Wayside Farm INC
4557 Quick Rd, Peninsula, OH 44264 · For profit - Corporation · 95 certified beds · (330) 923-7828 Medicare & Medicaid certified
This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.
- it has an abuse, neglect, or exploitation citation (F0600), cited Sep 2023
- it has citations for mishandling residents’ money or property (F0567, F0569)
- inspectors cited 1 immediate-jeopardy problem — the most serious level
- a high number of inspection citations overall (19) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
- the CMS record shows $165,448 in federal fines (most recent 2024-08-19)
- its facility-reported quality-measure score sits well above its independent inspection score
- its independent health-inspection rating is low (2/5)
- its payroll-based staffing rating is low (2/5)
- its last standard health inspection was over 2 years ago — the star rating may not reflect current conditions
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 2 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 2 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 4 of 5 |
Worth a closer look. This home's quality-measure rating runs 2 stars above its independent health-inspection score. The inspection is done by state surveyors; the quality-measure score leans on data the facility reports about itself — so a gap this large is worth reading the inspection record for.
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 4 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 4 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating held steady at 2 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 8.1% | 5.3% | 15.4% | worse than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 4.5% | 6.2% | 5.4% | better |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 0.3% | 0.2% | 0.9% | worse than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 0.0% | 0.4% | 2.0% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 19.7% | 30.1% | 6.5% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.1% | 0.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 4.2% | 3.2% | 3.3% | worse |
| Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened | 10.0% | 6.1% | 16.1% | worse than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 24.4% | 25.5% | 18.9% | worse |
| Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 95.7% | 94.5% | 95.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 0.5% | 3.4% | 4.7% | better |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 11.6% | 21.4% | 21.2% | better |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 34.5% | 8.8% | 17.1% | worse |
‡ On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.19 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 19% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.
Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 5% of this home’s weekday level — it runs therapy on weekdays, with essentially none at the weekend. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | not reported — The data for this measure is missing or was not submitted. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | not reported — The data for this measure is missing or was not submitted. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | not reported — The data for this measure is missing or was not submitted. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | not reported — The data for this measure is missing or was not submitted. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | not reported — The data for this measure is missing or was not submitted. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | not reported — The data for this measure is missing or was not submitted. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | not reported — The data for this measure is missing or was not submitted. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | not reported — The data for this measure is missing or was not submitted. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 95 beds and averages 89.6 residents a day — about 94% occupied, or roughly 5 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.04 hrs/resident/day is below the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.32 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 1.70 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 2.70 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.18 on weekdays — 15% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.42 to 0.08 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 45% is about the same as the national median of 45%.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
This trend is not current. The most recent of these two inspections was over 2 years ago; the arrow describes what inspectors found then, not what the home is like now.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
19 citations, most serious first. The 12 most serious are shown; the remaining 7 are one tap away and print in full.
