Shawnee Colonial Estates Nursing Home
535 West Federal Street, Shawnee, OK 74801 · For profit - Corporation · 161 certified beds · (405) 273-7661 Medicare & Medicaid certified
This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.
- fewer deficiencies at its most recent standard inspection than at the one before — a sign of improvement
- inspectors cited 1 immediate-jeopardy problem — the most serious level
- a high number of inspection citations overall (19) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
- the CMS record shows $44,355 in federal fines (most recent 2025-04-10)
- its payroll-based staffing score sits well above its independent inspection score
- its independent health-inspection rating is low (1/5)
- its facility-reported quality-measure rating is low (2/5)
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 1 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 3 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 2 of 5 |
Worth a closer look. This home's staffing rating runs 2 stars above its independent health-inspection score. The inspection is done by state surveyors; the staffing score rests on the facility's own payroll (PBJ) submissions — so a gap this large is worth reading the inspection record for.
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 2 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 2 of 5 |
| Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital | 2 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating fell from 2 to 1 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 33.7% | 13.6% | 15.4% | worse |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 2.2% | 3.3% | 5.4% | better |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 0.0% | 1.9% | 0.9% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 3.2% | 2.8% | 2.0% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 7.6% | 3.4% | 6.5% | worse |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.1% | 0.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 8.5% | 4.7% | 3.3% | worse |
| Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened | 38.6% | 13.7% | 16.1% | worse |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 16.2% | 25.7% | 18.9% | better |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 1.2% | 4.7% | 4.7% | better |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 21.7% | 17.1% | 21.2% | typical |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 6.9% | 17.5% | 17.1% | better |
| Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication | 1.1% | 1.8% | 1.4% | better |
| Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 53.5% | 74.1% | 79.4% | worse |
| Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission | 29.7% | 27.3% | 22.6% | worse |
| Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit | 19.4% | 16.6% | 12.0% | worse |
| Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days | 1.93 | 2.31 | 1.67 | worse |
| Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days | 1.20 | 2.96 | 1.80 | better |
‡ On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
52.3% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 53 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.
Met the expected recovery: 56.1% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 41 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.
Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.17 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 16% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.
Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 4% of this home’s weekday level — it runs therapy on weekdays, with essentially none at the weekend. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | 52.3%CMS range 41.4–64.4 | 51.5% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | 9.8%CMS range 5.8–14.8 | 10.7% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | 56.1% | 56.6% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | 39.0% | 52.8% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | 48.8% | 50.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | 98.6% | 98.7% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | 100.0% | 100.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | 1.4% | 0.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | 1.4% | 1.9% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | not reported — The data for this measure is missing or was not submitted. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | 1.26 | 1.02 | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 161 beds and averages 59.7 residents a day — about 37% occupied, or roughly 101 beds typically open. It often has substantial empty capacity — worth asking why, since low census can reflect either a new or shrinking home or one families are avoiding. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.91 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.26 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.59 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.55 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 4.06 on weekdays — 13% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.30 to 0.16 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 48% is about the same as the national median of 45%. 1 administrator has left in the past year.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are fewer than at the previous inspection — improving. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
19 citations, most serious first. The 11 most serious are shown; the remaining 8 are one tap away and print in full.
