Hill Top House
505 W Elm, Bucklin, KS 67834 · Government - Hospital district · 29 certified beds · (620) 826-3202 Medicare & Medicaid certified
The public record raises real questions here. Weigh the concerns below carefully.
- a middle-of-the-pack inspection score (3/5)
- no federal fines or payment denials on record
- a high payroll-based staffing rating (5/5)
- lower-than-typical staff turnover (29% vs 45% nationally) — better care continuity
- it has 1 actual-harm citation
- a high number of inspection citations overall (15) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
- its payroll- and facility-reported staffing and quality-measure scores sit well above its independent inspection score
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 3 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 5 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 5 of 5 |
Worth a closer look. This home's staffing and quality-measure ratings run 2 stars above its independent health-inspection score. The inspection is done by state surveyors; the quality-measure score leans on data the facility reports about itself, and staffing on its payroll (PBJ) submissions — so a gap this large is worth reading the inspection record for.
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 5 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 5 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating improved from 4 to 5 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 7.2% | 17.9% | 15.4% | better |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 1.4% | 4.9% | 5.4% | better |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 0.7% | 1.6% | 0.9% | better |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 0.0% | 2.9% | 2.0% | better |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 1.3% | 6.5% | 6.5% | better |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.1% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 1.2% | 4.3% | 3.3% | better |
| Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened | 8.6% | 16.2% | 16.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 14.5% | 23.2% | 18.9% | better |
| Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 100.0% | 95.5% | 95.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 4.7% | 4.4% | 4.7% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 20.7% | 22.6% | 21.2% | typical |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 17.6% | 18.1% | 17.1% | typical |
| Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days | 0.91 | 1.80 | 1.67 | better |
| Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days | 2.17 | 2.13 | 1.80 | worse |
‡ On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.06 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 3% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.
Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 1% of this home’s weekday level — it runs therapy on weekdays, with essentially none at the weekend. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | not reported — Newly certified nursing home with less than 12-15 months of data available or the nursing home opened less than 6 months ago, and there were no data to submit or claims for this measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | 1.08 | 1.02 | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 29 beds and averages 23.4 residents a day — about 81% occupied, or roughly 6 beds typically open. It usually has some room. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 4.38 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 1.06 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 3.10 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 4.18 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 4.46 on weekdays — 6% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 1.16 to 0.80 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 29% is below the national median of 45%.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
15 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.
- Actual harm · G2023-02-15 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolatedEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY - Observation on 02/14/23 at 09:12 AM revealed Licensed Nurse (LN) G, Certified Medication Aide (CMA) M and Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) N in the resident's room to provide R 12 morning cares CMA M raised the head of the bed and CNA N assisted her to pivot transfer from the bed. The resident's brief was wet and removed and staff sat the resident on the bedside commode. LN G held the back of the commode. Observation of the commode revealed the leg to the back rest of the commode. LN G held the back so it did not wobble or collapse while the resident used it. The back bar of the commode also had an area of rust approximately 4 inches long across the bar. On 02/14/23 at 09:15 AM, LN G stated she noticed commode lacked a wingnut the day before. LN G stated she reported the broken commode to Maintenance Staff U. LN G was unaware how long it had been broken. On 02/15/23 at 10:00 AM, Maintenance Staff U reported no one notified him of the condition of the commode. On 02/15/23 at 10:40 AM, Maintenance Staff U…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · F2024-11-20 · tag F0726 — failed to have competent, trained nursing staff — widespreadEnsure that nurses and nurse aides have the appropriate competencies to care for every resident in a way that maximizes each resident's well being.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
The facility had a census of 21 residents. The sample included 12 residents and five nurse aides. Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to ensure three of the five staff members reviewed possessed the knowledge, skills, and competencies required for resident care needs. This placed the residents at risk of impaired care. Findings included: - Review of the training records and skills check for Certified Nurse Aide (CNA) O, P, and Q lacked evidence of the facility's procedure checklist related to the direct care of the residents. On 11/20/24 at 10:33 AM, Administrative Nurse D stated the facility had conducted a skills check-off the previous summer for the nursing staff, and not all employees attended. Administrative Nurse D stated the facility had not rescheduled or completed any further competencies for staff who did not attend. The facility's undated Required Training of Nurse Aides documented the facility would ensure that nurse aides demonstrate competency in skills and techniques necessary to care for residents as identified through resident…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · F2024-11-20 · tag F0851 — widespreadElectronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
