Strasburg Nursing Home
409 S 3rd St, Strasburg, ND 58573 · Non profit - Corporation · 30 certified beds · (701) 336-2651 Medicare & Medicaid certified
On the public record, this home looks stronger than most — but visit before you decide.
- a strong health-inspection score (4/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
- no federal fines or payment denials on record
- a high payroll-based staffing rating (5/5)
- fewer deficiencies at its most recent standard inspection than at the one before — a sign of improvement
- it has citations for its abuse-prevention policies, restraint use, or reporting and investigating of allegations (F0609, F0610) — cited below the harm level, meaning inspectors found the process wanting but did not find a resident harmed
- a high number of inspection citations overall (15) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 4 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 5 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 4 of 5 |
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 4 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 4 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating held steady at 5 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 20.2% | 19.8% | 15.4% | worse |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 2.8% | 5.8% | 5.4% | better |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 0.0% | 1.6% | 0.9% | better |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 6.5% | 2.6% | 2.0% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 0.0% | 4.4% | 6.5% | check this* — see note marked star below the table |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.2% | 0.1% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 8.3% | 5.1% | 3.3% | worse |
| Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened | 11.9% | 17.6% | 16.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 8.3% | 17.4% | 18.9% | better |
| Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 100.0% | 98.8% | 95.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 1.9% | 4.9% | 4.7% | better |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 23.3% | 24.9% | 21.2% | typical |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 15.1% | 22.7% | 17.1% | better |
* This home reported 0% on a measure where lower is better. That can mean genuinely excellent care — but because the number is self-reported, a zero can also mean the problem was not recorded. Weigh it against the inspection record above.
‡ On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.01 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 0% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.
Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 0% of this home’s weekday level — it runs therapy on weekdays, with essentially none at the weekend. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | not reported — The data for this measure is missing or was not submitted. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | not reported — The data for this measure is missing or was not submitted. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | not reported — The data for this measure is missing or was not submitted. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | not reported — The data for this measure is missing or was not submitted. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | not reported — The data for this measure is missing or was not submitted. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | not reported — The data for this measure is missing or was not submitted. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | not reported — The data for this measure is missing or was not submitted. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | not reported — The data for this measure is missing or was not submitted. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | not reported — The data for this measure is missing or was not submitted. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | not reported — The data for this measure is missing or was not submitted. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | not reported — The data for this measure is missing or was not submitted. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 30 beds and averages 26.7 residents a day — about 89% occupied, or roughly 3 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 4.49 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 1.25 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.63 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.76 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 4.78 on weekdays — 21% thinner on weekends — a notable drop. RN hours go from 1.37 to 0.95 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 50% is about the same as the national median of 45%.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are fewer than at the previous inspection — improving. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
15 citations, most serious first. The 10 most serious are shown; the remaining 5 are one tap away and print in full.
- Potential for harm · D2026-04-01 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolatedProvide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, record review, review of facility policy, and staff interview, the facility failed to provide the necessary care and services to maintain the highest practicable physical well-being for 1 of 14 residents (Resident #21) reviewed for self-administration of medication (SAM). Failure to assist/observe residents who are not SAM take their medications may result in adverse health consequences.Findings include:Review of the facility policy titled Self-Administration of Medications occurred on 04/01/26. This policy, dated 01/16/26, stated, . A licensed nurse will complete the Self-Administration of Medications [SAM] screen . The Interdisciplinary team (IDT) will make a determination based on the screen . Re-assessment will be completed quarterly and PRN [as needed].Review of Resident #21's medical record occurred on all days of survey. A SAM assessment, dated 01/19/26, lacked the resident's choice to not self-administer his medications. A progress note, dated 01/28/26 at 1:54 