- Immediate jeopardy · L2023-09-22 · tag F0600 — failed to protect residents from abuse and neglect — widespreadProtect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review, review of facility Self-Reported Incidents (SRIs), local police report review, review of the facility's Abuse policy and procedure and interviews, the facility failed to ensure Resident #28 was free from resident-to-resident physical abuse. This resulted in Immediate Jeopardy and actual harm beginning on 08/28/23 at 4:30 P.M., when Resident #37, who was cognitively intact and known to be verbally and physically aggressive, was observed by Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) #123 entering Resident #28's room, where he squeezed Resident #28's hands in a forceful manner. Resident #28, who was non-verbal, was heard screaming in pain, LPN #123 responded and removed Resident #37 from Resident #28's room. Resident #28 was assessed to have bilateral hand edema, bruising and pain. X-rays of Resident #28's hands revealed Resident #28 had a left (hand) fifth proximal phalanx (finger) fracture and fractures to the right hand second through fifth proximal phalanges (fingers). The resident was…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Actual harm · Gcited before2024-08-19 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolatedProvide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on medical record review, review of a fall incident report and related facility investigation, review of hospital documentation, interviews with staff and review of facility policy, the facility failed to provide timely and necessary medical intervention to Resident #41 following a fall with injury and severe pain. Actual harm occurred on 01/24/24 when Resident #41, who had moderate cognitive impairment, muscle weakness, and was known by the facility to be a safety risk for falls with injury, fell to the floor while ambulating in a common area, and was picked up off the floor by Speech Therapist (ST) #899 and walked back to his room prior to completion of a thorough nursing assessment by Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) #898. Upon assessment by LPN #898 on 01/24/24, Resident #41 was noted to have severe pain (seven out of 10 with 10 being the worst pain), a bruise to his left front thigh yet his physician was not notified. The resident began experiencing increased leg pain with facial grimacing with left leg…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-09-15 · tag F0692 — failed to prevent malnutrition and dehydration — isolatedProvide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on medical record review, staff interview, and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure nutritional orders were monitored and completed. This affected one (Resident #29) of three residents reviewed for nutritional status. The census was 88. Findings Include: Resident #29 was admitted to the facility on [DATE]. His diagnoses were schizoaffective disorder, dementia, hyperlipidemia, hypertension, tachycardia, osteoarthritis, seborrheic dermatitis, muscle weakness, dysphagia, and unsteadiness on feet. Review of his minimum data set (MDS) assessment, dated 06/26/25, revealed he was cognitively intact. Review of Resident #29's physician orders, starting date of 06/11/25, revealed the facility was to complete weekly weight checks. There was no end date listed. Review of Resident #29's weight documentation, dated 06/11/25 to 09/12/25, revealed the following weights were not taken on a weekly basis: 07/08/25 and 07/21/25. Also, there were no weights taken between 08/06/25 and 09/04/25. Review of…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-03-24 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolatedEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review, facility policy review and interview, the facility failed to ensure Resident #36's risk of elopement was properly and timely re-assessed, and failed to ensure comprehensive care planned interventions were updated and implemented to prevent Resident #36 from eloping from the facility. This affected one resident (#36) of three residents reviewed for wandering and elopement. The facility census was 92. Findings include: Review of Resident #36's medical record revealed an admission date of 04/25/24 with diagnoses including schizoaffective disorder, bipolar type, type two diabetes mellitus with unspecified complications, paranoid personality disorder and anxiety. Review of Resident #36's care plan dated 04/26/24 included Resident #36 was at risk of elopement due to new admission, history of wandering and elopement, exit seeking and disease process. Resident #36's risk of leaving the facility unattended would be decreased through the next review on 11/08/24. Interventions included…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2024-08-19 · tag F0567 — failed to protect residents' money held by the home — patternHonor the resident's right to manage his or her financial affairs.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on record review and staff interview the facility failed to ensure residents personal funds accounts with balances greater than 100 dollars were deposited into an interest-bearing account as required. This affected four (Residents #33, #47, #55, and #69) of five residents reviewed for personal funds. The facility census was 91. Findings Include: 1. Review of the statement for Resident #33 revealed month ending account balance of $154.15 for the month of May 2024, $141.15 for the month of June 2024 and $289.99 for the month of July 2024. No interest was noted credited to Resident #33's account during these three months. 2. Review of the statement for Resident #47 revealed month ending account balance of $1,285.30 for the month of May 2024, $1,327.30 for the month of June 2024 and $1,373.30 for the month of July 2024. No interest was noted credited to Resident #47's account during these three months. 