Horizons Living and Rehab Center
29 Maurice Drive, Brunswick, ME 04011 · For profit - Corporation · 65 certified beds · (207) 725-7495 Medicare & Medicaid certified
This home’s record is mixed — some reassuring signs, some worth asking about.
- a middle-of-the-pack inspection score (3/5)
- no federal fines or payment denials on record
- a high payroll-based staffing rating (5/5)
- lower-than-typical staff turnover (24% vs 45% nationally) — better care continuity
- a high number of inspection citations overall (20) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
- its payroll-based staffing score sits well above its independent inspection score
- its facility-reported quality-measure rating is low (2/5)
- its last standard health inspection was over 2 years ago — the star rating may not reflect current conditions
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 3 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 5 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 2 of 5 |
Worth a closer look. This home's staffing rating runs 2 stars above its independent health-inspection score. The inspection is done by state surveyors; the staffing score rests on the facility's own payroll (PBJ) submissions — so a gap this large is worth reading the inspection record for.
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 2 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 1 of 5 |
| Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital | 3 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating held steady at 4 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 31.6% | 24.4% | 15.4% | worse |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 11.5% | 5.2% | 5.4% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 6.5% | 1.1% | 0.9% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 2.3% | 2.2% | 2.0% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 1.5% | 11.6% | 6.5% | better |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.1% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 4.2% | 4.1% | 3.3% | worse |
| Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened | 25.4% | 25.6% | 16.1% | worse |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 10.2% | 17.4% | 18.9% | better |
| Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 96.4% | 95.5% | 95.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 2.6% | 4.3% | 4.7% | better |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 29.5% | 29.2% | 21.2% | worse |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 15.7% | 20.2% | 17.1% | typical |
| Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication | 0.0% | 1.2% | 1.4% | better |
| Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 77.8% | 74.5% | 79.4% | typical |
| Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission | 19.4% | 20.8% | 22.6% | better |
| Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit | 16.7% | 16.1% | 12.0% | worse |
| Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days | 2.37 | 1.45 | 1.67 | worse |
| Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days | 1.87 | 2.01 | 1.80 | typical |
‡ On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
47.8% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 75 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.
Met the expected recovery: 45.2% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 31 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.
Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.28 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 41% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.
Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 19% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | 47.8%CMS range 38.8–57.3 | 51.5% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | 11.4%CMS range 7.7–15.2 | 10.7% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | 45.2% | 56.6% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | 32.3% | 52.8% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | 41.9% | 50.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | 88.6% | 98.7% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | 0.0% | 0.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | 0.0% | 1.9% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | 7.9%CMS range 4.2–13.7 | 7.1% | Oct 2023–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | 0.81 | 1.02 | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 65 beds and averages 58.9 residents a day — about 91% occupied, or roughly 6 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 4.71 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 1.00 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.82 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.93 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 5.03 on weekdays — 22% thinner on weekends — a notable drop. RN hours go from 1.20 to 0.52 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 24% is below the national median of 45%.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
This trend is not current. The most recent of these two inspections was over 2 years ago; the arrow describes what inspectors found then, not what the home is like now.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
20 citations, most serious first. The 10 most serious are shown; the remaining 10 are one tap away and print in full.
