No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Cornerstone Nsg & Rehab Center

416 Seventh Street Northeast, Bagley, MN 56621 · For profit - Corporation · 47 certified beds · (218) 694-6552 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (218) 694-6552 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Behavioral-health or dementia-care citation — no harm found (F0758)
Insights

This home’s record is mixed — some reassuring signs, some worth asking about.

In its favor
  • a strong health-inspection score (4/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
  • no harm-level citations in the current inspection record
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
  • a high payroll-based staffing rating (5/5)
  • fewer deficiencies at its most recent standard inspection than at the one before — a sign of improvement
Worth asking about
  • its facility-reported quality-measure rating is low (2/5)

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

5/5
CMS overall
5 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 4 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 5 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 2 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
14 2nd St NE · (218) 694-2442 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
31 Main Ave S · (218) 694-6210 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
46 Spencer Ave SW · (218) 694-6134 · Call to confirm hours
Park
603 Main Ave N · (218) 694-2865 · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 2 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 2 of 5
Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital 3 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating improved from 3 to 5 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating5★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased29.8%18.2%15.4%worse
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight8.6%4.1%5.4%worse
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder1.2%1.9%0.9%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection4.2%2.6%2.0%worse
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms2.4%4.1%6.5%better
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.1%0.1%better
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury7.5%4.0%3.3%worse
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened21.3%20.5%16.1%worse
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication40.6%12.5%18.9%worse
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine97.5%96.1%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers6.3%5.2%4.7%worse
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control26.7%24.5%21.2%worse
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table13.4%17.1%17.1%better
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication3.8%1.9%1.4%worse
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine91.2%82.7%79.4%better
Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission23.0%23.5%22.6%typical
Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit24.8%14.8%12.0%worse

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

55.4% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 28 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

55.4%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
10.5%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
54.2%U.S. median 56.6%
Met the expected recovery
0.27U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.12hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.12hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.03hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Met the expected recovery: 54.2% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 24 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.27 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 41% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 0% of this home’s weekday level — it runs therapy on weekdays, with essentially none at the weekend. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF55.4%CMS range 38.8–76.051.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF10.5%CMS range 7.5–15.510.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge54.2%56.6%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge37.5%52.8%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge54.2%50.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified85.2%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay3.7%0.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened0.0%1.9%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalizationnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs0.891.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

1.05
RN hours/ resident / day
0.41
LPN hours/ resident / day
3.33
Aide hours/ resident / day
4.79
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.55
RN hoursweekends
50.7%
Total nursing turnover
27.3%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 47 beds and averages 39.9 residents a day — about 85% occupied, or roughly 7 beds typically open. It usually has some room. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 4.79 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 1.05 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 3.33 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.92 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 5.15 on weekdays — 24% thinner on weekends — a notable drop. RN hours go from 1.25 to 0.55 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 51% is about the same as the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

1
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2026-07-07)
3
at the previous standard inspection (2025-07-09)

Deficiencies are fewer than at the previous inspection — improving. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

14 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.

