No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Jnh-Jefferson Inn

3550 Hwy 468 West, Whitfield, MS 39193 · Government - State · 90 certified beds · (601) 351-8015 Medicaid only — no Medicare

Call the home — (601) 351-8015 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
No harm-level citations or fines — but 15 lower-level deficiencies on record (see below)
Insights

This home’s record is mixed — some reassuring signs, some worth asking about.

In its favor
  • a middle-of-the-pack inspection score (3/5)
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
  • a high payroll-based staffing rating (5/5)
Worth asking about
  • a high number of inspection citations overall (15) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
  • its payroll- and facility-reported staffing and quality-measure scores sit well above its independent inspection score

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

5/5
CMS overall
5 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 3 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 5 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 5 of 5

Worth a closer look. This home's staffing and quality-measure ratings run 2 stars above its independent health-inspection score. The inspection is done by state surveyors; the quality-measure score leans on data the facility reports about itself, and staffing on its payroll (PBJ) submissions — so a gap this large is worth reading the inspection record for.

Location & what’s nearby

Urgent care / clinic
101 Millstone Dr · (601) 806-2158 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
187 Country Place Pkwy · (601) 936-7012 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
766 Highway 468 · (601) 591-0988 · Call to confirm hours
Park
500 Pirates Cove · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship
248 Oak Grove Church Rd · (601) 932-3812

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 5 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 5 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating fell from 5 to 3 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating3★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased5.6%20.5%15.4%better
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight4.1%6.2%5.4%better
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder0.5%1.4%0.9%better
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection1.3%2.5%2.0%better
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms0.0%1.6%6.5%check this — see note marked star below the table
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained1.6%0.2%0.1%worse
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury5.3%3.1%3.3%worse
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened1.7%19.6%16.1%better
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication33.4%23.8%18.9%worse
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine97.6%97.0%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers4.4%6.3%4.7%typical
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control4.0%20.7%21.2%better
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table54.7%21.7%17.1%check this — see note marked dagger below the table
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days2.262.431.67worse
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days0.262.861.80better

* This home reported 0% on a measure where lower is better. That can mean genuinely excellent care — but because the number is self-reported, a zero can also mean the problem was not recorded. Weigh it against the inspection record above.

This value is several times the typical-state benchmark. It can be real, or it can be a coding artifact in what the facility submitted. Weigh it against the inspection record above.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

0.16U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.08hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.08hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.16 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 14% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 11% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNFnot reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNFnot reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at dischargenot reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program.
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at dischargenot reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program.
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at dischargenot reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program.
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identifiednot reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program.
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF staynot reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program.
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsenednot reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program.
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalizationnot reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFsnot reported — This nursing home is not required to submit data for the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program.

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.69
RN hours/ resident / day
0.98
LPN hours/ resident / day
3.25
Aide hours/ resident / day
4.92
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.44
RN hoursweekends
43.5%
Total nursing turnover
25.0%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 90 beds and averages 75.9 residents a day — about 84% occupied, or roughly 14 beds typically open. It usually has some room. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 4.92 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.69 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 3.25 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 4.35 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 5.15 on weekdays — 15% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.79 to 0.44 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 44% is about the same as the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

7
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2025-10-09)
2
at the previous standard inspection (2024-08-08)

Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

15 citations, most serious first. The 10 most serious are shown; the remaining 5 are one tap away and print in full.