- Potential for harm · E2024-08-28 · tag F0623 — patternProvide timely notification to the resident, and if applicable to the resident representative and ombudsman, before transfer or discharge, including appeal rights.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to notify the resident, family and/or the resident's representative in writing of the transfers/discharge to an acute care hospital for 5 of 6 residents sampled for hospitalizations (Residents #7, #108, #31, #28 and #35). Findings: 1. Documentation in Resident #7's clinical record indicated that the resident was transferred to the hospital on 3/2/24 and 4/7/24 and subsequently admitted . The clinical record lacked evidence that Resident #7 and/or the resident representative were provided with written transfer/discharge notices upon either transfer. 2. Documentation in Resident #108's clinical record indicated that the resident was transferred to the hospital on 8/23/24 and returned on 8/24/24. The clinical record lacked evidence that Resident #108 and/or the resident representative were provided with written transfer/discharge notices upon transfer. On 8/26/24 at 2:34 p.m., in an interview with a surveyor, the nurse manager of the [NAME] Unit stated the…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2024-08-28 · tag F0625 — patternNotify the resident or the resident’s representative in writing how long the nursing home will hold the resident’s bed in cases of transfer to a hospital or therapeutic leave.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to issue a bed hold notice which included the daily bed hold cost, to a resident, known family member and/or legal representative for 5 of 6 sampled residents who had been transferred to the hospital ((Residents #7, #108, #31, #28 and #35). Findings: 1. Resident #7's clinical record revealed the resident was transferred to an acute care hospital on 3/2/24 and 4/7/24 and subsequently admitted . The clinical record lacked evidence that Resident #7 and/or the resident representative were provided with a written bed hold notices upon either transfer. 2. Resident #108's clinical record revealed that the resident was transferred to the hospital on 8/23/24 and returned on 8/24/24. The clinical record lacked evidence that Resident #108 and/or the resident representative were provided with a written bed hold notice upon transfer. 3. Resident 31's clinical record revealed the resident was transferred to an acute care hospital on 8/1924 and 8/21/24 and admitted . The clinical record lacked evidence that Resident #31 and/or the resident…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2024-08-28 · tag F0678 — failed to provide CPR when needed — patternProvide basic life support, including CPR, prior to the arrival of emergency medical personnel , subject to physician orders and the resident’s advance directives.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interviews and record reviews the facility failed to ensure all facility staff maintain training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) for Healthcare Providers, resulting in staff who are responsible for providing CPR without an active CPR certificate for 8 of 27 days reviewed. This has the potential to effect all of the residents. Findings: On [DATE] an anonymous staff member expressed concerns about facility staff not recieving education or maintaining their CPR Certification. On [DATE] at 2:24 p.m., during an interview, the Director of Nursing (DON) stated she herself was not CPR certified, it's not a facility requirement for staff and she does not know what staff are current with their CPR certification. On [DATE] at 3:20 p.m., the Administrator confirmed there are 7 of 56 residents who are Full Code and could potentially require CPR however, all residents are at risk for choking. A review of the facility staffing with CPR certification for the month of August had the following shifts where there…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2024-08-28 · tag F0730 — patternObserve each nurse aide's job performance and give regular training.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on review of annual evaluations and interviews, the facility failed to complete a annual performance evaluation for Certified Nursing Assistants (CNA) at least every 12 months, for 5 of 5 CNA's reviewed with employment greater than 1 year (CNA #12, CNA #13, CNA #14, CNA #15, CNA #16). Findings: On 8/28/24, a surveyor reviewed the following employee files: 1. CNA #12 was hired on 8/19/2020. The employee file lacked evidence of an annual review being completed since date of hire. 2. CNA #13 was hired on 8/4/2021. The employee file lacked evidence of an annual review being completed since date of hire. 3. CNA #14 was hired on 8/10/2022. The employee file lacked evidence of an annual review being completed since date of hire. 4. CNA #15 was hired on 9/16/2021. The employee file lacked evidence of an annual review being completed since date of hire. 5. CNA #16 was hired on 7/29/2020. The employee file lacked evidence of an annual review being completed since date of hire. On 8/28/24 at 12:30 p.m., during an interview, the Director of Nursing confirmed that the annual performance…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2024-08-28 · tag F0835 — failed to run the facility competently — patternAdminister the facility in a manner that enables it to use its resources effectively and efficiently.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on the cumulative effect of deficiencies cited during the recertification survey from 8/26/24 through 8/28/24, the facility was not administered in a manner that enabled residents to attain or maintain their highest practicable well-being as evidenced by Federal findings listed under 483.10- Resident rights (F558, F585); 483.15- Resident Notification (F623, F625); 483.24- Quality of Life (F678); 483.25- Quality of Care (F684); 483.35- Nursing Services (F726, F730, T206); 483.60- Food Safety (F812) and 483.95- Training Requirements (F940, F947). These failures to assure a process was in place to monitor staff development and resident care resulted in the facility failing to assist residents to maintain their highest functional and practicable well-being and has the potential to affect all 56 residents. In addition, the Administration failed to follow the Facility Assessment ensuring staff education/training and competencies were completed and failed to ensure policies and procedures were reviewed and updated annually. Findings: 1. Based on interviews and record review, the…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2024-08-28 · tag F0940 — failed to train staff — patternDevelop, implement, and/or maintain an effective training program for all new and existing staff members.