Armenian Nursing & Rehabilitation Center
431 Pond Street, Boston, MA 02130 · Non profit - Corporation · 83 certified beds · (617) 522-2600 Medicare & Medicaid certified
The public record raises real questions here. Weigh the concerns below carefully.
- a strong health-inspection score (4/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
- no federal fines or payment denials on record
- lower-than-typical staff turnover (15% vs 45% nationally) — better care continuity
- fewer deficiencies at its most recent standard inspection than at the one before — a sign of improvement
- it has citations for its abuse-prevention policies, restraint use, or reporting and investigating of allegations (F0607, F0609, F0610) — cited below the harm level, meaning inspectors found the process wanting but did not find a resident harmed
- it has a citation for mishandling residents’ money or property (F0565)
- a high number of inspection citations overall (15) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
- its payroll-based staffing rating is low (1/5)
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 4 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 1 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 4 of 5 |
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 4 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 4 of 5 |
| Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital | 3 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating improved from 3 to 4 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 12.5% | 16.4% | 15.4% | better |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 7.4% | 5.1% | 5.4% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 0.5% | 0.8% | 0.9% | better |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 0.4% | 1.8% | 2.0% | better |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 67.9% | 15.5% | 6.5% | worse than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.1% | 0.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 4.0% | 3.4% | 3.3% | worse |
| Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened | 13.7% | 15.4% | 16.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 10.2% | 19.5% | 18.9% | better |
| Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 97.3% | 94.8% | 95.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 3.6% | 4.2% | 4.7% | better |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 13.7% | 21.2% | 21.2% | better |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 15.1% | 21.4% | 17.1% | better |
| Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication | 0.0% | 1.4% | 1.4% | better |
| Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 84.8% | 77.7% | 79.4% | typical |
| Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission | 27.1% | 25.7% | 22.6% | worse |
| Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit | 16.8% | 11.9% | 12.0% | worse |
| Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days | 1.82 | 1.88 | 1.67 | typical |
| Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days | 1.13 | 1.50 | 1.80 | better |
‡ On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
59.0% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 76 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.
Met the expected recovery: 41.3% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 46 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.
Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.21 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 25% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.
Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 22% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | 59.0%CMS range 45.1–68.9 | 51.5% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | 9.3%CMS range 6.0–13.2 | 10.7% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | 41.3% | 56.6% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | 34.8% | 52.8% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | 43.5% | 50.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | 100.0% | 98.7% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | 100.0% | 98.7% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | 0.0% | 0.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | 0.0% | 1.9% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | 6.1%CMS range 2.6–11.0 | 7.1% | Oct 2023–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | 0.72 | 1.02 | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 83 beds and averages 76.9 residents a day — about 93% occupied, or roughly 6 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.88 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.37 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.46 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.58 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 4.00 on weekdays — 10% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.46 to 0.16 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 15% is below the national median of 45%.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are fewer than at the previous inspection — improving. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
15 citations, most serious first. The 10 most serious are shown; the remaining 5 are one tap away and print in full.
