Verrazano Nursing And Post-Acute Center
100 Castleton Avenue, Staten Island, NY 10301 · For profit - Corporation · 120 certified beds · (718) 273-1300 Medicare & Medicaid certified
This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.
- a middle-of-the-pack inspection score (3/5)
- fewer deficiencies at its most recent standard inspection than at the one before — a sign of improvement
- it has an abuse, neglect, or exploitation citation (F0600), cited Jun 2024
- it has citations for its abuse-prevention policies, restraint use, or reporting and investigating of allegations (F0609, F0610) — cited below the harm level, meaning inspectors found the process wanting but did not find a resident harmed
- it has 1 actual-harm citation
- a high number of inspection citations overall (17) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
- the CMS record shows $130,902 in federal fines (most recent 2024-04-16)
- its payroll-based staffing rating is low (1/5)
- nursing-staff turnover (58%) runs well above the national median (45%)
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 3 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 1 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 3 of 5 |
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 3 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 2 of 5 |
| Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital | 3 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating improved from 1 to 2 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 20.9% | 14.1% | 15.4% | worse |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 4.4% | 5.8% | 5.4% | better |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 1.3% | 0.5% | 0.9% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 0.0% | 1.3% | 2.0% | better |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 2.4% | 19.5% | 6.5% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.2% | 0.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 1.7% | 3.1% | 3.3% | better |
| Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened | 18.0% | 12.5% | 16.1% | worse |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 10.9% | 13.2% | 18.9% | better |
| Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 94.3% | 95.3% | 95.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 8.1% | 6.5% | 4.7% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 18.9% | 19.5% | 21.2% | better |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 15.1% | 13.7% | 17.1% | better |
| Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication | 4.6% | 1.2% | 1.4% | worse |
| Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 71.0% | 78.8% | 79.4% | worse |
| Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission | 17.6% | 20.6% | 22.6% | better |
| Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit | 12.0% | 9.6% | 12.0% | typical |
| Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days | 2.88 | 1.70 | 1.67 | worse |
| Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days | 1.50 | 1.36 | 1.80 | better |
‡ On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
35.2% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — CMS rates that worse than the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 56 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.
Met the expected recovery: 68.0% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 25 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.
Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.30 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 48% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.
Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 8% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | 35.2%CMS range 24.4–47.8 | 51.5% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | worse than U.S. |
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | 8.8%CMS range 5.7–13.6 | 10.7% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | 68.0% | 56.6% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | 60.0% | 52.8% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | 72.0% | 50.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | 51.2% | 98.7% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | 0.0% | 0.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | 0.0% | 1.9% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | 6.9%CMS range 2.9–13.9 | 7.1% | Oct 2023–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | 1.66 | 1.02 | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 120 beds and averages 113.1 residents a day — about 94% occupied, or roughly 7 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 2.68 hrs/resident/day is below the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.46 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 1.71 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 2.42 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 2.79 on weekdays — 13% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.52 to 0.33 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 58% is well above the national median of 45%. 1 administrator has left in the past year.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are fewer than at the previous inspection — improving. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
17 citations, most serious first. The 11 most serious are shown; the remaining 6 are one tap away and print in full.
