Cass County Medical Care Facility
23770 Hospital St, Cassopolis, MI 49031 · Government - County · 80 certified beds · (269) 228-4000 Medicare & Medicaid certified
This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.
- a strong health-inspection score (4/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
- a high payroll-based staffing rating (5/5)
- it has an abuse, neglect, or exploitation citation (F0600), cited Jun 2026
- it has 3 actual-harm citations
- a high number of inspection citations overall (18) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
- the CMS record shows $15,593 in federal fines (most recent 2024-03-20)
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 4 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 5 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 5 of 5 |
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 5 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 5 of 5 |
| Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital | 5 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating improved from 2 to 5 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 20.6% | 10.8% | 15.4% | worse |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 7.9% | 5.4% | 5.4% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 0.3% | 0.8% | 0.9% | better |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 2.7% | 1.5% | 2.0% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 0.0% | 4.3% | 6.5% | check this* — see note marked star below the table |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.4% | 0.1% | 0.1% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 4.6% | 3.0% | 3.3% | worse |
| Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened | 23.1% | 12.0% | 16.1% | worse |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 10.2% | 19.4% | 18.9% | better |
| Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 100.0% | 95.0% | 95.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 4.9% | 5.1% | 4.7% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 29.2% | 20.0% | 21.2% | worse |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 4.1% | 14.8% | 17.1% | better |
| Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication | 0.0% | 1.1% | 1.4% | better |
| Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 96.4% | 79.5% | 79.4% | better |
| Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission | 36.0% | 24.0% | 22.6% | worse |
| Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit | 0.0% | 11.7% | 12.0% | check this* — see note marked star below the table |
| Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days | 1.11 | 1.84 | 1.67 | better |
| Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days | 0.45 | 1.64 | 1.80 | better |
* This home reported 0% on a measure where lower is better. That can mean genuinely excellent care — but because the number is self-reported, a zero can also mean the problem was not recorded. Weigh it against the inspection record above.
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
64.5% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — CMS rates that better than the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 98 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.
Met the expected recovery: 43.5% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 23 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.
Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.18 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 19% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.
Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 0% of this home’s weekday level — it runs therapy on weekdays, with essentially none at the weekend. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | 64.5%CMS range 54.9–73.1 | 51.5% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | better than U.S. |
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | 9.7%CMS range 7.0–13.4 | 10.7% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | 43.5% | 56.6% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | 47.8% | 52.8% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | 47.8% | 50.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | 96.3% | 98.7% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | not reported — Newly certified nursing home with less than 12-15 months of data available or the nursing home opened less than 6 months ago, and there were no data to submit or claims for this measure. | — | ||
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | 0.0% | 0.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | 0.0% | 1.9% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | 6.2%CMS range 3.3–10.3 | 7.1% | Oct 2023–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | 0.83 | 1.02 | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 80 beds and averages 71.5 residents a day — about 89% occupied, or roughly 8 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 4.85 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.95 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 3.31 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 4.26 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 5.10 on weekdays — 16% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 1.04 to 0.72 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 39% is about the same as the national median of 45%. 1 administrator has left in the past year.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
18 citations, most serious first. The 13 most serious are shown; the remaining 5 are one tap away and print in full.
