No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Pioneer Trace Group LLC

115 Pioneer Trace, Flemingsburg, KY 41041 · For profit - Limited Liability company · 92 certified beds · (606) 845-2131 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Flagged for abuse3 immediate-jeopardy citations$160,626 in federal fines1 Medicare payment denial
Insights

This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.

Worth asking about
  • CMS has flagged it for abuse
  • it has abuse, neglect, or exploitation citations (F0600, F0602) — most recent May 2026
  • inspectors cited 3 immediate-jeopardy problems — the most serious level
  • the CMS record shows $160,626 in federal fines (most recent 2026-05-27)
  • its independent health-inspection rating is low (1/5)
  • its payroll-based staffing rating is low (2/5)
  • its facility-reported quality-measure rating is low (1/5)

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

1/5
CMS overall
1 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 1 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 2 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 1 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
★★★★ 4/5 CMS · Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
935 Elizaville Ave · (606) 849-3374 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
118 Clark St · (606) 845-3421 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
640 W Water St · (606) 849-4554 · Call to confirm hours
Park
170 Newman Pk Wy · (606) 845-5951 · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship
869 Elizaville Ave · (606) 849-3065

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 1 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 1 of 5
Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital 1 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating fell from 2 to 1 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating1★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased28.1%13.8%15.4%worse
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight7.4%6.6%5.4%worse
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder0.7%0.5%0.9%better
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection5.3%1.6%2.0%worse
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms7.5%17.7%6.5%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.2%0.1%better
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury6.5%3.9%3.3%worse
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened23.0%14.0%16.1%worse
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication23.0%29.8%18.9%worse
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine96.2%96.2%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers8.0%4.8%4.7%worse
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control21.4%19.0%21.2%typical
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table18.1%16.1%17.1%typical
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication2.6%1.7%1.4%worse
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine68.8%83.5%79.4%worse
Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission34.6%24.2%22.6%worse
Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit23.2%13.7%12.0%worse
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days2.661.941.67worse
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days5.872.141.80worse

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

34.1% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — CMS rates that worse than the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 31 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

34.1%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
11.5%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
40.0%U.S. median 56.6%
Met the expected recovery
0.40U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.13hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.20hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.06hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Met the expected recovery: 40.0% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 25 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.40 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 68% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 12% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF34.1%CMS range 24.3–47.151.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024worse than U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF11.5%CMS range 8.0–17.110.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge40.0%56.6%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge36.0%52.8%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge28.0%50.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified97.2%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay2.8%0.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened13.9%1.9%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization7.0%CMS range 3.8–11.07.1%Oct 2023–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs1.421.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.37
RN hours/ resident / day
0.94
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.11
Aide hours/ resident / day
3.42
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.26
RN hoursweekends
40.3%
Total nursing turnover
50.0%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 92 beds and averages 79.8 residents a day — about 87% occupied, or roughly 12 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.42 hrs/resident/day is below the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.37 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.11 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 2.94 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.61 on weekdays — 18% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.41 to 0.26 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 40% is about the same as the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

4
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2026-01-08)
3
at the previous standard inspection (2024-10-03)

Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

12 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.

