No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Caton Park Rehabilitation and Nursing Center, LLC

1312 Caton Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11226 · For profit - Individual · 119 certified beds · (718) 693-7000 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (718) 693-7000 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Abuse-prevention, restraint, or reporting citation — no harm found (F0609) — cited Dec 2025
Insights

This home’s record is mixed — some reassuring signs, some worth asking about.

In its favor
  • a strong health-inspection score (4/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
  • lower-than-typical staff turnover (19% vs 45% nationally) — better care continuity
  • fewer deficiencies at its most recent standard inspection than at the one before — a sign of improvement
Worth asking about
  • it has a citation for its abuse-prevention policies, restraint use, or reporting and investigating of allegations (F0609) — cited below the harm level, meaning inspectors found the process wanting but did not find a resident harmed
  • a high number of inspection citations overall (15) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
  • its payroll-based staffing rating is low (2/5)
  • its last standard health inspection was over 2 years ago — the star rating may not reflect current conditions

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

4/5
CMS overall
4 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 4 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 2 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 3 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
1/5 CMS · Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
425 Coney Island Ave # 427 · (718) 226-6988 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
1621 Church Ave · (718) 282-4600 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
1301 Church Ave · (718) 287-7500 · Call to confirm hours
Park
50 Parkside Ave · (718) 965-8951 · Typically dawn to dusk

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 3 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 5 of 5
Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital 1 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating improved from 3 to 4 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating4★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased11.8%14.1%15.4%better
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight8.9%5.8%5.4%worse
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder0.2%0.5%0.9%better
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection0.0%1.3%2.0%better
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms65.2%19.5%6.5%worse than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.2%0.1%better
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury1.6%3.1%3.3%better
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened10.0%12.5%16.1%better
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication9.3%13.2%18.9%better
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine96.6%95.3%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers2.4%6.5%4.7%better
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control16.3%19.5%21.2%better
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table5.8%13.7%17.1%better
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication2.9%1.2%1.4%worse
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine69.2%78.8%79.4%worse
Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission21.1%20.6%22.6%typical
Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit10.5%9.6%12.0%better
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days2.661.701.67worse
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days1.831.361.80typical

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

31.9% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — CMS rates that worse than the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 36 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

31.9%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
11.6%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
32.0%U.S. median 56.6%
Met the expected recovery
0.55U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.36hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.19hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.01hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Met the expected recovery: 32.0% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 50 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.55 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 85% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 5% of this home’s weekday level — it runs therapy on weekdays, with essentially none at the weekend. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF31.9%CMS range 19.2–48.451.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024worse than U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF11.6%CMS range 7.6–16.110.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge32.0%56.6%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge38.0%52.8%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge38.0%50.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified100.0%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting100.0%100.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay0.0%0.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened0.0%1.9%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization6.8%CMS range 3.7–12.17.1%Oct 2023–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs1.711.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.51
RN hours/ resident / day
0.45
LPN hours/ resident / day
1.75
Aide hours/ resident / day
2.71
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.39
RN hoursweekends
18.7%
Total nursing turnover
12.5%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 119 beds and averages 117.3 residents a day — about 99% occupied, or roughly 2 beds typically open. It runs essentially full — expect a waiting list. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 2.71 hrs/resident/day is below the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.51 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 1.75 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 2.44 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 2.82 on weekdays — 14% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.56 to 0.39 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 19% is below the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

4
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2024-08-16)
6
at the previous standard inspection (2022-08-10)

Deficiencies are fewer than at the previous inspection — improving. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

This trend is not current. The most recent of these two inspections was over 2 years ago; the arrow describes what inspectors found then, not what the home is like now.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

15 citations, most serious first. The 10 most serious are shown; the remaining 5 are one tap away and print in full.