- Potential for harm · E2025-12-11 · tag F0584 — failed to keep a safe, clean, comfortable home — patternHonor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observations and interviews, the facility failed to provide a homelike environment during dining on one of two nursing units. Specifically, on the second-floor unit, residents were observed eating meals on meal trays in the dining room.Findings include:On 12/9/25 at 8:42 A.M., the surveyor observed residents in the second-floor dining room eating breakfast. Meals were served to the residents on the trays. On 12/9/25 at 12:12 P.M., the surveyor observed 19 residents eating lunch in the second-floor dining room. All residents had their meals served on the trays. On 12/10/25 at 8:07 A.M., the surveyor observed nine residents, sitting at four different tables eating breakfast in the second-floor dining room. All residents had their meal served to them on the trays. On 12/10/25 at 12:14 P.M., the surveyor observed 19 residents eating lunch in the second-floor dining room. All residents had their meal served to them on the trays. On 12/11/25 at 8:33 A.M., the surveyor observed six residents in the dining room on the second-floor. Three residents had already finished eating their…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-12-11 · tag F0677 — failed to help fully-dependent residents with daily care — isolatedProvide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, record review and interviews, the facility failed to provide assistance with Activities of Daily Living (ADLs), for two Residents (#11 and #20) out of a total sample of 21 residents. Specifically, the facility failed to provide assistance and/or supervision with meals as per the plan of care for Resident #11 and for Resident #20. Findings include:Review of the facility policy titled Activities of Daily Living (ADL), not dated, indicated ADL assistance will be provided according to the needs of the residents. ADL include: bathing, grooming, mobility, incontinence care, positioning, transfer, eating and others. 1a. Resident #11 was admitted to the facility in April 2025 with diagnoses that included major depressive disorder, asthma, presbyopia, chronic kidney disease, and fibromyalgia. Review of most recent Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment, dated 10/31/25, indicated he/she scored a 7 out of a possible 15 on the Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) indicating severe cognitive impairment.…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2025-01-16 · tag F0550 — failed to protect resident dignity and rights — patternHonor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation and interviews the facility failed to provide a dignified dining experience for several residents on one resident care unit (the first floor), out of two resident units. Findings include: Review of the facility policy titled Dignity, not dated, indicated Each resident shall be cared for in a manner that promotes and enhances quality of life, dignity, respect and individuality. Treated with dignity means the resident will be assisted in maintaining and enhancing his or her self-esteem and self-worth. On 1/14/25 from 8:49 A.M. to 8:59 A.M., the surveyor observed a nurse standing while feeding a resident in his/her room. On 1/15/25 from 8:11 A.M. to 8:20 A.M., the surveyor observed a staff member deliver a resident his/her breakfast tray to the resident room. The staff member did not set up the tray but left it within reach of the resident and then exited the room. The surveyor observed the resident unable to initiate self-feeding. During lunch service in the first floor dining room on 1/14/25 at 12:01 P.M., a Resident was sitting at a table with three other…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-01-16 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolatedDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to develop a care plan for one Resident (#53), out of a total sample of 19 residents. Specifically, the facility failed to develop a vision care plan. Findings Include: Review of the policy titled Care Plan-Comprehensive, undated, indicated: Policy: -An individualized comprehensive care plan that includes measurable objectives and timetables to meet the resident's of medical, nursing, mental and psychological needs is developed for each resident. -Residents will have a person-centered comprehensive care plan developed and implemented to meet his other preferences and goals, and address the resident's medical, physical, mental and psychological needs. -For newly admitted residents, the comprehensive care plan must be completed within seven days of the completion of the comprehensive assessment (MDS admission Assessment) and no more than 21 days after admission. Resident #53 was admitted to the facility in August 2022 with diagnoses that…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-01-16 · tag F0658 — failed to meet professional standards of care — isolatedEnsure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review and interview, the facility failed for two Residents (#63 and #61), out of a total sample of 19 residents, to provide weekly skin assessments in accordance with the physician's order. Specifically, 1. For Resident #63, the facility failed to complete weekly skin assessments, as per the physician's order, resulting in four missed weekly skin assessments, 2. For Resident #61, the facility failed to complete weekly skin assessments, as per the physician's order. Findings include: Review of the Massachusetts Board of Registration in Nursing Advisory Ruling on Nursing Practice, dated as revised April 11, 2018, indicated: - Nurse's Responsibility and Accountability: Licensed nurses accept, verify, transcribe, and