No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

St Ann's Home

2161 Leonard NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49504 · Non profit - Church related · 55 certified beds · (616) 453-7715 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (616) 453-7715 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Behavioral-health or dementia-care citations — no harm found (F0744, F0758)
Insights

On the public record, this home looks stronger than most — but visit before you decide.

In its favor
  • a strong health-inspection score (5/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
  • no harm-level citations in the current inspection record
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
  • a high payroll-based staffing rating (5/5)

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

5/5
CMS overall
5 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 5 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 5 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 5 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
★★★★ 4/5 CMS · Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
1616 Leonard St NW · (616) 685-8525 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
1314 Leonard St NW · (616) 214-8011 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
2189 Walker Ave NW · (616) 644-1914 · Call to confirm hours
Park
13798 104th Ave · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship
1255 Covell Ave NW · (616) 453-6916

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 5 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 5 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating held steady at 5 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating5★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased6.3%10.8%15.4%better
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight1.3%5.4%5.4%better
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder2.8%0.8%0.9%worse
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection0.0%1.5%2.0%better
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms2.7%4.3%6.5%better
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.1%0.1%better
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury4.1%3.0%3.3%worse
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened10.4%12.0%16.1%better
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication12.5%19.4%18.9%better
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine100.0%95.0%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers11.3%5.1%4.7%worse
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control30.9%20.0%21.2%worse
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table18.3%14.8%17.1%typical
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication2.8%1.1%1.4%worse
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine81.8%79.5%79.4%typical

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

59.6% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 32 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

59.6%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
9.9%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
0.33U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.11hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.12hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.10hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.33 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 56% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 12% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF59.6%CMS range 48.3–68.651.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF9.9%CMS range 6.5–15.910.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identifiednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — Newly certified nursing home with less than 12-15 months of data available or the nursing home opened less than 6 months ago, and there were no data to submit or claims for this measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF staynot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsenednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalizationnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs0.591.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.74
RN hours/ resident / day
1.18
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.89
Aide hours/ resident / day
4.82
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.60
RN hoursweekends
49.2%
Total nursing turnover
44.4%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 55 beds and averages 48.0 residents a day — about 87% occupied, or roughly 7 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 4.82 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.74 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.89 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 4.17 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 5.08 on weekdays — 18% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.80 to 0.60 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 49% is about the same as the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

3
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2026-01-23)
3
at the previous standard inspection (2024-11-22)

Deficiencies are unchanged from the previous inspection. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

14 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.