  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-12-08 · tag F0609 — failed to report abuse allegations — isolated
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interviews and record review conducted during an abbreviated survey (2578058) on 11/10/2025, the facility did not ensure that all alleged violations involving abuse, neglect, exploitation or mistreatment, including injuries of unknown source and misappropriation of resident property, are reported immediately, but not later than 2 hours to State Survey Agency after the allegation is made, if the events that cause the allegation involve abuse or result in serious bodily injury. This was evident for one (1) out of one (1) resident (Resident # 1) reviewed for Accidents. Specifically, on 07/28/2025, Resident #1 fell from the bed to the floor during care and the facility did not report Resident #1 was found with a laceration of the head, fracture of the third metacarpal bone at right hand, and a fracture of the middle phalanx of the left hand to the New York State Department of Health until 07/31/2025.The facility policy titled 'Abuse Prevention' with effective date 09/19/2022 and last reviewed 12/29/2023 documented the facility staff must report alleged violations related to…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-08-16 · tag F0657 — failed to keep the care plan current — isolated
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and staff interviews conducted during the Recertification survey from 08/12/2024 to 08/16/2024, the facility did not ensure that resident's Comprehensive Care Plans were reviewed and revised for 1 (Resident #15) of 7 residents reviewed for Accident out of 26 sampled residents. Specifically, Resident #15 had a multiple history of falls, and the fall care plan was not reviewed and revised after the most recent Minimum Data Set assessment. The finding is: The facility policy and procedure titled Comprehensive Care Plan dated 1/26/23 states that an individualized comprehensive care plan that includes measurable objectives and timetables to meet the resident's medical, nursing, mental and psychological needs are developed for each resident. The policy also stated that the Care Planning Interdisciplinary team is responsible for reviewing and updating the care plan during admission, every quarterly, annual or readmission. Resident #15 was admitted to the facility with diagnosis of Depression,…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-08-16 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on staff interview and record review conducted during the Recertification Survey from 08/12/2024 to 08/16/2024, the facility did not ensure a resident received assistance devices consistent with a resident's needs, goals, and care plan to prevent accidents. This was evident for 1 (Resident #75) 7 residents reviewed for Accidents out of 26 total sampled residents. Specifically, floor mats were not in place for Resident #75 as per Physician Order. The findings include: The facility policy titled Fall Prevention with an effective date of 02/2022 and revised 2/2024 states that the interdisciplinary team will take effort to provide the resident with multiple falls a protective environment to mitigate the chance of serious injury. This includes but is not limited to furniture padding, floor mats, protective padding on head or foot of bed, and furniture re-arrangement in room. Resident #75 was admitted to the facility with diagnoses that included Depression, Diabetes Mellitus, and Contracture of Right Upper Arm.…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-08-16 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review, and interviews conducted during the Recertification survey from 08/12/2024 to 08/16/2024, the facility did not ensure that infection control prevention practices and procedures were maintained. This was evident for 1 resident (Resident #87) observed during the Medication Administration task. Specifically, Enhanced Barrier Precautions were not maintained for gastrostomy tube medication administrations for Resident #87. The findings are: The facility policy titled Enhanced Barrier Precautions, last reviewed 3/28/24, documented that Enhanced Barrier Precautions refers to an infection control intervention designed to reduce transmission of multidrug resistant organisms that employs targeted use of gown and glove use during high contact resident care activities. The policy also stated that all residents with indwelling medical devices and chronic wounds will have Enhanced Barrier Precautions used by staff during high contact resident care activities. Examples include device care…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-03-12 · tag F0658 — failed to meet professional standards of care — isolated
    Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review, and interviews conducted during an Abbreviated survey (NY00323120), the facility failed to ensure that a resident received treatment and care in accordance with professional standards of practice. This was evident in 1 out of 3 residents (Resident #1) sampled. Specifically, Resident #1 was observed with facial grimacing and pointed to their right leg while being cared for by Certified Nursing Assistant #1 on 08/27/23 at approximately 06:00pm. Licensed Practical Nurse #1 and Nurse Supervisor #1 both stated that they observed Resident #1 with facial grimacing, right leg swollen and warm to touch on 08/27/23. There was no documented evidence to support that Resident #1 was assessed and the medical doctor was notified on 08/27/23. A nursing note dated 08/28/23 at 10:41pm documented that an x-ray of Resident #1's right knee was done. The x-ray result dated 08/28/23 documented no fracture subluxation. Additionally, Resident #1, who was severely impaired, was not assessed…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-03-12 · tag F0697 — failed to manage pain — isolated
    Provide safe, appropriate pain management for a resident who requires such services.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview and record review conducted during an Abbreviated Survey (NY00323120), the facility failed to ensure that pain management was provided to residents who require such services, consistent with professional standards of practices, the comprehensive person-centered care plan, and the resident's goals and preferences. This was evident for 1 out of 3 residents (Resident #1) sampled. Specifically, Resident #1, who had severely impaired cognition, was on pain management for diagnoses of pain in other joints. An initial pain assessment was not done on 08/27/23. A medical record review also revealed that Resident #1 continued to complain of pain from 08/28/23 to 08/30/23, but there were no changes in pain management. Additionally, there was no documented evidence that Resident #1's pain level was monitored before and after each pain medication was administered to determine effectiveness. The findings are: The Policy and Procedure on Pain Management reviewed 10/09/22, the procedure states a…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-08-11 · tag F0925 — failed to control pests — isolated
