No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Cox Medical Centers Meyer Orthopedic And Surgical

3535 S National Ave, Springfield, MO 65807 · Non profit - Corporation · 28 certified beds · (417) 269-6650 Medicare only — no Medicaid

Call the home — (417) 269-6650 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
No harm-level citations or fines — but 9 lower-level deficiencies on record (see below)
Insights

On the public record, this home looks stronger than most — but visit before you decide.

In its favor
  • a strong health-inspection score (4/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
  • no harm-level citations in the current inspection record
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
  • a high payroll-based staffing rating (4/5)

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

4/5
CMS overall
4 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 4 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 4 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facilityNot rated

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
★★★ 3/5 CMS · Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
3525 S National Ave
Pharmacy
First Floor, 3231 South National · (417) 841-0116 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
1300 E Battlefield St · (417) 889-9022 · Call to confirm hours
Park
1300 E Bradford Pkwy · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measuresNot rated

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating held steady at 5 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating5★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication3.6%2.2%1.4%worse
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine95.3%63.5%79.4%better

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

67.5% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — CMS rates that better than the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 155 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

67.5%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
9.9%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
not reportedno hours filed
Therapy hours / resident / day

Therapy staffing: not reported. This home filed no therapist hours at all in its payroll data for this quarter. That is a gap in what it reported, and we do not read it as an absence of therapy — the homes that file nothing here include ones that discharged hundreds of Medicare rehab patients in the very same period, who plainly received therapy from someone. Because we cannot tell a home that under-reports from one that genuinely provides little, this home is left out of the comparison above rather than scored at zero. Ask it directly how many therapist hours a rehab resident gets, and on which days.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF67.5%CMS range 59.2–73.551.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024better than U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF9.9%CMS range 7.1–14.110.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identifiednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF staynot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsenednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization4.5%CMS range 2.5–8.37.1%Oct 2023–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs0.811.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

8.27
RN hours/ resident / day
1.73
LPN hours/ resident / day
0.00
Aide hours/ resident / day
10.00
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
9.84
RN hoursweekends
54.5%
Total nursing turnover
55.6%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 28 beds and averages 4.8 residents a day — about 17% occupied, or roughly 23 beds typically open. It often has substantial empty capacity — worth asking why, since low census can reflect either a new or shrinking home or one families are avoiding. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 10.00 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 8.27 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 0.00 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 10.43 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 9.83 on weekdays — about the same on weekends as weekdays. RN hours go from 7.67 to 9.84 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 54% is about the same as the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

6
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2026-04-23)
0
at the previous standard inspection (2024-05-30)

Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

9 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.

