No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Northern Montana Care Center

24 13th St, Havre, MT 59501 · Non profit - Corporation · 135 certified beds · (406) 262-1900 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (406) 262-1900 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Abuse-prevention, restraint, or reporting citation — no harm found (F0604) — cited Jun 2025
Insights

This home’s record is mixed — some reassuring signs, some worth asking about.

In its favor
  • a strong health-inspection score (5/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
  • no harm-level citations in the current inspection record
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
  • a high payroll-based staffing rating (5/5)
Worth asking about
  • it has a citation for its abuse-prevention policies, restraint use, or reporting and investigating of allegations (F0604) — cited below the harm level, meaning inspectors found the process wanting but did not find a resident harmed
  • its facility-reported quality-measure rating is low (2/5)

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

5/5
CMS overall
5 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 5 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 5 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 2 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
20 13th St W · (406) 265-7831 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
123 5th Ave Ste B · (406) 265-9601 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
1020 3rd Ave · (406) 226-4426 · Call to confirm hours
Park
500 11th St · (406) 265-5781 · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 2 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 2 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating held steady at 5 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating5★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased16.9%18.7%15.4%typical
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight6.0%6.2%5.4%worse
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder4.1%2.1%0.9%worse than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection3.2%2.9%2.0%worse
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms3.3%5.6%6.5%better
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.6%0.1%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury6.7%4.4%3.3%worse
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened16.0%17.2%16.1%typical
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication20.8%15.8%18.9%worse
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine100.0%93.6%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers9.7%6.3%4.7%worse
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control14.4%24.1%21.2%better
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table16.8%20.4%17.1%typical
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication0.0%1.2%1.4%better
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine95.8%73.8%79.4%better
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days1.011.381.67better
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days2.602.161.80worse

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

48.4% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 73 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

48.4%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
11.6%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
0.06U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.06hours / resident / day
Physical therapy

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.06 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 3% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 14% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF48.4%CMS range 38.8–55.851.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF11.6%CMS range 8.2–17.410.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identifiednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — Newly certified nursing home with less than 12-15 months of data available or the nursing home opened less than 6 months ago, and there were no data to submit or claims for this measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF staynot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsenednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalizationnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs1.051.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

1.05
RN hours/ resident / day
0.61
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.64
Aide hours/ resident / day
4.31
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.74
RN hoursweekends
47.5%
Total nursing turnover
18.8%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 135 beds and averages 75.1 residents a day — about 56% occupied, or roughly 60 beds typically open. It often has substantial empty capacity — worth asking why, since low census can reflect either a new or shrinking home or one families are avoiding. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 4.31 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 1.05 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.64 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.85 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 4.49 on weekdays — 14% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 1.18 to 0.74 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 48% is about the same as the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

4
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2025-06-30)
1
at the previous standard inspection (2024-08-01)

Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

  • Potential for harm · E2025-06-30 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — pattern
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure 1 (#57) of 30 sampled residents were safe from wandering the facility and into 4 other residents' rooms (#s 7, 31, 41, and 64). This deficient practice increased the risk of negative interactions between the residents related to safety and infection control concerns. Findings include: During an interview on 6/28/25 at 3:38 p.m., resident #64 stated resident #57 was often confused and would wander into his room, sometimes at night. Resident #64 stated he did have a history of PTSD, and resident #57 walking into his room made him feel uncomfortable. Resident #64 stated resident #57 would sometimes steal things from his room. Resident #64 stated he was told by staff to put his items away when he left his room to prevent resident #57 from taking any of his items. During an observation on 6/29/25 at 3:21 p.m., resident #57 was in her wheelchair, and she wheeled into resident #7's room when the resident was sleeping. Resident #57 watched resident #7 for approximately 30 seconds, then exited the room. During…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-06-30 · tag F0604 — failed to not use physical restraints improperly — isolated
    Ensure that each resident is free from the use of physical restraints, unless needed for medical treatment.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure there was a physician order and consent signed on in the EHR for a physical restraint, which was a seatbelt used for a resident who used a motorized wheelchair to assist with preventing falls, for 1 (#50) of 30 sampled residents. Findings include: During an observation on 6/28/25 at 5:26 p.m., resident #50 had a seatbelt on while he was sitting in his motorized wheelchair. Review of resident #50's EHR showed no consent or physician order was present for the seatbelt, which restrained the resident, in his motorized wheelchair. Review of resident #50's EHR showed a physician's note, dated 9/6/24, which showed the following diagnoses: bipolar I disorder, intellectual disability, developmental delay, PTSD, hypertension, insomnia, prediabetes, traumatic brain injury, history of institutionalization, aggressive behavior, difficulty with speech, on a combination of antipsychotic drug therapy, and a history of a sacral pressure ulcer. During an interview on 6/30/25 at 8:52 a.m., staff member E stated they were…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-06-30 · tag F0645 — isolated
    PASARR screening for Mental disorders or Intellectual Disabilities
    What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing

    Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure a PASARR was completed for 1 (#64) of 30 sampled residents. This deficient practice increased the risk of the resident not being assessed or receiving necessary services related to the resident's mental health diagnosis or PTSD. Findings include: During an interview on 6/28/25 at 3:38 p.m., resident #64 stated he had PTSD from the war. Review of resident #64's EHR showed a diagnosis of PTSD. A request was made on 6/29/25 at 11:57 a.m., for resident #64's Level I and Level II PASARR. During an interview on 6/29/25 at 2:03 p.m., staff member C stated the facility did not have a PASARR for resident #64. Staff member C and staff member A stated they worked with [Entity Name] who filed most of their paperwork, and resident #64's PASARR must have gotten lost in the transfer to [Entity Name].

