No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Dells Nursing And Rehab Center INC

1400 Thresher Dr, Dell Rapids, SD 57022 · For profit - Corporation · 50 certified beds · (605) 428-5478 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (605) 428-5478 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Abuse/neglect citation on record (F0602) — cited Jan 20251 actual-harm citation$173,010 in federal fines
Insights

This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.

In its favor
  • a strong health-inspection score (4/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
Worth asking about
  • it has an abuse, neglect, or exploitation citation (F0602), cited Jan 2025
  • it has a citation for its abuse-prevention policies, restraint use, or reporting and investigating of allegations (F0609) — cited below the harm level, meaning inspectors found the process wanting but did not find a resident harmed
  • it has 1 actual-harm citation
  • a high number of inspection citations overall (16) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
  • the CMS record shows $173,010 in federal fines (most recent 2025-01-16)

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

4/5
CMS overall
4 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 4 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 3 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 3 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
111 E 10th St · (605) 428-5446 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
1002 N Highway 77 · (605) 428-5440 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
1002 N Highway 77 · (605) 428-5451 · Call to confirm hours
Park
1108 N Garfield Ave · (605) 428-3595 · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship
1209 Thresher Dr · (605) 428-3951

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 3 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 3 of 5
Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital 3 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2026-03 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating held steady at 4 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating4★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased17.8%21.3%15.4%worse
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight7.0%5.6%5.4%worse
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder3.3%2.1%0.9%worse than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection2.6%2.9%2.0%worse
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms0.0%5.7%6.5%check this — see note marked star below the table
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.0%0.1%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury18.2%5.5%3.3%worse
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened35.7%19.4%16.1%worse
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication16.9%17.4%18.9%better
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine86.4%96.9%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers1.9%4.6%4.7%better
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control22.9%25.4%21.2%typical
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table39.5%24.6%17.1%worse
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication0.0%2.0%1.4%better
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days0.711.521.67better
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days0.671.751.80better

* This home reported 0% on a measure where lower is better. That can mean genuinely excellent care — but because the number is self-reported, a zero can also mean the problem was not recorded. Weigh it against the inspection record above.

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

36.0% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 30 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

36.0%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
10.1%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
33.3%U.S. median 56.6%
Met the expected recovery
0.33U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.17hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.14hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.01hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Met the expected recovery: 33.3% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 21 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.33 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 56% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 35% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF36.0%CMS range 22.3–54.051.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF10.1%CMS range 6.7–15.510.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge33.3%56.6%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge19.1%52.8%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge19.1%50.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified100.0%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay14.3%0.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened3.6%1.9%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization6.6%CMS range 3.7–10.97.1%Oct 2023–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs1.031.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.52
RN hours/ resident / day
0.31
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.17
Aide hours/ resident / day
3.00
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.30
RN hoursweekends
41.5%
Total nursing turnover
28.6%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 50 beds and averages 45.4 residents a day — about 91% occupied, or roughly 5 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.00 hrs/resident/day is below the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.52 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.17 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 2.71 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.11 on weekdays — 13% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.61 to 0.30 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 42% is about the same as the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

2
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2025-12-11)
2
at the previous standard inspection (2025-06-26)

Deficiencies are unchanged from the previous inspection. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

16 citations, most serious first. The 11 most serious are shown; the remaining 5 are one tap away and print in full.