implement orders from duly authorized prescriber's that are received by a variety of methods (i.e., written, verbal/telephone, standing orders/protocols, pre-printed order sets, electronic) in emergent and non-emergent situations. Licensed nurses in a management role must…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-01-16 · tag F0677 — failed to help fully-dependent residents with daily care — isolatedProvide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, record review and interviews, the facility failed to provide assistance with Activities of Daily Living (ADLs), for two Residents (#45 and #64) out of a total sample of 19 residents. Specifically, the facility failed to provide assistance and/or supervision with meals as per the plan of care for Resident #45 and for Resident #64. Findings include: Review of the facility policy titled Activity of Daily Living, not dated, indicated ADL assistance will be provided according to the needs of the residents. ADL include bathing, grooming, dressing, mobility, incontinence care, positioning, transfer, eating and others. 1a. Resident #45 was admitted to the facility in September 2024 with diagnoses that included dementia, dysphagia, cognitive communication deficit and depression. Review of Resident #45's most recent Minimum Data Set (MDS), dated [DATE], indicated he/she scored a 3 out of a possible 15 on the Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) indicating severe cognitive impairments. The MDS…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-01-16 · tag F0887 — isolatedEducate residents and staff on COVID-19 vaccination, offer the COVID-19 vaccine to eligible residents and staff after education, and properly document each resident and staff member's vaccination status.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on policy review and interview, the facility failed to educate and offer the COVID-19 vaccine to one of one (Nurse #3) sampled staff member. Findings include: Review of the facility policy COVID-19 Infection Control Protocol dated as revised 11/6/23, indicated: All employees are encouraged to be vaccinated with the current vaccine requirements to be considered vaccinated according to DPH guidelines. We will honor employees' wishes and can decline vaccine booster for religious, medical and personal reasons in accordance to the most current DPH guidelines. During an interview with the Director of Nursing (DON) on 1/16/25 at 9:32 A.M., the surveyor requested evidence that the facility had educated Nurse #3 on the benefits and risks and potential side effects associated with the COVID-19 vaccine. The surveyor also requested evidence the facility had offered Nurse #3 the COVID-19 vaccine or information on obtaining the vaccine. The DON said the facility had not educated Nurse #3 about the COVID-19 vaccine or offered the COVID-19 vaccine, or provided information either verbally or…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · F2024-01-29 · tag F0804 — failed to serve food at safe, palatable temperature — widespreadEnsure food and drink is palatable, attractive, and at a safe and appetizing temperature.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation and interviews, the facility failed to serve food that is palatable, and at a safe and appetizing temperature, on two out of two units. Findings include: During an initial tour of the 1st and 2nd floor Units on 1/24/24 the surveyors met with the residents and the following concerns were expressed: -At 8:23 A.M. Resident #12 said he/she disliked the food at the facility. -At 8:36 A.M. Resident #17 said the meals are horrible. -At 8:50 A.M. Resident #222 said he/she disliked the food at the facility. -At 9:10 A.M. Resident #49 said the tea and oatmeal is often cold. On 1/25/24 at 7:30 A.M., during the breakfast tray line observation, the surveyor observed that the plate warmer was not being utilized and that all resident drinks were pre-poured and already on the trays. On 1/25/24 at 8:07 A.M., the 2nd floor food truck arrived to the resident care unit. After all resident trays were served the surveyor received the test tray at 8:13 A.M., and the following was recorded and observed: - Milk was 61.3 degrees Fahrenheit and tasted room temperature, not cold. - Juice…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · F2024-01-29 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespreadProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, policy review, and interview, the facility failed to store food in accordance with professional standards for food service safety. Specifically, the facility failed to ensure produce with significant signs of decomposition was discarded, that staff did not store their drinks with resident food and ingredients, and that food was labeled and not kept beyond the use-by date in the main kitchen and unit kitchenettes. Findings include: Review of the undated facility's policy titled Food Handling indicated, but was not limited to, the following: - Food will be stored, prepared, handled and served so that the risk of foodborne illness is minimized. - Prepared foods should be checked before serving to residents and non-labeled and foods older than 72 hours should be discarded. - Food should be stored appropriately in the refrigerator or at room temperature. - Foods should be labeled when opened and foods prepared in the facility should also be labeled. - Foods should be discarded on or before its expiration date. - Foods prepared in the facility should be discarded…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-01-29 · tag F0565 — failed to support the resident council — isolatedHonor the resident's right to organize and participate in resident/family groups in the facility.