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-06-30 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolated
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to update individualized resident care plans regarding behaviors and previous trauma, for 2 (#s 61 and 64) of 30 sampled residents. This deficient practice increased the risk for #61 and #64 not having preferences met or known, and a resident's exhibited behaviors continuing without interventions being implemented. Findings include: During an interview on 6/29/25 at 3:49 p.m., staff member F stated resident #61 and resident #64 would have some outbursts or display behaviors at times. Staff member F stated the facility had behavior charting when those events occurred. a. Review of resident #61's EHR showed a nursing note, dated 6/28/25, which showed, Resident was in dining room for breakfast when another resident yelled out then she (resident #61) proceeded to yell at that resident to Shut up and cursing at that resident. then resident was cursing at staff and came out and told this nurse im gonna knock [name] on her ass one day. and continued fussing and…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-08-01 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review, staff member G failed to adhere to proper infection control practices related to performing hand hygiene prior to donning gloves and after doffing gloves for 3 (#s 13, 37, and 179) of 5 sampled residents observed for medication administration. Findings include: During an observation on 7/31/24 at 7:28 a.m., staff member G sanitized her hands and donned gloves to administer eye drops to resident #37. Staff member G administered the eye drops to resident #37, then doffed her gloves. Staff member G did not perform hand sanitization after she doffed her gloves or before she donned a new pair of gloves to perform blood glucose monitoring for resident #37. During an observation on 7/31/24 at 7:32 a.m., staff member G administered resident #179's morning medication. Staff member G prepared blood glucose monitoring supplies for resident #179, then donned gloves. Staff member G did not perform hand sanitization prior to donning the gloves. During an observation on 7/31/24 at 7:44 a.m., staff member G gathered supplies to perform blood…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-03-26 · tag F0557 — isolated
    Honor the resident's right to be treated with respect and dignity and to retain and use personal possessions.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure dignity and respect were honored for privacy of medical information, for 1 (#1) of 6 sampled residents. This deficient practice had the potential to affect all residents who were provided incontinence care by facility staff. Findings include: During an interview on 3/23/24 at 11:27 a.m., NF1 stated she had received a call from NF2 with allegations of abuse and neglect. NF1 stated NF2 was upset because resident #1 had her pubic area shaved while she was provided incontinent care by staff members. During an interview on 3/25/24 at 11:50 a.m., NF2 stated resident #1 had dementia and had very poor short and long-term memory loss. NF2 stated she was made aware of the incident, of the resident being shaved, by staff on 3/8/24 when she had come to the facility to visit resident #1. NF2 stated she had asked nursing staff about bruising that was noted to resident #1's arm. NF2 stated she was told the bruising was from a lab draw that morning. NF2 stated, That is when I found out that resident #1 had her pubic…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2023-08-02 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — widespread
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility staff failed to remove expired items for disposal for two out of four medication rooms. Findings include: During an observation on 8/2/23 at 8:47 a.m., the following were found in medication room number one: - 1 green tip culture swab with an expiration date of 10/31/21, - 1 red tip culture swab with an expiration date of 12/31/22, - 1 blue tip culture swab with an expiration date of 3/22/23, - 3, 30 gauge, half inch syringes with an expiration date of 5/28/22, -Cavilon barrier film with an expiration date of 07/22, and -1 vial of open PPD solution, with no open or discard date. During an interview on 8/2/23 at 8:50 a.m., staff member E stated the medication aides go through the medication rooms and get rid of the expired medications and supplies. Staff member E stated she was unsure how often the medication room should have been gone through, but thought it was done weekly, on Sundays. During an interview on 8/2/23 at 8:59 a.m., staff member C stated, Medication carts and medication rooms are to be checked monthly for…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-08-02 · tag F0883 — failed to offer flu and pneumonia vaccines — isolated
    Develop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure pneumococcal vaccine declinations and education were provided and signed for 2 (#s 12 and 46) of 5 sampled residents. Findings include: Review of resident #12's EMR showed the resident had not received the PCV15 or PCV20 pnuemococcal vaccines, which she was due for. There were no declinations or education for the vaccine documented in the resident's chart. Review of resident #46's EMR showed the resident did not have documentation of receiving a pneumococcal vaccine. There were no declinations or education for the vaccine in the resident's chart. During an interview on 8/2/23 at 2:04 p.m., staff members A and C stated they did not have the pneumococcal vaccine declination for resident #12, and would keep looking. Staff members A and C stated the pneumococcal vaccine was not offered yearly to resident's who declined previously. Staff member C stated vaccines were reviewed upon admit, and consents and declinations for vaccines should have been signed then. During an interview on 8/2/23 at 3:39 p.m., staff member C…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
NORTHERN MONTANA CARE CENTER INCOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTNO PERCENTAGE PROVIDEDsince 03/01/2004
NORTHERN MONTANA HEALTH CARE INCOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; 5% OR GREATER MORTGAGE INTEREST; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFNO PERCENTAGE PROVIDEDsince 03/01/2024
CARLSON, ANDREWIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 03/01/2024
HAMILTON, MILESIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 03/01/2024
HARADA, KEVINIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 03/01/2024
HEALY, DEBRAIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 03/01/2024
KAMMERZELL, KIRSTENIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 03/01/2024
LIEN, KARENIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 03/01/2024
PATRICK, JENNIFERIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 03/01/2024
STEVENS, RICHARDIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 03/01/2024
TUSS, PAULIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 03/01/2024
HENRY, DAVIDIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 03/01/2024
LEEDS, DAVIDIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERsince 10/22/1991
OBRESLEY, CHRISTENIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 03/01/2024
DERBY, ADAMIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 03/01/2024

CMS files one row per role, so the 23 rows in the source record cover these 15 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.

2 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

What families pay in MT

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Montana Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Montana
$8,973/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$9,581/mo
Nursing home (private)
$6,075/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 275112. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-06-30, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next