- Actual harm · G2024-04-16 · tag F0686 — failed to prevent and treat pressure sores (bedsores) — isolatedProvide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interviews and record review during an Abbreviated Survey (Complaint # NY00314677), the facility failed to ensure that each resident receives care, consistent with professional standards of practice, to prevent pressure ulcers and does not develop pressure ulcers unless the individual's clinical condition demonstrates that they were unavoidable. This was evident in 1 (Resident #2) of 3 residents reviewed for pressure ulcers (ulcers which occur on the skin surface due to prolonged pressure). Specifically, Resident #2, who was at mild risk for developing a pressure ulcer, was identified with a pressure ulcer on the sacrum (a bone located on the lower back) on 03/28/2023. The resident's pressure ulcer was not promptly assessed, and treatment was not started until 04/07/2023. Subsequently, on 04/10/2023, Resident #2 was assessed by the physician and diagnosed with a decubitus (Damage to a person's skin caused by constant pressure on an area for a long-time) ulcer infection. Additionally, a care plan to…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-04-24 · tag F0609 — failed to report abuse allegations — isolatedTimely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, record review, and interviews conducted during an Abbreviated Survey (NY00352315), the facility failed to ensure that all alleged violations involving abuse, exploitation, or mistreatment, including injuries of unknown source are reported immediately but not later than two hours after the allegation is made, if the events that cause the allegation involve abuse or result in serious bodily injury, or not later than 24 hours if the events that cause the allegation do not involve abuse and do not result in serious bodily injury, to the administrator of the facility and to other officials (including to the State Survey Agency and adult protective services where state law provides for jurisdiction in long-term care facilities) in accordance with State law through established procedures. This was evident for one (1) out of three (3) residents (Resident #3). Specifically, on 08/15/2024, when Resident #3 was leaving the facility for the appointment, Resident #3 told Registered Nurse Supervisor #1 they will inform the doctor at the clinic they were abused in the…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2025-03-19 · tag F0883 — failed to offer flu and pneumonia vaccines — patternDevelop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and interviews during the Recertification Survey conducted from 03/12/2025 to 03/19/2025, the facility did not ensure that each resident was offered the Pneumococcal and Influenza immunizations. This was observed in 5 of 5 residents (Residents #11, #23, #57, #84, #93) sampled for Immunizations out of a total of 26 sampled residents. Specifically, there was no documented evidence that Resident #23 was offered or educated on the Influenza immunization, and there was no documented evidence that residents #11, #23, #57, #84, and #93 were offered or educated on the Pneumococcal immunization. The facility policy titled Conducting the Influenza Vaccination Program for Residents, last reviewed 08/25/2023, documented that all residents/representatives will be provided with education on the influenza vaccine at the start of the influenza season. The facility policy titled Pneumococcal Vaccinations for Residents, last reviewed 11/05/2024, documented that to prevent pneumonia infections and to…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2025-03-19 · tag F0887 — patternEducate residents and staff on COVID-19 vaccination, offer the COVID-19 vaccine to eligible residents and staff after education, and properly document each resident and staff member's vaccination status.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review and interviews conducted during the Recertification Survey from 03/12/2025 to 03/19/2025, the facility did not ensure that each resident was offered the COVID-19 immunization. This was observed in 5 of 5 residents (Residents #11, #23, #57, #84, #93) sampled for Immunizations out of a total of 26 sampled residents. Specifically, there was no documentation related to the screening, administration or declination, and education on the COVID-19 immunizations for Residents #11, #23, #57, #84, and #93. The findings include: The facility policy titled COVID-19 Vaccination Administration for Residents last reviewed 10/14/2024 documented that the facility will provide all residents and representatives with education regarding the COVID-19 vaccination. The resident/representative decision to accept or decline the COVID-19 vaccination will be documented in the COVID Vaccination Care Plan. Resident #11 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] and had diagnoses including Cerebellar Stroke…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-03-19 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolatedDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record reviews and interviews conducted during the recertification survey from 03/12/2025 to 03/19/2025, the facility did not ensure that comprehensive care plans were developed. This was evident for 3 residents (Resident #28, #79, and #93) out of 26 sampled residents. Specifically, a diuretic care plan was not developed for Resident #28, a dialysis care plan was not developed for Resident #79, and a hospice care plan was not developed for Resident #93. The findings are: The facility policy titled Comprehensive Care Planning with effective date 1/26/2023 and last review date 10/16/2023 documented the facility utilizes an interdisciplinary team to provide an individualized comprehensive resident assessment and care planning process in order to maximize