No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Soldiers and Sailors Memorial Hospital Extended Ca

418 North Main Street, Penn Yan, NY 14527 · Non profit - Other · 152 certified beds · (315) 531-2730 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Behavioral-health or dementia-care citation — no harm found (F0758)1 immediate-jeopardy citation$21,733 in federal fines
Insights

This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.

Worth asking about
  • inspectors cited 1 immediate-jeopardy problem — the most serious level
  • a high number of inspection citations overall (16) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
  • the CMS record shows $21,733 in federal fines (most recent 2024-11-04)
  • its payroll-based staffing score sits well above its independent inspection score
  • its independent health-inspection rating is low (1/5)
  • its facility-reported quality-measure rating is low (2/5)
  • nursing-staff turnover (68%) runs well above the national median (45%)

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

1/5
CMS overall
1 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 1 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 3 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 2 of 5

Worth a closer look. This home's staffing rating runs 2 stars above its independent health-inspection score. The inspection is done by state surveyors; the staffing score rests on the facility's own payroll (PBJ) submissions — so a gap this large is worth reading the inspection record for.

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
Pharmacy
126 Main St · (315) 536-0100 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
321 Liberty St · (315) 536-2508 · Call to confirm hours
Park
Park0.9 mi
Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 2 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 2 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating held steady at 1 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating1★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased12.0%14.1%15.4%better
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight4.1%5.8%5.4%better
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder0.3%0.5%0.9%better
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection4.4%1.3%2.0%worse
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms0.2%19.5%6.5%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.2%0.1%better
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury6.0%3.1%3.3%worse
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened10.3%12.5%16.1%better
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication7.7%13.2%18.9%better
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine99.1%95.3%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers5.0%6.5%4.7%typical
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control23.5%19.5%21.2%worse
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table39.7%13.7%17.1%worse
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication0.0%1.2%1.4%better
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine84.8%78.8%79.4%typical
Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission32.2%20.6%22.6%worse
Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit26.8%9.6%12.0%worse
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days2.241.701.67worse
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days4.541.361.80worse

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

9.9%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
0.55U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.35hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.20hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.55 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 85% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 4% of this home’s weekday level — it runs therapy on weekdays, with essentially none at the weekend. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNFnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF9.9%CMS range 6.8–14.710.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identifiednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF staynot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsenednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalizationnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs0.541.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.46
RN hours/ resident / day
0.88
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.23
Aide hours/ resident / day
3.57
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.25
RN hoursweekends
68.3%
Total nursing turnover
66.7%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 152 beds and averages 134.4 residents a day — about 88% occupied, or roughly 18 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.57 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.46 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.23 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.20 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.71 on weekdays — 14% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.54 to 0.25 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 68% is well above the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

6
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2024-11-04)
4
at the previous standard inspection (2022-09-30)

Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

16 citations, most serious first. The 11 most serious are shown; the remaining 5 are one tap away and print in full.

