No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Lewis County General Hospital-Nursing Home Unit

7785 North State Street, Lowville, NY 13367 · Government - County · 160 certified beds · (315) 376-5200 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Abuse/neglect citation on record (F0600) — cited Oct 2024Behavioral-health or dementia-care citation — no harm found (F0744)1 immediate-jeopardy citation$160,046 in federal fines
Insights

This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.

In its favor
  • a high payroll-based staffing rating (4/5)
Worth asking about
  • it has an abuse, neglect, or exploitation citation (F0600), cited Oct 2024
  • it has citations for its abuse-prevention policies, restraint use, or reporting and investigating of allegations (F0609, F0610) — cited below the harm level, meaning inspectors found the process wanting but did not find a resident harmed
  • inspectors cited 1 immediate-jeopardy problem — the most serious level
  • a high number of inspection citations overall (16) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
  • the CMS record shows $160,046 in federal fines (most recent 2024-10-10)
  • its payroll-based staffing score sits well above its independent inspection score
  • its independent health-inspection rating is low (2/5)
  • its last standard health inspection was over 2 years ago — the star rating may not reflect current conditions

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

2/5
CMS overall
2 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 2 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 4 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 3 of 5

Worth a closer look. This home's staffing rating runs 2 stars above its independent health-inspection score. The inspection is done by state surveyors; the staffing score rests on the facility's own payroll (PBJ) submissions — so a gap this large is worth reading the inspection record for.

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
7785 N State St · (315) 376-5558 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
7395 Utica Blvd · (315) 302-5466 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
7189 State Route 812 · (315) 377-3077 · Call to confirm hours
Park
5401-5407 Lowville Heights Rd · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 3 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 2 of 5
Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital 4 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating improved from 1 to 2 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating2★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased27.6%14.1%15.4%worse
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight2.2%5.8%5.4%better
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder0.0%0.5%0.9%better
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection7.1%1.3%2.0%worse
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms5.4%19.5%6.5%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.2%0.1%better
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury6.6%3.1%3.3%worse
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened16.6%12.5%16.1%typical
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication5.4%13.2%18.9%better
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine98.3%95.3%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers4.0%6.5%4.7%better
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control29.5%19.5%21.2%worse
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table19.4%13.7%17.1%worse
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication0.0%1.2%1.4%better
Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission10.0%20.6%22.6%better
Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit9.4%9.6%12.0%better
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days1.451.701.67better
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days2.531.361.80worse

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

34.7% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — CMS rates that worse than the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 48 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

34.7%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
10.9%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
50.0%U.S. median 56.6%
Met the expected recovery
0.25U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.12hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.12hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.01hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Met the expected recovery: 50.0% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 24 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.25 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 35% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 4% of this home’s weekday level — it runs therapy on weekdays, with essentially none at the weekend. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF34.7%CMS range 23.1–45.651.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024worse than U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF10.9%CMS range 7.5–14.910.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge50.0%56.6%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge41.7%52.8%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge58.3%50.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified95.8%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — Newly certified nursing home with less than 12-15 months of data available or the nursing home opened less than 6 months ago, and there were no data to submit or claims for this measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay0.0%0.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened8.3%1.9%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization6.1%CMS range 3.4–10.87.1%Oct 2023–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs0.881.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.85
RN hours/ resident / day
0.83
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.73
Aide hours/ resident / day
4.41
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.34
RN hoursweekends
42.9%
Total nursing turnover
59.3%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 160 beds and averages 109.1 residents a day — about 68% occupied, or roughly 51 beds typically open. It often has substantial empty capacity — worth asking why, since low census can reflect either a new or shrinking home or one families are avoiding. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 4.41 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.85 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.73 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.69 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 4.70 on weekdays — 22% thinner on weekends — a notable drop. RN hours go from 1.06 to 0.34 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 43% is about the same as the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

5
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2024-07-30)
6
at the previous standard inspection (2022-07-06)

Deficiencies are fewer than at the previous inspection — improving. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

This trend is not current. The most recent of these two inspections was over 2 years ago; the arrow describes what inspectors found then, not what the home is like now.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

16 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.

