Pinnacle Health & Rehab At Sanford
1142 Main St, Sanford, ME 04073 · For profit - Corporation · 86 certified beds · (207) 324-2273 Medicare & Medicaid certified
On the public record, this home looks stronger than most — but visit before you decide.
- a strong health-inspection score (5/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
- no harm-level citations in the current inspection record
- no federal fines or payment denials on record
- a high payroll-based staffing rating (4/5)
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 5 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 4 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 3 of 5 |
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 3 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 3 of 5 |
| Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital | 2 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating improved from 4 to 5 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 24.5% | 24.4% | 15.4% | worse |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 4.9% | 5.2% | 5.4% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 0.0% | 1.1% | 0.9% | better |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 2.4% | 2.2% | 2.0% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 8.4% | 11.6% | 6.5% | worse |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.1% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 3.2% | 4.1% | 3.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened | 22.9% | 25.6% | 16.1% | worse |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 13.9% | 17.4% | 18.9% | better |
| Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 100.0% | 95.5% | 95.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 3.8% | 4.3% | 4.7% | better |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 18.5% | 29.2% | 21.2% | better |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 14.0% | 20.2% | 17.1% | better |
| Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication | 0.0% | 1.2% | 1.4% | better |
| Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 93.3% | 74.5% | 79.4% | better |
| Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission | 26.2% | 20.8% | 22.6% | worse |
| Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit | 21.6% | 16.1% | 12.0% | worse |
| Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days | 1.63 | 1.45 | 1.67 | typical |
| Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days | 1.08 | 2.01 | 1.80 | better |
‡ On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
42.3% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 75 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.
Met the expected recovery: 50.0% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 38 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.
Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.30 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 47% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.
Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 14% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | 42.3%CMS range 31.8–53.9 | 51.5% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | 11.6%CMS range 8.3–16.3 | 10.7% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | 50.0% | 56.6% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | 36.8% | 52.8% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | 42.1% | 50.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | 97.8% | 98.7% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | 0.0% | 0.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | 0.0% | 1.9% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | 6.8%CMS range 3.6–12.8 | 7.1% | Oct 2023–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | 1.15 | 1.02 | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 86 beds and averages 64.2 residents a day — about 75% occupied, or roughly 22 beds typically open. It usually has some room. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.98 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.54 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.62 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.75 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 4.07 on weekdays — 8% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.65 to 0.25 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 42% is about the same as the national median of 45%.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
12 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2025-02-12 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — patternDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure a person-centered comprehensive care plan was developed in the area of Activities of Daily Living (ADL's) to meet the preferences and goals which included interventions for assistance needed for each resident to attaining or maintaining his or her highest practicable quality of life for 6 of 14 residents care plans reviewed. (Residents 6, 11, 21, 47, 55, 26, and 61) Findings: 1. Review of Resident #6's current ADL self-care performance deficit care plan lacked interventions which included the assistance needed for him/her in the area of eating, personal hygiene, transfers, lower body dressing, bathing, toileting, bed mobility and ambulating. 2. Review of Resident #11's current ADL self-care performance deficit care plan lacked interventions which included the assistance needed for him/her in the area of eating, personal hygiene, lower body dressing, bathing and oral hygiene. 3. Review of Resident #21's current ADL self-care performance deficit care plan lacked interventions which included the assistance needed for…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2025-02-12 · tag F0755 — failed to provide safe pharmacy services — patternProvide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on record reviews, observations and interviews the facility failed to establish a system of records of receipt and disposition of all controlled drugs in sufficient detail to enable an accurate reconciliation by failing to ensure that two people who are authorized to administer medications signed the Shift Count page indicating that they counted all controlled substances at the change of shift for multiple shifts, on 2 of 2 units reviewed. Findings: A review of the facility's Shift Count policy and procedure dated: 2/3/2000, stated under Procedure, 1. All schedule II-V medications will be counted at the change of each shift by the off-going and the on-coming nurse. 3. If the count is correct, the keys change hands and the shift count sheet is signed by both nurses. On 2/11/25 at 11:00 a.m., during a medication storage observation of the Second Floor Medication Room, a surveyor reviewed the Controlled Substance Books and Shift Counts which indicated the facility counts at the change of each shift, approximately 3 times a day. The person authorized to administer medications…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-02-12 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolatedEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing
Based on observation, interviews, and the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) guidance, the facility failed to ensure vaccines were stored in a refrigerator without a freezer compartment for 1 of 3 medication storage refrigerators. Finding: A review of the United States (U.S.) Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: Vaccine Storage and Handling Toolkit dated 3/24/24 stated .Do not store any vaccine in a dormitory-style or bar-style combined refrigerator/freezer unit under any circumstances. On 2/11/25 at 4:00 p.m., during an observation of the First Floor Unit's Medication Room, a surveyor observed a dormitory style refrigerator (small combination refrigerator/freezer unit that is outfitted with one exterior door). The refrigerator contained several vials of purified protein derivative (for tuberculosis testing), and unit dose syringes of pneumococcal and influenza vaccines. On 2/11/25 at 4:20 p.m., the finding was confirmed by the charge nurse and the Infection Preventionist. On 2/12/25 at 10:15 a.m., the finding was discussed with the Administrator.