  • Immediate jeopardy · K2024-11-04 · tag F0700 — pattern
    Try different approaches before using a bed rail. If a bed rail is needed, the facility must (1) assess a resident for safety risk; (2) review these risks and benefits with the resident/representative; (3) get informed consent; and (4) Correctly install and maintain the bed rail.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, interviews, and record review conducted during the Recertification Survey from 10/28/2024 to 11/04/2024, the facility failed to ensure correct installation, use, and maintenance of bed rails (side rails) to ensure there were no entrapment zones (an event in which a resident was caught, trapped, or entangled in the spaces in or about the side rail, mattress, or hospital bed frame), or safety hazards for six (6) (Resident # 17, 29, 52, 71, 106, and 110) of 31 residents reviewed for bed rails. Specifically, Residents #29 and #52 were identified by the facility with bed rails that were loose, and that the residents' head, body, or extremities were small enough to pass between the bed rail bars or through gaps between the mattress and bed rails. Resident #110's bilateral bed rails were not in position as care planned for which created two entrapment zones. Resident #17's bed rails were observed loose and unsecured to the bed frame. For Residents #17, #29, #52, #71 and #106, the facility failed…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2024-11-04 · tag F0909 — failed to maintain a comfortable temperature — pattern
    Regularly inspect all bed frames, mattresses, and bed rails (if any) for safety; and all bed rails and mattresses must attach safely to the bed frame.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations, interviews and record review conducted during an extended Recertification Survey from 10/28/2024 to 11/04/2024, for six (Residents #17, #29, #52, #71, #106, and #110) of 31 residents reviewed, the facility did not conduct regular inspections of all bed frames, mattresses, and bed rails as part of a regular maintenance program to identify areas of possible entrapment (when a person is trapped in a hospital bed's rails, mattress or frame, preventing them from moving). Specifically, Residents #29, #52, and #110 were observed to have loose bed rails and entrapments zones that exceeded the United States Food and Drug Administration's recommended dimensional limits. For Residents #17, #71, and #106, bed rails were observed to be loose and not properly secured to the bedframes. This is evidenced by, but not limited to, the following: Review of the facility policy Bed Rail Use, dated 04/06/2022, included bed rails should be installed and maintained in accordance with manufacturer ' s instructions to ensure proper fit. During an interview on 11/01/2024 at 2:20 PM, the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Environmental Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-11-04 · tag F0550 — failed to protect resident dignity and rights — isolated
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations, interviews, and record review conducted during an extended Recertification Survey and complaint investigation (NY00354636), for one (Unit One) of three units reviewed, the facility did not ensure that the residents were treated in a dignified manner. Specifically, there were multiple observations of approximately half the residents in the dining room waiting longer than one hour to receive their meals, while the other residents consumed their meals in their presence. Resident #65 was observed yelling out angrily because they had not received their meal. This was evidenced by the following: Review of the facility's meal delivery schedule documented the first lunch meal cart (Unit One) was scheduled to arrive on the unit at 11:46 AM and the second lunch meal cart was scheduled to arrive at 12:25 PM. Resident #65 had diagnoses including dementia, depression, and gastric esophageal reflux disease (digestive disease where stomach acid irritates the esophagus). The Minimum Data Set Resident Assessment, dated 09/30/2024, documented the resident had severely impaired…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-11-04 · tag F0677 — failed to help fully-dependent residents with daily care — isolated
    Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, interviews, and record review conducted during an extended Recertification Survey and complaint investigation (NY00354636), for three (Residents #13, #81, and #106) of seven residents, the facility did not ensure that residents who were dependent on staff for assistance received the necessary services to maintain grooming and personal hygiene. Specifically, Resident #81 did not receive assistance with shaving or obtaining a haircut, Resident #106 did not receive assistance with nail care, and Resident #13 did not receive assistance with daily hair grooming. This is evidenced by the following: Review of the facility policy Bathing and Grooming - ADL Care, dated 08/02/2022, included hairdresser appointments would be coordinated with bath/shower day, caregivers were responsible for cleaning fingernails weekly on the scheduled bathing day and as needed throughout the rest of the week, and special attention for nail cleaning needs should be completed with care and after meals. 1. Resident # 81…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-11-04 · tag F0688 — failed to keep residents mobile / prevent decline — isolated
    Provide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline is for a medical reason.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, interviews, and record reviews conducted during an extended Recertification Survey from 10/28/2024 to 11/04/2024, for one (Resident #22) of three residents reviewed, the facility did not ensure that residents with limited mobility received the appropriate services, equipment, and assistance to maintain mobility and prevent complications. Specifically, Resident #22 did not consistently receive a hand device (rolled cloth) for a hand contracture (a shortening of muscles, tendons, and skin) to prevent complications per Occupational Therapy's recommendations and as ordered by the physician. This is evidenced by the following: The facility policy Splint, Brace Usage, dated as reviewed/revised on 09/07/2023, included that Physical or Occupational Therapy would make recommendations for orthotic usage and schedule of application, and a physician would approve recommendations and an order would be written. The team leader/charge nurse would be responsible for ensuring that the orthotic device was…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-11-04 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations and interviews conducted during an extended Recertification Survey from 10/28/2024 to 11/04/2024, for two (Unit 2 and Unit 3) of four resident units, the facility did not ensure the resident environment