No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Anna Maria Of Aurora

889 North Aurora Road, Aurora, OH 44202 · For profit - Corporation · 98 certified beds · (330) 562-6171 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (330) 562-6171 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Abuse/neglect citation on record (F0602) — cited Jul 2024Resident-funds citation (F0569)1 actual-harm citation
Insights

This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.

In its favor
  • a middle-of-the-pack inspection score (3/5)
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
  • lower-than-typical staff turnover (26% vs 45% nationally) — better care continuity
Worth asking about
  • it has an abuse, neglect, or exploitation citation (F0602), cited Jul 2024
  • it has a citation for mishandling residents’ money or property (F0569)
  • it has 1 actual-harm citation
  • a high number of inspection citations overall (16) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
  • its facility-reported quality-measure score sits well above its independent inspection score

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

4/5
CMS overall
4 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 3 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 3 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 5 of 5

Worth a closer look. This home's quality-measure rating runs 2 stars above its independent health-inspection score. The inspection is done by state surveyors; the quality-measure score leans on data the facility reports about itself — so a gap this large is worth reading the inspection record for.

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
★★★ 3/5 CMS · Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
55 N Chillicothe Rd Ste 100 · (330) 954-7210 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
18855 N Market Place Dr Aurora
Grocery
7235 Market Place Dr · (330) 562-6265 · Call to confirm hours
Park
10200 Regatta Trl · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 5 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 5 of 5
Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital 4 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating improved from 3 to 4 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating4★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased3.5%5.3%15.4%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight4.2%6.2%5.4%better
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder0.3%0.2%0.9%worse than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection0.0%0.4%2.0%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms5.2%30.1%6.5%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.1%0.1%better
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury5.7%3.2%3.3%worse
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened5.4%6.1%16.1%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication19.6%25.5%18.9%typical
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine98.6%94.5%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers4.0%3.4%4.7%better
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control9.4%21.4%21.2%better
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table4.7%8.8%17.1%better
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication0.2%1.2%1.4%better
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine92.1%75.6%79.4%better
Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission31.7%24.9%22.6%worse
Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit14.2%12.9%12.0%worse
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days1.561.731.67typical
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days1.591.801.80better

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

62.4% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — CMS rates that better than the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 329 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

62.4%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
11.1%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
60.7%U.S. median 56.6%
Met the expected recovery
0.61U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.38hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.18hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.06hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Met the expected recovery: 60.7% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 173 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.61 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 89% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 14% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF62.4%CMS range 56.4–66.751.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024better than U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF11.1%CMS range 8.5–14.010.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge60.7%56.6%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge50.9%52.8%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge59.0%50.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified100.0%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting98.2%100.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay0.5%0.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened1.9%1.9%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization4.8%CMS range 3.3–7.67.1%Oct 2023–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs0.891.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.46
RN hours/ resident / day
1.10
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.76
Aide hours/ resident / day
4.32
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.36
RN hoursweekends
25.9%
Total nursing turnover
11.1%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 98 beds and averages 91.5 residents a day — about 93% occupied, or roughly 6 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 4.32 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.46 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.76 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.81 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 4.53 on weekdays — 16% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.50 to 0.36 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 26% is below the national median of 45%. 2 administrators have left in the past year — frequent leadership churn is a warning sign families often miss.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

7
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2025-12-22)
3
at the previous standard inspection (2023-08-24)

Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

16 citations, most serious first. The 11 most serious are shown; the remaining 5 are one tap away and print in full.