  • Immediate jeopardy · K2024-10-10 · tag F0600 — failed to protect residents from abuse and neglect — pattern
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on record review and interviews during the abbreviated surveys (NY00341596, NY00353814, NY00354138, and NY00354190) the facility failed to ensure residents were free from verbal, physical, and mental abuse for 4 of 16 residents reviewed (Resident #1, #3, #4, and #5). Specifically: - Resident #4 was forced to ambulate against their will by several staff members; - Resident #5 was physically restrained by Registered Nurse #9 and Certified Nurse Aide #8 when the registered nurse attempted to obtain a nasal swab for COVID-19 testing from the resident. - Resident #1 was physically and verbally abused by Certified Nurse Aide #6 who was not immediately removed from resident access; - Resident #3 was verbally abused by Certified Nurse Aide #6 who spoke inappropriately to the resident and shared the resident's personal health information with others which resulted in mental anguish for the resident; The facility's failure to protect residents from abuse resulted in harm that is Immediate Jeopardy and Substandard Quality of Care for Residents #1, #3, #4, and #5 and placed all 123…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Actual harm · Gcited before2022-07-06 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review and interview during the recertification and abbreviated surveys (NY00292492) conducted 6/28/22-7/6/22, the facility failed to ensure each resident received adequate supervision and assistance devices to prevent accidents for 1 of 6 residents (Resident #37) reviewed. Specifically, Resident #37 was at risk for falls, was not using their wheeled walker and was not assisted when ambulating as planned and sustained a fall with a pelvic fracture. Additionally, the resident was observed using a bassinet as an assistive device for ambulating and did not have non-skid floor strips in place in their room as planned. This resulted in actual harm to Resident #37 that was not Immediate Jeopardy. Findings include: The facility policy Fall Team reviewed 1/2020 documented the fall team consisted of the Director of Nursing (DON), Nurse Managers, social work, occupational/physical therapy (OT/PT), and activities. The fall team would meet each weekday to review those residents who had a fall.…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2024-10-10 · tag F0835 — failed to run the facility competently — pattern
    Administer the facility in a manner that enables it to use its resources effectively and efficiently.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on record review and interviews during the abbreviated survey (NY00341596, NY00353814, NY00354138, and NY00354190) the facility did not ensure it was administered in a manner that enabled it to use its resources effectively and efficiently to attain or maintain the highest practicable physical, mental, and psychosocial well-being of each resident. Specifically, the administration failed to ensure policies and procedures were properly identified, communicated, and consistently implemented for abuse and dementia care. The administration was not aware of the extent of the deficient practices and Immediate Jeopardy was identified on 9/25/2024 in the area of abuse (refer to F 600). Findings include: The facility policy, Quality Assessment and Performance Improvement Plan, revised 9/2023, documented the program was intended to identify and prioritize problems and opportunities based on performance indicator data and resident and staff input that reflected organizational processes, functions, and services provided to residents. The program would identify corrective actions necessary…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Administration Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-10-10 · tag F0744 — failed to care for residents with dementia — isolated
    Provide the appropriate treatment and services to a resident who displays or is diagnosed with dementia.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review, and interviews during the abbreviated (NY00348034, NY00353814, NY00354138) surveys, the facility did not ensure a resident who displays or is diagnosed with dementia receives the appropriate treatment and services to attain and or maintain their highest practicable physical, mental, and psychosocial well-being for 3 of 16 residents (Residents #4, #5, and #16) reviewed. Specifically, Residents #4, #5, and #16 had diagnoses of dementia and resided on the dementia unit in the facility and were not cared for in a dementia-informed manner. Resident #4 was forced to ambulate against their will by several staff members after refusing to go to the dining room; Resident #5 was physically restrained by a registered nurse and a certified nurse aide while a nasal swab was obtained; and Resident #16's care plan was not followed which resulted in a fall with a skin tear. Refer to F 600. Findings include: The facility policy, GEMS Stages of Dementia Classification, created 11/2023,…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2024-07-30 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — pattern
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review, and interview during the recertification and abbreviated (NY00308041 and NY00343021) surveys conducted 7/24/2024-7/31/2024 the facility did not ensure each resident received adequate supervision and the environment remained as free of accident hazards as possible for 2 of 4 resident units (Units 1 and 3) observed and for 1 of 4 residents (Resident #77) reviewed. Specifically: - Unit 1 (dementia unit, also known as the Rainbow Community) had environmental accident hazards readily accessible to residents. - Resident #77, who resided on Unit 1, had a history of wandering throughout the unit and ingesting inedible items, including bar soap. Resident room [ROOM NUMBER] was observed with multiple bars of soap on the sink counter. - the door to the clean utility room on Unit 1 was unsecured and contained oxygen equipment, wound care supplies, and other nursing care items. - Unit 1 common area had metal wheelchair leg rests on a table. - An unsecured, open cart with needle-nose…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2024-07-30 · tag F0804 — failed to serve food at safe, palatable temperature — pattern
