interview, at the time of the observation, LPN 51 indicated she was leaving the cup containing the liquid and polyethylene glycol for the CNAs (certified nurse aides) to help the resident to drink later. During an interview, on 10/3/23 at 1:50 p.m., the DON indicated LPN 51 should have taken the cup of liquid with medication with her when she left the room. A current facility policy, revised 4/2017, titled Medication…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-10-03 · tag F0883 — failed to offer flu and pneumonia vaccines — isolatedDevelop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure 1 of 7 residents reviewed for immunizations received a pneumococcal vaccination to remain up to date with pneumococcal vaccination (Resident 24). Finding includes: Resident 24's clinical record was reviewed on 9/29/23 at 3:40 p.m. His diagnoses included chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), atherosclerotic heart disease of the coronary artery, and chronic kidney disease. An Informed Consent for Pneumococcal Vaccine form was signed by the resident's legal representative on 1/25/22. An Immunization/Mantoux Record, provided by the Administrator on 10/2/23 at 3:44 p.m., indicated the resident had received the pneumococcal 13-valent conjugate vaccine on 3/25/22. The form lacked documentation of a refusal or a medical contraindication for an additional pneumococcal vaccination. During an interview, on 10/2/23 at 4:08 p.m., the Administrator indicated the immunization records had been removed from the paper charts. Medical records staff had…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
No federal fines in the current CMS record.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Share | Since |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| WITHAM MEMORIAL HOSPITAL | Organization | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 100% | since 12/01/2012 |
| BAYSTON, BRETT | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | — | since 01/01/2023 |
| BRAND, JOHN | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | — | since 01/01/2015 |
| CASTETTER, ANDREA | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | — | since 01/01/2023 |
| HAWKINS, CLAUDE | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | — | since 09/01/2013 |
| HORNBECKER, MICHAEL | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | — | since 01/01/2024 |
| REAGAN, JULIE | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | — | since 09/25/2024 |
| BRAVERMAN, KELLY | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | — | since 12/01/2021 |
| SELLERS, DANIEL | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | — | since 06/21/2024 |
| MAGNOLIA HEALTH MANAGEMENT I LLC | Organization | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | — | since 11/01/2012 |
| BOHANNON, JENNIFER | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 07/01/2025 |
| HAFIDH, SAAD | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 11/12/2025 |
| REED, STUART | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | — | since 11/01/2012 |
| BAILEY, PATRICIA | Individual | INDIVIDUAL IS AN OWNER, PARTNER OR TRUSTEE OF ANY ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 10/22/2025 |
| REED, MICHAEL | Individual | INDIVIDUAL IS AN OWNER, PARTNER OR TRUSTEE OF ANY ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 11/12/2025 |
| ALEXANDRIA REAL ESTATE HOLDINGS LLC | Organization | ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 02/26/2018 |
| MAGNOLIA HEALTH SYSTEMS INC | Organization | ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 11/01/2012 |
| WARD, JONATHAN | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 11/01/2011 |
CMS files one row per role, so the 20 rows in the source record cover these 18 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.
4 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.
Follow the money — this home’s finances
Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.
This home reported $1.1M paid to related parties — landlords or management companies under common ownership — equal to about 18% of its total expenses. Money routed to affiliated companies can leave a home’s own books looking lean while owners still profit; it is the mechanism regulators watch most closely in private-equity and REIT deals.
Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.
Cost & finances
Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.
What families pay in IN
This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Indiana Medicaid page.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 155521. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-08-15, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.