Mason Health Care Center
5640 Cox-Smith Road, Mason, OH 45040 · For profit - Partnership · 53 certified beds · (513) 398-2881 Medicare & Medicaid certified
This home’s record is mixed — some reassuring signs, some worth asking about.
- a middle-of-the-pack inspection score (3/5)
- no federal fines or payment denials on record
- a high number of inspection citations overall (16) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
- its payroll-based staffing rating is low (2/5)
- nursing-staff turnover (62%) runs well above the national median (45%)
- its last standard health inspection was over 3 years ago — the star rating may not reflect current conditions
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 3 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 2 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 3 of 5 |
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 3 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 4 of 5 |
| Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital | 2 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating held steady at 3 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 9.8% | 5.3% | 15.4% | worse than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 5.3% | 6.2% | 5.4% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 0.0% | 0.2% | 0.9% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 0.0% | 0.4% | 2.0% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 10.7% | 30.1% | 6.5% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.1% | 0.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 5.8% | 3.2% | 3.3% | worse |
| Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened | 6.0% | 6.1% | 16.1% | typical for the state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 19.1% | 25.5% | 18.9% | typical |
| Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 100.0% | 94.5% | 95.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 1.3% | 3.4% | 4.7% | better |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 16.1% | 21.4% | 21.2% | better |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 12.2% | 8.8% | 17.1% | better |
| Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication | 0.0% | 1.2% | 1.4% | better |
| Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 97.1% | 75.6% | 79.4% | better |
| Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission | 32.5% | 24.9% | 22.6% | worse |
| Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit | 11.7% | 12.9% | 12.0% | typical |
‡ On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
45.6% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 43 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.
Met the expected recovery: 44.0% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 25 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.
Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.45 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 76% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.
Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 6% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | 45.6%CMS range 33.0–61.8 | 51.5% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | 11.1%CMS range 7.6–16.6 | 10.7% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | 44.0% | 56.6% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | 44.0% | 52.8% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | 36.0% | 50.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | 97.0% | 98.7% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | 0.0% | 0.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | 3.0% | 1.9% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | 7.1%CMS range 3.1–15.2 | 7.1% | Oct 2023–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | 1.10 | 1.02 | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 53 beds and averages 39.4 residents a day — about 74% occupied, or roughly 14 beds typically open. It usually has some room. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.95 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.70 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.23 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.42 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 4.17 on weekdays — 18% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.82 to 0.39 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 62% is well above the national median of 45%.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
This trend is not current. The most recent of these two inspections was over 3 years ago; the arrow describes what inspectors found then, not what the home is like now.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
16 citations, most serious first. The 10 most serious are shown; the remaining 6 are one tap away and print in full.
- Potential for harm · F2025-05-12 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — widespreadEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, staff interview, and review of the facility policy, the facility failed to ensure medications in the medication cart were labeled and stored in proper containers. This affected all of the residents residing in the facility. The facility census was 38 residents. Findings include: Observation on 05/12/25 at 9:00 A.M of the nurse two medication cart on the skilled care hallway revealed there were 19 loose pills of various shapes and colors in the bottom of the medication cart. Interview on 05/12/25 at 9:00 A.M. with Registered Nurse (RN) #221 confirmed there were 19 loose pills of various shapes and colors in the bottom of the nurse two medication cart on the skilled care hallway. RN #221 confirmed she was not able to identify the 19 pills nor to whom the 19 pills were prescribed. Observation on 05/12/25 at 9:26 A.M of the nurse two medication cart on the long-term care hallway revealed there were 92 loose pills of various shapes and colors in the bottom of the medication cart. Interview on 05/12/25 at 9:26 A.M with RN #221 confirmed there were 92 loose pills of…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-05-12 · tag F0640 — isolatedEncode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on medical record review and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessments were completed and transmitted within 14 days. This affected two (Residents #401 and #402) of six residents reviewed for assessments. The facility census was 38 residents. Findings include: 1. Review of the medical record for Resident #401 