  • Actual harm · G2025-01-16 · tag F0686 — failed to prevent and treat pressure sores (bedsores) — isolated
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, record review, and policy review the provider failed to: * Implement and monitor care planned approaches for one of one sampled resident (25) identified on admission as having potential for pressure ulcer development prior to the development of a heel pressure ulcer. *Implement, monitor and accurately document skin injuries, and care plan approaches for two of two sampled residents (7 and 33) who acquired pressure ulcers after admission. Findings include: 1. Observation and interview on 1/14/25 at 10:36 a.m. with resident 25 while she was sitting in her recliner with her legs elevated revealed she: *Had been admitted to the facility on [DATE] for strengthening due to urinary tract infection. *Had a black spot on her left heel that was not on her heel when she was admitted . *Had edema leggings on her right leg. *Had a wound dressing to her left leg. Observation on 1/15/25 at 9:00 a.m. of resident 25's left heel revealed she had a black area to her left heel with her skin intact…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-12-11 · tag F0561 — failed to honor residents' choices — isolated
    Honor the resident's right to and the facility must promote and facilitate resident self-determination through support of resident choice.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, record review, and policy review the provider failed to ensure resident choices regarding bedtime requests were being followed for one of one sampled resident (14).Findings include:1. Observation and interview on 12/9/25 at 9:20 a.m. with resident 14 in his room revealed:*He was sitting in his recliner watching television.*He stated there were days when he was tired and wanted to go to bed at 6:00 p.m.*Staff told him he had to wait until 7:00 p.m. before he could go to bed because some residents were still eating supper.2. Interview on12/10/25 at 4:06 p.m. with certified nursing assistant (CNA) E revealed:*If a resident requested to go to bed at 6:00 p.m. she would not have accommodated that request.*She felt that was too early for a resident to go to bed.*She knew resident would request to go to bed early some evenings.*Staff were still helping some residents in the dining room at that time.3. Interview on 12/11/25 at 9:12 a.m. with CNA G revealed:*If a resident wanted to go to bed early, she would talk to the charge nurse.*The charge nurse would…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-12-11 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and policy review, the provider failed to ensure the staff members followed standard infection prevention practices for:*Storing clean resident use equipment, specifically lift slings, without the slings touching the floor.*Replacing oxygen tubing for one of four sampled residents (35) every 30 days according to the provider's policy.*Personal protective equipment, such as gloves and gowns (PPE), use by one of one observed certified nursing assistant (CNA) D when providing care for one of one sampled resident (15) on enhanced barrier precautions (EBP).Findings include: 1. Observation on 12/9/25 at 10:04 a.m. of the clean linen room revealed more than five lift (a mechanical device used to lift a person's body) slings were touching the floor.2. Interview on 12/11/25 at 1:00 p.m. with infection preventionist (IP)/registered nurse (RN) C revealed that she was not aware that the lift slings were touching the floor. She acknowledged that the floor was not considered a clean surface and that created a potential infection control risk. She then removed the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-11-24 · tag F0658 — failed to meet professional standards of care — isolated
    Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on record review, interview, job description review, and policy review, the provider failed to ensure blood pressure medications were administered as ordered by the physician for one of one closed resident records (1) by three of three certified medication aides (CMAs) (C, D, and E). These errors in medication administration had the potential to impact the resident's health and well-being. Review of October 2025 closed electronic medical review (EMR) revealed resident 1 was admitted to the facility 10/1/25 and discharged from the facility on 10/27/25 due to an unexpected death. He had primary diagnoses of type 2 diabetes (unstable sugar levels in the blood), orthostatic hypotension (sudden drop in blood pressure when you stand up, which can cause dizziness, lightheadedness, or fainting), and weakness.Upon admission, he had physician orders to take Midodrine 5 milligrams (mg) twice a day for low pressure. This medication was ordered to be held if his systolic blood pressure (SBP) was greater than 135. Also, upon admission, he had physician orders to take Fludrocortisone 0.1mg…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2025-06-26 · tag F0582 — pattern
    Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and interview, the provider failed to ensure the proper Medicare notices were filled out completely and were in the required format for three of three sampled residents (9, 37, and 294) prior to their discharge from Medicare Part A skilled services. Findings include: 1. Review of the Entrance Conference Worksheet completed by the provider on 6/25/25 revealed the list of residents identified as having been discharged from Medicare Part A skilled services included the following: *Two residents (9 and 37) remained in the facility following their discharge from Medicare Part A skilled services. *One resident (294) was discharged to home following his discharge from Medicare Part A skilled services. 2. Review of resident 9's SNF (Skilled Nursing Facility) Beneficiary Notification Review form completed by social services designee (SSD) E revealed: *The resident's Medicare Part A Skilled Services Episode start date was 12/16/24. *Her last covered day on Medicare Part A Service was 1/24/25. Review…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2025-06-26 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — pattern