- Potential for harm · E2024-10-01 · tag F0842 — failed to keep accurate, complete medical records — patternSafeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record reviews, interviews, and facility policy, the facility failed to ensure that clinical records were complete and contained accurate information for 1 of 5 residents records reviewed during complaint investigations (Resident 2). Findings: On 9/13/2024 at 10:19 a.m., the Department of Licensing received a complaint indicating ADL care was not being provided to Resident 2 as stated in the care plan. Review of facility policy Activities of Daily Living dated 1/1/95 states .Activities of daily living include bathing, dressing, ambulation and transfer, eating, and use of speech, language or other functional communication systems.the care plan will identify any unique needs or special treatment and services necessary to maintain or improve functional ability. Resident 2 was admitted on [DATE] and has diagnoses to include Parkinson's disease and is dependent on facility staff for all ADL needs. Review of quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE] revealed Resident 2 had a Brief Interview for Mental…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-10-01 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolatedDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record reviews, interviews, and facility policy, the facility failed to implement interventions outlined in resident's care plan in the area of Activities of Daily Living (ADL) for 1 of 5 residents reviewed during complaint investigations. (Resident 2). Findings: On 9/13/2024 at 10:19 a.m., the Department of Licensing received a complaint indicating ADL care was not being provided to Resident 2 as stated in the care plan. Review of facility policy Comprehensive Care Plans dated 9/3/94 states It is the policy of Pinnacle Health & Rehab [NAME] to develop a comprehensive care plan for each resident, based on the needs identified in the comprehensive assessment .Each resident's plan of care describes the services being furnished to attain or maintain the resident's highest practical level of functioning . Resident 2 was admitted on [DATE] and has diagnoses to include Parkinsons disease and is dependent on facility staff for all ADL needs. Review of quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE] revealed…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-10-01 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolatedProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, interviews, and policy review, the facility failed to provide a sanitary environment to help prevent the development and transmission of disease and infection on 1 of 2 rooms observed (room [ROOM NUMBER]). Findings: Review of facility policy Infection Prevention and Control dated 5/2023 states it is the policy of [Facility] to maintain and active infection prevention and control program (IPCP). The program is designed to provide a safe, sanitary, and comfortable environment and to help prevent the development and transmission of communicable disease and infection. Observation of shared sink in room [ROOM NUMBER] on 10/1/24 at 9:07 a.m., and 1:10 p.m., revealed the following items unlabeled and available for use: 2 deodorant bottles, 2- 8 ounce bottles of body wash, 1 bottle of mouthwash, 1 can of shaving cream. 1 opened can of ginger ale, 1 electric razor, approximately 8 razors held together with a rubber band, one small, soiled basin, and 1 white paper cup containing 1 toothbrush. During…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2023-11-15 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — patternEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observations, record reviews, and interviews, the facility failed to ensure proper medication and biological storage temperatures for 2 of 3 medication refrigerators in 1 of 2 medication storage rooms. Finding: On 11/14/2023 at 1:00 p.m., a surveyor observed the 2 medication refrigerators in the first-floor medication storage room. The upper refrigerator contained insulin, and 2 locked boxes for controlled liquid medications. The second refrigerator contained tuberculin purified protein derivative, influenza, and pneumococcal vaccines. Observation of the temperature logs for the medication refrigerators noted multiple shifts were lacking documentation. The Certified Nursing Assistant-Medications confirmed the finding. On 11/15/2023 at 9:50 a.m., a surveyor observed the first-floor medication room and refrigerator temperature logs with a Licensed Practical Nurse who stated the temperatures are to be checked and documented by a licensed nurse at every shift change. A review of the temperature logs lacked evidence of temperature monitoring of medication room refrigerators as…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2023-11-15 · tag F0584 — failed to keep a safe, clean, comfortable home — isolatedHonor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations and interviews, the facility failed to adequately maintain maintenance services necessary to maintain in good repair and sanitary condition of arm rests of resident's wheelchair, ceiling tiles in hallways and common areas, and thresh-hold of elevator entrance. Findings: 1. On 11/13/2023, at 10:37a.m. surveyor observed wheelchair arms cracked for Resident #5, in room [ROOM NUMBER], creating an uncleanable surface. 