revealed an admission date of 03/29/25 with diagnoses including cellulitis of the left finger, asthma, and type two diabetes mellitus and a discharged from the facility on 04/21/25. Review of the admission Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment for Resident #401 dated 04/04/25 revealed the resident was cognitively intact and required staff assistance with activities of daily living (ADLs.) Review of the discharge return anticipated (DRA) MDS assessment for Resident #401 dated 04/19/25 revealed the MDS was in progress and had not been transmitted. Review of the progress note for Resident #401 dated 04/19/25 timed at 11:42 A.M. revealed the resident's representative…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · F2023-06-01 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — widespreadProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record reviews, staff interviews, observations and policy reviews, the facility failed to ensure infection control logs were completed for tracking trends and patterns, complete tuberculous testing for newly hired employees, develop and follow a Legionella water management policy, and ensure hand sanitation was followed during resident care. This had the potential to affect all 31 residents. The facility census was 31. Findings include: 1. Review of the Infection Control Logs dated January, February, and April 2023 revealed the logs lacked tracking of the disease organism isolation type identification, and culture dates. For months January, March and April 2023, there was no organism mapping of the organism location in the facility. March 2023 logs revealed there were no date of infections, signs and symptoms appeared, date of culture, or isolation type. Review of the Infection Control Logs revealed no entries of infections for May 2023. Interview on 06/01/23 at 1:20 P.M., with the Director of Nursing…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · F2023-06-01 · tag F0881 — failed to use antibiotics responsibly — widespreadImplement a program that monitors antibiotic use.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on record reviews, staff interview, and policy review, the facility failed to monitor antibiotic use appropriately as part of an antibiotic stewardship plan. This had the potential to affect all 31 residents. The facility census was 31. Findings include: Review of documents dated January, February, March, April, and May 2023, provided by the Director of Nursing, (DON), revealed there was no documentation and analysis of appropriate indications for the use of antibiotics. Interview on 06/01/23 at 1:20 P.M., the Director of Nursing, (DON) stated the facility uses the McGeer monitoring criteria for the antibiotic stewardship program. The DON had no evidence of how the facility was monitoring antibiotic medications using the McGeer criteria. The DON verified there was no documentation of an antibiotic stewardship program. Review of the undated policy titled, Antibiotic Stewardship -Orders for Antibiotics, revealed antibiotics will be prescribed and administered to residents under the guidance of facility's antibiotic stewardship program, including appropriate indications for use.…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2023-06-01 · tag F0657 — failed to keep the care plan current — patternDevelop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on medical record review, resident interview, staff interview, and policy review, the facility failed to ensure care conferences were held on a regular basis. This affected four (#01, #07, #12, and #23) of five residents reviewed for care conferences. The facility census was 31. Findings include: 1. Review of the medical record of Resident #01 revealed an admission [DATE]. Diagnoses included cerebral palsy, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, dementia without behavioral disturbance, anxiety, and depression. Review of the quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE], revealed the resident had intact cognition. The resident required supervision for all activities of daily living (ADLs). Interview on 05/30/23 at 11:52 A.M., with Resident #01 stated she could not recall having any recent care conferences. Review of the medical record revealed the most recent care conference was held 07/19/22. Interview on 06/01/23 at 1:24 P.M., with Social Service (SS) #280 verified Resident #01's last care…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-06-01 · tag F0623 — isolatedProvide timely notification to the resident, and if applicable to the resident representative and ombudsman, before transfer or discharge, including appeal rights.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on medical record review and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure the Ombudsman was notified of hospital transfers. This impacted one (#25) of one resident reviewed for hospitalization. The facility census was 31. Findings include: Review of the medical record of Resident #25 revealed an admission date of 02/23/23. The resident transferred to the hospital on [DATE], readmitted on [DATE], transferred to the hospital on [DATE], readmitted [DATE], transferred to the hospital on [DATE], readmitted [DATE], and transferred to the hospital on [DATE], and readmitted on [DATE]. Diagnoses included cerebral infarction, tracheostomy status, gastrostomy status, chronic respiratory failure with hypoxia, contractures of left hand, right elbow, right hand, dysphagia, acute kidney failure, severe sepsis with septic shock, pneumonia, essential hypertension, hyperlipidemia, and unspecified disorder of thyroid. Review of the medical record revealed no evidence of the Ombudsman being notified of Resident #25's…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-06-01 · tag F0624 — isolatedPrepare residents for a safe transfer or discharge from the nursing home.