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY A. Based on observation, interview, record review, and policy review, the provider failed to ensure: *One of two certified nursing assistants (CNA) (K) wore appropriate personal protective equipment (PPE) while caring for two sampled residents (22 and 32) who were on enhanced barrier precautions (EBP), which is a type of infection control strategy used in nursing homes to reduce the spread of multidrug-resistant organisms. *One of one CNA (N) practiced appropriate infection control techniques during catheter cares for one of one observed resident (22). *Four of four CNAs (L, M, N, and O) were knowledgeable of the provider's revised catheter care policy and had the skills to implement that policy. *Medical supplies, such as plastic syringes and containers of normal saline found in one of one resident rooms (22) and two of three supply rooms (Rising Sun whirlpool room and the medical supply room), were labeled, stored, and disposed of in an appropriate manner. Findings include: 1. Observation on 6/24/25 at 8:28…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-01-16 · tag F0602 — failed to protect residents from theft of their belongings — isolated
    Protect each resident from the wrongful use of the resident's belongings or money.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview, record review, policy review, and review of the South Dakota Department of Health (SD DOH) facility reported incident (FRI), the provider failed to ensure a controlled medication (medication with potential for abuse and addiction) for one of one sampled resident (41) had remained secured and was accounted for. This citation is considered past non-compliance based on a review of the corrective actions the provider implemented following the incident. Findings include: 1. Interview on 1/16/25 at 8:40 a.m. with registered nurse (RN) D regarding resident narcotic medication counting at the end of her shift revealed: *She had counted the resident narcotics when she had arrived to begin her shift on 11/23/24 6:00 a.m. with no discrepancy identified. *RN D did not count the resident narcotics with licensed practical nurse (LPN) R at the end of her shift on 11/23/24 at 6:30 p.m. *RN D had not left her shift and not counted resident narcotics before 11/23/24 at 6:30 p.m. *LPN R refused to do the narc count until RN D insisted on it. *She had been notified on 11/24/24 at…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Past Non-Compliance
  • Potential for harm · D2025-01-16 · tag F0609 — failed to report abuse allegations — isolated
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on South Dakota Department of Health (SD DOH) facility reported incident (FRI), interview, and policy review the provider failed to report the missing controlled medication (medications with potential for abuse and addiction) had been reported timely to SD DOH. Findings include: 1. Review of the provider's 12/4/24 SD DOH FRI revealed on 11/24/24 six milliliters (ml) of morphine sulfate (a controlled pain medication) had been unaccounted for. 2. Interview on 1/16/25 at 11:28 a.m. with nurse manager C regarding the reporting the missing controlled medication revealed: *She had not known the timeline requirement for reporting the missing controlled medication to SD DOH. *She had not known that the missing medication could be considered theft of personal belongings. *She had known that she had not followed the facility's policy for reporting the potential diversion of a controlled substance. *On 11/25/24 she had begun the paperwork the pharmacy had provided her for drug diversion. *The pharmacy had informed…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2025-01-16 · tag F0851 — widespread
    Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on Payroll Based Journal (PBJ) record review, employee timecard review, staffing schedules, and electronic medical record (EMR) review, the provider failed to submit PBJ data accurately for one of one federal fiscal quarter (Quarter 4, 2024). Findings include: 1. Review of PBJ records submitted to the Center for Medicaid and Medicare Service (CMS) revealed the provider submitted no licensed nursing coverage 24 hours per day for quarter 4, 2024: 9/15/24, 9/17/24, 9/19/24, and 9/21/24. Review of the provider's employee timecards, staffing schedules, and residents' EMR records documentation revealed the provider had licensed nursing coverage 24 hours per day for the period referenced above. Interview on 1/15/25 at 3:03 p.m. with administrator A and nurse manager C revealed: *Nurse manager C made the nursing schedule. *She did not participate in PBJ submission. *Administrator A submitted the records to PBJ. *The information was automatically obtained from the individual staff timecards by their electronic payroll system. *She entered the agency staff manually. *She was not aware…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Administration Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Fcited before2025-01-16 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — widespread
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, record review, and policy review the provider failed to: *Accurately identify and implement enhanced barrier precautions (EBP) for three of three sampled residents (4, 20, and 24) who had care concerns requiring personal protective equipment (PPE). *Utilize appropriate hand hygiene and gloves during cares by one of one staff (certified nursing assistant (CNA) I with one of one resident (33). *Appropriately maintain and dispose of resident care items in two of two hopper rooms, one of one shower room, and one of one beauty shop. Findings include: 1. Observation on 1/14/25 at 8:15 a.m. of the Garden Terrace hallway revealed there was no PPE in the hallway or residents' rooms. Observation on 1/14/25 at 9:09 a.m. of resident 4 in the dining room revealed: *She was seated in her wheelchair. *She had her right lower extremity (RLE) wrapped in a dressing. *She was touching what appeared to be a wound on her RLE that was not covered and was open and red. 2. Observation on 1/14/25 at 9:36…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2025-01-16 · tag F0657 — failed to keep the care plan current — pattern
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, record review, and policy review the provider failed to ensure resident care plans had been revised to reflect their current needs for: *Three of three sampled residents (4, 9 and 34) who had fallen. *One of one sampled resident (7) who had a facility acquired pressure ulcer. *One of one sampled resident (10) who had a history of urinary tract infections. *One of one sampled resident (11) who developed a facility acquired pressure sore. *One of one sampled resident (29) who had attempted to leave the facility without staff knowledge. Findings include: 1. Review of resident 34's electronic medical record (EMR) revealed: *She had fallen on 8/25/24, 10/12/24, and 12/28/24. *On 12/28/24 resident 34 had an injury after her she fell and required a laceration repair above her left eye in the emergency room. *On 8/14/24 the care plan had identified her as at risk for falls. Interventions on the 8/14/24 initiated care plan included a physical therapy evaluation to treat as needed and to…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