- Actual harm · Gdisputed · IDR2026-06-23 · tag F0600 — failed to protect residents from abuse and neglect — isolatedProtect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY This citation pertains to intake #3047103.Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to protect a resident's right to be free from staff to resident sexual abuse in 1 resident (Resident #1) of 8 residents reviewed for abuse, resulting in psychosocial harm for Resident #1 who was fearful and anxious after the incident and did not want the staff member to be around her. Findings include: Resident #1 (R1) Review of the admission Record and Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE] revealed R1 was a [AGE] year-old woman admitted to the facility on [DATE] with pertinent diagnoses including Parkinsonism {a neurological condition (affects the brain, spinal cord and nerves) that cause movement problems such as tremors (involuntary shaking movement), rigidity (stiffness), bradykinesia (slowness of movement), and postural instability} and dementia. Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) reflected a score of 10 out of 15 which indicated R1's cognition was moderately impaired. R1 was transferred to the hospital…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Actual harm · G2024-03-20 · tag F0658 — failed to meet professional standards of care — isolatedEnsure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY This citation pertains to intake #MI00143146 Based on interview and record review the facility failed to provide services that meet professional standards of nursing practice related to assessing, monitoring and providing wound care dressing changes for 1 resident (Resident #101) of 3 residents reviewed for professional standards, resulting in ineffective monitoring, dressing changes not completed as ordered, inaccurate documentation, and Resident #101 having a skin tear not cared for for 4 days with signs and symptoms of a wound infection. Findings include: Review of an admission Record revealed Resident #101 had pertinent diagnoses which included: unspecified dementia, general anxiety disorder, reduced mobility, and urinary tract infection. Review of a Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment for Resident #101, with a reference date of 1/3/24 revealed a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of 1/15 which indicated Resident #101 was severely cognitively impaired. Review of Incident Note dated 2/22/24, 02:20…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Actual harm · G2024-03-20 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolatedProvide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
This citation pertains to intake #MI00143146 Based on interview and record review the facility failed to assess, monitor, and treat a resident with a skin tear in 1 resident (Resident #101) of 3 residents reviewed for quality of care, resulting in an Resident #101 having a skin tear not cared for for 4 days and signs and symptoms of a wound infection due to lack of care. Findings include: Review of an admission Record revealed Resident #101 had pertinent diagnoses which included: unspecified dementia, general anxiety disorder, reduced mobility, and urinary tract infection. Review of a Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment for Resident #101, with a reference date of 1/3/24 revealed a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of 1/15 which indicated Resident #101 was severely cognitively impaired. Review of Physician Orders for Resident #101 revealed .monitor skin tear to right upper thigh every shift for worsening or s/s (signs and symptoms) of infection until resolved started on 2/22/24 at 07:00 AM and Cleanse skin tear to right upper thigh with NS and cover with a dry dressing…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Fcited before2026-05-07 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespreadProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to maintain best practices in the food service area resulting in the potential to spread food borne illness to all residents that consume food from the kitchen.Findings include:On 5/5/26 at 9:48 AM, an initial tour of the walk-in cooler found a large bowl of tartar sauce dated 4/8 to 5/8, when asked if this is made in house, Certified Dietary Manger (CDM) DD stated, yes. Further review of the cooler found an open package of hot dogs with no legible date to indicate discard, an open package of sliced turkey dated 4/28 to 5/3, and a chunk of ham dated for discard on 5/2. On 5/5/26 at 10:52 AM, a tour of the Nutrition Kitchen found a container of individual prune pudding cups dated 4/10 to 5/10. When asked if this was an item made in house, CDM DD stated it was. According to the 2022 FDA Food Code section 3-501.17 Ready-to-Eat, Time/Temperature Control for Safety Food, Date Marking.refrigerated, READY-TOEAT, TIME/TEMPERATURE CONTROL FOR SAFETY FOOD prepared and held in a FOOD ESTABLISHMENT for more than 24 hours…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2026-05-07 · tag F0695 — failed to provide proper breathing / tracheostomy care — patternProvide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to ensure oxygen orders were followed consistently for 3 (Residents #57, #53, and #25) of 3 residents reviewed for respiratory care resulting in residents receiving incorrect oxygen concentrator (a medical device that delivers purified/concentrated oxygen) flow rates (volume of oxygen delivered per minute and often expressed in liters per minute) and the potential for breathing difficulties.Findings include:Resident #57:Review of Resident #57's admission record, dated 5/7/26, revealed she was an [AGE] year old female with pertinent diagnoses that included chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD; lung disease that makes it difficult to breathe), acute (sudden/short-term) and chronic (develop gradually/persist over a long period) respiratory failure (condition in which the lungs cannot provide enough oxygen) with hypoxia (low oxygen levels), dyspnea (shortness of breath/difficulty in breathing) and dependence on supplemental oxygen.Review…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2026-05-07 · tag F0554 — isolatedAllow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure a resident was assessed to be appropriate for self-administration of an inhaler for 1 resident (Resident #34) of 1 resident reviewed for self-administration of medications resulting in the inhaler being left unsecured in resident room, resident self-administering the inhaler without staff assessment, and the potential for negative outcomes from taking too much of the medication. Findings include: Resident #34 (R34)Review of the admission Record and Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE] revealed R34's initial admission date to the facility was on 2/7/2023 with pertinent diagnoses including chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (lung disease) and chronic respiratory failure with hypoxia (low blood oxygen levels). Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) reflected a score of 14 out of 15 which indicated R34 was cognitively intact. During an observation and interview on 5/5/2026 at 11:54 AM, R34 was lying in bed and an inhaler was…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2026-05-07 · tag F0791 — failed to provide routine dental services — isolatedProvide or obtain dental services for each resident.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to follow-up and offer prompt dental services for 1 resident (Resident #6) of 1 resident reviewed for dental care resulting in Resident #6 experiencing bleeding gums, plaque buildup (sticky film of bacteria that causes cavities, gum disease and bad breath if not removed daily) and poor dental hygiene. Findings include: Resident #6 (R6)Review of the admission Record and Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE] revealed R6's initial admission date to the facility was on 1/24/2020 with pertinent diagnoses including cerebral infarction (stroke), hemiplegia affecting right dominant side (paralysis affecting right arm, leg, face) and chronic periodontitis (slow-progressing, infectious, and inflammatory gum disease causing destruction of the tissues and bone supporting the teeth leading to tooth loss if not treated). Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) reflected a score of 11 out of 15 which indicated R6's cognition was moderately impaired. During…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-11-21 · tag F0657 — failed to keep the care plan current — isolatedDevelop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY This citation pertains to Intake #2641076Based on interview and record review the facility failed to revise a person-centered care plan timely for 1 (Resident #101) of 3 residents reviewed for care plan revisions, resulting in the potential for unmet care needs. Findings include:Resident #101Review of an admission Record revealed Resident #101 was a female who originally admitted to the facility on [DATE] and had pertinent diagnoses which included: Cerebral infarction due to thrombosis of the right posterior cerebral artery (stroke on the right side of the brain due to a blood clot resulting in left side weakness).Review of Order Summary for Resident #101 revealed Name Omitted Hospice service to eval and tx (evaluate and treat) with a start date of 10/15/25.Review of Health Status Note for Resident #101 dated 10/15/25 revealed .seen by hospice nurse this shift.Review of Care Plan for Resident #101 revealed .Focus/goal/interventions.I wish for hospice services.intervention: coordinate care with hospice staff…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-11-21 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolatedEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY This citation pertains to Intake #2641076Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to maintain adequate supervision to ensure the safety of 1 (Resident #100) of 3 residents reviewed for safety, resulting in Resident #100 experiencing a fall that resulted in a left side pubic rami fracture (a fracture of the pelvis bone). Findings include:Resident #100Review of an admission Record revealed Resident #100 was a male who originally admitted to the facility on [DATE] and had pertinent diagnoses which included: Repeated falls, dizziness, and weakness.Review of a Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment for Resident #100, with a reference date of 10/14/25 revealed a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of 10/15 which indicated Resident #10 was moderately cognitively impaired. (BIMS score 8-11 indicates moderate cognitive impairment).Review of Care Plan for Resident #100 revealed Focus: I am at high risk for falls and injury.cognitive loss, general weakness, poor needs/safety awareness,…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Fcited before2025-03-25 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespreadProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to maintain sanitary conditions and ensure proper labeling and dating of foods in the kitchen and the resident refrigerator in the activity room, resulting in the potential to spread food borne illness to all residents that consume food from the kitchen and residents that store food in the activity room refrigerator. Findings include: During the initial kitchen tour on 3/23/2025 at 9:41 AM, 1 spout on the coffee machine had lime buildup around the spout (white crusty and flakes around it). During another visit to the kitchen on 3/24/2025 at 9:31 AM, the same spout was observed to still have lime buildup around it. Certified Dietary Manager (CDM) TT stated that it should have been cleaned the day before and they must have missed it. During the initial kitchen tour on 3/23/2025 at 9:52 AM, Dietary Aide (DA) FFF accompanied this surveyor and the following items were observed: The ice-cream freezer had 3 individual bowls of hand dipped ice cream in them with no label and dates and ice cream was splattered on the…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2025-03-25 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — patternProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY This citation contains two Deficient Practices Statements, A & B. Deficient Practice Statement A. Based on interview and record review the facility failed to have an active and ongoing plan for reducing the risk of Legionella and other opportunistic pathogens of premise plumbing (OPPP). This deficient practice has the increased potential to result in water borne pathogens to exist and spread