    Make sure there is a pest control program to prevent/deal with mice, insects, or other pests.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY 42 CFR 483.90(i)(4): Maintain an effective pest control program so that the facility is free of pests and rodents. Based on observation, record review and staff interviews conducted during the Abbreviated Survey (Complaint # NY 00320109) initiated on 07/26/2023, the facility did not ensure that an effective pest control program was maintained so that the facility was free of pests. Specifically, there was evidence of roaches in the resident rooms. This occurred on 2 of 5 resident floors. The findings are: Observations during the tour of the facility on 07/26/2023 between 09:00 AM - 03:00 PM identified the following: - One live roach was observed by the leg of three drawer nightstand of bed A in room [ROOM NUMBER] located on the first floor. - One dead roach was observed under three drawer nightstand of bed B in room [ROOM NUMBER] located on the third floor. - One dead roach was observed by the radiator near the TV in the dining room adjacent to room [ROOM NUMBER] on the third floor. On 07/26/2023 between 09:00…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Environmental Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2022-08-10 · tag F0640 — pattern
    Encode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on record review and interviews conducted during the recertification survey, the facility did not ensure Minimum Data Set 3.0 (MDS) assessments were electronically transmitted in a timely manner. This was evident for 5 of 14 residents reviewed for the Resident Assessment task (Resident #4, 13, 8, 17, 9). Specifically, a quarterly assessment was not transmitted within 14 days after the completion date. The findings are: The facility policy titled Resident Assessment using the MDS dated 01/09/2020 with revision on 08/09/2022 documented MDS Assessments will be transmitted to CMS within 14 days after completion by MDS coordinator/designee and a monthly validation report will be downloaded from MDS to ensure that all MDS transmissions have been received by CMS . 1. Resident # 4 ---- Target date Assessment Reference Date (ARD) 05/16/2022 -- Completed ---5/30/2022 -- Transmission and verification Date --- 08/08/2022 2. Resident # 13 -- Target date ARD 05/16/2022 -- completed ---5/30/2022 ---transmission and verification date ----08/08/2022 3. Resident # 8 -----Target date ARD…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2022-08-10 · tag F0609 — failed to report abuse allegations — isolated
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interviews and record review conducted during a recertification and complaint (NY00283611) survey from 08/03/22 to 8/10/2022, the facility did not ensure that allegations of abuse, including injury of unknown origin, were reported to the New York State Department of Health (NYSDOH) within 2 hours. This was evident for 1 (Resident #40) of 3 residents investigated for abuse. Specifically, Resident #40 complained of right shoulder pain and subsequent right shoulder dislocation was not reported to the NYSDOH within 2 hours. The findings are: The facility's policy titled Abuse Prevention, last reviewed 12/09/2021, documented the facility must report alleged violations related to mistreatment, exploitation, neglect, or abuse including injuries of unknown source and report the results of all investigations to the proper authorities within prescribed timeframes. Resident #40 had diagnoses of Alzheimer's Disease and restlessness and agitation. The Minimum Data Set 3.0 (MDS) dated [DATE] documented Resident #40…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2022-08-10 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolated
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review and interviews conducted during the recertification survey, the facility did not ensure comprehensive person-centered care plans (CCP) were developed and implemented to meet each resident's needs. This was evident for 2 of 34 sampled residents (Resident #81 and #102). Specifically,1.) Resident #81 had did not have a CCP to address bleeding and anemia, and 2.) Resident #102 did not have a CCP developed to address their Intravenous (IV) hydration and antibiotic treatment. The findings are: The facility policy titled CCP last revised 12/2/2021 documented the CCP will be resident centered having the Individual Resident as the Locus of Control. The CCP will be ongoing, constantly evolving, focusing on everyone as a unitary being constantly changing and interacting with the environment/energy fields. The CCP will consist of identified or potential problem areas, or needed areas of focus to maximize wellness, Individualized resident centered goals and specific interventions and will…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
Show the remaining 5 citations
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2022-08-10 · tag F0658 — failed to meet professional standards of care — isolated
    Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review and interviews during the recertification survey, the facility did not ensure that services provided or met professional standards of quality and acceptable current evidenced-based practices. This was evident in 2 of 34 sampled residents (Resident #102 and #50). Specifically, 1.) a Physician Order (PO) to remove an intravenous (IV) line from Resident #102 was not followed; and 2.) a PO to obtain Fingerstick Blood Sugar (FSBS) testing three times a day for five days on Resident #50 was not followed. The findings are: 1. Resident # 102 had a diagnosis of dementia and heart failure. The Minimum Data Set 3.0 (MDS) assessment dated [DATE] documented Resident #102 was severely cognitively impaired. On 08/03/2022 at 11:45 AM and 08/04/2022 at 2:29 PM, Resident #102 was observed with a dressing to the left antecubital area of the upper arm. During the observation on 08/04/2022 at 2:30PM, Registered Nurse Manager (RNM) # 1 was interviewed and stated Resident #102 had a midline IV to…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2022-08-10 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolated
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review and interviews during the recertification survey, the facility did not ensure that services provided or met professional standards of quality and acceptable current evidenced-based practices. This was evident in 2 of 34 sampled residents (Resident #102 and #50). Specifically, 1.) a Physician Order (PO) to remove an intravenous (IV) line from Resident #102 was not followed; and 2.) a PO to obtain Fingerstick Blood Sugar (FSBS) testing three times a day for five days on Resident #50 was not followed. The findings are: The facility policy titled IV Therapy last revised 12/01/2021 documented when an order is given for IV therapy, the charge nurse will notify the Registered Nurse Supervisor (RNS) The IV therapy will be inputted into the E Mar system. The nurse will document on the E Mar the amount of IV solution absorbed during the shift and the amount left at the end of the shift --- The nurse starting the IV therapy will document in the progress note the site of access, the size…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2022-08-10 · tag F0791 — failed to provide routine dental services — isolated
    Provide or obtain dental services for each resident.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review and staff interviews during the recertification survey, the facility did not obtain from an outside resource, routine dental services to meet the needs of each resident or assist the resident with making an outside appointment. This was evident for 1 (Resident #79) of 1 resident reviewed for Dental services. Specifically, the facility did not assist Resident #79 with obtaining an appointment for oral surgery as recommended by the dental consultant. The finding is: The facility Policy and Procedure titled Consultants dated 02/04/2022 documented: Residents will be evaluated by a consultant as ordered by the Primary Medical Doctor (PMD) and in accordance with facility policy. The PMD will review the Consultant's recommendations and follow up accordingly. The PMD will order needed consults for residents. The nurse on the unit will pick up the order and complete a consult form. If the consultant is an outside consultant, the nurse will fill out a consultant form and forward it to…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2019-12-06 · tag F0688 — failed to keep residents mobile / prevent decline — isolated
    Provide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline is for a medical reason.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations, interviews, and record review conducted during the recertification survey, the facility did not ensure that a resident received services and treatment to prevent further decrease in range of motion. Specifically, a resident was observed on several occasions without hand roll in place as ordered by the Physician. This was evident for 1 of 2 residents reviewed for Limited Range of Motion (Resident #67) out of a sample of 26 residents. The findings are: The facility's policy and procedure for Orthotics/Adaptive Equipment effective 5/19/2017, The Charge Nurse and the Nursing Supervisor will monitor daily and PRN the use of positioning devices such as wheelchairs, leg rests, cushions. Any refusal or adverse or negative resident response to use of to the use of the adaptive devices/equipment should be reported to the Rehabilitation Department Resident #67 has a diagnosis of Hyperlipidemia, Unspecified Dementia without Behavioral Disturbance and Depression. The resident's most recent quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) with Assessment Reference dated 10/08/2019…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • No harm found · Bcited before2024-08-16 · tag F0640 — pattern
    Encode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on Record reviews and interviews during the Recertification survey from 08/12/2024 to 08/16/2024, the facility did not ensure that all completed resident assessments were submitted and transmitted into the Quality Improvement Evaluation Assessment Submission and Processing in a timely manner. Specifically, 4 (Resident #66, Resident # 9, Resident #6, and Resident #95) of 6 Minimum Data Set submissions reviewed for Resident Assessment were not submitted to Center for Medicaid and Medicare Services system within 14 days of completion. The findings are: The admission Minimum Data Set Assessment for Resident #66 dated 12/08/23 was completed on 06/04/24. The Annual Minimum Data Set Assessment for Resident #6 dated 5/28/24 was completed on 6/4/24. The Quarterly Minimum Data Set Assessment for Resident #95 dated 5/25/24 was completed on 06/03/24. The Quarterly Minimum Data Set Assessment for Resident #9 dated 05/25/24 was completed on 06/01/24. The Validation Report dated 8/13/24 documented that these four Minimum Data Set Assessments were submitted to the Center for Medicaid and…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
MELNICKE, MICHAELIndividual5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST100%since 01/01/2013
RUBINFELD, ABRAHAMIndividualW-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEEsince 01/01/2013

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$16.2M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
+1.9%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
$2.1M
Related-party expense13% of expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 58%Medicare 12%Other / private 30%

This home reported $2.1M paid to related parties — landlords or management companies under common ownership — equal to about 13% of its total expenses. Money routed to affiliated companies can leave a home’s own books looking lean while owners still profit; it is the mechanism regulators watch most closely in private-equity and REIT deals.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$384per resident / day
operating cost
$11,661per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$391per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in NY

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the New York Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in New York
$15,528/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$16,729/mo
Nursing home (private)
$7,110/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 335245. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2024-08-16, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next