3. Review of the statement for Resident #55 revealed month ending account balance of $11,990.95 for the month of May 2024, $10,802.20 for the month of June 2024 and $10,400.59 for…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2024-08-19 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — patternEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and review of the facility policy, the facility failed to ensure stock medications used for residents were not expired. This had the potential to affect 15 residents (Resident #57, #2, #65, #9, #79, #84, #74, #30, #45, #61, #342, #76, #49, #43, and #10) the facility identified as receiving stock medications out of 91 residents residing in the facility. Findings include: Observation on 08/06/24 at 11:54 A.M. with Unit Manager (UM) Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) #836 of the west hall medication stock room revealed a partially used bottle of ducosate sodium 250 milligrams (mg) with an expiration date of 06/2024. An additional bottle of ducosate sodium 250 mg with an open date of 05/05/23 expired on 06/2024. A bottle of aspirin 81 mg expired 07/2024. A bottle of cranberry tabs 450 mg expired 05/2024. A bottle of vitamin D 25 micrograms expired 02/2024. The expired medications were verified by UM LPN #836. Observation on 08/06/24 at 12:10 P.M. with UM LPN #836 of the north hall medication stock room revealed a bottle of magnesium oxide 400 mg expired…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2024-08-19 · tag F0805 — failed to prepare food in a form residents can eat — patternEnsure each resident receives and the facility provides food prepared in a form designed to meet individual needs.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and policy review, the facility failed to serve pureed foods at a smooth consistency for safe swallowing. This had the potential to affect nine residents (#10, #16, #18, #23, #27, #39, #45, #50, #62) the facility identified as receiving pureed diets of 91 residents who consumed meals from the facility's kitchen. No residents were identified as nothing by mouth (NPO). The facility census was 91. Findings include: Observation of puree preparation on 08/06/24 from 3:45 P.M. through 4:00 P.M. revealed [NAME] #881 pureed pepper steak. [NAME] #881 portioned a sample of the puree pepper steak into a souffle cup. A taste test of pureed pepper steak revealed there were intact pieces of the beef that was not smooth in consistency. A taste test on 08/06/24 at 4:00 P.M. with Dietary Manager (DM) #885 verified that the puree pepper steak was not a smooth consistency. DM #885 told [NAME] #881 to puree the pepper steak more. As [NAME] #881 was pureeing the pepper steak, the robot coupe (mechanical chopper) was making a noise. DM #885 stated that the bearings were…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-08-19 · tag F0569 — isolatedNotify each resident of certain balances and convey resident funds upon discharge, eviction, or death.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and staff interview the facility failed to ensure resident funds were conveyed timely upon resident discharge from the facility. This affected one (Resident #242) of five residents reviewed for resident funds. The facility census was 91. Findings Include: Resident #242 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] and expired on [DATE]. Review of the business records for Resident #242 revealed a check for $2,169.85 was dispersed to the Treasurer of Ohio State on [DATE]. Interview on [DATE] at 8:34 A.M. with Business Office Manager (BOM) #837 verified that Resident #242's funds were dispersed on [DATE] and Resident #242 expired on [DATE]. BOM #837 stated that he thought he had up to 90 days after the resident's death. BOM #837 stated that according to the Revised Ohio Code that the 90 days was because of an open application for release filed. BOM #837 could not provide documentation of any open application, and it was explained that the federal regulations are more stringent, and funds must be…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-08-19 · tag F0576 — isolatedEnsure residents have reasonable access to and privacy in their use of communication methods.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, record review, and review of the facility policy, the facility failed to ensure residents were provided a facility phone they could use timely and in a private area. This affected two residents (Resident #31 and #21) out of 20 residents reviewed for right to forms of communication with privacy. The facility census was 91. Findings include: 1. Record review for Resident #31 revealed an admission date of 05/01/24. Diagnosis included chronic obstructive pulmonary disease. Review of the Admissions Minimum Data Set (MDS) 3.0 assessment for Resident #31 dated 05/08/24 revealed Resident #31 was cognitively intact. Resident #31 had clear speech, was able to make self-understood and was able to understand others. Interview on 08/08/24 at 9:11 A.M. with Social Worker Designee (SWD) #803 and SWD Assistant #841 revealed if a resident wanted to make a phone call, and they did not have a personal cell phone, they would have to be put on a phone call waiting list to make a call which would be done at the nurses station. The residents that get on the list wait until…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-08-19 · tag F0580 — failed to tell family and doctor about changes — isolatedImmediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on medical record review, review of a fall incident report and related facility investigation, interviews with staff and review of facility policy, the facility failed to timely notify Resident #41's primary care physician of a fall. This affected one (Resident #41) of two residents reviewed for accidents/hazards. The facility census was 91. Findings include: Review of the medical record for Resident #41 revealed an admission date of 08/04/16 with diagnoses including schizophrenia, sarcoidosis, epilepsy, legal blindness, cachexia, muscle weakness, unspecified abnormalities of gait and balance and alcohol induced persisting dementia. A physician order dated 11/21/23 revealed Resident #41's primary physician was Medical Director #874. Review of the significant change Minimum Data Set (MDS) 3.0 assessment dated [DATE] for Resident #41 revealed the resident had severe cognitive impairment, no functional limitation in range of motion (ROM) of the lower extremities (hip, leg, ankle, foot), he used a walker and…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-08-19 · tag F0655 — isolatedCreate and put into place a plan for meeting the resident's most immediate needs within 48 hours of being admitted