remained free of accident hazards. Specifically, there was an electric stove with hot surfaces that was fully operational and accessible to residents. The findings are: During observations on 10/29/2024 at 4:30 PM, an electric stove was easily accessible and operational in the Unit 2 and Unit 3 dining room. When tested for function, all four stove top burners and the oven were operational and remained extremely hot to the touch. Further observations included the dining room connected Unit 2 and 3 on the first floor and there were two residents sitting in the dining room at the time. During observations on 10/30/2024 at 11:34 AM, the electric stove in the Unit 2 and Unit 3 dining room was still operational with the burner surfaces very hot to the touch when tested. During an interview on 10/30/2024 at 1:45 PM, the Clinical Registered Nurse lead #4 stated activity…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2022-09-30 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, interviews and record review conducted during a Recertification Survey, completed 9/30/22, it was determined that for one (Resident #95) of seven residents reviewed for accidents, the facility did not ensure that the resident's environment was free from accident hazards and each resident received adequate supervision to prevent accidents. Specifically, the facility did not thoroughly investigate an incident involving a serious injury to Resident #95 from falling out of a hoyer (a full body mechanical lift) during a transfer in order to prevent further potential accident. This was evidenced by the following Resident #95 had diagnoses including Huntington's disease, contractures (hardening and shortening of muscles casuing deformities and rigidity) of both upper and lower extremities and major depression. The Minimum Data Set Assessment, dated 9/23/22, revealed the resident had severely impaired cognitive function, had no behaviors, was totally dependent of two staff members for transfers,…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2019-11-22 · tag F0585 — failed to handle grievances — isolated
    Honor the resident's right to voice grievances without discrimination or reprisal and the facility must establish a grievance policy and make prompt efforts to resolve grievances.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interviews and record reviews conducted during the Recertification Survey, it was determined that for one (Resident #74) of one resident reviewed for grievances, the facility did not respond promptly to the resident's request to increase their weekly allowance. This is evidenced by the following: Resident #74 has diagnoses including schizophrenia, depression, and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease. The Minimum Data Set Assessment, dated 9/13/19, revealed the resident was cognitively intact. During an interview on 11/19/19 at 11:36 a.m., the resident said the Social Worker (SW) and the Administrator will not let them have more than three dollars a week for allowance. Interviews conducted on 11/22/19 included the following: a. At 9:00 a.m., the SW said the resident has a personal funds account that is managed by the facility. She said a family member had mentioned on several occasions that he would like the resident to only receive three dollars a week. b. At 10:02 a.m., the Administrator said the resident has a fiduciary in place to manage the finances. He said the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2019-11-22 · tag F0693 — failed to provide proper feeding-tube care — isolated
    Ensure that feeding tubes are not used unless there is a medical reason and the resident agrees; and provide appropriate care for a resident with a feeding tube.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interviews, and record reviews conducted during the Recertification Survey, it was determined that for one (Resident #24) of one resident reviewed for tube feedings, the facility did not provide appropriate treatment and services to prevent potential complications. Specifically, daily tube feedings and water flushes where not monitored to ensure physician orders were followed. This is evidenced by the following: Resident #24 had diagnoses including cerebral palsy, severe protein calorie malnutrition, dysphagia (difficulty swallowing), and disorders of electrolyte and fluid balance. The Minimum Data Set Assessment, dated 8/30/19, revealed the resident had moderately impaired cognition, a significant weight gain in the last one to six months, was not on a physician prescribed weight gain regimen, and received 51 percent or more of total calories and 501 milliliters (ml) or more of fluid per day through a feeding tube. The current physician orders included Isosource 1.5 (tube feeding) 390 mls per hour every six hours via bolus four times a day at 2:00 a.m., 8:00…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2019-11-22 · tag F0710 — isolated
    Obtain a doctor's order to admit a resident and ensure the resident is under a doctor's care.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interviews and record reviews conducted during the Recertification Survey, it was determined that for one of three residents reviewed for nutrition, the facility did not ensure the medical care of each resident was supervised by a physician. Specifically, the physician did not evaluate Resident 85's significant weight loss. This is evidenced by the following: Resident #85 has diagnoses including a recent amputation of the left great toe due to osteomyelitis (infection in the bone), Parkinson's disease, morbid obesity, and a history of dependent edema and diarrhea. The Minimum Data Set Assessment, dated 10/11/19, revealed the resident had severely impaired cognition, significant weight loss, and was not on a physician prescribed weight-loss regime. Physician orders, dated 11/15/19, included a lactose free diet with mechanical soft texture and to obtain weights monthly. The Comprehensive Care Plan for nutrition, dated 10/2/19, revealed that the resident goals were to maintain a weight of 270 pounds (lbs) plus or minus five percent or a gradual weight loss and to consume 75…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2019-11-22 · tag F0756 — failed to review each resident's drug regimen — isolated
    Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interviews and record reviews conducted during the Recertification Survey, it was determined that for two (Residents #79 and #113) of eight residents reviewed for unnecessary medications, the physician did not act upon or respond to pharmacy recommendations in a timely manner. Specifically, recommendations related to gradual dose reduction of psychotropic medications were not addressed. This is evidenced by the following: The facility policy, Drug/Medication Regimen Review Policy and Pharmacy Consultant, effective January 2018, revealed that the drug regime review findings will reflect information to assist the medical provider in ordering the most effective medication regime for the resident. The pharmacist will notify the attending physician/licensed practitioner, Director of Nursing (DON), and Medical Director of any irregularity within 24 to 72 hours of review. The medical provider will document a response to the pharmacy consultant's recommendations. If the medical provider does not acknowledge…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