  • Immediate jeopardy · J2026-05-27 · tag F0600 — failed to protect residents from abuse and neglect — isolated
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview, record review, and review of the facility's document and polices, the facility failed to protect the residents' right to be free from mental and verbal abuse for 3 of 7 sampled residents, Resident (R) 1, R7, and R11. Resident (R) 2 had a history of verbal and physical outburst behaviors. Residents observed R2 throwing objects, physically hitting staff, and attempts were made to hit other residents and staff. This caused the residents psychosocial harm in which they made statements of being afraid, scared, walking on eggshells, and fear for their safety when R2 was around.Immediate Jeopardy (IJ) was identified on 05/21/2026 in the area of 42 CFR 483.12 Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation and was determined to exist on 05/13/2026. Substandard Quality of Care (SQC) was also determined to exist. The facility submitted an acceptable IJ Removal Plan on 05/27/2026. The immediacy was determined to be removed on 05/27/2026, prior to exit.The findings include:Review of the facility's policy…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Immediate jeopardy · Jcited before2026-05-27 · tag F0657 — failed to keep the care plan current — isolated
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview, record review, review of the facility's investigation, and review of the facility's policy, the facility failed to ensure residents' care plans were revised to include interventions needed to provide person-centered care related to supervision and monitoring to ensure safety for 1 of 28 sampled residents, Resident (R) 5.Interviews with staff revealed that on 05/02/2026 at approximately 5:55 PM, staff observed the resident exiting the facility and they were able to intervene and return the resident back to the facility. However, the facility failed to revise the resident's care plan to include interventions that would increase the resident's supervision and/or monitoring. Review of the facility's investigation revealed R5 eloped from the facility on 05/02/2026 at approximately 8:11 PM and was found outside near the back facility entrance roadway by Dietary Aide 1 who was taking out trash. The investigation revealed R5 traveled approximately 286 feet from the facility's entrance, in her wheelchair over an uneven surface, without staff awareness or supervision.…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Immediate jeopardy · J2026-05-27 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, record review, review of the website https://www.localconditions.com, review of the facility's investigation, and review of the facility's policies, the facility failed to have an effective system in place to ensure each resident received adequate supervision and monitoring. The facility failed to implement interventions and adequate supervision for 1 of 20 sampled residents to prevent unsafe wandering and elopement, Resident (R) 5.Review of the facility's investigation revealed R5 eloped from the facility on 05/02/2026 at approximately 8:11 PM and was found outside near the back facility entrance roadway by Dietary Aide 1, who was taking out trash. The investigation revealed R5 traveled approximately 286 feet from the facility entrance, in her wheelchair, over an uneven surface, without staff awareness or supervision.Immediate Jeopardy (IJ) was identified on 05/21/2026 in the area of 42 CFR 483.25 Quality of Care and was determined to exist on 05/02/2026. Substandard Quality of Care (SQC) was also determined to exist. The facility submitted an…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Fcited before2026-01-08 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespread
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, review of the facility's job descriptions, and review of the facility's documents and policy, the facility failed to ensure that food was stored in a manner that minimized the risk of foodborne illness for all 78 current facility residents. Observation on 01/07/2026 and review of the facility's Food Temperature logs for 01/01/2026, 01/04/2026, 01/05/2026, and 01/06/2026 revealed the temperature in the facility's walk-in refrigerator/cooler was greater than 41 degrees Fahrenheit (F), the upper limit for the acceptable temperature.The findings include:Review of the undated policy titled, Preventing Foodborne Illness - Food Handling, revealed the functioning of the refrigerator and food temperatures were to be monitored at designated intervals throughout the day and documented according to state-specific requirements. Further review revealed federal standards required that refrigerated food be stored below 41 degrees Fahrenheit (F).Review of the Job Description for the Cook, signed 11/01/2016, revealed duties included inspection of all equipment for…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2026-01-08 · tag F0908 — failed to keep essential equipment working — widespread
    Keep all essential equipment working safely.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, review of the facility's job descriptions, and review of the facility's documents and policy, the facility failed to ensure essential kitchen equipment was maintained and in safe operating condition for all 78 of the facility's current residents.The findings include:Review of the undated policy titled, Preventing Foodborne Illness - Food Handling, revealed the functioning of the refrigerator and food temperatures were to be monitored at designated intervals throughout the day and documented according to state-specific requirements. Further review revealed federal standards required that refrigerated food be stored below 41 degrees Fahrenheit (F).Review of the Job Description for the Cook, signed 11/01/2016, revealed duties included inspection of all equipment for proper functioning and safety before and during use; to follow established safety and infection control procedures; to plan, direct, and supervise the food service program including food storage, inspection of all equipment and systems regularly for proper functioning and safety; and to…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Environmental Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-01-08 · tag F0602 — failed to protect residents from theft of their belongings — isolated
    Protect each resident from the wrongful use of the resident's belongings or money.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview, record review, and review of the facility's policies, the facility failed to ensure a resident was free from abuse due to misappropriation or exploitation for 1 of 38 sampled residents, Resident (R) 2. The findings include:Review of the facility's policy titled, Controlled Substances, revised date 12/2011, revealed nursing staff must count controlled drugs at the end of each shift. The policy stated the nurse coming on duty and the nurse going off duty must make the count together and must document and report any discrepancies to the Director of Nursing Services.Review of the facility's policy titled, Controlled Medication Storage, dated [DATE], revealed at each shift change, a physical inventory of all controlled medication(s), including the emergency supply, was conducted by two licensed nurses and was documented on the controlled medication accountability record per facility procedure.Review of the facility's policy titled Abuse Prevention, revised [DATE], revealed that misappropriation of…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-01-08 · tag F0698 — failed to provide proper dialysis care — isolated
