No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Pine Village

86 Twenty-Second Avenue, Moundridge, KS 67107 · Non profit - Corporation · 74 certified beds · (620) 345-2901 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (620) 345-2901 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Behavioral-health or dementia-care citation — no harm found (F0758)
Insights

This home’s record is mixed — some reassuring signs, some worth asking about.

In its favor
  • a strong health-inspection score (4/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
  • no harm-level citations in the current inspection record
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
  • a high payroll-based staffing rating (4/5)
Worth asking about
  • its facility-reported quality-measure rating is low (1/5)

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

3/5
CMS overall
3 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 4 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 4 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 1 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
110 E Smith St · (620) 327-2314 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
200 E Pack St · (620) 345-8650 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
101 S Avenue A · (620) 345-8313 · Call to confirm hours
Park
E Hirschler St · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship
719 S Christian Ave · (620) 345-2546

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 1 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 2 of 5
Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital 1 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating fell from 5 to 2 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating2★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased36.7%17.9%15.4%worse
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight1.4%4.9%5.4%better
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder0.4%1.6%0.9%better
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection4.1%2.9%2.0%worse
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms4.0%6.5%6.5%better
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.0%0.1%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury9.5%4.3%3.3%worse
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened22.4%16.2%16.1%worse
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication11.3%23.2%18.9%better
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine100.0%95.5%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers2.3%4.4%4.7%better
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control25.6%22.6%21.2%worse
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table12.1%18.1%17.1%better
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication4.9%1.9%1.4%worse
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine79.3%73.8%79.4%typical
Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission31.2%22.4%22.6%worse
Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit7.0%11.5%12.0%better
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days1.171.801.67better
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days2.802.131.80worse

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

26.2% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — CMS rates that worse than the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 35 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

26.2%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
9.3%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
20.6%U.S. median 56.6%
Met the expected recovery
0.16U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.08hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.07hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.01hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Met the expected recovery: 20.6% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 34 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.16 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 15% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 9% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF26.2%CMS range 17.4–35.451.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024worse than U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF9.3%CMS range 5.8–15.210.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge20.6%56.6%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge14.7%52.8%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge14.7%50.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified97.8%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay2.2%0.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened2.2%1.9%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization6.7%CMS range 2.7–13.17.1%Oct 2023–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs1.001.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.42
RN hours/ resident / day
1.11
LPN hours/ resident / day
3.54
Aide hours/ resident / day
5.07
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.27
RN hoursweekends
54.5%
Total nursing turnover
37.5%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 74 beds and averages 65.9 residents a day — about 89% occupied, or roughly 8 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 5.07 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.42 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 3.54 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 4.55 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 5.28 on weekdays — 14% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.49 to 0.27 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 54% is about the same as the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

4
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2025-05-06)
4
at the previous standard inspection (2023-08-31)

Deficiencies are unchanged from the previous inspection. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

13 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.

