No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Summit Health And Living

701 S Main St, Summitville, IN 46070 · Non profit - Corporation · 34 certified beds · (765) 203-2671 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (765) 203-2671 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Abuse/neglect citation on record (F0600) — cited Jan 2026Behavioral-health or dementia-care citation — no harm found (F0744)
Insights

This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.

In its favor
  • a strong health-inspection score (4/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
  • no harm-level citations in the current inspection record
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
  • fewer deficiencies at its most recent standard inspection than at the one before — a sign of improvement
Worth asking about
  • it has an abuse, neglect, or exploitation citation (F0600), cited Jan 2026
  • it has citations for its abuse-prevention policies, restraint use, or reporting and investigating of allegations (F0605, F0609) — cited below the harm level, meaning inspectors found the process wanting but did not find a resident harmed
  • its facility-reported quality-measure rating is low (2/5)

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

4/5
CMS overall
4 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 4 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 3 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 2 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
Pharmacy
105 N Park Ave · (765) 724-2210 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
1212 N Park Ave · (765) 724-9641 · Call to confirm hours
Park
129 N Harrison St · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 2 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 2 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating fell from 5 to 3 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating3★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased20.2%11.0%15.4%worse
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight3.8%5.5%5.4%better
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder0.0%0.4%0.9%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection2.7%1.1%2.0%worse
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms3.9%25.2%6.5%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.0%0.1%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury3.6%3.9%3.3%typical
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened24.0%11.9%16.1%worse
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication39.0%23.5%18.9%worse
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine96.4%95.4%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers2.2%3.6%4.7%better
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control20.4%23.3%21.2%typical
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table22.1%13.6%17.1%worse
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication0.0%1.2%1.4%better
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine35.7%79.0%79.4%worse

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

59.5% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 37 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

59.5%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
10.5%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
0.16U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.08hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.06hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.02hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.16 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 14% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 22% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF59.5%CMS range 45.4–74.851.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF10.5%CMS range 7.4–15.710.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identifiednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF staynot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsenednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization7.2%CMS range 3.6–13.07.1%Oct 2023–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs0.871.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.34
RN hours/ resident / day
1.26
LPN hours/ resident / day
3.25
Aide hours/ resident / day
4.85
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.41
RN hoursweekends
45.2%
Total nursing turnover
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 34 beds and averages 30.1 residents a day — about 89% occupied, or roughly 4 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 4.85 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.34 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 3.25 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 4.53 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 4.98 on weekdays — 9% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.31 to 0.41 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 45% is about the same as the national median of 45%. 1 administrator has left in the past year.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

1
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2026-05-07)
5
at the previous standard inspection (2025-06-27)

Deficiencies are fewer than at the previous inspection — improving. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

13 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.

