No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Bladen East Health and Rehab

804 S Poplar Street, Elizabethtown, NC 28337 · For profit - Limited Liability company · 90 certified beds · (910) 862-8100 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (910) 862-8100 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Abuse/neglect citation on record (F0600) — cited Apr 20251 actual-harm citation$13,381 in federal fines
Insights

This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.

In its favor
  • a middle-of-the-pack inspection score (3/5)
Worth asking about
  • it has an abuse, neglect, or exploitation citation (F0600), cited Apr 2025
  • it has 1 actual-harm citation
  • the CMS record shows $13,381 in federal fines (most recent 2025-03-06)
  • its facility-reported quality-measure rating is low (1/5)

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

2/5
CMS overall
2 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 3 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 3 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 1 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
107 E Dunham St · (910) 862-2122 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
503 Doctors Dr · (910) 862-3465 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
302 S Poplar St · (910) 862-4702 · Call to confirm hours
Park
Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship
909 S Poplar St · (910) 991-3029

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 1 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 1 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating held steady at 3 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating3★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased20.9%15.6%15.4%worse
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight5.2%7.2%5.4%typical
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder2.0%0.7%0.9%worse
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection3.6%2.3%2.0%worse
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms3.4%5.9%6.5%better
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.0%0.1%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury3.5%3.5%3.3%typical
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened24.2%18.3%16.1%worse
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication14.2%21.3%18.9%better
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine100.0%94.1%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers6.6%5.5%4.7%worse
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control11.2%20.7%21.2%better
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table14.4%14.0%17.1%better
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication0.0%1.4%1.4%better
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine77.3%78.1%79.4%typical
Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission17.4%22.9%22.6%better
Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit18.4%12.9%12.0%worse
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days2.491.781.67worse
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days4.271.801.80worse

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

11.3%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
0.23U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.06hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.11hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.05hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.23 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 30% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 15% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNFnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF11.3%CMS range 6.6–17.810.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identifiednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF staynot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsenednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalizationnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs1.411.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.52
RN hours/ resident / day
0.99
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.10
Aide hours/ resident / day
3.61
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.22
RN hoursweekends
51.7%
Total nursing turnover
0.0%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 90 beds and averages 62.4 residents a day — about 69% occupied, or roughly 28 beds typically open. It often has substantial empty capacity — worth asking why, since low census can reflect either a new or shrinking home or one families are avoiding. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.61 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.52 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.10 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.26 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.75 on weekdays — 13% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.64 to 0.22 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 52% is about the same as the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

2
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2026-06-18)
2
at the previous standard inspection (2025-03-06)

Deficiencies are unchanged from the previous inspection. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

10 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.

