No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Metcalfe Nursing and Rehabilitation Center

701 Skyline Drive, Edmonton, KY 42129 · Non profit - Corporation · 71 certified beds · (270) 432-2921 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (270) 432-2921 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Resident-funds citation (F0567)
Insights

The public record raises real questions here. Weigh the concerns below carefully.

In its favor
  • no harm-level citations in the current inspection record
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
Worth asking about
  • it has a citation for mishandling residents’ money or property (F0567)
  • its independent health-inspection rating is low (2/5)
  • its payroll-based staffing rating is low (1/5)
  • its facility-reported quality-measure rating is low (2/5)
  • its last standard health inspection was over 3 years ago — the star rating may not reflect current conditions

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

1/5
CMS overall
1 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 2 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 1 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 2 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
★★★ 3/5 CMS · Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
736 E Main St · (270) 659-0717 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
1704 W Stockton St · (270) 432-3111 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
1101 W Stockton St · (270) 432-4295 · Call to confirm hours
Park
100 Park St · (270) 432-5000 · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 2 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 2 of 5
Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital 3 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating held steady at 2 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating2★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased11.5%13.8%15.4%better
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight2.8%6.6%5.4%better
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder2.9%0.5%0.9%worse
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection6.4%1.6%2.0%worse
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms5.7%17.7%6.5%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.2%0.1%better
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury4.0%3.9%3.3%worse
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened15.6%14.0%16.1%typical
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication37.6%29.8%18.9%worse
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine100.0%96.2%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers3.0%4.8%4.7%better
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control21.1%19.0%21.2%typical
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table28.4%16.1%17.1%worse
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication0.0%1.7%1.4%better
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine90.2%83.5%79.4%better
Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission11.6%24.2%22.6%better
Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit19.7%13.7%12.0%worse
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days1.171.941.67better
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days3.032.141.80worse

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

47.3% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 41 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

47.3%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
11.5%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
41.7%U.S. median 56.6%
Met the expected recovery
0.19U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.09hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.08hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.03hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Met the expected recovery: 41.7% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 24 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.19 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 20% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 23% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF47.3%CMS range 38.1–58.451.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF11.5%CMS range 7.4–16.010.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge41.7%56.6%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge25.0%52.8%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge50.0%50.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified83.9%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay0.0%0.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened10.0%1.9%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization7.9%CMS range 4.2–14.87.1%Oct 2023–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs0.971.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.38
RN hours/ resident / day
0.99
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.16
Aide hours/ resident / day
3.53
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.18
RN hoursweekends
54.3%
Total nursing turnover
55.6%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 71 beds and averages 68.0 residents a day — about 96% occupied, or roughly 3 beds typically open. It runs essentially full — expect a waiting list. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.53 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.38 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.16 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 2.91 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.78 on weekdays — 23% thinner on weekends — a notable drop. RN hours go from 0.46 to 0.18 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 54% is about the same as the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

10
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2022-10-22)
1
at the previous standard inspection (2019-10-31)

Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

This trend is not current. The most recent of these two inspections was over 3 years ago; the arrow describes what inspectors found then, not what the home is like now.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

14 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.

