No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Bethany Nursing Home & Health Related Facility Inc

3005 Watkins Road, Horseheads, NY 14845 · Non profit - Corporation · 122 certified beds · (607) 378-6547 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (607) 378-6547 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
No harm-level citations or fines — but 7 lower-level deficiencies on record (see below)
Insights

This home’s record is mixed — some reassuring signs, some worth asking about.

In its favor
  • a strong health-inspection score (5/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
  • no harm-level citations in the current inspection record
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
  • a high payroll-based staffing rating (4/5)
Worth asking about
  • its facility-reported quality-measure rating is low (1/5)

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

4/5
CMS overall
4 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 5 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 4 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 1 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
2977 Westinghouse Rd · (607) 739-8778 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
2887 Westinghouse Rd · (607) 796-2193 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
2898 Westinghouse Rd · (607) 796-2191 · Call to confirm hours
Park
351 Gardner Rd · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship
105 Wygant Rd · (607) 739-4535

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 1 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 1 of 5
Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital 1 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating held steady at 4 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating4★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased31.3%14.1%15.4%worse
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight11.6%5.8%5.4%worse
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder0.4%0.5%0.9%better
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection0.6%1.3%2.0%better
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms2.6%19.5%6.5%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.2%0.1%better
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury9.0%3.1%3.3%worse
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened21.9%12.5%16.1%worse
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication26.1%13.2%18.9%worse
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine100.0%95.3%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers10.9%6.5%4.7%worse
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control29.0%19.5%21.2%worse
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table10.6%13.7%17.1%better
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication2.8%1.2%1.4%worse
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine88.8%78.8%79.4%better
Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission31.4%20.6%22.6%worse
Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit16.2%9.6%12.0%worse
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days2.581.701.67worse
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days2.371.361.80worse

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

38.6% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — CMS rates that worse than the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 161 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

38.6%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
10.4%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
60.8%U.S. median 56.6%
Met the expected recovery
0.22U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.11hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.09hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.02hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Met the expected recovery: 60.8% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 79 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.22 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 28% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 11% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF38.6%CMS range 31.7–44.751.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024worse than U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF10.4%CMS range 7.2–15.810.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge60.8%56.6%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge44.3%52.8%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge55.7%50.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified100.0%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge100.0%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay1.0%0.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened9.1%1.9%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization6.9%CMS range 4.2–10.97.1%Oct 2023–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs0.961.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.60
RN hours/ resident / day
0.94
LPN hours/ resident / day
1.99
Aide hours/ resident / day
3.53
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.28
RN hoursweekends
48.7%
Total nursing turnover
25.0%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 122 beds and averages 98.3 residents a day — about 81% occupied, or roughly 24 beds typically open. It usually has some room. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.53 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.60 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 1.99 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.12 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.70 on weekdays — 16% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.73 to 0.28 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 49% is about the same as the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

3
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2025-03-21)
3
at the previous standard inspection (2023-03-24)

Deficiencies are unchanged from the previous inspection. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