  • Potential for harm · D2026-07-07 · tag F0699 — isolated
    Provide care or services that was trauma informed and/or culturally competent.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and document review, the facility failed to implement a trauma-informed approach by failing to assess a resident's history of trauma upon admission and develop an individualized, person-centered care plan identifying trauma-related triggers and interventions for 1 of 1 resident (R1) reviewed for trauma-informed care. Findings include:R1's admission Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE], identified R1 had moderate cognition and required assistance with activities of daily living (ADL). R1 diagnoses included post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) (a mental health condition triggered by experiencing or witnessing a traumatic event), anxiety, and depression. R1's care plan dated 6/4/26, failed include trauma-informed interventions, approaches to minimize triggers, or strategies to promote emotional safety.On 7/6/26 at 5:41 p.m., nursing assistant (NA)-A stated she was not aware that R1 had any interventions related to PTSD. NA-A stated the staff reviewed a resident's care plan to identify if a…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-09-26 · tag F0686 — failed to prevent and treat pressure sores (bedsores) — isolated
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview and document review the facility failed to accurately assess pressure ulcers to include type of wound and staging for 2 of 3 residents (R2, R3) reviewed for pressure ulcers.Findings include:R2's Resident Face Sheet indicated she admitted to the facility 7/15/22. Diagnosis included Multiple Sclerosis, depression, spongiatic dermatitis (a skin condition characterized by inflammation and fluid buildup) and anxiety.R2's quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE], identified intact cognition and indicated she had upper and lower extremity impairments on both sides. The MDS indicated R2 was incontinent of bowel, was dependent on staff for toileting and transfers and had a stage II pressure ulcer (a partial-thickness skin injury that involves damage to the epidermis (outer layer of skin) and some of the dermis (middle layer of skin), present on admission.R2's Tisue Tolerance Test dated 7/16/25, identified a history of pressure ulcers and indicated R2 showed signs of redness at the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2025-07-09 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — pattern
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview and document review the facility failed to ensure staff dishing and serving food to residents wore a hairnet in 1 of 4 dining rooms (400-unit) with the potential to affect all residents who resided on the 400 unit. Findings include:The undated facility census identified 8 residents resided on the 400-unit. During observation on 7/8/25 at 5:00 p.m., a staff member wheel a steam table onto the 400-unit dining area. Seven residents were seated at tables in the dining room and one resident was eating in the their room. Trained medication aide (TMA)-A was wearing gloves and without a hair net dished food from the steam table onto a plate and then delivering the plate to a resident. TMA-A continued dishing and delivering food until all residents in the dining room had plates of food in front of them.On 7/8/25 at 5:19 p.m., TMA-A stated when she worked on the 400 unit she worked as a nursing assistant and a TMA, and always dished and delivered food to the residents. There was not a dietary staff member that assisted during meals. TMA-A never wore or thought…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-07-09 · tag F0641 — isolated
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and document review the facility failed to ensure a discharge Minimum Data Set (MDS) was completed and submitted to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid (CMS) database as directed for 2 of 2 residents (R10, R12) reviewed for resident assessment task.Findings include:R10:R10's face sheet printed on 7/9/25, identified R10 was admitted on [DATE], and discharged on 2/25/25.R10's progress notes dated 1/13/25, identified R10 was admitted after a hospitalization from 12/30/24 through 1/13/25, due to respiratory failure, pneumonia and influenza. R10 was admitted on [DATE], for a short-term rehab stay and had planned to return to home. During R10's nursing home admission the resident received physical and occupational therapy for activities of daily living (ADL's), fall monitoring, pain monitoring, respiratory and medication management. R10's progress note dated 1/28/25 identified social services met with R10 regarding discharge planning and resident hoped to discharge home after rehab stay was…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-07-09 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure staff implemented enhanced barrier precautions (EBP) in accordance with Centers for Disease Control (CDC) guidelines to reduce the risk of infection spread for 2 of 5 residents (R2, R146) reviewed for wounds and 1 of 1 resident (R2) reviewed for catheter. Findings include: A CDC Implementation of Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) Use in Nursing Homes to Prevent Spread of Multidrug-resistant Organisms (MDROs) manual, dated 7/2022, identified MDRO transmission within a nursing home was common and contributed to substantial resident morbidity and mortality. The feature outlined EBP were defined as, . expand the use of PPE and refer to the use of gown and gloves during high-contact resident care activities that provide opportunities for transfer of MDROs to staff hands and clothing . MDROs may be indirectly transferred from resident-to-resident during these high-contact care activities . residents with wounds and indwelling medical…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2024-07-17 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — pattern