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to respond to grievances communicated to staff by the resident council. Specifically, the facility failed to respond to grievances about a lack of showers and green vegetables. Findings include: Review of the facility's policy 'Grievance Policy', (undated), indicated, but was not limited to: - The facility supports each resident's right to voice grievances and assures that after receiving the complaint/grievance, the facility actively seeks a resolution and keeps the resident appropriately apprised of its progress towards resolution. - Grievances can be voiced during the resident council meeting or at any time during the day, - Complaints/grievances can be raised by residents either verbally or in writing. - Residents have the right to prompt efforts by the facility to resolve grievances. - The Social Worker, who is the Grievance Official, retains records of grievances for at least three years and records will be available for review as needed. Grievance procedures included: - Staff member receiving complaint will notify the…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
Show the remaining 5 citations
- Potential for harm · D2024-01-29 · tag F0607 — failed to have anti-abuse policies — isolatedDevelop and implement policies and procedures to prevent abuse, neglect, and theft.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observations, interviews, and record review, the facility failed to implement their Abuse policy when one Resident (#14) alleged he/she witnessed the abuse of his/her roommate, out of a total sample of 25 residents. Specifically, Resident #14 alleged that he/she witnessed Nurse #5 physically abuse his/her roommate in October 2023, and on 1/25/24 at 9:27 A.M., the surveyor made the Nursing Home Administrator (NHA) aware of Resident #14's allegation. Findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled, Abuse Prevention Program: Investigations and Protection of Patients, undated, indicated the following: -Should an incident or suspected incident of resident abuse, mistreatment, neglect or injury of unknown source be reported, the Administrator or his/her designee will appoint a member of management to investigate the alleged incident. The Clinical Director is responsible for investigation if needed. -The Administrator, Clinical Director, or designee will report the suspected abuse to the Department of Public health, Elder Abuse Hotline, the Police, or other regulating…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-01-29 · tag F0609 — failed to report abuse allegations — isolatedTimely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interviews and record review, the facility failed to report an allegation of abuse to the State Agency no later than two hours after the allegation was made. Specifically, on 10/19/23 Resident #14 reported to the facility that he/she witnessed Nurse #5 abuse his/her roommate and the allegation was not reported to the Department of Public Health (DPH) Health Care Facility Report Agency (HCFRS) until 1/25/24 when the surveyor discussed the allegation with the Nursing Home Administrator (NHA). Findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled, Abuse Prevention Program: Investigations and Protection of Patients, undated, indicated the following: -The Administrator, Clinical Director, or designee will report the suspected abuse to the Department of Public health, Elder Abuse Hotline, the Police, or other regulating bodies as indicated. Resident #14 was admitted to the facility in June 2021 with diagnoses including major depressive disorder and diabetes. Review of Resident #14's most recent Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment, dated 11/29/23, indicated that on the Brief…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-01-29 · tag F0610 — failed to investigate and act on abuse reports — isolatedRespond appropriately to all alleged violations.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interviews and record review, the facility failed to thoroughly investigate an allegation of abuse by one Resident (#14) out of a total sample of 25 residents. Findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled, Abuse Prevention Program, undated, indicated but is not limited to the following: Our abuse prevention program provides policies and procedures that govern, as a minimum: -Identification of occurrences and patterns of potential mistreatment/abuse. -The protection of residents during abuse investigation -Timely and thorough investigations of all reports and allegations of abuse. -An ongoing review and analysis of abuse incidents; and the implementation of changes to prevent future occurrences of abuse. Review of the facility's policy titled, Abuse Prevention Program: Investigations and Protection of Patients, undated, indicated the following: -Should an incident or suspected incident of resident abuse, mistreatment, neglect or injury of unknown source be reported, the Administrator or his/her designee will appoint a member of management to investigate the…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-01-29 · tag F0677 — failed to help fully-dependent residents with daily care — isolatedProvide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, interviews and record review, for two Residents (#31 and #12) out of 25 sampled residents, the facility failed to provide supervision during meals. Specifically, 1. For Resident #31, the facility staff failed to provide supervision and verbal cues during meals. 