- Immediate jeopardy · Kcited before2025-04-10 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — patternEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY On 04/08/25 at 3:50 p.m., the Oklahoma State Department of Health was notified and verified the existence of an Immediate Jeopardy situation related to the facility's failure to provide supervision to prevent elopement from the facility. Resident #22 was identified as being at risk for elopement. Resident #22 made it out to the parking lot through the front door within sight of the nurse's station unattended. A visitor notified staff Resident #22 was in the parking lot. On 04/08/25 at 3:55 p.m., the administrator, director of nursing, assistant director of nursing, business office manager, and corporate nurse were notified of the immediate jeopardy and provided the immediate jeopardy template. On 04/09/25 at 11:54 a.m., an amended plan of removal was approved by the Oklahoma State Department of Health. The plan of removal, read in part, A) Immediate interventions initiated for Resident #22 following elopement on 02/03/25: *15 minute checks *Physician notification with medication changes *Pain evaluation…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-04-10 · tag F0582 — isolatedGive residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure a NOMNC was provided to a resident discharging from skilled services for 1 (#94) of 3 sampled residents reviewed for beneficiary notification. MDS Coordinator #1 identified 15 residents who were discharged from a Medicare covered Part A stay with benefit days remaining in the past six months (11/18/24 through 04/03/25). Findings: Resident #94 admitted to the facility on [DATE]. A nurse's note, dated 02/25/25, showed Resident #94 discharged home with home health. The SNF beneficiary notification review showed Resident #94's Medicare Part A skilled services episode start date was 12/07/24 and their last covered day of Part A service was 02/24/25. The notification showed the Medicare Part A service termination/discharge was determined voluntarily and the facility/provider initiated the discharge from Medicare Part A services when when benefit days were not exhausted. The notification showed the resident did not receive a NOMNC because Resident #94…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-04-10 · tag F0637 — isolatedAssess the resident when there is a significant change in condition
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure a significant change resident assessment was completed for 1 (#21) of 16 sampled residents reviewed for resident assessments. LPN #1 identified 40 residents resided in the facility. Findings: Resident #21 had diagnoses which included coagulation defect and chronic kidney disease stage 5. An admission resident assessment, dated 11/06/24, showed Resident #21's mood score was 09 (mild depression), and the resident required set-up or clean up assistance for the task of toilet hygiene, lower body dressing, and putting on/taking off footwear. The assessment showed the resident was independent for the task of roll left and right, sit to lying, and lying to sitting on the side of the bed. A quarterly resident assessment, dated 02/13/25, showed Resident #21's mood score was 00 (no depression), and the resident was dependent on staff for the task of toileting hygiene, lower body dressing, putting on/taking off footwear, roll left and right, sit to lying, and lying to sitting on the side of the bed. There was no significant…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-04-10 · tag F0641 — isolatedEnsure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure resident assessments were accurately coded for 1 (#20) of 16 sampled residents reviewed for resident assessments. LPN #1 identified 40 residents resided in the faciilty. Findings: Resident #20 had diagnosis which included cognitive communication deficit. A behavior note, dated 01/07/25, showed Resident #20 had been actively exit-seeking for the last 1.5 hours walking nonstop from one end of the North hall to the other. The note showed the resident had been able to set the alarm off on the Northwest door twice by pressing it repeatedly. The note showed staff was able to get Resident #20 before the door opened. A nurse's note, dated 01/09/25, showed Resident #20 was noted to aimlessly wander throughout the facility. The note showed the resident's family was at their side and voiced concerns about the resident's constant pacing and wandering throughout the facility. An admission resident assessment, dated 01/12/25, showed Resident #20 had severe…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-04-10 · tag F0657 — failed to keep the care plan current — isolatedDevelop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure resident care plans were accurate and updated for 2 (#21 and #95) of 16 sampled residents reviewed for resident assessments. LPN #1 identified 40 residents resided in the facility. Findings: 1. On 04/08/25 from 9:22 a.m. through 9:33 a.m., CNA #2 and CNA #4 were observed transferring Resident #21 from their wheelchair to the bedside commode, then from the bedside commode to the resident's bed utilizing a mechanical lift. On 04/08/25 from 9:53 a.m. through 10:10 a.m., Resident #21 was observed receiving turning assistance in bed, perineal care, and transfer assistance from the bed to the shower chair with a mechanical lift with the assistance of CNA #2, CNA #4, and CNA #5. Resident #21 had diagnoses which included coagulation defect and chronic kidney disease stage 5. Resident #21's care plan, date initiated 11/01/24, read in part, ADL [activities of daily living] self-care needs Date Initiated: 11/01/2024 .DRESSING: The resident…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-04-10 · tag F0732 — isolatedPost nurse staffing information every day.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation and interview, the facility failed to post nurse staffing in a prominent place accessible to residents and visitors for one of one staffing boards observed. LPN #1 identified 40 residents resided in the facility. Findings: On 04/09/25 at 3:13 p.m., a large white board located behind the nurse's station showed one RN, one LPN, and three CNAs were working. The board did not show what shift or how many hours. The date written on the board was 04/06/25. There was no census. On 04/10/25 at 10:18 a.m., the large white board showed RN (name withheld). There was no date, no other staff listed, and no census. On 04/10/25 at 10:40 a.m., LPN #2 stated the white board did not include all the relevant information. They stated the information was down the hall across from the offices. On 04/10/25 at 10:41 a.m., the administrator identified two sheets of paper that contained most of the required information. Neither of the two papers showed the number of hours each staff member was working. The sheets were located on a cork board on a hall that only contained offices. On…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-04-10 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolatedEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing
Based on observation, record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure the temperature log was maintained for the medication refrigerator in the medication room. LPN #1 identified 40 residents resided in the facility. Findings: On 04/03/25 at 11:16 a.m., a tour of the medication room was conducted with CMA #1. CMA #1 was unable to locate a temperature log. The refrigerator was found to be 42 degrees Fahrenheit. A Medication Storage in the Facility policy, dated 2021, read in part, Medications requiring refrigeration or temperatures between 36 degrees F and 46 degrees F are kept on a refrigerator with a thermometer to allow daily temperature monitoring. Medications requiring storage in a cool place are refrigerated unless otherwise directed on the label. On 04/08/25 at 2:19 p.m., the administrator stated, We are supposed to keep a temperature log on the refrigerator in the med [medication] room. It is the responsibility of the day shift CMA to monitor the temperature daily. The administrator stated CMA #1 has worked there long enough to know about the temperature log.