  • Potential for harm · E2025-10-09 · tag F0809 — failed to serve meals on a reasonable schedule — pattern
    Ensure meals and snacks are served at times in accordance with resident’s needs, preferences, and requests. Suitable and nourishing alternative meals and snacks must be provided for residents who want to eat at non-traditional times or outside of scheduled meal times.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure residents received meals at regular intervals not exceeding 14 hours between the evening and morning meal, or 16 hours when a bedtime snack is provided, for residents residing in the facility for one (1) of three (3) days of survey. Findings include:On 10/09/2025 at 10: 05 AM, an observation revealed Residents in building #31 were eating breakfast.On 10/09/2025 at 10:28AM, during an interview the Director of Operations (DO) stated breakfast was serviced at 9:45 AM, two (2) hours later than scheduled times for the residents in building #31.On 10/09/2025 at 11:05 AM, the DO stated that snacks are served at 10 AM and 2 PM daily and given at night for the diabetic residents. Residents who are not diabetic have access to snacks if they ask. She further confirmed that if a non-diabetic resident did not ask for a snack on Wednesday night, they would have gone almost 17 hours without a meal until breakfast Thursday morning (10/9/25). She confirmed that Food Service Aide (FSA) states dinner was served at 5 PM…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2025-10-09 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — pattern
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and facility policy review the facility failed to ensure that food was prepared and served in a sanitary manner to prevent foodborne illness. Specifically, a food-service worker was observed failing to change gloves after touching a door handle while taking food temperatures. This failure demonstrated a breach of proper hand-hygiene and glove-use procedures and created a risk of cross-contamination for one (1) of four (4) dietary observations.Findings include: A record review of the facility's Food Storage policy (revised June 2025) revealed, Employees will maintain good personal-hygiene practices and safe food-handling procedures during food storage.A record review of the facility's Food Preparation and Meal Service policy (revised June 2025) revealed, Employees will observe safe-handling practices during preparation and service of food to residents and patients.An observation on October 9, 2025, at 8:09 AM, during breakfast temperature checks in the dietary department, the State Agency observed Dietary Member #2 (DM #2), who had been employed at…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-10-09 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolated
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review, staff interview, and facility policy review the facility failed to implement the resident's care plan for monitoring dialysis weights and identify changes in condition for one (1) of (32) sampled residents (Resident #9). Findings include: A record review of the facility policy Care Plan Policy, no date, revealed, .2.Policy: A comprehensive, person-centered care plan will be developed and implemented for each resident by the interdisciplinary team, (IDT), resident, and his/her legal representative to include measurable objective and timetables to meet the resident's physical, psychosocial, and functional needs.A record review of the Care Plan Report' with a date initiated of 7/30/2025 revealed Focus: ARF (At risk for) Altered nutritional status r/t (related to) CKD/ESRD (chronic kidney disease/End Stage Renal Disease) .Interventions/Taks.Notify MD (Medical Doctor)/RD (Registered Dietician)/Correspondent of any significant weight changes . However, there was no individualized care plan…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-10-09 · tag F0658 — failed to meet professional standards of care — isolated
    Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review, interview, and facility policy review the facility failed to ensure completion and follow-up of resident communication forms used to coordinate care services, resulting in potential unmet resident needs in one (1) of (1) sampled resident receiving dialysis. Resident #9.Findings include:Record review of the facility policy Hemodialysis Care effective September 2024 revealed, .When a patient/resident is determined by a physician/nurse practitioner to need hemodialysis, the dialysis treatments will be provided by a contracted entity. The outside medical facility will arrange, develop, implement, and exchange information with Mississippi State Hospital (MSH) regarding the patient's/resident's specific dialysis care plan. A record review of the Identification and Summary Sheet revealed Resident #9 was admitted to the facility on [DATE], with diagnoses that included End-Stage Renal Disease (ESRD), requiring routine dialysis. Record review of the Minimum Data Set (MDS) with an Assessment…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-10-09 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolated
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and staff interviews, the facility failed to ensure the provision of physician-ordered care and services for a resident receiving dialysis treatment. Specifically, the facility failed to accurately correspond, obtain, and document dialysis weights for one (1) of 32 sampled residents. (Resident #9).Findings include: A record review of the Identification and Summary Sheet revealed Resident #9 was admitted to the facility on [DATE], with diagnoses that included End-Stage Renal Disease (ESRD), requiring routine dialysis. Record review of the Minimum Data Set (MDS) with an Assessment Reference Date (ARD0 of July 30, 2025, revealed a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of 15, indicating intact cognition. A record review of Resident #9's Dialysis Communication forms revealed that no pre- or post-dialysis weights were documented for August 6, 8, 11, and 18, 2025.A record review of the Physician Orders dated 9/20/25 revealed dialysis treatments three times per week, a renal-high diet,…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-10-09 · tag F0698 — failed to provide proper dialysis care — isolated