in the facility's plumbing system and an increased risk of respiratory infection among any or all the residents who reside in the facility. Findings include: Review of the facility Water Management Plan book on 3/24/25 at 4:00 pm, revealed no documentation regarding a team of staff members who meet to discuss water management, no test results, and no risk assessment that had been completed. In an interview on 3/24/25 at 5:00 pm, Maintenance Director (MD) DD reported he was not aware of a team related to water management in the building. In an interview on 3/24/25 at 5:05 pm, Nursing Home Administrator (NHA) A reported the…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-03-25 · tag F0550 — failed to protect resident dignity and rights — isolatedHonor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to provide an environment that promoted a dignified dining experience for 4 residents (Resident #15, #10, #49, & #40) of 4 residents reviewed for dignity, resulting in feelings of disappointment with the dining experience. Findings include: During an observation on 03/23/25 at 11:37 AM, dining service had started, and residents were being served roast beef, broccoli, French fries or baked beans. On 03/23/25 at 11:46 AM, this writer observed there were multiple residents seated throughout the dining room who had not received their lunches. Noted no particular order for meal tray delivery. In an interview on 03/23/25 at 11:47 AM, Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) U reported a resident who was not served had ordered a special meal and those take longer to cook. CNA U asked Dietary Aide (DA) AA where the resident's food was as the other residents at the table had their meals already. In an interview on 03/23/25 at 11:56 AM, this writer requested from Activity Aide (AA) XX who were the multiple residents still…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-04-25 · tag F0557 — isolatedHonor the resident's right to be treated with respect and dignity and to retain and use personal possessions.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to maintain the dignity of one resident (#46) of 18 residents reviewed for dignity, by denying the resident the right to use personal belongings of choice in her room. This deficient practice resulted in decreased ability to pursue an independent activity of choice, and feelings of frustration and disappointment. Findings include: Resident #46 Review of a facility policy titled Resident Personal Belongings with a review date of 4/24 revealed: It is the policy (facility name omitted) to protect the resident's right to posses personal belongings .for their use while in (facility name omitted) . will support the resident's right to .use personal possessions to promote a homelike environment . Review of an admission Record revealed Resident #46, was originally admitted to the facility on [DATE] with pertinent diagnoses which included: major depressive disorder and occipital neuralgia (condition in which the occipital nerves are inflamed causing…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
Show the remaining 5 citations
- Potential for harm · D2024-04-25 · tag F0561 — failed to honor residents' choices — isolatedHonor the resident's right to and the facility must promote and facilitate resident self-determination through support of resident choice.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to allow and accommodate resident choice to spend time outdoors by themselves in 1 of 18 residents (Resident #6) reviewed for self-determination, resulting in the potential for residents not meeting their highest practicable level of well-being. Findings include: Resident #6 Review of an admission Record revealed Resident #6 was originally admitted to the facility on [DATE]. Review of a Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment for Resident #6, with a reference date of 2/7/24 revealed a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of 15, out of a total possible score of 15, which indicated Resident #6 was cognitively intact. In an interview on 04/23/24 at 01:05 PM, Resident #6 reported that she enjoyed being outside in the fresh air, but that she was not allowed to go outside unless someone from activities was with her. Resident #6 reported that when she admitted to the home, she was told that she could come and go as she wished, but now she had been told that…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-04-25 · tag F0677 — failed to help fully-dependent residents with daily care — isolatedProvide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to provide assistance with getting out of bed for dependent residents in 1 of 3 residents (Resident #8) reviewed for ADL (Activities of Daily Living) care, resulting in the potential for residents to not meet their highest practical level of well-being. Findings include: Resident #55 Review of an admission Record revealed Resident #55 was originally admitted to the facility on [DATE], with pertinent diagnoses which included: down syndrome. Review of a Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment for Resident #55, with a reference date of 3/6/24, under Functional Abilities and Goals section GG revealed that Resident #55 was dependent on staff for eating and transferring out of bed. Review of Resident #55's Skin Care Plan revealed, .at high risk for skin breakdown .need to sit upright after meals .Date initiated: 3/13/24. Interventions: .Please assist be back to bed if I have been in my chair for more than 2 hours at a time. Date initiated: 3/9/24.…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-04-25 · tag F0679 — failed to provide activities — isolatedProvide activities to meet all resident's needs.