p.m., stated, . Quarterly hospital return MDS completed . Resident does not wish to…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2026-04-01 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolatedEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, record review, review of professional reference, and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure medication labels and provider's orders matched for 1 of 8 residents (Resident #21) observed during medication pass. Failure to ensure medication labels matched the provider's order placed residents at risk for medication errors.Findings include: Kozier & Erb's Fundamentals of Nursing, Concepts, Process and Practice, 11th Edition eText, 2021, Pearson, Boston, Massachusetts, pages 838-840, stated, . Obtain the appropriate medication. Compare the label of the medication container or unit-dose package against the order on the MAR [medication administration record] or computer printout. Rationale: This is a safety check to ensure that the right medication is given. If these are not identical, recheck the prescriber's written order in the client's chart. If there is still a discrepancy, check with the pharmacist. Prepare the medication. While preparing the medication, recheck each prepared drug and container with the MAR again. Rationale: This second safety check…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2026-04-01 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolatedProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, record review, review of facility policy, and staff interview, the facility failed to follow standards of infection control and prevention for 2 of 2 sampled residents (Resident #2 and #24) observed during dressing changes. Failure to practice infection control standards related to use of personal protective equipment (PPE) for a resident in enhanced barrier precautions (EBP), hand hygiene, and providing a clean surface area for dressing supplies has the potential to spread infection throughout the facility. Findings include: Review of the facility policy titled Enhanced Barrier Precautions (not regular isolation precautions) occurred on 04/01/26. This policy, dated 04/01/24, stated, . 'Enhanced barrier precautions' refers to use of gown and gloves during high-contact resident care activities . High contact resident care activities do include . Chronic wound care and dressing change . Review of the facility policy titled, Dressing Changes occurred on 04/01/26. This policy, dated 11/25/25, stated, . 1. Wash hands thoroughly 2. [NAME] [apply] clean gloves 3.…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-01-23 · tag F0609 — failed to report abuse allegations — isolatedTimely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review, review of facility policy, and resident and family interviews, the facility failed to ensure an alleged violation of misappropriation of resident property was reported within 24 hours to the State Survey Agency (SSA) for 1 of 1 sampled resident (Resident #20) with a report of missing money. Failure to report the alleged violation to the SSA placed Resident #20 and other residents at risk for misappropriation of property. Findings include: Review of the facility policy titled Abuse, Neglect, Mistreatment, Exploitation &/or Misappropriation of Resident Property occurred on 01/23/25. This policy, dated October 2024, stated, . It is the policy of the facility to provide protections for the health, welfare and rights of each resident by taking appropriate steps to prevent . misappropriation of resident property, regardless of the resident's mental or physical condition. Alleged violations will be reported to . the State Survey & Certification Agency, in accordance with state law through…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-01-23 · tag F0610 — failed to investigate and act on abuse reports — isolatedRespond appropriately to all alleged violations.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review, policy review, and staff, resident and family interviews, the facility failed to initiate an investigation of an alleged violation of misappropriation of resident property for 1 of 1 sampled resident (Resident #20) with reports of missing money. Failure to investigate the alleged misappropriation of the resident's property and ensure all residents are protected placed them at risk for emotional and mental distress. Findings include: Review of the facility policy titled Lost & Missing Items occurred on 01/23/25. This policy, dated January 2025, stated, . This facility maintains a safe and secure environment to minimize lost and/or missing items. When a resident reports a missing item a. Staff will complete the Missing Item form b. Staff will complete a search of the resident's room as well as nearby rooms c. Social Service staff will inform department heads at morning stand up d. A record of areas searched will be kept . Review of the facility policy titled Abuse, Neglect, Mistreatment,…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-01-23 · tag F0658 — failed to meet professional standards of care — isolatedEnsure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing
Based on observation, review of facility policy, and staff interview, the facility failed to follow professional standards of practice for 2 of 3 residents (Resident #9 and #12) observed for insulin preparation and administration. Failure to prime insulin pens correctly may result in residents receiving an inaccurate dose. Findings include: Review of the facility policy titled Insulin Pens occurred on 01/22/25. This policy, dated 01/06/25, stated, . 5. Prime the pen, a. Dial 2 units by turning the dose selector. b. Remove the cover from the needle and hold the pen with needle pointed upward. - Observation on 01/21/25 at 5:23 p.m. showed a nurse (#3) prepared Resident #12's insulin pen for administration. The nurse failed to prime the insulin pen upward. - Observation on 01/22/25 at 7:59 a.m. showed a nurse (#4) prepared Resident #9's insulin pen for administration. The nurse failed to prime the insulin pen upward. During an interview the morning of 01/23/25, an administrative staff member (#1) stated she expected staff to follow the policy for priming insulin pens.