  • Potential for harm · F2022-10-22 · tag F0576 — widespread
    Ensure residents have reasonable access to and privacy in their use of communication methods.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview and review of the facility's Mail Distribution policy, it was determined the facility failed to ensure residents had the right to send and receive mail. In addition, the facility failed to ensure residents were able to receive letters, packages and other materials delivered to the facility for residents on Saturdays and Sundays. The total census was sixty-two (62). The findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled, Mail Distribution, undated, revealed it was the intent of the policy that the facility developed a system of resident mail transport, which involved the Activities Department and the person who received the mail, i.e., the Receptionist. Continued review revealed it also included provisions whereby the Activities Department was informed of the arrival of, or was given, the mail. Further review of the policy revealed the Activities Director or Designated Volunteer was to deliver the mail to the residents within twenty-four (24) hours. Interview with Resident Council members, on 10/18/2022 at 3:14 PM, revealed the facility was not delivering…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2022-10-22 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — widespread
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, record review, and review of the facility's policies, it was determined the facility failed to establish and maintain an infection prevention and control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary and comfortable environment; to help prevent and control the development and transmission of communicable diseases; and, to implement interventions per the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), and the Kentucky Department for Public Health (Health Department) state guidelines for COVID-19. Multiple observations, from 10/18/2022 to 10/20/2022, revealed staff members were not providing assistance with COVID screening; not wearing required personal protective equipment (PPE) or wearing it incorrectly, in a Contact Precautions room; not performing correct hand hygiene; not disinfecting reusable medical equipment or not disinfecting it with the correct contact time; and inappropriate handling of trash in a Contact…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2022-10-22 · tag F0679 — failed to provide activities — pattern
    Provide activities to meet all resident's needs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview and review of the facility's policy, it was determined the facility failed to provide residents with activities on Saturday and Sunday. The facility census was sixty-two (62). The findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled, Activity Procedures, undated, revealed the facility was to offer residents the opportunity for improving or maintaining physical functioning abilities in a recreational setting. Per the policy review, participation in exercise could also help maintain or increase cognitive abilities and feelings of self-worth and positive self-esteem. Interview with Resident Council members on 10/18/2022 at 3:14 PM, revealed the facility was not providing any scheduled activities for residents on Saturdays and Sundays. Interview with the Activities Director on 10/20/2022 at 2:00 PM, revealed the facility had provided supervised activities for the residents on weekends prior to the COVID pandemic. She stated, after COVID, the facility considered bringing activities back on weekends. Continued interview revealed she waited for the Administrator's…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2022-10-22 · tag F0695 — failed to provide proper breathing / tracheostomy care — pattern
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, medical record review, and review of the facility's policy, it was determined the facility failed to date and change weekly oxygen tubing as required for four (4) of thirty (30) sampled residents, Residents #28, #29, #37, and #54. The findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled, Respiratory Care Services Policy & Procedure, Oxygen Equipment: Supply Change, undated, revealed nasal cannulas and oxygen supply tubing were to be replaced every seven (7) days and as needed (PRN) per facility protocol. 1. Review of Resident #54's medical record revealed the facility admitted the resident, on 01/22/2019, with diagnoses to include Heart Failure, Coronary Artery Disease (CAD), Asthma, and Respiratory Failure. Review of Resident #54's Quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) Assessment, dated 09/03/2022, revealed the facility assessed the resident to have a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of seven (7) of fifteen (15), which indicated the resident had severe cognitive impairment. Review of Resident #54's Care Plan, dated 08/22/2022, revealed…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2022-10-22 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — pattern
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, record review, review of medication package inserts, review of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's (CDC) Vaccine Storage and Handling, and review of the facility's policy, it was determined the facility failed to store all drugs and biologicals under proper temperature control. Observation of the two (2) medication refrigerators revealed one (1) had temperatures outside the recommended range for drug storage. The findings include: Review of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's (CDC) Vaccine Storage and Handling, updated 09/29/2021, revealed proper vaccine storage and handling played critical roles in efforts to prevent vaccine-preventable diseases. Vaccines exposed to storage temperatures outside the recommended ranges might have decreased efficacy, creating limited protection, and exposure to temperatures thirty-two (32) degrees Fahrenheit or colder could destroy potency. Per CDC recommendations, vaccine temperatures should be monitored and documented at…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2022-10-22 · tag F0578 — failed to honor advance directives / code status — isolated
    Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview, record review, review of the facility's policy, and review of Federal Regulations regarding Advance Directives, it was determined the facility failed to have a policy on Advance Directives which allowed two (2) of thirty (30) sampled residents, Residents #25 and #42 to have insufficient documentation concerning their directives for medical care. The findings include: Interview with the Social Service Director (SSD) on [DATE] at 10:30 AM, revealed the facility did not have a policy detailing how Advance Directives were to be obtained or what they should contain. Review of the facility's policy titled, Resident Rights, not dated, revealed the facility was to comply with the requirements specified in 42 CFR Part 489, Subpart 1, to provide information to all adult residents concerning the right to formulate an advance directive. Review of 42 CFR 489.100, Subpart 1, Advance Directives, revealed advance directives was defined as a written instruction, such as a living will or durable power of…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2022-10-22 · tag F0657 — failed to keep the care plan current — isolated
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, record review, and review of the facility's policy, it was determined the facility failed to review and revise the comprehensive care plan (CCP) after each assessment following falls with interventions to prevent falls, for one (1) of thirty (30) sampled residents (Resident #42). Resident #42's CCP was not revised/updated for twelve (12) of the twenty-one (21) falls he/she experienced from 04/29/2022 through 10/14/2022. Refer to F-0689 The findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled, Care Plans, Comprehensive Person-Centered, dated December 2016, revealed it was the facility's policy to review and update a resident's care plan when the desired outcome had not been met. Review of Resident #42's medical record revealed the facility admitted him/her on 04/23/2020, with diagnoses including Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease, Polyneuropathy, Chronic Pain, Dizziness, History of Falls, Ataxic Gait, and Unspecified Dementia. Review of Resident #42's Annual Minimum Data…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2022-10-22 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, record review, and review of the facility's policy, it was determined the facility failed to ensure each resident received adequate supervision and assistive devices to prevent accidents for one (1) of thirty (30) sampled residents, Resident #42. Resident #42 experienced twenty-five (25) falls from 04/14/2022 through 10/21/2022. The findings include: The State Survey Agency (SSA) Surveyor requested the facility's policy on Falls; however, the facility did not provide the policy as requested. Review of the facility's policy titled, Resident Rights, undated, revealed residents had the right to a safe environment. Review of Resident #42's medical record revealed the facility admitted the resident on 04/23/2020, with diagnoses that included History of Falling, Polyneuropathy, Chronic Pain, Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD), Dizziness, Ataxic Gait, and Unspecified Dementia. Review of Resident #42's Annual Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE], revealed the facility…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2022-10-22 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — isolated
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and review of the facility's policy, it was determined the facility failed to keep staff food and drink items in the designated staff area and not in the residents' food nourishment room. The findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled, Food Brought in From Outside/Home, not dated, revealed the residents had the right to have foods brought in by family or visitors, and the facility had the responsibility to ensure the residents' safety. The State Survey Agency (SSA) Surveyor requested, from the Director of Nursing (DON), the facility's policies titled, Break Room Policy and Drink and Food but did not receive them. Observation of the nourishment room located on the 200 Hall, on 10/19/2022 at 6:19 PM, revealed six (6) used Styrofoam cups, with lids and straws, and two (2) bottles of soda that belonged to the staff. The cups were placed around the sink and next to the ice maker. Observation of the nourishment room located on the 100 Hall, on 10/20/2022 at 10:00 AM, revealed three (3) used Styrofoam cups, with lids and straws, that belonged…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2022-10-22 · tag F0842 — failed to keep accurate, complete medical records — isolated
    Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interviews, record review, document review, review of the Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) Job Description, and review of the facility's policy, it was determined the facility failed to accurately maintain medical records on food and fluid consumption for one (1) of thirty (30) sampled residents (Resident #7). The findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled, Documenting of Food Consumption, not dated, revealed nursing personnel shall record each resident's intake of meals immediately following mealtime. The policy further stated intake of meals shall be recorded by food categories, and documentation of consumption by food categories provided in-depth information on a resident's food intake patterns. Per the policy, the Food Service Manager and/or Consultant Dietitian, along with nursing personnel, would monitor intake routinely or according to the resident's individual care plan. Review of the facility's document titled, Certified Nursing Assistant Job Description, not dated, revealed CNA's were to report and document nutritional and fluid intake. Further…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Fcited before2019-10-31 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespread
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, record review, and review of the facility policy it was determined the facility failed to ensure food was stored in accordance with professional standards for food service safety. On 10/29/19, during the initial tour, the ice cream freezer was observed to have a thick layer of frost on all sides of the freezer as well as a black sediment along the tracks where the top slid to provide access to the freezer. The frost on the sides was also observed to have some of the black sediment present. The findings include: Review of the cleaning schedule, undated, revealed the ice cream freezer was not on the schedule to be cleaned. Observation of the kitchen on 10/29/19 at 11:04 AM, during the initial tour with the Dietary Manager, revealed the ice cream freezer had a thick layer of frost on all sides and a black residue was present on the tracks where the top lid slid to open. Further observation revealed the black residue was also on the layer of frost next to the track. No food containers were observed to have any black residue on them. Observation of the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2018-10-25 · tag F0804 — failed to serve food at safe, palatable temperature — widespread
    Ensure food and drink is palatable, attractive, and at a safe and appetizing temperature.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and a palatability test of a lunch meal, it was determined the facility failed to ensure that food served to residents was palatable. Interview with residents and a palatability test of a lunch test tray on 10/24/18 at 11:20 AM CDT, revealed the facility failed to season food to ensure food served to residents was palatable. The findings include: Interview with the Dietary Manager (DM) at 3:25 PM CDT on 10/24/18 revealed the facility did not have a policy related to food palatability. A group interview conducted at 3:00 PM on 10/23/18 with six (6) facility residents revealed the food served at the facility was not seasoned. The residents further stated that they only received one (1) packet of salt on their meal trays, which was not enough salt to season their food. A test tray was requested to conduct a palatability test for the lunch meal on 10/24/18. At 11:20 AM CDT on 10/24/18, the palatability test was conducted with the facility Dietary Manager (DM). The green beans served had not been salted/seasoned and tasted bland. Interview with the DM…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2018-10-25 · tag F0567 — failed to protect residents' money held by the home — pattern
    Honor the resident's right to manage his or her financial affairs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview and review of the facility policy, it was determined the facility failed to protect residents' rights to manage their personal funds. Interview with Resident Council members revealed the facility managed the residents' money they won from Bingo and residents did not have access to their money on weekends. The findings include: Review of the facility's policy, Resident Trust Fund, (undated) revealed residents shall have access to their personal funds within a reasonable period of time when requested, and the same day if possible. The policy stated the facility's banking hours were from 8:30 AM to 4:00 PM Monday through Friday, and typically closed on holidays. Further review of the policy revealed if funds were needed at a time after business office hours, arrangements would be made by the office or the Administrator upon request. A group interview was conducted at 3:00 PM Central Daylight Time (CDT) on 10/23/18 with six (6) facility residents. The residents stated during the interview that for the past few months, the facility had not allowed residents to keep…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2018-10-25 · tag F0842 — failed to keep accurate, complete medical records — isolated
    Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, it was determined the facility failed to ensure an accurate medical record was maintained for one (1) of thirty-one (31) sampled residents (Resident #54). On 07/09/18, Resident #54's physician prescribed Norvasc (medication to treat high blood pressure and/or chest pain) daily. Observation revealed the facility administered the medication to the resident as ordered; however, the facility failed to ensure the resident's October physician's order summary and Medication Administration Record (MAR) accurately reflected the physician's order. The findings include: Review of the facility's Medication Administration-General Guidelines, dated 12/18/12, revealed medications were administered in accordance with written orders of the physician. The Director of Nursing stated in interview on 10/24/18 at 3:45 PM, that the facility did not have a policy regarding accurate medical records. Review of the medical record revealed the facility admitted Resident #54 to the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleSince
Ownership Data Not Available

The source lists no ownership percentage for any party here — PECOS records a share only for equity interests, not for board or management roles.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$6.3M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
-7.6%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 73%Medicare 5%Other / private 22%

About 73% of this home’s resident-days are paid by Medicaid, which reimburses well below the cost of care in most states. Heavily Medicaid-dependent homes run on thinner budgets — a context worth holding next to the staffing and inspection record, not a fault in itself. A reported operating loss is common in this industry and is not by itself a sign of trouble — but paired with large related-party payments it can mean profit is being taken elsewhere in the ownership structure.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2024. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$278per resident / day
operating cost
$8,463per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$259per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2024). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in KY

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Kentucky Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Kentucky
$9,718/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$11,254/mo
Nursing home (private)
$5,528/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 185217. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2022-10-22, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next