Show the remaining 5 citations
  • Potential for harm · D2019-11-22 · tag F0758 — failed to limit and justify psychotropic drugs — isolated
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interviews and record reviews conducted during the Recertification Survey, it was determined that for one (Resident #72) of seven residents reviewed for unnecessary medications, the facility did not ensure orders for an as needed psychotropic medications were limited to 14 days. This is evidenced by the following: Resident #72 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] and had diagnoses including Huntington's Disease and dementia with behavioral disturbance. The Minimum Data Set Assessment, dated 10/4/19, revealed that the resident was cognitively intact. Physician orders, dated 10/28/19, included Haldol inject 2 milligrams intramuscularly every 24 hours as needed for severe agitation and physical aggression. The medication was given as a one-time dose on 9/5/19 and then ordered indefinitely on 9/11/19. Review of the medical record revealed no documentation that the as needed Haldol was renewed or reviewed every 14 days, or a rationale was documented for the extended use and duration of the medication. When…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2019-11-22 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolated
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, interviews and record reviews conducted during the Recertification Survey, it was determined that for two of five residents observed for medication administration, the facility did not ensure that drugs and biologicals used were labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles. Specifically, Resident #90 and Resident #2 were prescribed an over-the-counter calcium supplement that was prepared and administered from a container that was not the original manufacturer's bulk container. This is evidenced by the following: The facility policy and procedure, Medication Administration Protocols, dated December 2009, included that medications are to be prepared and administered in accordance with accepted standards and a medication with questionable contents should be returned to Pharmacy. 1. Resident #90 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses including age-related osteoporosis, poly-osteoarthritis, and atrophy of the thyroid. The Minimum Data Set (MDS)…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • No harm found · B2022-09-30 · tag F0575 — pattern
    Post a list of names, addresses, and telephone numbers of all pertinent State agencies and advocacy groups and a statement that the resident may file a complaint with the State Survey Agency.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations, interviews, and record review conducted during the Recertification Survey completed 9/30/22, it was determined that the facility did not post, in a manner accessible and understandable to residents and resident representatives, the pertinent contact information for the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program and the State Agency Complaint Hotline number, including a statement that the resident may file a complaint. The findings are: The Homestead Group Committee Meeting Minutes dated July 15, 2022, August 12, 2022, and September 9, 2022, included that the Ombudsman contact information was provided, that pamphlets were available from Social Work and that posters (with the information) were located at entrances to the facility. During an interview on 9/28/22 at 11:17 a.m., the Resident Council President stated they were not allowed off their units, so they were unable to see the posters with contact information on them. When observed on 9/28/22 at 12:03 p.m., the required postings were not located at the entrance to the building on the ground floor. The State…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • No harm found · B2022-09-30 · tag F0732 — pattern
    Post nurse staffing information every day.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations and interviews conducted during the Recertification Survey completed on 9/30/22, it was determined that the facility did not ensure that the daily posting of licensed and unlicensed nursing staff was posted in a prominent place readily accessible to residents and visitors per the regulation. This was evidenced by the following: During observations on 9/26/22 at 10:30 a.m., and again on 9/27/22 at 10:30 a.m., the nurse staffing sheet was posted on a cork board, on the ground floor, outside the staffing coordinators office off the main hall near the Administration offices (not an area where residents and visitors would normally access). In an interview on 9/26/22 at 2:16 p.m., the Staffing Coordinator stated that the staffing sheets used to be posted by the social work office near the entrance to the nursing home. The entrance has been closed for two years, due to covid screening, and the entrance is now around the corner from their office, outside the door, in the hallway. The Staffing Coordinator stated that neither residents nor visitors come down by this area…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • No harm found · B2022-09-30 · tag F0755 — failed to provide safe pharmacy services — pattern
    Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations, interviews and record review conducted during the Recertification Survey, completed on 9/30/22, it was determined that for two (Unit 3 and Unit 4) of three units reviewed for medication storage, the facility did not ensure that an accurate reconciliation of all controlled substances was maintained. Specifically, multiple Narcotic Count sheets which included reconciliation of narcotic medications and the signatures of staff members for each shift-to-shift count were not completed to validate the correct controlled substance count was done and was correct. This is evidenced by the following: The facility policy titled Medication - Controlled Drugs Ordering, Receiving, Storage, Inventory, and Disposal, dated last reviewed and revised on 4/1/20, documented that the facility will provide a method of operations for the proper administration and control of narcotics which will meet the requirement of State and Federal enforcement agencies and regulation. The nurse relinquishing the set of narcotic keys to the next nurse must both perform a narcotic count prior to the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