    Provide safe, appropriate dialysis care/services for a resident who requires such services.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview, record review, and review of the facility's document and policy, the facility failed to ensure appropriate coordination, oversight, communication, and continuity of care related to dialysis services for 1 of 38 sampled residents, Resident (R29). The facility failed to maintain an active contract with the dialysis provider and failed to ensure required dialysis communication was completed, sent, reviewed, and returned to the medical record to support continuity of care and monitor the resident's condition before and after dialysis treatments. This failure placed the resident at risk for unmet medical needs and complications related to dialysis services.The findings Include:Review of the facility's policy titled, Hemodialysis Access Care, revised September 2010, revealed the general medical nurse was expected to document in the resident's medical record every shift and obtain and maintain reports from the dialysis nurse post-dialysis. The facility was unable to provide evidence of an active contract or written agreement with the dialysis provider for R29, who was…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2024-10-03 · tag F0576 — widespread
    Ensure residents have reasonable access to and privacy in their use of communication methods.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview and review of the facility's policy, the facility failed to ensure all residents had the right to send and receive mail on Saturdays. The findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled, Residents Rights, revised 07/01/2014 revealed the resident had the right to privacy in written communications, including the right to send and promptly receive mail. During the Resident Council meeting on 10/01/2024 at 10:00 AM, Resident (R) 46 stated residents did not receive or send mail on Saturdays at the facility. R46 stated he did receive packages unopened the day they were delivered to the facility. The rest of the resident attendees confirmed there was no Saturday mail delivery. In an interview with the Business Office Manager (BOM) on 10/03/2024 at 12:21 PM, she stated she was unaware it was against residents' rights not to have their mail being delivered on Saturdays. The BOM stated her work schedule was Monday through Friday 7:30 AM to 4:00 PM, and she was not on the campus during the weekends to sort the mail and give it to the Activities Department. In an…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2024-10-03 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — widespread
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview and review of the facility's policies, the facility failed to establish written standards, policies, and procedures for a documented water management program based on nationally accepted standards for all residents (census 76). The facility did not have a water management program that included a description of the building's water systems where Legionella and other opportunistic waterborne pathogens could grow and spread, flow diagrams, measures to prevent growth, testing protocols, acceptable ranges, and established ways to intervene when control limits were not met. The findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled, Infection Control Policy, dated 02/02/2021, revealed the policy's purpose is to prevent, detect, investigate, and control infections in the facility and maintain a safe, sanitary, and comfortable environment for personnel, residents, visitors, and general public. Review of the facility's policy titled, Prevention of Legionella Growth and Exposure, dated 06/2017, revealed the facility had an established water management program in an effort…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2024-10-03 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — pattern
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, record review, and review of the facility's policies, the facility failed to prepare food safely to prevent cross-contamination. Dietary Aide (DA) 2 was observed on 10/01/2024 preparing a puree brownie with gnats flying around the uncovered blender and gnats were observed flying in and around the trash can in the dining area. The deficiency had the potential to affect all residents that received meals from the kitchen. The findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled, Resident Rights, revised on 08/01/2013, revealed the facility must care for its residents in a manner and in an environment that promoted maintenance or enhancement of each of the resident's quality of life. Review of the facility's policy titled, Food and Preparation and Service, revised 07/01/2014, revealed the food services employees shall prepare and serve food in a manner that complied with safe preparation and handling. Review of the facility's policy titled, Pest Control, revised 05/01/2008…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2019-11-14 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolated
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, record review, review of facility policy, and review of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), Resident Assessment Instrument (RAI) Manual 3.0, it was determined the facility failed to implement a person centered Comprehensive Care Plan (CCP) for each resident to meet a resident's medical, and nursing needs identified in the comprehensive assessment for one (01) of nineteen (19) sampled residents (Resident #69). Resident #69 had pressure ulcers/injuries to his/her right ankle and left heel, and the CCP, dated 10/23/19, revealed an intervention to provide heel protection. However, observation on 11/12/19, 11/13/19 and 11/14/19, revealed Resident #69 was in bed without heel protection. The findings include: Review of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, Resident Assessment Instrument (RAI) Manual 3.0, dated October 2016, revealed the Comprehensive Care Plan is an interdisciplinary communication tool and must include measurable objectives and time frames and must describe the services to be furnished to attain or maintain the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2019-11-14 · tag F0657 — failed to keep the care plan current — isolated
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, record review, review of the facility policy, and review of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), Resident Assessment Instrument (RAI) Manual 3.0, it was determined the facility failed to ensure the Comprehensive Care Plan (CCP) was reviewed and revised by an interdisciplinary team composed of individuals who have knowledge of the resident and his/her needs for one (1) of nineteen (19) sampled residents (Resident #35). Resident #35 had a Physicians Order; dated 07/19/19 for heel boots when in bed; however, there was no documented evidence the CCP was revised to include the heel boots. Further, observations on 11/13/19 revealed the resident was in bed for approximately one (01) hour without heel boots on his/her feet. The findings include: Review of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, Resident Assessment Instrument (RAI) Manual 3.0, dated October 2016, revealed the care plan must be reviewed and revised periodically, and the services provided or arranged should be consistent with each resident's written plan of care.…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

