No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Timbercrest Church Of The Brethren Home

2201 East St, North Manchester, IN 46962 · Government - County · 65 certified beds · (260) 982-2118 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (260) 982-2118 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Behavioral-health or dementia-care citation — no harm found (F0758)
Insights

This home’s record is mixed — some reassuring signs, some worth asking about.

In its favor
  • a middle-of-the-pack inspection score (3/5)
  • no harm-level citations in the current inspection record
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
  • a high payroll-based staffing rating (5/5)
  • lower-than-typical staff turnover (25% vs 45% nationally) — better care continuity
Worth asking about
  • its payroll-based staffing score sits well above its independent inspection score

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

4/5
CMS overall
4 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 3 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 5 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 4 of 5

Worth a closer look. This home's staffing rating runs 2 stars above its independent health-inspection score. The inspection is done by state surveyors; the staffing score rests on the facility's own payroll (PBJ) submissions — so a gap this large is worth reading the inspection record for.

Location & what’s nearby

Urgent care / clinic
1104 N Wayne St · (260) 982-2102 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
302 E Main St · (260) 982-4713 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
1204 Indiana 114 · (260) 982-8577 · Call to confirm hours
Park
902 N Market St · (260) 982-4919 · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 4 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 4 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating fell from 5 to 4 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating4★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased24.5%11.0%15.4%worse
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight3.4%5.5%5.4%better
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder0.4%0.4%0.9%typical for the state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection0.9%1.1%2.0%better
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms2.8%25.2%6.5%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.0%0.1%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury2.2%3.9%3.3%better
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened22.4%11.9%16.1%worse
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication19.0%23.5%18.9%typical
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine96.7%95.4%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers3.3%3.6%4.7%better
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control27.6%23.3%21.2%worse
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table13.2%13.6%17.1%better
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication4.7%1.2%1.4%worse
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine78.3%79.0%79.4%typical
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days0.581.611.67better
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days2.661.441.80worse

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

56.2% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 42 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

56.2%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
11.2%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
0.15U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.07hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.06hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.01hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.15 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 12% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 23% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF56.2%CMS range 44.1–68.751.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF11.2%CMS range 7.6–18.610.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified85.0%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay0.0%0.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened0.0%1.9%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalizationnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs1.031.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

1.21
RN hours/ resident / day
0.29
LPN hours/ resident / day
3.11
Aide hours/ resident / day
4.62
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.98
RN hoursweekends
25.0%
Total nursing turnover
14.3%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 65 beds and averages 57.6 residents a day — about 89% occupied, or roughly 7 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 4.62 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 1.21 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 3.11 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 4.29 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 4.75 on weekdays — 10% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 1.31 to 0.98 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 25% is below the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

4
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2025-08-26)
4
at the previous standard inspection (2024-09-30)

Deficiencies are unchanged from the previous inspection. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

11 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.