  • Potential for harm · F2025-05-06 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespread
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    The facility had a census of 66 residents. The sample included 17 residents. Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to store food by professional standards for food service safety in one kitchen. This deficient practice placed the residents who received their meals from the facility's kitchens at risk for foodborne illness. Findings included: - On 05/04/25 at 08:34 AM, the silver upright freezer, located by the entrance door, inside the kitchen, had the following: A cardboard box had the plastic torn open, exposing four corn dogs. A cardboard box had the plastic torn open, exposing 19 (4-ounce (oz) beef burger patties. A cardboard box had the plastic torn open, exposing 16 (2.6oz) chicken patties. The walk-in fridge had an unlabeled, undated plastic bag with shredded radishes and a plastic bag with unlabeled, undated shredded carrots. On 05/04/25 at 08:34 AM, Dietary Staff (DS) CC verified the above findings and stated staff should cover food when placed in the freezer. DS CC stated that the shredded radishes and shredded carrots should have been…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2025-05-06 · tag F0851 — widespread
    Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    The facility had a census of 66 residents. Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to submit complete and accurate staffing information through Payroll-Based Journal (PBJ) as required. This deficient practice placed the residents at risk for unidentified and ongoing inadequate nurse staffing. Findings included: - The PBJ report provided by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) for Fiscal Year (FY) 2024 Quarter (Q) 1 indicated no Registered nurse (RN) hours for four days in October 2024 and two days in November 2024. A review of the facility's staffing and RN hours of the days listed above revealed RN coverage. On 05/06/25 at 09:18 AM, Administrative Staff B stated that Q1 was the first time she'd submitted the information by herself. Administrative Staff B stated that there had been the appropriate number of staff, and it was possible that salaried staff did not pull over to be submitted. On 05/06/25 at 11:50 AM, Administrative Staff A stated that the facility always had RN coverage and more than enough staff, that she did not…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Administration Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2025-05-06 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — pattern
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    The facility had a census of 65 residents. The sample included 13 residents. Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to use appropriate barriers while sorting soiled laundry. This placed the residents at risk of infectious diseases. Findings included: - On 05/06/25 at 07:47 AM, while on tour of the laundry department, Maintenance/Housekeeping Staff U stated the soiled laundry was sorted by laundry staff using only gloves; unless there was obvious visual soilage, and then a gown would be worn. Maintenance/Housekeeping Staff U stated she had not thought about transferring soiled/potentially infectious laundry to the clean laundry. On 05/06/25 at 11:30 AM, Administrative Nurse D verified that laundry staff should wear clothing barrier and gloves while sorting soiled laundry. The facility's Laundry policy, dated 05/10/20, documents the facility launders linens and clothing in accordance with current Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) guidelines to prevent transmission of pathogens. Aligning with principles of standard precautions, staff…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-05-06 · tag F0757 — failed to avoid unnecessary drugs — isolated
    Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility had a census of 66 residents. The sample included 17 residents, with five reviewed for unnecessary medications. Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to hold blood pressure medications per the physician-ordered parameters for one resident, Resident (R) 30. This placed the resident at risk for physical decline and other related complications. Findings included: - The Electronic Medical Record (EMR) for R30 documented diagnoses of dementia (a progressive mental disorder characterized by failing memory and confusion), anxiety (mental or emotional reaction characterized by apprehension, uncertainty, and irrational fear), edema (swelling resulting from an excessive accumulation of fluid in the body tissue), and hypertension (high blood pressure). R30's Quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS), dated [DATE], documented R30 had severely impaired cognition. The MDS documented R30 required partial staff assistance for oral hygiene, toileting hygiene, bathing, transfers, and did not…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2023-08-31 · tag F0730 — widespread
    Observe each nurse aide's job performance and give regular training.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    The facility had a census of 72 residents. The sample included 18 residents. Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to complete performance reviews of all nurse aides, provide regular in-service education based on the outcome of these reviews, and ensure all nurse aides received the required number of in-service training hours per year. This placed the residents at risk for inadequate care. Findings included: - The facility's employment records documented the nurse aides who were employed at the facility for at least one year, review of the facility's in-service records documented one of the five Certified Nurse Aide (CNA) M lacked the required 12 hours of in-service training in the past year. On 08/30/23 at 09:30AM, Administrative Staff A and Administrative Nurse D stated CNA M had not completed the 12 hours of required in-service training in the last year. They stated the human resource personnel was responsible to keep track of the required hours. They stated the facility had staff turn-over in that department and did not monitor the staff completion of…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-08-31 · tag F0661 — isolated
