No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Tippah County Nursing Home

1005 City Avenue North, Ripley, MS 38663 · Government - County · 40 certified beds · (662) 837-2111 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (662) 837-2111 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Resident-funds citation (F0565)Behavioral-health or dementia-care citation — no harm found (F0740)
Insights

The public record raises real questions here. Weigh the concerns below carefully.

In its favor
  • a middle-of-the-pack inspection score (3/5)
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
  • a high payroll-based staffing rating (5/5)
Worth asking about
  • it has a citation for mishandling residents’ money or property (F0565)
  • a high number of inspection citations overall (17) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
  • its payroll-based staffing score sits well above its independent inspection score
  • its facility-reported quality-measure rating is low (2/5)

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

4/5
CMS overall
4 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 3 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 5 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 2 of 5

Worth a closer look. This home's staffing rating runs 2 stars above its independent health-inspection score. The inspection is done by state surveyors; the staffing score rests on the facility's own payroll (PBJ) submissions — so a gap this large is worth reading the inspection record for.

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
★★★★ 4/5 CMS · Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
1009 City Ave N #B · (662) 587-8318 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
1008 City Ave N · (662) 837-7323 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
704 City Ave N · (662) 837-8315 · Call to confirm hours
Park
500 S Main St · (662) 837-3857 · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship
1004 N Main St

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 2 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 1 of 5
Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital 4 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating held steady at 4 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating4★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased23.5%20.5%15.4%worse
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight9.8%6.2%5.4%worse
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder0.8%1.4%0.9%better
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection0.0%2.5%2.0%better
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms10.7%1.6%6.5%worse than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.2%0.1%better
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury1.8%3.1%3.3%better
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened33.4%19.6%16.1%worse
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication26.8%23.8%18.9%worse
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine100.0%97.0%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers9.5%6.3%4.7%worse
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control9.7%20.7%21.2%better
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table29.9%21.7%17.1%worse
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication2.6%2.5%1.4%worse
Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission9.7%27.7%22.6%better
Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit21.4%15.5%12.0%worse
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days3.392.431.67worse
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days4.602.861.80worse

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

39.5% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 36 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

39.5%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
10.9%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
0.29U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.09hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.10hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.10hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.29 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 46% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 35% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF39.5%CMS range 29.9–54.751.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF10.9%CMS range 6.8–15.510.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified100.0%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay4.3%0.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened0.0%1.9%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization7.8%CMS range 4.1–14.07.1%Oct 2023–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs1.131.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.73
RN hours/ resident / day
1.48
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.74
Aide hours/ resident / day
4.95
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.31
RN hoursweekends
37.2%
Total nursing turnover
44.4%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 40 beds and averages 31.8 residents a day — about 80% occupied, or roughly 8 beds typically open. It usually has some room. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 4.95 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.73 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.74 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.97 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 5.35 on weekdays — 26% thinner on weekends — a notable drop. RN hours go from 0.90 to 0.31 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 37% is about the same as the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

7
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2026-02-19)
2
at the previous standard inspection (2024-11-06)

Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

17 citations, most serious first. The 10 most serious are shown; the remaining 7 are one tap away and print in full.

  • Potential for harm · F2026-02-19 · tag F0801 — widespread
    Employ sufficient staff with the appropriate competencies and skills sets to carry out the functions of the food and nutrition service, including a qualified dietician.
    What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing

    Based on review of personnel records and staff interviews, the facility failed to ensure that the Dietary Manager was qualified by obtaining or enrolling in a Certified Dietary Manager (CDM) program for three (3) of 3 days of survey. Review of facility policies related to dietary staff qualifications was requested. Facility staff were unable to provide a policy outlining requirements for Certified Dietary Manager (CDM) certification.During an interview on 2/18/26 at 10:55 AM, the Dietary Manager stated he had not completed a Certified Dietary Manager (CDM) program, and he was unaware that he was required to obtain certification.Record review of personnel records revealed the Dietary Manager was hired approximately two years ago and has not completed or enrolled in a CDM program.During an interview on 2/19/26 at 11:25 AM, the Administrator stated she was unaware the Dietary Manager was required to obtain CDM certification.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2026-02-19 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — pattern
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, staff interviews, and facility policy review, the facility failed to implement infection prevention and control practices to prevent the transmission of infections. Specifically, the facility failed to ensure staff used Enhanced Barrier Precautions (EBP) during catheter care and failed to perform hand hygiene during wound care for two (2) of three (3) resident care opportunities. (Residents #3 and #6) Findings include:Review of facility policy titled, Enhanced Barrier Precautions, dated 5/27/2024, revealed, Policy: It is the policy of this facility to implement enhanced barrier precautions for the prevention of transmission of multidrug-resistant organisms.'Indwelling medical devices' would include, indwelling urinary catheters.Enhanced Barrier Precautions are recommended for residents with indwelling medical devices.Review of facility policy titled, Handwashing, dated 1/3/2019, revealed, .When to wash hands.after handling any contaminated items.Resident #3During a wound care observation…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-02-19 · tag F0565 — failed to support the resident council — isolated
    Honor the resident's right to organize and participate in resident/family groups in the facility.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on staff and family interview, facility policy review and record review, the facility failed to act on and resolve grievances related to maintaining Activity of Daily Living (ADL) needs for incontinent residents for one (1) of three (3) family interviews conducted. Resident #27 Findings Include: Review of the facility policy titled Activities of Daily Living (ADL) Care, dated 04/09/2018, stated, To ensure all ADL care is provided on a daily basis as needed to ensure that all the residents' needs are met. On each shift all residents are checked every two hours, and adult brief is changed if needed. An interview conducted via telephone with Resident #27's caregiver on 2/18/26 at 8:53 AM, revealed the caregiver reported Resident #27 had been left in a soiled brief on more than one occasion while she was visiting daily. The caregiver stated staff informed her that residents were not to be changed during meals times and meal tray passes. The caregiver expressed concern that her mother remained in a soiled brief…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2026-02-19 · tag F0584 — failed to keep a safe, clean, comfortable home — isolated
    Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, staff interview, and facility policy review, the facility failed to maintain a safe, clean, and homelike environment by ensuring window coverings were intact and in good repair for two (2) of the twenty-nine resident rooms observed. (room [ROOM NUMBER] and #232). Findings Include:Record review of the facility policy titled, Homelike Environment dated 11/21/2024, revealed, Residents are provided with a safe, clean, comfortable, and homelike environment.During the initial tour on 2/17/26 between 10:37 AM and 10:43 AM, observation revealed the window blinds in rooms 230 and room [ROOM NUMBER] had broken and missing slats, leaving an approximate 30-inch gap at the bottom and exposing the outside elements.On 2/18/26 at 10:50 AM, Certified Nurse Aide (CNA) #1 stated that when disrepair is noted in a resident room, nursing staff are notified so maintenance can be contacted. CNA #1 confirmed she observed the window blinds in room [ROOM NUMBER] with multiple broken and missing slats and reported the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2026-02-19 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolated
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, resident and staff interviews, record reviews, and facility policy review, the facility failed to implement comprehensive care plans for one (1) of 13 sampled residents. (Resident #2) Findings include: Review of the facility policy titled Minimum Data Set (MDS) 3.0; Care Plans with review date 6/23/2016, revealed, .The services provided or arranged by the facility must meet professional standards of quality; and be provided by qualified persons in accordance with each resident's written plan of care . Resident #2 Record review of Care Plan for Diabetes Mellitus, initiated 8/26/2024, revealed, .Diabetic nail care on Tuesdays . Record review of Activities of Daily Living (ADL) Care Plan, initiated 8/26/2024, revealed, .Personal Hygiene .The resident is able to perform care with cueing and supervision . On 2/17/2026 at 10:32 AM, during observation and interview Resident #2 was observed to have noticeably long, jagged fingernails measuring approximately one (1) inch in length and a few…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-02-19 · tag F0677 — failed to help fully-dependent residents with daily care — isolated
    Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, resident and staff interviews, record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to provide Activities of Daily Living (ADL) care to maintain personal hygiene for one (1) of 13 sampled residents. (Resident #2). Findings include: Review of facility policy titled Activities of Daily Living (ADL) Care, revised 4/9/2018, revealed, Purpose: To ensure all ADL care is provided on a daily basis as needed to ensure that all the residents' needs are met .Policy: 6. Nail care is provided every week and as needed to all residents with the exception of diabetics. Only the Registered Nurse (RN) can perform diabetic nail care . Resident #2 During observation and interview on 2/17/2026 at 10:32 AM, Resident #2 was observed to have noticeably long, jagged fingernails measuring approximately one (1) inch in length and a few scattered long facial hairs on her chin, approximately one and one-half inches in length. The resident stated her nails were too long and needed to be trimmed and that she…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2026-02-19 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolated
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, staff interviews, record reviews, and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure medications were accurately labeled and corresponded with the physician's order for one (1) of three (3) residents observed during medication pass (Resident #38) Findings Include:Review of facility policy titled, Medication Administration with revision date 6/7/2016, revealed, .Procedures.5. If there is a discrepancy between the Emar and the label, check physician/NP (nurse practitioner) orders before administering the medication. 6. If label is wrong, call resident's personal pharmacy for a new label. If the Emar is wrong, correct the order in the computer system.An observation during medication administration on 2/18/2026 at 8:55 AM revealed Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) #1 retrieved a pharmacy-prepared blister pack labeled Gabapentin Oral Tablet 300 milligrams (mg) from the locked narcotic box in the medication cart and punched out two (2) tablets. She stated the order on the Medication…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-11-06 · tag F0584 — failed to keep a safe, clean, comfortable home — isolated
    Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, staff interview, and record review, the facility failed to provide a safe, functional, and sanitary environment for residents' use as evidenced by both facility's shower rooms being in disrepair for two (2) entrance areas of two (2) shower rooms in the facility. Findings include: Record review of facility's letterhead notification signed by the Administrator and dated 11/5/24, revealed, (Proper name of facility) does not have a specific policy for environment of care, concerning walls, etc. A policy is being developed immediately. During interviews and a tour with the Administrator and the Director of Nursing (DON) on 11/4/24 at 3:55 PM, it was revealed that each of the two locked shower rooms had an entrance area from the resident hallways that led to the shower area. Upon entrance into each of these areas, damage to walls and ceilings was observed. In the east hall shower room, the outside corner of the wall where people would walk or be assisted in a chair to the shower area had a large open area of missing plaster with visible metal grill like material. The…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-11-06 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolated
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on staff interviews, record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to develop a care plan for hospice service for one (1) of 14 sampled residents' care plans reviewed. Resident #15 Findings include: Record review of the facility policy titled, MDS 3.0: Care Plans (Minimum Data Set) dated 6/23/16, revealed, The facility must develop a comprehensive care plan for each resident that includes measurable objectives and timetables to meet a resident's medical, nursing, mental, and psychosocial needs that are identified in the comprehensive assessment. The care plan must describe the following: 1. The services that are to be furnished to attain or maintain the residents' highest practicable physical, mental, and psychosocial well-being as required, 2. Any services that would otherwise be required. Record review of Resident # 15's physician's Order Details revealed an order dated 5/9/24 to Admit to (proper name of hospice company) hospice. Record review of the care plans for Resident #15 revealed there was no care plan for hospice care and services. During an…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-11-06 