    Provide safe, appropriate dialysis care/services for a resident who requires such services.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review, staff interview, and facility policy review the facility failed to ensure accurate and complete documentation of dialysis weights for a resident receiving hemodialysis. Specifically, dialysis weights were not recorded on the dialysis communication form for four (4) of 30 dialysis treatment days during August 2025. Resident #9. Findings include:A record review of the facility's Hemodialysis Care policy, effective September 2024 revealed, .II. POLICY: When a resident or patient is determined by a physician or nurse practitioner to need hemodialysis . the outside medical facility will . exchange information with Mississippi State Hospital regarding the resident-specific dialysis care plan. III. PROCEDURE: .3. C. The nurse will document in the patient's or resident's medical record any significant psychological or physiological changes of a patient or resident receiving dialysis and report such changes immediately to the provider . Record review of Dialysis Communication forms revealed that…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-10-09 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations, interviews, record reviews and facility policy review, the facility failed to prevent the possible spread of infection during wound care as evidenced by failure to implement proper use of Enhanced Barrier Precautions (EBP) during wound care for one (1) of three (3) care observations. Resident #11Findings include:A record review of the facility's Standard Precautions & Enhanced Barrier Precautions dated 6/2024 revealed 2. POLICY: All employees will utilize Standard Precautions or Enhanced Barrier Precautions when indicated, on all patients/residents at all times .3. Enhanced Barrier Precautions expands the use of Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) beyond situations in which exposure to blood and body fluids is anticipated. High contact resident care includes Wound care (any skin opening requiring a dressing. A record review of the EBP signage revealed .Providers and staff must also: Wear gloves and a gown for the following High-Contact Resident Care Activities .Wound care: any skin opening requires dressing.On 10/06/2025 at 2:43 PM, during initial tour,…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-08-01 · tag F0550 — failed to protect resident dignity and rights — isolated
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, record review, interview, and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure the residents' right to be treated with dignity and respect, as evidenced by staff provided incontinent care without providing privacy for two (2) of four (4) sampled residents. Resident #1 and Resident #2. Findings include:Record review of the facility policy titled, RIGHTS OF RESIDENTS, dated July 2023, revealed .All persons admitted to (Proper name of facility) will be assured that their legal rights will be protected and promoted. The resident will receive care consistent with basic human dignity.The resident has the right to a dignified existence .On 7/30/25 at 9:39 AM, during a pre-survey interview with the Complainant who is the facility Ombudsman stated that during a routine visit at this facility on 6/10/25, she walked down the hallway and noticed two aides with Resident #1 in the hallway and there was something going on that was not right. She stated that it appeared the staff were attempting to provide care for the resident in the hallway and that they put the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-08-08 · tag F0692 — failed to prevent malnutrition and dehydration — isolated
    Provide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations, interviews, and record reviews the facility failed to follow physician orders for dietary supplements for one (1) of two (2) residents reviewed for nutrition. Resident #68 Findings Include: On 08/05/24 at 1:25 PM, an observation of Resident #68 eating lunch in the dining room revealed the resident could feed himself, using his left hand, after staff set up his tray. The resident consumed 100% of his meal, but there was no dietary supplement on his lunch tray. On 08/06/24 at 1:20 PM, an observation of Resident #68 eating lunch in the dining room revealed that Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) #1 noted that there was no Boost on his tray, so she left the dining area and returned with the Boost in hand. The resident immediately picked it up and began to consume it. On 08/07/24 at 10:10 AM, in an interview with the Registered Dietitian (RD), she stated she expected the staff to honor residents' preferences and encourage them to eat. She mentioned she expected the staff to offer the Boost and noted the resident had gained some weight over the past couple of months.…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-08-08 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolated
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations, staff interviews record review and facility policy review, the facility failed to date medications that were opened and stored in two (2) of four (4) medication refrigerators in medication storage rooms. Findings Include: A record review of the facility policy titled MultiDose Vials, dated 11/21, revealed 1.This policy establishes the requirements to regulate the use of multidose vials to ensure stability and prevent contamination . 2. POLICY: The pharmacy attempts to supply injectable drugs in unit of use vials when practical, but many items are only available in multidose vials. 3. PROCEDURE: A. All multi-dose vials must be dated with a 28-day expiration date from the time of initial puncture . On 08/07/24 at 08:30 AM, during an observation of the medication room in Building 33 on the second floor with Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) #1, the medication refrigerators were found to contain Novolin R vials that had been opened and not dated. On 08/07/24 at 08:35 AM, an interview with LPN #1 revealed that nurses were trained during orientation and at least yearly…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
Show the remaining 5 citations
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-03-20 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolated
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interviews and record review, the facility failed to ensure a Certified Nurse Aide (CNA) followed the resident's care plan, which resulted in an unwitnessed fall from the bed for one (1) of three (3) the residents reviewed for accidents. Resident #1 Findings include: Record review of Care Plan, with a problem onset date of 5/10/2023 revealed : Requires the use of Siderails x 2 in bed r/t (related to) Profound IDD (Intellectual and Developmental Disability), Delusional Disorder, and Unaware of Safety Hazards .Approaches .Siderails up x 2 when in bed . On 3/20/24 at 11:02 AM, in an interview with the Administrator, she revealed CNA #1 did not follow Resident #1's care plan. The Administrator confirmed that she expects all staff to adhere to physician orders and to follow the resident's care plan, as the care plan is a guideline for how staff are to care for the residents and not following it puts the resident at harm. On 3/20/24 11:27 AM, in an interview with the Director of Nursing (DON), she revealed she has educated the CNA's on following the plan of care for resident…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-03-20 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interviews, record review, facility investigation, and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure a dependent resident was supervised and physician ordered assistive devices were implemented to prevent an unwitnessed fall from bed for one (1) of three (3) the residents reviewed for accidents. Resident #1 Findings include: Record review of the facility's policy titled, Standards of Care, dated May 2022, revealed, 1. PURPOSE AND APPLICABILITY This policy identifies the designated nursing reference manual for licensed and unlicensed nursing staff . in all programs . 2. POLICY: .The certified nursing assistant textbook currently in use by Staff Education is the designated reference manual for unlicensed nursing staff 3. PROCEDURE . D. Prior to executing any clinical procedure, all nursing staff will: (1) Verify physician/nurse practitioner order for patient/resident . Record review of the Investigative Findings, dated March 8, 2024, revealed the investigation of a fall involving Resident #1. The initial concern identified in the investigation was that the fall of…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2023-01-26 · tag F0804 — failed to serve food at safe, palatable temperature — widespread
    Ensure food and drink is palatable, attractive, and at a safe and appetizing temperature.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, interviews, record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure the resident's meals maintained a palatable temperature. This had the potential to affect 34 of the 34 residents receiving meals in building 31. Findings include: Review of the facility's policy, Isolation Meals, Food Storage and Service, dated June 2021, revealed . This policy establishes procedures for the safe handling of meals during isolation and during food storage and service. It applies to all [NAME] Nursing Home (JNH) employees . Food delivered for meal service: .Length of time, rather than temperature levels, will be used to control, ready-to eat food from the resident pantries . Immediately on receipt of hot food in resident care buildings the temperature will be taken using the bimetallic stem thermometer and recorded on the MSH Food Temperature Log (MSH 51). The food will be placed in the pre-heated stem table to maintain a palatable temperature. The temperature should be at or above 135…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-01-26 · tag F0679 — failed to provide activities — isolated
    Provide activities to meet all resident's needs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based observations, interviews, record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to implement an ongoing resident-centered activities program that incorporates the resident's interests for two (2) of 35 residents in building #31. Resident # 51, Resident # 64 Findings Include: Review of the facility's policy, Residents Rights, dated May 2021, revealed, The resident has the right to a dignified existence, self-determination, and communication with and access to persons and services inside and outside the facility . The resident has the right to choose activities, schedules (including sleeping and waking times), health care and providers of health care services consistent with his or her interest, assessment, and plan of care. The resident has the right to interact with members of the community and participate in community activities both inside and outside the facility . The resident has the right to organize and participate in resident groups in the facility . The resident has the right to participate in other activities, including social, religious, and community…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-01-26 · tag F0849 — isolated
    Arrange for the provision of hospice services or assist the resident in transferring to a facility that will arrange for the provision of hospice services.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interviews, record review, and facility's policy review, the facility failed to designate a staff member of the interdisciplinary team responsible for working with the hospice representative to coordinate care provided by the hospice service and the facility for one (1) of one (1) sampled residents receiving hospice care. Resident #63 Findings include: A record review of the facility's policy, Routine Hospice Home Care Services, undated, revealed Based upon the needs of the Resident and family as determined and prior approved by Hospice, . services related to the management of the terminal illness will be provided to eligible Residents by Hospice . IV. Cooperation in Professional Management . 4.3 . d. Designate a member of the Nursing Home's interdisciplinary group to be responsible for working with Hospice representatives to coordinate care to the Resident provided by the Nursing Home and Hospice Staff . The designated interdisciplinary team member is responsible for the following: i. Collaborating with Hospice representatives and coordinated Nursing Home staff…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Administration Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleSince
Ownership Data Not Available

The source lists no ownership percentage for any party here — PECOS records a share only for equity interests, not for board or management roles.

What families pay in MS

Paying with Medicaid

CMS lists this home as Medicaid-certified only — it can accept Medicaid for long-term care, but it is not Medicare-certified, so Medicare will not pay for a short rehabilitation (“skilled nursing”) stay here. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Mississippi Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Mississippi
$9,581/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$9,885/mo
Nursing home (private)
$4,369/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 25A402. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-10-09, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next