Citizens Medical Center Ltcu
1625 S Franklin Avenue, Colby, KS 67701 · Non profit - Corporation · 60 certified beds · (785) 462-8295 Medicare & Medicaid certified
The public record raises real questions here. Weigh the concerns below carefully.
- a strong health-inspection score (4/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
- a high payroll-based staffing rating (5/5)
- it has a citation for its abuse-prevention policies, restraint use, or reporting and investigating of allegations (F0609) — cited below the harm level, meaning inspectors found the process wanting but did not find a resident harmed
- it has 1 actual-harm citation
- inspectors recorded 1 serious finding as past non-compliance — the problem was found, fixed, and verified before the survey closed, so it is history rather than a current condition, but it is still worth asking what changed
- a high number of inspection citations overall (17) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
- the CMS record shows $17,124 in federal fines (most recent 2024-06-05)
- its last standard health inspection was over 2 years ago — the star rating may not reflect current conditions
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 4 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 5 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 4 of 5 |
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 4 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 4 of 5 |
| Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital | 5 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating held steady at 4 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 27.1% | 17.9% | 15.4% | worse |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 1.9% | 4.9% | 5.4% | better |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 0.5% | 1.6% | 0.9% | better |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 0.6% | 2.9% | 2.0% | better |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 16.5% | 6.5% | 6.5% | worse |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.1% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 3.0% | 4.3% | 3.3% | better |
| Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened | 21.5% | 16.2% | 16.1% | worse |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 54.9% | 23.2% | 18.9% | worse |
| Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 100.0% | 95.5% | 95.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 8.8% | 4.4% | 4.7% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 25.0% | 22.6% | 21.2% | worse |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 6.3% | 18.1% | 17.1% | better |
| Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication | 0.0% | 1.9% | 1.4% | better |
| Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days | 1.05 | 1.80 | 1.67 | better |
| Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days | 1.50 | 2.13 | 1.80 | better |
‡ On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
Met the expected recovery: 45.8% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 24 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.
Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.18 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 17% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.
Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 0% of this home’s weekday level — it runs therapy on weekdays, with essentially none at the weekend. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | 10.0%CMS range 5.9–16.6 | 10.7% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | 45.8% | 56.6% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | 33.3% | 52.8% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | 45.8% | 50.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | 80.7% | 98.7% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | not reported — Newly certified nursing home with less than 12-15 months of data available or the nursing home opened less than 6 months ago, and there were no data to submit or claims for this measure. | — | ||
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | 0.0% | 0.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | 3.2% | 1.9% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | 1.00 | 1.02 | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 60 beds and averages 43.1 residents a day — about 72% occupied, or roughly 17 beds typically open. It usually has some room. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 4.07 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 1.24 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.68 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.37 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 4.35 on weekdays — 22% thinner on weekends — a notable drop. RN hours go from 1.38 to 0.88 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 47% is about the same as the national median of 45%.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
This trend is not current. The most recent of these two inspections was over 2 years ago; the arrow describes what inspectors found then, not what the home is like now.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
17 citations, most serious first. The 12 most serious are shown; the remaining 5 are one tap away and print in full.