  • Potential for harm · D2026-01-23 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolated
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review the facility failed to develop a person-centered care plan related to hospice services for 1 (Resident #10) of 12 residents reviewed for person-centered care planning resulting in the potential for unmet care needs.Findings include:Resident #10Review of an admission Record revealed Resident #10 was a male who was originally admitted to the facility on [DATE] and had pertinent diagnoses including: Alzheimer's disease and dementia.Review of Order Summary for Resident #10 revealed .ADMIT to (Name Omitted) hospice dx: (diagnosis) Alzheimer's disease. with a start date of 10/31/25Review of Care Plan for Resident #10 revealed no noted care plan related to collaboration of care between the facility and (Name Omitted) hospice services.In an interview on 1/22/26 at 2:13 PM, Hospice Registered Nurse (H/RN) DD reported Resident #10 had been on services for a few months this time, he had previously had services as well. H/RN DD reported Resident #10 had a separate care plan that was…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-01-23 · tag F0686 — failed to prevent and treat pressure sores (bedsores) — isolated
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to prevent the development of a pressure ulcer in 1 (Resident #9) of 2 reviewed for pressure ulcers, resulting in the development of a pressure wound on Resident #9's right ankle.Findings include:Resident #9Review of an admission Record revealed Resident #9 was a female who was originally admitted to the facility on [DATE] and had pertinent diagnoses including: Alzheimer's disease (progressive mental deterioration), dementia (loss of cognitive function), and anxiety disorder.Review of a Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment for Resident #9, with a reference date of 8/4/25 revealed a Self-Care Assessment - Mobility- roll left to right- Substantial/maximal assistance, sit to laying substantial/maximal assistance, and laying to sitting on bed side dependent.Review of Care Plan for Resident #9 revealed .has an ADL (activities of daily living) self-care performance deficient r/t (related to) Alzheimer's, dementia.intervention: bed mobility; one…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2026-01-23 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to maintain infection control practices and implement enhanced barrier precautions (EBP) related to wound care for 1 (Resident #9) of 3 resident reviewed for wound care resulting in the potential for cross contamination, disease transmission, and the introduction of infection.Findings include:Resident #9Review of an admission Record revealed Resident #9 was a female who was originally admitted to the facility on [DATE] and had pertinent diagnoses including: Alzheimer's disease (progressive mental deterioration), dementia (loss of cognitive functioning), and anxiety disorder.Review of Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) dated March 20, 2024, revealed, .Enhanced Barrier Precautions (EBP) refer to an infection control intervention designed to reduce transmission of multidrug-resistant organisms (MDRO) that employs targeted gown and glove use during high contact resident care activities .EBP are used in conjunction with standard…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-11-22 · tag F0699 — isolated
    Provide care or services that was trauma informed and/or culturally competent.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to identify post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) triggers and develop individualized care plan interventions to mitigate triggers for 1 resident (Resident #22) of 1 resident reviewed for trauma informed care, resulting in the potential for re-traumatization due to staff not being informed and knowledgeable of the resident's past trauma. Findings include: Resident #22 (R22) Review of the admission Record and Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE] revealed R22 admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses including PTSD, depression, bipolar disorder (mood swings ranging from depressive lows to manic highs, chronic respiratory failure and Takotsubo Syndrome (sudden temporary weakening of the muscular portion of the heart which appears after a significant stressor, either physical or emotional). Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) reflected a score of 15 out of 15 which indicated R22 was cognitively intact (13 to 15 cognitively intact).…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-11-22 · tag F0758 — failed to limit and justify psychotropic drugs — isolated
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure 1. as needed (PRN) medications did not extend greater than 14 days, 2. continued indication for use of psychotropic and antipsychotic medications, and 3. obtain informed consents for medications, for 2 (R23 and R27) of 5 residents reviewed for unnecessary medications, resulting in the risk of serious side effects and adverse reactions from potentially unnecessary medications. Findings include: According to https://www.aafp.org/afp/2000/0301/p1437.html, in an article titled, Appropriate Use of Psychotropic Drugs in Nursing Homes, revealed, Because treatment with psychotropic medications is indicated only to maintain or improve functional status, diagnoses and specific target symptoms or behaviors must be documented, and the effectiveness of drug therapy must be monitored. Resident #23: (R23) Review of a Face Sheet for R23 revealed she was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with pertinent diagnoses of dementia, adjustment disorder,…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-11-22 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview, observation, and record review, the facility failed to adhere to profession standards of infection prevention for 1. the proper personal protective equipment use for enhanced barrier precautions for 1 of 1 resident (Resident #6) and 2. hand hygiene during dining and meal service, resulting in the increased potential for cross-contamination, bacterial harborage, and placing a vulnerable population at high risk for the transmission/transfer of pathogenic organisms and cross contamination between residents. Findings include: 1. Enhanced barrier precautions Review of Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) dated March 20,2024, revealed, .Enhanced Barrier Precautions (EBP) refer to an infection control intervention designed to reduce transmission of multidrug-resistant organisms that employs targeted gown and glove use during high contact resident care activities .EBP are used in conjunction with standard precautions and expand the use of PPE to donning of gown and gloves during…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2024-01-11 · tag F0883 — failed to offer flu and pneumonia vaccines — pattern