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview, record review and facility policy review, the facility failed to complete a baseline care plan within 48 hours after admission as required. This affected one (Resident #342) of 20 residents reviewed for care plans. The facility census was 91. Findings include: Review of the medical record for Resident #342 revealed an admission date of 07/09/24. Diagnoses included but were not limited to schizoaffective disorder, generalized anxiety disorder, unspecified dementia, type II diabetes mellitus, chronic respiratory failure, and neuromuscular dysfunction of bladder. No evidence was found of a baseline care plan following admission. Review of the Minimum Data Set (MDS) 3.0 assessment dated [DATE] revealed Resident #342 had severe cognitive impairment, required maximum assistance of one for dressing and was dependent upon staff for toileting and transfers. Interview on 08/07/24 at 4:17 P.M. with the Director of Nursing confirmed she was unable to provide evidence of a baseline care plan or…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-08-19 · tag F0677 — failed to help fully-dependent residents with daily care — isolatedProvide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, record review and review of the facility policy, the facility failed to ensure Resident #82 received routine showers/bathing to meet his care needs. This affected one (Resident #82) of three residents reviewed for showers/bathing. The facility census was 91. Findings include: Record review for Resident #82 revealed an admission date of 07/27/21. Diagnoses included encephalopathy and adult failure to thrive. Review of the quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) 3.0 assessment dated [DATE] revealed Resident #82 was severely cognitively impaired. Resident #82 required substantial/maximum assistance for toileting, personal hygiene and dependent for showers. Review of the care plan revealed Resident #82 had a self care performance deficit related to impaired cognition, needs assistance with dressing and grooming. Interventions included to encourage resident to participate in activities of daily living. Review of the shower record for Resident #82 for June and July 2024 revealed Resident #82…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
Show the remaining 7 citations
- Potential for harm · D2024-08-19 · tag F0695 — failed to provide proper breathing / tracheostomy care — isolatedProvide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, record review and review of facility policy, the facility failed to maintain appropriate hand hygiene during the tracheostomy (trach) care. This affected one (Resident #15) of one resident who was identified by the facility as having a trach. The facility census was 91. Findings include: Review of the medical record for Resident #15 revealed an admission date of 12/07/22. Diagnoses included but were not limited to chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, major depressive disorder, schizophrenia, and dependence on supplemental oxygen. Review of the annual Minimum Data Set (MDS) 3.0 assessment, dated 05/06/24, revealed the resident had moderately impaired cognition. The resident required supervision for activities of daily living (ADLs). Review of the physician's order for August 2024 revealed Resident #15 revealed an order for trach care every shift. Observation of trach care on 08/06/24 at 2:37 P.M. with Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) #892 revealed he did don personal protective equipment (PPE) correctly. LPN #892 removed the trach necktie and removed…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2022-05-18 · tag F0688 — failed to keep residents mobile / prevent decline — patternProvide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline is for a medical reason.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, record review and review of the facility policy, the facility failed to initiate and or maintain restorative care services including range of motion for two residents, Resident #52 and #80 and failed to provide splinting programs and palm protectors for two residents, Resident #52 and #65. This affected three residents, Resident #80, #65, and #52, of four residents reviewed for services provided to prevent or maintain highest practicable level. The facility census was 93. Findings include: 1. Record review for Resident #52 revealed a admission date of 03/20/04. Diagnosis included contracture's of muscles in the right and left hand. Review of the physician order dated 09/22/19 revealed Resident #52 was to wear bilateral palm protectors as tolerated. Review of the care plan dated 02/21/22 revealed Resident #52 had contractures to right and left hands. Resident #52 was to receive restorative active assist range of motion (AAROM) to prevent further decline in range of motion (ROM)…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · F2019-05-10 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespreadProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing
Based on observation and interview, the facility failed to prevent possible physical contamination of food during tray line service. This affected all 95 residents who received food from the kitchen. Facility census was 95. Findings include: Observation on 05/01/19 at 9:52 A.M., 10:03 A.M., and 10:27 A.M. of the lunch tray line service, Dietary Staff #812, Dietary Staff #815 and Dietary Manager #808 were observed to have beards that were not covered. Interview on 05/01/19 at 10:35 A.M. with Kitchen Manager #808 confirmed beard hair nets were not used. He stated they were on order and due to arrive during the week.
