No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Lakewood Health System

401 Prairie Avenue Northeast, Staples, MN 56479 · Non profit - Corporation · 87 certified beds · (218) 894-1515 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (218) 894-1515 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Abuse-prevention, restraint, or reporting citation — no harm found (F0607) — cited Nov 20231 actual-harm citation CMS recorded as corrected before the inspection ended (past non-compliance)
Insights

On the public record, this home looks stronger than most — but visit before you decide.

In its favor
  • a strong health-inspection score (4/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
  • a high payroll-based staffing rating (5/5)
  • lower-than-typical staff turnover (34% vs 45% nationally) — better care continuity
Worth asking about
  • it has a citation for its abuse-prevention policies, restraint use, or reporting and investigating of allegations (F0607) — cited below the harm level, meaning inspectors found the process wanting but did not find a resident harmed
  • inspectors recorded 1 serious finding as past non-compliance — the problem was found, fixed, and verified before the survey closed, so it is history rather than a current condition, but it is still worth asking what changed

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

5/5
CMS overall
5 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 4 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 5 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 5 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
403 Prairie Ave NE · (218) 894-1033 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
421 2nd Ave NE · (218) 894-2242 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
203 Warner Rd · (218) 894-3360 · Call to confirm hours
Park
(218) 894-1515 · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 5 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 5 of 5
Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital 4 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating improved from 4 to 5 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating5★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased15.0%18.2%15.4%typical
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight3.5%4.1%5.4%better
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder1.4%1.9%0.9%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection0.7%2.6%2.0%better
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms1.1%4.1%6.5%better
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.1%0.1%better
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury4.4%4.0%3.3%worse
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened16.9%20.5%16.1%typical
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication12.2%12.5%18.9%better
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine97.3%96.1%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers1.9%5.2%4.7%better
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control19.9%24.5%21.2%typical
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table17.1%17.1%17.1%typical
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication0.0%1.9%1.4%better
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine86.8%82.7%79.4%typical
Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission6.0%23.5%22.6%better
Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit22.5%14.8%12.0%worse

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

50.5% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 51 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

50.5%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
9.4%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
0.16U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.09hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.06hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.02hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.16 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 14% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 2% of this home’s weekday level — it runs therapy on weekdays, with essentially none at the weekend. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF50.5%CMS range 37.6–62.651.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF9.4%CMS range 5.9–15.410.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified90.5%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay0.0%0.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened0.0%1.9%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization6.2%CMS range 3.5–11.27.1%Oct 2023–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs0.751.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.82
RN hours/ resident / day
0.52
LPN hours/ resident / day
3.06
Aide hours/ resident / day
4.41
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.43
RN hoursweekends
34.3%
Total nursing turnover
36.8%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 87 beds and averages 82.0 residents a day — about 94% occupied, or roughly 5 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 4.41 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.82 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 3.06 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.88 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 4.62 on weekdays — 16% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.98 to 0.43 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 34% is below the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

2
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2026-02-19)
0
at the previous standard inspection (2024-12-04)

Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

  • Actual harm · G2024-07-17 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolated
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure adequate supervision to prevent wandering to unsafe places and falls for 1 of 3 residents (R1) reviewed for accidents. This resulted in actual harm to R1 when she fell and sustained a fracture to the right leg. The facility implemented corrective action so the deficient practice was issued at past non-compliance. Findings include: R1's annual Minimum Data Set (MDS), dated [DATE], identified R1 required supervision with eating, oral hygiene, toileting, and shower/bathing, partial to moderate assistance personal hygiene, roll left to right, sit to lying, lying to sitting, and toilet transfers. Substantial to maximum assistance to transfer from chair to bed and sit to stand machine. R1 was frequently incontinent of bladder and always continent of bowel. R1's diagnoses included non-traumatic brain dysfunction, arthritis, osteoporosis, Alzheimer's, and dementia. R1's medications include diuretics (increased urine output). R1's Fall risk assessment…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Past Non-Compliance
  • Potential for harm · D2026-02-19 · tag F0554 — isolated
    Allow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and document review, the facility failed to ensure nebulizer medications were administered safely for 1 of 1 resident (R44) who were observed to self-administer a nebulizer and had not been assessed as safe to self-administer medications. R44's quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE], indicated R44 had no cognitive impairment and had a diagnosis which included hemiplegia (one-sided weakness), and hypertension (high blood pressure). Furthermore, R5 required maximum assistance with bed mobility, transfers, toileting, and personal hygiene.R44's care plan revised 5/29/25, identified R44 had chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD). Care plan interventions were to elevate head of bed to 30 degrees or propped on pillows or out of bed upright in a chair during episodes of difficulty breathing. Care plan lacked information regarding self-administration of medications.Review of R44's electronic health record (EHR) lacked a self-administered medication (SAM) assessment.R44's…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-02-19 · tag F0677 — failed to help fully-dependent residents with daily care — isolated
    Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview and document review, the facility failed to provide routine shaving for 1 of 1 residents (R39) who was dependent on staff for assistance with personal hygiene.Findings Include: R39's quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE], identified R39 had moderate cognitive impairment and diagnoses which included; paraplegia (paralysis of lower body), Alzheimer's disease and multiple sclerosis (chronic neurological disorder that affects the nerve cell coverings and may cause numbness, weakness, vision changes and fatigue). R39's MDS identified R39 required substantial/maximal assistance with personal hygiene. R39's Functional Abilities Care Area Assessment (CAA) dated 6/27/25, identified R39 required substantial/maximal assistance with personal hygiene. R39's CAA identified R39 was able to verbalize, but staff also had to anticipate his needs. R39 needed and received staff assistance with all activities of daily living (ADL) tasks. R39's comprehensive care plan revised 12/10/25,…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2023-11-08 · tag F0576 — pattern
    Ensure residents have reasonable access to and privacy in their use of communication methods.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure resident mail was delivered on Saturdays for 5 of 5 residents (R2, R40, R46,R49, R27) who voiced concerns with mail delivery. This deficient practice had the potential to affect all 74 residents residing in the facility. Findings include: During a resident council meeting on 11/7/23 at 2:02 p.m., five residents attended. All five residents, R2, R40, R46, R49, R27, confirmed mail was not delivered on Saturdays at the facility, and they had to wait until Monday to receive their mail. During an interview on 11/7/23 at 3:09 p.m., activity assistant (AA)-A indicated activity staff delivered mail to residents. AA-A stated they did not deliver mail to residents on Saturday and indicated mail had not been delivered to the facility on Saturdays. During an interview on 11/7/23 at 3:15 p.m., business office assistant (BOA)-A indicated she sorted the mail the residents received on Monday through Fridays and placed the mail activity mail box for resident delivery. BOA-A indicated she was unsure if mail was delivered on…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2023-11-08 · tag F0585 — failed to handle grievances — pattern
    Honor the resident's right to voice grievances without discrimination or reprisal and the facility must establish a grievance policy and make prompt efforts to resolve grievances.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure grievance procedures were posted in prominent locations throughout the facility for residents and resident representatives to file grievances, and anonymously if desired, for 5 of 5 residents (R2, R40, R46, R49, R27) reviewed for grievances. This deficient practice had the potential to affect all 74 residents residing in the facility. Findings include: During a resident council meeting on 11/7/23 at 2:02 p.m., five residents attended. All five residents, R2, R40, R46, R49, R27, confirmed they were not aware of how to file a grievance at the facility. During an interview on 11/7/23 at 4:00 p.m., social service assistant (SSA)-A indicated the grievance procedure was reviewed upon admission with the residents and a copy of the procedure was included in the admission packet. SSA-A stated three facility staff members were listed on the grievance procedure form for residents or representatives to contact if they had a concern, or they could contact the ombudsman. SSA-A indicated if residents wished to file…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-11-08 · tag F0623 — isolated