  • Actual harm · G2024-09-18 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and staff interviews, the facility failed to provide care in a safe manner resulting in a fall from a bed that was in the elevated position which resulted in a closed displaced fracture of left clavicle shaft, closed fracture of the left third, fourth and fifth ribs and hospitalization for 1 of 3 sampled residents reviewed for supervision to prevent accidents (Resident #1). The findings included: Resident #1 was initially admitted to the facility on [DATE] with the last readmission on [DATE]. Her diagnoses include diabetes, dementia and heart failure. Resident #1's significant change Minimum Data Set Assessment (MDS) dated [DATE] coded the resident as moderately cognitively impaired and dependent with bed mobility and toileting. Resident #1 was also coded for hospice care. Resident #1's care plan, last updated 6/10/24, revealed the staff identified the resident needing assistance with her activities of daily living due to heart failure. She required extensive assistance by 1 staff for…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2026-06-18 · tag F0801 — widespread
    Employ sufficient staff with the appropriate competencies and skills sets to carry out the functions of the food and nutrition service, including a qualified dietician.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on record review and staff interviews, the facility failed to employ a director of food and nutrition services that met the minimum qualifications. This had the potential to affect 58 of 62 residents who consumed food. Findings included: During an interview on 6/15/26 at 10:36 AM with the Dietary Manager she revealed that she did not have any of the following: certification as a dietary manager or food manager, national certification for food service management and safety, an associate's or higher degree in food service management or in hospitality, 2 or more years of experience in the position of Director of Food and Nutrition Services in a nursing facility setting. The Dietary Manager stated that she was not Serv Safe certified and that she was waiting for the Administrator to enroll her for the dietary/food manager training. She stated that she started in her current position on 12/8/25 after the former Dietary Manager left abruptly and that she had been a cook for around 10 years. The Dietary manager reported that the Corporate Registered Dietitian (RD) came to the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-06-18 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolated
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation and staff interviews, the facility failed to ensure the Skilled Unit Medication Cart #1 was secured while unattended for 1 of 4 medication carts observed for medication storage (Skilled Unit Medication Cart #1).The findings included: On 06/16/2026 at 4:29 PM, Nurse #1 was observed walking on an adjacent hall away from the Skilled Unit Medication cart. The cart was not in her line of sight because we had to turn the corner from another hall to get back to her cart. When the Nurse and this surveyor walked back to her cart at 4:31 PM, due to a question about a medication she administered, the lock button was not pushed in to secure the cart. The Nurse pushed the lock button in when it was bought to her attention. During an interview on 06/16/2026 at 4:31 PM, Nurse #1 stated she usually locked her cart, but she forgot to lock her cart when she walked away. An interview with the Director of Nursing (DON) was conducted on 06/16/2026 at 4:33 PM. The DON stated she expected all nurses to make sure all carts were locked prior to walking away. An interview with the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-04-03 · tag F0600 — failed to protect residents from abuse and neglect — isolated
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, record review, and resident, staff and Medical Director interviews, the facility failed to protect a resident's right to be free from resident-to-resident abuse when Resident #2 hit Resident #1 with a grabber-reacher tool (a tool that assists people reach something to pick it up) multiple times on the right hand, injuring his right 4th digit fingernail. This affected 1 of 4 residents reviewed for abuse (Resident #1). The findings included: Resident #1 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnosis that included multiple sclerosis, psychosis, anxiety disorder and mood disorder due to known physiological condition. Resident #1's Minimum Data Set (MDS), dated [DATE], revealed he was cognitively intact and had no behaviors. He had impairment on both sides of his upper and lower extremities and was dependent on staff for his activities of daily living and independently operated his manual wheelchair. Resident #1's care plan, last revised 01/02/25, indicated Resident #1 had been care…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2025-03-06 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — pattern
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations and staff interviews, the facility failed to label and date resident's personal food items and discard expired food items stored in 1 of 1 nourishment refrigerator. This practice had the potential to cause foodborne illnesses. Findings included: An observation of the nourishment refrigerator with the facility's Dietary Manager on 3/4/25 at 1:28 PM revealed the following: a. 2 yogurt cups with the expiration date of 12/31/24 b. A Ranch dressing bottle with the expiration date of 1/20/25 c. Partially eaten chicken wings and corn on the cob in a disposable plate with no date or label d. A 2-liter soda bottle approximately two thirds full with no label or date e. A plastic bottle with orange colored liquid with no label or date The Dietary Manager, who was present during the observation, stated that nursing staff were supposed to ensure the food items were labeled and dated and that expired items were discarded. An interview was conducted on 3/4/25 at 1:30 PM with the Assistant Director of Nursing (ADON) when she came into the nourishment room and placed the food…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-02-29 · tag F0550 — failed to protect resident dignity and rights — isolated
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, record review, and staff interviews the facility failed to maintain dignity for a resident with an uncovered urinary drainage bag, with urine visible for public view from the hallway. The reasonable person concept was applied as individuals have the expectation of being treated with dignity and would not want their urine visible to visitors, staff, and other residents, for 1 of 2 residents reviewed for dignity (Resident #27). The findings included: Resident #27 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses including unspecified intellectual disabilities, mental disorder. The quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE] had Resident #27 coded as moderately cognitively impaired was incontinent of bowel and bladder and had a foley catheter. The care plan dated 12/08/2023 had focus' of the residents impaired cognitive function or impaired thought processes and had a foley catheter in place. The interventions included to position catheter bag and tubing below the level of the bladder…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-02-29 · tag F0690 — failed to manage incontinence, catheters, and urinary infections — isolated
    Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, staff interviews and record review, the facility failed to keep a catheter drainage bag from touching the floor to reduce the risk of infection for 1 of 2 sampled resident reviewed for the use of a urinary catheter (Resident #27). The findings included: Resident #27 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses including unspecified intellectual disabilities, mental disorder. The quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE] had Resident #27 coded as moderately cognitively impaired was incontinent of bowel and bladder and had a foley catheter. The care plan dated 12/08/2023 had focus' of the residents impaired cognitive function or impaired thought processes and had a foley catheter in place. The interventions included to position catheter bag and tubing below the level of the bladder and away from the entrance room door. A review of the urology report dated 07/14/2022 revealed Resident #27 had a diagnosis of urinary retention with urinary tract infections (UTI) episodes and likely…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-02-29 · tag F0695 — failed to provide proper breathing / tracheostomy care — isolated
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review, observations, staff and physician interviews, the facility failed to administer oxygen at the prescribed rate for 1 of 2 residents reviewed for respiratory care (Resident #15). The findings included: Resident #15 was initially admitted to the facility on [DATE] with the last readmission on [DATE]. Her diagnoses included chronic obstructive pulmonary disease and heart failure. Resident #15's care plan initiated 2/25/23 indicated Resident #15 was on oxygen therapy related to congestive heart failure. Interventions included oxygen at 2 liters per minute via nasal cannula. A Physician's order dated 9/18/23 indicated administer oxygen at 2 liters/minute via nasal cannula for oxygen saturations less than 90%. Resident #15's quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE] indicated Resident #15 was cognitively intact and received oxygen therapy. Diagnoses included heart failure and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease. During observation on 2/26/24 at 10:23 AM Resident #15 was observed…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • No harm found · B2025-03-06 · tag F0641 — pattern
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and staff interviews, the facility failed to accurately code the Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment for 2 of 2 residents reviewed for restraints (Resident #15 and Resident #62). The findings included: 1. Resident #15 was admitted to the facility on [DATE]. The quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE] indicated Resident #15 was cognitively intact, and a physical restraint of a bed rail was used daily. During an interview with Resident #15 on 03/03/2025 at 11:48 AM. The resident stated she did not have bedrails on her bed. An observation of Resident # 15's bed on 03/03/2025 at 11:48 AM did not reveal any bed rails. An interview with the MDS Coordinator was conducted on 03/04/2025 at 12:44 PM. She stated she was not at the facility at the time the screening was completed for Resident #15. She reported Resident # 15 did not have bedrails on her bed and the use of bedrails as a restraint was coded in an error on the MDS. An interview with the Director of Nursing (DON) was conducted on…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has plan of correction
  • No harm found · B2024-10-08 · tag F0573 — pattern
    Let each resident or the resident's legal representative access or purchase copies of all the resident's records.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review, interviews with the Responsible Party (RP) and staff, the facility failed to provide copies of the resident's medical records after a request for 1 of 3 sample resident reviewed for medical record access (Resident #1). Findings included: Resident #1 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] Review of Resident #1's admission Record completed on 01/25/2023 revealed a family member was listed as her RP and Power of Attorney. The discharge Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE] assessed Resident #1 with severe impairment in cognition During a telephone interview on 10/08/2024 at 10:15 AM, the RP stated she spoke to the Business Office Manager about 2 months ago to request Resident #1's copies of the medical records and she had not received copies of the medical records. RP stated that she did not recall the Business Office Manager asking her to come to the facility to sign a release form to receive copies of the medical records.The RP added that she did not know the reason the facility had not sent…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has plan of correction
Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