Show the remaining 5 citations
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2025-01-16 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — pattern
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and policy review the provider failed to ensure chemicals had not been stored under sinks in four of four rooms and were secured per their written instructions. Findings include: 1. Observation on 1/14/25 at 8:36 a.m. of the Garden Terrace hopper room revealed: *The Garden Terrace hopper room was not locked. *Under the sink was a brown wood cabinet with a lock present on the door. *The door was not locked. *This cabinet contained: -A spray bottle with a broken top labeled 75% Ethyl Alcohol. -A spray bottle labeled C-Diff Solution Tablets. -A bottle of Betco Kling toilet bowl cleaner. *On the wall above the sink was a sign that said, Keep all chemicals in LOCKED Cupboard and securely locked when not in use. 2. Observation on 1/14/25 at 9:29 a.m. of the Happy Trails hopper room revealed: *The Happy Trails hopper room was not locked. *The cupboard and under the sink was: -An aerosol spray can of Spectracide wasp and hornet killer. -An empty spray bottle with a handwritten label PH7Q Dual disinfectant Do not throw away. -An empty bottle labeled Isopropyl…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2025-01-16 · tag F0760 — failed to prevent significant medication errors — pattern
    Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and interview the provider failed to ensure four sampled residents (11, 29, 33, and 34) had received the wrong medication administered by four of four of staff, registered nurse (RN) (D and F) and certified medication aide (CMA) (O and P). Findings include: 1. Record review of resident 33's electronic medical record (EMR) revealed: *On 12/8/2024 at 1:09 a.m. a nursing progress note had been entered that resident 33 had been given another resident's medications by CMA O. *Resident 33 was given the following medications: -Tylenol 1000 milligrams (mg) (pain reliever), -Olanzapine 5mg (antipsychotic), -Celecoxib 100mg (pain reliever). -Tamsulosin 4mg (to treat an enlarged prostate). 2. Record review of resident 34's EMR revealed: *On 9/14/24 at 5:00 p.m. resident 34 had been administered: -Carbidopa/Levodopa 25/100 mg (treat symptoms for Parkinson's disease) by CMA P. -This medication had not been ordered based on review of the physician orders. *Poison control had been notified and guided to…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-01-16 · tag F0692 — failed to prevent malnutrition and dehydration — isolated
    Provide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review the provider failed to ensure one of one sampled resident (24) had been monitored for consistent weight loss. Findings include: 1. Observation on 1/15/24 from 12:00 p.m. through 12:35 p.m. of the lunch meal service revealed: *Resident 24 was seated in her wheelchair at a table. *An empty chair was between her and another resident. *Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) G sat in the chair and assisted to resident to her left. *At 12:02 p.m. CNA Q brought her meal, and cut her burger in half, told the resident she had a cheeseburger and fries. *Resident 24 did not respond to the CNA. *At 12:06 p.m. CNA G reminded the resident that she had a burger and fries. *She made several attempts to pick up her burger and was able to take a small bite. *CNA G assisted her in eating several bites of fruit fluff. *At 12:25 p.m. CNA G left the table and began helping other residents leave the dining room. *At 12:33 p.m. CNA H walked up to the table and said [resident's name], are…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-01-16 · tag F0881 — failed to use antibiotics responsibly — isolated
    Implement a program that monitors antibiotic use.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review, interview, and policy review the provider failed to adequately implement and monitor an effective antibiotic stewardship program. Findings include: 1. Observation and interview on 1/14/25 at 8:26 a.m. of resident 10 in room [ROOM NUMBER] revealed: *She was sitting in her recliner working with an occupational therapist. *Her goal was to get stronger and go to assisted living. *She had been in the hospital recently for an infection. Review of resident 10's EMR revealed: *She was admitted on [DATE]. *Her diagnoses were: -Chronic kidney disease, stage four. -Type two diabetes mellitus without complications. -Retention of urine, unspecified. -History of urinary tract infection. *Her 1/14/25 revised care plan had an intervention to monitor for signs and symptoms of infection, UTI (urinary tract infection) initiated on 3/27/24. *She had orders for antibiotics to treat a UTI on 8/20/24, 8/21/24, 9/9/24, 10/21/24, 11/19/24, 12/6/24, and 12/16/24. Interview on 1/15/25 at 3:29 p.m. with…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-11-26 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on South Dakota Department of Health (SD DOH) facility-reported incident (FRI), observation, interview, and record review the provider failed to ensure the safety of one of one sampled resident (1) identified at risk for elopement, who had eloped (left the facility without staff knowledge) after staff turned a door alarm off. Failure of staff to ensure the door alarm was reactivated resulted in the resident's elopement and put her at risk for physical injury or serious harm. This citation is considered past non-compliance based on the corrective actions the provider implemented immediately following the incident. Findings include: 1. Review of the provider's 11/20/24 SD DOH FRI revealed: *On 11/20/24 at 1:00 p.m. certified nursing assistant (CNA) G reported to licensed practical nurse (LPN) H the fire exit door in the living room was cracked open. *The alarm did not sound. *Resident 1 was standing on the sidewalk by the door. -She was last seen prior to that eating lunch in the dining room. -She stated she was going to get hot chocolate. *Resident 1 was immediately put on…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Past Non-Compliance

