No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Oakview Medical Care Facility

1000 Diana Street, Ludington, MI 49431 · Government - County · 96 certified beds · (231) 845-5185 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (231) 845-5185 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Abuse-prevention, restraint, or reporting citations — no harm found (F0609, F0610) — most recent Feb 2026
Insights

This home’s record is mixed — some reassuring signs, some worth asking about.

In its favor
  • a strong health-inspection score (4/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
  • no harm-level citations in the current inspection record
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
  • a high payroll-based staffing rating (5/5)
  • fewer deficiencies at its most recent standard inspection than at the one before — a sign of improvement
Worth asking about
  • it has citations for its abuse-prevention policies, restraint use, or reporting and investigating of allegations (F0609, F0610) — cited below the harm level, meaning inspectors found the process wanting but did not find a resident harmed
  • its facility-reported quality-measure rating is low (2/5)

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

5/5
CMS overall
5 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 4 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 5 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 2 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
★★★★ 4/5 CMS · Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
922 Lawndale St · (231) 845-7380 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
Rite Aid0.2 mi
936 E Ludington Ave · (231) 845-7332 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
5539 W US Highway 10
Park
900 E Ludington Ave · (231) 845-6237 · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 2 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 2 of 5
Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital 2 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating held steady at 5 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating5★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased10.9%10.8%15.4%better
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight7.2%5.4%5.4%worse
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder0.8%0.8%0.9%better
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection4.1%1.5%2.0%worse
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms1.3%4.3%6.5%better
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.4%0.1%0.1%worse
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury4.4%3.0%3.3%worse
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened10.2%12.0%16.1%better
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication25.0%19.4%18.9%worse
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine98.6%95.0%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers8.1%5.1%4.7%worse
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control18.7%20.0%21.2%better
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table10.5%14.8%17.1%better
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication6.2%1.1%1.4%worse
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine84.1%79.5%79.4%typical
Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission17.0%24.0%22.6%better
Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit16.0%11.7%12.0%worse
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days1.971.841.67worse
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days3.401.641.80worse

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

10.8%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
46.4%U.S. median 56.6%
Met the expected recovery
0.19U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.13hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.05hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
<0.01hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Met the expected recovery: 46.4% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 28 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.19 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 20% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 4% of this home’s weekday level — it runs therapy on weekdays, with essentially none at the weekend. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNFnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF10.8%CMS range 6.8–15.510.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge46.4%56.6%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge35.7%52.8%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge57.1%50.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified76.7%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay3.3%0.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened10.0%1.9%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalizationnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs0.561.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

1.33
RN hours/ resident / day
0.70
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.84
Aide hours/ resident / day
4.87
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.78
RN hoursweekends
39.4%
Total nursing turnover
21.1%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 96 beds and averages 72.7 residents a day — about 76% occupied, or roughly 23 beds typically open. It usually has some room. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 4.87 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 1.33 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.84 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 4.14 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 5.16 on weekdays — 20% thinner on weekends — a notable drop. RN hours go from 1.55 to 0.78 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 39% is about the same as the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

2
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2026-04-08)
4
at the previous standard inspection (2025-02-13)

Deficiencies are fewer than at the previous inspection — improving. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

11 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.