The facility had a census of 21 residents. Based on record review and interview the facility failed to submit complete and accurate staffing information through Payroll Based Journal (PBJ) as required. This deficient practice placed the residents at risk for unidentified and ongoing inadequate nurse staffing. Findings included: - The PBJ report provided by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Service (CMS) for Fiscal Year (YR) 2023 Quarter (Q) 4 indicated the facility did not have licensed nurse coverage 24 hours a day, seven days a week on multiple days (five). A review of the facility's licensed nurse timesheet data for the dates listed on the PBJ revealed a licensed nurse was on duty 24 hours a day seven days a week. On 11/18/24 at 12:26 PM, Administrative Staff A reported the discrepancy may be related to the submission of licensed nurse break hours and this had been adjusted to capture all the hours licensed nurses worked. Administrative Staff D stated the facility had nurse coverage 24 hours a day. The facility's undated Mandatory Submission of Uniform Format Staffing…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · F2024-11-20 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — widespreadProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
The facility had a census of 21 residents. Based on interviews and record review, the facility failed to implement a water management plan to mitigate risks for Legionella (a bacterium spread through the mist, such as from air-conditioning units for large buildings. Adults over the age of 50 and people with weak immune systems, chronic lung disease, or heavy tobacco use are most at risk of developing pneumonia caused by Legionella). The facility failed to maintain an antibiotic tracking system and did not review its infection control policies annually. This deficient practice placed the 21 residents of the facility at risk for infection. Findings included: - The facility printed out a log that included resident names, locations, and prescriptions. The prescriptions were dated from 9/30/22 to 10/02/24. The log revealed eight prescriptions for antibiotics in 2024 but indicated the infection being treated was unknown. The log lacked documentation of onset, symptoms, or cultures. The facility's Infection Control policy was last reviewed on 07/01/21 and the facility's Vaccine policy was…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-11-20 · tag F0655 — isolatedCreate and put into place a plan for meeting the resident's most immediate needs within 48 hours of being admitted
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility had a census of 21 residents. The sample included 12 residents. Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to develop a baseline care plan within 48 hours of admission for Resident (R) 123. This placed the resident at risk for impaired care due to unidentified or uncommunicated care needs. Findings included: - R123's Electronic Medical Record (EMR) recorded diagnoses of diabetes mellitus (DM-when the body cannot use glucose, not enough insulin is made, or the body cannot respond to the insulin), urinary incontinence, hypertension (high blood pressure), gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD-backflow of stomach contents to the esophagus), nutritional deficiencies, anxiety (mental or emotional reaction characterized by apprehension, uncertainty, and irrational fear), depression (a mood disorder that causes a persistent feeling of sadness and loss of interest), irritable bowel syndrome (IBS- abnormally increased motility of the small and large intestines), a history of…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-11-20 · tag F0758 — failed to limit and justify psychotropic drugs — isolatedImplement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility had a census of 21 residents. The sample included 12 residents with five reviewed for unnecessary drugs. Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to obtain a stop date from the physician for the use of as-needed (PRN) lorazepam (antianxiety medication) for Resident (R) 9. This placed the resident at risk for complications related to psychotropic (alters mood or thought) medications and unnecessary medication. Findings included: - R9's Electronic Medical Record (EMR) documented diagnoses of Alzheimer's disease (progressive mental deterioration characterized by confusion and memory failure), anxiety (mental or emotional reaction characterized by apprehension, uncertainty, and irrational fear), insomnia (inability to sleep), and dementia (a progressive mental disorder characterized by failing memory and confusion) with agitation (feeling of aggravation or restlessness brought on by a provocation or a medical condition). The Significant Change Minimum Data Set (MDS), dated…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-11-20 · tag F0849 — isolatedArrange for the provision of hospice services or assist the resident in transferring to a facility that will arrange for the provision of hospice services.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility had a census of 21 residents. The sample included 12 residents with two reviewed for hospice services. Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to ensure a communication process and collaboration between the hospice provider and the facility for Resident (R) 9 and R17 to coordinate hospice services provided including visit frequency and assessment, medications, and medical equipment. This placed the residents at risk of impaired end-of-life care. Findings included: - R9's Electronic Medical Record (EMR) documented diagnoses of Alzheimer's disease (progressive mental deterioration characterized by confusion and memory failure), anxiety (mental or emotional reaction characterized by apprehension, uncertainty, and irrational fear), insomnia (inability to sleep), and dementia (a progressive mental disorder characterized by failing memory and confusion) with agitation (feeling of aggravation or restlessness brought on by a provocation or a medical condition). The Significant…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-02-15 · tag F0657 — failed to keep the care plan current — isolatedDevelop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility reported a census of 24 residents with 12 sampled. Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to review and revise the care plans for one Resident (R)17, regarding new interventions to prevent falls. Findings included: - Review of R17's diagnoses from the Electronic Health Record (EHR) documented repeated falls, weakness, amnesia (a dramatic form of memory loss) and Alzheimer's disease (a progressive dementia - loss of cognitive function such as thinking, remembering and reasoning). Review of R17's annual Minimum Data Set (MDS), dated [DATE], documented a brief interview for mental status (BIMS) of 12, indicating moderately impaired cognition. R17 required extensive assistance of two or more staff with transfers. Review of the Falls Care Area Assessment (CAA) dated 01/02/23, revealed that the resident was at increased risk for falls and injury due to impaired cognition, pain and numbness/weakness to all extremities. The care plan, dated, 02/11/22 revealed: A non-injury fall on…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · F2021-08-02 · tag F0838 — failed to assess facility resources and resident needs — widespreadConduct and document a facility-wide assessment to determine what resources are necessary to care for residents competently during both day-to-day operations (including nights and weekends) and emergencies.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
The facility reported a census of 26 residents. Based on interview and record review the facility failed to address staffing in the Facility Assessment to document resources required to provide necessary care to the residents in regard to staffing across all shifts. This failure had the ability to affect all resident care in the facility. Findings included: - Review of the undated Facility Assessment documented no determination of facility staffing. Interview with Administrative Staff A on 08/02/21 at 01:10 PM revealed the facility assessment did not have a breakdown of how staffing was determined. Administrative Staff A stated she had not completed the facility assessment since last year. Interview with Administrative Nurse B on 08/02/21 at 01:55PM revealed she made the schedule for the nursing staff and the facility determined staffing based on the acuity of the residents. Review of the undated Facility Assessment Policy stated the facility assessment was the foundation to determine staffing levels and competencies to include an evaluation of the overall number of facility staff…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2021-08-02 · tag F0585 — failed to handle grievances — patternHonor the resident's right to voice grievances without discrimination or reprisal and the facility must establish a grievance policy and make prompt efforts to resolve grievances.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
The facility reported a census of 26 residents. Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to provide the residents with a way to file a grievances anonymously. Findings included: - During the initial tour of the facility on 07/27/21 at 10:00 AM, there were no grievance forms or a way to submit those forms anonymously noted in the facility. On 07/28/21 at 02:01 PM, Resident (R) 14 stated they did not have forms to fill out for a grievance during the resident council meeting. On 07/28/21 at 02:21 PM, Activity Staff D stated they did not have forms to fill out for grievances, that the residents would tell the staff what the issue was and that the residents could call the Ombudsman with any concerns. On 08/02/21 at 12:12 PM, Activity staff D stated she had not developed a procedure for residents to file an anonymous grievance. On 08/02/21 at 05:00 PM, Administrative Staff A stated she did not know they needed an anonymous way to file a grievance. Review of the facility's undated Complaints or Grievances policy documented that each resident may voice…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2021-08-02 · tag F0550 — failed to protect resident dignity and rights — isolatedHonor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility reported a census of 26 residents, with 12 sampled, including one for dignity. Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to provide quality dignified care for Resident (R) 25 by allowing his fingernails to be overgrown with a dark substance under them after he requested staff trim them. Findings include: - Review of R25's Signed Physician Orders dated 06/15/21 documented the following diagnoses: diabetes mellitus without complications (when the body cannot use glucose, not enough insulin made, or the body cannot respond to the insulin) and major depressive disorder (major mood disorder). Review of the admission Minimal Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE] documented a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of five, indicating severely impaired cognition. R25 required the assistance of one staff member for personal hygiene. Review of the ADL Function/ Rehabilitation Potential Care Area Assessment (CAA) dated 07/06/21 documented staff will care plan to maintain the current…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2021-08-02 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolatedDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility reported a census of 26 residents, with 12 included in the sample, including one for respiratory care. Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to develop and implement a comprehensive person-centered care plan for Resident (R) 12 which included oxygen use and care. Findings Include: - Review of R12's Electronic Health Record (EHR) dated 06/11/21 documented the following diagnoses: schizophrenia (a psychotic disorder characterized by gross distortion of reality, disturbances of language and communication, and fragmentation of thought), chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD, a progressive and irreversible condition characterized by diminished lung capacity and difficulty or discomfort in breathing), COVID-19, shortness of breath (SOB), and localized edema (swelling resulting from an excessive accumulation of fluid in the body tissues). Review of the Significant Change Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE] documented a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) of 14,…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2021-08-02 · tag F0661 — isolatedEnsure necessary information is communicated to the resident, and receiving health care provider at the time of a planned discharge.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility reported a census of 26 residents, with 12 sampled, including one for discharge to the community. Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to complete a discharge summary to include the recapitulation of Resident (R) 28's stay. Findings included: - A review of the Minimum Data Set (MDS) documented R28 admitted on [DATE] and discharged on 06/18/21, with no MDS completed. Review of the Electronic Health Records (EHR) Physician Orders documented an order to discharge to Home Care and to follow up with the provider in one week dated 06/18/21. Continued review of the EHR revealed no discharge papers, including a recapitulation of stay, located within R28's record. Interview with Social Services Director (SSD) D on 07/29/21 at 08:20AM stated she did not complete a recapitulation of the stay and that it was the nurses' responsibility to do this. Interview with Administrative Nurse B on 08/02/21 at 11:54 AM confirmed the facility lacked a completed recapitulation of R28's stay. Review of…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2021-08-02 · tag F0695 — failed to provide proper breathing / tracheostomy care — isolatedProvide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility reported a census of 26 residents, with 12 sampled, including one for respiratory care. Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to provide respiratory care consistent with professional standards of practice for Resident (R) 12. - Findings Include: Review of Resident (R) 12's Electronic Health Record (EHR) dated 06/11/21 documented the following diagnoses: Schizophrenia (a psychotic disorder characterized by gross distortion of reality, disturbances of language and communication, and fragmentation of thought), Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD) - (a progressive and irreversible condition characterized by diminished lung capacity and difficulty or discomfort in breathing), COVID 19, shortness of breath (SOB), and localized edema (swelling resulting from an excessive accumulation of fluid in the body tissues). Review of the Significant Change Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE] documented a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) of 14, indicating intact…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- No harm found · C2021-08-02 · tag F0882 — widespreadDesignate a qualified infection preventionist to be responsible for the infection prevent and control program in the nursing home.
What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing
The facility reported a census of 26 residents. Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure the staff person designated as the Infection Preventionist (IP) who was responsible for the facility's Infection Prevention and Control Program (IPCP) completed the specialized training in infection prevention and control. Findings included: - On 08/02/21 at 02:30 PM, Administrative Nurse B revealed that she was responsible for the Infection Prevention and Control Program (IPCP), and she lacked certification as an Infection Preventionist (IP). Furthermore, she revealed the facility lacked a certified IP. Review of the undated Job Description-Infection Preventionist documented that the person in this role was to possess current, specialized training and certification in Infection Control (CIC) in an approved course. The facility failed to ensure the person designated as the IP completed the required certification.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
No federal fines in the current CMS record.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Share | Since |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BUCKLIN DISTRICT HOSPITAL | Organization | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 100% | since 06/01/1966 |
| HOKANSON, STEPHEN | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR; TRUSTEE OF THE SNF; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 01/01/2017 |
| IMEL, CYNTHIA | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR; TRUSTEE OF THE SNF; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 04/25/2011 |
| SCOTT, MELANIE | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR; TRUSTEE OF THE SNF; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 04/22/2002 |
| FARMER, FREDRICK | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 01/01/2024 |
| KREGAR, JUDITH | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 12/21/1991 |
CMS files one row per role, so the 14 rows in the source record cover these 6 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.
1 organizational owner listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.
Follow the money — this home’s finances
Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.
A reported operating loss is common in this industry and is not by itself a sign of trouble — but paired with large related-party payments it can mean profit is being taken elsewhere in the ownership structure.
Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.
Cost & finances
Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.
What families pay in KS
This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Kansas Medicaid page.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 175500. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2024-11-20, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.