    Develop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to offer and provide the pneumococcal vaccine for 5 (Resident #6, #11, #14, #41, and #44) of 5 residents reviewed for immunizations, resulting in a delay in the residents to be given the opportunity to receive or decline the pneumococcal vaccination. Findings include: According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) PCV20 Vaccination for Adults 65 Years and Older dated 02/09/23, revealed, .Routine vaccination: Adults 65 years or older who have- Previously received both PCV13 and PPSV23, AND PPSV23 was received at age [AGE] years or older: Based on shared clinical decision-making, 1 dose of PCV20 at least 5 years after the last pneumococcal vaccine dose . www.cdc.gov/vaccines/hcp/admin/downloads/job-aid-SCDM-PCV20-508.pdf Resident #6: Review of an admission Record revealed Resident #6 was a female with pertinent diagnoses which included pressure ulcer of sacral region (above the tailbone), adult failure to thrive, anemia, dementia, kidney…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-01-11 · tag F0558 — failed to accommodate residents' needs and preferences — isolated
    Reasonably accommodate the needs and preferences of each resident.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure access to a call light in 1 of 12 sampled residents (Resident #198) reviewed for call light placement, resulting in the inability to call for assistance and the potential for unmet care needs. Findings include: According to https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov, .Call light technology serve as a means of communication for patients to their care providers that are outside of the patient's room. This technology is a direct link to getting their needs met and the care provided by nurses . Resident #198: Review of an admission Record revealed Resident #198 was a female with pertinent diagnoses which included fracture of femoral neck right femur, hemiplegia (paralysis) and hemiparesis (weakness) of left side following stroke, diabetes, history of falling and use of blood thinners. Review of Care Plan revised on 12/29/23, revealed the focus, .(Resident #198) at risk for falls r/t (related to); falls in community, fracture of right femur,…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-01-11 · tag F0658 — failed to meet professional standards of care — isolated
    Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to follow professional standards of practice for documentation of medication administration in 2 of 10 residents (Resident #45 & #18) reviewed for medication administration, resulting in the potential for medication errors. Findings include: According to [NAME], [NAME] A.; [NAME], [NAME] Griffin; Stockert, [NAME]; Hall, [NAME]. Fundamentals of Nursing.High-quality documentation is necessary to enhance efficient, individualized patient care. Quality documentation has five important characteristics: it is factual, accurate, complete, current, and organized . Accessed from: Kindle Locations 24106-24108). Elsevier Health Sciences. Kindle Edition. Review of the policy/procedure Medication Administration, dated 12/1/23, revealed .Medications are administered by licensed nurses, or other staff who are legally authorized to do so in this state, as ordered by the physician and in accordance with professional standards of practice, in a manner to…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-01-11 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, interviews, and record review, the facility failed to provide adequate supervision and safety interventions for 2 of 13 residents (Resident #8 and Resident #12) reviewed for accident hazards/supervision, resulting in Resident #8 wandering into other resident's rooms as well as off the unit, and Resident #12 being transported in a wheelchair without the use of footrests. Findings include: Resident #8 Review of a admission Record dated 6/29/23 revealed Resident #8 was admitted to the facility with the following pertinent diagnoses: dementia (a condition characterized by progressive or persistent loss of intellectual functioning), posterior subcapsular cataract (eye condition causing difficulty reading and reduced vision in brightly light areas), and depression. Review of a Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE], revealed Resident #8 scored 5/15 on a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) assessment which indicated the resident was severely cognitively impaired. Section E of the MDS…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-01-11 · tag F0695 — failed to provide proper breathing / tracheostomy care — isolated
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to maintain and change oxygen tubing per physician order in 2 of 3 residents (Resident #14 & #36) reviewed for respiratory care, resulting in the potential for the development and spread of respiratory illness. Findings include: Review of the policy/procedure Oxygen Administration, dated 12/1/23, revealed .Oxygen is administered to residents who need it, consistent with professional standards of practice, the comprehensive person-centered care plans, and the resident's goals and preferences .Staff shall perform hand hygiene and don gloves when administering oxygen or when in contact with oxygen equipment. Other infection control measures include .Change oxygen tubing and mask/cannula weekly and as needed if it becomes soiled or contaminated . Resident #14 Review of an admission Record revealed Resident #14 was a female, with pertinent diagnoses which included obstructive lung disease, diabetes, shortness of breath, and chronic bronchitis. Review of an Order Summary Report for Resident #14 revealed the active…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-01-11 · tag F0744 — failed to care for residents with dementia — isolated