  • Potential for harm · D2026-05-07 · tag F0605 — failed to not use drugs as a restraint — isolated
    Prevent the use of unnecessary psychotropic medications or use medications that may restrain a resident's ability to function.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure a resident did not receive an antipsychotic medication without indication when the facility failed to identify targeted behaviors and individualized interventions to support the use of an antipsychotic medication for 1 of 5 residents reviewed for unnecessary medications. (Resident 12)Findings include:During an interview with Resident 12's representative on 4/30/26 at 11:08 a.m., she indicated she felt Resident 12 received quetiapine (an antipsychotic) as a babysitter for the facility. The resident just sat around, and the representative felt like he got tired of doing nothing. During an observation on 4/30/26 at 12:24 p.m., staff assisted Resident 12 with lunch. His eyes were closed much of the time, and he would occasionally open them when staff said his name. During an observation on 5/1/26 at 10:49 a.m., Resident 12 sat near the nurse's station. He held a soft activity book with tactile sensory objects and ran his fingers over…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-01-14 · tag F0550 — failed to protect resident dignity and rights — isolated
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to protect a resident's right to make choices and to promote independent activities of daily living. (Resident B and CNA 1)Findings include:During an interview on 1/14/26 at 10:50 a.m., QMA 2 indicated on 12/29/25, CNA 1 asked the QMA for assistance showering Resident B. During the shower, CNA 1 was rude and demanding with the resident. CNA 1 moved the resident to the corner, away from the showerhead. During the shower, the resident reached for the showerhead. CNA 1 indicated to the resident that he (Resident B) was not allowed to have the showerhead, and staff were told he wasn't to have it. QMA 2 indicated she had never been told the resident could not have the showerhead, nor was it in his plan of care. The resident reached for the showerhead again. CNA 1 told the resident he was not allowed to have the showerhead, and they began a tug-of-war for the showerhead.During an interview on 1/14/26 at 12:44 p.m., Resident B indicated he was satisfied with his…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2026-01-14 · tag F0600 — failed to protect residents from abuse and neglect — isolated
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to protect a resident's right to be free from verbal abuse by a staff member (Resident B and CNA 1).Findings include:During an interview on 1/14/26 at 10:50 a.m., QMA 2 indicated, on 12/29/25, CNA 1 asked for assistance showering Resident B. During the shower, CNA 1 was rude and demanding with the resident. CNA 1 moved the resident to the corner of the shower, away from the showerhead. During the shower, the resident reached for the showerhead. CNA 1 told the resident he (Resident B) was not allowed to have the showerhead and staff had been told so. QMA 2 indicated she had never been told the resident could not have the showerhead. During the shower, the resident indicated they needed to urinate. When the resident was finished, they continued with the shower. CNA 1 threw a washcloth at the resident and told him to wash his junk. QMA 2 assisted the resident in cleaning his private area. The resident reached for the showerhead again. CNA 1 told the resident…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-01-14 · tag F0609 — failed to report abuse allegations — isolated
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure staff (QMA 2) intervened to protect a resident (Resident B), who was verbally abused by another staff member (CNA 1). The facility also failed to ensure staff reported the allegation of verbal abuse of a resident (Resident B) by another staff member (CNA 1) in a timely manner to the Administrator, resulting in the facility failing to report the suspicion/actual verbal abuse to the appropriate regulation agencies in a timely manner. Findings include:Resident B's clinical record was reviewed on 1/14/26 at 11:31 a.m. Diagnoses included vascular dementia without behavioral disturbance, anxiety, and cerebral infarction due to thrombosis of right posterior cerebral artery.The most current quarterly Minimal Data Set assessment (MDS), dated [DATE], indicated Resident B was moderately cognitively impaired. The resident had impaired function to the left side upper and lower extremities and dependent for toilet hygiene, shower/bathe, dressing of the lower…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-08-20 · tag F0600 — failed to protect residents from abuse and neglect — isolated
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to prevent the neglect of a dependent resident when CNA 1 did not implement the resident's care plan interventions nor follow manufacture's guidelines for the operation of a mechanical lift, resulting in a resident fall when the mechanical lift tipped over during a transfer for 1 of 3 residents reviewed for mobility transfers utilizing a mechanical lift. (Resident B)Findings include:Resident B's clinical record was reviewed on 8/20/25 at 10:10 a.m. Diagnoses included cerebral infarction, vascular dementia, hemiplegia and hemiparesis affecting left non-dominate side, type 2 diabetes, chronic kidney disease, hypertension, anticoagulant use, depressive disorder, and chronic pain syndrome. A current care plan, dated 1/18/21, indicated the resident had an activity of daily living deficit. Interventions included two staff member participation for mobility transfers. The most current quarterly MDS (Minimum Data Set) Assessment, dated 7/10/25, indicated the resident was dependent for transfers to and from a bed to a chair or…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2025-06-27 · tag F0576 — widespread
    Ensure residents have reasonable access to and privacy in their use of communication methods.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure mail was distributed on Saturdays. This deficiency had the potential to affect 32 of 32 residents who resided in the facility. Finding includes: During a Resident Council group interview, beginning on 6/25/25 at 9:40 AM, the Resident Council President indicated residents never got mail on Saturdays because no one worked in the facility's business office on Saturdays. Residents 16, 21, and 31 indicated they did not think they received mail on Saturdays, but were uncertain. During an interview, on 6/27/25 at 9:34 a.m., LPN 3 indicated she worked on the weekends, but she was uncertain if residents received mail on Saturdays. During an interview, on 6/27/25 at 2:13 p.m., the Administrator indicated the facility's mail was delivered to a post office box, and they did not pick up the facility's mail on Saturdays. She did not have anyone to get the mail on Saturdays, so mail was not delivered on Saturdays to the residents. According to the United States Post Office website, accessed on 6/27/25 at 4:39 p.m. at…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-06-27 · tag F0680 — isolated
    Ensure the activities program is directed by a qualified professional.
    What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing

    Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure the activity director completed the required education to meet the qualifications for an activity director. Finding includes: Employee records were reviewed on 6/26/25 at 3:30 p.m. The records lacked documentation of the required training for the Activity Director (AD). During an interview on 6/27/25 at 4:53 p.m., the Administrator indicated that the AD began her position approximately 90 days ago. The AD was not currently certified and was registered for an Activity Director course with a requested date of 7/7/25. Confirmation of the training had not yet been received. The Activity Director consulted with other AD's at sister facilities by zoom meetings or by going to their facilities. There had not been any activities onsite supervision since the previous AD, who departed early April 2025. 3.1 -33(e)

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-06-27 · tag F0686 — failed to prevent and treat pressure sores (bedsores) — isolated
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to implement interventions to promote the healing of a pressure injury for 1 of 3 residents reviewed for pressure injuries. (Resident 29) Finding includes: During an observation, on 6/24/25 at 11:28 a.m., Resident 29 sat in his recliner with his feet elevated and wore socks and shoes. He did not wear heel protection boots. During an observation, on 6/25/25 at 9:21 a.m., the resident sat in his recliner with his feet elevated. He did not wear heel protection boots. During an observation, on 6/25/25 at 11:19 a.m., Resident 29 sat in his recliner with his feet elevated. His feet were off the edge of the recliner with the backs of his heels touching the edge of the recliner. He did not wear heel protection boots. During an observation, on 6/25/25 at 4:26 p.m., the resident lay in his bed with his feet covered. His legs and ankles were bare. He did not wear heel protection boots. During an observation, on 6/26/25 at 9:14 a.m., Resident 29 lay in bed with socks on, and his heels were lying on the bed. He did not wear…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-06-27 · tag F0726 — failed to have competent, trained nursing staff — isolated
    Ensure that nurses and nurse aides have the appropriate competencies to care for every resident in a way that maximizes each resident's well being.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to ensure nursing staff had competencies for the administration of medications, flushes, and feedings though a gastrostomy tube (feeding tube) for 1 of 6 residents reviewed for medication administration. (Resident 1) Finding includes: During an observation on 6/26/25 at 8:13 p.m., RN 13 performed hand hygiene, then crushed a phenobarbital (for seizures) 60 milligram (mg) tab and placed in approximately 10 milliliters (mg) of water in medication cup, poured out 7.5 ml of levetiracetam (for seizures) solution 100 mg/ml in a medication cup, and opened a 30 ml packet of ProStat (supplement) and placed in a cup and added 120 ml water. Upon entering Resident 1's room, she raised the head of the bed up. She washed her hands, applied gloves, drew up the phenobarbital/water mix in the syringe, attached the syringe to the gastrostomy tube (g-tube), used the syringe plunger and pushed the medication through the g-tube. She drew up water in the syringe, attached the syringe to the g-tube, pushed the syringe plunger to…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-06-27 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY A. Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure enhanced barrier precautions (EBP) were followed during wound care for 1 of 2 resident reviewed for wound care. (Resident 29) B. Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to utilize infection control and prevention strategies during handwashing with g-tube medication and feeding administration, hand hygiene with glove use, and insulin administration. Findings include: A. Resident 29's clinical record was reviewed on 6/26/25 at 10:43 a.m. Diagnoses included heart failure, peripheral vascular disease, presence of aortocoronary bypass graft, type 2 diabetes mellitus without complications, and muscle weakness. Current orders included the following: Clean left heel with normal saline. Apply nickel thick layer of Santyl (medication for removal of dead tissue of wound) to wound bed. Cover with saline moistened gauze and foam dressing daily and as needed for soilage/displacement. During an observation, on…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-09-09 · tag F0578 — failed to honor advance directives / code status — isolated
    Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure the resident's advance directives were completed by the resident with decisional capacity for 1 of 16 residents reviewed for advance directives. (Resident 4) Finding includes: Resident 4's clinical record was reviewed on [DATE] at 9:04 a.m. Diagnoses included atherosclerotic heart disease of native coronary artery without angina pectoris (thickening and hardening of the artery without chest pain) and paroxysmal atrial fibrillation (irregular heartbeat that lasts a short time and usually returns to normal). Current physician's orders included no CPR (cardiopulmonary resuscitation), dated [DATE]. An Indiana Physician Orders for Scope of Treatment (POST) form was completed on [DATE]. In the instructions, the form indicated if the patient lacked decisional capacity, the legal representative or a proxy may complete the POST on behalf of the patient. Section E indicated in order for the POST form to be effective the patient, legally appointed…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-09-09 · tag F0744 — failed to care for residents with dementia — isolated
    Provide the appropriate treatment and services to a resident who displays or is diagnosed with dementia.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to ensure a resident was not started on a routine antipsychotic medication without indication for 1 of 5 residents reviewed for dementia care (Resident 82). Finding includes: During an observation, on 9/4/24 at 11:00, Resident 82 sat in a wheelchair in his room while his representative shaved him. He kept his eyes closed throughout the procedure and had to be roused for questions. During an observation, on 9/5/24 at 1:18 p.m., the resident sat outside the facility in a wheelchair with a visitor sitting at his side. During an observation, on 9/9/24 at 8:34 a.m., the resident sat in a wheelchair in his room and spoke about his wife. During an observation, on 9/9/24 at 1:54 p.m., the resident propelled himself in a wheelchair down the hallway using the siderails to pull himself and smiled as other residents, staff, and visitors talked to him. Resident 82's clinical record was reviewed on 9/6/24 at 8:23 a.m. He was admitted on [DATE]. Diagnoses…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-09-09 · tag F0883 — failed to offer flu and pneumonia vaccines — isolated
    Develop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview and record review, facility failed to ensure residents received offered vaccinations available for 1 of 5 residents reviewed for immunizations (Resident 8). Findings include: Resident 8's clinical record was reviewed on 9/6/24 at 9:24 a.m. Diagnoses included dementia without behavioral disturbance, psychotic disturbance, anxiety, post- traumatic stress disorder, major depressive disorder and pneumonia. Resident 8 had received pneumococcal polysaccharide vaccine (PPSV) 23 on 7/12/16, and pneumococcal conjugate vaccine (PCV) 13 on 7/16/15. CDC recommendations indicated to give one dose of PCV 20 at least 5 years after the last pneumococcal vaccine dose. Resident 8 was educated on PCV 20 and consented for the vaccine on 5/18/24. A written interdisciplinary team (IDT) note on the vaccination consent form, dated 5/19/24, received from the DON on 9/9/24 at 10:00 a.m., indicated the resident was currently ill and he had a past reaction to the vaccine. At this time, Prevnar 20 was not required, and they would reassess in the future. During an interview, on 9/9/24 at 11:51…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
PUTNAM COUNTY HOSPITALOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTNO PERCENTAGE PROVIDEDsince 10/01/2018
CHATHAM, STEPHENIndividual5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFNO PERCENTAGE PROVIDEDsince 07/20/2011
STAR FINANCIAL BANKOrganization5% OR GREATER MORTGAGE INTERESTsince 12/02/2021
BRAY, ARNOLDIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; TRUSTEE OF THE SNFsince 09/01/2012
FRY, JANICEIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; TRUSTEE OF THE SNFsince 09/01/2012
HEADLEY, MATTHEWIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; TRUSTEE OF THE SNFsince 09/01/2012
LANDRY, KEITHIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; TRUSTEE OF THE SNFsince 09/01/2020
LEWIS, KATRINAIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; TRUSTEE OF THE SNFsince 12/21/2022
UNDERWOOD, WENDELLIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; TRUSTEE OF THE SNFsince 05/20/2024
WEATHERFORD, DENNISIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 09/18/2012
WOOD, MARKIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; TRUSTEE OF THE SNFsince 08/05/2024
SILLERY, DEBRAIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR; TRUSTEE OF THE SNFsince 01/03/2026
COMMUNITY LTC INCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 10/01/2018