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview and document review the facility failed to ensure medications were properly labeled to prevent medication errors for 1 of 6 residents (R37) observed during medication pass. In addition, the facility failed ensure 1 of 2 medication rooms had stored medications that were not expired and prescription medication had identfiying labels for 6 of 8 residents (R13, R10, R15, R27, R35, R41) who's medication were observed in the medication room. Findings include: R37's quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE], identified R37 was cognitively intact with a diagnosis of gastro-esophageal reflux disease (GERD). R37's physician orders report dated 9/19/23 through 10/19/23, identified on 10/9/23, R37's Omeprazole 20 mg was increased to twice daily. R37's undated orders identified R37 was to receive Omeprazole 20 mg twice daily, with a start date of 10/9/23. On 7/16/24 at 3:32 p.m., trained medication aid (TMA)-A removed one pill from a bottle. The label on the bottle identified the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-07-17 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolated
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview, and document review the facility failed to ensure care plans failed to develop a person-centered comprehensive care plan to address resident specific approaches to meet residents psychosocial, mental, and medical needs 3 of 5 (R33, R20, R30) residents reviewed for unnecessary medications. Findings include: R33's quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE], identified R33 had severe cognitive impairment and a diagnosis of dementia. R33's care plan dated 4/11/23, identified R33 received psychotropic medication for dementia. Target behaviors included grinding teeth, resisting cares and grabbing at others. Interventions included attempt non-pharmacological interventions. The plan failed to identify resident specific non-pharmacological interventions. R33's undated orders identified R33 received lorazepam (ordered 9/19/23) and cyclobenzaprine (ordered 3/12/24) twice daily for dementia, and paroxetine (ordered 3/28/24) daily for depression. During interview on 7/17/24 at 3:01 p.m., the director…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-07-17 · tag F0686 — failed to prevent and treat pressure sores (bedsores) — isolated
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview and document review the facility failed to ensure timely repositioning to assist in the healing and prevention of pressure ulcers for 1 of 2 residents (R1) reviewed for pressure ulcers. Findings include: R1's quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE], identified R1 had moderately impaired cognition and was dependent on staff with all activities of daily living (ADL)s. R1 had a facility acquired stage 3 pressure ulcer (full-thickness skin loss and extends into the subcutaneous tissue layer) as well as a stage 4 pressure ulcer (full thickness skin and tissue loss) that was present on admission. Physician ordered treatments were performed daily. Diagnoses included multiple sclerosis, osteomyelitis, diabetes and edema. R1's care plan dated 4/25/24, identified R1 had a current pressure ulcer to her right upper thigh and buttock. Interventions included staff to turn and reposition R1 every two to three hours as R1 allowed and to use pillow prop to get off her back-she normally…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-07-17 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure smoking risks were comprehensively assessed for 1 of 1 resident (R43) who currently smoked on facility grounds. Findings include: R43's admission Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE], identified R43 required assistance with dressing, and transfers and was unable to ambulate. R43's cognition was undetermined due to inability to communicate effectively. Diagnoses included cerebral infarction (brain injury or ischemic stroke), fibromyalgia, bipolar disorder and nicotine dependence. R43's progress note dated 6/18/24, identified R43 went outside to smoke, staff noticed her attempting to ambulate by herself and intervened. R43's medical record lacked a smoking assessment. R43's care plan dated 6/3/24, failed to identify R43 smoked along with interventions. During interview on 7/16/24, 11:45 a.m. registered nurse (RN)-A stated she was aware R43 would go out to the facility parking lot and smoke. R43 did not require staff to assist R43…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-07-17 · tag F0758 — failed to limit and justify psychotropic drugs — isolated
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and document review, the facility failed to attempt a gradual dose reduction of psychotropic medications or provide a rationale why an attempt was not made for 2 of 4 patients (R30, R33) who were reviewed for unnecessary medications. Findings include: R33's quarterly minimum data set (MDS) dated [DATE], identified R33 had severe cognitive impairment, was dependent on staff for activities of daily living (ADL's), and diagnoses included dementia and depression. R33 received medications for anxiety and depression during the assessment period. R33's care plan dated 4/11/23, identified R33 received medication for anxiety related to dementia. The plans goal dated 9/23/24, identified R33 would be prescribed the lowest effective dose of medication and a gradual dose reduction would be attempted per facility policy. R33's undated orders included an order for Ativan (lorazepam) 0.5 milligrams (mg) tablet 0.5 mg twice daily for anxiety, start date: 9/19/23, and end date: open ended; and paroxetine HCL 40…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-07-17 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure standard precautions and proper disinfecting of equipment was followed for 1 of 4 residents (R13) receiving dressing changes. Finding included: R13's 5-day Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE], identified no cognitive impairment. Diagnosis included peripheral vascular disease and diabetes. R13 had four venous/arterial ulcers. R13's care plan dated 6/27/24, identified R13 had wound on both lower legs. The facility would continue to follow wound clinic instructions for care and cleaning. R13 orders dated 7/4/24, directed staff to apply saline moistened Hydrofera (special wound dressing) to wound base, cover with an absorbent dressing, secure with Kerlix (roll bandage) and tape, and change every day to both lower legs. During observations on 7/16/24 at 9:10 a.m., registered nurse (RN)-A sanitized their hands and then put on a gown and gloves upon entering R13's room. RN-A gathered the supplies needed for the dressing changes on both…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-07-17 · tag F0883 — failed to offer flu and pneumonia vaccines — isolated