and maintain every resident's functional potential and quality of life. It also documented the interdisciplinary team is responsible for the overall supervision, training, consultation, and evaluation of the individual resident's care plan. 1) Resident #…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-06-04 · tag F0600 — failed to protect residents from abuse and neglect — isolatedProtect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interviews and record review conducted during an Abbreviated Survey (NY 00342773), the facility did not ensure a resident's right to be free from physical abuse by nursing home staff. This was evident for one out of four residents sampled for abuse (Resident #1). Specifically, on 05/20/24 at 5:04 pm in the dining room, the facility's video footage showed Resident #1 threw a cup of water on Certified Nursing Assistant #1's back and Certified Nursing Assistant #1 turned around and slapped Resident #1 with an open right hand on the back of Resident #1's neck. The Registered Nurse Supervisor #2 assessed Resident #1 and there was no visible injury, no redness or discoloration to the skin. Resident #1 did not complain of pain. On 05/20/24 at approximately 7:10 pm, the Administrator called New York City Law Enforcement and New York City Police Officers arrived at the facility. The findings are: The Facility's Policy on Abuse Prevention reviewed 10/22, documented residents have the right to be free from abuse, neglect, misappropriation of resident property and…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-04-16 · tag F0609 — failed to report abuse allegations — isolatedTimely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on record review and interviews conducted during an Abbreviated Survey (NY00322823), the facility did not ensure that the results of all investigations of alleged violations involving abuse were reported to the State Survey Agency within 5 working days of the incident. This was evident for 2 (Residents #4 and #5) of 4 residents reviewed for abuse. Specifically, on 08/26/2023, the facility received a report that Resident #5 inappropriately touched Resident #4. The facility submitted a Follow-up Investigation Report on 09/05/2023. The findings are: A Dear Nursing Home Administrator Letter (DAL: NH 22-20) dated 10/18/2022 regarding Facility Incident Reporting System stated that the notice was to inform the Administrator of changes in reporting of nursing home facility incidents as detailed in QSO-22-19-NH and effective on 10/24/2022. The guidance stated that in addition to an initial facility incident report that must be submitted following reporting timelines, nursing homes must submit to the New York State Department of Health the results of the facility investigation. Within 5…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-04-16 · tag F0610 — failed to investigate and act on abuse reports — isolatedRespond appropriately to all alleged violations.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interviews and record review conducted during an Abbreviated Survey (NY00322823), the facility failed to ensure that all alleged violations involving abuse were thoroughly investigated. This was evident in 2 (Residents #4 and #5) of 4 residents sampled. Specifically, on 08/26/2023, the facility received a report that Resident #5 inappropriately touched Resident #4. The facility initiated an investigation but did not thoroughly investigate the allegation. The facility did not gather statements from staff members who may have potentially witnessed the allegation. The findings are: The facility policy and procedure titled Abuse Prevention with a last reviewed date of 10/2022 documented that if any staff was made aware of any alleged violation of abuse, neglect, or mistreatment, the facility will thoroughly investigate the alleged violation, attempt to prevent further abuse, neglect, exploitation and mistreatment from occurring while the investigation is in progress and take appropriate corrective action. The facility policy on Accident and Incident Investigation and Reporting…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-04-16 · tag F0645 — isolatedPASARR screening for Mental disorders or Intellectual Disabilities
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and interviews conducted during the Abbreviated Survey (NY 00311407), the facility did not ensure Preadmission Screening for individuals with mental disorders and individuals with intellectual disability was done prior to admission. This was evident for 1 of 3 residents (Resident #1) sampled for Pre-admission Screening and Record Review (a federal requirement to ensure that residents were not inappropriately placed in a skilled nursing facility). Specifically, Resident #1's Screen Form Department of Health-695 was dated 01/04/23. Level I was positive for serious mental illness but was not completed, and Resident #1 was not evaluated for Level II screening prior to admission to the facility. Resident #1 or the legal representative did not sign the Screen Form. The findings are: The facility policy entitled, Screen/Pre-admission Screening and Record Review Evaluation, not dated, documented it is the policy of the facility to be complaint with Department of Health 695 in completing or…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-04-16 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolatedDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on record reviews and interviews conducted during an Abbreviated Survey (NY00322823), the facility did not ensure that a comprehensive person-centered care plan was developed and implemented for each resident. This was evident for 2 (Residents #4 and #5) of 4 residents reviewed for abuse. Specifically, a comprehensive care plan related to abuse was not developed for Resident #4 and Resident #5 following an allegation of sexual abuse. The findings are: A facility policy titled Resident Care Planning with a last revised date of 02/15/2023 documented that the facility's care planning / interdisciplinary team is responsible for the development of an individualized comprehensive care plan for each resident. Resident #4 was admitted to the facility with diagnoses of Panic Disorder and Generalized Anxiety Disorder. The Minimum Data Set with assessment reference date of 09/01/2023 documented that Resident #4 was cognitively intact. Resident #5 was admitted to the facility with diagnoses of Acquired Absence of Right Leg Above Knee and Major Depressive Disorder. The Minimum Data Set…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-04-16 · tag F0660 — isolatedPlan the resident's discharge to meet the resident's goals and needs.