$21,733 in federal fines across 1 penalty.

  • $21,733 — penalty dated 2024-11-04

Dates are the dates CMS records the penalty, not the date of the conduct behind it. CMS publishes penalties on a rolling window, so this is what is currently on the public file — not the home’s lifetime history, and an older fine may attach to a problem that has since been corrected. The amounts are as imposed: the CMS file does not record whether a penalty was appealed, reduced, or paid, so we don’t say. Ask the home what each one was for and what changed since.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleSince
ABRAHAM, KYLENEIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 09/14/2021
ADAMS, JAMESIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 01/28/2025
ANDERSON, ROBERTIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 09/14/2021
BURRALL, THOMASIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 09/14/2021
CHENEY, JAMESIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 09/14/2021
COLLINS, CRAIGIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 01/28/2025
DENSMORE, CRAIGIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 09/14/2021
DEVANEY, CHEVANNEIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 09/14/2021
GOLDSTEIN, STEVENIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 01/28/2025
GRIFFIN, STEPHENIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 01/28/2025
HALLINGS, RYANIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 09/14/2021
KOCZENT, TRISHAIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/28/2025
NARDOZZI, JAMESIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 09/14/2021
QUEIROZ, RODOLFOIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 09/14/2021
ROTONDO, MICHAELIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 01/28/2025
STORK, SUSANIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 09/14/2021
TAUBMAN, MARKIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 01/28/2025
WARD, LANCEIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 09/14/2021
ACEVEDO, JOSEIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERsince 06/23/2010
BECKLEY, PHILLIPIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERsince 06/23/2010
MCMULLEN, ANNIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERsince 04/27/2011
BURLINGHAM, ROBERTIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/28/2025
FEINBERG, JASONIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/28/2025
FINIZIO, KATHIIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 01/28/2025
GARRITY, WILLIAMIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/28/2025

CMS files one row per role, so the 30 rows in the source record cover these 25 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted. The source lists no ownership percentage for any of them — PECOS records a share only for equity interests, not for board or management roles.

What families pay in NY

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the New York Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in New York
$15,528/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$16,729/mo
Nursing home (private)
$7,110/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 335289. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2024-11-04, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next