    Develop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure recommended pneumococcal vaccinations, as outlined by the Centers for Disease Control (CDC), were offered and/or provided in a timely manner to reduce the risk of severe disease for 3 of 5 residents (R10, R13, R39) reviewed for immunizations. Findings include: R10's admission Face Sheet dated 5/16/24, identified R10's age of 77 years. Diagnoses included chronic congestive heart failure, history of pulmonary embolism, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, and elevated white blood cell count. R10's Minnesota Immunization Information Connection (MIIC) report dated 1/6/20, identified R10's immunizations. R10 had received the pneumococcal polysaccharide vaccine (PPSV23) 8/4/14, the pneumococcal vaccine Prevnar 13 (PCV13) on 1/8/16. R10's immunization record lacked evidence any other pneumococcal vaccinations, including the newer recommended pneumococcal conjugate (PCV 15 or PCV 20) had been offered in conjunction with their providers…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-04-16 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview and document review the facility failed to ensure policies were consistent with manufacturer's recommendations for use and provide education to staff to reduce the risk for burns related to the use of hot packs for 1 of 1 residents who sustained a superficial burn when a heat pack was placed with out a barrier. Findings include: R1's quarterly Minimum Data Set, dated [DATE], identified intact cognition. R1's care plan dated 3/28/24, indicated he was able to change position in bed independently. The care plan identified a risk for alteration to skin and indicated he had an abscess to his mons pubis (fatty tissue pad that wraps around the pubic bone). Cornerstone Nursing and Rehab Center Standing Orders dated 1/18/24, indicated: Hot/cold packs, apply for 20 minutes to affected area three times daily as needed for pain/swelling. R1's Resident Progress Notes indicated on 4/7/24, per telephone order from physician, will need following up with primary care physician. Applying heat packs…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-09-20 · tag F0626 — isolated
    Permit a resident to return to the nursing home after hospitalization or therapeutic leave that exceeds bed-hold policy.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and document review, the facility failed to readmit residents after a hospitalization for 1 of 1 resident (R147) reviewed for discharge. Findings include: R147's discharge Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE], identified R147 was discharged on 2/20/23, with facility return anticipated. R147 had severe cognitive impairment. Diagnosis included chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) and R147 had shortness of breath or trouble breathing with exertion, at rest and when lying flat. R147's progress notes identified the following: - 2/20/23 at 5:09 a.m., R147 was transferred to the emergency department (ED) and later that morning was admitted to the hospital. - 2/22/23, R147's son contacted the facility reporting R147 may be ready for discharge and he wanted R147 to return to the facility that same day. R147's son was told by facility staff they would not be able to readmit the resident after 1:00 p.m. due to staff shortage. - 2/24/23 at 12:07 p.m., the facility received an update from the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
POTVIN HOLDINGS INCORPORATEDOrganizationDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNFsince 10/31/2011
POTVIN, ALLENIndividual5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; CORPORATE DIRECTOR; ADP OF THE SNFNO PERCENTAGE PROVIDEDsince 01/01/2020
POTVIN, JUDITHIndividual5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; CORPORATE DIRECTOR; ADP OF THE SNFNO PERCENTAGE PROVIDEDsince 01/01/2020
POTVIN, LANCEIndividual5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; CORPORATE DIRECTOR; ADP OF THE SNFNO PERCENTAGE PROVIDEDsince 01/01/2010
SWANSON, KARIIndividual5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; CORPORATE DIRECTOR; CORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFNO PERCENTAGE PROVIDEDsince 01/01/2020
DOLALIE, JENNIFERIndividualINDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; CORPORATE DIRECTOR; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2020
MORTENSEN, DAVIDIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 08/02/2013
CHOICE THERAPY, P.A.OrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2018
HEALTH SERVICES NETWORK INCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2008
BREKKEN, ANDREWIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 07/13/2024
HERMAN, STACYIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 10/04/2025
LEBEDA, KIRAIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 04/10/2024
NEESE, SARAIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 05/31/2025
POTTI, ESTHERIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 04/01/2019
RENNER, JOHNIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 09/04/2015
STEINKE, JENNIFERIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 10/01/2024
CLIFTONLARSONALLEN LLPOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2008
HEADWATERS NUTRITION COUNSELING, LLCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2024

CMS files one row per role, so the 46 rows in the source record cover these 18 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.

5 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$5.9M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
+7.6%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 76%Medicare 3%Other / private 21%

About 76% of this home’s resident-days are paid by Medicaid, which reimburses well below the cost of care in most states. Heavily Medicaid-dependent homes run on thinner budgets — a context worth holding next to the staffing and inspection record, not a fault in itself.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$348per resident / day
operating cost
$10,572per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$376per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in MN

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Minnesota Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Minnesota
$10,646/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$13,870/mo
Nursing home (private)
$6,573/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 245307. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2026-07-07, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next