$160,626 in federal fines across 5 penalties. 1 Medicare payment denial on record.

  • $27,378 — penalty dated 2026-05-27
  • $105,755 — penalty dated 2026-05-27
  • $5,346 — penalty dated 2024-10-03
  • $5,346 — penalty dated 2024-10-03
  • $16,801 — penalty dated 2024-10-03
  • Medicare payment denial — starting 2024-12-20 for 28 days

Dates are the dates CMS records the penalty, not the date of the conduct behind it. CMS publishes penalties on a rolling window, so this is what is currently on the public file — not the home’s lifetime history, and an older fine may attach to a problem that has since been corrected. The amounts are as imposed: the CMS file does not record whether a penalty was appealed, reduced, or paid, so we don’t say. Ask the home what each one was for and what changed since.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
FRANCES, JAYIndividual5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; CORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF50%since 09/20/2016
SMITH, KIMBERLYIndividual5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; CORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL50%since 09/20/2016
LEGACY HEALTH SERVICES INCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 06/27/2025
MCINTYRE, AMANDAIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 09/10/2021
CALHOUN & COMPANY PLLCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 11/01/2016
HARGIS & ASSOCIATES, LLCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 11/01/2016
PROACTIVE MEDICAL REVIEW AND CONSULTANTS LLCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 03/01/2022
BOYD, MICHAELIndividualADP OF THE SNFsince 11/01/2016
FULLER, DEBBIEIndividualADP OF THE SNFsince 11/01/2016
HARGIS, FORWOODIndividualADP OF THE SNFsince 11/01/2016
HICKERSON, MICHELEIndividualADP OF THE SNFsince 05/01/2023
KREIL, KARENIndividualADP OF THE SNFsince 11/01/2016
MARTIN, ARNIEIndividualADP OF THE SNFsince 03/01/2022
MCINTOSH, SARAHIndividualADP OF THE SNFsince 11/01/2016
PETERSEN, JALMEIndividualADP OF THE SNFsince 11/01/2016

CMS files one row per role, so the 22 rows in the source record cover these 15 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.

4 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$7.7M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
+5.0%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 69%Medicare 11%Other / private 21%

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$271per resident / day
operating cost
$8,237per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$285per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in KY

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Kentucky Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Kentucky
$9,718/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$11,254/mo
Nursing home (private)
$5,528/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 185314. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2026-01-08, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next