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to provide individualized activities based on resident preferences, needs, and abilities for 3 of 18 Residents (Resident #65, Resident #69, and Resident #63) reviewed for activities, resulting in feelings of boredom, and a potential for loneliness, social withdrawal, and depressed mood. Findings include: Resident #65 Review of an admission Record revealed Resident #65 was a [AGE] year-old male, originally admitted to the facility on [DATE] with pertinent diagnoses which included: aphasia (language disorder affecting verbal communication), and hemiplegia (paralysis on one side of the body) following a cerebral infarction (stroke). Review of a Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment for Resident #65, with a reference date of 11/23/23 revealed Resident #65 had unclear speech and could not complete a Brief Interview for Mental Status. Section F of the MDS revealed Resident #65 indicated it was very important to him to go outside to get fresh air when…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-04-25 · tag F0686 — failed to prevent and treat pressure sores (bedsores) — isolatedProvide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to implement interventions to prevent skin breakdown for residents at risk for pressure ulcers, for 1 of 5 residents (Resident #69) reviewed for pressure ulcer prevention, resulting in the potential for the development of an avoidable pressure ulcer, infection, and overall deterioration in health status. Findings include: Review of an admission Record revealed Resident #69 was a male with pertinent diagnoses which included glaucoma, chronic pain, pain in right hip, low back pain, severe protein calorie malnutrition, adult failure to thrive, disc degeneration lumbar region, and muscle weakness. Review of Care plan revised on 3/26/24, revealed the focus, .I am at risk for skin breakdown per my Braden assessment due to vision loss, general weakness, indwelling Foley use, potential shearing, medication use, abnormal labs, and chronic disease processes. I was admitted with open area to left great toe and am at risk for poor wound healing and/or unavoidable skin breakdown due to the above factors. DX: Prostate CA, BPH,…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-04-25 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolatedProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to properly maintain standard infection control practices during incontinence care for 2 of 18 residents (Resident #55 & #58) reviewed for infection control, resulting in the lack of hand hygiene and improper glove use, and the potential for the development and transmission of communicable diseases and cross-contamination of C. Diff (Clostridioides difficile: a highly contagious bacteria that causes an infection of the bowels). Findings include: Resident #55 Review of an admission Record revealed Resident #55 was originally admitted to the facility on [DATE], with pertinent diagnoses which included: down syndrome. Review of Resident #55's Physician Orders indicated orders for Contact Precautions. During an observation on 04/25/24 at 11:30 AM in Resident #55's room, CNA EE and CNA RR were giving Resident #55 a bed bath. Both CNA's were wearing gowns and gloves and providing direct care to the resident. Both CNA's changed their gloves multiple…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.
“Disputed” is CMS’s own flag, not our reading: the CMS deficiency file records whether the home has formally contested a citation, and we reproduce that. IDR is Informal Dispute Resolution, run by the state survey agency that wrote the citation; IIDR is Independent Informal Dispute Resolution, a separate process before an outside entity, available when CMS has proposed a civil money penalty. They are different processes and we mark them differently. Two things to hold at once. A disputed citation is still a citation — it was written by a surveyor, it stands on the record unless and until it is changed, and we neither hide it nor discount it. And we cannot tell you how the dispute came out: CMS publishes that a citation is under dispute, not the outcome, so a tag marked here may since have been upheld, reduced, or deleted, and an unmarked tag may have been disputed and resolved before this file was cut. Ask the home what it disputed and why — it is entitled to tell you, and the answer is often the most informative thing on this page.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
$15,593 in federal fines across 2 penalties.
- $7,796 — penalty dated 2024-03-20
- $7,797 — penalty dated 2024-03-20
Dates are the dates CMS records the penalty, not the date of the conduct behind it. CMS publishes penalties on a rolling window, so this is what is currently on the public file — not the home’s lifetime history, and an older fine may attach to a problem that has since been corrected. The amounts are as imposed: the CMS file does not record whether a penalty was appealed, reduced, or paid, so we don’t say. Ask the home what each one was for and what changed since.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Share | Since |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| COUNTY OF CASS | Organization | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 100% | since 01/01/2000 |
| LUTES, CHRISTIAN | Individual | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE; CORPORATE DIRECTOR | — | since 01/05/2009 |
| SEIFERT, DIANE | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | — | since 01/18/2022 |
| VAUGHN, VICKI | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | — | since 09/22/2008 |
CMS files one row per role, so the 5 rows in the source record cover these 4 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.
1 organizational owner listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.
Follow the money — this home’s finances
Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.
About 79% of this home’s resident-days are paid by Medicaid, which reimburses well below the cost of care in most states. Heavily Medicaid-dependent homes run on thinner budgets — a context worth holding next to the staffing and inspection record, not a fault in itself. This home reported $37K paid to related parties (affiliated landlords or management companies) in its most recent cost report. A reported operating loss is common in this industry and is not by itself a sign of trouble — but paired with large related-party payments it can mean profit is being taken elsewhere in the ownership structure.
Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.
Cost & finances
Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.
What families pay in MI
This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Michigan Medicaid page.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 235352. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2026-05-07, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.