No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Waterville Residential Care Center

220 Tower Street, Waterville, NY 13480 · For profit - Partnership · 92 certified beds · (315) 841-4156 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (315) 841-4156 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
No harm-level citations or fines — but 15 lower-level deficiencies on record (see below)
Insights

This home’s record is mixed — some reassuring signs, some worth asking about.

In its favor
  • a middle-of-the-pack inspection score (3/5)
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
Worth asking about
  • a high number of inspection citations overall (15) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
  • its payroll-based staffing rating is low (2/5)

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

3/5
CMS overall
3 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 3 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 2 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 3 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
★★★★ 4/5 CMS · Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
117 Main St W · (315) 841-4178 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
139 E Main St · (315) 841-4447 · Call to confirm hours
Park
112 Park Pl · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship
127 Main St E · (315) 841-3266

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 3 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 4 of 5
Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital 3 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating held steady at 3 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating3★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased17.3%14.1%15.4%worse
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight6.4%5.8%5.4%worse
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder0.0%0.5%0.9%better
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection2.6%1.3%2.0%worse
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms1.4%19.5%6.5%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.2%0.1%better
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury5.2%3.1%3.3%worse
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened12.7%12.5%16.1%better
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication17.8%13.2%18.9%typical
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine98.8%95.3%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers5.9%6.5%4.7%worse
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control31.8%19.5%21.2%worse
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table19.4%13.7%17.1%worse
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication1.6%1.2%1.4%worse
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine98.3%78.8%79.4%better
Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission23.5%20.6%22.6%typical
Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit7.9%9.6%12.0%better
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days0.541.701.67better
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days1.871.361.80typical

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

39.7% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 57 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

39.7%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
9.1%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
63.2%U.S. median 56.6%
Met the expected recovery
0.32U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.19hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.12hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.01hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Met the expected recovery: 63.2% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 38 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.32 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 53% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 16% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF39.7%CMS range 28.9–53.751.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF9.1%CMS range 5.9–13.810.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge63.2%56.6%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge55.3%52.8%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge71.0%50.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified100.0%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay0.0%0.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened2.2%1.9%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization7.4%CMS range 3.8–13.57.1%Oct 2023–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs0.831.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.40
RN hours/ resident / day
0.79
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.06
Aide hours/ resident / day
3.25
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.31
RN hoursweekends
50.5%
Total nursing turnover
33.3%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 92 beds and averages 87.2 residents a day — about 95% occupied, or roughly 5 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.25 hrs/resident/day is below the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.40 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.06 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 2.67 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.49 on weekdays — 23% thinner on weekends — a notable drop. RN hours go from 0.44 to 0.31 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 50% is about the same as the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

6
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2024-10-10)
1
at the previous standard inspection (2023-03-07)

Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

15 citations, most serious first. The 10 most serious are shown; the remaining 5 are one tap away and print in full.