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and employee personnel record reviews, the facility failed to implement and maintain effective training programs for nursing staff in the areas of cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR), nursing competencies, dementia care, resident rights and the required 12 hours of annual in-service education training for Certified Nurses Aid (CNA) for 11 of 12 newly hired nursing staff reviewed and 4 of 5 randomly selected CNAs employed greater than 1 year. Findings: Review of the Facility Assessment, revised on [DATE] under section, Staff education, Training and Competencies states, every position has a job description that identifies the required education and credentials for the specific job. All credentials in education are verified before hiring. All employees are trained in the following topics upon hire and annually: Resident rights and Dementia and dealing with difficult behaviors and competencies are based on current standards of practice and may include knowledge and a test, knowledge and a return…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2024-08-28 · tag F0947 — failed to train nurse aides adequately — patternEnsure nurse aides have the skills they need to care for residents, and give nurse aides education in dementia care and abuse prevention.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) employee education record review and interview, the facility failed to monitor and ensure that the CNA attended the required 12 hours of annual in-service education training and the mandatory yearly trainings for dementia care and resident rights for 4 of 5 randomly selected CNAs employed greater than 1 year (CNA #13, CNA #14, CNA #15, CNA #16). Findings On 8/28/24, a surveyor reviewed the following employee education files: 1. CNA #13 was hired 8/4/21. Review of CNA #13 Employee In-service/attendance Records lacked evidence of dementia and resident rights training. In addition, she has 7.5 of the 12 hours required for continuing education for the year of 2023. 2. CNA #14 was hired 8/10/22. Review of CNA #14 Employee In-service/attendance Records lacked evidence of dementia training. In addition, she has 9 of the 12 hours required for continuing education of the year 2023. 3. CNA #15 was hired 9/16/21. Review of CNA #15 Employee In-service/attendance Records lacked evidence of dementia training and resident rights training. In addition, she…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-08-28 · tag F0558 — failed to accommodate residents' needs and preferences — isolatedReasonably accommodate the needs and preferences of each resident.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interviews and record review, the facility failed to ensure accommodations were made for a resident, to include the facility's bathing schedule and resident preferences for 1 of 1 resident reviewed for activities of daily living (Resident #24). Findings On 8/26/24 at 8:20 a.m. and again on 8/27/24 at 7:55 a.m. during interviews, Resident #24 stated he/she had not received a shower in seven days and prefers to be bathed in the morning two times a week. Resident #24 stated he/she has informed the Certified Nurses Aide (CNA), a Registered Nurse, and the Nurse Practitioner of his/her preferences on multiple occasions. On 8/26/24 at 12:46 p.m., observation of the Stowes Unit weekly shower schedule dated 5/2/24 indicated Resident #24 was to receive a shower Wednesday evenings. At this time during a brief interview, CNA #11 stated, the posted shower schedule was incorrect, and she follows the daily CNA schedule, which has the showers to be completed for that shift highlighted. She confirmed Resident #24 does…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-08-28 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolatedProvide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interviews and record reviews, the facility failed to provide follow up care for 1 of 1 resident reviewed with a pacemaker. (Resident #11) Finding: Review of the admission Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment completed on 12/6/23 noted he/she had an implanted pacemaker listed under diagnosis. A further review of the Electronic Medical Record (EMR) lacked any details about the implanted pacemaker or facility follow and/or monitoring of the pacemaker's functioning. The care plan instructed the Registered Nurse (RN) to monitor/document/report a pulse rate lower than programmed rate. The programmed rate was not located in the EMR. On 8/27/24 at 1:04 p.m. during an interview, the Licensed Practical Nurse #1 confirmed she did not know Resident #11 had a pacemaker. On 8/27/24 at 2:00 p.m. during an interview, the RN #2 stated anyone with a pacemaker would be followed by cardiology. RN #2 was unable to provide documentation on Resident #11's pacemaker programmed rate, if his/her pacemaker checks had been completed…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-08-28 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — isolatedProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing
Based on observations and interviews, the facility failed to serve and store food in a sanitary manner during 1 of 1 observations of the refrigerator in the main dining room. Finding: On 8/26/24 at 12:20 p.m., observaton of the main dining room refrigerator lacked documentation of temperature monitoring and a very large amount of a red fluid covered the bottom of the freezer. At this time, the food service manager confirmed the observation.