- Potential for harm · D2025-01-23 · tag F0677 — failed to help fully-dependent residents with daily care — isolatedProvide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, record review, review of facility policy, and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure residents received the necessary service to maintain personal hygiene for 1 of 8 sampled residents (Resident #18) who required staff assistance for personal hygiene. Failure to assist residents who cannot perform personal hygiene independently may result in poor hygiene, skin issues, and decreased self-esteem. Findings include: Review of the facility policy titled ADLs (Activities of Daily Living) occurred on 01/23/25. This policy, dated October 2024, stated, . It is the policy of the facility to provide ADL care to residents as needed to ensure all ADL needs are met are on a daily basis. Review of Resident #18's medical record occurred on all days of survey. The current care plan stated, . The resident has an ADL self-care performance deficit r/t [related to] dementia PERSONAL HYGIENE: she needs set up help and verbal reminders for personal hygiene. Observation on 01/22/25 at 8:17 a.m. showed a nurse (#3) assisted Resident #18 to pick out her clothing, placed the…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-01-23 · tag F0690 — failed to manage incontinence, catheters, and urinary infections — isolatedProvide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, record review, and resident and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure appropriate care and services for 1 of 2 sampled residents (Resident #16) with an indwelling urinary catheter. Failure to empty Resident #16's catheter bag may result in urinary tract infections (UTIs), unnecessary discomfort, and urinary retention and/or obstruction. Findings include: Review of the facility policy titled Catheter Care occurred on 01/23/25. This policy, dated October 2024, stated, . Empty drainage bag at the end of each shift [i.e., three times per day] . Review of Resident #16's medical record occurred on all days of survey. Diagnoses included obstructive and reflux uropathy (blockage that hinders urinary flow), benign prostatic hyperplasia (enlarged prostate that can cause blockage of urine flow from the bladder as well as urinary tract and kidney problems), and history of UTIs. The care plan stated, . The resident has an indwelling suprapubic catheter related to urinary obstruction. Observations on 01/21/25 of Resident #16 showed the following: * 4:43 p.m.…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-01-23 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolatedProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, record review, review of facility policy, and staff interview, the facility failed to follow standards of infection control and prevention for 1 of 2 sampled residents (Resident #9) observed during cares. Failure to practice infection control standards related to enhanced barrier precautions (EBP) and hand hygiene has the potential to spread infection throughout the facility. Findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled Enhanced Barrier Precautions occurred on 01/22/25. This policy, dated 04/01/24, stated, . It is the policy of this facility to implement enhanced barrier precautions to prevent the transmission of multidrug-resistant organisms (MDRO) during high-contact activities for residents with chronic wound or indwelling medical devices, even if the resident is not known to be infected or colonized with a MDRO. 'Enhanced Barrier Precautions'. refers to the use of gown and gloves during high-contact resident care activities for residents. at increased risk of MDRO acquisition (e.g., .indwelling medical devices). urinary catheters .) .…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-01-04 · tag F0550 — failed to protect resident dignity and rights — isolatedHonor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, record review, and staff interview, the facility failed to provide care for 1 of 2 sampled residents (Resident #12) with an indwelling catheter in a manner and environment that maintained, enhanced, and respected the resident's dignity. Failure to cover the resident's catheter drainage bag does not preserve the resident's personal dignity or enhance their quality of life. Findings include: The facility failed to provide a policy for dignity and covering of a catheter drainage bag when requested. Observations of Resident #12 showed the following: * 01/02/24 at 6:00 p.m., Resident returned from the dining room with the catheter drainage bag (containing urine) uncovered and hanging under the wheelchair. * 01/03/24 at 8:54 a.m., Resident returned from the dining room with the catheter drainage bag (containing urine) uncovered and hanging under the wheelchair. * 01/03/24 at 11:48 a.m., Resident sat in the dining room with the catheter draining bag (containing urine) uncovered. During an interview the afternoon of 01/04/23 at 2:00 p.m., an administrative nurse (#1)…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
Show the remaining 5 citations
- Potential for harm · D2024-01-04 · tag F0623 — isolatedProvide timely notification to the resident, and if applicable to the resident representative and ombudsman, before transfer or discharge, including appeal rights.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on record review review of facility policy, and staff interview, the facility failed to provide the resident's representative and/or the State Long Term Care (LTC) Ombudsman a written notice of transfer for 1 of 4 sampled residents (Resident #14) with a recent hospital transfer. Failure to provide a written copy of the transfer notice does not allow the resident and/or their representative to make an informed decision regarding their rights or inform the Ombudsman of the transfer. Findings include: Review of the facility policy titled Transfer or Discharge occurred on 01/04/24. This policy, dated 10/07/21, stated, . Notice before transfer. Before the facility transfers or discharges a resident, the facility will: Notify the resident and the resident's representative of the transfer or discharge and the reasons for the transfer or discharge in writing and in a language and manner the resident understands and will send a copy of the notified to the Long term Care Ombudsman. Review of Resident #14's medical record occurred on all days of survey and identified a hospital transfer…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-01-04 · tag F0625 — isolatedNotify the resident or the resident’s representative in writing how long the nursing home will hold the resident’s bed in cases of transfer to a hospital or therapeutic leave.