  • Potential for harm · F2025-08-26 · tag F0802 — failed to prepare enough nourishing food — widespread
    Provide sufficient support personnel to safely and effectively carry out the functions of the food and nutrition service.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to ensure dietary employees were competent in both dishwasher and three compartment sink sanitation testing. This deficient practice had the potential to impact 60 of 60 residents who received meals prepared in the facility kitchen.Findings include:1.During an observation of dishwasher operations in the main kitchen, on 8/19/25 at 11:24 a.m., the following was observed:The dishwasher ran through the wash and rinse cycles three times. The temperature gauges did not fluctuate before, during, or after the cycles were completed. The Executive Chef indicated that she was unsure if the temperature gauges were working and she did not know if the dishwasher was a low or high temperature machine. She was unsure of the specifics of the dishwasher, including what the desired temperatures should be and what, if any, chemicals were used.2.During an observation of dishwasher operations in the main kitchen, on 8/20/25 at 10:15 a.m., the following was observed:The dishwasher ran through the wash and rinse cycles three times. The…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2025-08-26 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespread
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to ensure food was prepared and served in a safe and sanitary manner regarding food handling and hand hygiene. This deficient practice had the potential to impact 60 of 60 residents who received their meals from the kitchen.Findings include:During a continuous lunch service observation, on 8/22/25 from 12:12 p.m. to 1:05p.m., the following food handling and food service concerns were observed: After preparing meal trays, [NAME] 5 exited the kitchen, walked into the dining area, turned around, and approached the meal window where the prepared meal trays sat. He removed his gloves and placed the used gloves in his front right pant pocket. [NAME] 5 delivered three resident meal trays. [NAME] 5 re-entered the kitchen and applied a new pair of gloves without performing hand hygiene. DC 5 touched several dietary meal tickets that were placed on meal trays. After he reviewed the meal tickets, he picked up the telephone and made a call. Wearing the same gloves, DC 5 reached into a plastic bag and retrieved a hotdog bun.…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-08-26 · tag F0550 — failed to protect resident dignity and rights — isolated
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure residents received a dignified dining experience for 2 of 16 residents during random dining observations. (Residents 54 and 45)Findings include:1.Resident 54's clinical record was reviewed on 8/21/25 at 2:03 p.m. Diagnoses included unspecified dementia (severe, with psychotic disturbance), generalized anxiety disorder, insomnia, impulse disorder, chronic kidney disease, and benign prostatic hyperplasia (enlarged prostate).Current physician orders included buspirone 10 milligrams (mg) three times a day for anxiety, donepezil 10 mg once a day for dementia, sertraline 25 mg once a day for anxiety, and trazodone 50 mg at bedtime for insomnia. A quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment, dated 7/8/25, indicated Resident 54 was severely cognitively impaired, able to eat independently, and required substantial/maximal assistance for oral hygiene, toileting hygiene, showering/bathing, and dressing. A current care plan, initiated on 10/14/24 and revised on 8/21/25, indicated Resident 54 was at nutritional…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-08-26 · tag F0756 — failed to review each resident's drug regimen — isolated
    Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure the physician reviewed and addressed pharmacy recommendations in a timely manner for 1 of 5 residents reviewed for unnecessary medications (Resident 1). Finding includes:Resident 1's clinical record was reviewed on 8/21/25 at 12:26 p.m. Diagnoses included gastro-esophageal reflux disease (GERD) without esophagitis, folate deficiency, Vitamin D deficiency, constipation, chronic kidney disease, hypo-osmolality (lower-than-normal concentration of dissolved particles, such as sodium, in blood), hyponatremia (having too little sodium in the blood), and type 2 diabetes mellitus with polyneuropathy (damage to peripheral nerves). Current orders included famotidine 40 milligrams (mg) daily (7/25/24). Pharmacy recommendations on 11/11/24, 1/13/25, and 3/10/25, provided by the DON on 8/22/25 at 9:30 a.m., indicated the pharmacist indicated the resident received a proton pump inhibitor (PPI - treats disorders of the stomach), omeprazole 40 mg once daily, in addition to another gastroprotective therapy famotidine 40 mg once…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-09-30 · tag F0552 — isolated