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, staff interviews, record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure the proper storage of a nebulizer facial mask and tubing to prevent contamination and the possibility of infection for one (1) of fourteen sampled residents. Resident #21. Findings Include: Record review of the facility policy titled Oxygen/Nebulizer and Continuous Positive Airway Pressure (CPAP) Supplies with a revision date of 03/13/18 revealed .Place Oxygen/Nebulizer tubing/supplies and CPAP mask/supplies in plastic bag after each use An observation on 11/04/24 at 10:40 AM, revealed a nebulizer machine on the nightstand next to Resident #21's bed and the facial mask and tubing were not in a plastic protective covering. An interview with Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) #1 on 11/05/24 at 11:40 AM, confirmed that Resident #21's nebulizer mask and tubing were placed on top of the nightstand and were not inside a plastic protective bag. She revealed that a respiratory mask left open to air was an infection control issue, the mask could become contaminated with different…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
Show the remaining 7 citations
  • Potential for harm · F2024-01-25 · tag F0740 — failed to provide behavioral / mental-health care — widespread
    Ensure each resident must receive and the facility must provide necessary behavioral health care and services.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on staff interviews, record review and facility policy review, the facility failed to provide the necessary behavior health care and services to a resident with a diagnosis of major mental illness for one (1) of 12 sampled residents. Resident #23 Findings Include: Record review of the facility policy titled Behavioral; Health Services with a revision date of 4/28/16 revealed, Purpose: Services are provided to meet resident's psychological needs. Resident behavior and emotional needs are closely monitored and evaluated to ensure that they do not become obstacles to treatment goals. (Proper Name of Facility) provides care and services to prevent and manage behavioral problems . Record review of the Departmental Notes for Resident #23 revealed the following entries: 11/5/23, Resident called for help repeatedly to get up and lay down. 11/7/23, He does not participate in many activity programs due to him having anxiety when around groups of people. 11/7/23, Resident did have behavior issues today. Resident…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-01-25 · tag F0646 — isolated
    Notify the appropriate authorities when residents with MD or ID services has a significant change in condition.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on staff interviews, record review and facility policy review, the facility failed to submit a Level II Preadmission Screening and Resident Review (PASARR) to the State Mental Health (SMH) Authority for a resident with a mental disorder (MD) following a significant change in mental condition for one (1) of three (3) PASARR's reviewed. Resident #23 Findings Include: Record review of the facility policy titled Pre-admission Screening with a revision date of 2/21/19 revealed, Policy: . c. If after admission, a resident is found to have a mental illness or the physician orders a psychotropic medication for the resident a Mississippi PASRR Level 2 Change in Status request will be submitted . Record review of the Medical Doctor progress notes dated 11/14/23 revealed that Resident #23 was placed on an intervention of one on one for suicide watch due to suicidal ideation's. Record review of the Nurses Notes dated 11/25/23 revealed that Resident #23 was transferred to Behavior Health. An interview on 1/25/24 at…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-01-25 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolated
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on staff interviews, record review and facility policy review, the facility failed to implement a comprehensive care plan for monitoring a resident for suicidal ideation for one (1) of twelve care plans reviewed. Resident #23 Findings Include: Review of the facility policy titled MDS (Minimum Data Set) 3.0; Care Plans with a revision date of 6/23/16 revealed, Policy: The facility must develop a comprehensive care plan for each resident that includes measurable objectives and timetables to meet a resident's medical, nursing, mental, and psychosocial needs that are identified in the comprehensive assessment. The care plan must describe the following: 1. The services that are to be furnished to attain or maintain the resident's highest practicable physical, mental, and psychosocial well-being as required . Record review of Resident #23's Psychosocial Care Plan revealed under interventions, Monitor for suicidal ideation and was assigned to the role of Social Services. Record review of Resident #23's Anxiety…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-01-25 · tag F0745 — failed to provide medically-related social services — isolated