  • Potential for harm · D2025-08-27 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolated
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and interviews during the abbreviated survey (IQIES #2576672) the facility did not ensure residents received treatment and care in accordance with professional standards of practice for one (1) of three (3) residents (Resident #1) reviewed. Specifically, Resident #1 exhibited a change in condition on the morning of [DATE] and was sent to a scheduled pulmonology appointment where they expired during transport. There was no documented evidence of the resident's change of condition and staff provided conflicting versions of what the resident's condition was on the morning of [DATE]. Findings include: The facility policy Notification of Changes, revised [DATE], documented the care center shall immediately inform the resident and consult with the resident's physician when a significant change in the resident's physical, mental, or psychosocial status changed. All notifications were documented.Resident #1 had diagnoses including dementia, sarcoidosis (organ inflammation throughout the body), and…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-08-27 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations, record review, and interviews during the abbreviated survey (IQIES 2576672), the facility did not ensure residents received adequate supervision and assistive devices to prevent accidents for two (2) of three (3) residents (Residents #1 and #2) reviewed. Specifically, Resident #1 had multiple falls, and the facility investigation did not identify the root cause of the fall and establish person-centered interventions to prevent further falls; and Resident #2's interventions to prevent falls were not implemented as planned. Findings include:The facility policy Resident Incident/Accident Documentation within Electronic Medical Record, revised 7/25/2024, documented all incidents involving resident care would be investigated and documented to evaluate care given to residents, to assist in prevention of incidents, and evaluate interventions given in the event of an incident. Incident/accident reports included a detailed description of the incident, a statement from the resident of what occurred, statements from staff at time of incident, and the root cause of the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2024-10-10 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — pattern
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review, and interviews during the recertification survey conducted [DATE]-[DATE], the facility did not ensure drugs and biologicals were labeled and stored in accordance with currently accepted professional principles and include the expiration date when applicable for 2 of 6 medication carts (East and Center medications carts), and for 2 of 2 treatment carts (East and [NAME] treatment carts) reviewed. Specifically, - The East and Center medication carts contained multiple packaged 3 milliliter syringes that expired on [DATE]. - The Center medication cart contained one insulin pen that was opened and did not have an expiration date. - The East and [NAME] treatment carts were left unlocked and unattended. Findings include: The facility policy, Drug Procurement, Storage, and Inspection, revised 11/2023 documented medications were stored in a secure manner and locked when not in use. All medications and chemicals used to prepare medications were accurately labeled with contents,…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2024-10-10 · tag F0804 — failed to serve food at safe, palatable temperature — pattern
    Ensure food and drink is palatable, attractive, and at a safe and appetizing temperature.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation and interviews during the recertification survey conducted 10/7/2024-10/10/2024, the facility did not ensure each resident received food and drink that was palatable, flavorful, and at an appetizing temperature for 2 of 2 meal test tray reviewed (the 10/8/2024 lunch meal and the 10/9/2024 breakfast meal). Specifically, food was not served at palatable and appetizing temperatures during the lunch meal on 10/8/2024 and the breakfast meal on 10/9/2024. Additionally, Residents #11, #16, #22, #27, #29, #44, #48, #51, and #84 stated the food did not taste good and was cold. Findings include: The Daily Temperature Log for facility food documented recommended serving temperatures as follows: - Cold foods below 40 degrees Fahrenheit. - Soups 160-180 degrees Fahrenheit. - Meat/poultry/seafood/eggs 145-165 degrees Fahrenheit. - Sauces and Gravies 160-180 degrees Fahrenheit; and - Vegetables 160-180 degrees Fahrenheit. Resident interviews included: - on 10/7/2024 at 10:13 AM, Resident #16 was sitting on the edge of their bed with a meal tray on the bedside table in front of…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2024-10-10 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — pattern
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, record review, and interviews during the recertification survey conducted 10/7/2024 - 10/10/2024, the facility did not ensure food was stored, prepared, distributed, and served in accordance with professional standards for food service safety in the main kitchen and in 1 of 3 nursing unit kitchenettes (West Unit) reviewed. Specifically, in the main kitchen the hot water boost pump was turned off on the dishwasher and was not heating properly; there were outdated, expired, moldy food items, and dented cans; and the sanitizer at the three bay sink registered as empty. The [NAME] Unit dining room refrigerator contained undated, outdated, and moldy food items. Findings include: The facility policy, Food Storage, revised 7/6/2023, documented food was stored in a manner that maintained high quality, avoided spoilage, and prevented contamination. The dish machine temperature log documented temperatures were checked for breakfast, lunch, and dinner dishes and the high temperature wash ranged from 150-160 degrees Fahrenheit, and the rinse was 180 degrees Fahrenheit. The…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-10-10 · tag F0584 — failed to keep a safe, clean, comfortable home — isolated
    Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review, observations, and interviews during the recertification survey conducted 10/7/2024-10/10/2024, the facility did not ensure residents had a safe, clean, comfortable, and homelike environment for 3 of 5 nursing units on the Second floor (all resident units were located on the Second floor), the middle dining room, the first floor hair salon area, and the staff hallway near the timeclock Specifically, room [ROOM NUMBER] had a strong smell of urine; the floors in the 2nd floor middle dining room were dirty and sticky; the staff hallway near the timeclock had a section of plywood that was unclean and not flush with the wall; the East 100's unit shower room toilet was not attached to the floor and the radiator was rusty and had sharp edges; the East 200's unit shower room had chipped wall tiles near the floor; and the hair salon on the first floor was missing a ceiling tile and on the floor below the tile there was a bucket to collect drippping water. Findings include: The facility Infection…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-10-10 · tag F0679 — failed to provide activities — isolated