  • Actual harm · G2024-12-09 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on closed record review, interview and review of facility policy, the facility failed to provide adequate assistance/supervision and develop and implement a comprehensive, individualized and effective fall prevention program for Resident #91 to prevent falls with injury and failed to ensure the resident was adequately and timely assessed post fall. Actual harm occurred beginning on 09/27/24 when Resident #91, who was at high risk for falls, had a history of multiple falls and was cognitively impaired with poor safety awareness, sustained a witnessed fall resulting in injury in the rehab gym when Physical Therapy Assistant (PTA) #432 walked away from Resident #91 during treatment to get equipment and the resident fell while being left unattended. On 09/30/24 (three days after the fall), Resident #91's wife alerted staff to bruising to the resident's rib area. An x-ray was ordered revealing multiple rib fractures. On 10/05/24 Resident #91 sustained a fall when he stood up from his wheelchair while being left…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-06-17 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolated
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review, interview, policy review, the facility failed to ensure medications were administered as ordered for Resident #195. This affected one (Resident #195) of three residents reviewed for quality of care. The facility census was 88.Findings include: Review of the closed medical record revealed Resident #195 was admitted on [DATE] with diagnoses including atrial fibrillation, coronary artery disease, type II diabetes mellitus, urinary retention requiring an indwelling urinary catheter, and protein-calorie malnutrition.Record review of the resident's care plan revealed care plans initiated on 06/30/25 addressed Resident #195's activities of daily living, nutrition, urinary catheter, fall prevention, cardiovascular status, and chronic medical conditions. The care plan included interventions to monitor changes in condition, notify the physician of changes in condition, administer medications as ordered, obtain laboratory studies as ordered, and provide Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy, and…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-06-17 · tag F0755 — failed to provide safe pharmacy services — isolated
    Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review, staff interview, and review of facility policies, the facility failed to administer physician ordered medications as prescribed for one resident (Resident #194) of three reviewed for medication administration. The facility did not ensure that admission medications ordered for the evening of 12/18/25 were administered as required, resulting in a delay in treatment for Resident #194. This affected one (Resident #194) of three residents reviewed for medication administration. The facility census was 88.Findings include: Review of Resident #194's closed medical record revealed the resident was admitted to the facility on [DATE] from an Acute Care Hospital Rehabilitation following spinal reconstruction surgery. Pertinent diagnoses included post-laminectomy syndrome, rheumatoid arthritis, urinary retention, urinary tract infection, hypothyroidism, hypertension, asthma, depression, and chronic pain requiring ongoing medication management.Review of the admission Minimum Data Set (MDS) 3.0…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Fcited before2025-12-22 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespread
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, review of the kitchen cleaning logs, interviews and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure the kitchen was maintained in a clean sanitary manner. The facility also failed to ensure the unit refrigerators for resident use were maintained as required. This had the potential to affect all 87 residents who received meals from the facility kitchen. The facility indicated there were no residents who received nothing by mouth. The facility census was 87.Findings include:1. Initial kitchen tour on 12/15/25 at 8:45 A.M. with Dietary Manager (DM) #700 revealed the following concerns:A. In the walk-in refrigerator there was:-a metal container of leftover egg salad with a use by date of 12/10/25-a metal container of leftover cranberry sauce with a use by date of 11/10/25-a metal container of leftover pumpkin puree with a use by date of 11/24/25-a Ziploc bag of leftover sliced turkey lunchmeat with a use by date of 12/12/25B. No thermometer was found in the walk-in freezerC. Scoops were located inside both the flour and sugar rolling bin carts sitting…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2025-12-22 · tag F0814 — failed to dispose of garbage properly — widespread
    Dispose of garbage and refuse properly.
    What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing

    Based on observation, staff interview and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure the dumpster/refuse area was maintained in a clean and sanitary condition. This had the potential to affect all residents residing in the facility. The facility census was 87.Findings include:Observation during the initial kitchen tour completed on 12/15/25 at 9:16 A.M. with Dietary Manager (DM) #700 revealed the dumpster lid was open, the dumpster was overflowing, and there were four bags of garbage on the ground surrounding the dumpster. Interview at the time of the observation with DM #700 confirmed the dumpster was supposed to emptied daily, was not covered, and garbage bags should not have been lying on the ground.Review of the undated facility policy called; Sanitation Policy under the section waste disposal and pest control stated trash must be removed frequently but did not specify any specifics as to the frequency trash was to be taken out or how often the dumpster would be emptied.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2025-12-22 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — pattern
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and facility policy review, the facility failed to maintain clean medication storage in the North and South medication carts. This affected 50 residents (Residents #01, #04, #05, #07, #09, #11, #13, #17, #18, #20, #22, #23, #27, #29, #32, #35, #37, #38, #40, #42, #43, #45, #46, #47, #48, #49, #51, #52, #53, #54, #59, #63, #64, #68, #69, #70, #74, #76, #78, #79, #80, #81, #82, #83, #85, #86, #87, #88, #99, #100) out of 50 residents on the North and South medication carts, and had the potential to affect all 87 residents residing in the facility.Findings include:Observation on 12/16/25 at 7:55 A.M. of the North medication cart with Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) #720 revealed 18 unidentified pills on the bottom of the first and second drawers collectively, and powdered pill residue along the bottom and corners of the first and second medication cart drawers. Interview on 12/16/25 at 8:02 A.M. with LPN #720 for the North medication cart verified the number of loose medications, and the pill residue in the first and second medication cart…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-12-22 · tag F0685 — isolated
    Assist a resident in gaining access to vision and hearing services.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review, observations, resident interview, staff interview, and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure assistive hearing devices were in place to maintain hearing abilities. This affected one resident (#20) of one resident reviewed for assistive devices. The facility census was 87.Findings include: Review of the medical record for Resident #20 revealed she was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses including paroxysmal atrial fibrillation, gastro-esophageal reflux disease without esophagitis, and chronic kidney disease.Review of the physician orders dated 06/01/25 revealed an order to place Resident #20's bilateral hearing aids in ears and lock hearing aids in medication cart as needed per request.Review of the care plan dated 09/16/25 revealed Resident #20 had potential for impaired communication and/or disorientation related to hard of hearing and wearing bilateral hearing aids. Interventions included assistance with the use of hearing aids as needed and place bilateral…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-12-22 · tag F0695 — failed to provide proper breathing / tracheostomy care — isolated
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review, observation, interview and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure the proper delivery of oxygen and accurately document its administration according to the physician orders and the resident's comprehensive care plans. This affected two residents (Resident #01 and Resident #17) out of four residents reviewed for oxygen/respiratory therapy. This had the potential to affect 15 additional residents (Residents #06, #07, #08, #22, #25, #37, #43, #49, #52, #53, #56, #62, #69, #80, and #82) with orders for oxygen. The facility census was 87.Findings include:1. Resident #01 was admitted on [DATE] with diagnoses of chronic diastolic congestive heart failure, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), shortness of breath (SOB), and anemia. Review of the comprehensive care plan dated 08/29/25 for altered respiratory status related to a diagnosis of COPD, and SOB when lying flat at times. Intervention dated 10/02/25 included oxygen at two liters per minute via nasal cannula (a…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-12-22 · tag F0842 — failed to keep accurate, complete medical records — isolated
    Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review, interview, observation, and review of the facility policy, the facility failed to ensure medical records contained accurate documentation. This affected three (Residents #1, #17, and #45) out of 22 residents for accuracy of medical records. The facility census was 87.Findings include:1. Review of the medical record for Resident #45 revealed an admission date of 06/01/23 with diagnoses including paranoid schizophrenia, anxiety disorder and wounds to his left medial ankle and heel. Review of the quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE] revealed Resident #45 had intact cognition and had one vascular wound. Review of the November 2025 and December 2025 Physician Orders revealed Resident #45 had the following orders: an order dated 09/20/25 to irrigate his left medial ankle with normal saline and apply anacept gel (a clear antimicrobial gel that kills bacteria and assists with debridement) to the wound. The order to his left medial ankle was discontinued and changed on 12/05/25…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-12-22 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on record review, observation, interview, review of Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) guidelines and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure droplet infection control precautions (infection control measures to stop germs spreading by respiratory droplets from coughing, sneezing and/or talking that travel short distances about three to six feet) were followed for Resident #82. This affected one (Resident #82) of one resident with a physician order for droplet precautions. The facility census was 87.Findings include:Review of the medical record for Resident #82 revealed an admission date of 11/22/25 with diagnoses including chronic respiratory failure and hypoxia, COVID-19, chronic congestive heart failure, and obstructive sleep apnea. Review of the nursing note dated 12/11/25 at 10:42 A.M. and completed by Registered Nurse (RN)/ Minimum Data Set (MDS) #812 revealed Resident #82 tested positive for COVID-19 and was on droplet precautions. Review of the physician order dated 12/11/25 revealed Resident #82 had a physician order for droplet precaution…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-07-15 · tag F0602 — failed to protect residents from theft of their belongings — isolated
    Protect each resident from the wrongful use of the resident's belongings or money.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY THE FOLLOWING DEFICIENCY REPRESENTS AN INCIDENT OF PAST NON-COMPLIANCE THAT WAS SUBSEQUENTLY CORRECTED PRIOR TO THIS SURVEY. Based on staff interviews, resident interview, review of the facility self-reported incident (SRI), review of the facility investigation, and facility policy and procedure review, the facility failed to ensure misappropriation did not occur for Resident #50. This affected one resident (#50) of four residents reviewed for misappropriation. The facility census was 92. Findings include: Review of the medical record for Resident #50 revealed an admission date of 06/04/24. Diagnoses included major depressive disorder, chronic congestive heart failure, and age-related osteoporosis. Review of the admission Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE] revealed Resident #50 had intact cognition, required partial/moderate assistance from staff for transfers, and used a walker for ambulation. Review of the self-reported incident (SRI) tracking number 248730 dated 06/17/24 revealed Resident #50's…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Past Non-Compliance
Show the remaining 5 citations
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2023-08-24 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — pattern
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and facility policy review the facility failed to securely store medications. This had the potential to affect the four independently ambulatory residents (#59, #53, #24, and #48) in non-secured units. The facility census was 90. Findings include: On entry into the facility on [DATE] at 8:00 A.M., the surveyor observed a large, full paper bag on a table in the unmonitored breezeway inside the unlocked main entrance. The bag was stapled shut and labeled 'return to pharmacy.' Observation on 08/21/23 at 8:30 A.M. alongside the interim Director of Nursing revealed the bag contained 43 medication cards and one medication bottle. All of these items contained at least one remaining pill. Interview with the Interim Director of Nursing on 08/21/23 at 8:39 A.M. confirmed the above observations. She confirmed there was no electronic monitoring of the entryway and that medications should be in locked storage when not in use. Review of the facility medication storage policy, dated 04/01/2013,…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2023-08-24 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — pattern
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and facility policy review the facility failed to maintain a clean and sanitary kitchen. This had the potential to affect all residents except one resident (#51), who received nothing by mouth. The facility census was 90. Findings include: Observations on 08/21/23 from 9:22 A.M. through 9:41 A.M., with Dietary Manager (DM) #540 revealed underneath a prep table in area where the juice machine was located was a bulk container of sugar with a scoop stored inside. There was also sticky food splatter observed on the clear lid and the white portion under the lid of the container. Next to the sugar container was bulk flour container that had a cup stored inside of it. The clear lid also had sticky food splatter. Observed in the next room over was a rack that the juice containers were stored, underneath the rack the floor was dirty, sticky, and also with a moderate amount of black specks in the sticky spillage. Observation of the steam table revealed streaks of grease that were solidified drippings down the front of it under the white ledge/table portion,…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-08-24 · tag F0569 — isolated
    Notify each resident of certain balances and convey resident funds upon discharge, eviction, or death.