2. On 11/14/2023 at 2:00p.m. during an environmental tour with Director of Facilities Management, the following were observed: First floor: Three stained ceiling tiles above the microwave area in the Main Dining Room Three stained ceiling tiles, just outside of the elevator on the first floor Second floor: Three stained ceiling tiles just outside the elevator in the main hallway Three stained ceiling tiles in the 300-wing hallway just outside of room [ROOM NUMBER] 3. On 11/14/2023 at approximately 3:00p.m. surveyor observed thresh-hold floor plate exiting the elevator was buckled…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2022-03-02 · tag F0584 — failed to keep a safe, clean, comfortable home — isolatedHonor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations and interview, the facility failed to adequately provide housekeeping and maintenance services necessary to maintain the building in good repair and in a sanitary condition, on 2 of 2 floors (First and Second), and hallways, for 1 of 1 environmental tour. Findings: On 3/2/22 at 10:00 a.m., during the Environmental Tour with the Nurse Managers of the first and second floors, the following was observed: First-floor: The common hallways of the first-floor nursing unit were observed with a dark, dirty buildup along the edges and in the corners. The floors in rooms 131-138 have a dark, dirty buildup, in the corners, in the bathrooms around the toilet bases, and under the sinks. room [ROOM NUMBER] - The wall to the left of the light switch, is noted to have ripped sheetrock on the corner. The sink vanity has a large light-colored stain. room [ROOM NUMBER]- At the entrance to the room, the rubber strip under the door is coming loose. The wall next to the door frame has peeling paint with exposed…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- No harm found · Bcited before2025-02-12 · tag F0584 — failed to keep a safe, clean, comfortable home — patternHonor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations and interviews, the facility failed to maintain a clean, comfortable and homelike environment on 2 of 2 units. Findings: On 2/12/25 at approximately 9:00 a.m. the following was observed on the First floor: -Resident room [ROOM NUMBER] - Wall behind chair in need of repair. -Many pieces of tape hanging from the ceiling in the main dining room -First floor common area has several dark spots on ceiling strapping -Unpainted repaired area on wall in Spa room. On 2/12/25 at approximately 9:30 a.m. the following was observed on the Second floor: -Stained ceiling tile just outside room [ROOM NUMBER] On 2/12/25 at approximately 10:00a.m. in an interview with the Administrator, the surveyor discussed the environmental observations.
- No harm found · B2022-03-02 · tag F0622 — patternNot transfer or discharge a resident without an adequate reason; and must provide documentation and convey specific information when a resident is transferred or discharged.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and interview, the facility lacked evidence of a written transfer notice indicating rationale for a facility-initiated transfer for 3 of 3 residents reviewed for transfer (#7, #8 and #51). Findings: 1. Documentation in Resident #7's clinical record indicated that he/she was transferred to an acute care hospital on [DATE]. Review of the clinical record lacked evidence of a transfer notice indicating rationale for the facility-initiated transfer. 2. Documentation in Resident #8's clinical record indicated that he/she was transferred to an acute care hospital on [DATE] and 12/12/21. Review of the clinical record lacked evidence of a transfer notice indicating rationale for the facility-initiated transfer. 3. Documentation in Resident #51's clinical record indicated that he/she was transferred to an acute care hospital on 1/4/22. Review of the clinical record lacked evidence of a transfer notice indicating rationale for the facility-initiated transfer. On 3/1/22 at 4:20 p.m., in an interview…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- No harm found · B2022-03-02 · tag F0625 — patternNotify the resident or the resident’s representative in writing how long the nursing home will hold the resident’s bed in cases of transfer to a hospital or therapeutic leave.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to issue a bed hold notice which included the daily bed hold cost, to a resident, known family member or legal representative for 3 of 3 sampled residents who had been transferred to the hospital (#7, #8 and #51). Findings: 1. Resident #7's clinical record revealed the resident was transferred to an acute care hospital on [DATE]. The clinical record contained an incomplete bed-hold notice for the transfer, which did not include the daily bed hold cost. 2. Resident #8's clinical record revealed that the resident was transferred to the hospital on [DATE] and 12/12/21. The clinical record contained incomplete bed-hold notices for both transfers, which did not include the daily bed hold cost. 3. Resident #51's clinical record revealed that the resident was transferred to the hospital on 1/4/22. The clinical record contained an incomplete bed-hold notice for the transfer, which did not include the daily bed hold cost. On 3/2/22 at 9:50 a.m., in an interview…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
No federal fines in the current CMS record.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Share | Since |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NACHFOLGER, ISRAEL | Individual | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; TRUSTEE OF THE SNF; ADP OF THE SNF | 99% | since 01/14/2019 |
| NACHFOLGER, MIRIAM | Individual | DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; GENERAL PARTNERSHIP INTEREST; TRUSTEE OF THE SNF; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 01/14/2019 |
| AMBLER-COTE, ANNE | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 02/01/2020 |
| BERMAN, ARI | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 03/23/2025 |
| MAIN ST REALTY | Organization | ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 02/01/2020 |
CMS files one row per role, so the 13 rows in the source record cover these 5 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.
1 organizational owner listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.
Follow the money — this home’s finances
Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.
This home reported $479K paid to related parties (affiliated landlords or management companies) in its most recent cost report. A reported operating loss is common in this industry and is not by itself a sign of trouble — but paired with large related-party payments it can mean profit is being taken elsewhere in the ownership structure.
Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.
Cost & finances
Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.
What families pay in ME
This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Maine Medicaid page.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 205082. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-02-12, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.