    Ensure food and drink is palatable, attractive, and at a safe and appetizing temperature.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation and interview during the recertification survey conducted 7/24/2024-7/30/2024, the facility did not ensure each resident received food and drink that was palatable, flavorful, and at an appetizing temperature for 2 of 2 meal test tray reviewed (the 7/26/2024 lunch meal on Unit 3 and the 7/29/2024 lunch meal on Unit 2). Specifically, food was not served at palatable and appetizing temperatures during the lunch meals on 7/26/2024 and 7/29/2024. Additionally, Resident #26 stated the food did not taste good. Findings include: The facility policy Food Temperatures effective date 12/2019 documented: - Temperatures of all food items would be taken and properly recorded prior to service of each meal and ensure quality and safety of food/drinks. - All hot food items must be held and served at a temperature of at least 140 degrees Fahrenheit. - All cold items must be stored and served at a temperature of 41 degrees Fahrenheit or below. During an interview on 7/24/2024 at 12:37 PM, Resident #26 stated they were served cold food, and it did not taste good. During a lunch…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2024-07-30 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — pattern
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, record review, and interview during the recertification survey conducted 7/24/2024 - 7/30/2024, the facility did not ensure food was stored, prepared, distributed, and served in accordance with professional standards for food service safety in the main kitchen. Specifically, 7 individual serving size portions of moist and minced fish were stored in cardboard containers dated 2/21 with ice buildup inside the containers; 1 cardboard box of cooked chicken was stored on top of 2 packages of flatbreads; the ice cream cooler contained an employee's personal 20-fluid ounce frozen bottle of water; and the tray line preparation cooler contained 10 sheet pans of uncovered coleslaw, and uncovered 4-ounce servings of strawberries with whipped topping. Findings include: The following observations in the main kitchen were made on 7/24/2024 between 10:30 AM and 11:01 AM: - In the walk-in freezer there were 7 individual serving size portions of minced and moist fish dated 2/21 with ice buildup on the inside of the containers, and there was 1 cardboard box of cooked chicken…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-07-30 · tag F0554 — isolated
    Allow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, record review, and interview during the recertification survey conducted 7/24/2024-7/30/2024, the facility did not ensure a resident's ability to safely self-administer medications was clinically appropriate for 1 of 1 resident (Resident #85) reviewed. Specifically, Resident #85 had 6 medications left in a medication cup in their room and there was no documented evidence the resident was assessed to determine their ability to safely self-administer medications or had a physician order for self-administration of medications. Findings include: The undated facility policy, Self-Administration of Medications, documented if a resident wished to self-administer medications the interdisciplinary team would assess the resident's cognitive, physical, and visual abilities to administer his/her own medications. Resident #85 had diagnoses including dementia. The 4/30/2024 Minimum Data Set assessment documented the resident had severe cognitive impairment, required set-up or clean-up assistance for eating and oral hygiene, and was dependent to substantial/maximal assistance…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-07-30 · tag F0810 — isolated
    Provide special eating equipment and utensils for residents who need them and appropriate assistance.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review during the recertification survey conducted 7/24/2024-7/30/2024, the facility did not ensure residents were provided appropriate assistive devices and appropriate assistance to maintain or improve their ability to eat and or drink independently for 1 of 1 resident (Resident #29) reviewed. Specifically, Resident #29 was not served food or drinks at meals as planned. Findings include: The facility policy, Meal Delivery, revised 1/2024, documented dietary staff would load meal trays in the kitchen with the appropriate meal service items according to the meal ticket before each meal. This would include adaptive equipment. Meal tickets would be carefully reviewed when passing meal trays to ensure the correct resident was served, all adaptive equipment was present, and tray notes were reviewed. If staff believed something on the meal ticket or the meal itself was incorrect, the meal should not be served, and the Dietary Department contacted for a replacement meal. Resident #29 was admitted to the facility with diagnoses including dementia…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2022-07-06 · tag F0836 — pattern
    Ensure the facility is licensed under applicable State and local law and operates and provides services in compliance with all applicable Federal, State, and local laws, regulations, and codes, and with accepted professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview, and record review during the recertification survey conducted 6/28/22-7/5/22, the facility failed to operate and provide services in compliance with all applicable Federal, State, and local laws, regulations, and codes, Specifically, there was no documented evidence of a carbon monoxide (CO) policy and procedure including staff education on responding to a CO activation. Findings include: The International Fire Code, 2015 Edition Section 915 Carbon Monoxide Detection (adopted by New York State), documented the requirement of facilities to have a policy for carbon monoxide detection and activation and for all staff to be trained on how to respond. The facility Emergency Preparedness and Disaster Plan with a revised date of 9/2021, did not include a policy and procedure for a CO activation incident in the facility. The annual staff training records for Emergency Preparedness had no documented evidence of training specific to CO and the response to the activation of a CO detector. When interviewed on 6/29/22 at 4:00 PM, the Director of Emergency Preparedness stated…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Administration Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2022-07-06 · tag F0609 — failed to report abuse allegations — isolated
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, record review, and interview during the recertification survey conducted 6/28/22-7/6/22, the facility failed to ensure that all alleged violations involving abuse and neglect were reported to The New York State Department of Health (NYS DOH) as required for 1 of 4 residents (Resident #37) reviewed. Specifically, Resident #37 required limited assistance of one for ambulation, sustained a fall with a fracture while ambulating independently and the incident was not reported to the NYS DOH as required. Findings include: The facility policy Incident Report Completion reviewed 1/2019 documented incident reports would be competed prior to the end of the shift. Upon completion of the report, it was reviewed by registered nurse (RN) Nurse Manager/Supervisor and then immediately forwarded to the Director of Nursing (DON). After review by the DON it was then forwarded to the Administrator and Risk Manager. If the report is determined to be resident abuse, neglect, misappropriation of property, sexual abuse, seclusion, significant injury resulting from staff negligence,…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2022-07-06 · tag F0610 — failed to investigate and act on abuse reports — isolated