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

$173,010 in federal fines across 3 penalties.

  • $107,933 — penalty dated 2025-01-16
  • $25,144 — penalty dated 2024-08-08
  • $39,933 — penalty dated 2024-02-12

Dates are the dates CMS records the penalty, not the date of the conduct behind it. CMS publishes penalties on a rolling window, so this is what is currently on the public file — not the home’s lifetime history, and an older fine may attach to a problem that has since been corrected. The amounts are as imposed: the CMS file does not record whether a penalty was appealed, reduced, or paid, so we don’t say. Ask the home what each one was for and what changed since.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
STROSCHEIN PROPERTIES LLCOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTNO PERCENTAGE PROVIDEDsince 12/15/2011
STROSCHEIN, CHADIndividual5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNO PERCENTAGE PROVIDEDsince 02/01/2012
VAN VOORST, SAMUELIndividualW-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEEsince 09/01/2019
WENDLAND, JADINIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 04/01/2015

CMS files one row per role, so the 6 rows in the source record cover these 4 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.

1 organizational owner listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$3.4M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
-7.1%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
$47K
Related-party expense1% of expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 57%Medicare 5%Other / private 38%

This home reported $47K paid to related parties (affiliated landlords or management companies) in its most recent cost report. A reported operating loss is common in this industry and is not by itself a sign of trouble — but paired with large related-party payments it can mean profit is being taken elsewhere in the ownership structure.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$234per resident / day
operating cost
$7,111per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$218per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in SD

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the South Dakota Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in South Dakota
$9,444/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$10,190/mo
Nursing home (private)
$4,900/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 435129. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-12-11, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next