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review, and interviews conducted during an Abbreviated Survey (NY 00311407), the facility did not ensure that an effective discharge plan was developed that focused on the resident's discharge goals, preparation of the resident to be an active participant in their care and effectively transition the resident to post-discharge care. This was evident for 1 out of 3 residents sampled (Resident #1). Specifically, Resident #1 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] and was discharged to the community on 11/01/2023. A discharge care plan was not developed for Resident #1. The findings are: The facility's Policy and Procedure, titled Care Planning-Baseline Care Plan and Comprehensive Care Plan with review date 02/12/23, documented the facility's care planning/interdisciplinary team is responsible for the development of an individualized comprehensive care plan for each resident. A comprehensive care plan for each resident is developed within seven days of completion of the resident…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
Show the remaining 6 citations
- Potential for harm · F2023-01-30 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespreadProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interviews, and record review conducted during the Recertification survey from 1/22/23 to 1/30/23, the facility did not ensure that food was stored, prepared, distributed and served in accordance with professional standards for food service safety. This was evident during Kitchen observation. Specifically, frozen food items were stored undated and with opened packaging. The findings are: The facility's policy titled Food Storage last reviewed 10/22 documented that leftover food is stored in a dated, covered containers, wrapped carefully and securely. Frozen meat, poultry and fish should be covered, labeled, and dated. On 1/22/23 at 9:51 AM, Kitchen observation was conducted with the Food Service Director (FSD) present. The freezer contained 5 packages of undated Kosher beef pot roast and three opened and ripped plastic packages of undated Kosher chicken legs. On 1/26/23 at 11:55 AM, the Dietary Aide (DA) was interviewed and stated they were responsible for receiving deliveries of frozen meat, checking for damage, and dating each item individually with a label…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2023-01-30 · tag F0725 — failed to have enough nursing staff — patternProvide enough nursing staff every day to meet the needs of every resident; and have a licensed nurse in charge on each shift.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review, and interviews conducted during the recertification and abbreviated survey (NY00298195 and NY00305187) from 1/22/23 to 1/30/23, the facility did not ensure sufficient nursing staffing to attain or maintain the well-being of each resident. This was evident for 3 of 3 resident units (Unit 2, 3, and 4). Specifically, 1) Resident #58 reported nursing staffing shortages led to deficits in medication administration, 2) actual nursing staffing was less than projected staffing on multiple occasions, and 3) Residents #82, #86, and #69 did not receive medications in accordance with physician orders. The findings are: 1. Resident #58 had diagnoses of anemia and narcolepsy. The Minimum Data Set 3.0 (MDS) assessment dated [DATE] documented Resident #58 was cognitively intact. The Aspen Complaint Tracking System intake dated 06/29/2022 documented Resident #58 reported ongoing nursing shortages. The resident's IV bag was unchanged, and residents were not receiving their medications.…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2023-01-30 · tag F0760 — failed to prevent significant medication errors — patternEnsure that residents are free from significant medication errors.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, record review, and interviews conducted during the recertification and complaint survey (NY00305187) from 1/22/23 to 1/30/23, the facility did not ensure residents were free of significant medication errors. This was evident for 3 (Resident #s 82, 86, and 69) of 29 total sampled residents. Specifically, Residents #82, #86, and #69 were not administered medication in accordance with Physician Order (MDO). The findings are: The facility's policy titled Medication Administration Schedule reviewed 3/22 documented medications are administered according to the following administration schedule. 