    Ensure that residents are fully informed and understand their health status, care and treatments.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to follow an Indiana Physician Order for Scope of Treatment (POST) form indicating do not attempt resuscitation/DNR for a resident that received cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) for 1 of 3 residents reviewed for Advanced Directives. (Resident 61) Findings include: Resident 61's clinical record was reviewed on [DATE] at 11:49 a.m. Diagnoses included unspecified systolic (congestive) heart failure, obstructive sleep apnea, dysphagia, oropharyngeal phase, and other pneumonia, unspecified organism. Current orders indicated the resident was a full code, pending POST form completion, dated [DATE]. An Indiana Physician Order for Scope of Treatment (POST) form dated [DATE], and signed [DATE], indicated in section A that Resident 61 requested a do not attempt resuscitation (DNR) if he had no pulse and was not breathing. A progress note, dated [DATE] at 3:30 a.m., indicated resident had no pulse, was not breathing, and had no chest rising. Code status was…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-09-30 · tag F0578 — failed to honor advance directives / code status — isolated
    Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to allow a resident with the ability to make their own decisions to formulate an advance directive. (Resident 50) Findings include: On 9/26/24 at 8:55 a.m., Resident 50's clinical record was reviewed. Diagnoses included essential hypertension, heart failure, acute kidney failure, and Type 2 diabetes mellitus. A Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment, dated 6/30/24, did not include a BIMS (Brief Interview for Mental Status) assessment to evaluate cognition. On 6/27/24, Resident 50's family member signed a Do Not Resuscitate (DNR) form. A progress note, on 6/27/24 at 8:47 p.m., indicated Resident 50 was alert and oriented. A POST form (a physician's order for scope of treatment based on the resident's medical conditions and preferences),dated 7/5/24, indicated the resident had a DNR code status. During an interview with the Admissions Coordinator (AC) on 9/27/24 at 9:45 a.m., she indicated the resident's family member had completed the admission paperwork. At the time of admission, Resident 50 had come from the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-09-30 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolated
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation and interview, the facility failed to ensure medications stored in the medication carts were labeled with resident identifiers and directions for 2 of 3 medication carts reviewed. (Hall 100 Medication Cart and Hall 400 Medication Cart). Findings include: During an observation of the Hall 100 medication cart on 9/26/24 at 3:30 p.m., accompanied by QMA 6, the bottom drawer contained an unlabeled bottle of Vanadium Complex (a supplement used to support blood glucose levels), an unlabeled bottle of Stasis Liver Detox (a liver supplement), and an unlabeled bottle of Thytrophin PMG (a thyroid supplement). QMA 6 indicated all supplements belonged to one resident and each should have a label with resident identifiers. During an observation of the Hall 400 medication cart on 9/26/24 at 3:42 p.m., accompanied by QMA 8, an unlabeled bottle of acetaminophen 500 mg tablets and an unlabeled bottle of Juice Plus Fruit & Vegetable Blend supplement were in the cart. QMA 8 indicated both should be labeled. During an interview with RN 9 on 9/26/24 at 3:57 p.m., she indicated all…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-09-30 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to properly prevent and/or contain COVID-19 by not wearing appropriate personal protective equipment (PPE) in areas requiring transmission-based precautions (TBP) during random observations on the 300 Hall. Findings include: During a random observation, on 9/24/24 at 10:59 a.m., CNA 14 entered room [ROOM NUMBER] while wearing gloves, an N95 mask placed over a surgical mask, and a gown. No face shield and/or eye protection was worn before entering the resident's room. Signage on the door indicated the resident was in transmission-based precautions, and required a gown, gloves, N95 mask and a face shield/goggles before entering the room. During a random observation, on 9/24/24 at 11:05 a.m., CNA 14 was wearing a gown, gloves, and an N95 mask overtop of a surgical mask while entering room [ROOM NUMBER]. During an interview, on 9/24/24 at 12:12 p.m., CNA 14 indicated she only wore gloves, a gown, and placed an N95 mask over a surgical mask. No…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-03-14 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolated
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to follow physician orders to call the physician for low blood pressure readings for 1 of 3 residents reviewed at risk for falls. (Resident B) Findings include: Resident B's clinical record was reviewed on 3/13/24 at 10:35 a.m. Diagnoses included hypertension, amnesia (memory loss), unsteadiness on feet, muscle weakness, and other lack of coordination. Current physician orders included calling the physician when the resident's blood pressure was below 80/50 and with signs/symptoms of hypotension (low blood pressure). A progress note, dated 2/18/24 at 5:50 p.m., indicated the resident had a low blood pressure of 71/53 with symptoms including shortness of breath and lethargy (lack of energy/ motivation). He was reclined to 30 degrees in his recliner. The resident representative was notified and was to be called if he experienced further symptoms. A note was sent to the physician. A progress note, dated 2/24/24 at 10:33 a.m., indicated the resident had a low blood pressure of 77/47 with symptoms of shortness of breath. He was…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-03-14 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to provide supervision and implement personalized interventions to prevent falls for 1 of 3 residents reviewed for falls (Resident C). Findings include: During an observation, on 3/13/24 at 3:07 p.m., Resident C sat in a recliner in her room. She wore stockings, with her shoes