$13,381 in federal fines across 2 penalties.

  • $5,230 — penalty dated 2025-03-06
  • $8,151 — penalty dated 2024-09-18

Dates are the dates CMS records the penalty, not the date of the conduct behind it. CMS publishes penalties on a rolling window, so this is what is currently on the public file — not the home’s lifetime history, and an older fine may attach to a problem that has since been corrected. The amounts are as imposed: the CMS file does not record whether a penalty was appealed, reduced, or paid, so we don’t say. Ask the home what each one was for and what changed since.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
CAMPBELL, HUGHIndividual5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST50%since 06/01/2017
MILLER, ZACHARYIndividual5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL50%since 06/01/2017

CMS files one row per role, so the 3 rows in the source record cover these 2 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$8.2M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
+5.0%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
$879K
Related-party expense11% of expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 62%Medicare 4%Other / private 34%

This home reported $879K paid to related parties — landlords or management companies under common ownership — equal to about 11% of its total expenses. Money routed to affiliated companies can leave a home’s own books looking lean while owners still profit; it is the mechanism regulators watch most closely in private-equity and REIT deals.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$230per resident / day
operating cost
$7,000per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$242per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in NC

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the North Carolina Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in North Carolina
$9,733/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$10,798/mo
Nursing home (private)
$6,496/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 345267. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2026-06-18, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next