  • Potential for harm · D2026-04-08 · tag F0585 — failed to handle grievances — isolated
    Honor the resident's right to voice grievances without discrimination or reprisal and the facility must establish a grievance policy and make prompt efforts to resolve grievances.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to provide a process for visitors, staff, and residents to submit concerns and grievances anonymously potentially affecting 73 total residents. An observation on 4/7/26 at 2:00PM throughout the facility revealed there was not a concern or grievance form available outside of asking for one at the nurse's station and no box or location could be found to drop a grievance anonymously. In an interview on 4/7/26 at 2:50 PM Director of Social Services (DSS) C reported that grievances are not completed for residents unless a resident asks for one. DSS C reported that the facility did not have grievance forms outside of the nurse's station and if a person wanted one, they had to ask for it. In an interview on 4/7/26 at 3:17 PM the Director of Nursing Services (DONS) reported that grievances can be filled out by anyone, and the facility policy reflects that a grievance should be accessible to be submitted anonymously and at that time there was not a specific location for residents to file grievances anonymously. Review of…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2026-04-08 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolated
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to assess a skin concern identified upon admission for 1 resident (R4) of 6 residents reviewed for skin and pressure ulcer concerns.Findings include:Review of an admission Record revealed R4 admitted to the facility on [DATE] with pertinent diagnoses which included dementia, diabetes, and dependence on renal dialysis.Review of R4's Baseline Care Plan, dated 12/16/2025, revealed .spot on bottom, long time, (no change), hurts, barrier cream, wife places bandaid. Further review revealed no assessment of this chronic wound and no interventions specific to this wound.Review of a current Care Plan focus and interventions for R4, initiated 3/23/2026, revealed a stage 2 pressure ulcer on his right gluteus. Further review revealed R4 was noted to be at risk for pressure injuries but there were no mention or interventions pertaining to the chronic wound on his gluteus prior to identification of the stage 2 pressure ulcer.Review of R4's admission Assessment, dated…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-02-24 · tag F0609 — failed to report abuse allegations — isolated
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY This citation pertains to intake 2729237. Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to follow policies and procedures to report injuries of unknown origin for one (R2) of 4 residents reviewed for injuries.Findings include:Resident #2 (R2)Review of a Face Sheet revealed R2 admitted to the facility on [DATE] with pertinent diagnoses of Parkinsons disease, Parkinsonism, and dementia. Review of an Incident Report titled Bruise dated 10/16/25 at 2:00 AM for R2 revealed: Incident Description: Nursing Description: purple discoloration noted to upper right arm. Resident Description: Resident does not recall any incident which could have caused bruising. Agencies/People Notified: Physician. No documentation to show the Abuse Coordinator was notified. Review of a Nursing Progress note dated 10/16/25 at 2:17 AM for R2 revealed: Large purple discoloration noted to right upper arm measuring 15cm (centimeters) x 6cm. Resident unable to recall any incident which may have caused the bruising. Message left in…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-02-24 · tag F0610 — failed to investigate and act on abuse reports — isolated
    Respond appropriately to all alleged violations.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY This citation pertains to intake 2729237. Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to follow policies and procedures to thoroughly investigate injuries of unknown for one (R2) of 4 residents reviewed for injuries of unknown origin.Findings include:Resident #2 (R2)Review of a Face Sheet revealed R2 admitted to the facility on [DATE] with pertinent diagnoses of Parkinsons disease, Parkinsonism, and dementia. Review of an Incident Report titled Bruise dated 10/16/25 at 2:00 AM for R2 revealed: Incident Description: Nursing Description: purple discoloration noted to upper right arm. Resident Description: Resident does not recall any incident which could have caused bruising. No statements from staff documented and no thorough investigation of the root cause was completed. Review of a Nursing Progress note dated 10/16/25 at 2:17 AM for R2 revealed: Large purple discoloration noted to right upper arm measuring 15cm (centimeters) x 6cm. Resident unable to recall any incident which may have caused the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-02-24 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY This citation pertains to intake 2729237. Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to follow policies and procedures and implement meaningful care plan interventions to prevent falls for one (R2) of 4 residents reviewed for falls.Findings include:Resident #2 (R2)Review of a Face Sheet revealed R2 admitted to the facility on [DATE] with pertinent diagnoses of Parkinsons disease, Parkinsonism, and dementia. Review of a Witnessed Fall Incident Report dated 11/27/25 for R2 revealed: Housekeeping pulled cart up to the door of room [ROOM NUMBER] and found him standing up with his walker. Staff witnessed resident's foot get stuck in the wheel of his walker causing him to lose balance and fall. Resident unable to give description. Injuries Observed at Time of Incident: Skin Tear, Right hand (back). Staff statement from the Housekeeper: . I waited because his CNA (Certified Nursing Assistant) was in there doing care. (R2) was in his chair when (CNA) left the room after caring for him. When I turned to…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2025-02-13 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespread
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review, failed to ensure 1) equipment was being maintained, 2) required information/reminders are being provided at hand sinks 3) maintain physical facilities in sanitary conditions and in good repair potentially effecting 69 residents that receive food/water from the facility. Findings include: The following observations were observed on 02/11/25 between 10:29 AM to 1:50 PM, during tour of the kitchen/facility with Directory of Dietary (DOD) A. Observation of the dish washing area revealed a large area of the flooring had low grout, resulting in a build-up of food residues/debris, standing water and grime between the floor tiles. Observation of the (Name of Living Center's) Kitchenette found, 1) An employee handwashing reminder sign was not provided at the hand sink. 2) Ice machine's water filter was not labeled/dated. Observation of the shared hallway kitchenette revealed, ice machine did not have a water filter installed. During an interview on 2/12/25 at 10:02 AM, Maintenance Director (MD) D revealed he was unsure of when maintenance…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2025-02-13 · tag F0658 — failed to meet professional standards of care — pattern
    Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to follow professional standards of nursing practice for medication administration for 4 of 18 residents (Resident #29, #40, #42, and #49), reviewed for the provision of nursing services, resulting in lack of vital sign assessments prior to medication administration and medications administered outside of physician ordered parameters. Findings: Resident #29 (R29) Review of an admission Record revealed R29 was an [AGE] year-old female, admitted to the facility on [DATE], with pertinent diagnoses which included: hypertension and atrial fibrillation (abnormal beating of the heart) Review of R29's Order Summary dated 12/16/24 revealed, Metoprolol Succinate ER Oral Tablet Extended Release 24 Hour 25 MG Give 1 tablet by mouth two times a day .Hold if SBP (systolic blood pressure/top number) is less than 100, or DBP (diastolic blood pressure/bottom number) is less than 50 or HR (heart rate) is less than 60. To be administered at 9:00 Am and 9:00 PM. Review of…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-02-13 · tag F0657 — failed to keep the care plan current — isolated
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to update a care plan to reflect current treatment for 1 resident (R13) of 18 residents reviewed for accuracy of care plans. Findings include: Review of an admission Record revealed R13 admitted to the facility on [DATE] with pertinent diagnoses which included cerebral infarction (stroke) and dementia. Review of R13's Physician's Orders active 2/11/2025 at 1:37 PM revealed R13 had a urinary catheter and was being treated for a pressure ulcer on her coccyx. Review of R13's nursing Progress Note, dated 1/10/2025 at 11:22 AM, revealed a urinary catheter was inserted per the physician because her coccyx wound was not healing. Review of R13's current Care Plan, active 2/12/2025, revealed her coccyx wound was documented as healed. Further review revealed no urinary catheter care plan. In an interview on 2/12/2025 at 2:03 PM, Wound Registered Nurse (RN) H reported R13's care plan should have been updated to reflect her coccyx wound as active when it reopened on…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-02-13 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolated
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to follow standards of practice for medication storage and labeling. Finding: During an observation on 02/11/25 at 10:02 AM, the treatment cart sat unlocked and unattended and contained prescription medications including insulin pens. A partially used humalog insulin pen that was prescribed to the resident in room [ROOM NUMBER]-2 was not dated to indicate when it had been opened. During an observation on 02/11/25 at 10:16 AM, the green hall medication cart's narcotic box was unlocked and a drinking straw had been intentionally placed through the back hinge of the narcotic box so that it would not latch and lock. During an interview at the same time, Registered Nurse (RN) J indicated that this was not an acceptable practice and that this should not have been done. During an observation on 02/11/25 at 10:39 AM a small plastic medication cup that contained chocolate pudding and a spoon, sat unattended and uncovered on the green hall medication…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2024-01-24 · tag F0658 — failed to meet professional standards of care — pattern
    Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to follow professional standards of nursing practice for medication administration for 1 of 18 residents (Resident #4), reviewed for the provision of nursing services, resulting in medications being administered outside of the physician ordered parameters. Findings: Resident #4 (R4) Review of an admission Record revealed R4 was a [AGE] year-old female, originally admitted to the facility on [DATE], with pertinent diagnoses which included: hypertension, atrial fibrillation (abnormal beating of the heart), and heart disease. Review of R4's Physician Order dated 4/6/23 revealed, amLODIPine Besylate Oral Tablet 2.5 MG (Amlodipine Besylate) Give 1 tablet by mouth one time a day related to ESSENTIAL (PRIMARY) HYPERTENSION. Hold of SBP (systolic blood pressure/top number) is < (less than)100 or HR (heart rate) < (less than) 60. Review of R4's September Medication Administration Record revealed R4's amlodipine was administered outside parameters (heart rate less…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-01-24 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolated
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to provide complete and comprehensive assessments and notify the provider and guardian of a resident's reported seizure activity 1 of 18 residents (Resident #7) reviewed for quality of care. Findings: Resident #7 (R7) Review of an admission Record revealed R7 was a [AGE] year-old female, originally admitted to the facility on [DATE], with pertinent diagnoses which included: seizure disorder. Review of a Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment for R7, with a reference date of 1/5/24 revealed a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of 15, out of a total possible score of 15, which indicated R7 was cognitively intact. Review of R7's Order Summary revealed R7 had current orders for Lacosamide 100 mg twice a day, Zonisamide 200 mg twice a day, and Oxcarbazepine 300 mg twice a day for her seizure disorder. Review of R7's Care Plans revealed, Dx. (diagnosis) of Seizure disorder with treatment at an acute Hospital for repeated seizures .Date Initiated:…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
COUNTY OF MASONOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNF100%since 10/01/1966
ANDERSEN, SUSANIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYsince 02/01/2025
LANGE, CHARLESIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYsince 04/01/2023
OLSON, PATRICIAIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYsince 11/01/2019
FRANKLYN, NOELLEIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 07/01/2023
LAMM, JANNICEIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 06/12/2015

CMS files one row per role, so the 9 rows in the source record cover these 6 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.

1 organizational owner listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$10.6M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
-37.5%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
$288K
Related-party expense2% of expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 87%Medicare 2%Other / private 11%

About 87% of this home’s resident-days are paid by Medicaid, which reimburses well below the cost of care in most states. Heavily Medicaid-dependent homes run on thinner budgets — a context worth holding next to the staffing and inspection record, not a fault in itself. This home reported $288K paid to related parties (affiliated landlords or management companies) in its most recent cost report. A reported operating loss is common in this industry and is not by itself a sign of trouble — but paired with large related-party payments it can mean profit is being taken elsewhere in the ownership structure.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$573per resident / day
operating cost
$17,431per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$417per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in MI

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Michigan Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Michigan
$11,254/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$11,969/mo
Nursing home (private)
$5,818/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 235072. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2026-04-08, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next