Buhler Sunshine Home
400 S Buhler Road, Buhler, KS 67522 · Non profit - Church related · 55 certified beds · (620) 543-2251 Medicare & Medicaid certified
This home’s record is mixed — some reassuring signs, some worth asking about.
- a strong health-inspection score (4/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
- no federal fines or payment denials on record
- a high payroll-based staffing rating (4/5)
- lower-than-typical staff turnover (33% vs 45% nationally) — better care continuity
- a high number of inspection citations overall (15) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
- its facility-reported quality-measure rating is low (2/5)
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 4 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 4 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 2 of 5 |
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 2 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 2 of 5 |
| Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital | 3 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating held steady at 4 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 20.6% | 17.9% | 15.4% | worse |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 3.1% | 4.9% | 5.4% | better |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 2.4% | 1.6% | 0.9% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 3.1% | 2.9% | 2.0% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 8.2% | 6.5% | 6.5% | worse |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.1% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 8.7% | 4.3% | 3.3% | worse |
| Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened | 8.2% | 16.2% | 16.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 19.0% | 23.2% | 18.9% | typical |
| Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 100.0% | 95.5% | 95.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 6.5% | 4.4% | 4.7% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 23.4% | 22.6% | 21.2% | worse |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 14.3% | 18.1% | 17.1% | better |
| Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication | 0.0% | 1.9% | 1.4% | better |
| Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission | 26.9% | 22.4% | 22.6% | worse |
| Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit | 21.8% | 11.5% | 12.0% | worse |
| Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days | 2.81 | 1.80 | 1.67 | worse |
| Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days | 1.87 | 2.13 | 1.80 | typical |
‡ On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
54.5% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 47 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.
Met the expected recovery: 55.9% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 34 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.
Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.33 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 55% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.
Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 23% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | 54.5%CMS range 42.9–65.2 | 51.5% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | 11.9%CMS range 7.4–16.7 | 10.7% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | 55.9% | 56.6% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | 44.1% | 52.8% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | 61.8% | 50.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | 85.7% | 98.7% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | 0.0% | 0.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | 2.4% | 1.9% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | 7.5%CMS range 4.4–14.4 | 7.1% | Oct 2023–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | 0.95 | 1.02 | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 55 beds and averages 46.2 residents a day — about 84% occupied, or roughly 9 beds typically open. It usually has some room. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 5.22 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.31 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 4.27 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 4.89 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 5.36 on weekdays — 9% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.34 to 0.23 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 33% is below the national median of 45%. 1 administrator has left in the past year.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
15 citations, most serious first. The 10 most serious are shown; the remaining 5 are one tap away and print in full.
- Potential for harm · F2025-02-13 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — widespreadProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
The facility had a census of 50 residents. Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to implement a water management program for Legionella disease (Legionella is a bacterium spread through mist, such as air-conditioning units in large buildings. Adults over the age of 50 and people with weak immune systems, chronic lung disease, or heavy tobacco use are most at risk of developing pneumonia caused by legionella). This deficient practice placed the residents at risk of contracting infectious processes. Findings included: - On 02/13/25 at 10:17 AM, Maintenance Staff U stated he was not aware of whom managed the waterborne pathogen prevention program that included the prevention of Legionella disease. On 02/13/25 at 10:43 AM, Administrative Staff A reported he was not aware of further monitoring programs for Legionella disease. Administrative Staff A stated the facility had not mapped the water system for possible dead-end water sources. Upon request, the facility failed to provide a waterborne pathogen policy. The facility failed to implement a water…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-02-13 · tag F0580 — failed to tell family and doctor about changes — isolatedImmediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility had a census of 50 residents. The sample included 13 residents. Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to notify the physician of episodes of syncope (fainting or passing out) and lightheadedness of one resident, Resident (R) 32. This placed the resident at risk for further decline and a delay in treatment. Findings included: - The Electronic Medical Record (EMR) documented R32 had diagnoses of Alzheimer's disease (progressive mental deterioration characterized by confusion and memory failure), anxiety (mental or emotional reaction characterized by apprehension, uncertainty, and irrational fear), diabetes mellitus (DM - when the body cannot use glucose, not enough insulin is made, or the body cannot respond to the insulin) type two, and arteriosclerotic heart disease (buildup of plaque in the arteries [blood vessels that carry blood away from the heart]). The Significant Change Minimum Data Set (MDS), dated [DATE], documented R32 had intact cognition. R32 was…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-02-13 · tag F0657 — failed to keep the care plan current — isolatedDevelop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility had a census of 50 residents. The sample included 13 residents. Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to revise a care plan with direction to staff for interventions when one resident has periods of syncope and lightheadedness, Resident (R) 32. This placed the resident at risk for decline. Findings included: - The Electronic Medical Record (EMR) documented R32 had diagnoses of Alzheimer's disease (progressive mental deterioration characterized by confusion and memory failure), anxiety (mental or emotional reaction characterized by apprehension, uncertainty, and irrational fear), diabetes mellitus (DM - when the body cannot use glucose, not enough insulin is made, or the body cannot respond to the insulin) type two, and arteriosclerotic heart disease (buildup of plaque in the arteries [blood vessels that carry blood away from the heart]). The Significant Change Minimum Data Set (MDS), dated [DATE], documented R32 had intact cognition. R32 was dependent upon staff for…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-02-13 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolatedEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility had a census of 50 residents. The sample included 13 residents, with eight reviewed for falls. Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to evaluate the effectiveness of fall interventions and change or modify the ineffective interventions at preventing falls for Resident (R) 16. This placed the resident at risk for further falls and injury. Findings included: - The Electronic Medical Record (EMR) for R16 documented diagnoses of dementia (a progressive mental disorder characterized by failing memory and confusion), hypertension (high blood pressure), anxiety (mental or emotional reaction characterized by apprehension, uncertainty, and irrational fear), arteriosclerotic heart disease (buildup of plaque in the arteries [blood vessels that carry blood away from the heart]), and edema (swelling resulting from an excessive accumulation of fluid in the body tissues). The Quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS), dated [DATE], documented R16's moderately impaired cognition. R16…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-02-13 · tag F0756 — failed to review each resident's drug regimen — isolatedEnsure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility had a census of 50 residents. The sample included 13 residents, with five reviewed for unnecessary medication. Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility's pharmacist consultant failed to request an approved indication for the use of Seroquel (an antipsychotic -class of medications used to treat psychosis and other mental-emotional conditions), and the required physician-written clinical rationale for the continued use of Seroquel for Resident (R) 18. This deficient practice placed R18 at risk of receiving unnecessary antipsychotic drugs. Findings included: - R18's Electronic Medical Record (EMR) documented a diagnosis of Alzheimer's disease (progressive mental deterioration characterized by confusion and memory failure) with late-onset. The Quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS), dated [DATE], documented a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of 99, short and long-term memory loss with severely impaired cognition. The MDS documented R18 was dependent on staff for all…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-02-13 · tag F0758 — failed to limit and justify psychotropic drugs — isolatedImplement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility had a census of 50 residents. The sample included 13 residents, with five reviewed for unnecessary medication. Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to obtain an approved indication for use for Seroquel (antipsychotic -class of medications used to treat psychosis and other mental emotional conditions), and the required physician-written clinical rationale for why any attempted dose reeducation would be likely to impair the resident's function or cause psychiatric instability for Resident (R) 18. This deficient practice placed R18 at risk of receiving unnecessary antipsychotic drugs. Findings included: - R18's Electronic Medical Record (EMR) documented a diagnosis of Alzheimer's disease (progressive mental deterioration characterized by confusion and memory failure) with late-onset. The Quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS), dated [DATE], documented a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of 99, short and long-term memory loss with severely impaired cognition. The…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-02-13 · tag F0760 — failed to prevent significant medication errors — isolatedEnsure that residents are free from significant medication errors.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility had a census of 50 residents. The sample included 13 residents. Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to administer the correct physician-ordered dose of Ativan (antianxiety drug - a class of medications that calm and relax people) at the scheduled time for Resident (R) 20, placing R20 at risk for adverse effects resulting from the incorrect dose. Findings included: - R20's Electronic Medical Record (EMR) documented diagnoses of dementia (a progressive mental disorder characterized by failing memory, and confusion) and anxiety disorder (mental or emotional reaction characterized by apprehension, uncertainty, and irrational fear). The Quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS), dated [DATE], documented a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of 00, indicating severe cognitive impairment. The MDS documented R20 required supervision to maximum staff assistance with activities of daily living and received antianxiety medication. R20's Care Plan, dated 02/11/25, directed…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Fcited before2023-04-19 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespreadProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