    Provide activities to meet all resident's needs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, record review, and interviews during the recertification survey conducted 10/7/2024-10/10/2024, the facility did not ensure residents were provided an ongoing program to support their choice of activities, designed to meet their interests and support their physical, mental, and psychosocial well-being for 1 of 1 resident (Resident #28) reviewed. Specifically, Resident #28 was not included in or provided activities to meet their interests and preferences. Findings include: The facility policy, Types of Activity Programs, dated 7/25/2025, documented activity programs were unique and reflected the current resident population as well as the strengths of the activity staff to implement the program. Activities were available to meet the current needs and interest of the resident population. Resident #28 had diagnoses including right sided hemiplegia (paralysis or weakness to one side of the body), dementia, and aphasia (difficulty speaking). The 8/7/2024 Minimum Data Set assessment documented the resident had severely impaired cognition, unclear speech, was rarely…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-10-10 · tag F0686 — failed to prevent and treat pressure sores (bedsores) — isolated
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review, and interviews during the recertification survey conducted 10/7/2024-10/10/2024, the facility did not ensure residents with pressure ulcers received necessary treatment and services, consistent with professional standards of practice, to promote wound healing, prevent infection, and prevent new ulcers from developing for 1 of 2 residents (Resident #30) reviewed. Specifically, Resident #30's pressure relieving heel boots were not in place while in bed as planned. Findings include: The facility policy, Pressure Relieving Devices, revised 3/30/2024, documented pressure relieving devices were used to reduce pressure on specific parts of the body to prevent tissue damage. Nursing, along with therapy, selected appropriate pressure relieving devices based on individual assessments and specific risk factors. All individuals identified at risk were provided with appropriate pressure devices as part of their care plan. Resident #30 had diagnoses including a Stage 3 (full thickness…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2023-03-07 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — pattern
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview and record review during the recertification survey conducted 3/1/23-3/7/23, the facility failed to ensure food was stored, prepared, and served in accordance with professional standards for food service safety for two isolated areas (the dry food storage room and the main kitchen). Specifically, shelving units with boxes of disposable dinnerware and kitchen equipment were stored directly under a sewage drain line in the dry food storage room; a 10 pound box of raw hamburger patties was stored directly above a box of ice cream cups in the reach in freezer; the floors under and behind the cookline equipment and the #10 can opener (commercial grade heavy duty can opener) were soiled and unclean with food debris; the high temperature commercial dishwasher was not operating at proper rinse temperatures for sanitizing; and garbage was not disposed of properly. Findings include: The facility policy Food Storage revised 9/5/22, documented dry food supplies would be stored at least six inches above the floor in a clean, dry, ventilated room that was not…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2020-09-11 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — pattern
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, record review and interview during the recertification survey the facility did not ensure drugs and biologicals were labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles, and include the appropriate accessory and cautionary instructions, and the expiration date when applicable for 2 of 2 medication rooms (East and West) and 2 of 3 medication carts (East and West) observed. Specifically, multiple expired medications were found in 2 medication rooms and 2 medication carts. Findings include: The 2/2020 facility Medication Policy documented multi-dose vials which have not been opened or accessed should be discarded according to the manufacturer expiration date. Multi-dose vials that have been opened or accessed should be dated and discarded within 28 days unless manufacturer specifies a different date for that opened vial. During an observation on 9/10/20 at 10:39 AM, the [NAME] Unit medication storage room contained liquid acetaminophen (pain medication) with an expiration date of 4/2020. Licensed practical nurse (LPN) #12 stated the acetaminophen…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
Show the remaining 5 citations
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2020-09-11 · tag F0804 — failed to serve food at safe, palatable temperature — pattern
    Ensure food and drink is palatable, attractive, and at a safe and appetizing temperature.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, record review, and interview during the recertification survey, the facility did not ensure food and drinks were palatable, attractive, and at a safe and appetizing temperature for 3 of 3 meals (breakfast, lunch, and dinner) reviewed. Specifically, food and drinks were not served at palatable temperatures for 3 meals (chipped beef, ham and cheese sandwich, pancakes, milk). Findings include: The 9/4/18 facility Food Temperature Checks Policy documented hot and food temperatures will be monitored. Temperatures would be recorded at each meal served to the residents within the proper temperature range (<41 F to >140 F). The Resident Council Meeting Minutes documented: - On 6/4/20, passing of resident trays was taking 20-30 minutes. - On 7/9/20, food would sit at the nursing station for some time and by the time resident received their trays the food was cold. - On 8/6/20, cold food continued to be an issue, temperatures were worse in the morning. - On 9/3/20, cold food remained an issue. The Food Council Minutes/Resident Receipt Planning documented on 7/15/20,…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2020-09-11 · tag F0584 — failed to keep a safe, clean, comfortable home — isolated
    Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation and interview during the recertification survey, the facility did not ensure a safe, clean, comfortable, and homelike environment for 1 of 2 units (West Unit). Specifically, multiple resident areas on the [NAME] Unit were in disrepair (ice machine, walls, base molding, a toilet seat, a toilet paper roll holder and a countertop). Findings include: The 7/6/20 Preventative Maintenance Policy documents the preventative maintenance is the care and servicing by personnel for purposes of maintaining equipment and facilities in a satisfactory operating condition. The following was observed: -On 9/8/20 at 12:56 PM and on 9/10/20 at 2:35 PM, the [NAME] Unit dining room ice machine tray had a rusty and discolored metal grate; -On 9/9/20 at 9:35 AM, the [NAME] Unit dining room had one drawer that could not close due to a damaged countertop. The countertop around the ice machine was water damaged; -On 9/9/20 at 9:55 AM, the bathroom for rooms [ROOM NUMBERS] had two parts of a toilet paper holder that…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2020-09-11 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolated
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review and interview during the recertification survey, the facility did not ensure the development and implementation of comprehensive person-centered care plans for 1 of 2 residents (Resident #48) reviewed. Specifically, Resident #48 did not have skin breakdown prevention boots in place as planned. Findings include: Resident #48 had diagnoses including dementia, Parkinson's disease, and a Stage 3 (full-thickness skin loss) pressure ulcer of the sacrum. The 7/15/20 Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment documented the resident was severely cognitively impaired, totally dependent for all activities of daily living (ADLs), had one Stage 3 and one Unstageable (obscured full-thickness skin and tissue loss) pressure ulcer and had a pressure relieving device for bed and chair. The comprehensive care plan (CCP) initiated 1/8/20 documented the resident had a Stage 3 left foot bunion and was to wear Z-Flex fluidized heel boots to bilateral feet when in bed. The 1/13/20 physician order documented…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2020-09-11 · tag F0688 — failed to keep residents mobile / prevent decline — isolated
    Provide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline is for a medical reason.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review and interview during the recertification survey the facility did not ensure that residents with limited range of motion (ROM) received appropriate treatment and services to prevent further decrease in ROM for 2 of 2 residents (Residents #31 and 48) reviewed. Specifically, Residents #31 and 48 did not have hand contracture devices in place as care planned. Findings include: The 11/2014 Contracture policy documented residents would be given care to prevent formation and progression of contractures and deformities. 1) Resident #48 had diagnoses including dementia and Parkinson's disease. The 7/15/20 Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment documented the resident was severely cognitively impaired, totally dependent on staff for all activities of daily living (ADLs) and had functional limitation of both arms. The 7/27/20 comprehensive care plan (CCP) documented the resident was to wear a Posey hand orthotic (palm device used for hand contractures) to the left upper extremity. An 8/12/20…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2020-09-11 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — isolated
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review during the recertification survey, the facility did not store food in accordance with professional standards for food service safety in 1 of 3 coolers (three-door nourishment cooler). Specifically, the air temperature within the three-door nourishment cooler was not maintained at 41 degrees Fahrenheit (F) or less. The cooler contained glasses of milk that had temperatures higher than 41 degrees F. Findings included: Record review of the Refrigeration Temperature policy, date 12/13/14, documented Refrigerator units will Hot and Cold temperatures will be monitored and recorded twice daily. On 9/10/20 at 3:23 PM, with Temporary Co-Food Service Supervisor #9 present, the air temperature in the three-door nourishment cooler was measured at 50 degrees F using both the state thermometer and the facility stick-type thermometer. The two thermometers within the refrigerator were observed at 50 degrees F. A glass of honey-thick milk, in the back of the refrigerator, was measured at 54 degrees F with both the state thermometer and the facility…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
HARDING-STAELENS, JUDITHIndividual5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; GENERAL PARTNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNF50%since 01/01/2003
MURABITO, JOSEPHIndividual5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; GENERAL PARTNERSHIP INTEREST50%since 07/09/2019
ELEMENTAL MANAGEMENT GROUP, LLCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 12/01/2018

CMS files one row per role, so the 7 rows in the source record cover these 3 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.

1 organizational owner listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$8.3M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
-10.5%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
$1.1M
Related-party expense12% of expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 78%Medicare 3%Other / private 19%

About 78% of this home’s resident-days are paid by Medicaid, which reimburses well below the cost of care in most states. Heavily Medicaid-dependent homes run on thinner budgets — a context worth holding next to the staffing and inspection record, not a fault in itself. This home reported $1.1M paid to related parties — landlords or management companies under common ownership — equal to about 12% of its total expenses. Money routed to affiliated companies can leave a home’s own books looking lean while owners still profit; it is the mechanism regulators watch most closely in private-equity and REIT deals. A reported operating loss is common in this industry and is not by itself a sign of trouble — but paired with large related-party payments it can mean profit is being taken elsewhere in the ownership structure.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$290per resident / day
operating cost
$8,822per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$263per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in NY

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the New York Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in New York
$15,528/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$16,729/mo
Nursing home (private)
$7,110/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 335585. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2024-10-10, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next