  • Potential for harm · F2026-04-23 · tag F0838 — failed to assess facility resources and resident needs — widespread
    Conduct and document a facility-wide assessment to determine what resources are necessary to care for residents competently during both day-to-day operations (including nights and weekends) and emergencies.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to develop and update the comprehensive facility assessment annually, in accordance with all applicable Federal requirements. Failure to develop and update the comprehensive facility assessment annually could delay the services needed to care for the residents in day-to-day operations and in emergencies. This failure could affect all facility occupants. The facility census was 7. Review showed the facility did not provide a policy regarding the facility assessment. 1. Review showed the facility did not provide a facility assessment document. During an interview on 04/22/26, at 4:36 P.M., the Administrator said she thought the facility assessment was completed in May 2025 prior to her taking over as administrator. The assessment has not been located. The assessment should be completed annually. The Manager, Assistant Manager, and she were responsible for compliance.During an interview on 04/22/26 at 4:34 P.M., the manager said she was not familiar with the facility assessment and was not part of working on that. During an…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Administration Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2026-04-23 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — pattern
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure resident environment remained as free from accident hazards as possible when the facility had water temperatures in excess of 120 degrees Fahrenheit ( F) in multiple resident rooms. The facility had a census of 7.Review of the United States Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) document Avoiding Tap Water Scalds, dated 03/2012, showed the following:-Most injuries involving tap water scalds are to the elderly and children under the age of five;-The CPSC urges all users to lower their water heaters to 120 degrees F;-Most adults will suffer third-degree burns if exposed to 150 degrees F water for two seconds;-Burns will also occur with a six-second exposure to 140 degrees F water or with a thirty second exposure to 130 degrees F water;-If the temperature is 120 degrees F, a five-minute exposure could result in third-degree burns Review of the facility water management plan, reviewed [DATE], showed the following:-The Central…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2026-04-23 · tag F0700 — pattern
    Try different approaches before using a bed rail. If a bed rail is needed, the facility must (1) assess a resident for safety risk; (2) review these risks and benefits with the resident/representative; (3) get informed consent; and (4) Correctly install and maintain the bed rail.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to assess risks of entrapment from bed rails prior to installation, failed to ensure that the beds dimensions were appropriate for each resident's size and weight, and failed to develop and implement interventions for the use of side rails on the residents' care plans for three residents (Resident #2, Resident #10, and Resident #11). The facility's census was 7.Review showed the facility did not provide a policy regarding the use of side rails. 1. Review of Resident #2's face sheet (admission data) showed the resident admitted to the facility on [DATE]. Review of the resident's consent to use half side rails showed the following:-The resident's responsible party gave verbal consent for the resident's use of the side rails;-Staff signed the document (after verbal consent) on 01/15/26. Review of the resident's admission Minimum Data Set (MDS-a federally mandated comprehensive assessment instrument completed by facility staff), dated 01/18/26,…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-04-23 · tag F0550 — failed to protect resident dignity and rights — isolated
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation and interview, the facility failed to provide dignity and respect to a resident during a wound care treatment when a staff member argued with one resident (Resident #4) who attempted to direct his/her own care. The facility census was 7.Review of the facility's policy titled Patient [NAME] of Rights, undated, showed the following:-The purpose of the Patient [NAME] of Rights is to inform patients and their family members of their rights and responsibilities;-The facility has defined patient rights and responsibilities to comply with the patient Self-Determination Act, (Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (Hippa) and Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) and other applicable regulations and organizational values;-Patients have the right to be treated with respect and dignity. Patients will be cared for in a safe environment that provides personal privacy, preserves dignity and contributes to a positive self-image;-Be involved in their care decisions including but not limited to participating in all decisions related to their health…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-04-23 · tag F0693 — failed to provide proper feeding-tube care — isolated
    Ensure that feeding tubes are not used unless there is a medical reason and the resident agrees; and provide appropriate care for a resident with a feeding tube.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review, observation and interview the facility failed to obtain specific flush orders and dressing change orders and failed to ensure the physician orders specified which tube staff should administer medications through and which tube staff should administer feedings though for one resident (Resident #5) who had a gastrostomy tube (G-tube - a surgically placed device providing direct access to the stomach for feeding, fluids, and medications when a person cannot eat enough by mouth) and a jejunostomy tube (J-tube - a long-term feeding tube surgically placed through the abdomen directly into the small intestine's middle section (jejunum) to deliver nutrients and medication). The facility's census was 7. Review of the facility's policy titled Tube Feeding, undated showed the following:-Special instructions and procedures outlined below will be followed by licensed nurses upon receipt of a provider order when tube feedings are administered to provide adequate nutrition and fluids to patients with a…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-04-23 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to maintain an effective and complete infection control program when staff failed to implement Enhanced Barrier Precautions (EBP - an infection control intervention designed to reduce transmission of multidrug-resistant organisms (MDRO - microorganisms, predominantly bacteria that are resistant to one or more classes of antimicrobial agents. Although the names of certain MDROs describe resistance to only one agent, these pathogens are frequently resistant to most available antimicrobial agents) that employs targeted gown and glove use during high contact resident care activities) for one resident (Resident #5) who had a gastrostomy tube (G-tube - a surgically placed device providing direct access to the stomach for feeding, fluids, and medications when a person cannot eat enough by mouth) and a jejunostomy tube (J-tube - a long-term feeding tube surgically placed through the abdomen directly into the small intestine's middle section (jejunum) to deliver nutrients and medication). A sample of three residents was…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2022-06-30 · tag F0759 — failed to keep medication error rate low — isolated
    Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to ensure a medication error rate of less than 5% when the facility staff made two errors out of 25 opportunities resulting in an error rate of 7.14% when staff failed to prime the insulin pens for one resident (Resident #3) during two medication pass observations. The facility census was 14. Record review of the Novolog Flexpen (name brand for insulin aspart injection - fast acting insulin) manufacturer's website, dated June 2021, instruction for use included the following: -Pull off the pen cap and wipe the rubber stopper with an alcohol swab; -Attach a new needle, push and twist the needle on until it is tight; -Check the flow in the needle with an air shot of two units. Tap the pen a few time to make any air bubbles collect at the top. Press the push button all the way in and make sure that a drop appears, if not change the needle and complete the process again; -Select the dose - Make sure the dose selector is set at 0. Turn the dose selector to select the number of units you need to inject; -Give the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2022-06-30 · tag F0760 — failed to prevent significant medication errors — isolated
    Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to ensure residents were free of significant medication errors when staff failed to prime insulin pens for one resident (Resident #3) during two medication pass observations. The facility had a census of 14. Record review of the Novolog Flexpen (name brand for insulin aspart injection - fast acting insulin) manufacturer's website, dated June 2021, instruction for use included the following: -Pull off the pen cap and wipe the rubber stopper with an alcohol swab; -Attach a new needle, push and twist the needle on until it is tight; -Check the flow in the needle with an air shot of two units. Tap the pen a few time to make any air bubbles collect at the top. Press the push button all the way in and make sure that a drop appears, if not change the needle and complete the process again; -Select the dose - Make sure the dose selector is set at 0. Turn the dose selector to select the number of units you need to inject; -Give the injection. Insert the needle into the skin. Press and hold the dose button. After the dose…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2022-06-30 · tag F0888 — isolated
    Ensure staff are vaccinated for COVID-19
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview and record review, the facility staff failed to ensure 100% of staff had been fully vaccinated for COVID-19 (a highly contagious virus that causes serious illness or death), or granted a qualifying exemption when one staff (Employee C) had not received the full primary vaccination series as of the start of the survey on 6/28/2022. The facility census was 14. Record review of the facility policy entitled Universal COVID-19 Vaccination (undated) showed the following information: -Vaccination is known to reduce the instance and severity of COVID-19 illness in the workplace. The facility has adopted this policy on mandatory vaccination to safeguard employees, providers, and patients from the hazards of COVID-19; -The facility requires all staff to be fully vaccinated for COVID-19 unless an exemption from this policy has been granted as an accommodation. Regardless of clinical responsibility or patient contact, the policy and procedures apply to covered workforce members, which includes employees, licensed practitioners, and individuals who provide care, treatment, or…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
COXHEALTHOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF100%since 06/12/2014
THE BANK OF NEW YORK MELLON TRUST COMPANYOrganization5% OR GREATER MORTGAGE INTERESTsince 09/10/2008
ABDALLA, IBRAHIMIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 10/26/2017
AGUIRRE, LOGANIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 10/28/2025
BALDNER, JOSELYNIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 01/27/2026
BAUMGARTNER, JANIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 10/20/2016
CHALENDER, CHARLESIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 10/16/2008
COX, ROBERTIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 10/28/2021
DOUGLAS, THOMASIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 10/27/2023
ERWIN, BRADIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR; CORPORATE OFFICERsince 02/15/2018
FLAX, JULIAIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 02/19/2015
FULP, ROBERTIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 11/06/2007
GAISIE, NANAIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 10/28/2021
GRAVES, SUSANIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 10/28/2021
HARGIS, SARAIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR; CORPORATE OFFICERsince 10/20/2016
HEIM, DENNISIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 11/06/2007
HELLWEG, KURTIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 10/15/2009
HIGDON, HALIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 10/16/2008
HUTCHESON, JAMESIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 11/06/2007
JARED, BRIANIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 10/20/2016
JARVIS, HOWARDIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 02/19/2015
LEMON, DAPHNEIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 10/28/2021
LIPSCOMB, LARRYIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 11/06/2007
LIPSCOMB, STUARTIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 05/19/2023
RUSSELL, KRYSTALIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 10/24/2019
TAYLOR, CAROLIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 04/17/2014
TURNER, JOSEPHIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 11/06/2007
TYNES, JEFFERSONIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR; CORPORATE OFFICERsince 10/20/2011
YANCEY, PAMELAIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 10/27/2023
BUETOW, MAXIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 06/01/2022
MCWAY, JACOBIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 08/06/2025
NELSON, VICKIEIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERsince 07/21/2017
LESTER E COX MEDICAL CENTERSOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 04/02/2025
CASAD, ASHLEYIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/24/2024
GURLEY, JACKSONIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 03/15/2026
HEDGPETH, AMANDAIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2023
JOHNSON, MICHELLEIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 03/15/2026
REARDON, MALISSAIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/26/2025
ROBERTS, DONNAIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 10/01/2023

CMS files one row per role, so the 53 rows in the source record cover these 39 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.

3 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

What families pay in MO

Paying with Medicaid

CMS lists this home as Medicare-certified only — it is not Medicaid-certified, so it generally cannot accept Medicaid as payment for a long-term stay. That makes it one of roughly 545 homes nationally where a Medicaid-funded placement is not an option. If you expect to rely on Medicaid, ask the home directly before you tour, and see the Missouri Medicaid page for homes that do.

Typical monthly cost in Missouri
$6,741/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$7,604/mo
Nursing home (private)
$5,400/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 265289. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2026-04-23, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next