The facility reported a census of 45 residents. The facility had one main kitchen. The kitchen served food to two dining areas. Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to properly store food in the main kitchen refrigerators due to foods left uncovered, boxes placed directly on the floor in the kitchen area, and staff failed to discard expired foods in accordance with professional standards for food service safety, to prevent food borne illness to the residents. Findings included: - During the brief initial tour of the kitchen, on 04/17/23 at 08:27 AM, observation revealed the following concerns: 1. The walk-in refrigerator had six 16-ounce (oz) containers of grated parmesan cheese with a use by date of 04/07/23. 2. The kitchen had approximately four various food boxes stored directly on the floor with 14 boxes stacked on top of those boxes. 3. The refrigerator had an undated box of lettuce, open to air and wilted. 4. The kitchen had five cutting boards with scratches that covered most of the surface of each of them (making them uncleanable). 5. The…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-04-19 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolatedDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility had a census of 45 residents with 12 included in the sample. Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to develop a comprehensive care plan for one Resident (R) 10 of the 12 sampled residents, related to comfort care status. Findings included: - Resident (R) 10's signed physician orders dated 04/06/23, included the following diagnoses: dementia (progressive mental disorder characterized by failing memory, confusion), chronic kidney disease (inability of the kidneys to excrete wastes, concentrate urine and conserve electrolytes), hypertension (elevated blood pressure), history of alcohol dependence, major depressive disorder (abnormal emotional state characterized by exaggerated feelings of sadness, worthlessness and emptiness) and anxiety (mental or emotional reaction characterized by apprehension, uncertainty and irrational fear). The Quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE] revealed the resident required supervision with daily cares including personal hygiene. No…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2023-04-19 · tag F0657 — failed to keep the care plan current — isolatedDevelop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
The facility reported a census of 45 residents, with 12 sampled, including four residents sampled for activities of daily living (ADL). Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to review and revise the care plan for Resident (R) 29 regarding shower preferences. Findings included: - The 09/29/22 Electronic Health Record (EHR) documented R29 had the following diagnoses of Alzheimer's (progressive mental deterioration characterized by confusion and memory failure) and anxiety (mental or emotional reaction characterized by apprehension, uncertainty, and irrational fear). The 09/28/22 admission Minimum Data Set (MDS) documented a brief interview for mental status (BIMS) of six, indicating severely impaired cognition. R29 was independent with set up assistance of one staff for all ADL, and no bathing occurred in the seven-day look-back period. The 09/28/22 ADL Functional/Rehabilitation Potential Care Area Assessment (CAA) documented R29 was independent with ADL. The 03/31/23 Care Plan documented R29 preferred early morning showers twice weekly, R29 required…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
Show the remaining 5 citations
- Potential for harm · D2023-04-19 · tag F0677 — failed to help fully-dependent residents with daily care — isolatedProvide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
The facility reported a census of 45 residents, with 12 sampled, including four residents sampled for activities of daily living (ADL). Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to provide care consistent with standard of practice for Resident (R) 29 to maintain good grooming and personal hygiene related to showers and facial hair removal. Findings included: - The 09/29/22 Electronic Health Record (EHR) documented R29 had the following diagnoses of Alzheimer's (progressive mental deterioration characterized by confusion and memory failure) and anxiety (mental or emotional reaction characterized by apprehension, uncertainty, and irrational fear). The 09/28/22 admission Minimum Data Set (MDS) documented a brief interview for mental status (BIMS) of six, indicating severely impaired cognition. R29 was independent with set up assistance of one staff for all ADL. The 09/28/22 ADL Functional/Rehabilitation Potential Care Area Assessment (CAA) documented R29 was independent with ADL, and that bathing did not occur. The 3/17/23 Quarterly MDS documented R29…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-04-19 · tag F0690 — failed to manage incontinence, catheters, and urinary infections — isolatedProvide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility census totaled 45 residents with 12 included in the sample, with one resident sampled for catheter care. Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to provide necessary services to decrease the risk of a urinary tract infection by the failure to ensure the catheter tubing remained below the level of the bladder for one resident. Resident (R) 6. Findings included: - Resident (R) 6's signed physician orders dated 04/06/23 revealed the following diagnoses: traumatic subdural hemorrhage (collection of blood on the surface of the brain) without loss of consciousness, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease- COPD (progressive and irreversible condition characterized by diminished lung capacity and difficulty or discomfort in breathing), type 2 diabetes mellitus (when the body cannot use glucose, not enough insulin is made or the body cannot respond to the insulin) benign prostatic hyperplasia with lower urinary tract symptoms (non-cancerous enlargement of the prostate which can…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Fcited before2021-10-21 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespreadProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