    Respond appropriately to all alleged violations.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on record review and interview during the recertification and abbreviated (NY00282162) surveys conducted 6/28/22 to 7/6/22, the facility failed to ensure all alleged violations of abuse, neglect, or mistreatment were thoroughly investigated for 1 of 9 residents reviewed (Resident #4). Specifically, Resident #4 sustained a burn from coffee, a timely assessment was not completed by the registered nurse (RN) which lead to confusion as to which arm sustained the burn. Findings include: The facility policy Incident Report Completion reviewed 1/2019 documented incident reports would be completed prior to the end of the shift when a resident had an injury of unknown origin or accident. If determined to be abuse, neglect, or failure to follow the plan of care, the Director of Nursing (DON) or Administrator must be notified immediately. Resident #4 had diagnoses including traumatic brain injury (TBI) and left-sided weakness. The 6/28/21 Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment documented the resident had severely impaired cognition, required extensive to total assistance with most activities…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2022-07-06 · tag F0690 — failed to manage incontinence, catheters, and urinary infections — isolated
    Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, record review and interview during the recertification survey conducted 6/28/22-7/6/22, the facility failed to ensure a resident with an indwelling catheter received the necessary care and services to prevent urinary tract infections for 1 of 3 residents (Resident #104) reviewed. Specifically, Resident #104's catheter bag was observed multiple times in contact with the floor without a barrier or protective cover. Findings include: The facility policy Foley Catheter: Insertion/Removal/Care Of last reviewed 12/2019, documented the drainage bag should hang with tubing on the bed and bag lower than bladder level. The policy did not document the tubing and bag should be off the floor or a non-permeable barrier placed between the bag and floor. Resident #104 had diagnoses including a history of urinary tract infections (UTIs), a history of extended spectrum beta-lactamase (ESBL- antibiotic resistant infection), and dementia. The 6/4/22 Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment documented the resident had severely impaired cognition, was dependent for most activities of daily…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2022-07-06 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolated
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, record review and interview during the recertification survey conducted 6/28/22 - 7/6/22, the facility failed to store drugs and biologicals in accordance with currently accepted professional principles, and include the appropriate accessory and cautionary instructions, and the expiration date when applicable for 1 of 4 medication rooms (Unit 3) reviewed. Specifically, in the Unit 3 medication refrigerator, multiple tetanus booster vaccines were expired and one purified protein derivative (ppd, for tuberculosis skin test) multidose vial was dated as opened 5/12/22 and was not discarded after 28 days. The facility policy Nursing Home Medication Management-Consultant Pharmacy Services created 4/2020 and reviewed 11/2021 documented: - The pharmacy consultant ensured a process was in place for checking the medication storage areas and the medication carts for proper storage and labeling of medications, cleanliness and removal of expired medications. - All multi-dose vials of medications, such as insulin and Tubersol (PPD solution) would be dated with the expiration…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2019-12-06 · tag F0577 — isolated
    Allow residents to easily view the nursing home's survey results and communicate with advocate agencies.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation and interview during the recertification survey the facility did not ensure results of the most recent Federal/State survey were posted in a place readily accessible to residents, family members and legal representatives of residents, for 4 of 4 anonymous residents in attendance at the Resident Council Meeting. Specifically, survey results were not in an area that was readily accessible to residents or visitors and where individuals wishing to examine survey results did not have to ask to see them. Findings include: During the Resident Council meeting on 12/2/19 at 2:45 PM, 4 anonymous residents stated they were not aware of the location of the most recent Department of Health (DOH) Federal/State survey results and would like to know where they were located. On 12/2/19 at 3:42 PM, a framed sign in the lobby was observed hung high on the wall to the left of the elevators. The sign stated the survey results were located in the Family Room. From 12/2/19 to 12/4/19, the facility provided the New York State (NYS) DOH survey team the Family Room, located on the first…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2019-12-06 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolated
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, record review and interview during the recertification survey, the facility did not ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility were labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles, and include the appropriate accessory and cautionary instructions, and the expiration date when applicable for 4 of 4 medication carts reviewed for medication storage and labeling. Specifically, multiple insulin pens and vials were opened and undated. The facility policy, Nursing Home - Pharmacy Services, dated 11/2019, documented the following: - Labeling of Medication- medication labels are to be clean and legible, and may not be defaced, altered or revised. When the label becomes soiled and/or illegible, the medication will be destroyed in accordance with State and Federal laws, all multi-dose vials of medications, such as insulin and Tubersol, will be dated with the expiration date on the date opened- affixing a piece of tape or label to the bottle, medications must be check regularly for expiration dates and deterioration. - Storage of and…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