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on medical record review and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure a discharge summary was completed upon discharge from the facility. This affected one (#28) of two residents reviewed for discharge. The facility for census was 31. Findings include: Review of the medical record of Resident #28 revealed an admission date of 02/28/23. The resident transferred to another skilled nursing facility on 03/30/23. Diagnoses included malignant neoplasm of prostate, gout, chronic viral hepatitis C, obstructive sleep apnea, type 2 diabetes mellitus, morbid obesity, essential hypertension, gastro-esophageal reflux disease, and hypothyroidism. Review of the comprehensive minimum data set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE] revealed the resident had intact cognition. Review of the Multidisciplinary Discharge summary dated [DATE] revealed the documentation was incomplete. Social Services and Nursing completed their sections on 03/28/23 and 03/30/23, respectively. Therapy, dietary, and activity sections were not…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-06-01 · tag F0677 — failed to help fully-dependent residents with daily care — isolatedProvide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review, observation, resident interview, and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure a resident who required assistance was provided assistance with hair washing. This affected one (#7) of 13 residents reviewed for activities of daily living (ADLs). The facility census was 31. Findings include: Review of the medical record for Resident #7 revealed an admission date of 04/19/22, with diagnoses including cerebral infarction, Diabetes Mellitus (DM), lymphedema, major depressive disorder, anemia, and venous insufficiency. Review of the Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment for Resident #7 dated 05/11/23 revealed resident was cognitively intact and required extensive assistance of staff with ADLs. Review of the care plan for Resident #7 dated 06/16/22 revealed resident was resistive to care related to preference of taking bed baths. Residents would refuse showers and state she had a bad experience at another nursing facility with her showers. Interventions included the following: allow resident to…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-06-01 · tag F0686 — failed to prevent and treat pressure sores (bedsores) — isolatedProvide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on medical record review and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure a pressure ulcer was adequately monitored. This affected one (#25) of one resident reviewed for pressure ulcers. The facility census was 31. Findings include: Review of the medical record of Resident #25 revealed an admission date of 02/23/23. The resident transferred to the hospital on [DATE], readmitted on [DATE], transferred to the hospital on [DATE], readmitted [DATE], transferred to the hospital on [DATE], readmitted [DATE], and transferred to the hospital on [DATE], and readmitted on [DATE]. Diagnoses included cerebral infarction, tracheostomy status, gastrostomy status, chronic respiratory failure with hypoxia, contractures of left hand, right elbow, right hand, dysphagia, acute kidney failure, severe sepsis with septic shock, pneumonia, essential hypertension, hyperlipidemia, and unspecified disorder of thyroid. Review of the quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE] revealed the resident's cognition could…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-06-01 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolatedEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review, observation, staff interview, and review of policy, the facility failed to ensure fall prevention/management interventions were in place for a resident assessed at risk for falls. This affected two (#9 and #24) of three residents reviewed for accidents. The facility census was 31. Findings include: 1. Review of the medical record for Resident #9 revealed an admission date of 04/13/23, with diagnoses including: cerebral infarction, diabetes mellitus (DM), alcoholic cirrhosis of the liver, traumatic subarachnoid hemorrhage, aphasia, dysphagia, hypertension (HTN), hyperlipidemia, spinal stenosis, and major depressive disorder. Review of the Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment for Resident #9 dated 04/20/23 revealed resident was cognitively impaired and required extensive assistance of one staff with bed mobility and ambulation and extensive assistance of two staff with transfers. Review of the fall risk assessment for Resident #9 dated 04/14/23 revealed resident was at risk for falls. Review…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
Show the remaining 6 citations
- Potential for harm · D2023-06-01 · tag F0693 — failed to provide proper feeding-tube care — isolatedEnsure that feeding tubes are not used unless there is a medical reason and the resident agrees; and provide appropriate care for a resident with a feeding tube.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on record review, observation, staff interview, and review of policy, the facility failed to ensure gastrostomy tubes (g-tubes) ands supplies were maintained in a sanitary manner. This had the potential to affect one (#24) of one residents reviewed for tube feedings. The facility identified three residents with g-tubes. The facility census was 31. Findings include: Review of the medical record for Resident #24 revealed an admission date of 10/28/22, with diagnoses including: multiple sclerosis (MS), metabolic encephalopathy, chronic respiratory failure with hypoxia, and quadriplegia. Review of the Minimum Data Set (MDS) for Resident #24 dated 05/18/23 revealed resident was cognitively impaired and required extensive assistance of one staff with eating. Review of the care plan for Resident #24 dated 12/19/22 revealed resident required tube feeding related to dysphagia and aspiration risk. Resident may have pureed foods for pleasure, and tube feed remains primary source of nutrition. Interventions included the following: check for tube placement and gastric contents/residual…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-06-01 · tag F0755 — failed to provide safe pharmacy services — isolatedProvide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review, resident interview, staff interview, and review of policy, the facility failed to ensure staff administered medications as ordered by the physician. This affected three (#5, #7, and #21) of six residents reviewed for medications. The census was 31 residents. Findings include: 1. Review of the medical record for Resident #7 revealed an admission date of 04/19/22, with diagnoses including: cerebral infarction, diabetes mellitus (DM), lymphedema, major depressive disorder, anemia, and venous insufficiency. Review of the Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment for Resident #7 dated 05/11/23 revealed resident was cognitively intact and required extensive assistance of staff with