- Immediate jeopardy · J2024-06-05 · tag F0695 — failed to provide proper breathing / tracheostomy care — isolatedProvide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
The facility identified a census of 44 residents with three residents reviewed for neglect. Based on record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to ensure Resident (R) 1 who had a history of respiratory failure and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD- a progressive and irreversible condition characterized by diminished lung capacity and difficulty or discomfort in breathing) received the required respiratory services. On 05/21/24 at 09:58 AM Certified Nurse Aide (CNA) M failed to provide R1's continuous oxygen at 4 Liters (L) per minute for forty-five minutes, while staff provided R1 a bath. At 10:45 AM CNA M assisted R1 back to his wheelchair after bathing and dressing him; when R1 sat down he became unresponsive. Certified Medication Aide (CMA) R entered the bathhouse and noted R1 had no color and was struggling to breathe. Licensed Nurse (LN) G then entered the bathhouse and noted R1 with his head back and was extremely pale. LN H entered the bathhouse and saw R1's eyes rolled into the back of his head, greyish skin color, and no respirations. The staff…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Actual harm · G2022-10-13 · tag F0692 — failed to prevent malnutrition and dehydration — isolatedProvide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility had a census of 48 residents. The sample included 13 residents, with three reviewed for nutrition. Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to identify weight loss and involve the Registered Dietician (RD) for weight loss interventions to address the significant unplanned weight loss for one sampled resident, Residents (R) 20. The facility further failed to monitor nutritional supplement intake for R20 after the significant loss to evaluate the effectiveness of the intervention. R20 had a significant unplanned weight loss of 14.06 percent (%) in three months and remained at risk for further loss and impaired nutrition. Findings included: - The Physician Order Sheet, dated 10/03/22, recorded R20 had diagnoses of dementia (persistent mental disorder marked by memory loss and impaired reasoning), Parkinson's disease (a progressive disease of the nervous system marked by tremors, muscular rigidity, and involuntary movements), macular degeneration (eye disease that cause…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-08-07 · tag F0657 — failed to keep the care plan current — isolatedDevelop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility has a census of 43 residents. The sample included 12 residents, with three reviewed for skin conditions, not pressure-related. Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to revise the care plan for Resident (R) 3 to include the use of protective sleeves to prevent skin injury. This placed the resident at risk for further skin injury due to uncommunicated care needs. Findings included: - The Electronic Medical Record (EMR) for R3 documented diagnoses of vascular dementia (a progressive mental disorder characterized by failing memory and confusion caused by a decreased blood flow to the brain), hypertensive heart disease (complications of high blood pressure that affect the heart), chronic kidney disease (longstanding disease of the kidneys leading to renal failure), psychotic disorder with hallucinations (a mental health condition that causes people to lose touch with reality), and atrial fibrillation (rapid, irregular heartbeat). The Quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS),…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-08-07 · tag F0661 — isolatedEnsure necessary information is communicated to the resident, and receiving health care provider at the time of a planned discharge.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility had a census of 43 residents. The sample included 12 residents with one resident reviewed for discharge. Based on record review and interview the facility failed to complete a recapitulation (a concise summary of stay and course of treatment in the facility) of Resident (R) 45's stay in the facility. This placed the resident at risk of unmet care needs. Findings included: - The Electronic Medical Record (EMR), documented R45 admitted to the facility on [DATE] and documented diagnoses of Parkinson's disease (slowly progressive neurologic disorder characterized by resting tremors, rolling of the fingers, masklike faces, shuffling gait, muscle rigidity and weakness) with dyskinesia (inability to execute voluntary movements), unsteadiness on feet, weakness, urine retention, dementia (progressive mental disorder characterized by failing memory, confusion), altered mental status, depression (a mood disorder that causes a persistent feeling of sadness and loss of interest), acute cystitis (type of urinary…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-08-07 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolatedProvide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility had a census of 43 residents. The sample included 12 residents, with three reviewed for skin conditions, not pressure-related. Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to ensure Resident (R) 3, who received anticoagulant (medication that inhibits the coagulation of blood), received the care as required to prevent skin injuries including Dermasaver sleeves (protects fragile skin prone to skin tears and bruises) and sheepskin surface padding. This placed R3 at risk for further skin injury. Findings included: - The Electronic Medical Record (EMR) for R3 documented diagnoses of vascular dementia (a progressive mental disorder characterized by failing memory and confusion caused by a decreased blood flow to the brain), hypertensive heart disease (complications of high blood pressure that affect the heart), chronic kidney disease (longstanding disease of the kidneys leading to renal failure), psychotic disorder with hallucinations (a mental health condition that causes…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-08-07 · tag F0686 — failed to prevent and treat pressure sores (bedsores) — isolatedProvide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility had a census of 43 residents. The sample included 12 residents with two residents sampled for pressure ulcers (localized injury to the skin and/or underlying tissue usually over a bony prominence, as a result of pressure, or pressure in combination with shear and/or friction). Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility staff failed to implement interventions to prevent development and promote healing of pressure ulcers for Resident (R)26, who had a Stage 4 pressure ulcer (a deep pressure wound that reaches the muscles, ligaments, or even bone) when staff did not reposition R26 per the plan of care. This placed R26 at risk for the development of new pressure injuries or delayed healing of the existing pressure ulcer. Findings included: - R26's Electronic Medical Record (EMR) documented R26 had a diagnosis of Stage 4 pressure ulcer of the sacral (large triangular bone/area between the two hip bones) region. R26's Quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS), dated [DATE], documented R26 had…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-08-07 · tag F0756 — failed to review each resident's drug regimen — isolatedEnsure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility had a census of 43 residents. The sample included 12 residents with five reviewed for unnecessary drugs. Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to ensure the Consultant Pharmacist identified and reported to facility administration the lack of a documented physician rationale which included the multiple unsuccessful attempts for nonpharmacological symptom management and risk versus benefits for the continued use of an antipsychotic (class of medications used to treat mental disorder characterized by gross impairment in reality testing) and/or for not attempting a gradual dose reduction (GDR) for psychotropic (alters mood or thought) medications and that staff had not administered the physician ordered as needed (PRN) blood pressure medication when the blood pressure was out of parameters, placing R7 at risk for further issues related to uncontrolled blood pressures and for receiving unnecessary psychotropic medications. Findings included: - R7's Electronic Medical…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-08-07 · tag F0757 — failed to avoid unnecessary drugs — isolatedEnsure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility had a census of 43 residents. The sample included 12 residents with five reviewed for unnecessary drugs. Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to administer two blood pressure medications based on the blood pressure monitoring per the physician's orders for Resident (R) 7. This placed the resident at risk for unnecessary medication resulting from abnormal blood pressure. Findings included: - R7's Electronic Medical Record (EMR) documented diagnoses of orthostatic hypotension (blood pressure dropping with change of position) and hypertension (high blood pressure). The Quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS), dated [DATE], documented a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of 11, indicating moderately impaired cognition. The MDS documented R7 was independent with eating and required supervision for upper body dressing, moderate staff assistance for transfers, walking, and donning footwear. R7 required maximum staff assistance for lower body dressing, toileting, and…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-08-07 · tag F0758 — failed to limit and justify psychotropic drugs — isolatedImplement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility had a census of 43 residents. The sample included 12 residents with five reviewed for unnecessary drugs. Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to obtain a written risk versus benefit rationale from the physician for the continued use of four psychotropic (alters mood or thought) drugs for Resident (R) 7. This placed R7 at risk for unnecessary psychotropic medications and related side effects. Findings included: - R7's Electronic Medical Record (EMR) documented diagnoses of Parkinson's disease (a slowly progressive neurologic disorder characterized by resting tremor, rolling of the fingers, masklike faces, shuffling gait, muscle rigidity, and weakness), anxiety disorder (mental health disorder characterized by feelings of worry, anxiety, or fear that are strong enough to interfere with one's daily activities), recurrent major depressive disorder (mental health disorder characterized by persistently depressed mood or loss of interest in activities, causing significant…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2022-10-13 · tag F0550 — failed to protect resident dignity and rights — isolatedHonor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility had a census of 48 residents. The sample included 13 residents, with two reviewed for urinary catheters (tube inserted into the bladder to drain urine into a collection bag). Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to cover the urinary catheter bag for one sampled resident, Resident (R) 45. This placed the resident at risk for impaired dignity and respect. Findings included: - The Physician Order Sheet, dated 10/02/22, recorded R45 had diagnoses of diabetes mellitus (the body cannot use glucose, not enough insulin produced, or the body does not respond to the insulin), neurogenic bladder (dysfunction of the urinary bladder caused by a lesion of the nervous system), and a history Urinary Tract Infections (UTI). The Quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS), dated [DATE], recorded R45 had a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of 15 (cognitively intact) with no behaviors. The MDS recorded R45 required extensive staff assistance with transfers, had a urinary catheter,…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2022-10-13 · tag F0609 — failed to report abuse allegations — isolatedTimely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility had a census of 48 residents. The sample included 13 residents. Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility staff failed to report Resident (R) 35 and R32's allegations of abuse to facility administration as required. This deficient practice placed R35, and R32 at risk of ongoing abuse. Findings included: -The Medical Diagnosis section of R35's Electronic Medical Record (EMR) included diagnoses of compression fracture of second lumbar vertebra (broken bone in the middle of the back), dementia with behavioral disturbance (group of thinking and social symptoms which interferes with daily functioning), anxiety disorder (mental or emotional reaction characterized by apprehension, uncertainty and irrational fear),and hypertension (the force of the blood flow against the artery walls is too high). The Quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS), dated [DATE], documented R35 had severely impaired cognition. Required extensive assistance from staff for bed mobility, transfers and used a walker or…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2022-10-13 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolatedProvide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility had a census of 48 residents. The sample included 13 residents. Based on observation, record review and interview the facility failed to provide the necessary cares and services to ensure appropriate wheelchair posture and positioning for one sampled resident, Resident (R) 34. This placed the resident at risk for pain and skin breakdown. Findings included: - The Physician Order Sheet, dated 10/03/22, recorded R34 had diagnoses of advanced dementia (persistent mental disorder marked by memory loss and impaired reasoning), Alzheimer's disease (progressive disease that destroys memory and other important mental functions), and severe muscle weakness. The admission Minimum Data Set (MDS), dated [DATE], recorded R34 had a severe cognitive impairment with short- and long-term memory problems. The MDS recorded R34 required extensive staff assistance with all activities of daily living (ADLs), had impaired balance, limited range of motion in all extremities and used a wheelchair for mobility. The ADL Care…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
Show the remaining 5 citations
- Potential for harm · D2022-10-13 · tag F0690 — failed to manage incontinence, catheters, and urinary infections — isolatedProvide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility had a census of 48 residents. The sample included 13 residents, with two reviewed for urinary catheters (tube inserted into the bladder to drain urine into a collection bag). Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to maintain catheter tubing in a sanitary manner when the catheter tubing touched the floor for one sample resident, Resident (R) 45. This placed the resident at risk for urinary tract infections (UTIs). Findings included: - The Physician Order Sheet, dated 10/02/22, recorded R45 had diagnoses of diabetes mellitus (the body cannot use glucose, not enough insulin produced, or the body does not respond to the insulin), neurogenic bladder (dysfunction of the urinary bladder caused by a lesion of the nervous system), and a history UTIs The Quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS), dated [DATE], recorded R45 had a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of 15 (cognitively intact) with no behaviors. The MDS recorded R45 required extensive staff assistance with…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2021-08-19 · tag F0582 — isolatedGive residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
The facility had a census of 45 residents. The sample included 12 residents, with three reviewed for Beneficiary Notices. Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to provide two of three sampled residents, Resident (R) 20 and R26 (or their representative) the completed Notice of Medicare Non-Coverage Form (NOMNC) 10123 Centers for Medicare and Medicare Services (CMS), and one of the sampled residents, R27 (or their representative) the completed Skilled Nursing Facility Advanced Beneficiary Notice of Non Coverage Form (SNF ABN) 10055 form. Findings included: - Medicare Form 10123 informed the beneficiary that Medicare may not pay for future skilled therapy. The form included options for the beneficiary to receive specific services listed, and bill Medicare for a decision on payment. Medicare Form 10055 informed the beneficiary that Medicare may not pay for skilled therapy services and provided a cost estimate for continued services. It explained: (1) if Medicare does not pay, the resident would be responsible for payment, but can make an appeal to Medicare, (2)…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2021-08-19 · tag F0657 — failed to keep the care plan current — isolatedDevelop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility had a census of 45 residents. The sample included 12 residents. Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to update, and revise the care plan for one of six residents reviewed for behavioral emotional status, Resident (R) 39. Findings included: - The Annual Minimum Data Set (MDS), dated [DATE], documented the resident had moderately impaired cognition. The MDS documented the resident with a mood score of 17, indicating moderately severe depression and wandering behaviors. The Mood Care Area Assessment (CAA), dated 07/11/21, documented the resident had a diagnosis of dementia with behavioral disturbances (progressive mental disorder characterized by failing memory, confusion, with increased agitation). The Psychotropic Drug Use CAA, dated 07/11/21, documented the resident received antipsychotic medications (class of medications used to treat any major mental disorder characterized by a gross impairment in reality testing and other mental emotional conditions) routinely.…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2021-08-19 · tag F0756 — failed to review each resident's drug regimen — isolatedEnsure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility had a census of 45 residents. The sample included 12 residents, with five reviewed for unnecessary medications. Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility's Consultant Pharmacist failed to identify and report to the Director of Nursing, facility medical director, and physician, an inappropriate diagnosis for the use of an antipsychotic medication (class of medications used to treat any major mental disorder characterized by a gross impairment in reality testing and other mental emotional conditions) for one of five sampled residents, Resident (R) 39. Findings included: - The Annual Minimum Data Set (MDS), dated [DATE], documented the resident had moderately impaired cognition. The MDS documented the resident with a mood score of 17, indicating moderately severe depression, and wandering behaviors. The Mood Care Area Assessment (CAA), dated 07/11/21, documented the resident had a diagnosis of dementia with behavioral disturbances (progressive mental disorder characterized by…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2021-08-19 · tag F0758 — failed to limit and justify psychotropic drugs — isolatedImplement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility had a census of 45 residents. The sample included 12 residents, with five reviewed for unnecessary medications. Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to identify an inappropriate diagnosis for the use of an antipsychotic medication (class of medications used to treat any major mental disorder characterized by a gross impairment in reality testing and other mental emotional conditions) for one of five sampled residents, Resident (R) 39. Findings included: - The Annual Minimum Data Set (MDS), dated [DATE], documented the resident had moderately impaired cognition. The MDS documented the resident with a mood score of 17, indicating moderately severe depression, and wandering behaviors. The Mood Care Area Assessment (CAA), dated 07/11/21, documented the resident had a diagnosis of dementia with behavioral disturbances (progressive mental disorder characterized by failing memory, confusion, with increased agitation). The Psychotropic Drug Use CAA, dated 07/11/21,…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
$17,124 in federal fines across 1 penalty.
- $17,124 — penalty dated 2024-06-05
Dates are the dates CMS records the penalty, not the date of the conduct behind it. CMS publishes penalties on a rolling window, so this is what is currently on the public file — not the home’s lifetime history, and an older fine may attach to a problem that has since been corrected. The amounts are as imposed: the CMS file does not record whether a penalty was appealed, reduced, or paid, so we don’t say. Ask the home what each one was for and what changed since.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Since |
|---|---|---|---|
| DIXON, HEATHER | Individual | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE | since 12/09/2013 |
| MCCORKLE, DAVID | Individual | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE; CORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | since 03/31/2022 |
| STOVER, PHILIP | Individual | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE; CORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | since 06/10/2019 |
| CITIZENS MEDICAL CENTER INC | Organization | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | since 02/16/2015 |
CMS files one row per role, so the 8 rows in the source record cover these 4 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted. The source lists no ownership percentage for any of them — PECOS records a share only for equity interests, not for board or management roles.
1 organizational owner listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.
What families pay in KS
This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Kansas Medicaid page.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 175554. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2024-08-07, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.