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review, review of facility policy, and staff interview, the facility failed to provide a bed hold notice upon transfer to the hospital for 1 of 4 sampled residents (Resident #14). Failure to provide a bed hold notice does not allow residents or their legal representatives to make informed choices regarding their readmission rights. Findings include: Review of the facility policy titled Bed Hold occurred on 01/04/24. This policy, dated 08/01/23, stated, It is the policy of the facility to hold a bed for a resident if they or their representative prefer the bed be held when that resident is transferred to an acute setting . Review of Resident #14's medical record occurred on all days of survey and identified a transfer to the hospital on [DATE]. The record lacked evidence the facility discussed a bed hold with the resident and/or the family/legal representative or provided a bed hold notice. During an interview the afternoon of 01/04/24, an administrative staff member (#1) confirmed the facility…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-01-04 · tag F0641 — isolatedEnsure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review, review of the Long-Term Care Facility Resident Assessment Instrument (RAI) 3.0 User's Manual (Version 1.17), and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure accurate coding of the Minimum Data Set (MDS) for 1 of 1 sampled resident (Resident #7). Failure to accurately complete the MDS does not allow each resident's assessment to reflect their current status/needs and may affect the accurate development of a comprehensive care plan and the care provided to the residents. Findings include: The Long-Term Care Facility RAI User's Manual, revised October 2019, page J-23 stated, . Current Tobacco Use . Steps for Assessment. Ask the resident if he or she used tobacco in any form during the 7-day look-back period. If the resident states that he or she used tobacco in some from during the 7-day look-back period code 1, yes. Review of Resident #7's medical record occurred on all days of survey. The Annual MDS dated [DATE], identified the facility coded 'no for tobacco use. The care…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-01-04 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolatedEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, record review, and review of facility policy, the facility failed to provide appropriate and sufficient supervision and/or assistive devices for 1 of 1 sampled resident (Resident #26) observed during a transfer. Failure to provide a gait belt during transfers placed the resident at risk for accidents, falls, or injuries. Findings include: Review of the facility policy titled Gait Belt Use occurred on 01/04/24. This policy, dated 12/06/23, stated,. The facility will provide a gait belt for each resident who is unable to transfer or ambulate without extensive assistance. Do not lift the resident under their arms or by the waistband of their pants during transfer. Review of Resident #26's medical record occurred on all days of survey and included diagnoses of dementia. The current care plan stated, TRANSFER: The resident transfers with assist of one. He will sometimes transfer per self. He does not use his walker. Provide repeated cues encouraging him wait for assistance . Review of Resident 26's activities of daily living charting, dated January 2 and 3, 2024…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-01-04 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolatedEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, review of facility policy, and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure safe and secure storage of medications during 1 of 2 observations of insulin administration. Failure to store insulin pens securely may result in unauthorized access to the medication. Findings include: Review of the facility policy titled Insulin Pens occurred on 12/04/23. This policy, reviewed 12/06/23, stated after administration to, . Remove the needle from the pen and discard appropriately . Place cap back on the pen and return to storage drawer in med [medication] cart. Observation on 01/03/24 at 11:24 a.m. showed a medication aide (MA) (#2) administered insulin to Resident #12. After completion of administration, the MA laid the insulin pen with the retractable needle in place on the resident's bedside table. The MA then assisted the resident to the dining room. Observation at 11:43 a.m. showed housekeeping staff cleaning the resident's room and the insulin pen on the resident's bedside table. Observation at 1:00 p.m. showed the insulin pen remained on the resident's beside…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
No federal fines in the current CMS record.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Share | Since |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| STRASBURG NURSING HOME | Organization | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | 100% | since 01/01/1966 |
| LANG, TODD | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 12/22/2009 |
| LANGELIERS, TIM | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 04/01/2016 |
| MEIER, AL | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 01/30/2017 |
| MEYER, LINDA | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 05/17/2024 |
| SILVERNAGEL, JOLENE | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 01/01/2023 |
| LINTON HOSPITAL | Organization | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 05/24/2023 |
| CHRISTMAN, MARLENE | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 02/24/2026 |
| COMPAAN, BRENDA | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 09/29/1995 |
| LOGGINS, TONY | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 05/01/2024 |
| OHLHAUSER, HEIDI | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 05/29/2012 |
| SHECKLER, ROBERT | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNF | — | since 09/19/2022 |
CMS files one row per role, so the 25 rows in the source record cover these 12 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.
2 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.
What families pay in ND
This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the North Dakota Medicaid page.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 355049. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2026-04-01, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.