$160,046 in federal fines across 1 penalty.

  • $160,046 — penalty dated 2024-10-10

Dates are the dates CMS records the penalty, not the date of the conduct behind it. CMS publishes penalties on a rolling window, so this is what is currently on the public file — not the home’s lifetime history, and an older fine may attach to a problem that has since been corrected. The amounts are as imposed: the CMS file does not record whether a penalty was appealed, reduced, or paid, so we don’t say. Ask the home what each one was for and what changed since.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleSince
SCHWARTZ, JOHNIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; CORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 01/01/2024
WURZ, DEBRAIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 02/26/2020
HELLINGER, JEFFREYIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 10/18/2016
JONES, JENNIFERIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERsince 12/31/2015
LEHMAN, JOHNIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERsince 01/01/2020
MASTASCUSA, MARGUERITEIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERsince 11/01/2012
MCDOWELL, PHILIPIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERsince 12/01/2016
MENY, HOWARDIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERsince 11/01/2020
MUSNICKI, DONALDIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERsince 01/01/2015
RENNIE, KARENIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERsince 01/01/2019
ROSS, SUSANIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERsince 07/01/2018
YOUNG, MICHAELIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERsince 10/10/2010
TUTTLE-MALONE, SHIRLEYIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2020

CMS files one row per role, so the 19 rows in the source record cover these 13 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted. The source lists no ownership percentage for any of them — PECOS records a share only for equity interests, not for board or management roles.

What families pay in NY

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the New York Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in New York
$15,528/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$16,729/mo
Nursing home (private)
$7,110/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 335428. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2024-07-30, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next