HEALTH MANAGEMENT ADVISORS INCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 10/01/2018
PROACTIVE MEDICAL REVIEW AND CONSULTANTS LLCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 10/01/2023
AIMAN, BRANDONIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 10/01/2018
BAKER, TINAIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 05/31/2024
BALL, MICHELLEIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 10/21/2019
BECKLEY, CANDICEIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 04/15/2019
BODKINS, JESSICAIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 10/10/2022
CHATHAM, BARRYIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 10/01/2023
CHATHAM, BRIANIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 10/01/2023
COLLINS, JENNIFERIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 10/01/2018
COOK, BRODYIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 10/01/2018
CRUM, BETTYIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 05/31/2024
DOUGLAS, BRITTANYIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 01/06/2025
FIELDS, AMYIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 09/27/2021
FLOWERS, JENNIFERIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 05/06/2026
GAINES-ANDREWS, RENEEIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 10/01/2018
GATEWOOD, STEVENIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 05/31/2024
GRAVES, NATALIEIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 10/01/2018
GREEN, AMANDAIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 10/01/2018
GRISSOM, KATIEIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 10/01/2018
GUILL, CINDYIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 11/07/2022
HARRIS, JOHNIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 10/01/2018
HATIMI, TABASSUMIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 10/01/2018
KENDALL, ANGELAIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 10/01/2018
KEY, ANASTASIAIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; INDIVIDUAL IS AN OWNER, PARTNER OR TRUSTEE OF ANY ADP OF THE SNFsince 04/17/2023
MARTIN, ARNIEIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 10/01/2023
MATTINGLY, SHEENAIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 10/01/2018
MESALAM, AMYIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 01/31/2025
MULLANIX, APRILIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 06/30/2021
MURRAY, CASSANDRAIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 10/01/2018
PRATT, STACEYIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 08/25/2024
ROBINSON, KERRYIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 10/01/2018
SALYERS, JACINNAIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 10/01/2018
SCOTT, MORGANIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 10/01/2018
SIPES, PAMELAIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 10/01/2018
SMITH, DIANAIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 10/01/2018
SPARKS, MEGANIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 02/27/2024
STANDIFER, LEVEDAIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 10/01/2018
STEVENS, PENNYIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 03/01/2019
WALBRIDGE, TIMOTHYIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2024
YOST, SHAWNIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 12/28/2021
ALTEA MEDICAL INDIANA PCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 06/21/2024
LAMEY, NYOKAIndividualADP OF THE SNFsince 06/21/2024
MILLER, BRYONIndividualADP OF THE SNFsince 06/21/2024

CMS files one row per role, so the 82 rows in the source record cover these 57 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.

6 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$3.7M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
+0.7%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
$69K
Related-party expense2% of expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 0%Medicare 8%Other / private 92%

This home reported $69K paid to related parties (affiliated landlords or management companies) in its most recent cost report.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$354per resident / day
operating cost
$10,777per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$357per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in IN

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Indiana Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Indiana
$8,943/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$10,326/mo
Nursing home (private)
$5,639/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 155839. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2026-05-07, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next