    Provide medically-related social services to help each resident achieve the highest possible quality of life.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, staff interviews, record review and facility policy review, the facility failed to provide or arrange for the necessary mental/psychosocial counseling services for a resident with a history of mental illness and suicidal ideation for one (1) of twelve sampled residents. Resident #23 Findings Include: Record review of the facility policy titled Social Service Program with a revision date of 5/10/16 revealed under, Policy: It is the policy of this facility to provide medically related social services to attain or maintain the highest practicable physical, mental, or psychosocial well-being of each resident. Also revealed under, Program Description: The Social Work Services Department is responsible for: . 4. Monitoring the resident's progress in improvement of physical, mental, and psychosocial functioning .6. Providing counseling services to residents and families . Record review of the Departmental Notes for Resident #23 dated 11/15/23 revealed the resident was transferred to behavior…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-01-25 · tag F0757 — failed to avoid unnecessary drugs — isolated
    Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on staff interviews and record review, the facility failed to monitor a resident receiving anticoagulant medication for signs of bruising and bleeding for one (1) of five (5) residents reviewed for unnecessary medications. Resident #23 Findings Include: The facility provided the State Agency (SA) documentation on letterhead, (Proper Name of Facility) does not have a specific policy for monitoring for signs and symptoms of bleeding/bruising for residents on anticoagulant therapy. Record review of Resident #23's Medication Administration Record (MAR) revealed an order dated 7/14/23, Coumadin 7.5 mg (milligrams) by mouth every day except Wednesday for Circulation. Also revealed an order dated 10/20/23,Coumadin 2.5 mg tablet take one tablet by mouth on Wednesday for circulation. Both physician orders had a discontinuation date of 1/20/24. Record review of Resident #23's MAR revealed an order dated 1/21/24, Warfarin Sodium 5 mg tablet by mouth daily at 5 PM for circulation. Record review of the Physician order…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-01-25 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolated
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, staff interviews, record review and facility policy review, the facility failed to assure that medications were secure and inaccessible to unauthorized staff and residents during two (2) of 10 medication observations. Findings Include: Record review of the facility policy titled, Medication Administration with a revision date of 6/07/16 revealed, .Essential Points: . 3. Never leave medication on top of medication cart unattended . During an observation of medication pass with Registered Nurse (RN) #1 on 1/23/24 at 11:15 AM, Resident #3 was ordered Novolog Insulin per sliding scale for a blood glucose reading of 285 mg/dl (milligrams/deciliter). RN #1 revealed the insulin was not stored on the medication cart, and she must go get the prescribed insulin from the medication room. Upon returning to the medication cart, RN #1 placed a clear open storage container on top of the med cart that contained nine (9) boxes of insulin and one (1) insulin pen. RN #1 entered Resident #3's room and administered the prescribed insulin and left the container filled with insulin…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-01-25 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, staff interviews, record review and facility policy review, the facility failed to appropriately clean and disinfect a blood glucose meter between resident use for three (3) of nine (9) residents who require blood glucose finger sticks. Findings Include: Record review of the facility policy titled, Glucose Checks with a revision date of 6/07/16 revealed, .Procedure: . 8. Clean glucometer after use for a wet time of 2 (two) minutes using purple top sani-wipe . An observation of Registered Nurse (RN) #1 on 1/23/24 at 11:02 AM, revealed after she completed a blood glucose check for Resident # 3 using a multi-use glucometer, she used a Sani-cloth (purple top) disinfecting wipe to briskly wipe down the glucometer machine for approximately five (5) seconds and placed the machine on a napkin barrier to air dry. RN #1 then performed blood glucose checks for Resident #183 and Resident # 12 and followed the same process for disinfecting the blood glucose monitor after resident use. An interview with Registered Nurse (RN) #1 on 1/23/24 at 11: 45 AM, revealed that she…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
TIPPAH COUNTY HOSPITALOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST100%since 12/29/2009
CHAPMAN, PATRICKIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 01/04/2016
JOHNSON, ANNAIndividualADP OF THE SNFsince 01/02/2019
THOMPSON, TIMOTHYIndividualADP OF THE SNFsince 01/28/2025

1 organizational owner listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

What families pay in MS

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Mississippi Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Mississippi
$9,581/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$9,885/mo
Nursing home (private)
$4,369/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 255130. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2026-02-19, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next