  • Potential for harm · D2025-03-21 · tag F0578 — failed to honor advance directives / code status — isolated
    Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations, interviews, and record review conducted during the Recertification Survey from 03/17/2025 to 03/21/2025, the facility did not ensure that all residents had the right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, and to formulate an advance directive (a resident's preferences for medical interventions in the event of a life-threatening episode) that would be honored for one (1) (Residents #89) of 32 residents reviewed for advanced directives. Specifically, the facility did not ensure that Resident #89's advanced directives preferences were consistently identified. This is evidenced by the following: The facility policy Advanced Directives, last reviewed May 2025, included it is the policy of the facility to honor the advance directives of all residents and if no advance directives are available and the resident or family have not stated their wishes to execute an advance directive, the resident will be designated as full code status (attempt cardiopulmonary resuscitation in the event of cardiac or respiratory arrest). 1. Resident #89 had diagnoses that…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2023-03-24 · tag F0836 — pattern
    Ensure the facility is licensed under applicable State and local law and operates and provides services in compliance with all applicable Federal, State, and local laws, regulations, and codes, and with accepted professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations and interview conducted during the Recertification Survey completed on 3/24/23, it was determined that the facility did not ensure compliance with all applicable State codes. Specifically, the facility was not in compliance with section 915 of the 2015 edition of the International Fire Code as adopted by New York State, which requires the use of carbon monoxide detection in a building that has fuel-burning appliances. The findings are: Observations on 3/24/23 at 11:52 a.m. included two natural gas-powered dryers located in the skilled 3 ground-floor laundry room, and there were no carbon monoxide detectors within or in the vicinity of the laundry area. In an interview at this time the Maintenance Staff Member stated there were carbon monoxide detectors in the generator room, the boiler room, and the kitchen. The Maintenance Staff Member also stated that they test the carbon monoxide detectors and change the batteries but do not keep any logs. No documentation was provided to show that any of the carbon monoxide detectors in the facility were being tested. The…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Administration Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-03-24 · tag F0657 — failed to keep the care plan current — isolated
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, interviews and record review conducted during a Recertification Survey completed on 3/24/23, it was determined that for one (Resident #46) of three residents reviewed for skin conditions, the facility did not revise the resident's care plan to reflect the resident's current needs. Specifically, Resident #46's Comprehensive Care Plan (CCP) and Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) [NAME] (care plan used by CNA for daily care) was not revised to include the presence of recurring skin issues with related goals, and interventions to prevent such. This is evidenced by the following: Review of facility policy Care Planning Process, dated revised April 2022, revealed that the CCP includes a health assessment beginning on the day a resident is admitted and at least every 90 days after the resident's initial review, and more often if their medical condition changes. CCP changes are communicated to the appropriate staff at the time that the changes are made. The CCP also includes ongoing, regular…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-03-24 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolated
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review conducted during the Recertification Survey completed on 3/24/23, the facility did not ensure that each resident received treatment and care in accordance with professional standards of practice and the comprehensive person-centered care plan for 1 of 20 residents reviewed for quality of care. Specifically, Resident #64 was not provided positioning devices for their [NAME] chair (specialized wheelchair), per therapy recommendations and the residents Comprehensive Care Plan (CCP). The finding is: The facility policy Rehabilitative and Functional Maintenance Services, revision dated March 2012, documented the facility will provide rehabilitative and maintenance services such as but not limited to walking, transfer training, bed mobility, Range of Motion (ROM), splint and brace, needs for adaptive equipment, eating and/or swallowing, amputation/prostheses care and communication, when necessary as indicated by the individualized assessment and input of the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2021-07-23 · tag F0585 — failed to handle grievances — pattern
    Honor the resident's right to voice grievances without discrimination or reprisal and the facility must establish a grievance policy and make prompt efforts to resolve grievances.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interviews and record reviews conducted during a Recertification Survey, completed on 7/23/21, it was determined that the facility did not ensure that prompt efforts were made to resolve resident grievances for six of six (Residents #6, #26, #39, #55, #80 and #81) residents reviewed. Specifically, there was no documented evidence that concerns and issues, identified by residents on a Resident Council Precautionary Isolation Questionnaire provided to residents (in place of resident council meetings during COVID-19), completed April 2021 through June 2021, were addressed. This was evidenced by the following: Review of the facility policy Grievance Procedure, dated May 2006, included that a grievance is brought to the attention of the Social Worker (SW) by the resident, family, or staff member verbally or in writing. The SW will meet with the resident or family and document the grievance in the Grievance Log. Upon resolution of the grievance, the complainant will be notified of the findings within 21 days of receipt. During a resident council meeting on 7/20/21 at 1:30 p.m.,…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • No harm found · B2025-03-21 · tag F0641 — pattern
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and interviews conducted during the Recertification Survey from 03/17/2025 to 03/21/2025 for seven (Resident #2, #8, #50, #54, #66, #86, and #96) of 32 residents reviewed, the facility did not ensure the Minimum Data Set Resident Assessment (an assessment tool) accurately reflected the residents' status. Specifically, the issues involved inaccurate coding for Section A - Identification Information (Resident #96) and Section N - Medications (Resident #2, #8, #50, #54, #66, and #86). This is evidenced by, but not limited to, the following: The facility policy Resident Assessment Instrument Minimum Data Set, last reviewed September 2016, included the facility must complete an accurate, standardized, reproducible assessment of each resident's care problems on admission and periodically thereafter. 1. Resident #96 had diagnoses that included heart failure, kidney disease, and high blood pressure. The Minimum Data Set Discharge Assessment (a resident assessment tool) dated 02/13/2025, documented…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • No harm found · B2025-03-21 · tag F0732 — pattern
    Post nurse staffing information every day.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations, interviews, and record reviews conducted during a Recertification Survey from 03/17/2025 to 03/21/2025, the facility did not ensure the daily nurse staffing information was updated on a daily basis. Specifically, the nurse staffing information was not posted daily at the beginning of each shift during the survey, and the information on the form was not updated to reveal current dates and staffing changes. This is evidenced by the following: The undated Daily Nurse Staffing Data Protocol documented: The Scheduling Coordinator is responsible Monday to Friday for ensuring the nurse staffing data is posted in the lobby daily. In the nurse scheduler's absence, Medical Records staff or Skill 2 Unit Manager will post the staffing data. This will be completed as close to 7:00 AM as possible. On weekends and holidays, the Registered Nurse Supervisor will post the nurse staffing data close to 7:00 AM. This responsibility will be reviewed during any new Registered Nurse Supervisor orientation. During observations on 03/17/2025 at 10:03 AM, the nurse staffing information…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
BETHANY RETIREMENT HOME INC.Organization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNF100%since 11/15/1994
BALOK-MIDDAUGH, KIMBERLEEIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 05/15/2019
BENJAMIN, JOHNIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 04/01/2003
BURLEW, DAWNIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 05/15/2013
CARR, RICHARDIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 11/26/2003
HELSING, DAVIDIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 05/15/2016
LEWIS, ANITAIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 06/01/2020
PARMENTER, JASONIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 05/15/2016
KISER, MICHAELIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2020
CORVELEYN, ELISABETHIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 06/12/2018
SAMODAL, RODRIGOIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 05/01/2022
UHL, NICOLEIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 11/27/2023
ZEIGLER, MARISSAIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 11/18/2025

CMS files one row per role, so the 20 rows in the source record cover these 13 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.

1 organizational owner listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$10.0M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
-4.4%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 65%Medicare 10%Other / private 25%

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$320per resident / day
operating cost
$9,740per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$307per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in NY

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the New York Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in New York
$15,528/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$16,729/mo
Nursing home (private)
$7,110/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 335645. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-03-21, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next