2. For Resident #12, the facility failed to provide supervision or touching assistance during meals. Findings include: A review of the facility policy titled 'Activities of Daily Living' with no revision date indicated the following: -In order to protect the safety and well-being of staff and residents and to promote quality care, this facility provides assistance with activities of daily living (ADL) as needed. -ADL assistance will be provided according to the needs of the residents. -ADL includes eating. 1. Resident #31 was admitted to the facility in December 2020 with diagnoses including dysphagia and Dementia. A review of the most recent Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE] did not indicate a Brief Interview for…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-01-29 · tag F0759 — failed to keep medication error rate low — isolatedEnsure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observations, records reviews, policy review and interviews for one Resident (#322) out of four residents observed, the facility failed to ensure it was free from a medication error rate of greater than 5% . One out of three nurses observed made two errors out of 27 opportunities resulting in a medication error rate of 7.41%. Specifically, Nurse #2 crushed an extended release diltiazem (a blood pressure lowering medication), which should not have been crushed and administered the incorrect dose of vitamin d3. Findings include: Review of the facility policy 'Administering Medications', undated, indicated, but was not limited to: 4. Medications must by administered in accordance with the orders, including any required time frame. Review of the facility policy 'Crushing Medications', undated, indicated, but was not limited to: -Medications shall be crushed only when it is appropriate and safe to do so, consistent with physician orders. 2. The nursing staff and/or consultant pharmacist shall notify any attending physician who gives an order to crush a drug that the manufacturer…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
No federal fines in the current CMS record.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Share | Since |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ARMENIAN WOMEN'S WELFARE ASSOCIATION INC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | 100% | since 10/22/2022 |
| AROYIAN, ANI | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | — | since 01/01/2025 |
| BALIAN, ANI | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | — | since 10/01/2025 |
| DAGG, HANNA | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR; CORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | — | since 03/31/2021 |
| FITZGERALD, LUANN | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | — | since 08/01/2024 |
| GHAZARIANS, MANNEH | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR; CORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | — | since 04/01/2025 |
| MAHROKHIAN, SANAN | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | — | since 11/01/2025 |
| MANJIKIAN, LAURIE | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR; CORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | — | since 10/01/2023 |
| SEGREST, WENDY | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR; CORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | — | since 05/01/2024 |
| YENIKOMSHIAN, ALYSSA | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR; CORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | — | since 10/01/2023 |
| ZOHRABYAN, TATEVIK | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | — | since 10/01/2025 |
| BAKER TILLY ADVISORY GROUP LP | Organization | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 02/19/2025 |
| BAKER TILLY US LLP | Organization | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 02/05/2025 |
| CHELSEA JEWISH LIFECARE INC | Organization | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 04/14/2025 |
| BERMAN, ADAM | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 10/22/2024 |
| CRESCENZO, DONNA | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | — | since 12/13/2010 |
| DE LEON, RENATO | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 10/01/2022 |
| LWOMWA, JULIUS | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 12/17/2024 |
| MABLI, CONSTANCE | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | — | since 11/13/1977 |
| MARTINEZ, ESTANISIAO | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 12/20/2022 |
| MULLEN, ELIZABETH | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 10/24/2022 |
| PINEIRO, MANUEL | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 05/30/1996 |
| SANTERRE, JENNIFER | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 10/24/2022 |
| JOHNSON, SUSAN | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 09/30/2019 |
| PAUL, JASON | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 02/07/2023 |
| WARNER, RONALD | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 04/15/2025 |
CMS files one row per role, so the 52 rows in the source record cover these 26 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.
4 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.
Follow the money — this home’s finances
Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.
This home reported $474K paid to related parties (affiliated landlords or management companies) in its most recent cost report. A reported operating loss is common in this industry and is not by itself a sign of trouble — but paired with large related-party payments it can mean profit is being taken elsewhere in the ownership structure.
Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.
Cost & finances
Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.
What families pay in MA
This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Massachusetts Medicaid page.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 225417. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-12-11, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.