- Potential for harm · D2019-05-10 · tag F0641 — isolatedEnsure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observations, interviews and record review, the facility failed to maintain accurate assessments on all residents. This affected two (Resident #68 and #74) of three residents reviewed to for resident assessments. The facility census was 95. Findings Included: 1. Review of medical records for Resident #68 revealed an admission date of 06/15/17 with diagnoses including limitation of activities, schizophrenia, amputation and bipolar disorder. Review of the quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) 3.0 assessment, dated 10/01/18, revealed the resident had impaired cognition. He had a physical restraint in the chair indicating the chair prevented rising. Observation on 05/01/19 at 9:00 A.M. of Resident #68 revealed no restraint was in use on the wheelchair. Interview on 05/01/19 at 9:05 A.M. with Resident #68, he stated he does not have a seatbelt or alarm on his wheelchair preventing him from getting up. 2. Review of medical record for Resident #74 revealed admission dated 06/12/18 with diagnoses including age related physical disability, difficulty walking and history of falls. Review…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2019-05-10 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolatedProvide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review, pharmacy reviews and interview, the facility failed to follow physician orders. This affected one (Resident #40) of five residents reviewed for unnecessary medications. The census was 95. Findings Include: Review of the medical record for Resident #40 revealed an admission date of 02/13/06 with diagnoses including Vitamin D-3 deficiency, depression and heart failure. Review of the quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) 3.0 assessment dated [DATE] revealed Resident #40 had impaired cognition. Review of the pharmacy consultation report dated 12/19/18 revealed Resident #40 had an order for Vitamin D-3 5000 units was to be given one tablet by mouth in the evening every Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday. Resident #40 had an above normal Vitamin D level, and Vitamin D-3 medication should be adjusted. A new order from the physician was given to change the Vitamin D-3 5,000 units every other day, even days, signed by the physician on 12/31/18. Review of the pharmacy consultation…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- No harm found · B2024-08-19 · tag F0623 — patternProvide timely notification to the resident, and if applicable to the resident representative and ombudsman, before transfer or discharge, including appeal rights.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and staff interview the facility failed to ensure the state ombudsman was notified of a residents transfer to the hospital. This affected four residents (#41, #43, #59, #242) of four reviewed for hospitalization. The facility census was 91. Findings Include: 1. Review of the medical record for Resident #43 revealed an admission date of [DATE] with medical diagnoses including schizoaffective disorder, cellulitis of right lower limb, and morbid obesity. Review of the medical record revealed Resident #43 required hospitalization from [DATE] through [DATE] for right leg cellulitis. 2. Review of the closed medical record for Resident #242 revealed an admission date of [DATE] with diagnoses including dementia, type two diabetes, major depressive disorder, and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease. Review of the medical record revealed Resident #242 discharged to the hospital on [DATE] for transient ischemic attack and cerebral vascular accident. Resident #242 expired at the hospital on [DATE].…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- No harm found · B2024-08-19 · tag F0625 — patternNotify the resident or the resident’s representative in writing how long the nursing home will hold the resident’s bed in cases of transfer to a hospital or therapeutic leave.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on medical record review, facility bed hold policy and staff interviews, the facility failed to ensure four (#41, #43, #59, #242) of four residents reviewed for hospitalization were provided bed hold notification. The facility census was 91. Findings include: 1. Review of the medical record for Resident #43 revealed an admission date of [DATE] with medical diagnoses including schizoaffective disorder, cellulitis of right lower limb, and morbid obesity. Review of the medical record revealed Resident #43 required hospitalization from [DATE] through [DATE] for right leg cellulitis. Review of the medical record identified no written evidence was provided to the legal guardian regarding the facility's bed hold policy and bed hold days remaining. 2. Review of the closed medical record for Resident #242 revealed an admission date of [DATE] with diagnoses including dementia, type two diabetes, major depressive disorder, and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease. Review of the medical record revealed Resident #242…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
$165,448 in federal fines across 2 penalties. 1 Medicare payment denial on record.
- $81,218 — penalty dated 2024-08-19
- $84,230 — penalty dated 2023-09-22
- Medicare payment denial — starting 2024-09-03 for 41 days
Dates are the dates CMS records the penalty, not the date of the conduct behind it. CMS publishes penalties on a rolling window, so this is what is currently on the public file — not the home’s lifetime history, and an older fine may attach to a problem that has since been corrected. The amounts are as imposed: the CMS file does not record whether a penalty was appealed, reduced, or paid, so we don’t say. Ask the home what each one was for and what changed since.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Share | Since |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| POOL, MATTHEW | Individual | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE; CORPORATE OFFICER | 71% | since 10/10/2019 |
| POOL, REBECCA | Individual | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE | 29% | since 04/01/1985 |
CMS files one row per role, so the 5 rows in the source record cover these 2 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.
Follow the money — this home’s finances
Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.
This home reported $477K paid to related parties (affiliated landlords or management companies) in its most recent cost report. A reported operating loss is common in this industry and is not by itself a sign of trouble — but paired with large related-party payments it can mean profit is being taken elsewhere in the ownership structure.
Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.
Cost & finances
Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.
What families pay in OH
This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Ohio Medicaid page.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 366323. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2024-08-19, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.