    Ensure necessary information is communicated to the resident, and receiving health care provider at the time of a planned discharge.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility had a census of 72 residents. The sample included 18 residents. Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to develop a discharge summary that included a complete recapitulation (a concise summary of the resident's stay and course of treatment in the facility) of the resident's stay and post discharge plan for Resident (R) 71. This placed the resident at risk for missed care opportunities. Findings included: - R71's Electronic Medical Record (EMR) revealed the resident admitted to the facility on [DATE]. R71's admission Minimum Data Set (MDS), dated [DATE], documented R71 required limited staff assistance with activities of daily living (ADLs) except supervision with eating. The MD'S documented the resident expected to remain in the facility. The Return to Community Care Area Assessment (CAA) did not trigger. R71's Addendum to Baseline Care Plan, dated 06/05/23, documented an interdisciplinary evaluation to determine the support she needed to be safe and functioning at her highest…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2023-08-31 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility had a census of 72 residents. The sample included 18 residents of which 10 were reviewed for accidents. Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to provide a safe environment when the facility failed to assess Resident (R)16 for safe use of an electric recliner. This placed the R16 at risk for injury due to preventable accidents and hazards. Findings included: - R16's Electronic Medical Record (EMR) recorded cerebral vascular accident (CVA-stroke - sudden death of brain cells due to lack of oxygen caused by impaired blood flow to the brain by blockage or rupture of an artery to the brain,) hemiplegia (paralysis one side of the body,) anxiety (mental or emotional reaction characterized by apprehension, uncertainty and irrational fear) and essential tremors. R16's Quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS), dated [DATE], recorded the resident had a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of 15 which indicated intact cognition. The MDS recorded R16 required extensive staff…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2023-08-31 · tag F0758 — failed to limit and justify psychotropic drugs — isolated
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility had a census of 72 residents. The sample included 18 residents with five reviewed for unnecessary medications. Based on observation, record review, and interview the facility failed to ensure an appropriate indication for use, or a documented physician rationale which included the multiple unsuccessful attempts for nonpharmacological symptom management and risk versus benefits for the continued use of an antipsychotic (class of medications used to treat mental disorder characterized by a gross impairment in reality testing) for Resident (R)19, who had a diagnosis of dementia (progressive mental disorder characterized by failing memory, confusion). This placed the resident at risk for unnecessary psychotropic (alters mood or thought) medications and related side effects. Findings included: - R19's Electronic Medical Record (EMR) documented she had a diagnoses of dementia, paranoid personality disorder, anxiety disorder (mental or emotional reaction characterized by apprehension, uncertainty and…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2021-12-21 · tag F0582 — isolated
    Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    The facility had a census of 63 residents. The sample included 16 residents, with three reviewed for Beneficiary Notices. Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to provide one of the sampled residents, Resident (R) 115 (or their representative) the completed Notice of Medicare Non-Coverage (NOMNC) Form 10123 Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), and the completed Skilled Nursing Facility Advanced Beneficiary Notice of Non Coverage (SNF ABN) Form 10055 . Findings included: - The Medicare Form 10123 informed the beneficiary that Medicare may not pay for future skilled therapy. The form included detailed explanation of non-coverage and explained the appeal process The Medicare Form 10055 informed the beneficiary that Medicare may not pay for skilled therapy services and provided a cost estimate for continued services. It explained: (1) if Medicare does not pay, the resident would be responsible for payment, but can make an appeal to Medicare, (2) receive therapy listed, but do not bill Medicare, would be responsible for payment for services, or (3) does…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2021-12-21 · tag F0645 — isolated
    PASARR screening for Mental disorders or Intellectual Disabilities