Show the remaining 10 citations
- Potential for harm · E2022-05-11 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — patternEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review, observation and interviews, the facility failed to date biological's after opened and according to manufacturer specifications and failed to ensure expired medications were removed from the supply available for use in 1 of 2 medication rooms, 3 out of 3 medication carts and 1 of 3 treatment carts. In addition, the facility failed to adequately store controlled substances in a permanently affixed compartment and double locked in 1 of 2 medication rooms observed. Findings: Guardian Pharmacy policy and procedure for Controlled Substance Storage, effective 5/1/18 states in Section B: Schedule [II-V] medications and other medications subject to abuse or diversion are stored in a permanently affixed, double-locked compartment separate from all other medications or per state regulation and Section C: Controlled substances that require refrigeration are stored within a locked box within the refrigerator. For NF/SNF facilities, this box must be attached to the inside of the refrigerator. 1. On…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2022-05-11 · tag F0584 — failed to keep a safe, clean, comfortable home — isolatedHonor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations and interview, the facility failed to adequately ensure maintenance services necessary to maintain resident's wheelchairs in good repair and sanitary condition and failed to maintain a clean homelike environment on 2 of 3 units ([NAME] and [NAME]). Findings: From 5/9/22 - 5/10/22 a surveyor observed the following: 1. [NAME] unit; room [ROOM NUMBER], 102A and 121 wheelchair armrests were ripped/torn and missing material, creating uncleanable surfaces. 2. [NAME] Unit: room [ROOM NUMBER] wheelchair armrests were ripped/torn and missing material, creating uncleanable surface. 3 stained ceiling tiles in between the nurse's station and the kitchenette, 1 stained ceiling tile above the cabinets in kitchenette and 2 stained ceiling tiles in the TV room across from the kitchenette. The hall fan wire cover, between room [ROOM NUMBER] and 107, was ripped from the wall, peeling off paint with several pieces of scotch tape holding it in place. On 5/10/22 at 4:32 p.m., a surveyor confirmed the above…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2022-05-11 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolatedDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure that a care plan included a care area for diabetes management for 1 of 36 sampled residents with care plans developed electronically (#25), Finding: Resident #25 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with a diagnosis of Diabetes Mellitus and is on medications related to diabetes management. The medical record lacked evidence that a comprehensive care plan had been developed in the areas of diabetes mellitus management. On 5/11/22 at 12:45 p.m., during an interview with the Director of Nursing, a surveyor confirmed this finding.
- Potential for harm · D2022-05-11 · tag F0755 — failed to provide safe pharmacy services — isolatedProvide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to establish a system of records for disposition for all controlled drugs to enable accurate reconciliation for the use of Fentanyl (controlled substance, schedule II) transdermal patch for 2 of 3 residents reviewed for Fentanyl transdermal patch use (#37 and #51). Findings: On 12/10/21 at 4:19 p.m., Division of Licensing received the following facility report of drug diversion: On 12/10/21 at 9:30 a.m., Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN #1) became acutely ill while working and was sent to the hospital. LPN #2 was unable to find Resident #37's Fentanyl patch on his/her person that had noted to be in place at the onset of LPN #1's shift and discovered the narcotic count for the Resident #37 Fentanyl patches was missing one patch. On 12/15/21 the facilities follow up indicated both of the patches were found at the hospital with LPN #1. The actions taken by the facility stated, they had revised our Fentanyl patch polices to include a policy of two nurse's signing off when removing and old patch and accounting for the destruction of…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2019-10-24 · tag F0583 — failed to protect personal privacy — isolatedKeep residents' personal and medical records private and confidential.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations and interviews, the facility failed to ensure the confidentiality of protected health information for 3 of 62 residents 2 of 4 days of survey (Residents #2, #25 and #37). Findings: 1. On 10/22/19 at 7:40 a.m., a surveyor observed the [NAME] Medication Cart computer, located in the hallway, with a full open display monitor unlocked, leaving Resident #37's electronic Medication Administration Record (eMAR) displayed, visible and easily accessible to residents, visitors or other unauthorized persons. There were two residents near the area. Approximately five (5) minutes later, a Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) returned to the [NAME] Medication cart computer and secured the screen from view. The LPN stated he/she had brought a resident to the main dining room off the unit. On 10/22/19 at 7:45 a.m. in an interview with the LPN, the surveyor confirmed that the screen with the eMAR was open and confirmed the concern for exposing clinical information on the medication cart computer. 2. On 10/23/19…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- No harm found · C2024-08-28 · tag F0585 — failed to handle grievances — widespreadHonor the resident's right to voice grievances without discrimination or reprisal and the facility must establish a grievance policy and make prompt efforts to resolve grievances.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interviews and record review the facility failed to develop and implement a grievance policy which includes the resident's rights to a grievance, how to file and/or access grievance forms including anonymously and the response or resolution to grievances. Findings: On 8/27/24 at 1:30 p.m. during an interview with resident council members. Residents #32, #35, and #40 were unaware that they could file a grievance, how to make a formal grievance, or that a grievance could be filed anonymously. Resident #32 stated on each unit there is a box where he/she believes a resident can make a complaint. He/she stated the box on the [NAME] Unit is behind the medication cart, inaccessible and too high for residents to reach in wheelchairs. On 8/27/24 observation of the comment and suggestion boxes on all three units ([NAME], [NAME], and [NAME]) are inaccessible for residents in wheelchairs, in addition [NAME]'s comment and suggestions box was located behind the medication cart. On 8/26/24 at 1:50 p.m., during an…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- No harm found · B2022-05-11 · tag F0641 — patternEnsure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on electronic medical records review and interviews, the facility failed to ensure that a Minimum Data Set, version 3.0 (MDS) was accurately coded in the area of restraints for 12 of 12 residents reviewed for restraints. In addition, the facility failed to ensure that an MDS was accurately coded in the area of Active diagnosis for 1 of 36 sampled residents. (#8, #11, #18, #25, #26, #29, #30, #33, #35, #36, #37, #44). Findings: The facilities Side Rail Consent form states: Side rails are used as enablers (to help us do something) or because they are medically necessary (as seizure precautions as an example). They are never used as a restraint at Horizons Living and Rehab Center. 1. Review of Resident #8's electronic charting revealed completion of a Side Rail Consent Form dated 5/21/18 which noted the Resident uses 2 side rails to assist resident in repositioning in bed. Resident #8's Annual MDS assessment dated [DATE], was inaccurately coded in Section P: Physical Restraints, stating bed rails used daily…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- No harm found · B2022-05-11 · tag F0732 — patternPost nurse staffing information every day.