    What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and staff interview the facility failed to ensure resident funds were conveyed timely upon discharge from the facility. This affected one resident (#337) of one resident reviewed for conveyance of funds. The facility census was 90. Findings include: Review of the closed medical record for Resident #337 revealed an admission date of 05/26/22 and date of death of [DATE]. Review of the letter from Collections Enforcement Section of the Attorney General's office dated 01/06/23 revealed resident funds for Resident #337 were not dispersed within 30 days of death. Review of the business records for Resident #337 revealed a check for $610.24 was dispersed to the treasurer of the state dated 01/06/23 to close Resident #337's account. Interview on 08/24/23 at 11:45 A.M. with Accounting #592 revealed he was unsure why the funds for Resident #337 were not dispersed within 30 days following her death.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2019-12-12 · tag F0679 — failed to provide activities — isolated
    Provide activities to meet all resident's needs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review the facility failed to provide Resident #42 with activities that met his preferences and psychosocial needs. This affected one resident (Resident #42) out of 27 residents interviewed regarding activities. Findings include: Medical record review revealed Resident #42 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses including major depressive disorder and dementia without behavioral disturbances. Review of the annual Minimum Data Set (MDS) 3.0 assessment dated [DATE] revealed Resident #42 was cognitively intact and independent in daily decision making, and it was very important to Resident #42 to do activities with groups of people, to participate in favorite activities, and to go outside to get fresh air when the weather permitted. Review of the activity assessment dated [DATE] indicated Resident #42's current activity pursuits/interests included shopping and outdoors. It was additionally noted he enjoyed visiting his wife, Bingo, football pool and shopping at the local…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2019-12-12 · tag F0804 — failed to serve food at safe, palatable temperature — isolated
    Ensure food and drink is palatable, attractive, and at a safe and appetizing temperature.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure room trays were served at appetizing temperatures. This affected three of three residents (Residents #46, #76, and #35) who complained of food temperatures and ate meals in their rooms on the North Unit. Findings include: Interviews on the North unit on 12/09/19 from 9:56 A.M. through 2:57 P.M. with Residents #46, #76, and #35 revealed concerns related to receiving hot foods served at cold temperatures. Observation of tray line on the North unit on 12/10/19 at 11:45 A.M. with Foodservice Worker (FW) #200 revealed the following food temperatures: corn-167 degrees Fahrenheit (F), spinach 177 degrees F, mechanical chicken 187 degrees F, chicken 165 degrees F, cream of chicken 168 degrees F, salmon 177 degrees F. FW #200 stated room trays were served room by room after the dining room was served. A test tray was completed on 12/10/19 at 12:38 P.M. after last room tray was served with FW #200. The chicken was 136 degrees F and tasted hot, palatable, and was easy to chew. The spinach was 114 degrees F and…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleSince
NORTON BROS. HOLDING COMPANYOrganizationDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/21/2025
BAKER, AARON CIndividualINDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; CORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2016
NORTON, CHRISTOPHER GIndividualINDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; CORPORATE OFFICER; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2016
NORTON, ROBERT JIndividualINDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; CORPORATE DIRECTOR; CORPORATE OFFICER; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2003
AM&K REALTY LLCOrganization5% OR GREATER MORTGAGE INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/21/2025

CMS files one row per role, so the 15 rows in the source record cover these 5 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted. The source lists no ownership percentage for any of them — PECOS records a share only for equity interests, not for board or management roles.

2 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$16.4M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
+4.0%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
$2.6M
Related-party expense16% of expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 5%Medicare 7%Other / private 88%

This home reported $2.6M paid to related parties — landlords or management companies under common ownership — equal to about 16% of its total expenses. Money routed to affiliated companies can leave a home’s own books looking lean while owners still profit; it is the mechanism regulators watch most closely in private-equity and REIT deals.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$236per resident / day
operating cost
$7,164per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$245per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in OH

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Ohio Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Ohio
$9,186/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$10,389/mo
Nursing home (private)
$6,103/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 365072. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-12-22, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next