ADLs. Review of eye doctor visit note for Resident #7 dated 11/10/22 revealed the resident had primary glaucoma to both eyes. The eye doctor made a recommendation for the resident to add brimonidine eye drops to her treatment regime. Review of the May 2023 monthly physician orders for Resident #7 revealed an order dated…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-06-01 · tag F0756 — failed to review each resident's drug regimen — isolatedEnsure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on medical record review and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure pharmacy recommendations were addressed in a timely manner. This affected two (#05 and #13) of five residents reviewed for unnecessary medications. The facility census was 31. Findings include: 1. Review of the medical record of Resident #13 revealed an admission date of 04/14/22. Diagnoses included cerebral infarction, hemiplegia and hemiparesis, frontal temporal neurocognitive disorder, type 2 diabetes mellitus, dysphagia, major depressive disorder, attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder, post-traumatic stress disorder, dementia without behavioral disturbance, and hypothyroidism. Review of the annual Minumum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE] revealed the resident had moderately impaired cognition. The resident required extensive assistance of one staff for bed mobility, limited assist of one staff for transfers, toileting, and ambulation, and supervision for eating. Review of a list titled, Consultant Pharmacist's…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-06-01 · tag F0758 — failed to limit and justify psychotropic drugs — isolatedImplement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review, staff interview, and review of policy, the facility failed to ensure physician's orders for as needed anti-anxiety medications included a stop date or duration for the order. This affected two (#9 and #18) of six residents reviewed for medications. The facility census was 31. Findings include: 1. Review of the medical record for Resident #9 revealed an admission date of 04/13/23 with diagnoses including cerebral infarction, diabetes mellitus, alcoholic cirrhosis of the liver, traumatic subarachnoid hemorrhage, aphasia, dysphagia, hypertension, and major depressive disorder. Review of the Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment for Resident #9 dated 04/20/23 revealed resident was cognitively impaired and required extensive assistance of one staff member with activities of daily living (ADLs.) Review of the May 2023 monthly physician orders for Resident #9 revealed orders dated 05/18/23 for resident to receive Ativan tablets 1 milligram (mg) or 2 mg every two hours as needed for anxiety. There…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2023-06-01 · tag F0791 — failed to provide routine dental services — isolatedProvide or obtain dental services for each resident.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review, observation, resident interview, and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure residents were examined by a dentist. This affected one (#7) of 13 residents sampled. The facility census was 31. Findings include: Review of the medical record for Resident #7 revealed an admission date of 04/19/22 with diagnoses including cerebral infarction, diabetes mellitus, lymphedema, major depressive disorder, anemia, and venous insufficiency. Review of the Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment for Resident #7 dated 05/11/23 revealed resident was cognitively intact and required extensive assistance of staff with activities of daily living (ADL). Review of the care plan for Resident #7 dated 07/13/22 revealed resident had an ADL self-care performance deficit and required assistance with ADLs related to activity intolerance, decreased mobility, impaired balance, and incontinence. Interventions included staff should assist residents with oral hygiene. The care plan did not include documentation regarding…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- No harm found · C2023-06-01 · tag F0730 — widespreadObserve each nurse aide's job performance and give regular training.
What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing
Based on record review and staff interview, the facility failed to complete annual employee evaluations for State Tested Nurse Aides (STNA) #180 and #155. This had the potential to affect all 31 residents in the facility. The facility census was 31. Findings include: Record review of employee files for STNA #180 and #155 revealed the STNAs had dates of hire greater than one year. There were no annual evaluations for STNA #180 for the years 2021, and 2022. There were no annual evaluations for STNA #155 for the years 2021, 2022 and 2023. Interview on 05/31/23 at 12:06 P.M., with Scheduler #270 verified STNA #180 should have had an annual performance evaluation for the years 2021 and 2022 and STNA #155 should have had an annual performance evaluation for the years 2021, 2022 and 2023. Scheduler #270 also verified the annual performance evaluations for all STNA, who had been hired greater than a year, had not been completed for the years 2021, 2022 and those evaluations due in 2023.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
No federal fines in the current CMS record.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Share | Since |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NUSSBAUM, MATTISYAHU | Individual | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; CORPORATE DIRECTOR; CORPORATE OFFICER | 100% | since 12/01/2020 |
| DAASCH, CARLA | Individual | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE | — | since 12/01/2020 |
CMS files one row per role, so the 4 rows in the source record cover these 2 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.
Follow the money — this home’s finances
Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.
This home reported $268K paid to related parties (affiliated landlords or management companies) in its most recent cost report.
Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.
Cost & finances
Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.
What families pay in OH
This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Ohio Medicaid page.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 366216. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2023-06-01, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.