What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing
Based on observation and interview, the facility failed to post the current daily nurse staffing information that includes the facility name, day of the month, a breakdown of the number of registered and licensed nursing staff responsible for direct resident care and indicate which shifts the numbers corresponded to, for 2 of 3 survey days. Finding: On 5/11/22 at 10:15 a.m., two surveyors observed that the posted nurse staffing information date was for 5/9/22. On 5/11/22 at 10:30 a.m., in an interview with the Director of Nursing the surveyor confirmed, that the posted nurse staffing information was not up to date.
- No harm found · Bcited before2019-10-24 · tag F0730 — patternObserve each nurse aide's job performance and give regular training.
What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing
Based on performance evaluation reviews and interview, the facility failed to complete a performance evaluation at least every twelve months for 4 of 4 Certified Nurse Assistant (C.N.A.) performance evaluations reviewed (C.N.A.#1, 2, 3 and 4). Findings: 1. A review of C.N.A. #1's performance evaluations indicated that C.N.A. #1 received a performance evaluation on 8/20/18. 2. A review of C.N.A. #2's performance evaluations indicated that C.N.A. #2 received a performance evaluation on 5/17/18. 3. A review of C.N.A. #3's performance evaluations indicated that C.N.A. #3 received a performance evaluation on 6/29/18. 4. A review of C.N.A.#4's performance evaluations indicated that C.N.A. #4 received a performance evaluation on 5/15/18. On 10/23/19 at 1:21 PM, in an interview with the Director of Nursing (DON) and the Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN), Nursing Support Services, the surveyor confirmed the 4 sampled CNA employee files lacked performance evaluations in the past 12 months.
- No harm found · Bcited before2019-10-24 · tag F0947 — failed to train nurse aides adequately — patternEnsure nurse aides have the skills they need to care for residents, and give nurse aides education in dementia care and abuse prevention.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on review of the facility's Staff Attendance records and interview, the facility failed to monitor and ensure Certified Nursing Assistants (CNAs) attended the required 12 hours of annual in-service education which included Abuse, Resident Rights and Dementia in-services for 2 of 4 randomly selected CNAs employed greater than 1 year (CNA #3 and #4). Findings: 1. Documentation on CNA #3's Staff Attendance sheet indicated a hire date of 5/5/16. The in-services documented between 10/2018 and 10/2019 indicated that CNA #3 received 6 hours of training. 2. Documentation on CNA #4's Staff Attendance sheet indicated a hire date of 11/12/15. The in-services documented between 10/2018 and 10/2019 indicated that CNA #4 received 3.33 hours of training and did not receive any dementia training. On 10/23/19 at 1:21 PM in an interview with the Director of Nursing (DON) and the Nursing Support Services Licensed Practical Nurse, the surveyor confirmed that both CNAs did not receive the required annual12 hours of training and that CNA #4 did not attend an in-service on Dementia in the past 12…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
No federal fines in the current CMS record.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Share | Since |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ROUSSEAU, MITCHELL | Individual | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; CORPORATE OFFICER; ADP OF THE SNF | 100% | since 06/14/2011 |
| BERMAN, KIRSTEN | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 01/01/2023 |
| DAVISON, LESLEY | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 01/21/2025 |
| DAVISON, PETER | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 06/15/2011 |
CMS files one row per role, so the 9 rows in the source record cover these 4 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.
Follow the money — this home’s finances
Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.
Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.
Cost & finances
Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.
What families pay in ME
This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Maine Medicaid page.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 205085. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2024-08-28, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.