    Provide the appropriate treatment and services to a resident who displays or is diagnosed with dementia.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to develop and implement person centered dementia care interventions to address wandering, disorientation, and reassurance for 1 of 13 residents (Resident #8) reviewed for dementia care, resulting in Resident #8 experiencing worsening wandering, disorientation to his room, verbal aggression from another resident, and emotional distress. Findings include: Review of an admission Record dated 6/29/23 revealed Resident #8 was admitted to the facility with the following pertinent diagnoses: dementia (a condition characterized by progressive or persistent loss of intellectual functioning), posterior subcapsular cataract (eye condition causing difficulty reading and reduced vision in brightly light areas), and depression. Review of a Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE], revealed Resident #8 scored 5/15 on a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) assessment which indicated the resident was severely cognitively impaired. Section GG of the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-01-11 · tag F0842 — failed to keep accurate, complete medical records — isolated
    Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to maintain complete and accurate medical records in 2 of 13 residents (Resident #14 & #36) reviewed for accuracy of medical records, resulting in inaccurate treatment records and the potential for providers to not have an accurate picture of resident status and condition. Findings include: According to [NAME], [NAME] A.; [NAME], [NAME] Griffin; Stockert, [NAME]; Hall, [NAME]. Fundamentals of Nursing.High-quality documentation is necessary to enhance efficient, individualized patient care. Quality documentation has five important characteristics: it is factual, accurate, complete, current, and organized . Accessed from: Kindle Locations 24106-24108). Elsevier Health Sciences. Kindle Edition. Review of the policy/procedure Oxygen Administration, dated 12/1/23, revealed .Oxygen is administered to residents who need it, consistent with professional standards of practice, the comprehensive person-centered care plans, and the resident's goals and…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-01-11 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to implement infection control standards for storage of respiratory care equipment for 2 of 8 residents (Resident #36, #198), reviewed for infection control practice, resulting in the potential for the spread of disease, increase the risk of infection and bacterial harborage. Findings include: Resident #36: Review of an admission Record revealed Resident #36 was a female with pertinent diagnoses which included dementia, anxiety, respiratory failure, impaired coordination, neuropathy (weakness, numbness, and pain from nerve damage usually in hands and feet), arthritis, aspiration pneumonia, achalasia of cardia (rare swallowing disorder), abnormal movements, and sleep apnea. Review of current Care Plan for Resident #36, revised on 10/19/23, revealed the focus, .(Resident #36) has oxygen therapy r/t (related to) CHF (congestive heart failure) . with the intervention .OXYGEN SETTINGS: O2 via nasal prongs/mask @ 2-4L PRN (as needed) . Review of Orders dated 10/22/23, revealed, .Oxygen Tubing - change weekly and date q…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
CARMELITE SISTERS OF THE DIVINE HEART OF JESUSOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST100%since 12/16/1966
CHEIKH, ANNEIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; ADP OF THE SNFsince 03/16/2025
HILKE, DOROTHYIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; ADP OF THE SNFsince 03/01/1980
FRYLING, KIMBERLYIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 03/18/2024
PRINCE, DANAIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 02/20/2017
FREIMARK, SHELLEYIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 07/01/2025
HALL, JENNIFERIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 11/20/2023
AUGER, ANNIndividualTRUSTEE OF THE SNF; ADP OF THE SNFsince 03/16/2025
CHARLES SCHWAB & CO INCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 09/10/2019
CLIFTONLARSONALLEN LLPOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 07/16/2025
CLM ENTERPRISES INC.OrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2020
MACATAWA BANK CORPORATIONOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2020

CMS files one row per role, so the 19 rows in the source record cover these 12 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.

5 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$8.7M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
-22.9%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 24%Medicare 2%Other / private 74%

A reported operating loss is common in this industry and is not by itself a sign of trouble — but paired with large related-party payments it can mean profit is being taken elsewhere in the ownership structure.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$304per resident / day
operating cost
$9,229per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$247per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in MI

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Michigan Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Michigan
$11,254/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$11,969/mo
Nursing home (private)
$5,818/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 235643. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2026-01-23, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next