    Provide timely notification to the resident, and if applicable to the resident representative and ombudsman, before transfer or discharge, including appeal rights.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and document review the facility failed to notify the ombudsman of a facility initiated transfer for 1 of 1 residents (R9) reviewed for hospitalization. Findings include: R9's quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE], identified R9 was cognitively intact, and had diagnoses which included: stroke, hemiplegia (one sided paralysis or weakness) and peripheral vascular disease (blood circulation disorder). Indicated R9 required assistance with self care and mobility. Review of R9's progress notes from 8/28/23 to 8/30/23, identified the following: - on 8/28/23 at 1:17 p.m., nurse was notified from nurse at vascular appointment, that the procedure went well, but R9's blood pressure dropped significantly. R9 was being admitted for observation, with plan to return to facility the next day. Family notified and verbal bed hold completed. - on 8/30/23 at 12:20 p.m., R9 returned to the facility. During an interview on 11/7/23 at 10:49 a.m., social service designee (SSD)-A indicated her usual process…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-08-11 · tag F0695 — failed to provide proper breathing / tracheostomy care — isolated
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview, observation and document review, the facility failed to implement assessed intervention to prevent reoccurrence following a respiratory care incident and facility failed to develop a respiratory care plan for 1 of 4 residents (R2) reviewed for respiratory care. Findings include: R2's admission Minimal Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE], identified R2 had diagnoses which included paraplegia, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), and respiratory failure. Further MDS identified required the use of oxygen (O2) therapy. R2's Order Summary dated 8/14/23, indicated R2 required O2 between 0-2 liters as needed to keep 02 saturation about 90% and nurse to check O2 tank prior to meals and change promptly if needed. R2's care plan dated 8/10/23, lacked evidence of a respiratory plan of care or any respiratory interventions which included: type of O2 delivery system, when to administer O2, equipment settings for prescribed flow rates, monitoring O2 levels and resident risks and monitoring for…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • No harm found · C2023-11-08 · tag F0607 — failed to have anti-abuse policies — widespread
    Develop and implement policies and procedures to prevent abuse, neglect, and theft.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation and interview, the facility failed to ensure the posting of conspicuous signage of employee rights related to retaliation against the employee for reporting a suspected crime. This deficiency has the potential to affect all 74 residents currently residing in the facility. Findings include: During an observation on 11/8/23, a tour of the facility revealed the facility lacked signage of employee rights related to retaliation prohibition for reporting suspicions of a suspected crime posted within the facility. During an interview on 11/8/23 at 1:25 p.m., licensed practical nurse (LPN)-A reported that no retaliation was not addressed in the abuse policy online and staff reviewed it annually. Could not identify where employee rights related to retaliation were posted. During an interview on 11/8/23 at 1:30 p.m., director of program and operations verified employee rights related to retaliation prohibition for reporting suspicions of a suspected crime were not posted. During an interview on 11/8/23 at 2:00 p.m., administrator verified employee rights related to…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleSince
DANIELS, MELISSAIndividualW-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEEsince 09/15/2016
BJERGA, JUDITHIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 01/01/2007
BRICHACEK, AMYIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 01/01/2021
CICHOS, JEFIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 07/01/2016
GROVE, SARAIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 04/24/2014
HAEHNEL, BILLYIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 11/01/2015
HANSEN, LANAIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 01/01/2008
HOEMBERG, BEVERLYIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 01/01/2011
JORDAHL, STEPHANIEIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 07/01/2021
KRAUSE, NORMANIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 07/01/2018
KRAY, RYANIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 10/01/2021
LEVEILLE, LINDSAYIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 07/01/2023
MUELLER, ROBERTIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 06/25/2015
NELSON, KEVINIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 04/01/2018
PEET, SUSANIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 01/01/2021
POTTRATZ, ELIZABETHIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 01/01/2023
SCHOECK, KAITLYNIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 08/07/2017
STORBAKKEN, RONALDIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 01/01/2000
SWENSON, WADEIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 01/01/2023
WICHT, EMILIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 01/01/1973
BJERGA, LISAIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 03/07/2016
MCILRAVY, CURTISIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERsince 07/01/2014
REYCRAFT, JOSEPHIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 08/28/2022
THEURER, MARYIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERsince 01/01/2010
WOLHOWE, CRAIGIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 06/11/1997
ALBRECHT, CHRISTINEIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 06/01/2020
ANDERSON, BRADIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 08/13/2014
BAUMAN, ALICIAIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 10/09/2022
DOBSON, KATHLEENIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 12/01/2014
LINDOW, MELISSAIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 08/27/2023
NEISESS, CORRINEIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 09/01/2018
NEWTON RICE, LYNNIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 06/30/1980
ROEDER, JAMESIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 10/15/2017

CMS files one row per role, so the 36 rows in the source record cover these 33 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted. The source lists no ownership percentage for any of them — PECOS records a share only for equity interests, not for board or management roles.

What families pay in MN

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Minnesota Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Minnesota
$10,646/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$13,870/mo
Nursing home (private)
$6,573/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 245420. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2026-02-19, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next