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility had a census of 63 residents. The sample included 16 residents, with one reviewed for Pre-admission Screening and Annual Resident Review (PASARR). Based on observation, interviews, and record review the facililty failed to ensure a referral was made promptly by the nursing home to the state PASARR program for a Level 2 Resident Review for Resident (R) 63 who had a documented a mental illness (MI) or intellectual disability (ID). Findings include: - R63's Physician Order Sheet (POS), dated 04/30/21, recorded the diagnoses of Major Depressive Disorder (MDD) (a mental disorder characterized by a persistently depressed mood and long-term loss of pleasure or interest in life), delusional disorder (untrue persistent belief or perception held by a person although evidence shows it was untrue) , cerebrovascular accident (CVA)(sudden death of brain cells due to lack of oxygen caused by impaired blood flow to the brain by blockage or rupture of an artery to the brain), and wandering. R63's Quarterly Minimum…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2021-12-21 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility had a census of 63 residents. The sample included 16 residents, with nine reviewed for accidents. Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to follow toileting and fall interventions as directed in the resident's plan of care care for one sampled resident, Resident (R) 29, who had several falls. Findings included: - R29's admission Minimum Data Set (MDS), dated [DATE], documented the resident had intact cognition and required extensive assistance of one staff for bed mobility, transfers, toileting and limited assistance of one staff for ambulation in room. The MDS further documented the resident, occasionally incontinent of bladder, unsteady gait, had no upper or lower functional impairment, had one non- injury fall since admission, and did not use any alarms. The Quarterly MDS, dated 12/11/21, documented the resident had severely impaired cognition and required extensive assistance of one staff for bed mobility, transfers, toileting, and ambulation in room and…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2021-12-21 · tag F0700 — isolated
    Try different approaches before using a bed rail. If a bed rail is needed, the facility must (1) assess a resident for safety risk; (2) review these risks and benefits with the resident/representative; (3) get informed consent; and (4) Correctly install and maintain the bed rail.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility had a census of 63 residents. The sample included 16 residents, with one reviewed for side rails. Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to accurately assess Resident (R) 5's side rails for safe use, placing R5 at risk for accident and injury. Findings included: - R5's Quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS), dated [DATE], recorded the resident had a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of seven, indicating moderately impaired cognition. The MDS documented the resident required extensive assistance of onestaff with bed mobility, transfer and locomotion on and off the unit. The MDS lacked documentation the resident had bedrails. The Activities of Daily Living (ADL) Care Plan, dated 12/13/21, indicated one staff assisted the resident with bed mobility. R5 utilized a quarter side rail (a structural support attached to the frame of the bed and intended to prevent a patient from falling and assist with transfers) to assist with repositioning and bed mobility. The Side…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2021-12-21 · tag F0758 — failed to limit and justify psychotropic drugs — isolated
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility had a census of 63 residents. The sample included 16 residents with five reviewed for unnecessary medications. Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to ensure appropriate diagnoses for the use of antipsychotic medications (class of medications used to treat any major mental disorder characterized by a gross impairment in reality testing and other mental illness conditions) for three sampled residents, Residents (R) 9, R29 and R14. This placed the residents at increased risk for inappropriate treatment and risk for adverse outcomes associated with antipsychotic medications Findings included: - R9's Physician Order Sheet (POS), dated 11/02/21, documented diagnoses of Alzheimer's disease (progressive mental deterioration characterized by confusion and memory failure) and depression (abnormal emotional state characterized by exaggerated feelings of sadness, worthlessness and emptiness). The Quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS), dated [DATE], documented R9 had severely…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
MEMORIAL HOME, INC.Organization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST100%since 01/01/1996
DURST, MICHELLEIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 03/01/2021
GOERING, LINDAIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 03/01/2021
GUHR, LEONIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 03/01/2021
LOGANBILL, LARRYIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 03/01/2019
NUZUM, SARAIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 03/01/2024
REMPEL, THEODOREIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 03/01/2021
ROSFELD, ERINIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 03/05/2017
STUCKY, MARKIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 03/01/2023
ELMORE, HEATHERIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER; ADP OF THE SNFsince 04/11/2025
STUCKY, JASONIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 11/04/2004

CMS files one row per role, so the 13 rows in the source record cover these 11 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.

1 organizational owner listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$9.0M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
+0.3%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
$2K
Related-party expense0% of expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 49%Medicare 4%Other / private 47%

This home reported $2K paid to related parties (affiliated landlords or management companies) in its most recent cost report.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$346per resident / day
operating cost
$10,533per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$348per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in KS

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Kansas Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Kansas
$8,669/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$9,064/mo
Nursing home (private)
$5,975/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 175414. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-05-06, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next