The facility reported a census of 45 residents. The facility had one main kitchen where food was stored and prepared serving two dining rooms. Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to properly store food in a snack fridge due to lack of temperature monitoring and failed to ensure the dishes and cookware were washed under sanitary conditions, due to the lack of chemical or temperature monitoring. Findings included: - Observation on 10/18/21 at 11:39 AM revealed no temperature or chemical log available for the dishwasher in the Memory Care Unit (MCU). Interview on 10/18/21 at 11:39 AM CMA J stated the staff in the MCU washed their own dishes with a dishwasher which used chemicals and were metered in by the machine. The dishwasher light indicated when it was hot and ready to wash. She did not know of temperature monitoring or testing required for chemical strength. CMA J stated the maintenance staff came in periodically and checked the dishwashing machine. Interview on 10/19/21 at 08:07 AM Maintenance Staff (MS) E stated the dishwasher in the MCU was…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2021-10-21 · tag F0657 — failed to keep the care plan current — isolatedDevelop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility census totaled 45 residents, with 12 included in the sample. Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to revise the care plan for Resident (R)24 related to the use of oxygen (O2). Findings included: - R24's Electronic Health Record (EHR) revealed the following diagnoses: dyspnea (difficulty breathing), pulmonary fibrosis (a lung disease that occurs when lung tissue becomes damaged and scarred), and bronchiectasis (a condition in which the lungs' airways become damaged, making it hard to clear mucus.) The admission Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE] revealed a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score 15, which indicated intact cognition. R24 was not on O2 therapy. The Quarterly MDS dated 09/14/21 revealed a BIMS 15, which indicated intact cognition and R24 received O2 therapy. The Pressure Ulcer/Injury Care Area Assessment (CAA) dated 01/20/21 revealed R24 denied being short of air at rest or with exertion. R24 had crackles in the bilateral lower lobes of her…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2021-10-21 · tag F0695 — failed to provide proper breathing / tracheostomy care — isolatedProvide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility census totaled 45 residents, with 12 included in the sample, and one resident reviewed for oxygen (O2) use. Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to provide necessary respiratory care and/or services consistent with professional standards of practice when they failed to change, and date disposable O2 equipment for Resident (R)24. Findings included: - R24's Electronic Health Record (EHR) revealed the following diagnoses: dyspnea (difficulty breathing), pulmonary fibrosis (a lung disease that occurs when lung tissue becomes damaged and scarred), and bronchiectasis (a condition in which the lungs' airways become damaged, making it hard to clear mucus.) The admission Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE] revealed a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score 15, which indicated intact cognition. R24 was not on O2 therapy. The Quarterly MDS dated 09/14/21 revealed a BIMS 15, which indicated intact cognition and R24 received O2 therapy. The Pressure Ulcer/Injury Care Area…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
No federal fines in the current CMS record.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Since |
|---|---|---|---|
| PANKRATZ, KEITH | Individual | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE; CORPORATE DIRECTOR | since 11/27/1989 |
| SPENCER, NATHAN | Individual | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE; CORPORATE DIRECTOR; CORPORATE OFFICER; ADP OF THE SNF | since 01/01/2023 |
| FRAZIER, MARY | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | since 04/01/2008 |
| HART, GERI | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | since 01/01/2016 |
| HUNT, SARA | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | since 04/01/2021 |
| JANTZ, MARY | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | since 05/02/2006 |
| KAUFMAN, CAMERON | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | since 05/02/2006 |
| MARTENS, LOUIS | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | since 04/01/2013 |
| SCHWABAUER, BETH | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | since 04/01/2021 |
| SMITH, CHARLOTTE | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | since 04/01/2013 |
| BERGER, EDWARD | Individual | TRUSTEE OF THE SNF | since 09/15/2021 |
CMS files one row per role, so the 15 rows in the source record cover these 11 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted. The source lists no ownership percentage for any of them — PECOS records a share only for equity interests, not for board or management roles.
Follow the money — this home’s finances
Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.
A reported operating loss is common in this industry and is not by itself a sign of trouble — but paired with large related-party payments it can mean profit is being taken elsewhere in the ownership structure.
Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.
Cost & finances
Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.
What families pay in KS
This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Kansas Medicaid page.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 175404. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-02-13, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.