- Potential for harm · D2025-04-10 · tag F0655 — isolatedCreate and put into place a plan for meeting the resident's most immediate needs within 48 hours of being admitted
What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure a baseline care plan was completed within 48 hours of admission for 1 (#19) of 17 sampled residents reviewed for completion of baseline care plans. LPN #1 identified 40 residents resided in the facility. Findings: Resident #19 was admitted on [DATE] with diagnoses which included severe protein-calorie malnutrition, repeated falls, and depression. There was no documentation a baseline care plan was completed within 48 hours of admission. On 04/08/25 at 2:17 p.m., the administrator stated they follow the RAI manual regarding care plans. On 04/09/25 at 10:45 a.m., MDS coordinator #1 stated Resident #19 did not have a 48 hour baseline care plan because they were behind on them.
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2021-11-21 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — patternEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to: a. firmly attach toilet seat risers to the toilet seats for four (#12, 34, 45, and #49) of seven sampled residents reviewed for accident hazards. b. thoroughly investigate the root cause of falls and implement interventions to prevent further falls for one (#58) of three sampled residents reviewed for falls. The Resident Census and Conditions of Residents identified 77 residents who resided in the facility. Findings: 1. During the resident (Res) council meeting, on 11/18/21 at 9:22 a.m. with ten cognitively intact residents the following statements were made related to toilet seat risers: a. Res #34 stated the handles on her commode was not sturdy. She stated she had requested a new one but had not received one, and b. Res #12 stated room [ROOM NUMBER] had a toilet seat riser which was not sturdy. On 11/18/21 at 10:11 a.m., the bathroom between rooms one and two was observed. The toilet had both a toilet seat riser and handles attached…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2021-11-21 · tag F0755 — failed to provide safe pharmacy services — patternProvide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to provide pharmaceutical services for one (#128) of six sampled residents whose medications were reviewed. The Resident Census and Conditions of Residents report documented 77 residents resided in the facility. Findings: Resident (Res) #128 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] and had diagnoses which included COPD, HTN, UTI, anxiety, and hallucinations. A nurse note, dated 01/15/20 at 12:01 a.m., documented the resident had been up numerous times throughout the night, with and without clothes, asking for money, relatives, and shopping lists, etc. A late entry nurse note, dated 01/17/20, from the former ADON, documented, on 01/15/20 at 4:45 p.m., the resident's family member was upset her mother had been at the facility for almost 24 hours and no medications had been administered. The note documented the nurse reviewed the resident's record and found that was accurate. The note documented the nurse would review the medications the resident had brought…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2021-11-21 · tag F0756 — failed to review each resident's drug regimen — patternEnsure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview and record review, the physician failed to respond to pharmacist MRRs timely and according to the facility's policy for three (#10, 62, and #77) of five sampled residents whose medications were reviewed. The Resident Census and Conditions of Residents report documented 77 residents resided in the facility. Findings: The facility's undated Drug Regimen Review'' policy read in parts, .The report is provided by the Consultant Pharmacist or facility to the Primary Physician and the Director of Nursing within seven working days of review, or according to facility policy. The physician provides a written response of the report to the facility within one month after the report is sent . 1. Resident (Res) #62 had diagnoses which included schizoaffective disorder, anxiety, depressive disorder, and bipolar disorder. A physician order, dated 12/13/19, documented Depakote (an anti-seizure medication) 250 mg four times a day for anxiety disorder. A physician order, dated 08/04/20, documented duloxetine (an antidepressant medication) 60 mg two times a day for depression. A…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
Show the remaining 8 citations