1.) Resident #82 had diagnoses of diabetes mellitus and Alzheimer's dementia. The Minimum Data Set 3.0 (MDS) assessment dated [DATE] documented Resident #82 was moderately cognitively impaired. Aspen Complaint Tracking System intake dated 11/9/22 documented complainant called and reported Resident #82 was not being given medication on time. On 1/23/23 at 11:46 AM, complainant was interviewed and stated…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-01-30 · tag F0657 — failed to keep the care plan current — isolatedDevelop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review, and interviews conducted during a Recertification survey from 01/22/2023 through 01/30/2023, the facility did not ensure Comprehensive Care Plans (CCP) were reviewed and revised after each assessment for 3 (Resdients #28, #45, and #50) of 29 sampled residents. Specifically, (1) The care plan for Behavior was not revised for Resident #28, 2) The care plan for Device/Splint was not revised for Resident #45, and 3) The care plan for Activities of Daily Living was not revised quarterly for Resident #50. The findings are: The policy and procedure titled Nursing Care Plan, last revised 08/2019, documented the comprehensive care plan should be reviewed and updated after each quarterly Minimum Data Set 3.0 (MDS) assessment. 1) Resident #28 was admitted with diagnoses which include Alzheimer's Disease, Cerebrovascular Accident (CVA), Non-Alzheimer's Dementia, Hemiplegia or Hemiparesis. On 01/27/23 at 11:00 AM, the resident was observed in the room alert and awake. The resident…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-01-30 · tag F0688 — failed to keep residents mobile / prevent decline — isolatedProvide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline is for a medical reason.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review, and interviews conducted during a Recertification survey from 01/22/2023 through 01/30/2023, the facility did not ensure that a resident with a limited range of motion received appropriate treatment and services to prevent further decrease in range of motion. This was evident for 1 (Resident #45) of 2 resident(s) reviewed for Limited Range of Motion out of 29 sampled residents. Specifically, Resident #45 had left arm Hemiplegia and was observed without a hand splint as per rehab recommendation. The findings are: The facility policy and procedure titled Patient/Resident identification/Screening Authorization dated 09/1997 documented that all therapists will complete patient/resident Screening at admission and quarterly to determine if a problem requires further skilled evaluation. During quarterly re-screening, the therapist seeks to identify any change in function (positive or negative), which will warrant further skilled evaluation. Resident #45 was admitted to the facility…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-01-30 · tag F0697 — failed to manage pain — isolatedProvide safe, appropriate pain management for a resident who requires such services.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review and interview conducted during the Recertification Survey, the facility did not ensure that pain management was provided to a resident who required such services, consistent with professional standards of practice, the comprehensive person-centered care plan, and the resident's goals and preferences for 1 (Resident #44) of 2 residents reviewed for Pain Management. Specifically, Resident #44, a resident with Metastatic Ovarian Cancer on Palliative Care, reported frequent breakthrough pain despite as needed pain medication. The nursing staff did not reassess the resident or report the pain to the physician, and the resident remained on as needeed pain medication without any standing dose pain medication. The finding is: The facility Policy and Procedure titled Pain Management last revised on 11/2021 documented each resident should be assessed to assure pain is identified and appropriate pain management and treatment has been implemented. Resident #44 was admitted with diagnoses…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
$130,902 in federal fines across 13 penalties.
- $69,518 — penalty dated 2024-04-16
- $4,938 — penalty dated 2024-02-20
- $4,938 — penalty dated 2024-02-12
- $14,814 — penalty dated 2024-01-22
- $4,938 — penalty dated 2024-01-08
- $4,587 — penalty dated 2024-01-02
- $11,645 — penalty dated 2023-12-11
- $3,176 — penalty dated 2023-11-20
- $2,823 — penalty dated 2023-11-13
- $2,470 — penalty dated 2023-11-06
- $2,117 — penalty dated 2023-10-30
- $1,764 — penalty dated 2023-10-23
- $3,174 — penalty dated 2023-10-02
Dates are the dates CMS records the penalty, not the date of the conduct behind it. CMS publishes penalties on a rolling window, so this is what is currently on the public file — not the home’s lifetime history, and an older fine may attach to a problem that has since been corrected. The amounts are as imposed: the CMS file does not record whether a penalty was appealed, reduced, or paid, so we don’t say. Ask the home what each one was for and what changed since.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Share | Since |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| GELLEY, DAVID | Individual | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE; CORPORATE OFFICER | 15% | since 01/29/2007 |
| GELLEY, HEIDI | Individual | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; CORPORATE OFFICER | 31% | since 04/26/2007 |
| KRAUS, SIMONE | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | — | since 07/01/1996 |
CMS files one row per role, so the 6 rows in the source record cover these 3 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.
Follow the money — this home’s finances
Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.
A reported operating loss is common in this industry and is not by itself a sign of trouble — but paired with large related-party payments it can mean profit is being taken elsewhere in the ownership structure.
Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.
Cost & finances
Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.
What families pay in NY
This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the New York Medicaid page.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 335273. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-03-19, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.