laying beside her feet. During an observation, on 3/14/24 at 11:41 a.m., the resident was assisted out of her room in a wheelchair. The resident's clinical record was reviewed on 3/13/24 at 11:30 a.m. Diagnoses included heart failure, hypertension (high blood pressure), repeated falls, pain, disorientation, syncope (fainting) and collapse, difficulty in walking, generalized muscle weakness, history of falling, unsteadiness on feet, and fatigue. Current physician orders included diltiazem (for blood pressure) 240 mg extended release daily started 9/28/23, tramadol (opiate for pain) 50 mg three times a day started 12/29/23, and oxygen at 2-5 liters per minute per nasal cannula for dyspnea (difficulty breathing) started 11/27/23. A significant…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-08-14 · tag F0758 — failed to limit and justify psychotropic drugs — isolated
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure a resident did not receive psychotropic medications when continuation of the medication was not indicated for 1 of 5 residents reviewed for unnecessary medications (Resident 5). Findings include: During an observation on 8/7/23 at 10:25 a.m., Resident 5 was observed sleeping in a recliner near the nurses station. On 8/8/23 at 9:50 a.m., the resident was observed sleeping in his wheelchair sitting at the nurses station. On 8/8/2023 at 3:38 p.m., the resident was observed sleeping in a recliner near the nurses station. On 8/10/2023 at 11:00 a.m., the resident was observed to be sleeping intermittently during the resident council meeting. When awake, the resident appeared confused. On 8/10/23 at 4:08 p.m., the resident was asleep in the recliner near the nurses station. On 8/11/23 at 9:00 a.m., the resident was asleep in his wheelchair in the television room. Resident 5's clinical record was reviewed, on 8/9/2023 at 10:19 a.m., and indicated an active, 10/22/20, diagnosis of major depressive disorder,…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
WOODLAWN HOSPITALOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST100%since 07/01/2014
CHURCH OF THE BRETHREN HOME INCOrganization5% OR GREATER SECURITY INTEREST; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 07/01/2014
BODE, GLENIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; TRUSTEE OF THE SNFsince 12/09/2022
CHUDZYNSKI, KENDRAIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; TRUSTEE OF THE SNFsince 10/15/2024
FISHER, ALANIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; CORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 06/13/2022
HEYDE, ALISONIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; CORPORATE DIRECTORsince 09/01/2019
JOHNSON, TERRIIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; CORPORATE DIRECTOR; TRUSTEE OF THE SNFsince 06/13/2022
MELLINGER, GREGORYIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; CORPORATE DIRECTOR; TRUSTEE OF THE SNFsince 06/13/2022
MILLER, BRANDONIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; TRUSTEE OF THE SNFsince 04/07/2025
WEBB, HARRYIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; TRUSTEE OF THE SNFsince 10/15/2023
BAUMANN, JEFFIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 11/09/2019
BOYER, KEVINIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 11/09/2024
BRUBAKER, SALLYIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 11/12/2022
CHINWORTH, JAMESIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 11/12/2022
CULP, EUNICEIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 11/09/2019
EASTIS, TODDIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 11/12/2022
HAMMER, STEVEIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 11/13/2021
HIGGINS, PAMELAIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 05/01/1997
HOLLENBERG, REBECCAIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 11/09/2024
HUIRAS, CHRISTINEIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 06/01/2023
MERRYMAN, GEORGEIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 11/12/2022
SARBER, MEGANIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 11/12/2022
SMITH, BYRONIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 11/10/2018
THOMAS, SABINEIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 09/12/2018
TROYER, ANGELAIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 11/09/2024
WENGER, JOHNIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 11/11/2023
WYSONG, DAVIDIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 11/11/2023
FRIENDS SERVICES FOR THE AGINGOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 05/01/2018
HEALTHCARE THERAPY SERVICES INCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 08/18/2003

CMS files one row per role, so the 59 rows in the source record cover these 29 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.

4 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$11.0M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
-0.8%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 18%Medicare 2%Other / private 80%

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$243per resident / day
operating cost
$7,400per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$242per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in IN

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Indiana Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Indiana
$8,943/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$10,326/mo
Nursing home (private)
$5,639/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 155740. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-08-26, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next