- Potential for harm · E2021-11-21 · tag F0758 — failed to limit and justify psychotropic drugs — patternImplement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to follow a physician's order to reduce a psychotropic medication for one (#39) of five sampled residents reviewed for unnecessary medications. The DON identified 37 residents who received antidepressant medications. Findings: Resident (Res) #39's diagnoses included major depressive disorder. A physician order, dated 05/21/21, documented the resident was to have received Cymbalta (an antidepressant medication) 30 mg q day. A pharmacist MRR, dated 09/16/21, documented the pharmacist made a recommendation to the physician to attempt to reduce the dosage of the resident's Cymbalta from 30 mg to 20 mg q day. The pharmacist MRR, dated 09/16/21, documented the physician agreed to the reduction on 11/15/21. The MRR documented the order was noted by the DON. There was no documentation the order had been changed in the last six days. On 11/21/21 at 11:29 a.m., the DON was shown the MRR. She stated the date the MRR was noted, the order should have been changed. At 11:49 a.m., the DON stated she started the process for changing the…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2021-11-21 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — patternProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to serve pasteurized eggs and use gloves appropriately. The DON identified 76 residents who received services from the kitchen. Findings: On 11/16/21 at 5:45 a.m., a tour of the kitchen was conducted. There were two (15 dozen) boxes and two flats of unpasteurized eggs on the counter and/or in the reach in cooler #3. A food tally record, undated, documented nine over easy eggs were to be served to the residents at breakfast. Breakfast menus, undated, documented Resident (Res) #57 and Res #77 were to each have received two, over easy fried eggs. At 7:06 a.m., the breakfast meal service was observed. The following observations were made: a. Unpasteurized over easy eggs were plated to be served to the residents, and b. Dietary cook #1 was handling paper menus with her gloved hands and picking up biscuits, toast, bacon, and sausage with the same pair of gloves on. At 7:46 a.m., Res #57 and Res #77 were observed with fried eggs with runny yolks on their breakfast plates. At 7:50 a.m., the DM was asked if the raw shell…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2021-11-21 · tag F0578 — failed to honor advance directives / code status — isolatedHonor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on record review and interview, it was determined the facility failed to have the signed ''Oklahoma Do-Not-Resuscitate (DNR) Consent Form'' in the electronic health record for one (#11) of 24 sampled residents whose records were reviewed. The Resident Census and Conditions of Residents identified 77 residents who resided in the facility. Findings: The electronic clinical health record for Res #11 documented the resident had a DNR order. The DNR consent form was not found in the record. The DNR form was not found in the DNR notebook kept at the nurses' station. On 11/17/21 at 10:05 a.m., the DON was asked to provide the DNR consent form. At 11:22 a.m., LPN #1 was asked about the resident's DNR status. She stated the computer listed him as a DNR, however, there was no form scanned in the computer. After looking in the DNR book, she stated there was no copy of his DNR form in the book, either. At 12:05 p.m., the DON provided a copy of the DNR form and stated they had finally located it. She acknowledged the consent form was not in the clinical record or DNR book where it should…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2021-11-21 · tag F0584 — failed to keep a safe, clean, comfortable home — isolatedHonor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing
Based on observation and interview the facility failed to provide window screens for resident windows and/or keep the screens in good repair. The Resident Census and Conditions of Residents identified 77 residents who resided in the facility. Findings: On 11/21/21 at 12:05 p.m., a tour of the outside of the building was conducted. Several screens were observed off the windows of the facility, two known resident rooms were without screens. Several other resident screens were in poor condition with broken screen frames and/or holes in the window screens. On 11/21/21 at 1:07 p.m., the administrator stated the maintenance supervisor was not in the facility today but he had kits and was working on making new screens for the facility windows. She stated all the resident rooms should have screens on the windows and be in good repair.
- Potential for harm · D2021-11-21 · tag F0695 — failed to provide proper breathing / tracheostomy care — isolatedProvide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to provide oxygen therapy as ordered by the physician for one (#58) of two sampled residents reviewed for respiratory care. The DON identified 25 residents who received oxygen therapy. Findings: Resident #58 was admitted to the facility and had diagnoses which included COPD. A physician order, dated 10/11/21, documented oxygen at 2L per NC. The care plan, dated 10/01/21, documented to set the oxygen setting per the physicians orders. On 11/16/21 at 6:15 a.m., the resident was observed in his bed with oxygen in use per NC at 2.5L On 11/17/21 at 8:41 a.m., the resident was observed with oxygen in use per NC at 3L. On 11/19/21 at 11:10 a.m., the resident was observed in bed with oxygen in use per NC at 3L. On 11/19/21 at 12:03 p.m., LPN #2 stated the oxygen setting was showing 3L for the resident. The LPN looked at the resident's physician order and stated the resident should be on 2L not 3L. She stated no one should be changing the setting of oxygen unless the order changed.
- Potential for harm · D2021-11-21 · tag F0772 — isolatedHave an agreement with an approved laboratory to obtain services, if on-site laboratory services aren't provided.
What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing
Based on record review and staff interview, the facility failed to obtain lab tests as ordered for one (#10) of five sampled residents reviewed for labs. The Resident Census and Conditions of Residents documented there were 77 residents who resided in the facility. Findings: Resident #10 had diagnoses that included chronic kidney disease, cerebral infarction, and hypothyroidism. A physician order, dated 01/28/19, documented to draw CBC, CMP, TSH, Free T4, and FLP every January. A review of the resident's medical record showed there were no lab results for January 2021. On 11/18/21 at 1:17 p.m., the DON stated January labs were missed.
- Potential for harm · E2019-09-12 · tag F0698 — failed to provide proper dialysis care — patternProvide safe, appropriate dialysis care/services for a resident who requires such services.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, it was determined the facility failed to provide care and services related to dialysis for one (#66) of one resident reviewed for dialysis. The facility failed to assess and monitor the resident after he returned from dialysis. The facility failed to provide a renal diet as ordered by the physician. The facility reported three residents required dialysis services. Findings: Resident #66 was admitted on [DATE] with diagnoses including chronic kidney disease, anemia in chronic kidney disease, and diabetes mellitus. A physician's order, dated 04/13/19, documented the resident was to receive dialysis three times a week on Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday. The order documented for the resident to have a 1200 ml fluid restriction and daily weights. The physician orders documented the resident was to receive a consistent carb (CC), diabetic diet, regular texture, thin/regular consistency. An in service documentation, dated 05/02/19, documented instructions for nurses…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- No harm found · B2021-11-21 · tag F0576 — patternEnsure residents have reasonable access to and privacy in their use of communication methods.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interviews, the facility failed to provide mail delivery to residents on Saturday. The Resident Census and Conditions of Residents identified 77 residents who resided in the facility. Findings: On 11/18/21 at 9:22 a.m., a group meeting was held with ten alert and oriented residents. They all stated the mail came to the facility but did not get distributed every day and especially not on Saturdays. They stated the mail is distributed by social services or the nurses. One resident stated they had not received mail in three weeks and received 19 pieces of mail yesterday. On 11/18/21 at 10:03 a.m., the social services director stated the mail usually came to the facility around 4:00 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. She stated the business office manager will get the facilities mail and then someone will let her know the mail had arrived or they will put it in her mail slot. She stated she then will separate the mail by resident and deliver the mail to the residents. She stated she would stay late if she had to. She stated Saturday mail should be delivered by the North Hall nurse. She stated…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
$44,355 in federal fines across 1 penalty.
- $44,355 — penalty dated 2025-04-10
Dates are the dates CMS records the penalty, not the date of the conduct behind it. CMS publishes penalties on a rolling window, so this is what is currently on the public file — not the home’s lifetime history, and an older fine may attach to a problem that has since been corrected. The amounts are as imposed: the CMS file does not record whether a penalty was appealed, reduced, or paid, so we don’t say. Ask the home what each one was for and what changed since.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Share | Since |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| TRUMBO, JAY | Individual | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 33% | since 08/01/2012 |
| VINSON, JOHN | Individual | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 33% | since 08/01/2012 |
| LOPEZ, APRIL | Individual | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE | — | since 08/16/2021 |
| PHELPS, KAREN | Individual | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE | — | since 11/11/2019 |
| HEALTH SYSTEMS OF OKLAHOMA, LLC | Organization | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | — | since 10/01/2003 |
1 organizational owner listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.
Follow the money — this home’s finances
Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.
Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2024. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.
What families pay in OK
This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Oklahoma Medicaid page.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 375432. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-04-10, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.